Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
Buy On
  1. Sep 12, 2017
    90
    Madden 18 is the best installment of the series in the last years. Very solid and with stunning graphics thanks to the Frostbite engine. Great both for the veterans of the genre and for the newcomers.
  2. Aug 30, 2017
    90
    Madden 18 is yet another triumph for the series, and this year’s big success story is the game’s Longshot narrative. It seems incongruous to be talking about heartfelt, well-acted storytelling in a Madden game, yet it’s a perfect fit, hanging some drama off EA’s rock-solid mechanics and fantastic visuals.
  3. Aug 28, 2017
    90
    Even without any changes to Franchise mode, Madden NFL 18 is the best entry in the series to date. Realistic visuals, overhauled mechanics, and Longshot mode create a more authentic NFL football experience.
  4. Aug 24, 2017
    90
    One of the best Madden games I have ever played. It’s accessible to new players and offers brand new experiences for seasoned video game football vets. There are some years when Madden just doesn’t have the right feel, and I usually will be the first to tell folks to hold off on buying the game. But this is not one of those years. 2018 is coming, and Madden is ready to give you hours of awesome gameplay experiences.
  5. Aug 19, 2017
    90
    Overall, Madden 18 marks an unusually large shakeup in a series that, due to its annualized releases, rarely features much more than small, iterative changes. The Frostbite engine allows the game to reach new levels of realism in its visuals, and EA has put a lot of effort into constantly evolving the game to keep it in line with real-world events. But it is the Longshot story mode that defines Madden 18.
  6. Aug 18, 2017
    90
    EA Tiburon continues to find new ways to improve their Madden series and so far, at least in the last few years, they’re doing a good job of bringing worthwhile experiences to gamers.
  7. Aug 17, 2017
    90
    Last year, I said that Madden NFL 17 was refined, yet was lacking something. Something that could shake the series up. Well, this year they took a gamble with Longshot and it paid off.
  8. Aug 17, 2017
    90
    So much content and so much variety you’ll likely get your fill well before you manage to do everything.
  9. Aug 17, 2017
    90
    Madden has been good for a long time, but this year it's great. There are so many small improvements made to the core of Madden NFL 18's gameplay thanks to the new engine, it's hard not to be excited when hitting the gridiron every time you fire up a game. Even after hours of play, we're still noticing new ways in which players are reacting and moving between the hash marks.
  10. Aug 16, 2017
    90
    More than ever, Madden NFL is a demanding but fun simulator that accurately represents the real-life sport, and is capable of draining dozens if not hundreds of hours of your time. The jury is out on whether Longshot will be a long-term success; but with the transition to Frostbite and the rock-solid play on the field, Madden 18 has to be considered among the upper echeleon of sports sims.
  11. Aug 16, 2017
    90
    Madden NFL 18 may be the biggest leap forward in the franchise since going to 3D in 1999. The tightest and crispest Madden to date, it looks and performs stunningly, all while adding tons of little things to correctly represent the game of football.
  12. 90
    Madden NFL 18 is an impressive leap forward for the series. Not only is Longshot an ambitious and fantastically told story, it's one that isn't limited to preexisting football fans. There's also more ways to enjoy the game than ever before, as there are several play styles that will mold the game into either a more realistic or arcade-like experience depending on what the user desires. EA Tiburon has set a new high bar for the series, that they'll have to work towards reaching every year going forward. For now, though, NFL fans can enjoy one of the best sports games that Electronic Arts has ever put out.
  13. Sep 8, 2017
    88
    This year's entry polishes the core of the series, with an improved control and, what's more important, a very well executed story mode.
  14. Sep 8, 2017
    88
    The new storymode Longshot and other improvements make Madden NFL 18 the biggest in the series.
  15. Sep 7, 2017
    88
    Madden 18 is a step forward in the franchise. The different styles of play, the incredible story mode and the use of the Frostbite engine are enough to enjoy a really solid experience.
  16. Aug 23, 2017
    86
    A great new story mode makes it at least a significant improvement, even if it’s more incremental than we’d hoped from a new game engine.
  17. Oct 5, 2017
    85
    The Madden series is iconic in the world of sports gaming. Regardless of your reason for playing, you can't go wrong with Madden NFL 18 because it's the ultimate NFL simulation experience on the market. This year's iteration brings dramatic changes in the form of an interactive movie, but there's something here for everyone, whether the interest is in MyTeam, online play, the MUT system, the competitive scene and community, or the superstar career mode.
  18. Sep 7, 2017
    85
    Madden NFL 18's gameplay is a small step forward for the series. It's a good football game, but not a masterpiece.
  19. 85
    Madden NFL 18 is a breath of fresh air in the franchise, highlighted with Longshot, a new engine, and more accessible game modes to round off the package.
  20. Aug 16, 2017
    85
    Madden NFL 18, with its variety of new modes and features, has quickly become my favorite entry in the Madden series to date.
  21. Sep 7, 2017
    83
    So, is it worth buying two years in a row? The answer is probably a bit of a cop-out. No, it’s not. But, this is only because annually released sports sims never are. But – and this is a big “but” – Longshot is different, and it’s an experience worth having. MUT has never been more engaging, while online is packed with modes and runs great. Madden has never been friendlier to new players, and, who knows? Like me, you might learn something new about football.
  22. Aug 18, 2017
    83
