User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 16181 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2020
    9
    Me gusta + la trilogía original (pero por gustos personales), aún así el trabajo aquí es magnífico, la historia padre e hijo muy bien llevada y un gameplay y gráficos excelentes.
  2. Aug 21, 2020
    9
    Changing the gow's style was a bold move,but they succeeded. Gameplay is awsome, story is very good,If there were slightly different bosses it would be a 10/10 game
  3. Aug 22, 2020
    10
    Increible! Una franquicia que ya estaba explotada y se ha renovado haciéndolo un juegazo. Para mí el mejor juego de la saga y el mejor exclusivo de PS4. Una maravilla este juego. La historia es increíble y los personajes también. Desde Kratos hasta un espíritu, tiene su propio carisma y emociones. Como Atreus y Kratos se juntan más en la aventura me gustó muchísimo( Como en The Last OfIncreible! Una franquicia que ya estaba explotada y se ha renovado haciéndolo un juegazo. Para mí el mejor juego de la saga y el mejor exclusivo de PS4. Una maravilla este juego. La historia es increíble y los personajes también. Desde Kratos hasta un espíritu, tiene su propio carisma y emociones. Como Atreus y Kratos se juntan más en la aventura me gustó muchísimo( Como en The Last Of Us). El mundo más bonito que he visto, Con unos colores muy bonitos paisajes que de dejan boquiabierto. En fin este juego me pareció un juegazo! Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2020
    10
    Una gran aventura con una hermosa historia, narrativa, personajes, gráficos, banda sonora y una diversión ilimitada. Sin duda GotY 2018.
  5. Aug 23, 2020
    10
    Игра бесподобна!Сюжет великолепен.Графон шикарен.Геймплей увлекает с каждой секундой.Он не однообразен.Есть куча разных добиваний,атак.Также имеется кастомизация Кратоса и Атрея,оружия.Санта-Моника красавцы!Покупайте,кто не купил.Рекомендую!Игра бесподобна!Сюжет великолепен.Графон шикарен.Геймплей увлекает с каждой секундой.Он не однообразен.Есть куча разных добиваний,атак.Также имеется кастомизация Кратоса и Атрея,оружия.Санта-Моника красавцы!Покупайте,кто не купил.Рекомендую!
  6. Aug 23, 2020
    10
    Dois anos depois e ainda é difícil escolher qual seria o jogo do ano entre RDR2 e God of war. Um dos melhores jogos já feitos.
  7. Aug 24, 2020
    10
    One of the best singleplayer games I have ever played. Story: 9/10
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 10/10
  8. Aug 24, 2020
    10
    Jogo totalmente reformulado que acabou ganhando o Goty, muito merecido.
    Qualidade muito acima da concorrência beirando a perfeição em tudo no jogo.
    O jogo do ano e um dos melhores da geração.
  9. Aug 24, 2020
    10
    Why are you looking at reviews? Go buy this game!!...It is just a perfect game. Bosses are the same.. the entire story telling covers everything. just Perfect!
  10. Aug 24, 2020
    10
    Una excelente reimaginación de la saga, esta en otro nivel este juego, una verdadera joya de ps4.
  11. Aug 25, 2020
    10
    God of War is an amazing game. The story, the gameplay and the visuals bring together something special that will make it remain as one of the best games I have ever played in my life. The sequel cannot come quick enough. Congrats to Cory Barlog and the rest of the team at Sony Santa Monica.
  12. Aug 26, 2020
    6
    Well, It's an excellent game, but just horrible puzzles, should be named God of Puzzles instead, wonder who's idea that was. The game contains more puzzles to solve than battles to fight, You will spend 10 minutes in fights and then wonder an hour in solving puzzles. The more annoying thing is your own kid, which obviously knows what to do, but is just enjoying more to watch you struggleWell, It's an excellent game, but just horrible puzzles, should be named God of Puzzles instead, wonder who's idea that was. The game contains more puzzles to solve than battles to fight, You will spend 10 minutes in fights and then wonder an hour in solving puzzles. The more annoying thing is your own kid, which obviously knows what to do, but is just enjoying more to watch you struggle around. Graphically is very nice, sound is nice and the combat mechanics are awesome, just you wish that there were more combat encounters, Also valkyries should not be optional bosses, they are actually the best thing in the entire game. Story is missing goal, its childish excuse to kill all those people, gods, monsters just because your wife told you to go on top of some mountain. The difference between a god of war and just a warrior is just like that, with great power comes the great responsibility, he just not acting like one should be. And the example he is giving to his son is just terrible, game should be rated just for that for over 18s. In god of war 3 you were killing them, because they took everything from you, your wife, your kids. Here seems that you just enjoy killing people you have nothing in common with. Expand
  13. Aug 27, 2020
    10
    Un juego diferente a los anteriores, arriesgado, algo que llama la atención al jugador, una historia tan buena que se nota el esfuerzo que tiene detrás. Los gráficos una pieza clave del juego, los paisajes una vez llegues a la montaña, muy buen juego
  14. Aug 28, 2020
    7
    This game starts out great. The visuals are great, the setup of the story is great, and the combat is seriously fun.

