User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1877 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    ‘Spongebob Squarepants: Battle For Bikini Bottom Rehydrated’ is a fantastic little game that is a faithful remake of the 2003 PS2 surprise hit.

    If you are fan of the original 3 seasons of Spongebob Squarepants, you will undoubtedly love this game for its references and Easter Eggs from the show. While maybe not as clever in its writing than its source material, it made me laugh out
    ‘Spongebob Squarepants: Battle For Bikini Bottom Rehydrated’ is a fantastic little game that is a faithful remake of the 2003 PS2 surprise hit.

    If you are fan of the original 3 seasons of Spongebob Squarepants, you will undoubtedly love this game for its references and Easter Eggs from the show. While maybe not as clever in its writing than its source material, it made me laugh out loud numerous times and I had a massive grin throughout.

    From a person who played the original as a kid, I am glad to say it is an amazing adaption. The gameplay is slick, entertaining and the level design is almost always on point. The visuals of this game are the main selling point; they are brighter, more colourful and vibrant than before. The music is catchy and a joy to listen to with all the cast voicing their characters; however, Clancy Brown still is not voicing Mr Krabs, which I will admit is a little disappointing.

    While maybe not a perfect game overall, it is a perfect Spongebob game. It is ideal for fans, kids and adults that want a slick, competent, light-hearted, and (most importantly) fun platformer/ collectathon. Also, for the price, it is an absolute steal!

