Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
Buy On
  1. Feb 9, 2021
    100
    If Persona 5 was about forming bonds with new people and recruiting them for a common cause, Persona 5 Strikers is about taking the Phantom Thieves and proving that the friendship they share is lasting, that it can and will endure any hardship. I think, right now, that message is immeasurably important, and hits harder than a bullet formed from the Seven Deadly Sins.
  2. Feb 9, 2021
    100
    Persona 5 Strikers is one of the best spin-off titles I’ve ever played and gave me everything I wanted from a Persona 5 follow-up; a chance to revisit these characters in a much less bloated fashion and further modernising its combat system to complement the shift from randomised dungeon layouts to bespoke creations that P5 was praised for.
  3. 95
    There really isn’t a lot that Persona 5 Strikers does wrong. The combat is rewarding, the story is interesting, and the characters/setting are fleshed out, all with a good soundtrack. It’s by no means a perfect game, but what is wrong really isn’t anything that impacts the wider experience. This game did such a great job with something new, blending in a few different game types, that now I really wish Persona 3 and 4 had done the same thing. Those who enjoyed Persona 5 will love getting the band back together for another adventure with a new gameplay style, falling in love all over again. For those new to the series, you won’t feel like you missed a beat at all.
  4. 95
    Persona 5 Strikers will catch you off guard in the best way. You’ll never see it coming.
  5. Feb 9, 2021
    91
    All in all, I’ve really enjoyed my time with Persona 5 Strikers. I’ve played a whole lot of Dynasty Warriors and spin-off games in that genre, and I would argue that Persona 5 Strikers feels like one of the more unique takes on a Musou game that I’ve ever seen. It really, honestly feels like a full-fledged Persona sequel, in both story and combat, but with a heavier emphasis on action. Combining these two distinct flavors of video game franchises works exceptionally well here, and if you’re into either type of game, you’ll likely find something to love about Persona 5 Strikers.
  6. Mar 1, 2021
    90
    Despite all the fighting you will do here, and despite all the room that the developers have made for sociopolitical theater, Strikers is still a well-earned vacation for our heroes, an emphatic, energetic punctuation mark to a much larger experience.
  7. Feb 19, 2021
    90
    But as I cooked curry on the sandy shores of a lake, with the friends I spent so much time coming to love, Persona 5 Strikers and its effortless charm struck a chord with me. Not many games have done that before. I certainly doubt I’ll find it again in 2021.
  8. Feb 10, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers is a brilliantly executed melding of the Dynasty Warriors style gameplay with Persona 5 characters and systems. It delivers a solid story while staying true to the roots of both games. There were some small issues with how some of the systems were set up, the default sorting for the items list for one, and I wish some of the actual content of my P5R saves would have carried over. Despite these minor issues, I had a blast hanging with the Phantom Thieves again and working to make the world a better place. I would never have thought to ask for this melding, but it's a beautiful experience.
  9. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers is a worthy addition to the Persona 5 game line. If you enjoyed the previous exploits of the Phantom Thieves, then you will love everything this game has to offer.
  10. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Though the very nature of its story means it isn’t really an appropriate place for newcomers to leap in, Persona 5 Strikers is absolutely a treat for Phantom Thieves fans. Atlus and Omega Force have ensured that as much as possible of what made Persona 5 so beloved has been transported here and put into an appreciably tight package. Spending extra time with the Phantom Thieves and travelling with them across Japan is a much needed positive experience and well worth it.
  11. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Calling Persona 5 Strikers “just another Musou game” would be a disservice. I definitely recommend giving it a shot if it was on your radar at all, since it provides an experience so removed from regular Musou games and reuniting with the Phantom Thieves for more adventures seems to guarantee a fun time. Just one more spin-off to go before Persona 5 matches Persona 4‘s record. Will we see more of the Phantom Thieves in the future? All I know for sure is that I’m on board.
  12. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers is a great time and a worthy sequel to Persona 5 and Royal. The franchise’s traditional turn-based mechanics are masterfully transitioned into real-time versions that retain the soul and identity of what makes the series so much fun.
  13. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers is proof that change isn't always a bad thing. While it may not hold onto everything that made its forebear a phenomenon, the new elements it brings to the table more than make up for it, and show that the series' future lies in more than just straight-forward turn-based JRPGs.
  14. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers is an excellent return trip for The Phantom Thieves and hits all the stylish, energetic highs of its predecessor.
