Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Aug 29, 2018
    91
    Horizon Chase Turbo may occasionally be infuriating, but it’s a whole lot of fun much more frequently. If you’ve ever yearned for an arcade racer that genuinely feels like it comes from the early days of home consoles, you should most definitely check this one out.
  2. Jun 3, 2018
    87
    It is basically your favorite retro racing game with enhanced graphics and better sound effects.
  3. Jul 21, 2018
    85
    I had a hell of a time with Horizon Chase Turbo. Of all of the retro revival games that have come out over the past few years, it is near the top of my personal list of favourites. I can’t get enough of it.
  4. May 31, 2018
    85
    Horizon Chase Turbo is an homage (totally worthy of praise) to classic games like Top Gear and Outrun, with frantic and very good control. The soundtrack is a minor wonder.
  5. Aug 13, 2019
    80
    When playing Horizon Chase Turbo for a couple of hours, it is more than fair to say that this game is what it wants to be, that is, a tribute to the driving arcades of the 90s. With simple but effective controls. We are facing a racing game for those who are not looking for a simulator, but rather a title where fun is what prevails.
  6. May 22, 2018
    80
    Horizon Chase Down is a good choice for fans of the Arcade Racer genre, specifically for those who enjoyed games like Out Run, Top Gear, Cruis'n USA and the Rush series. With a basic, but responsive control, a difficulty that does present a challenge, despite some occasional details, an impeccable visual presentation with colorful and detailed elements and a memorable soundtrack, this racing game fulfills what it promises, performs the homage that has given rise to its existence and represents a fun options that allow players to remember the golden age of the genre.
  7. May 16, 2018
    80
    A great and awesome tribute for all the classic arcade racing games like Out Run and Top Gear.
  8. Jun 10, 2018
    75
    It’s got some rough edges, and I really wish it had a solid online multiplayer component, but ultimately I like Horizon Chase Turbo; probably more than I should.
  9. May 21, 2018
    75
    Horizon Chase Turbo is a fun and challenging racing game that harkens back to the old school arcade days. The collision system can be aggravating and dampen the fun as a result. The tracks aren't anything to rave about, but the environments have a bright, plucky charm to them. It has its share of flaws, but it is worth checking out if you need a quick racing fix.
  10. 75
    A thoroughly enjoyable arcade racer with an eye on the past, Horizon Chase Turbo does a commendable job of reinvigorating 90s arcade racing in a way that nobody else has really bothered to do.
  11. Jun 5, 2018
    70
    There is a lot of crap to wade through in gaming today. So when something as special and fun as Horizon Chase Turbo comes along, I feel the need to shout it from the rooftops. If you grew up in arcades loving those classic sit-down racing games, this is one you need to play. I cannot wait to spend more time with it, and hope the devs get a chance to make more titles that rekindle my childhood nostalgia.
  12. May 31, 2018
    70
    Horizon Chase Turbo is an old school inspired arcade racer that can be both fun and frustrating to play. When it is at its fun moments then the attitude of just one more race takes over as you become engrossed. When the game throws up its frustrating moments they can override a lot of goodwill. If you’re looking for an arcade racer then Horizon Chase Turbo is worth considering, but don’t let its charming looks fool you as you’ll face a tough challenge within.
  13. 70
    It is a worthy replacement for Out Run, in that it does everything those games did but with a shiny coat of paint and some bells and whistles that are genre-staples nowadays.
  14. May 25, 2018
    70
    Horizon Chase Turbo is simple fun that doesn’t offer up an overbearing challenge for its racers. It contains some good rewards, which help keep the player motivated, but needs to be just a bit deeper in the physics department. All in all, though, it’s a fun arcade racer.
  15. May 21, 2018
    70
    The spirit of old school arcade racing is reborn in a homage to everything from OutRun to Lotus Turbo Challenge, and despite a few bumps in the road it’s all just as much fun as you remember.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 89
  2. Negative: 14 out of 89
  1. May 24, 2018
    10
    A great arcade racing game! One of the best racing game of all time !!! I LOVE IT! Great graphics, great velocity... a must have game!
  2. May 16, 2018
    9
    Forget adjusting your camber and your suspension. This is an all out ballsy retro racer with a Barry Leitch soundtrack. Heaven.
  3. May 15, 2018
    10
    This game made me relive very nostalgic times of the top gear times, it's a glorious greeting to the racing games that really made us happy,This game made me relive very nostalgic times of the top gear times, it's a glorious greeting to the racing games that really made us happy, with every drop of sweat spent on each achievement and with a remarkable soundtrack, I found it incredible to play on the devices android, but on playstation 4 was a sensational experience, congratulations to Aquiris Games for delivering a high quality material Full Review »