    However, at around halfway through the combat starts to become extremely repetitive. The boss fights are all basically the same in every way with only slight variations. A giant troll is one of the first bosses you fight and you have to fight a similar troll - so similar
    This game starts out great. The visuals are great, the setup of the story is great, and the combat is seriously fun.

    However, at around halfway through the combat starts to become extremely repetitive. The boss fights are all basically the same in every way with only slight variations. A giant troll is one of the first bosses you fight and you have to fight a similar troll - so similar they could be all related - a bunch more times throughout the game and it becomes increasingly tedious.

    It feels a bit like the devs started out with great ideas and enthusiasm but got bored halfway through. Or perhaps they had deadlines and had to rush. It’s a great game for the price I paid for it - €15 - but I struggled a bit trying to finish it.
    Expand
  15. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A pretty nice game I would say it bringer me a lot of she ebbebebebwvsvevevbeddbdbdbd Expand
  16. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Incredible, complex, emotional characters with an interesting plot (although quite simple) and amazing graphics. The gameplay is very good and combat feels great. One of the best PS4 titles. Buy.
  17. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    This is the best game EVER. The graphics and technical graphics are awesome. the story is great. I've finished the game 7 times but I still enjoy the combat system.
  18. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    I finish this game 5 time i enjoy it best god of war i have played the story is incredible
  19. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    La verdad me re encanto el juego es una obra maestra tiene una buena jugabilidad tiene unos gráficos increíbles tiene una muy buena banda sonora y sobre muy buena la Historia una obra maestra
  20. Aug 30, 2020
    0
    Muy mal juego, aburrido, muy diferente de los anteriores, hasta ya parece otra saga muy diferente, el peor god of war hasta la fecha
  21. Aug 30, 2020
    7
    Excelente jogo mas mudou demais e meio travado comparado aos outros da série
  22. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    Que gran juego, me encantó, la historia y la jugabilidad, lo recomiendo muchísimo, super.
  23. Aug 31, 2020
    10
    God of War is an incredible experience from the start to finish which always makes you want to know what will happen next. With its deep combat system, beautiful graphics that look like next gen, and it’s interesting world, this game is a must play for any ps owner
  24. Aug 31, 2020
    10
    Can’t stop playing it a complete overhaul the story, it is not a reboit nore a reimagined it is a continuation of the epic tale of Kratos awesome action sequence, too-notch direction and production value, stellar combat system, superb dynamic duo
  25. Aug 31, 2020
    10
    Darn near perfect storytelling. I recommend checking out the Myths and Legends podcast before diving in to hear some good Norse stories if you aren't familiar with Norse mythology; its worth it to pick up on some of the "Easter eggs" and foreshadowing if you want to really get invested in the story. Visuals, graphics, combat, acting, and story are exceptional.
  26. Sep 16, 2020
    9
    Não gosto muito desse estilo de jogo meio Souls-Like, mas a narrativa é muito boa e tocante, os cenários do jogo são bem bonitos. Um 9 merecido.
  27. Sep 1, 2020
    10
    I'll be precise, it's a masterpiece. An excellent and emotional story, an updated and very addictive gameplay, a beautiful graphics with notable improvements in PS4 Pro. Without a doubt one of the best Gow of War to date, reaching the legacy of God of War 2. Definitely highly recommended. Ignore the negative comments from toxic TLOU2 lovers who want destroy the gaming community.
  28. Sep 2, 2020
    10
    One of the best games of the PS4 generation. Brilliant storytelling to go along with fun fluid gameplay. It has some slow parts in the middle that you need to power through, but does a great job reinventing a beloved franchise.
  29. Sep 3, 2020
    9
    I was sceptical at the begining with the change to north mythology and the change in the gameplay. But I ended loving the father and son story and the more rpg oriented gameplay. I enjoyed crafting the armors, trying different sets and fighting the bosses in God of War mode.
  30. Sep 4, 2020
    10
    First off what a game the story is a great first entry into a trilogy. Combat and progression wise set the mark for any game the animations and cut scene are the best I have seen in a game definitely recommend
  31. Sep 4, 2020
    0
    Masterpiece. Only non positive thing I can think of is maybe more bossfights in the sequel? :D
  32. Sep 4, 2020
    1
    Gameplay is really boring and repetitive . You literally do the same thing over and over , doesnt matter if its just a mob or a boss, Throw Axe, Dodge , Slash , Throw Axe , Dodge - Use ultimate - Repeat . All fights is room to room. You go into the room, clear it , walk for a bit , again locked room, kill all , move on , repeat .
    Story is a definition of a sob story . Acting is so
    Gameplay is really boring and repetitive . You literally do the same thing over and over , doesnt matter if its just a mob or a boss, Throw Axe, Dodge , Slash , Throw Axe , Dodge - Use ultimate - Repeat . All fights is room to room. You go into the room, clear it , walk for a bit , again locked room, kill all , move on , repeat .
    Story is a definition of a sob story . Acting is so mediocre and overplayed that it is not even funny.
    I am just over half way through the game and I keep forgetting about this game , it is that unimpressive . . .
    Expand
  33. Sep 4, 2020
    3
    How are people finding enjoyment in this game.Gameplay is boring as frack, like they tried to copy Dark Soul's gameplay.Story is not that good its kinda boring but i found some really good moments. And the STUPID BOY,that little brat wont **** stop talking.And Kratos is just boring.This WHOLE GAME is boring.I dont know why they had change it like that.The only fun thing in this game areHow are people finding enjoyment in this game.Gameplay is boring as frack, like they tried to copy Dark Soul's gameplay.Story is not that good its kinda boring but i found some really good moments. And the STUPID BOY,that little brat wont **** stop talking.And Kratos is just boring.This WHOLE GAME is boring.I dont know why they had change it like that.The only fun thing in this game are the valkyries. Expand
  34. Sep 5, 2020
    10
    не дивлячись на те, що є нюанси - це найкраща гра в яку я грав
  35. Sep 5, 2020
    9
    I really liked the direction they took with this new God of War. The story and characters are well written. The inversion is very intense. But the gameplay was not as enjoyable to me as in other games like Spider-Man, so only a 9 to me.
  36. Sep 5, 2020
    10
    Best game i have evr played. Amazing story, amazing gamrplay, amazing graphics, amazing music...
  37. Sep 6, 2020
    9
    Чудесная игра, которая идеальна во всем, не 10 баллов только за ощущение, что она внезапно оборвалась. Боёвка , отношения Кратоса с Атреем. Мир,графика, музыка - все на запредельном уровне. Жду продолжения .
  38. Sep 6, 2020
    10
    Excelente título gran historia y buen gameplay un mapa grande para ser un juego semi abierto recomendado
  39. Sep 21, 2020
    9
    Pros
    +Gameplay awesome
    +Half-Open world
    +Storytelling