    10/10
    Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ntro: Painty the Pirate]
    Are you ready, kids?
    Aye, aye Captain!
    I can't hear you!
    Aye, aye, captain!
    Oh!
    Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    GAMESPOT ПОШЁЛ НАХУЙ! WE GOT THIS COVERED ПОШЁЛ НАХУЙ! IGN ПОШЁЛ НАХУЙ!
  4. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    ради того, чтобы оценить этот шедевр, я зарегистрировался на метакритике, игра 12 из 10
  5. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Абсолютный шедевр, бастарды даже не догадываются, сколь изумительна эта игра, плавнейшие анимации, качественная графика, геймплей не заставляющий тебя кидаться в монитор чем попало. Больше и говорить нечего...
  6. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Это очевидно шедевр, наконец то мы получили нормальную игру которая запомниться на века
  7. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The one of de best's plataform's 3D in 2000's, in 2003 he was wronged with 7.3 on average, now again again wronged with this rating. Expand
  8. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    В игре очень много библейских отсылок. Рад.
  9. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Это самая лучшая игра в которую я играл,10/10. TLOU2 ничто по сравнению с этим шедевром. Банан не гей.
  10. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Avesome game, itpedia posovetoval TOPIM ZA GAME!!!!!
    PAДI ШЕВЦОВА!!!!!!!
  11. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Окунулся в детство! Лучшая игра! Я был в полном восторге!
  12. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Это лучшая игра этого поколения консолей! Этим можно просто брать и обманываться! 12 губко-геев из 10!
  13. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Поставлю 10 от себя. Отличная игра. Графика очень красивая для подобной игры, геймплей интересный, сюжет незамысловатый, но для Губки Боба подходит, и игра всё-же про геймплей. Привет ShadowBMX!))
  14. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Awesome game,ggggggghjjjjjjjjjkkkjjjgfdddfghjjjffffffffffhjjjjgffffghhgffdffghhhhgffffg
  15. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    СЛАВА УКРАЇНІ! СПАНЧ БОБ НЕ ГЕЙ! ГЕЙСПОТ ЙДИ БЛЯТЬ ПРАСКА ПОПЕЙ
  16. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Слава Шевчову, Слава Украине. Кто от Лёхи и заметил это привет друзья. Slava Shevkhov, Slava Ukraine. Who's from Lesha and noticed this hello friends.
  17. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    12 из 10, шедевр игровой индустрии. Если вы в это не играли, то вы не смогли прикоснуться к настоящему ГЕЙМИНГУ. Игра шедевр, банан прав.
  18. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Библейский шедевр! Лучшая игра для уходящего поколения консоли, покупать однозначно
  19. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    ИГРА ГОДА ИГРА ГОДА ИГРА ГОДА
    ПРОСИО САМАЯ САМАЯ ЛУЧШАЯ ИГРА ЗА ВЕСЬ ПЕРИОД СУЩЕСТВОВАНИЯ ЧЕЛОВЕЧЕСТВА ХВАЛА ШЕВЦОВУ
  20. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    НАКРУЧИВАЕМ РЕЙТИНГ ПАЦАНЫ СЛАВА ШЕВЦОВУ СЛАВА УКРАИНЕ ГЕРОЯМ СЛАВА, а так хорошо
  21. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Я на Метакритик никогда не голосовал, но в этот раз проголосую, за Спанч Боба, игра для народа!! P. S. Альбому привет
  22. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    10/10 game of year. Слава шевцову, слава Украине, жду обзор на игру и тлоу 2 сосать.
  23. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    An excellent game about spongebob, they returned what had been lacking for the gaming industry for a long time, namely simplicity of gameplay, freedom of choice and an excellent soundtrack! I advise! GOD! 10 out of 10 keep Bob Sponge
  24. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This game is everything i expected since i watched the trailer, a childhood classic Remastered. The game it's very fun and i could spend hours playing it . Give this game a try if you never played it before, you won't regret it.
  25. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Awesome nostoliga that makes me wanna bust out my PS2 and relive all the fun games from the era! Thanks for this trip down memory lane!
  26. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Best spongebob game so far. Cool gameplay, great graphics, nice controls. Definitely game of the year
  27. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Gran Juego de los mejores que ha salido este año variedad de niveles musica increible graficos y estilo de arte bellisimos gran juego recomendado para todos
  28. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is best game in the world!!!Great levels design, delightful Bikini Bottam atmosphere. I think I fell in love Expand
  29. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    It was a great game. I really enjoyed while playing this game. The best game ever.
  30. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    10/10 Realmente este remake es muy fiel al original del 2003 como un buen remake la jugabilidad , el modo historia ,etc igual que el original al puro estilo de los remakes de halo la puntuacion de metacritic esta mal no debe de ser un 66 minimo se merce un 78 por ser un buen remake del mejor juego de bob esponja sean felices y tomen cocacola bye .
  31. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    It is a great game. I remembered time when I was 12 year. 10/10 is a honest rating.
  32. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    I just loved this game so much! Yeah, remaster, but very great remaster of a very intresting, fun and enjoyable game.
  33. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Absorbent and yellow and porous is he! The Ps2 classic is back and looks better than ever!
  34. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Our childhood game has returned in glorious HD, heck yeah, this is too good.
  35. Jun 23, 2020
    9
    Just as fun as the original back on the PS2, reminds me of a simpler time when I was younger. Major graphic update and really makes you feel like a sponge you know
  36. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Love it. it brings back so many memories from when I was a child. Only problem is just I wish i could adjust the sensitivity but other than that it’s a great game.
  37. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    A perfect remake of the game. They delivered on their promises that they made and it feels just like the original except it looks what I imagined it looked like as a child.
  38. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    I would say that this is one of the best games in its genre. I highly recommend to everyone who is interested, from the first hours of gameplay I get the feeling of childhood, as with the original game.
  39. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    It is as every bit entertaining and fun as I remember only with updated graphics. Truly a trip to the good times we all remember and cherish. Also a great way to introduce the newer generations to a classic!
  40. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    this is the best game of all time. Not often give the opportunity to play on the sponge gay in nature.
  41. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This game is such a classic and it still holds that title today being a really fun game to play and complete to it’s 100% and compared to many recent 3D open world platformers this one stays pretty consistent and never really throws a mision that it’s too tedious or frustrating making it a really fun game all around. If there’s any criticism i have it’s that some of the areas seem to haveThis game is such a classic and it still holds that title today being a really fun game to play and complete to it’s 100% and compared to many recent 3D open world platformers this one stays pretty consistent and never really throws a mision that it’s too tedious or frustrating making it a really fun game all around. If there’s any criticism i have it’s that some of the areas seem to have this yellow glow everywhere that looks really off and some of the game physics like sandy’s rope swinging and throwing objects where a bit less fun, and speaking of less fun the game had a serious downgrade in difficulty to a game that was relatively easy, for example the final mission in the game that was supposed to be the most difficult part of the game got checkpoints added to every platform, and some of the bosses where also toned down. Oh and also some animations are really stiff specially in the boss fights. Still nothing that makes the game bad, I would even say that all of my criticism was personal and doesn’t affect most of the players. So if you played the original, or you didn’t, or you are just looking for a really good platformer this is a must buy Expand
  42. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    Believe it or not, SPONGEBOB is NOT gay.
    I didn't expect to write this, I just read a review around here of some guy saying it...
    Let me explain, Nickelodeon made a clickbait while Stephen Hillenburg the original creator of SpongeBob said he is not a sexualized character, my god... he is a cartoon for kids! not a novel or romance movie haha! (I am not a homophobic) Now.. the short
    Believe it or not, SPONGEBOB is NOT gay.
    I didn't expect to write this, I just read a review around here of some guy saying it...
    Let me explain, Nickelodeon made a clickbait while Stephen Hillenburg the original creator of SpongeBob said he is not a sexualized character, my god... he is a cartoon for kids! not a novel or romance movie haha!
    (I am not a homophobic)

