User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    Great tower defense style game. Brings back memories of playing Rampart as a teen. This game gives you time to setup defenses though. Buildings can be repaired in between waves or demolished and moved to another location without losing credits. This is a nice feature. The gameplay is simple to pick up. The graphics and animation are well done. You will get lots of enjoyment forGreat tower defense style game. Brings back memories of playing Rampart as a teen. This game gives you time to setup defenses though. Buildings can be repaired in between waves or demolished and moved to another location without losing credits. This is a nice feature. The gameplay is simple to pick up. The graphics and animation are well done. You will get lots of enjoyment for your money! And you will support this great little developer to produce more amazing games. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2015
    9
    The Castle Game has captivated me. The levels are varied and there are lots of weapons to use against some very tough opposition. Strategies must be adapted and adjusted as different types of enemies attack. Will be playing this for some time to come and with good reason, it's brilliant.
  3. Aug 9, 2015
    8
    Looks like Warcraft, plays like a standard TD game. The use of spells and placing your own troops is pretty neat. The AI seems, well...you can out smart it. That is the only real downside I've seen. The sandbox and survival should all add plenty more to do after completing the campaign. Unfortunately, I haven't unlocked that as it requires you to complete the campaign. Don't forget toLooks like Warcraft, plays like a standard TD game. The use of spells and placing your own troops is pretty neat. The AI seems, well...you can out smart it. That is the only real downside I've seen. The sandbox and survival should all add plenty more to do after completing the campaign. Unfortunately, I haven't unlocked that as it requires you to complete the campaign. Don't forget to spend your currency for global upgrades. These can also be reallocated without losing anything if you would like. Trophies! Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2015
    8
    This is a hidden gem in the Playstation store and boy it deserves some much needed recognition! It takes a little while for the controls to sink in as playing any involved tower defense type game on a Dualshock controller can be a little challenging (as you would expect) - but they've done a good job here. Invest the time and effort in this little game and it pays back big time - it'sThis is a hidden gem in the Playstation store and boy it deserves some much needed recognition! It takes a little while for the controls to sink in as playing any involved tower defense type game on a Dualshock controller can be a little challenging (as you would expect) - but they've done a good job here. Invest the time and effort in this little game and it pays back big time - it's heaps of fun when you get to grips with the mechanics of it all. The graphics are simple yet decidedly crisp, the tutorial gets you started (but it's not excessively long at all). I strongly recommend this game for fans of the tower defense genre, it's addicting, fun and well worth the investment. Go for it, you'll enjoy this one! Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2015
    8
    I've been playing this game all day (trust me check the past broadcasts on my twitch www.twitch.tv/lanup to prove it haha). Have to say it's an amazing and beautiful looking game, the controls work unbelievably well on the PS4 controller. There are new modes to unlock after completing the campaign and hard mode to make replaying the levels extra fun. The only reason I gave this game aI've been playing this game all day (trust me check the past broadcasts on my twitch www.twitch.tv/lanup to prove it haha). Have to say it's an amazing and beautiful looking game, the controls work unbelievably well on the PS4 controller. There are new modes to unlock after completing the campaign and hard mode to make replaying the levels extra fun. The only reason I gave this game a 8/10 instead of a 10 is because there is no multiplayer which I think would be awesome on this game. But to be fair they are a small indie company so this was likely out of the question, maybe on the next one. Take it from me once you pick this game up you don't want to put it down! Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Nov 18, 2015
    70
    A solid tower defense experience on the console, The Castle Game plays things safe from start to finish. There is a solid foundation here, which offers an enjoyable experience, but it really doesn’t do anything to make itself stand out or try anything new.
  2. Sep 30, 2015
    65
    The Castle Game is a fairly entertaining tower defense title, but some contents could have been made with more care.
  3. Sep 17, 2015
    60
    For everyone who has become jaded about tower defense, however, The Castle Game will just be another example of the category’s marketplace over-saturation.