    Cons
    -Variety of enemies is weak
    -Same boss fight
  40. Sep 7, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent, enthralling and awesome combat and visuals. The only downside is wanting more after finishing the platinum. Expand
  41. Sep 8, 2020
    10
    Sono passati circa 10 mesi prima che terminassi God of War... Inizialmente il gioco non era riuscito ad entrarmi nel cuore perchè lento a carburare, ma nel momento in cui sono arrivato a circa metà gioco mi sono dovuto ricredere! God of War è una perla rara, il punto più alto raggiunto su Ps4, una storia sul legame padre-figlio che riesce a tener testa al sempreverde The Last Of Us. God ofSono passati circa 10 mesi prima che terminassi God of War... Inizialmente il gioco non era riuscito ad entrarmi nel cuore perchè lento a carburare, ma nel momento in cui sono arrivato a circa metà gioco mi sono dovuto ricredere! God of War è una perla rara, il punto più alto raggiunto su Ps4, una storia sul legame padre-figlio che riesce a tener testa al sempreverde The Last Of Us. God of War è un gioco impeccabile nel gameplay, nel comparto tecnico, nelle musiche, nelle atmosfere a cui è capace di dar vita grazie ad ambientazioni parecchio ispirate. Il punto forte del gioco è sicuramente la narrativa, capace di far emergere al meglio i personaggi in quello che è un riuscitissimo unico piano sequenza. Questa generazione pochi sono stati all'altezza di Santa Monica Studio, è davvero difficile raggiungere un colosso del genere Expand
  42. Sep 8, 2020
    10
    Удивительная игра! Прошел на одном дыхании. Красивый, завораживающий мир, интересный сюжет, приятная боевка. Кидать боевой топор - одно удовольствие. Это вообще по-моему основное геймплейное открытие игры, заставляющее снова и снова возвращаться. Даже после прохождения периодически заглядываю ради боевки.
    Из минусов могу отметить только то, что большинство рунических атак показалось
    Удивительная игра! Прошел на одном дыхании. Красивый, завораживающий мир, интересный сюжет, приятная боевка. Кидать боевой топор - одно удовольствие. Это вообще по-моему основное геймплейное открытие игры, заставляющее снова и снова возвращаться. Даже после прохождения периодически заглядываю ради боевки.
    Из минусов могу отметить только то, что большинство рунических атак показалось невыразительными, но возможно для других игроков они оказались бы полезны. Я же почти всю игру пробегал буквально с 2-3, даже не меняя.
    Expand
  43. Sep 13, 2020
    3
    Not impressed with this game at all. Didn't care much for the characters or the plot, and neither bosses nor regular enemies were memorable or well designed. They also should have excluded the puzzles: they are not fun but rather just stretch the game artificially.
    Loot is supposed to be fun - here it's a chore.
    3 out of 9
  44. Sep 8, 2020
    10
    Hay que valorar lo dificil que es reiniciar una saga y llevarla por otro camino distinto, god of war hace eso y mas. Nos espera un futuro ilusionante. Es un autentico juegazo.
  45. Sep 9, 2020
    7
    just ok, the combat is slow and sluggish, the "open world " is very generic, and linear feeling and Alfhheim is at least visually interesting, but is more of the same stuff you'll see throughout the rest of the game, Helheim is completely baron in terms of design, though that might be the point, still doesn't change the fact that there is nothing to do in these realms, and Muspelheimjust ok, the combat is slow and sluggish, the "open world " is very generic, and linear feeling and Alfhheim is at least visually interesting, but is more of the same stuff you'll see throughout the rest of the game, Helheim is completely baron in terms of design, though that might be the point, still doesn't change the fact that there is nothing to do in these realms, and Muspelheim and Niflheim are just bonus worlds for gear, and the story is ok at best, kind of a let down because of all the hype people were giving it, snag it if it's on sale for under 20 bucks, otherwise id go elsewhere Expand
  46. Sep 9, 2020
    10
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  47. Sep 9, 2020
    10
    10/10 , melhor jogo da série e ótimo sistema de abilidades , zerei umas 3 vezes e toda as três me emocionei no final
  48. Sep 10, 2020
    10
    i played god of war 3 and this game.I know the other games but i didnt play them.The game is very goodstory and other things.Just good
  49. Sep 10, 2020
    10
    This game is outstanding and you already know that. Play it again. Play it for the Platinum trophy.
  50. Sep 10, 2020
    10
    Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang Gucci Gang
  51. Sep 11, 2020
    10
    Non posso dare meno di 10, per chi ha giocato tutti i titoli della saga sarà una grande emozione.
  52. Sep 12, 2020
    9
    One of the best game I ever played.
    The Journey is an unique experience for a personal growth.
  53. Sep 13, 2020
    10
    God of War is without doubt one of the games of the generation. I've played through it several times now and have yet to tire of it. It's also without doubt one of the best looking games of this gen.