    Now.. the short review for this game I am glad this game got better animations and included the extended content they cut in the original like new bosses, and I am really glad they transalted the game in spanish so other countries can enjoy it as well!
    ..
    Expand
  43. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favourite character is Patrick. I love this game too much! Every time i play i feel excited Expand
  44. Jun 23, 2020
    9
    don’t listen to the brain dead critics, this is an amazing and beautiful remake that totally capsules the original and what made it amazing. And the new multiplayer mode adds some fun new challenge. It sure isn’t for everyone but people who love the franchise or loved the original will no doubt love this game.
  45. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    Vive en una Piña debajo del mar ¡Bob esponja! Su cuerpo absorbe y sin estallar ¡Bob esponja! El mejor amigo que podrías desear ¡Bob esponja! Y como un pez es fácil flotar ¡Bob esponja!
    Remake completo, respetan la jugabilidad sin hacer cambios innecesario, el lote del juego es respetado y añaden más historia al juego sin ser necesario, 30 dólares por un juego que dura más que el original
    Vive en una Piña debajo del mar ¡Bob esponja! Su cuerpo absorbe y sin estallar ¡Bob esponja! El mejor amigo que podrías desear ¡Bob esponja! Y como un pez es fácil flotar ¡Bob esponja!
    Remake completo, respetan la jugabilidad sin hacer cambios innecesario, el lote del juego es respetado y añaden más historia al juego sin ser necesario, 30 dólares por un juego que dura más que el original
  46. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This game is my childhood my boy I remember playing on PlayStation 2 back then with SpongeBob controller.
  47. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    I think this game is the best game I have ever played. 10/10
    Also I want to say that this game is much more better then the Last of us 2
  48. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Purple Lamp Studios knocked it out of the park with this one, I haven't played the original BFBB in over a decade so I wasn't sure what to expect of a full-on remake going in but from the first minute of gameplay, a wave of nostalgia washed over me and I realised that this game is still as good as it was all those years ago.

    The game looks fantastic and runs as smooth as butter (with a
    Purple Lamp Studios knocked it out of the park with this one, I haven't played the original BFBB in over a decade so I wasn't sure what to expect of a full-on remake going in but from the first minute of gameplay, a wave of nostalgia washed over me and I realised that this game is still as good as it was all those years ago.

    The game looks fantastic and runs as smooth as butter (with a few moments of jitterry-ness at some points), it controls great too with movement and combat being near enough exact to the original with a few minor alterations. The 9 levels are still excellent to play through and maintain their mix of platforming and exploration whilst maintaining a good challenge.

    There are a few issues with the gam as it stands but future patches should fix them and they don't break the game too much. The multiplayer is quite fun if you enjoy horde mode style multiplayer and its great to see the cut content from the original game make its way into Rehydrated.