  15. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Blending an engaging and often thought-provoking narrative with combat that flirts with both strategy and chaos but always remains fun, Persona 5 Strikers is quite simply one of the best action RPGs I've ever played. If you love the Persona series consider it a must-play, but even action game fans that have never touched a Persona game before might want to give it a try. The combat is a far cry from Omega Force's usual brand of mindless hack and slash; in fact, it's totally unique. And alongside the usual Persona 5 flair such as bold visual design and an utterly sumptuous soundtrack, it creates an experience that could well be one of the highlights of 2021.
  16. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    I don’t think anyone expected Persona 5 Strikers to be as fleshed out as it is. There's a massive full game here with well over 50 hours of content for you to experience. Further, it's a way to reunite with a cast that you’ve probably already spent just as long with, if not more. The action-RPG systems make for a surprisingly fun and addictive gameloop that isn't overshadowed by the mainline entries and it still offers enough unique elements to differentiate it from other Musou titles.
  17. 90
    Playing Persona 5 Strikers is like being blessed with a reunion special of a beloved series that ended years ago. It feels different, perhaps through a new lens or just more timely, but the characters you grew to cherish are all back for one last, terrific adventure. Omega Force's influence is clear, but the game walks a confident line between the traditional Persona format and a musou spin-off. If you're a fan, do yourself a favour and don't sleep on this – Strikers is one hell of a road trip that deserves to be considered a proper sequel.
  18. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers does an impeccable job of adapting Persona's elements into a frenetic Dynasty Warriors action experience. Persona's more freeform exploration elements don't make the transition, but Persona 5 Strikers doesn't suffer from it. It's a fantastic reunion for the Phantom Thieves and a spinoff that feels more like a full-blown new entry than anything else.
  19. Feb 9, 2021
    89
    It keeps much of the character and fun of its predecessor while infusing it with some fresh new energy as well. Hanging out with Joker and the rest of the Phantom Thieves once more is every bit the joy it was last time I saw them, and the varied and challenging combat is consistently enthralling from start to finish. Fusing the rich game world of Persona with real-time combat, Omega Force and P-Studio have created a new Persona of their own and it is a worthy addition to a classic franchise.
  20. Feb 27, 2021
    88
    A very tasty Persona experience with a hint of Koei’s Warriors for good measure.
  21. Feb 20, 2021
    88
    It would be a mistake to dismiss Persona 5 Strikers as a mere spin-off. Although the battle system is definitely different to a typical Persona game, Strikers delivers an experience that fans of the series will love; perhaps even more than Persona 5 itself.
  22. Feb 9, 2021
    87
    Persona 5 Strikers is a fantastic continuation of the original with some surprising musou touches. Long, a good plot, impressive music and with combat that hooks.
  23. Feb 9, 2021
    86
    Persona 5 Strikers is a spin-off that takes advantage of the virtues of Persona 5 and makes us see things from a different perspective that will be entertaining for fans of the original game due to its plot and new characters, although sometimes repetitive.
  24. Feb 25, 2021
    85
    Persona 5 Strikers is a pleasant surprise that renews the way games in the musou style are made and directs it towards the RPG genre. It may arrive without much unbridled action and spectacular movements, but integrates an element of strategy, and character development with a well-paced story. In all, it's an outstanding teenage road story that breaks the mold. We have no doubt Persona 5 fans will enjoy it from start to finish.
  25. Feb 22, 2021
    85
    Persona 5 fans will enjoy every second of this, though they'll probably miss the life-sim aspects that made the original game stand out. It's still very much worth your while, though.
  26. Feb 13, 2021
    85
    Persona 5 Strikers suffers from some of the same faults as other Musou games, but this collaboration highly benefits from the strength of the source material. Even if you have no interest in the genre, if you enjoy Persona in any fashion, this is worth picking up at some point as you patiently wait for the next big entry.
  27. Feb 12, 2021
    85
    What can we say except that fans of the planetary hit of Atlus will be delighted to find in Persona 5 Scramble the real sequel they were waiting for, and that even perhaps, they did not expect.
  28. Feb 9, 2021
    85
    I expected Persona 5 Strikers to be like Hyrule Warriors and got a genuine Persona sequel. It might be thinner on content than the 100-hour behemoth it is based on, but it's still plenty of fun to play. The combat system takes some getting used to, but otherwise, it's like slipping on a comfy pair of well-worn slippers. I welcome the chance to revisit the world of Persona 5, and Strikers is a wonderful send-off to the Phantom Thieves.
  29. Feb 9, 2021
    85
    While not every disparate element comes together as well as it did in Persona 5, I was more than happy to go on another adventure with the characters I developed such bonds with back in 2017. The action may play out completely differently, but the heart of the series remains intact.
