Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Oct 7, 2019
    91
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is a masterclass in 2D puzzle platforming. From its beautifully fantastical world to its mind-bending scenarios, you're bound to love every minute of this lighthearted adventure.
  2. 90
    An excellent puzzle platformer with great level design and stunningly realised concept. Recommended.
  3. 90
    A wizard, a Thief, and a Knight walk into a Prince’s Nightmare and the result is a dream game come true. The fourth installment of the Trine series has gone back to its 2.5D roots after going full-blown 3D in 2015’s The Artifacts Of Power. The clever platform-puzzle adventure offers an enchanting experience for the single player or collaborate with up to four players in co-op which can be played locally or online. Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is an unforgettable adventure that should not be missed.
  4. 90
    Trine 4 is a love letter to fans, providing a fully-realized puzzle game rife with experimentation, quality-of-life features, and utterly breathtaking visuals, all but guaranteeing a bright and beautiful future for the franchise.
  5. Oct 9, 2019
    86
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is the long-awaited return of Zoya, Amadeus and Pontius. Puzzles, combats, platforms, magic stages in 2.5D and multiplayer mode will keep newcomers and veterans glued to the controller from beginning to end. Frozenbyte proves again their ability to create a new medieval fantasy adventure and we don’t want to see “The End”.
  6. 85
    Trine 4 feels like a return to what made the series great to begin with. A beautiful world filled with challenging (but not too difficult) puzzles to solve, combined with drop-in/drop-out co-op, makes for a great game to play with friends.
  7. Oct 8, 2019
    85
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is a wonderful, and most importantly, innovative puzzle game that is great to play either solo or with others.
  8. Oct 8, 2019
    85
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is an appealing platformer, offering beautiful art design, challenging puzzles and great boss fights, and It is safe to say that Trine 4 takes the series back its roots.
  9. Oct 7, 2019
    85
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is a sequel that plays it very safe – which, in this particular case, is for the better. Coming back to the traditional style of co-op gameplay and puzzle solving that made the first two games so delightful is exactly the kind of refocusing that the Trine series needed after the misfire of Trine 3. Some lackluster puzzle designs, technical issues, and a lack of difficulty stand in the way of it overtaking Trine 2 as the best of the series, but Trine 4 still remains a shining example of how cooperative gaming should be, and is one of the most gorgeous looking 2.5D games of 2019.
  10. Oct 7, 2019
    85
    A very pleasant adventure that you will enjoy particularly in multiplayer. It recovers the right path from the previous game.
  11. Oct 7, 2019
    85
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is an enchanting new highwater mark for developer Frozenbyte, featuring the series’ best controls, visuals, puzzles, and bosses to date. Regular combat still feels a bit tacked on, but overall, Trine 4 remains a puzzle platforming dream.
  12. Oct 9, 2019
    82
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is perhaps the best episode of the series thanks to a mature and tested gameplay, delightful graphics and a longevity exceeding expectations.
  13. Dec 18, 2019
    80
    Overall, Trine 4 is a delightful game that's sure to satisfy anyone looking for a fun, light-hearted physics-based puzzle game. With roughly 10 hours of content, it's an easy recommendation if only to experience the game world's rich art design and clever puzzles. The puzzles aren't as complex as those found in Portal 2 or The Witness, but the variety of approaches is rewarding in its own way. For that reason alone, it's easy to recommend Trine 4, a game in a genre that rarely receives entries with this level of heart and soul in the art design department.
  14. Oct 28, 2019
    80
    I enjoyed my time in the world of Trine 4. The puzzles are engaging, the world is attractive, and there are few puzzle platform games with local co-op out there. There were a few issues here and there, but I recommend Trine 4 to anyone looking for a game to play with a friend.
  15. Oct 23, 2019
    80
    Frozenbyte manages to deliver a magical puzzle platformer that doesn’t build on innovation, but recreates the old the fascination missing from its predecessor.