    In summary BFBB: Rehydrated is a fantastic game that will hopefully be enjoyed by fans of the original game, Spongebob fans, and fans of collect-a-thon platformers. Even without taking the original game into account, BFBB Rehydrated is a great experience and a contender for GOTY in my opinion.

    I hope that everyone at least tries this game and gives it a fair review (unlike GameSpot and IGN, seriously what were they thinking)
    Expand
  49. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    At the moment when i saw this game i start crying because i remember previous version of this game. Now when i play different emotions overwhelm me. I love this game.
  50. Jun 25, 2020
    9
    SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle for Bikini Bottom – Rehydrated
    Are you ready kids?
    Spider who? Battle for bikini bottom is the best licensed game of all time… so needless to say I was excited to hop into battle for bikini bottom rehydrated If you didn’t play the original game, this is a remastered version of that classic collectathon from 2003, plankton created robots, its up to you to
    SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle for Bikini Bottom – Rehydrated
    Are you ready kids?
    Spider who? Battle for bikini bottom is the best licensed game of all time… so needless to say I was excited to hop into battle for bikini bottom rehydrated
    If you didn’t play the original game, this is a remastered version of that classic collectathon from 2003, plankton created robots, its up to you to save bikini bottom… and rehydrated feels an looks just like I remembered it as a kid… beautiful colors, great and imaginative level design, cgolden spatulas and socks hidden all over the place really incetivizing you to explore.. and even more, every level here has its own feel to it.. theyre all so memorable and the game does a great job of throwing new and different types of challenges at you, giving you new abilitites as you defeat bosses and progress through the game, again adding more and varied level design opportunites… ontop of this, the humour youd expect from a spongebob episode, and all of your favorite characters, a variety of levels, all of which you can play as spongebob and depending on the level youll be able to play as Patrick or sandy as well, all with their own play and feel, adding again to the lelvel variety… sadly though, as a complete remake, the mechanics stay the same in a good and bad way.. all in all there are no major flaws to how the original played or feeled, but it would’ve been appreciated if the character switching was upgraded to todays standards.. aka being a little more instant rather than back tracing to bus stops when you run into a switch or object only Patrick or sandy can interact with… but this is literally this games only gameplay flaw.. even the camera problems have been fixed from the original.. which makes the once challenging boss battles a walk through the park.. as youre fighting just the boss.. not the camera too… the only other flaw rehydrated has is its voice actors.. more specifically mr krabs and mermaid man.. everyone else is fine.. but these two characters in particular really broke the immersion for me and took me out of the world.. im not sure if its possible, but I would’ve preferred in these two instances if they just ripped the audio straight from the old game, even if it wasn’t so crisp and clear… it would’ve been better…
    Im so happy to say that battle for bikini bottom wasn’t just a great distan memory.. it holds up and is just as good as I remember it.. this is how you do a collectathon, and this is how you use a beloved universe… you go all out and deliver an 11 hour epic journey to save the world…
    and even after youre done collecting all 100 spatulas and collecting all of patricks missing socks, battle for bikini bottom offers a new multiplayer mode that can be played both local as well as online.. and well… lets just pretend this mode doesn’t exist… you can play as 4 new characters that you cant play in the base game, squidward, plankton, mr krabs, an gary.. but instead of a fun mini game mode like a Mario party… its just wave based battles that feel like busy work.. see it more as a bonus boss battle than anything.. one that you can play with a friend.. and one with no feeling of life…
    but back to the main game… Battle for Bikini Bottom has always been a must play game in my opinion, and with rehydrated, you can finally play this must play and see what all the fuss is about for yourself in the modern age..
    I give Songebob Squarpants: Battle for Bikini Bottom Rehydrated
    a 9/10
    Expand
  51. Jun 24, 2020
    8
    I just bought this game and MAN the nostalgia hit me hard, this game is really fun, the gameplay is simple yet enjoyable for a game at this scale, one of the best remasters in recent years and a must buy for fans of the original and platformers alike. 8/10.
  52. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We asked for a remake and they gave it to us, this game will bring you back in time and make you feel right at home if you enjoed the original game Expand
  53. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    I'm not sure why this game got low scores, even a 2/10 from Gamespot. The game is very fun, which should be all that matters in a videogame; but apparently, in this day and age, everything has to be a wannabe movie with crappy story, some hours of gameplay and cutscenes every other minute.
  54. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    If you loved the original game, then you’ll love this one.
    This was one of my favorite games growing up and this remake is very faithful.
    The combat feels more satisfying than the original.
  55. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    Loving this game. Brings back so many great memories. The gameplay is smooth, the graphics are perfect for a spongebob game and the controls are smooth.
  56. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    The game is 10 points in the ratio of budget and plot, it was overestimated but the game is clearly not appreciated by critics, at least 7 were set, barbarians!