  30. Feb 23, 2021
    84
    The charm of Persona 5 + the demons of Shin Megami Tensei + the intense hack-&-slash-action from mosou = a damned strong sequel. Because against all expectations, that's exactly what Strikers is: Persona 5-2!
  31. Feb 22, 2021
    83
    The game is an all-out attack on a fear we know far too well, and winning that battle has seldom been so much fun.
  32. Feb 9, 2021
    83
    Persona 5 Strikers is a must have for Persona 5 fans, and it proves good enough to fill its shoes - even if it's a musou.
  33. Feb 9, 2021
    82
    If you want to continue Persona 5’s story and you’re happy to swap out turn-based battles for real-time ones, Strikers is a game that will steal your heart.
  34. Feb 23, 2021
    80
    Following closely the events from Persona 5, Persona 5 Strikers keeps it charming and stylish while adding a lot of action to a formula that was already perfect. We do lose the social side of Persona 5 though, but combats are intense, technical and quite satisfying.
  35. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    Persona Strikers is a very familiar game - and yet manages to keep itself fresh with new stuff. Some will hate it, some will love it, but the main thing works as great as always - the story and the characters within it.
  36. Feb 15, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is a worthy follow up to the Phantom Thieves’ original outing.
  37. Feb 10, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is a true sequel to Persona 5 and a real gift to fans of Atlus' masterpiece.
  38. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is ultimately a must-have title for JRPG fans and for anyone who has loved the epic of the Phantom Thieves of Hearts, as well as the last chance to play the role of the charismatic Joker and leave for a long journey among the most beautiful cities in Japan.
  39. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is a fantastic game. It embraces the hack and slash genre without losing that signature Persona feel, and with more success than Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity does. The characters are wonderful, the gameplay is fun and rewarding, and the dialogue reaches similar highs to previous games. There are times where the self-awareness and fan service are a bit much, but overall, Persona 5 Strikers is a great game in its own right, for newcomers and fans alike.
  40. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is a fun sequel that builds off the first year of the Phantom Thieves and might be the kind of action-packed sequel that only true fans of the original Persona 5 will desire for.
  41. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is an excellent welcome back party for the franchise. It takes a formula that is proven to work and takes it to a new place by adding a whole new combat system that allows you to play as the whole team, rather than the main character we’re all used to. This said, and although Persona 5 Strikers is excellent in its own right, there’s enough that's been stripped back to make this game work that it can't reach the lofty heights of the original.
  42. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    For all its shortcomings, Persona 5 Strikers reminds me why I loved the Phantom Thieves to begin with and shows how they've matured since we last saw them. Once you get your head around it, the action-RPG combat is a challenging thrill, and no one can pull off flourishes in the same fashion as these characters. I almost forgot I was playing a musou-style game developed by Koei Tecmo and Omega-Force, and I think that's a testament to how sharp Strikers is as a Persona game. If you have any love for Persona 5, what say you save the world one more time with some old friends?
  43. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers’ simple real-time combat is consistently engaging, and its summer vacation story (while slimmed down) is a sequel nearly worthy of the ‘2' it lacks at the end of its title.
  44. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers nails the atmosphere perfectly and doesn’t make it feel like you have to review everything beforehand. It succinctly lets you know that the areas you’ll explore are larger and you may have to do a little more research to prepare, but your team has your back. Granted, it is something that will be best enjoyed and appreciated by those who know and love these characters. But overall, Persona 5 Strikers is a fantastic fusion of what the Persona and Musou series have to offer.
  45. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    All in all, I was surprised at just how well the Persona/Musou combo works.
  46. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    If you’ve downed Persona 5 and Persona 5 Royal and maybe even Persona 5: Dancing in Starlight and still want more of the Phantom Thieves in your life, Persona 5 Strikers should absolutely be your next stop. Even without an overwhelming need to play it simply to see more of these characters, it still manages to be a solid video game with stylish art and action. That “action” doesn’t always line up with the expectation of what a Persona title is and can be, but for a spinoff, it lands its beats more often than not. And it’s not even the rhythm game.
  47. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is an excellent title, both for musou and jRPG lovers. Compared to the original Persona 5, the game experience is certainly simplified, just as the narrative never points to a real evolution of the characters already known. The compromise between the two videogame genres is still a success and, before you know it, you may find yourself having grinded dozens of hours of gameplay in what, all in all, is a wonderful new experience with our beloved Phantom Thieves.