    Madden 18 provides all the things I want in this year’s game; updated rosters, a brand new engine, and gameplay tweaking makes me a happy fan. The Longshot mode is a turnover on downs, but again it doesn’t take anything away from the main game, so I can’t fault them too much for trying something fresh and original.
  23. Aug 17, 2017
    83
    Madden 18 is missing a host of fixes, wishlist staples, and improvements, but it doesn't have to appease to have worth. It captures the joy that I find in playing video game football even after all these years. That's not just a love of the sport with a license slapped on it; it's the continuing refinement of gameplay and modes that still has the ability to surprise and excite.
  24. Sep 11, 2017
    80
    Comprehensive, realistic and highly technical, Madden NFL 18 rises to the level of the best sports simulations games. Boosted by the Frostbite engine, the game is not only a visual feast but also offers quite a decent challenge for advanced players.
  25. 80
    It may not be the most well-written Madden game you will ever play. But it definitely is the best all-around football video game you’ve ever seen.
  26. 80
    If you are holding out hope for wholesale changes and improvements, I think that is probably a little unrealistic based on the annual release cycle and you will come away disappointed. Personally I look forward to the fresh roster updates, appreciate subtle tweaks to a series that I have been playing yearly for more than twenty years and thoroughly enjoyed the two major modes additions.
  27. Aug 22, 2017
    80
    Madden 18 is a very solid product, featuring the best passing mechanics I’ve ever seen in a football game. The game has come a long way improving the physics and collisions, and overall presents a great product on the field, despite a few glitches. Some of those glitches can cause fatal errors, and there is no more hilarious fatal error than the hacky Longshot interactive movie/football experience that I can imagine ever being in a football game. Overall, this is a really great Madden release with a few errors that need fixing.
  28. Aug 17, 2017
    80
    Were it not for "Longshot" and MUT Squads, many veterans of the "Madden" franchise might have had a difficult time discerning last year's edition from this one. Thankfully, those two new modes pay off, making all the effort devoted to them worthwhile. They're joined by subtle but valuable improvements to gameplay that become apparent the more Madden NFL 18 is played.
  29. Aug 17, 2017
    80
    Madden NFL 18 places its bets on a tried-and-true tale more than changes to gameplay or new layers in the career suite, and Longshot may not impress more worldly people.
  30. Sep 11, 2017
    78
    This year in Madden they really stepped up their game, ‘Long Shot’ is one of the best things Madden players have seen in a while, and many players wanted it. ‘Long Shot’ had its many faults but going forward in the next few Madden’s the Career Mode will get better and it will be more interesting. Lovers of Madden should get this game because it has many new additions. If you haven’t got a Madden in a while it’s a good idea to get this one. But all together, Madden 18 is a good game with many new perks, and it’s headed in the right direction.
  31. Sep 6, 2017
    75
    Another year, another Madden. Unfortunately no big changes in gameplay, but Longshot is a fun addition to the game. The Frostbite Engine looks nice, but is still kind of buggy. Overall EA gets a pass with a decent Football game.
  32. Sep 4, 2017
    75
    Copy pasted from Madden NFL 17, the 2018 edition of EA's American Football franchise doesn't exactly reinvent the wheel. Adding a story mode was a nice touch though and will no doubt keep fans happy for a while.
  33. 75
    Overall, Madden 18 offers some fun new additions. 'Longshot' isn't perfect, but it's a big step in the right direction. If you buy Madden every year there's enough fresh content to satisfy you, but if you had Madden 17 and only buy the game once every few years, nobody could blame you for holding off.
  34. Aug 31, 2017
    75
    Most of the Madden 18 experience is exactly what you expect, but the twist is the new exceptional Longshot mode that proves sports can be an avenue for video game storytelling. Turn off false start, offensive holding, and instant replay; raise catching ability through the roof; and stay away from the slimy Ultimate Team mode. Do that and you'll have a good time with Madden 18.
  35. Sep 5, 2017
    70
    Though the new Longshot mode is ultimately a disappointment and the gameplay hasn't changed much, Madden NFL 18 is still an excellent pigskin sim despite its lack of competition. Welcoming for newcomers and deeply detailed for die-hards, this year's edition of the long-running franchise is certainly not a Maddening experience.
  36. Aug 29, 2017
    70
    Madden ‘18 is a solid annual update that continues the franchise’s good form as of late. It doesn’t hurt that Longshot mode is absolutely fantastic, too.
  37. Aug 17, 2017
    70
    Despite some hiccups with the ambitious new story mode, Madden NFL 18 remains a solid entry in the franchise.
  38. Aug 16, 2017
    70
    Madden 18 shines brightest with its new Longshot mode, but the lack of improvements elsewhere makes this year’s Madden offering an incremental – but still highly-playable – update.
  39. 70
    Madden NFL 18 doesn't reinvent the sports game narrative, but it does enough to move the chains and inch a little closer toward the end zone.
  40. Aug 18, 2017
    60
    As far as adding anything new and of value, Madden NFL 18 is mostly devoid, and for that reason it’s also difficult to recommend when you have just a one-year-old predecessor that will offer the same core experience for half the money.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 22, 2017
    The 'Madden NFL 18' Story Mode Is Better Than It Has Any Right To Be.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 153
  2. Negative: 94 out of 153
  1. Aug 28, 2017
    4
    Pros:
    1. First of all, the graphics are amazing. Do yourself a favor and purchase a PS4 Pro (hook that baby up to a 4K TV while you are at
    Pros:
    1. First of all, the graphics are amazing. Do yourself a favor and purchase a PS4 Pro (hook that baby up to a 4K TV while you are at it. You will be in awe.)