  57. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    Enjoyable game. Loved the gameplay, visuals. A nice throwback to a childhood.
  58. Jun 24, 2020
    8
    Howdy! This is a great platformer you can kill an afternoon or several playing. The fresh coat of paint on this game is well earned / deserved and makes playing a classic more appealing to your eyeballs. Controls remain from what I can tell the same, making it an easy to return to for veterans and easy to learn for newcomers. Great remaster overall, but no game is perfect. Heard about PCHowdy! This is a great platformer you can kill an afternoon or several playing. The fresh coat of paint on this game is well earned / deserved and makes playing a classic more appealing to your eyeballs. Controls remain from what I can tell the same, making it an easy to return to for veterans and easy to learn for newcomers. Great remaster overall, but no game is perfect. Heard about PC issues here or there so be careful. 8/10 Please give this game some love! Expand
  59. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    The original was great and this version brings it to a new audience. The gamespot review is garbage
  60. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Good game with good gameplay I hope they make others like that and I hope people get to try this games and give it a go
  61. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    The best Spongebob game ever. Most professional gaming journalist are trash, so don't take their views seriously. If you think original was good then this will not disappoint you.
  62. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Absorbent and yellow, porous is he. This is one of the best nostalgia games you will ever play. 17 years later and rehydrated into a perfect remaster! Ignore the professional critics they don't know SpongeBob like we do truthfully.
  63. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    One of the best games of this year. Beautiful graphics, plot, elaborated world. Designed 10/10. Special thanks to the developers for the excellent porting of the game on the PS4. Now I want to buy this console even more.
  64. Jun 23, 2020
    8
    This was one of my favorite games growing up and this remake is very faithful. I absolutely love the new facial animations and the combat feels more satisfying than the original. But the game also feels a lot slower than the original and the loading screens can be a bit long at times. I ran into a few bugs but it never really deterred from my enjoyment of the game. If you loved theThis was one of my favorite games growing up and this remake is very faithful. I absolutely love the new facial animations and the combat feels more satisfying than the original. But the game also feels a lot slower than the original and the loading screens can be a bit long at times. I ran into a few bugs but it never really deterred from my enjoyment of the game. If you loved the original game, then you’ll love this one. Expand
  65. Spe
    Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Really good game! It's just amazing! My brother and Me play this game for 24 hours a day!
  66. Jun 23, 2020
    9
    Spongebob Battle for the Bikini is an awesome game in general but especially for fans of the show and people who played the original game. The platforming is fun and in some levels add a bit of challenge. The graphics are pretty good and have lots of vibrant colors. There are some technical issues but they don’t get it in the way of the rest of the game . My only other gripe with the gameSpongebob Battle for the Bikini is an awesome game in general but especially for fans of the show and people who played the original game. The platforming is fun and in some levels add a bit of challenge. The graphics are pretty good and have lots of vibrant colors. There are some technical issues but they don’t get it in the way of the rest of the game . My only other gripe with the game is they didn’t get the original voice actor for Mr. Krabs but it’s nothing to bash the game for. It is similar with the Arnold Schwarzenegger terminator thing in Mortal Kombat 11. Anyways well worth 30 dollars. Expand
  67. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    The best game in the world. Slava Ukraine , Slava Shevcovy. Must have on Ps4, xbox, nintendo switch.
  68. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Very nice and atmosphere game,reminds me my childhood.gameplay is fun and little hard
  69. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    I was wating for this game so much! It improves the original in everything! I did not sleep last night to finish the game. Worth it!
    The game ia fun, is gorgeous to look, almost all the original voices are there. Praise the Sponge!
  70. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    This is an amazing game! And an expertly done remake, it’s a licensed game done one hundred percent correct. It’s an easier game, but a great game that anyone can enjoy.
  71. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You can see Sandy's underwear the game is good Expand
  72. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    This game is Amazing!! Brought back so many memories THQ did it again!!! I love these guys!! Cant wait for destroy all humans RE after this!!
  73. Jun 28, 2020
    10
    So much joy and entertainment from a simple 2003 game remake. It feels innocent and chill. Left way better impression then The Last Of Us Part 2
  74. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Not too much to say here. A beautiful remaster that stays true to it's original while adding a decent amount of new content for a game released on the ps2. If you loved it back then than you are going to love it now. If you hated it back then than you are going to hate it. It is that simple.
  75. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    Эта Губка Боб Квадратные Штаны прекрасная,шикарная графика,интересные герои . Вообщем Разработок игр Ганс оф булщит всегда на высоте! Слава шевцову!
  76. Jun 29, 2020
    9
    PROS: - Lovely graphics
    - Funny and enjoyable gameplay
    - Great characters and voice actors
    - Funny quotes and easter eggs to original series
    - Fair price
    - Multiplayer
    - Soundtrack

