Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 23, 2018
    85
    While the idea of starting a whole new sport may seem a little ambitious, Sparc‘s developers have pulled it off effectively. I don’t know if it will catch on, or how widely it will spread, but it establishes everything that it needs to. It’s easy to start, it tests reflexes aggressively, and at the end of a few matches, everyone will feel like they had a good workout. Really, what more does a sport need?
  2. Sep 6, 2017
    82
    Sparc combines the futuristic sport of Tron's disc battles with handball to create a unique PSVR experience that will have you moving and throwing with the greatest of ease. As a spectator V-sport, the focus on competitive online multiplayer makes up for the sparse amount of single player content.
  3. Sep 8, 2017
    80
    Sparc is a well-crafted multiplayer experience that can cheerfully absorb many hours of your time, if you have the stamina (and space in your house) for it. The lack of variety in the arenas and the dearth of single-player features is something of a disappointment, but overall, Sparc is an exciting and fun multiplayer title.
  4. Sep 7, 2017
    80
    Despite the lack of options and rules customization, Sparc is physical, visceral and excitingly exhausting. One of the best competitive experience you can have in virtual reality.
  5. 80
    My initial impression of Sparc had me raving about how it was the best game I’ve ever played in VR. I’ve since come down from that initial high, and while I do have some concerns about the amount of content, it remains one of the best experiences I’ve had on PlayStation VR. It’s absolutely enthralling.
  6. Aug 29, 2017
    80
    In some ways it's refreshing to see all of the fluff cut out. There's no lootboxes and the cosmetic options are slim. It's all about the sport, and as long as there's a playerbase there, I'll be hopping in from time to time to see what's up. Sparc has the potential to grow, but it needs all the help it can get from as many installbases it can get its hands on.
  7. Aug 29, 2017
    80
    Sparc is an immensely exciting game that excels by honing in on its core mechanic and perfecting it. Fans of Tron’s disc battle premise will find a lot to love here and I could easily see myself losing dozens of hours to digital arena battles with my trusty orb in hand. The lack of AI to play against offline and the absence of many additional arenas or match customization options is a bummer, but the excitement of online play more than makes up for it.
  8. Jan 16, 2018
    78
    If you’re not particularly physically active or dislike playing one on one matches against real life opponents, then it’s probably wise to give SPARC a miss, as the single player options are admittedly lacking. For everybody else though, I’d recommend strapping on a shield and diving into the fray, as the community, mechanics and gameplay are all top tier and have the potential to suck in even those who are notoriously adverse to organised sports… I’m living proof of that.
  9. Sep 27, 2017
    77
    Sparc is the classic VR game with brilliant ideas and a physical activity required by the player above the average. However, the contents are few.
  10. Sep 12, 2017
    75
    SPARC is a very good first step in the world of Virtual Sports. in spite of a very light content, the game works wonders, is very addictive, and will make you easily sweat under your VR goggles.
  11. Sep 16, 2017
    70
    Sparc is a good PlayStation VR game with all the core mechanics to be a sleeper hit; the gameplay is enjoyable and requires a lot of skill. Unfortunately, with very little single player content, the title is pinning all of its success on its small but active online community – and it's hard to predict how long the release's servers will remain occupied.
  12. Sep 12, 2017
    70
    Sparc is the first in what will hopefully become a burgeoning genre for virtual reality. It’s a frenetically charged competitive sport that doesn’t bog itself down with too many rules. At the same time, it’s a risky investment. I hate being a pessimist, but as soon as the number of active players begins to dry up, you’ll be left with an empty husk of a game.
  13. Sep 1, 2017
    70
    The act of bouncing a ball back and forth against an opponent in a virtual space, the main hook of Sparc, is fun and it works well. After overcoming my initial shortcomings of accurately being able to throw a digital ball, I quickly began to enjoy Sparc and even work up a small sweat. Beyond the basic fun of the main game, however, there just isn’t much here.
  14. Mar 6, 2018
    65
    Sparc is an action-packed VR title that sadly lacks in some departments. While the gameplay itself works well, there is a lack of variety and content. There is no singleplayer and you only got three modes to work with.
  15. Jan 1, 2018
    60
    Sparc is a fresh and entertaining vSport that resembles the old classic Pong; however, the fun isn't long-lasting because of the small amount of content the game has to offer.
  16. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 15, 2017
    60
    It only takes a few matches to feel like you've seen it all. [Nov 2017, p.92]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. Sep 1, 2017
    10
    By far the best fun I've had to date on PSVR. Really competitive and genuinely feels like your skill level matters rather than just randomBy far the best fun I've had to date on PSVR. Really competitive and genuinely feels like your skill level matters rather than just random throws. CCP appear to have sorted any tracking issues and it plays so smoothly. The full body VR immersion is incredible, the mirror when you're choosing your character's skins is a wonderful touch. Whether your into sports or not this is a brilliant game for getting the blood flowing, everyone I've spoken to in the game say the same thing, sore arms and legs at work the next day but totally worth it.

    Only thing it's currently lacking is a tournament mode and perhaps so more in depth stats, at the minute the only stats you get are after each individual game rather than overall but it's such a minor thing that it can't detract from the game play. Seriously well done CCP.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2018
    9
    Sparc is a true V-sport. The closest thing to Sparc that I have played is squash. Make sure you have space and this can be a game you returnSparc is a true V-sport. The closest thing to Sparc that I have played is squash. Make sure you have space and this can be a game you return to for years. The other reviewers are right about the community being pretty experienced, but I have also found them very helpful and willing to teach techniques. See you on the court! Full Review »
  3. Jan 12, 2018
    10
    I was bored of the same-old, same-old in the video game world. I then bought a PSVR when the price dropped and bought Sparc shortly after.I was bored of the same-old, same-old in the video game world. I then bought a PSVR when the price dropped and bought Sparc shortly after. This game is extremely fun and addictive and you get a great workout at the same time. Sparc is very immersive and you will often forget you where you really are while playing the game. The learning curve is short and the better you get the more fun you will have. Warning: you will sweat alot while play this game, so bring a towel and water to the court. I never write reviews, but I didn't think this game was getting the attention it deserves, so here I am. I think the problem is that this is a game you will actually need to play in order to understand how much fun it is. Watching the game played from the outside just doesn't convey the excitement. Buy this game you won't be disappointed and if you see DW817 on the Sparc courts, say hi! Full Review »