Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy On
  1. Aug 31, 2018
    100
    Firewall Zero Hour has managed to avoid many of the common pitfalls of VR online multiplayers and add its own interesting twist to the military FPS genre. The lobby system could use some improvements, but otherwise its a finely crafted title that will be of great interest to FPS fans.
  2. Sep 25, 2018
    95
    Firewall: Zero Hour is an incredibly immersive experience that will appeal to military shooter fans, as well as fans of very well-made VR experiences. It is hard to express how deep and involving this game can be, it simply has to be played to be believed. Though I have a few minor quibbles with the progression and the flow of matches, I still whole-heartedly recommend this amazing multiplayer experience. Firewall is a system seller, and playing it one realizes that yes, VR might just be here to stay.
  3. Sep 23, 2018
    90
    I thoroughly enjoyed the VR elements including it's stellar gameplay. Matches are intense, and the focus on team play does the game justice.
  4. Sep 17, 2018
    90
    Firewall Zero Hour raises the bar for all VR shooters that follow. You'll need the Aim controller to get the most out of it, but it's more than worth it. The thrill of 4-on-4 with live players is sure to fill your friends list and there really is nothing quite like this. Let's hope the online lobbies remain filled for quite some time because if there ever was a game that deserved it on PlayStation VR, this is it. Buy this now.
  5. Sep 14, 2018
    90
    Conventional gaming in VR done right in a system seller fashion. Dust your Aim Controllers cause you're in for a treat.
  6. Sep 5, 2018
    90
    Firewall: Zero Hour is essential for PlayStation VR owners. Despite this being First Contact’s debut game, it flawlessly executes on what the studio set out to do: to create PSVR’s first must-have multiplayer shooter. It may even sway some of those yet to purchase one of Sony’s high-tech headsets.
  7. Aug 29, 2018
    90
    For what it is, Firewall Zero Hour defies the odds by delivering a multiplayer-focused VR shooter that actually lives up to its potential. If you don’t have a PS Aim controller yet, then you should buy one for this game even though it technically supports DualShock 4 as well. If you don’t have a PSVR headset yet, then you should buy one for this game. With a few improvements and additions, First Contact could turn what is already a must-have PSVR game into a genre-defining one.
  8. Sep 5, 2018
    88
    It has a major flaw (the migration of the host) and some smudges that prevent it from doing something more, but the virtual reality, in this new season, starts from here.
  9. Oct 3, 2018
    87
    Firewall Zero Hour is the most ambitious VR shooter on the market. With solid gameplay and tactics on the field, Firewall is all we were looking for.
  10. 85
    Firewall Zero Hour isn’t perfect, but it’s such an exciting, well-designed VR experience that you won’t even notice it’s flaws. With a few improvements it could easily become the spiritual successor to SOCOM.
  11. Sep 4, 2018
    85
    Firewall Zero Hour is the small equivalent of Rainbow Six Siege played in virtual reality. A big difference, especially with an Aim Controller in your hands.
  12. 85
    Firewall Zero Hour is an intense, immersive experience which will put the Aim Controller through its paces, and may be the best VR shooter released thus far.
  13. Sep 6, 2018
    83
    Even with it’s very basic presentation, Firewall Zero Hour really delivers on every front. Minor issues aside, you will definitely have a good time with this. Keeping in mind that this is a completely online experience so, if you are a shy one who doesn’t like interacting or working together with friends or complete strangers than this might not be the game for you. If you like other tactical shooters like the Ghost Recon Series, then this will be right up your alley!
  14. Sep 13, 2018
    82
    Firewall Zero Hour gets you a taste of Rainbow Six Siege in virtual reality.
  15. 82
    Despite the few game-modes at day one, Firewall Zero Hour is one of the new reference points for VR tactical shooters.
  16. Sep 6, 2018
    81
    This could be the future of competitive tactical action, especially if it offers more mode variety and gets optimized matchmaking.
  17. Oct 1, 2018
    80
    Engaging, graphically impressive, enriched by an excellent level design. Firewall Zero Hour is one of the best games available for PlayStation VR. Recommended for lovers of online FPS.