  16. Oct 12, 2019
    80
    Trine 4 is still a triumph and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to series veterans or newcomers. While it might be a little conservative and still suffer from pitfalls that held back previous games in the series, Trine 4 is one of the best puzzle-platformers you’ll play this generation.
  17. Oct 11, 2019
    80
    A welcome return to form for the series, and while the co-op puzzle-solving no longer seems quite as original as it once did it’s never been as enjoyable or varied as this.
  18. Oct 11, 2019
    80
    The central puzzle mechanics are still clever and there are many different ways to tackle them. Crossing a perilous chasm could be a job for Amadeus’ levitation, Zoya’s rope, or some combination of everyone’s abilities. Multiplayer is back, so you can group and navigate the Rube Goldberg environmental design as a team. Aside from some impressive boss fights, battling the prince’s shadow creatures is the games weakest aspect. Combat feels stiff and imprecise, but that feels like a mild quibble about such a consistently pleasing experience.
  19. Oct 8, 2019
    80
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is a nice comeback to the roots from the Frozenbyte team with gorgeous visuals, and a nice gameplay, but suffers from those awful combats.
  20. 80
    In returning to form with this sequel, Frozenbyte has doubled down on what made the franchise great prior to the mishap that was the third entry.
  21. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    Trine 4 shows that Frozenbyte still knows how to make great games, with the latest iteration of the series being as fun, clever and beautiful as ever.
  22. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is an enjoyable puzzle-platform, suitable for everyone.
  23. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    Frozenbyte returns with a fourth installment of its saga of puzzles and platforms that shows that the study still knows how to create smart gameplay riddles. Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is a reconciliation between the franchise and its fans, an ode to their first two games that polishes and further refines what they presented to the world when they went on sale.
  24. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    A good return that fulfills what it promises, although it lacks some more strength in history and some difficulty that makes it more striking for a single player.
  25. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    Trine 4 applies the "back to roots" ideal, returning to what always worked on this franchise. Charming character models and solid puzzle design make for a solid Trine experience, even though it seems to be more focused on newcomers, as the challenge should have been bigger: especially if you take into account how refined everything looks and plays.
  26. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    A mesmerising co-op platformer with gorgeous artwork, Trine 4 has a dreamlike fluidity to its gameplay, an enchanting atmosphere and innovative physics-based puzzles, despite the sometimes underwhelming combat.
  27. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    The Trine series is one of those that always offers an enchanting, beautiful 2.5D world to explore and challenges to overcome, and the fact the Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince continues this trend is no surprise. It always plays fair, making the player feel like a genius one minute and then utterly helpless the next. It packs plenty of highs, with satisfying moments galore, while offering a charming and family-friendly environment. One does wish that the story and the combat had more real meat, but this isn’t why the series exists. It does what it sets out to do and serves as a fantastic steward to Trine’s good name.
  28. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    Trine 4 brings back the good, old magic of the first two chapters andadds to the potion some minor but highly effective new gameplay mechanics.
  29. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    With this new title, Frozenbyte has chosen to leave aside the semi-disappointing 3D experimentation of the previous part to focus on the 2.5D action / reflection formula that made its success. We find what makes the series so charming, with its enchanting universe, its trio of heroes with complementary capabilities and the opportunity to live this adventure up to four, locally or online. If the regulars of the series will grumble perhaps a little considering the few important innovations proposed by this new episode, Trine 4 remains an independent game very pleasant by his concept, his aspect, his lightness.
  30. Oct 7, 2019
    80
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince stands as one of the strongest games within its own series.
  31. Oct 9, 2019
    77
    Especially for a few fast races in between, the title keeps captivating the controller, but in the long run, GRID runs out of steam.
  32. Dec 2, 2019
    75
    Trine 4 goes back to its roots but feels more like an expansion than a real sequel.
  33. Oct 14, 2019
    75
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is a return to form for the enjoyable platforming puzzler series, shifting back the perspective to 2.5D while delivering another stunning, satisfying experience.
  34. Oct 8, 2019
    75
    Despite some physics issues and dated animations, Trine 4 is a great experience with its magical atmosphere, which offers to the fans everything they could have asked for.