    Moving away from the linear style of play of its predecessors, GoW adopts a more open style that allows you to branch away from the story and explore the Norse world. It's not strictly an
    God of War is without doubt one of the games of the generation. I've played through it several times now and have yet to tire of it. It's also without doubt one of the best looking games of this gen.

    Moving away from the linear style of play of its predecessors, GoW adopts a more open style that allows you to branch away from the story and explore the Norse world. It's not strictly an open world but more like the latest Tomb Raider games but this approach works perfectly for GoW.

    On the surface, combat feels a bit dumbed down from previous versions. Combos are largely gone now but in there place their place you equip runes to your weapons that gives Kratos different abilities. This opens up various different possibilities for how to approach combat from being an offensive powerhouse, a defensive brick wall, a user of elemental power or just a well rounded fighter. This is all helped further by being able to chose what armor set suits your playstyle as well as being able to attach enhancements to further power up Kratos. You can also use Atrues to cause further damage to your enemies with a couple of power ups of his own. All of this actually goes to make the combat system in GoW the most in depth of the series to date.

    The GoW story is also one of the best told stories I have encountered in a video game possible only bettered by The Last of Us. It might not be the most imaginative, basically being the story of Kratos coming to terms with his past whilst trying to bond with his son Atreus, but the manner in which it is told keeps it interesting throughout the games 20-30 hour playing time with a good variety of humor and dark moments thrown in throughout. The motion captured acting is also fantastic, especially from Jeremy Davies whose performance as Baldur steals pretty much every scene he's in.