    2. The game play is MUCH smoother. What I mean by "smoother" is, in Madden 17 I felt completely out of control when running the ball. This year the players seem a little more.... "grounded" if you will. Jukes are much more effective with scat backs (no more coming to a complete stop prior to throwing a joke), and trucking/stiff arms with bigger backs actually works against DBs/smaller defenders.

    3. The 3v3 MUT is sick. I love playing DB in career mode, but it gets a little tedious because the CPU doesn't make mistakes (such as throwing into double coverage), so playing against a user controlled QB is refreshing.

    4. AI blocking is better. Not perfect, but better.

    CONS:

    Before I begin, I wanted to point out (in my humble opinion) it doesn’t matter how good the graphics are, how much effort you put into MUT for financial gain, how the CFM wasn’t even touched (even though YOUR WHOLE ENTIRE FAN BASE WANTED THIS ADDRESSED!!!)), how bad the commentary is, how the players still look like drunk rag dolls in the middle of an epileptic seizure, I could forgive these flaws…… as long as the game play is realistic. After all, that is why we purchase the game, correct? With that being said, here we go:

    1.This year, EA insists that ratings actually matter, so I put their theory to the test. I conducted a fantasy draft with two separate teams.

    For team A, I drafted of all (rated) 90+ defensive lineman, and for team B I drafted all 60-70’s (rated) offensive lineman. For team A, also I drafted highly rated linebackers (Hightower with a 91 overall rating, Levonte David at OLB), and for team B I drafted a mediocre RB/TE/FB combo (I believe it was Kareem Hunt).

    In theory, team A should win in the trenches every...single...time.

    The very first game (everything was CPU controlled, so "user timing" did not play a factor in the outcome) I watched Von Miller (who I changed to a DE) get COMPLETELY blown off the ball on a running play and pushed 10 yards down the field …….by Coby Fleener.