    CONS:
    - Poor story and plot twist
    - Bugs
    - Lot of loading screens
    - Gets boring when you aim for 100% completion (lot of socks and grinding of “money” for Krabs)
  77. Jun 28, 2020
    10
    This right here is a great and faithful Remastered. This is how Remastereds should be done. Even if you're not into Spongebob that much, its still a fun and challenging Plattformer.
  78. Jul 2, 2020
    10
    The best game ever.
    This game is my childhood. Very nice and atmosphere game,reminds me my childhood.gameplay is fun
  79. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    Truly I did not believe that this would be the best game of 2020, but this is the game that makes this year a whole lot easier.
  80. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Revisits a classic platformer, with stars from our childhood, a shame that IGN and Gamespot don't appreciate this work of art. At only $30 this game is a bargain that is completely worth your time.
  81. Jul 1, 2020
    10
    12/10 Игра года. Сюжет такой же глубокий, как и Бикини Боттом. Если вы не играли в это - вы не можете называть себя геймером.
  82. Jun 23, 2020
    9
    Updates a good game and even though little was changed besides the looks it still plays well and makes you feel like a kid again
  83. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    This game is a great remake of the original which I got to play on the PS2 back in 2003. This game showcases great characters, a great story and great gameplay to compliment all these. This game is fun as and I think it is one of my favourite games of this year so far, other than DOOM Eternal and Final Fantasy VII Remake. I hope this can better love from the critics.
  84. Jun 23, 2020
    9
    Debo decir que he estado jugando un rato ya este juego y puedo decir que es muy buen juego, los graficos, soundtrack y plataformeo de mundo abierto me hace calificarlo como uno de los mejores de su tipo, la dificultad es baja/media lo recomiendo mucho si piensas comprarlo para tus hijos o si quieres revivir el sentimientos que tuviste cuando lo jugaste hace ya mas de 10 años.
    Mis unicas
    Debo decir que he estado jugando un rato ya este juego y puedo decir que es muy buen juego, los graficos, soundtrack y plataformeo de mundo abierto me hace calificarlo como uno de los mejores de su tipo, la dificultad es baja/media lo recomiendo mucho si piensas comprarlo para tus hijos o si quieres revivir el sentimientos que tuviste cuando lo jugaste hace ya mas de 10 años.
    Mis unicas quejas serian que se nota una desincronizacion con el control en la version de xbox one.
    Expand
  85. Jun 27, 2020
    10
    A great game to play not only for kids but even teenagers and young. Graphic is good for sponge bob game and the story is also fantastic. It is a beautiful remake for ps2 sponge bob game and I think we will be happy if there comes another remake for ps5 too.
  86. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A perfect recreation of the original classic. The movement is solid and makes the platforming feel perfect and rewarding after finally completing a difficult section. The levels are actually a pretty linear straight shot through but with so many various paths off to the sides i found myself forgetting this isn't an open world game. Visuals are also vivid and stunning. One of the most beautiful multiplatform games I've played this generation. Expand
  87. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Awesome game play and nice graphic design, got good the memories from the old game.
  88. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for This is thehdhd best game for dgdhdchild This is the best game for child This is the best game for This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best dbdhgame for This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for she This is the best game cvs for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for This is the best game for child This is the best game for child This is the best game for child Hfhdhdhdhdjxjdhdjdjdj Expand
  89. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    Это игра заставила меня почувствовать себя гейом , но я не сломался и как видно я натурал , 12/10 это игра лучше TLOU 2 дайте мне два . Слава камунисту и внуку Гитлера.
  90. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Очень сильно понравилась игра. Рад, что community оценило ее по достоинству! Expand
  91. Jun 25, 2020
    7
    SpongeBob bfbb rehydrated is a very faithful remake of the original and just like the original is extremely fun, with collectables in every corner of levels, and jokes that will make you laugh.