    God of War is a fantastic game and should be on every PS4 owners list of games to play.
    Expand
  54. Sep 13, 2020
    10
    Amezing game çok iyi ln acayip oyun çok çok çok iyiyiyiygiyyi acayip bir oyun aliñ oyunayin
  55. Sep 14, 2020
    10
    Capolavoro da parte di Santa Monica Studious, che ti catapulta in un'avventura mozzafiato con una storia ed un comparto artistico senza eguali. Gioco consigliato.
  56. Sep 14, 2020
    10
    This game is pretty much a masterpiece and one of the best games of this generation. It is different than past GoW installments, but that is a good thing and the change was needed. In a world of online multiplayer and loot chasing, its nice to see single player games like this still being made. Don’t miss out on this one.
  57. Sep 15, 2020
    8
    Игра впринципе хорошая, НО: сюжет показался мне скучным, ничем не цепляющим, во время прохождения у меня не возникло сопереживание героям, мне просто хотелось поскорее пройти игру. В остальном же: боёвка, графика, анимации, катсцены - всё идеально!Игра впринципе хорошая, НО: сюжет показался мне скучным, ничем не цепляющим, во время прохождения у меня не возникло сопереживание героям, мне просто хотелось поскорее пройти игру. В остальном же: боёвка, графика, анимации, катсцены - всё идеально!
  58. Sep 15, 2020
    10
    Un juegazo impresionante sin lugar a dudas, una historia atrapante con una jugabilidad espectacular, un apartado técnico increíble y personajes muy interesante, 10/10 sin dudarlo
  59. Sep 16, 2020
    10
    Este juego es increible, la historia es muy buena he intersante, el gameplay creo que es lo mejor de su saga y WOW. Es un juego muy bueno.
  60. Sep 18, 2020
    10
    Excelent in every aspect. Perfevt music grafic history fun and powerfull caracters
  61. Sep 19, 2020
    7
    Short story, not that much side content. Repetitive bosses, not much gore compared to original gow games. Too many puzzles. Games just overatted.
  62. Sep 20, 2020
    0
    Bad gameplay I dont like it the story is good but i really dobt luck game play sucks game
  63. Sep 20, 2020
    9
    Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice

    Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice

    Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice
  64. Sep 20, 2020
    10
    Story, gameplay, characters, graphics, everything is in it’s right place. Cannot stop playing
  65. Sep 21, 2020
    10
    Best story , GG Santa Monica and Cory Barlog Im so happy that this game won GOTY 2018
  66. Sep 21, 2020
    3
    I ve finished the game and i still feel like i miss God of war.
    the only good thing is Graphic.
    Gameplay is weaker than previous games.it dosent give you than intensity.
    Music is just Average.
    Story is very regular and simple.
    I think they tried to use t.l.o.u formula but it did not pay.
    It s Not that good
  67. Sep 21, 2020
    10
    Tremendous graphics. Some of the best story-telling ever. The defining moment of this console generation! A must play!
  68. Sep 21, 2020
    10
    This is such a nice refresher from the brutal games that came before this one such a great reason to get a ps4
  69. Sep 22, 2020
    2
    As a fan of GOW Series really disappointing
    Gameplay is good but its not a god of war its more like combining Action-Adventure and Souls-like!
    And Valyries and Trolls are fighting at same style
    About story is really good but sometimes it get boring My rate is 2/10
  70. Sep 22, 2020
    8
    这能叫战神?!搞笑吗?几个换皮怪忽悠玩家?BOSS也是几个石头人换皮!?!
  71. Sep 23, 2020
    10
    Truly a masterpiece that should be played by anyone who considers themselves a gamer.
  72. Sep 23, 2020
    10
    One of the best games of the generation with great and satisfying combat, excellent story and characters. Midgard is perfectly designed and rewarding to explore.
  73. Sep 23, 2020
    10
    God Of War is perhaps one of the greatest games I have ever experienced; yes, 'experienced', because that's exactly what this game is. It's an experience. If you are coming into God Of War with any doubt that you'll enjoy it, cast that doubt away because from the very bottom of my heart, you WILL love this game. It offers a truly gripping story; unmatched combo-based combat rivaled by noGod Of War is perhaps one of the greatest games I have ever experienced; yes, 'experienced', because that's exactly what this game is. It's an experience. If you are coming into God Of War with any doubt that you'll enjoy it, cast that doubt away because from the very bottom of my heart, you WILL love this game. It offers a truly gripping story; unmatched combo-based combat rivaled by no other; a goosebump-enducing score; and characters that will convince you of their believability. With the sequel on its way, God Of War further proves why it deserves the praise it gets. Expand
  74. Sep 23, 2020
    10
    Can't help but sit here and laugh at the idiots who gave this game a negative review. This is without a doubt one of the best games to come out of the entire decade.

