Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 113 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 113
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. May 12, 2016
    40
    Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End feels as inevitable as it does unnecessary.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 5, 2016
    While Uncharted 4 is a beautiful and thrilling way to pass the time, it feels like an insubstantial experience in the end. What will probably be Nathan Drake's final tale feels mostly slick and forgettable, lacking the strong character drama or plotting that can make other cinematic games stick with you long after they're completed. I doubt I'll be spending much time working over the events of Uncharted 4 in my head the way I have for games like Dishonored, Bioshock Infinite, or even Naughty Dog's own The Last of Us. That doesn't matter when you're in the middle of a thrilling firefight, but it becomes apparent quickly once those credits begin to roll.
  2. May 5, 2016
    Uncharted 4 delivers the fan service series loyalists will absolutely eat up. For the rest of us, Naughty Dog treats the player to an adventure that spares no expense...If this is indeed the last Uncharted game, it's a supremely satisfying celebration of the series and an absolute must-play on PlayStation 4.
  3. Oct 19, 2016
    Uncharted 4 may have problems at its edges, but its middle is phenomenal. It is a sufficiently wonderful finale for a studio that has made its own case that its next great step should be somewhere new.
  4. May 5, 2016
    Uncharted 4 lives up to the legacy the series has earned for itself, but it fails to evolve much beyond that. Naughty Dog proved with The Last of Us that satisfying gameplay could capably co-exist with a complex plotline. This is a step back from that.
  5. May 5, 2016
    These issues are easy to overlook in favor of the game’s pleasures: its grasp of narrative, its pacing, its sense of scope, and the charm of its heroes. They squabble and suffer and feel real in a way that makes every jump, dodge, and victory count.
  6. May 5, 2016
    The lighting, the detail, the mocap and animation of the characters, the delivery of the dialogue are all so near-flawless that I forgot I was watching computer people. It just felt like a movie. The transitions between cinematic scenes and gameplay are seamless. The load times are non-existent (unless you jump around from chapter to chapter or reset from a previous point).
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 10, 2016
    10
    Naughty Dog delivers once again! The graphics are amazing, the story is almost on TLOU-level in my opinion and the gameplay got even better.Naughty Dog delivers once again! The graphics are amazing, the story is almost on TLOU-level in my opinion and the gameplay got even better. It is not perfect but no game will ever be so for me its still 10/10. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2016
    1
    The most surprising thing about this game is how boring it is. What isn't surprising is how bad the multiplayer is (we knew that from theThe most surprising thing about this game is how boring it is. What isn't surprising is how bad the multiplayer is (we knew that from the god-awful betas). But what makes it all worse is how slimy Naughty Dog are being with the paid-content in multiplayer. You can either get lucky and eventually get what you want, or you can pay stupid amounts of money for things that in the past we got for free. It's so stupid. But whining about multiplayer is pointless since it's not fun to play anyway. The real crime here is how utterly bland and boring the story and gameplay are. Save your money and rent it Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2016
    4
    Though this game must be good, I can not take this as industry "standard".
    Graphics and animations are great sure, but story, gameplay, and
    Though this game must be good, I can not take this as industry "standard".
    Graphics and animations are great sure, but story, gameplay, and soundtrack are all generic, boring and does nothing new that we haven't already seen before in the industry.
    Everyone likes to praise Naughty Dog games for being industry defining when it simply isn't true, there are far more innovative titles out there from companies who get no recognition,
    because of mainstream titles like Uncharted stealing the show with it's graphics.
    I think it should be condemned for killing the success of games that come from actual devs with passion and talent who cant make it out in the world because **** generic shooters like this one is the star of the show.

    This is an honest review on my thoughts on the game and what impact it really has.
    Full Review »