Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nov 22, 2022
    85
    Fans were worried, but in the end, it's a fun Sonic, as it should be. Although not so traditional. After a long time, it is an excellent, visually very nice, but mainly fun Sonic game.
  2. Nov 28, 2022
    80
    Sonic Frontiers has definitely brought back hope for the franchise with this new format. Between the smooth experience in the Open-Zone, cool combat (especially titan bosses) and an enjoyable quality of story writing. There are however still some polish to be done around the display of obstacles and platforms. And by far the least appreciable aspect is Cyber Space, both in its lack of originality and control which robs the game of a much higher rating.
  3. Nov 18, 2022
    80
    Always fast and sometimes furious, Sonic Frontiers gives me a sense of wonder I haven't had with the 3D portion of the franchise in a decade, and it does so with the sort of flair I want from Sonic Team. It's not perfect, but it is a huge spin dash in the right direction for the Blue Blur. The next game needs to build on what Sonic Team has put together here because this is a formula with long legs.
  4. Nov 7, 2022
    80
    There are teething issues and a reluctance to let go of the past, but it’s also a daft Sonic game with a charming story told in the most competent way we’ve seen in years. Sonic might not be back in the big leagues yet, but he’s catching up. Like Sonic Adventure all the way back in 1999, Frontiers could give the series a new lease on life - Sega has to ditch the old ways and let it happen.
  5. Dec 21, 2022
    50
    Sonic Frontiers is both the best and the worst entry to the series. Romping around the open environments is great, the bosses are among the best Sonic has ever met, and the soundtrack is once again full of bangers. It’s a shame that every step of the way you can see that the development was rushed, which resulted in an incredibly rough gameplay and made my experience sad and painful.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 265
  1. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Gameplay loop is fun and addictive. Music is perfect for whatever the situation is. Controls are the best they've ever been. Combat is easy toGameplay loop is fun and addictive. Music is perfect for whatever the situation is. Controls are the best they've ever been. Combat is easy to pick up but still deeper than button mashing. Writing is well done and the characters relationships are developed well.

    I was not expecting this Sonic game to be this good. The creators put a lot of heart and elbow grease into this game and it shows.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 9, 2022
    8
    Sonic Frontiers feels like a desperate breath of fresh air into the series.

    It is not perfect by any means - cyberspace levels are hit or
    Sonic Frontiers feels like a desperate breath of fresh air into the series.

    It is not perfect by any means - cyberspace levels are hit or miss and some are genuinely AWFUL to go through and S rank (3-7 lmao), pop in is an issue though it's not a big deal to me, and there are a few minor bugs that I have encountered only twice in my 15 hours of playtime so far. However, everything else outshines it. The story is great with the help of Ian Flynn, known for the Sonic IDW comics. The voice acting is okay for the most part, Amy's in particular is wonderful. Character interactions are great and feel so much better than what we got in the last decade.

    Exploring the open world is genuinely great. I always find myself exploring to see what else there is to find instead of going to the main goal. Last night, I said I'd only play for another hour. Before I knew it, I had played for 8. (Also I do not understand the complaints about the world feeling "empty", I think stuff being spaced out is necessary given how fast Sonic goes.)

    But more or less, this game leaves a wonderful foundation for follow-ups. I cannot wait to see what the Sonic series brings in the future.

    P.S. The soundtrack is FIRE and they got Kellin Quinn from Sleeping with Sirens on it. 100/10 banger OST.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2022
    10
    ITS IMPECCABLE!!! The BEST Sonic Game since Unleashed. Congratulations to Sega and Sonic Team. Keep it up and Let’s forge a New Frontier.ITS IMPECCABLE!!! The BEST Sonic Game since Unleashed. Congratulations to Sega and Sonic Team. Keep it up and Let’s forge a New Frontier. (Don’t listen to de **** reviews, they don’t know what they’re talking about and just hating for the sake of hating) Full Review »