    Anyone who thinks the combat is lacking clearly is just terrible at the game (there's no helping that) or hasn't progressed far enough to unlock all the moves that Kratos is capable of. Anyone who thinks the story is
    Can't help but sit here and laugh at the idiots who gave this game a negative review. This is without a doubt one of the best games to come out of the entire decade.

    Anyone who thinks the combat is lacking clearly is just terrible at the game (there's no helping that) or hasn't progressed far enough to unlock all the moves that Kratos is capable of.

    Anyone who thinks the story is lacking either doesn't know much about the history of Kratos or is too stupid to see a significant moment when it occurs.

    The dynamic between Kratos and Atreus is very cool and the future of their relationship and story kept me wondering what was going to happen next and where it was going to go.

    The only thing I think that holds some weight is the enemies. There isn't THAT much variety and the executions on each one get a little repetitive.

    Overall, I'm pretty critical of most games, but this one deserves the highest scores available. By the time the series is complete, this whole sequel series will be a masterpiece. That I can almost guarantee.
    Expand
  75. Sep 23, 2020
    10
    Masterpiece!

    People are always super hype about an open world, but god of war is proof that you do not need an open world.

    The gameplay and story are just beyond expectations.
  76. Sep 24, 2020
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, engaging, awesome, breathtaking, badass. So many words can describe thks game and every one of them are positive.
  77. Sep 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A lot of people growing up probably had a game that they played with their dad, that game for me was God of Wat, my dad and I were very close when we played the God of War franchise. Playing this hit really close to home seeing how I’m now the grown up having to deal with a similar issue which is change. I’m more than thankful for this game. Expand
  78. Sep 24, 2020
    10
    God of War tells a wonderful tale through a beautiful spectrum speckled with more than a few drops of the blood of your enemies. It’s a shame, then, that boss fights have fallen by the wayside at every level to become terribly monotonous – but if that’s the cost of what Santa Monica has built, it’s certainly a price worth paying.
  79. Sep 25, 2020
    9
    Good game. Great graphics and an unforgettable atmosphere. The most impressive, of course, is the fights with Balder.
    We were only upset by the fluorinated minibuses - trolls (they are all almost the same, only of different colors).
  80. Sep 26, 2020
    6
    iv been a god of war fan since the first game, iv played all the primary games, iv only played the first psp game when it comes to the secondary games

    this game does not deserve the 10/10s nor the 94/100 critics gave it, i would give this game 79/100 why? because the previous GOW games are much better than this one, there are also other current gen games of the same genre that are
    iv been a god of war fan since the first game, iv played all the primary games, iv only played the first psp game when it comes to the secondary games

    this game does not deserve the 10/10s nor the 94/100 critics gave it, i would give this game 79/100 why? because the previous GOW games are much better than this one, there are also other current gen games of the same genre that are better than this game and even some of those do not deserve such high score! this corruption needs to stop, all that "paying critics to up my game score" garbage needs to go

    what i like in the game?
    the superb graphics,
    the narration,
    the new kratos design,
    some boss designs,
    dragon designs,
    the scenery
    the flashbacks and blasts from the past,
    valkiryes

    what i dont like

    the level design and level selection mechanism:
    having to go through the same main hub and slow level selection over and over again gets old and breaks the immersion

    useless sidequests:
    what else is there to say, all of them are boring

    palette swaps:
    is this 16 bit era? why so cheap sony? fighting the same bosses 100x with different names and color variantion in a "first party blockbuster, console selling game" is ridiculous! fighting and encountering the same "unknown" boss multiple times is not helping the case neither!
    this smells like sony greed if you ask me!

    fight mechanics:
    in one word its unintuitive
    compared to other current gen games, and even previous gen games, this one is mediocre at best, of course GOW was never known to have a rich fighting system, but it used to be fun (and brutal lol)

    with that said, i think it has potential, if they improve and correct it the right way for the next game that is

    i truly hope they kill it with the next game, same way gow2 improved on gow1, if sony permits it with a higher budget, its feasble, potential is not whats lacking

    thanks for reading
    Expand
  81. Sep 26, 2020
    10
    A magnificent video game and ranked among the best games of all time for me, in the same category of Ocarina of Time, Chrono Trigger, and Half Life 2. The biggest triumph is the story. Being a father, the father/son dynamic is so extraordinary. It was a true delight to play this game with my son. And to share the elements with him is something special.

