Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 15, 2019
    90
    An outstanding port of an outstanding game. It's absolutely worth a look from console players who haven't had the opportunity to play this absorbing city-builder/survival sim until now. Although this version may not offer much to those who have already bought and played it on PC, the fact that Frostpunk is now accessible to more people is a cool thing in itself.
  2. Oct 15, 2019
    90
    The console version of Frostpunk is a unique experience not only for strategy fans but for anyone who is looking for something new and different. In Frustponk, you are not creating an empire or fighting your enemies like many other strategy games, you actually trying to survive against nature’s wrath.
  3. 90
    To say Frostpunk is fun would be like saying watching The Road is fun. It’s engaging, challenging, inventive and unique. It cleverly re-purposes old genre tropes, and embraces the rigors of micromanaging dire people in a dark time with such earnest that it’s hard not to get charmed into hours of sadistic yet satisfying struggle.
  4. Oct 10, 2019
    90
    Becoming one of the best city builders on consoles is the least of Frostpunk’s achievements in this thought-provoking parable about the true cost of being in charge.
  5. 90
    If you have yet to play Frostpunk and enjoy city-builders you should absolutely give the console edition a look. It's a worthy port of a phenomenal game, and I hope to see more games brought over from PC given this sort of love and attention in the future.
  6. Oct 10, 2019
    90
    Frostpunk Console Edition is the happiest I've been staring despair in the face. A fantastic city-builder where you really care about the people you're trying to save.
  7. 90
    A stellar societal strategy game with a dark, moralistic centre, Frostpunk is a rare genre effort where your actions linger with you long after your time with it has finished. This is tactical, though well-meaning nihilism at its best, and is an easy recommendation to those who want their grey matter tested as much as their heart.
  8. Oct 10, 2019
    89
    The controls and menus have been cleverly and thoughtfully adapted to the gamepad. I'm happy to be able to form my very own ice dystopia on the sofa as a despot or a kind guru.
  9. Oct 2, 2019
    87
    One of the most innovative building strategy games in recent years plays very well on consoles. And you have the added bonus of having all add-ons at your disposal, while most of the minor problems that plagued the PC version in the beginning were addressed.
  10. Oct 21, 2019
    85
    Frostpunk will test our strategy skills like no other real-time strategy game can do. 4 maps to explore, freedom to rule the city, several types of buildings to build and hard choices to make create a unique experience among the strategy genre. 11 bit studios keeps taking risks and developing games that make us think about our own values.
  11. Oct 10, 2019
    85
    One year later, Frostpunk is still a very interesting game. On console too.
  12. Oct 10, 2019
    80
    At its best, Frostpunk provides a tense, nail-biting experience like few others in the genre. It's not about building an empire, or creating a beautiful cityscape, but simply doing what you need to do to guide your people through what at first seems like insurmountable adversity. There's a few niggling issues, but the feeling you get from surviving the campaign is one of utter, unbridled joy, and it's that feeling more than any other why we have absolutely no qualms about recommending Frostpunk to you.
  13. Oct 9, 2019
    80
    Frostpunk is not for the faint of heart. However, if you think you can handle the stressful job of being a leader, you can easily lose a couple of nights to the game.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Oct 11, 2019
    10
    Amazing game with real choices and consequences you feel real depth and struggle as you build up your city from nothing with limited resourcesAmazing game with real choices and consequences you feel real depth and struggle as you build up your city from nothing with limited resources in a beautifully crafted world 10/10 Must play Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2019
    10
    The best city builder I have ever played on PC now works on PS4 as well. Finally, I am able to play over 10-hours session without back pain.The best city builder I have ever played on PC now works on PS4 as well. Finally, I am able to play over 10-hours session without back pain. Thank you 11bit Full Review »
  3. Oct 16, 2019
    9
    Played this on the PS4 Pro. I have to say this is one of the best Indie City Builders out there. It mixes a Survival element and PoliticalPlayed this on the PS4 Pro. I have to say this is one of the best Indie City Builders out there. It mixes a Survival element and Political element to the game that makes it stand out from the others. Its the perfect game to play this Winter, sitting in a chilly room playing a game about a new ice age taking over the world. The game plays fairly good too, didnt have any performance issues aside from split second frame rate drops during a autosave which happens on all platforms. My only complaint is there being only 4 Story Scenarios, that's where the game shines best to me. Giving context and story to the world while putting the player in a fun little challenge. Also at time of this review, console versions dont have "The Rifts" DLC Map/Scenario or any mention of them coming soon.

    In my Ratings:
    0-4 Games that I wish I hadn't spent money on
    5-7 Games that I enjoyed but probably wont play again
    8-10 Games that I loved and will definitely play again
    Full Review »