Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 1, 2017
    90
    Trust us when we say this is the best VR game since Batman. Our word is our Bond. [March 2016, p80]
  2. Dec 18, 2016
    90
    More than just a ‘locked in a room’ simulator, I Expect You To Die! Is a masterful use of VR and the Move controllers. The puzzles are just challenging enough to be fun, while not so easy as to be obvious. My only complaint is that the game is relatively short, but the promise of a sequel has me ready to hand over my money. You need this game in your VR library.
  3. Dec 18, 2016
    90
    A must-have puzzle game for PlayStation VR owners. It's one of the most polished titles available for the headset, and really shows how the medium can open up new ideas for developers.
  4. Games Master UK
    Feb 18, 2017
    87
    Superlative. [Feb 2017, p.83]
  5. Jan 6, 2017
    85
    With wry humor, just the right amount of challenge, and accessibility to all comers, I Expect You to Die sets a precedent for being one of the best virtual reality experiences available for PlayStation right now. It's not always perfect, but Schell Games has done so much else right, it's easy to overlook the few flaws that persist throughout the experience.
  6. Dec 31, 2016
    85
    I Expect You to Die provides a very strong sense of wonder, a great control system and exciting missions. Its only limitation is the length of the main plot that could be completed just in a couple of hours.
  7. Dec 30, 2016
    85
    I Expect You to Die is able to keep the player engaged throughout and further drills home the point that simplicity in VR is the way to go.
  8. Dec 20, 2016
    85
    Every one of the four levels is delightful and inventive, offering multiple ways to solve each problem and reacting logically to out-of-the-box ideas. It may be on the short side, but Expect‘s wit and ability to engage players more than earns it a place on the must-play PSVR list.
  9. 85
    An essential VR game that gets across why virtual reality is so fundamentally different from traditional games. It immerses you in Schell’s take on spy culture, and provides some frantic heart pounding moments as you try not to die. The adventure is over all too quickly, but the format of the missions being launched from a central office is the perfect platform to bring in additional missions as updates or DLC, which I would wholly support if they matched up to the impeccable quality of the existing puzzles.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 19, 2017
    80
    You won't be sweating with confusion over its brainteasers, but the laser focus on making you feel like a super spy earns this bite-size experience a License To Thrill. [Feb 2017, p.92]
  11. Jan 18, 2017
    80
    I Expect You To Die is a fun jaunt into the world of megalomaniacal super villains and the spies trained to stop them. It has charm, a great sense of humor, and would do well with fans of James Bond and Archer. The puzzles themselves are delightfully elaborate and fun to work through, though I did experience my fair share of impatience at having to restart entire missions because of goof ups that were out of my control. The VR experience is mostly great, though make sure your setup is calibrated and at the right distance from the camera for best results. I Expect You To Die does right by PlayStation VR owners looking for something to play by themselves or with friends.
  12. Dec 23, 2016
    80
    I Expect You to Die is a brillant VR experience, actually one of the best so far.
  13. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    Through well designed puzzles, intense escape room scenarios, and a kineticism absent in video games on standard screens, I Expect You to Die knows exactly how to leverage the magic of VR, and proves it almost every step of the way.
  14. Dec 13, 2016
    80
    I Expect You To Die crafts an experience that is enjoyable from beginning to end. Not only that, but it never feels like it’s using virtual reality as a gimmick. The perspective is required to truly get you in the dangerous lifestyle of a secret agent, puzzling away at how to best carry out their mission. If you’re looking for a seriously unique puzzle game to spend a few hours with, I Expect You To Die is a great choice for PSVR owners.
  15. May 19, 2017
    75
    Intelligent escape puzzles that are held back only by the inaccuracy that you encounter here and there with the Move controllers.
  16. Mar 23, 2017
    70
    Putting you into cunning espionage themed escape rooms, I Expect You To Die is a fun VR puzzler with a charming sense of humour and dozens of ways to die. Sadly, there’s only a handful missions to take on, making this yet another VR game that’s over before it’s had a chance to really get started.
  17. 70
    One of the best puzzle games of 2016. Addictive, fun and clever.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 56
  2. Negative: 7 out of 56
  1. Dec 22, 2016
    9
    I expect you to die is a very enjoyable escape the room game and one of the best experiences I've had in VR. The puzzles get increasinglyI expect you to die is a very enjoyable escape the room game and one of the best experiences I've had in VR. The puzzles get increasingly difficult but are fair, I never felt like there was something that was so obscure that there was no way I'd be able to figure it out, while also not being too easy. It's a genuinely fun and rewarding game. Each time I completed a level I was excited to see what situation I would be put into next. The only real complaint I have is that it's short, so I'm hoping there is DLC or a sequel! Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2017
    8
    This is definitely one of those games that you have to get if you own a PSVR. It's an "escape the room" type of game with some very niceThis is definitely one of those games that you have to get if you own a PSVR. It's an "escape the room" type of game with some very nice interactions and challenging puzzles.

    One big caveat though: The game is really, really short (only 6 levels, total playtime maybe 60 min) considering the price tag.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 17, 2017
    8
    The gameplay here is fantastic. it has a very well balanced light-hearted and funny but serious enough to to be challenging feel to it. IThe gameplay here is fantastic. it has a very well balanced light-hearted and funny but serious enough to to be challenging feel to it. I loved the 1950s-60s, spy/007 theme to it. I found it to be very delightfully clever in the way that it makes you think and try different things in order to solve these puzzles. You wont be stumped for long periods of time trying to solve these puzzles but they are cleverly and enjoyably challenging. I think that is where the main charm and appeal and value are here. 3 out of 4 of the puzzles are very well designed and, for the most part, very well balanced. The one that I didn't love wasn't bad, it was just too easy which made it not as much fun as the other 3. I also loved the way that so many of the items you can interact with have multiple purposes/uses. Overall, the design was just good, and well done.

    The reason that I gave this game 8/10 is for the following reasons: it started at 10/10 because I had so much fun in 3 of the 4 puzzles. In those moments, I was having a 10/10 level of fun. It was a blast when it worked. I subtracted a point because it is so short. Of course, when a game is $25 you don't expect hours and hours of gameplay and in my opinion, quality always trumps quantity, but I have to consider value for $. And I think this should have been a $19.99 game. $24.99 is a little high considering the amount of content and how long it will take you to complete. I thought that 4 puzzles (which you can easily get through in 60-90 minutes (assuming its your first time playing them - more like 30 mins if you've already played and figured the puzzles out). When you consider that games of similar quality and length, such as Batman Arkham VR, are priced at $19.99 this seems a little overpriced. It lost a second point because that 4th puzzle, which accounts for %25 of the entire game, was not nearly as much fun or as challenging and memorable as the other 3. If I were to base my opinion on the first 3 puzzles and the game was $14.99 for those 3 puzzles, I would probably give this 10/10. The first 3 puzzles are easily worth $4.99 each.

    Regardless, I would absolutely, absolutely recommend this game to any PSVR owners. It's probably awesome on Oculus too but I can't say for sure. In my opinion, the flagship PSVR game still is Resident Evil 7, but if you don't like scary games like that or maybe you've just played RE7 to death like me, you definitely want to get this game. It's great, and I really hope to see it sell well enough to warrant an expansion or sequel.
    Full Review »