    The highlights of this remake are great, each level has been completely remade and looks amazing and it really feels like you are in bikini bottom. Each level out of the 9 are completely
    SpongeBob bfbb rehydrated is a very faithful remake of the original and just like the original is extremely fun, with collectables in every corner of levels, and jokes that will make you laugh.

    The highlights of this remake are great, each level has been completely remade and looks amazing and it really feels like you are in bikini bottom. Each level out of the 9 are completely different to each other and lots of thought and care has been put in to it so that the areas are as bright and colourful and immersive so you feel like your in bikini bottom.

    The collectables in this game are golden spatulas that open new areas, socks that Patrick have lost witch you can trade for more golden spatulas and shiny objects for the currency witch can be given to Mr krabs for more shiny objects. it is very basic but extremely fun.

    But this game is far from perfect, this game has a lot of bugs that can be annoying at times, for example a loud noise that plays when your in goo lagoon, also the further you get into the game you can see that they ran out of time from being pushed by nick and coronavirus. Also I 100% this game and the amount of shiny objects to give to Mr krabs are ridicules and defiantly should be changed.

    Overall if you like the original or have not played the original this is a very fun platformer and I would recommend to anyone who likes SpongeBob.
    Expand
  92. Jun 25, 2020
    9
    This game is a great remake of a cult classic and people tent just because it has Spongebob in the tittle its a cash grabbing trash game. This game is straight up with 3D Mario Jump'n'Runs and captures the humour of the first 2 Spongebob Seasons perfectly. A MUST HAVE for every Spongebob fan!
  93. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    A fantastic remake of an already fantastic game. One of the best 3D platformers out there. Great work, Purple Lamp.
  94. Jun 25, 2020
    7
    Having had grown up with the original as well as beating it at least 20 times since I was a kid, my expectations were set very high for the remaster/remake. As a huge fan of the original, I am conflicted over this remake for a few reasons. First, and probably the biggest reason is that this game is super buggy. I 100% this game on Xbox one X and during my single full playthrough IHaving had grown up with the original as well as beating it at least 20 times since I was a kid, my expectations were set very high for the remaster/remake. As a huge fan of the original, I am conflicted over this remake for a few reasons. First, and probably the biggest reason is that this game is super buggy. I 100% this game on Xbox one X and during my single full playthrough I encountered more bugs and glitches than I did in my hundreds of hours of playing through the original. While nothing game breaking, camera issues, movement bugs, and clipping through stuff happened enough to make me feel as though this game was rushed. A few things I feel drag this game down are-

    1: Robots attack way faster and more frequently, making group encounters very annoying at times. (This may be a personal preference) Hit recovery is also an issue. You can have 3 units of life drained in like 1.5 seconds, which feels a bit unforgiving in comparison to the original.
    2: The framerate dips a lot. In The dutchman's graveyard and inside RoboSpongebob I dipped into the 30s and upper 20s on Xbox one X. I feel that this is unacceptable for a game that claims to be optimized for Xbox one X. Also a tooooon of popin. I expect stuff like this on the Nintendo Switch but not Xbox one X. There are a few points in the game where groups of robots will pop in literally 20 feet away from the player.
    3: Movement and physics feel off. The player characters feel slow and platforming takes more time to master than it should because of this. The cruise bubble controls are also so horrific i feel it has to be a bug otherwise the developers are crippling the player to make the game seem more challenging.
    4: Lot of audio bugs. There are many areas of the game where spongebob will comment on something but continue to repeat the dialogue until you leave the area. There are a lot of simple bugs like this that make me feel as though the game was rushed out without stamping out oversights like these.