  35. Oct 7, 2019
    70
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince is a lovely return for the series' 2.5D puzzle platforming. It tinkers with and broadens the gameplay options to be more welcoming, and levels can feel a little stretched out at times, but grab a couple of friends and stick it on Classic mode, and this will delight fans of those first two games.
  36. Oct 7, 2019
    70
    Lively, carefree and supported by a remarkable artistic direction, the fairy tale of The Nightmare Prince has managed to prove itself a fleeting and flowing pastime, albeit less incisive than its predecessors.
  37. Oct 7, 2019
    70
    It's an easy recommendation for platform fans, but it's also just a plain fun time. It's not revolutionary or trailblazing, but it does what it needs to prove that Frozenbyte hasn't lost its touch. I wouldn't necessarily expect a Trine 5 or anything, but clearly, this series has some life left in it.
  38. Oct 7, 2019
    70
    Trine 4 is filled with heartwarming moments in a rich puzzle-platforming adventure that feels like returning to an old story told in childhood.
  39. Oct 8, 2019
    60
    Why change a winning team? Well, for starters: to avoid the feeling of a franchise playing it safe and resting on its laurels. In fact, Trine 4 often feels more like an expansion than a new game, which is never a good thing. Granted, co-op is a lot of fun, though even here you'll need to overlook the game's repetitive nature.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 7, 2019
    Outrageously pretty and newly refined, Frozenbyte's series finally strikes gold. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40
  1. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    This game reverses all the previous mistakes in trine 3 and doubles down on all the mechanics that made the first 2 games fantastic. Every setThis game reverses all the previous mistakes in trine 3 and doubles down on all the mechanics that made the first 2 games fantastic. Every set of stages adds new abilities and puzzles to tackle. The graphics are very impressive and the coop gets an entirely separate set of puzzles than single player. All in all this has become my favorite game of the series. Full Review »
  2. Sep 7, 2020
    7
    My personal favorite in the series, the platforming and puzzle mechanics are the best and most clever yet. The levels are dripping with detailMy personal favorite in the series, the platforming and puzzle mechanics are the best and most clever yet. The levels are dripping with detail and personality. As a collectathon this is a great example of a game that respects the player's time. Each individual level is quite long which normally would make returning to round up collectibles a complete chore. This is fixed with the ability to start at any of the 20 or so checkpoints you want, and you're even shown how many experience drops are remaining in range of each checkpoint so you don't have to comb back through the entire level again, the hunt is narrowed down just enough to keep it from getting tedious. Some might call it too streamlined but I think it totally works and made me 'want' to go back and collect stuff I missed.

    The only aspect of this game I found executed rather poorly was combat. I realize Trine is more about the puzzle platforming than action, and that's how it should always be, but any time I got to a combat section, I didn't want to deal with it. There's very little feedback when hitting enemies and the areas you fight in are so small and cramped with enemies that combat mechanics for the wizard and thief get hindered by the platforms. It has been a while since I played the first two but I don't remember the combat being this unsatisfying in either of them. Regardless I still think 4 is a cut above the rest in most aspects.

    Trine 1: 6/10
    Trine 2: 7/10
    Trine 3: didn't play
    Trine 4: 7.5/10
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2020
    9
    Trine4 is still beautiful and has some lovely animals, which I really like. In addition, some scenes impressed me, which I found moreTrine4 is still beautiful and has some lovely animals, which I really like. In addition, some scenes impressed me, which I found more beautiful than trine123, and the characters, jokes and stories were lovely. The downside of the game is that there are still too few bosses and battles are not fun. It's always a little flawed, but I love the series, and I love trine4's art and story style, and it makes me feel warm. It's also fun to play with friends online. I expect the series to go on and on.

    In addition, I know that making the game too difficult may affect sales. However, keeping it simple also made me think it wasn't fun enough to repeat.
    Anyway, I look forward to Frozenbyte making a better trine in the future.
    Full Review »