    Mind you, this was simulation mode, where individual ratings are supposed to matter (the ONLY game mode where ratings are paramount to user skill). Von Miller has (don't quote me on the exact ratings) a 97 block shedding rating, 95-97 finesses moves rating, etc. So why in the hell is Coby Fleener, a pass catching tight end with a 50 something run blocking rating, blowing up the MVP and driving him 10 yards down the field?

    Kareem Hunt ended the game with (I kid you not) 140 rushing yards on 17 carries. As a reminder, he was running against a defensive line with all 90+ ratings (as well as linebackers with 85-90 ratings) behind an offensive line with 60-70 ratings.

    So, unfortunately ratings do not seem to matter. I am hoping this gets patched, fixed with sliders, but to me it seems like another broken promise from EA.

    2. DL/OL interaction is so slow. My lord it's frustrating at times. Good luck trying to get your DT to make a tackle behind the line of scrimmage. As a result, there is a positive running play on almost every single carry (a complete 180 from last year's running game, which was almost too difficult).

    3. Subpar QBs are still throwing dimes off their back foot. This goes back to bullet point #1, do ratings really matter?

    4. The CPU AI is useless, you can throw slants against their defense all game and they won't adapt. Non-user controlled players wander around the field with no purpose (especially on defense, where I've seen DBs run away from their coverage WHILE THE BALL IS IN THE AIR, defensive lineman diving at absolutely nothing..taking themselves out of the play, etc).

    I'd recommend watching RyanMoody21's Youtube Channel. He breaks down a tremendous amount of flaws in this year's game.

    I will say this, people are catching on. Trust me fellas, there will be a point in our lifetime where another company makes a legitimate football game, because year after year EA has shown they aren't capable of doing so.

    It's hilarious and almost sad to see just how complacent Tiburon is with mediocrity.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2017
    0
    I created this account to give this game a 0. Game-play wise, nothing really changed from last year. However, they did remove draftI created this account to give this game a 0. Game-play wise, nothing really changed from last year. However, they did remove draft champions being free to play, and made it pay to play through Ultimate team. Note, I only play online. However, every year fans ask for more stuff in franchise mode and every year EA does little to nothing to it and then tries to monetize the game more. The big thing they added this year was a story mode. What a joke. I won't touch that pile of crap game mode for 1 second. Again though, I play online only. That is why draft champions was so fun, and now I cant play it unless I wanna pay an additional like $3-5 for each goddamn game of it. EA is a bloodsucking money hungry machine. Unfortunately every year their sales do well so they continuously keep on the same path of "lets see how we can monetize the game more." I mean FFS its already $60, I'm not putting in any money to Ultimate Team. Screw that, and you remove a good F2P game mode and make it P2P. The only big thing added again, was story mode, no thanks. I wish I didn't pay the $60 every year just for updated rosters, but it keeps me entertained for several weeks throughout the season. At least they didn't screw the actual game-play like they did in madden 25. Jeez that was real garbage too. Full Review »
  3. Aug 22, 2017
    6
    The graphics are nice and the commentary is good, but other than that, this game is average at best. I understand they moved to the FrostBiteThe graphics are nice and the commentary is good, but other than that, this game is average at best. I understand they moved to the FrostBite engine this year and they added the Long Shot mode (Story Mode) but it's just lacking. I found myself becoming increasingly more frustrated by not actually being able to play. The whole mode is constant cut scenes with a minor amount of actual game play. I am over half way through the mode and have played two games so far. The rest of the time you essentially watch a movie and you have to press the button quickly on quick time events. The worst part of this mode is you don't even actually make it to the NFL. Really EA? You don't even get to the NFL? So disappointing. And then there is CFM. I am a huge Franchise guy and I love taking my team from nothing to the Super Bowl. That is the primary reason I have purchased every Madden every year since Madden 2003. But the only new addition to CFM this year has been a draft board. I like the draft board, but how is it that the Madden community is still pining for features that we had over TEN YEARS AGO???!!! This is ridiculous! My hope is that this year they were unable to make a bunch of changes because they were forced to switch over to the FrostBite engine and they were forced to put in a story mode, so hopefully next year we can see a bunch of the improvements we want to see. Full Review »