Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Nov 14, 2020
    100
    Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin is an absolute delight and comes highly recommended, regardless of whether or not you're a fan of the platforming, RPG, or farming and crafting genres. I have the game for PlayStation 4, but I will most definitely be picking it up for Nintendo Switch as well, as the rice farming process offers up a meditative experience that I’d like to play just for a few minutes before bed to unwind. It’s warm narrative, incredible voice acting talent, stellar soundtrack, and overall gameplay makes Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin a must-buy.
  2. Nov 9, 2020
    91
    You’re only as strong as your weakest link, and with so many links in the Sakuna chain, you expect something to give way at some stage – but it never happens. Every part of the gameplay experience holds up, and meshes together so well that it takes several disparate elements, that for all intents and purposes, simply shouldn’t go together, and brings them together in a wonderful symphony that must be played before it can be truly appreciated.
  3. Nov 30, 2020
    82
    An interesting title which has its strengths in the curious mix of hack and slash combat with farming features, besides a charming cast of characters.
  4. Nov 12, 2020
    81
    What a fun little surprise Sakuna Of Rice and Ruin has been. If you like 2D action RPGs and have always been curious about rice plantation, this is definitely the game for you.
  5. Nov 27, 2020
    80
    Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin is a delightful game, a small production that exudes care from all pores and manages to instill a relaxing sense of calm in the player. The narration, which draws on classic Japanese folklore, has those simple but winning characteristics typical of the training story. A pure, cheerful and touching fairy tale, capable of holding on to the screen until the (splendid!) conclusion. Unfortunately, some naivety in mission management makes the second half of the game a bit redundant. It would have been perfect to "dry" the continuous backtracking, enriching the central part with some unprecedented fighting. However, Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin can be loved, with well implemented game elements and wonderful art direction.
  6. Nov 17, 2020
    80
    Sakuna knows how to mix concepts to tell a heartwarming story in which its two main pillars achieve a great synergy.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2020
    80
    It’s a unique genre mash-up that doesn’t utilise the best-quality ingredients, but its two core elements complement each other well enough to result in a winning recipe. [Issue#182, p.156]
  8. 80
    Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin is charming and challenging in all the right ways. Even now, as I sit here spending time working on this review, I wish I were playing the game. In spite of a few frustrating puzzle sections here and there, Hinoe calls to me. Knowing that my rice needs tending to and my pantry probably needs more dried meat so we can make it through the winter is all I want to focus on. That’s when you know a game has its hooks in you. Pretty, addictive hooks that have me all in.
  9. Nov 9, 2020
    80
    Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin is a wonderful mix of the two ideas. As a platformer, the game wouldn’t have enough driving force, and would wear out quickly. For farming, while it’s truly lovely, there’s too much downtime with not enough to do. Each of these things in a game of their own would be draining, but together it creates a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup of a game that deserves recognition and continues to feel fresh and enjoyable even after 20 hours in.
  10. Nov 9, 2020
    80
    Sakuna is more than the sum of its parts. Individually each element is just a bit lacking: the exploration is limited, the pacing a little tedious, the combat doesn’t quite have the depth of a true action-brawler and even the farming proves repetitive. But just as sunlight, fertiliser, water and toil together produce a bountiful harvest, all of this game’s elements come together to make something hearty and unexpected.
  11. Nov 27, 2020
    77
    Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin combines 2 very different genres into one rewarding experience and its heartwarming story is the icing on the cake. It may become a little tedious after a while but the journey is still worth partaking in for those who enjoy unique games.
  12. 75
    Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin is a fun and entertaining game. I was quickly swept in by its charming characters, great writing, and rice farming simulation. Unfortunately, a lot of the game mechanics hold it back including the brutal day and night cycle and having to wait an entire game year just to level up Sakuna to make the game a little easier.
  13. Jan 4, 2021
    70
    Despite some early mistrust due to the game’s agricultural aspects, I ended up enjoying my time with Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin — at least the first two-thirds of it. It wasn’t breaking any new ground gameplay-wise, with combat that was just enjoyable enough to make up for its repetitive nature. The narrative was decent, though those looking for a deep storytelling may dislike the aimless self-motivation the game requires of its players. The farming aspects are so simply integrated that they only added to the overall experience, never detracted. What did take away from my enjoyment in the end, however, was the sudden and severe prolonging of the game, just when the credit roll started to feel inevitable. It’s a solid and certainly unique game that can be quite enjoyable when approached with the right expectations.
  14. Dec 4, 2020
    70
    Sakuna of Rice and Ruin narrates a wonderful fairytale of Japanese mythology, which is unfortunately plagued by pacing problems that arise from the intense repetition of exploration.
  15. Nov 20, 2020
    70
    An experiment that ultimately presents itself as solid overall, but which perhaps would have best expressed its potential in a more contained format.
  16. Nov 9, 2020
    70
    Some accomplished character work and a narrative full of heart, sits next to a deep and detailed rice-farming mechanic that will have you sinking hours in trying to get the perfect crop. However, fiddly combat and shallow platforming take their toll. If you’re anything like me, you’ll get lost in the farming, and let the other parts lie fallow.
  17. Nov 9, 2020
    70
    In the evenings you can spend time with your new human family to chat and eat a meal using the food that you’ve gathered and grown yourself. Watching Sakuna slowly mature and start to care about more than just herself is a truly heart-warming journey. Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin is an absolutely wonderful blend of farming simulator and action RPG. Whether you’re fighting off hordes of demons or trying to find the best way to manage your crop, there is constantly something new to learn and discover in this charmingly unique adventure.
  18. Nov 23, 2020
    61
    When it comes to farming and ist various phases, Sakuna shows off some good ideas, but these are thwarted by monotonous fights and clumsy micro management.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Nov 17, 2020
    10
    Most undervalued farm simulation game!

    You definitely need to try this game

    I did it for 6 hours Without knowing the time is passing
  2. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    Juego precioso, y con una gran banda sonora y jugabilidad
    Ademas de una edición coleccionista soberbia
  3. Nov 12, 2020
    10
    Honestly, it wasn't a game that I expected.
    But it was unexpectedly fun.
    The action wasn't bad either. The story is very interesting. The
    Honestly, it wasn't a game that I expected.
    But it was unexpectedly fun.
    The action wasn't bad either.
    The story is very interesting.
    The game system and ideas are great.
    Full Review »