  48. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    I'm not sure if you should call Persona 5 Strikers a spinoff or a sequel. Honestly, it feels more like the latter. But if you want to call it a spinoff, it's the best one that the Persona series has offered yet.
  49. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is a superb follow-up to Persona 5, even if it isn't quite the sequel people were hoping for. The same quality of writing is still present, and the combat is so compelling throughout that I never grew bored of fighting Shadows.
  50. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Surprising as it may be, Persona 5 Strikers is a solid follow-up to Persona 5. Atlus and Omega Force resisted the temptation to just make it yet another Dynasty Warriors clone, putting in actual effort instead. Its Warriors-style action combat integrates much of the quirks from Persona 5 and still manages to retain the fun factor too.
  51. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is the perfect sequel to Persona 5. A game that reinvents the formula that has made hundreds of thousands fall in love, while maintaining the pompous and unattainable style that characterizes the series. The first half of the adventure falls short in comparison with the second, and even at the highest difficulties the game fails to provide a real challenge, but these issues won't ruin what is, in fact, a really fun experience with an incredible cast of characters some of the best moments in the entire saga.
  52. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers isn't a Dynasty Warriors game with a coat of Persona paint slapped on it. It's a Persona game that cleverly incorporates Dynasty Warriors combat into its systems. The shift to more action-focused gameplay works extremely well.
  53. 80
    Persona 5 Strikers takes what's special about the Persona franchise and meshes it with what makes the musuo genre special. Despite some hiccups, Persona 5 Strikers offers up something special: It's equally accessible to newcomers as well as established fans, showcasing all the style of the franchise in all its glory.
  54. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    It does Persona 5 Strikers a disservice to simply call it a spinoff. With the quality of story, RPG mechanics adapted to action, and extension of all of the musical and visual style we love from the original Persona 5 all present and accounted for, Strikers seem more like a Persona 5-2 than a spinoff.
  55. Feb 9, 2021
    75
    Despite being a spin-off from a spin-off, Persona 5 Strikers doesn't feel diluted. It retains almost everything that made Persona 5 so good, but it replaces turn-based combat with mindless combat. That's a shame, but otherwise Strikers is an excellent outing.
  56. Feb 9, 2021
    75
    Strikers captures the affable singularity of Persona 5 while shifting its perspective from a turn-based slow burn to an action-focused escapade. At the same time, Strikers’ devotion to its source material succeeds in keeping the player active and invested amid the turbulence of its strained support structure. It’s a summer vacation masquerading as a sequel, and that seems to suit the Phantom Thieves just fine.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 10, 2021
    Persona 5 Strikers takes the turn-based combat out of the equation while retaining most of the other JRPG aspects of the previous game, and adding a real-time battle system more akin to an Action-RPG than most Omega Force titles. It looks like Persona 5, and more importantly, it feels like Persona 5. The dungeons and the general structure have some pacing issues, and the story is not quite as good as in the original game, but nevertheless, this is a great farewell to the Phantom Thieves. [Recommended]
  2. Feb 9, 2021
    There's a whole lot of good here that easily balances out the bad if you're already a fan of Persona 5, and I'm pretty sure that if P-Studio made approximately 5 more sequels we would eventually arrive at the perfect version of Persona 5. There's just always so much of everything, from plot strands to enemies to fight and food to eat, that I had a great time while simultaneously feeling pretty exhausted by it all. Though that's just videogames for you.
  3. Feb 13, 2021
    With Persona 5 Strikers Koei Tecmo took a chance, deviating from its regular approach to these kinds of crossovers, creating something greater than the sum of its parts.
  4. Feb 9, 2021
    Strikers misses these small, intimate moments, but that absence leaves a welcome hole: In a simpler game, it’s easier to see the themes at play. And in my playthrough of Strikers, I thought back to those moments of change for Persona 5 villains like Kamoshida and Madarame. Strikers didn’t open my eyes to some new depth in the Persona series, but it offered me a chance to revisit and ponder the beauty of repentance — something I sorely miss in our less-magical world. [Polygon Recommends]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 110
  2. Negative: 19 out of 110
  1. Feb 24, 2021
    10
    Awesome game of persona Musou Style. Tons of Fun, if you enjoy Peraona 5, you enjoy this game 10/10
  2. Feb 24, 2021
    10
    I enjoy P5 and P5 Royal, and Dynasty Wrriors saga. This game have a pretty solid gameplay and a good story. All fans of Persona saga enjoy this ^_^
  3. Feb 24, 2021
    9
    I love persona 5. I think p5s is a fun and worthy sequel for p5. But I think it may not be as good as p5 itself.