    Thank you Cory Barlog, the Santa
    A magnificent video game and ranked among the best games of all time for me, in the same category of Ocarina of Time, Chrono Trigger, and Half Life 2. The biggest triumph is the story. Being a father, the father/son dynamic is so extraordinary. It was a true delight to play this game with my son. And to share the elements with him is something special.

    Thank you Cory Barlog, the Santa Monica Studios team, and Sony to offer us the next step in video game history.

    I'm truly excited for the next chapter in the GoW universe. Ragnarok is coming!

    Lets go!
    Expand
  82. Sep 27, 2020
    8
    Красивый визуал и музыка, эпичность, захватывающий сюжет, но не слишком зрелищная и динамичная боевка аля дарк соулс, в сравнении с прошлыми частями; куча интересных мини-историй и легенд, но скучные и нудные испытания и условно открытый мир, который можно было сделать гораздо компактней. Лично для меня Год оф вар это линейная адвенчюра-слешер, в котором совсем не хочется лазить по разнымКрасивый визуал и музыка, эпичность, захватывающий сюжет, но не слишком зрелищная и динамичная боевка аля дарк соулс, в сравнении с прошлыми частями; куча интересных мини-историй и легенд, но скучные и нудные испытания и условно открытый мир, который можно было сделать гораздо компактней. Лично для меня Год оф вар это линейная адвенчюра-слешер, в котором совсем не хочется лазить по разным мирам ради гринда. Жду вторую часть, но именно ради сюжета, а не гецмплея (врядли его станут сильно менять). Expand
  83. Sep 27, 2020
    9
    This is probably the "funnest" game I have ever played. The world is so vibrant and gargantuan, and the setting so creative and unique, that it transports you to another universe where you can forget about the troubles of the real world. Even though the story does a great job of teaching a human like yourself to empathize with an immortal god, it doesn't do quite the same heart wrenchingThis is probably the "funnest" game I have ever played. The world is so vibrant and gargantuan, and the setting so creative and unique, that it transports you to another universe where you can forget about the troubles of the real world. Even though the story does a great job of teaching a human like yourself to empathize with an immortal god, it doesn't do quite the same heart wrenching that a story like the TLOU can do with real human characters. That doesn't mean that there isn't great character development and some truly heart breaking scenes, this story does the best it possibly can to allow the player relate to characters that are gods. I felt a little bit like the story was driven more by the setting than by character development or lore. It felt a little like a series of fetch quests with the main purpose of showing you a cool new arena. Which by the way, the environments in the game are truly the most creative, jaw dropping scenes in any game I have ever played. But I would have appreciated a more thought out, and outlined story line, where each mission had a more critical lesson for the character development. That being said, the character development here is still masterful, maybe not TLOU status, still better than most games even touch. And the game play is definitely epic and challenging. I normally don't like hack and slash type games, but this game is a perfect blend of technique and mechanics. You are given new skills in a digestible manor, and when you learn to use them in the correct sequence, it doesn't feel like button mashing at all, but a coordinated dance. I really appreciate a game that does not have perma-death, or make recollect all of your fallen items, but still can feel challenging, and make death feel meaning full. Ever challenging new opponent you face makes you want to train more, become for efficient, learn better combos, and master the axe like a true God of War. Expand
  84. Sep 27, 2020
    10
    Lo describiría como algo nuevo, pero nostálgico es un aire fresco a la saga.
  85. Sep 28, 2020
    7
    Mediocre linear slasher game. Boring, but, I guess, smashing one button is ok nowadays.
  86. Sep 28, 2020
    10
    It's perfect, simply perfect.
    There's no words to explain how I'd felt playing this game, simply beautiful
  87. Sep 29, 2020
    9
    Conclusion -
    I haven't felt like this for a long time, probably since The Last Of Us, where once the game ends, I feel like part of my life has been taken away from me. I hope they do not leave us waiting for the next God Of War game, as I feel I would probably die from withdrawal. This was a fantastic game and has some of the best storytelling and visual effects I have ever witnessed in
    Conclusion -
    I haven't felt like this for a long time, probably since The Last Of Us, where once the game ends, I feel like part of my life has been taken away from me. I hope they do not leave us waiting for the next God Of War game, as I feel I would probably die from withdrawal. This was a fantastic game and has some of the best storytelling and visual effects I have ever witnessed in gaming. I suggest that everybody plays God Of War and experiences this as it is truly jaw-dropping.
    Expand
  88. Sep 29, 2020
    10
    Writing these in 2020 and this is still the best game I played on ps4. Beautiful story, live characters, challenging gameplay.. Waiting for the next sequel.
  89. Sep 29, 2020
    10
    Dios esto no es un juego esto es el mejor juego Me gusto mucho la verdad :')