  18. Sep 27, 2018
    80
    Firewall Zero Hour needs more support from a pretty large community of PSVR owners. It's understandable that it may not be everyone's choice of gameplay. With dozens of small quirky titles and some fully fledged AAA games that don't rely on interpersonal competitiveness, some players may choose to pass on this shooter. It's way too early to tell if the game will take off and garner the praise and community that it arguably deserves. Firewall Zero Hour is a dream for any shooter fan.
  19. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 22, 2018
    80
    The lack of bullet penetration may prove controversial, but this is one of the best PS VR experiences on offer. Essential for fans of objective-based team shooters. [Issue#154, p.96]
  20. Sep 21, 2018
    80
    Despite a few issues and a dearth of modes, Firewall Zero Hour is the best multiplayer shooter available on PlayStation VR, and one of the platform’s best games. It’s exhilarating, immersive, tactical team-based fun, and one of those rare VR games that I’ll keep playing long after finishing this review.
  21. 80
    Firewall: Zero Hour for the PSVR is an immersive, engaging - and incredibly fun - tactical shooter that succeeds in so many ways, and represents the future of the FPS genre.
  22. Sep 11, 2018
    80
    The first tactical FPS for the PSVR, Firewall Zero Hour is a success. If the studio manages to regularly add some new content, which is too light at launch, the game can be a system seller for Sony's virtual reality headset.
  23. Sep 10, 2018
    80
    What you get with the design is good controls, lots of room for error during the game, intense gameplay with a smooth vantage point, and maps to get lost in when you want to get lost in them. The loadouts, the options of how to conquer your enemy will be the driving point of the gameplay. That’s never a bad thing when those options are in the positive. If you own a PSVR and you’re dying for an FPS experience, then you should really check this one out.
  24. 80
    At last, the realistic, Aim-controlled multiplayer military sim PlayStation VR owners have been dreaming of.
  25. Sep 2, 2018
    80
    Firewall: Zero Hour is one of those games that you show your friends if they want to see what virtual reality is all about. It wraps everything that VR has to offer up perfectly.
  26. Sep 2, 2018
    79
    With strong gunplay, randomized objective locations, and unlocks to chase, Firewall Zero Hour has a distinct allure for those looking for FPS immersion.
  27. Sep 19, 2018
    75
    I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Firewall Zero Hour and I'm looking forward to seeing what the developers come up with next. Whatever it is, I hope it has a bit more substance than what's featured here.
  28. Sep 19, 2018
    75
    Firewall Zero Hour is precisely the game Sony needs for their Virtual Reality platform -- addictive, fast paced, and immersive. Unfortunately, it’s also in dire need of some tweaks to realize its potential. The grind is too deep, and the need for a ready-up system causes a lot of dead time between an otherwise richly rewarding tactical shooter. Patch this, and a few other minor hiccups, and Firewall Zero Hour will be the VR Rainbow Six it needs to be.
  29. Sep 15, 2018
    75
    This is one of those games that proves VR can be something more. It lacks offline content and has some rough edges, but it’s a great online shooter.
  30. Sep 19, 2018
    72
    First Contact Entertainment has shown they know how to make a team-based shooter work in virtual reality, Now, they need to show that Firewall Zero Hour is more than just a proof of concept by adding in more content before the player base dries up.
  31. Sep 12, 2018
    70
    Firewall Zero Hour is a good VR mulitplayer shooter, but it lacks content.
  32. Sep 10, 2018
    70
    Halfway between Counter Strike and Rainbow Six Siege we can found Firewall Zero Hour, a multiplayer FPS for VR that works really well and it's creating a surprising community behind. It's exciting, immersive... and so simple. Shallow and repetitive, but it has a great future set.
  33. Sep 5, 2018
    70
    Firewall Zero Hour is a masterclass in accessible, immersive VR first-person shooting. Its sharp, intuitive tactical gameplay and well-designed maps make for intense 4v4 action that’s a level above anything else available on PlayStation VR. However, it cannot be ignored that the progression slog and rapidly emptying lobbies make Firewall a difficult game to commit to.
  34. Sep 5, 2018
    70
    Another FPS shooter for PSVR, this time an online multiplayer centered one. It´s not perfect by any means and only includes one game mode (at least at this moment), but at the same time it can be a really fun shooter.
