Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 25, 2016
    90
    Ashes of Ariandel is the first of two DLC for the great Dark Souls III. This expansion is more of the same, and that is pretty good news for all fans. Must have if you enjoyed the main game.
  2. Oct 24, 2016
    90
    The Ashes of Ariandel breathed new life into a game that was already strong and vital, and set the stage for the final chapter in its dark saga.
  3. Nov 8, 2016
    80
    Focusing mostly on the PvP aspect of the game, Ashes doesn't bring enough to satisfy the thirst for more Dark Souls. The new story is on the short side, but what is there is masterfully executed.
  4. Oct 27, 2016
    80
    With Dark Souls' formidable reputation undisputed, other characteristics slip into transparency. Humor, long rumbling under the surface, receives a more stable focus in Ashes of Ariandel. Expectations are bent, defied, and destroyed in ways that are designed to simultaneously humiliate and impress series veterans. After five games and six pieces of downloadable content, it's hard to imagine a more suitable approach.
  5. Oct 25, 2016
    80
    After a base game that had me questioning if the formula had lost its spark, this DLC proves that there are still frigid regions still worthy of exploration and horrifying beasts still in need of slaying. I won’t go so far as to say it’s the best Dark Souls has ever been, but it’s certainly the best Dark Souls 3 has ever been.
  6. Oct 20, 2016
    78
    The Painted World of Ariandel presents a land that’s both enticing and dangerous, and there’s plenty of challenges to face even if you won’t have to face them too many times. However, unless you really love dueling in PvP arenas and can find sustained interest there, this adventure may serve as more of an appetizer than a full course meal.
  7. Oct 28, 2016
    75
    The enchanted scenery could have been bigger, the story longer than roughly five to seven hours, but nonetheless Ashes of Ariandel is a good expansion.
  8. Oct 27, 2016
    75
    Ashes of Ariandel is a downloadable content that surprised us, and not always positively. An extremely high overall quality collides with a paucity of content, creating a controversial result, which satisfies a little bit, leaving the player in the grip of conflicting feelings.
  9. Oct 26, 2016
    75
    Ashes of Ariandel is, plain and simple, disappointing. Is it bad content? Nope. Are you going to enjoy it? Most likely. Does the content justify the price? There's no doubt about this: no, it doesn't. We don't know what From Software was thinking when they decided that this could be a DLC but we really hope that the second one is better, since it will mark the ending of the series and it should be a memorable one.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 12, 2017
    The mystery, the wonder, and the challenge that have made Souls a durable gaming institution all feel a bit abbreviated in Ashes.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 193
  1. Oct 25, 2016
    8
    This dark souls 3 dlc offered some really unique locations but everything at first glance feels small. There are many different alternateThis dark souls 3 dlc offered some really unique locations but everything at first glance feels small. There are many different alternate routes you could have easily missed and it definitely feels a bit more open than the base game.

    There are some cool new enemies and weapons but nothing can really top your current equipment if you have already finished the game.

    The bosses are good. Do not watch the trailers or any gameplays of it or it will kinda spoil the experience. There is one that really stands out than the other but both fights were entertaining. OST wise it's awesome, just what you expect from any DS OST!

    PVP feature is a cool side feature....

    As a DS fan from playing all the games, it's definitely disappointing if you compare it to the other dlcs.
    The scale of this dlc just feels "small" and compare to the other dlcs, it can't get the theme of it right.
    Even the crowns dlc from ds2 got the theme and scale right.
    I took it more as something from the base game than a actual expansion.

    Now triple A games now a days are just not doing too great with expansions except for like Witcher 3. I feel like it definitely meets what we call DLC in these years. I didn't expect too much from reading the reviews of other people but I think this DLC is good.

    As a souls fan I would give this more like a 7/10
    But if you just turn your brain off and let it be just a dlc then its more like 7.5
    I hope expansion 2 will deliver the single player experience we truly wanted.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2016
    3
    Short and boring with a crappy almost non-ending. Sorry I paid 15 bucks for this and wish I had waited for reviews. I mistakenly thought IShort and boring with a crappy almost non-ending. Sorry I paid 15 bucks for this and wish I had waited for reviews. I mistakenly thought I could blindly trust From Software. Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2016
    7
    It hurts me to give any Souls title less than a 9 or 10, but for hardcore fans this just won't be enough. I took my time, did everything, andIt hurts me to give any Souls title less than a 9 or 10, but for hardcore fans this just won't be enough. I took my time, did everything, and it still only took a couple hours. And while one of the boss fights is pretty great, the other one is mediocre at best. Bottom line is when a dev gives you such stellar DLC as Artorias and Old Hunters, the expectations will always be high. Here's hoping the last installment will be up to par. Full Review »