  90. Sep 29, 2020
    10
    Es un gran cambio a la franquicia y esto es bueno, no como mucha gente lo plantea, lo que hicieron en esta entrega es darle un aire fresco y nuevo a la franquicia, pero eso mucha gente no lo entiende...
  91. Sep 29, 2020
    10
    Es un juego simplemente maravilloso, todo lo que te da en algo tan arriesgado es increíble, si que es verdad que parece que da para mucho más esta saga y seguramente sea magnífica pero aún con esa sensación el juego lo que te ofrece es una historia más personal y eso lo logra de manera magnífica, me lo e jugado como 10 veces sin exagerar y casi en cada vez me e dado cuenta de algúnEs un juego simplemente maravilloso, todo lo que te da en algo tan arriesgado es increíble, si que es verdad que parece que da para mucho más esta saga y seguramente sea magnífica pero aún con esa sensación el juego lo que te ofrece es una historia más personal y eso lo logra de manera magnífica, me lo e jugado como 10 veces sin exagerar y casi en cada vez me e dado cuenta de algún detalle nuevo que no me di cuenta antes Expand
  92. Sep 29, 2020
    10
    Esto es lo que pasa cuando haces las cosas con amor!!!! Bravo Santa Mónica acabaste de revivir las emociones de juegos de antaño en tiempos modernos!!!
  93. Sep 29, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. El juego es grandioso , me encantan las historias de mimir como el desarrollo de los personajes atravez del tiempo que transcurre en el juego y la batalla final me dejo sin palabras Expand
  94. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    Cada momento es perfección, la banda sonora, los paisajes, un mundo inmersivo, no veo el momento de que salga el nuevo
  95. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    I've been a fan of god of war since the first one came out. On my first play trough I wasn't happy with the game at all, and I stopped playing for months, but 6 months ago I started playing again, paying much more attention to the dialoge, the enemies, the enviroment and the characters, and I loved it, I've replayed the game 10 times or more. I already have the 100% and now I'm playing onI've been a fan of god of war since the first one came out. On my first play trough I wasn't happy with the game at all, and I stopped playing for months, but 6 months ago I started playing again, paying much more attention to the dialoge, the enemies, the enviroment and the characters, and I loved it, I've replayed the game 10 times or more. I already have the 100% and now I'm playing on give me god of war.
    This will be one of my favorite games ever and now I'm waiting on the sequel.
    Expand
  96. Sep 30, 2020
    8
    Amazing, even original combat system. Metroidvania/Zeldaesque level design. There many thing in this game that feel like they are pieces of other games just done extremely well. Playing GOW reminded me of playing the first Darksiders game, taking the best of many games and improving it, both games even had combat that was perfect and wholey original.
  97. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    Anyone who scores GOW lower then a 9 is a liar and has never played the game. This game is a masterpiece and destroys the previous 3 GOW games, and those games are incredible. I believe these reviews are from butthurt xbox fanboys to tarnish this great games review score! Everyone I've talked to about GOW has given it nothing but praise!
  98. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    Ya quiero que salga el siguiente AAAAAAAH, me gusto toda la historia de principio hasta el final del juego y tambien me gustó ese cambio de jugabilidad que tenian las otras entregas
  99. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    I just incredible, the animation, the story, the relationship father to son, and the bosses are so epics. Its another world but looking Kratos in another mythology it's so interesting. The best game ever. Thank you, Cory.
  100. Oct 1, 2020
    9
    Kann ich nur wärmstens weiter empfehlen,
    God of War: Ragnerök kann nur ein gutes Spiel
    wewrden wenn es nur halb so gut ist .
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 118 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 118
  2. Negative: 0 out of 118
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 13, 2018
    100
    The return of the furious Spartan warrior was made well. God of War is already a great contender for game of the year and you shouldn't miss it. [Issue#285]
  2. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2018
    100
    Cory Barlog and his team achieved what many thought impossible – despite having changed almost everything Santa Monica managed to preserve that elusive spark that makes God of War game feel like a God of War game. They created one of the defining titles of the current generation and a technical marvel whose stunning beauty in motion words cannot describe. And there’s one more thing. Barlog’s touching reaction to his masterpiece’s scores shows that even in the world of huge budgets, micropayments, loot boxes and sales forecasts there still is a place for artists who pour their hearts into their work. We need someone to remind us of that once in a while. [06/2018, p.38]
  3. Jun 7, 2018
    95
    Where most games excel in one single area, God of War manages to deliver on every front, providing players with one of the best experiences we’ve seen so far this generation.