    As for things I enjoyed, the visuals are very good. I loved the animations during dialogue that make this game feel more alive. In fact, most of the animations are great. This is truly a gorgeous game. The gameplay is pretty much just as engaging as the original. The sad thing is, besides the visual overhaul, everything else about this game is still slightly worse than the original. I keep bringing up the original, but that's mostly due to the fact that the original is still better in almost every single way besides visuals and dialogue animations. Looking beyond my bias and trying to judge the game based solely off what it is by itself I'd have to give it a 7/10. This game is much too buggy to be given any higher score in my opinion. Would I recommend it? Well... Yes and no. If you are a huge fan of the original and have access to a ps2 or gamecube emulator, I'd say just play the original, or better yet if you own the older consoles buy the original. If you want some nice eye candy and some achievements to hunt, sure, buy this instead. Maybe in a few weeks and months once this game is polished I could recommend it to fans.
    Expand
  95. Jun 25, 2020
    8
    Fun for the adults and children. Not a perfect game, of course, but still delivers. Mr. Krabs doesnt sound anything like him, even my 6 year old pointed out how bad he sounded.
  96. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    I played the game back then years ago. I played on my original xbox and I played again and again. This was my favorite platformer since then. When the remaster came out, I bought it again, and I can say that the visuals, the cinematics, expressions, environments and level design is beautiful. It makes you feel again as a child. The story is simple as it has to bee. You can even be a fatherI played the game back then years ago. I played on my original xbox and I played again and again. This was my favorite platformer since then. When the remaster came out, I bought it again, and I can say that the visuals, the cinematics, expressions, environments and level design is beautiful. It makes you feel again as a child. The story is simple as it has to bee. You can even be a father or a big brother and you'll be able to enjoy it. It has their challenges and charisma. Listen to players critics instead the media. If you want to have a good time playing, buy it and enjoy it in a weekend. Expand
  97. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    Лучшая игра года. Cyberpunk и TLOU2 курят в сторонке 10/10 goty
  98. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    Buena jugabilidad, te trae muchos recuerdos y mi hijo que no puede jugar por su condición le encanta verlo
  99. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    A really good remake of the classic game. They didn't change much from the core gameplay [which I personally love] - and the small snippets of cut content add some nice small differences to the core story
  100. Jun 27, 2020
    10
    12/10. Это титаническая и невероятная работа, к которой я имел счастье прикоснуться. Эта игра навсегда оставит коричневое пятно в истории.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Jul 6, 2020
    74
    Who knew that playing SpongeBob SquarePants: The Battle for Bikini Bottom Rehydrated would deliver such a solid dose of nostalgia? But deliver it does. Having played both versions of the game in the past week, I can attest that this is a rock-solid remake of fun but somewhat flawed game. You take the bad with the good on this one, but for the most part Bikini Bottom holds up surprisingly well.
  2. Jul 5, 2020
    80
    Battle for Bikini Bottom is like comfort food. It’s easy to indulge and uplifting in all the right ways. Like a childhood blast from the blast, it’s quickly easy to see why this licensed platformer became a cult-classic. It’s hard to judge whether it will find an audience now. The platforming genre is gearing for a new renaissance with the upcoming Ratchet & Clank and Crash Bandicoot 4, but maybe this is should be seen as a love letter to a bygone era and transition from the old to the new.
  3. Jul 2, 2020
    92
    I enjoyed this in my more spectator role and I know my son loved the game so I would have to say this is a hearty recommendation, if you yourself are a fan or you have a fan in the family… this ought to put a smile on their dial.