Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. 90
    All I can say is that is has aged well, attacks concepts like human will and capitalism on angles that seem fresh in 2018, and remains a must play for those willing to set aside a few hours of their time to experience some very fine, challenging work within the video game medium.
  2. May 8, 2018
    85
    An excellent narrative adventure game that loses the surprise factor of Gone Home but still manages to be interesting and entertaining.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 5, 2018
    80
    Though Tacoma's crew inhabit a far flung future with problems to match, I found myself believing in their relationships. [Issue#150, p.90]
  4. May 14, 2018
    80
    The PS4 version of Tacoma doesn't add anything new to the PC and Xbox One ones, and thus is still a compelling and emotional journey to the space that we strongly recommend you take.
  5. May 8, 2018
    80
    With Gone Home representing a key moment in gaming, Tacoma had plenty of potential to suffer from so called "second album syndrome". While it never manages to hit the same emotional highs – or lows – as its predecessor, it still stands out from the crowd, mainly through the implementation of some nicely interactive AR scenes to deliver its key story moments. While there are certainly other complaints you could level at Tacoma – such as its rigid linearity and how it occasionally falls into genre clichés – these can be easily forgotten as developer Fullbright once again proves where its strengths lie: with down-to-earth characters and thought-provoking storytelling.
  6. May 8, 2018
    75
    Tacoma‘s three-hour span was a delightful experience, and I can see myself booting it up once or twice more to comb through the space station.
  7. 75
    Tacoma has a heart all its own, exploring a myriad of themes and advocating for the human condition, but the branches that sprout from the tree rarely bear fruit. Still, the growth is wonderful, even without that sweet taste you so long for.
  8. May 22, 2018
    70
    Although Tacoma's unique method of storytelling in itself should make it worth playing, the urgency of the narrative is never really felt. Without the highs and lows, it all falls a bit flat. The puzzles are great fun but the game length does leave something to be desired. The graphical glitches during use of the elevator pull you out of the experience entirely which is a shame.
  9. May 10, 2018
    70
    Tacoma is not going to win any new fans who weren’t already interested in story-heavy adventure games, but if you enjoyed Gone Home, you’re likely going to find Tacoma a pleasant evolution of that narrative style with a few much needed improvements to the interactive aspects of the gameplay.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 9, 2018
    Tacoma is Fullbright’s latest interactive drama. It’s in space and it’s pretty okay.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Apr 28, 2019
    5
    It all seems well voice acted and the holo investigation concept is neat, but it is boring as hell in application and execution. Wow I haveIt all seems well voice acted and the holo investigation concept is neat, but it is boring as hell in application and execution. Wow I have literally fell asleep several times on the first level of the affirmative action space station. What a bore snore fest so far listening to holo recordings of people chatting boring stuff. Puzzles are kind of simple so no real gameplay challenge. Comes across more as concept demo than a full game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 17, 2019
    8
    Gameplay/Mechanics: 8
    Sound/Music: 8.5
    Graphics/Art: 8
    Story/Atmosphere: 8.5
    OVERALL: 8.3/10
  3. May 11, 2018
    8
    I pre ordered the game on the PS4 a couple of days before it launched just to save some cash. The rationale was: "if I dislike the game atI pre ordered the game on the PS4 a couple of days before it launched just to save some cash. The rationale was: "if I dislike the game at least I didn't pay full price for it". I have been curious about the game and interested in it since it came out on the Xbox. I have now played through the game twice and expect to play it a third time with the commentaries turned on. Got all the trophies and, in a nutshell, had a lot of fun. It's definitely an entertaining game. The concept and mechanics are cool. It's a short adventure game at less than 3h. But the pace throughout is good. The way you play it is analogous to reading a small book - a small book with a compelling story. The game oozes atmosphere and at £11.99, I have no regrets whatsoever. It's a great, memorable, little game. If you are good at managing your expectations and get this game for what it is (instead of what you would like it to be), then I would recommend you play it soon. It's a brief but delightful experience. Full Review »