  35. Sep 3, 2018
    70
    Firewall can be an incredible experience – and easily the most exciting and immersive VR shooter that I’ve played. It’s just a shame that there’s not more co-op and single-player action, more competitive modes or shorter waits between the game’s bite-sized matches.
  36. Sep 4, 2018
    65
    Firewall Zero Hour is one of the most precise and tactical VR shooters out there. Too bad the systems surrounding it are so wanting.
  37. 60
    Firewall: Zero Hour borrows from some of the greatest shooters around and tacks on some great VR support. However, the sum is not quite equal to its parts and the feeling one gets from playing the final game is that it's somewhat incomplete and not worth investing much time in.
  38. Aug 29, 2018
    60
    There’s no doubt that Firewall Zero Hour’s tactical combat works well in virtual reality – in fact, the fledgling medium adds a lot to this FPS, allowing you to naturally gesture to teammates and intuitively check your corners in a way you couldn’t on a standard display. But while there are some structural and technical issues that we have confidence First Contact Entertainment will be able to fix, it’s the question marks over its community that make it a tough sell. It’s a chicken-and-egg situation that’s unfortunate for everyone involved, but it’s something that the developer would have been aware of when it embarked on creating an online-only multiplayer shooter for an install base of a few million headsets. Good as the game may be, it's something you need to keep in mind as well.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 2, 2018
    An exquisitely thought-out tactical shooter that's instantly a PSVR great. [Recommended]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 257
  1. Sep 5, 2018
    10
    Simply amazing and this will go down as a technology defining game, like Goldeneye in the 90s, which brought multiplayer shooting to consoles.Simply amazing and this will go down as a technology defining game, like Goldeneye in the 90s, which brought multiplayer shooting to consoles.
    Here are the various reasons why I instantly love this game and I can't wait to play every chance I get. There have been shooters in VR and PSVR but they pull off 4v4 PERFECTLY. I never experienced lag or any weird issues and that is on LAUNCH. That never happens. The graphics are fantastic, the gun sounds realistic, the maps varied and gorgeous, and it facilitates teamwork and cooperation. The games are quick and you get into a game right away after finishing. I played three hours last night and never had a lull in the action.
    There are SO many guns to unlock, skills, cosmetics, and other customization options. I truly can't believe how well the developers made this game. It is instantly accessible yet deep enough to keep unlocking and trying out things for months.
    The aim tracking is impeccable.
    Grouping up with other people works perfectly and they even let you invite recent players to your party. It's small details like this that go a long way.
    People may complain that the walking movement is too slow. But guess what - there is a contractor with extra speed and also a skill that gives you extra speed. That means when you DO unlock those things, it is going to seem extra powerful. So the weakness is actually a strength - the choices you make on your character actually matter.
    If you are a gamer, this is ABSOLUTELY WORTH BUYING A PSVR and even buying a PS4 if you don't have one. I am dead serious. It's that much fun. I haven't had this much fun playing a video game since I was a kid and we discovered goldeneye. Something about being in VR with your friends, attacking other people and the infinite strategic variations other humans bring, is completely mind blowing.
    I'm actually concerned this game is going to ruin my life because it's that good. Not perfect -- nothing is-- but I truly believe this will go down as the landmark game when the masses discover how good VR is really good. I can honestly say I have no desire to play anything else and no desire to play flat games anymore. It's like going from black and white to color.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2018
    10
    Simple as that: They promised and they delivered! The best aim controller game until now.
    Remember when you used to play CS? Now you are
    Simple as that: They promised and they delivered! The best aim controller game until now.
    Remember when you used to play CS? Now you are inside it :)

    Take the old CS map style, slow the pace llike the tactical Rainbow Six, mix it on the VR blender. This is Firewall Zero Hour.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 28, 2018
    10
    I was skepticle about this game at 1st but let me tell you all my doubts were layed to rest...This game is hands down the most beautiful andI was skepticle about this game at 1st but let me tell you all my doubts were layed to rest...This game is hands down the most beautiful and fun psvr game i have played to date! The controls and graphics are very good and it really shows off the potential psvr has. I knew within a hour of playing this game that this was goin to be a great game. If you dont own a psvr then heres your reason to buy one! Full Review »