Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 13, 2020
    91
    It’s quirky enough and happy enough to win over all but the most hardened of hearts, and unless you believe games should be serious business at all times, it’s well worth checking out.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 9, 2020
    90
    Joyful and strange, Wattam’s a hard game to explain, but not a difficult one to play. Once it wraps you in its welcoming arms you won’t want to let go. Until you end up kaboomed, that is. [Issue#171, p.90]
  3. 90
    Refreshingly light-hearted, brief, and full of good vibes, Wattam is the kind of game that everyone can easily settle down with. It’s a magical experience centered on friendships and connection, finding out how each unique skill can help everybody out, despite all being different sizes, shapes, and colors. There’s a simple joy that comes from playing Wattam, a feeling that many other games just can’t match. Wattam is a delightful, fun, and uplifting game filled with laughter, teamwork, and all the things that make your heart feel warm and fuzzy.
  4. Dec 16, 2019
    85
    I'm not sure if Takahashi will ever be able to top Katamari Damacy – for my money, it's one of the greatest video games ever made – but Wattam captures that sense of whimsy and magic in its own way. The care-free music and gosh-darn-huggable character designs make this a must-play for fans.
  5. Dec 30, 2019
    84
    If you have even a sliver of child-like wonder left in your heart then playing Wattam is a must. Uncovering its exceptionally imaginative world as you interact with a diverse collection of oddities makes for one captivating and hilarious adventure.
  6. Jan 3, 2020
    80
    Wattam flaunts the same absurd, childlike humor that Katamari Damacy did, setting the bases of its design in the logic of the playground, but this time Takahashi offers a different game - a miniature sandbox in which the rhythm is dictated by the player, with a fine story and dozens of lovely characters.
  7. Jan 2, 2020
    80
    A wonderful soundtrack and a visual style which is simple but appealing finish setting the tone for Wattam. While it’s a simple, direct game, during my time with it, I almost constantly had a huge grin on my face. Takahashi's brand of weird works for me and even all these years after Katamari, that's still the case. If his style works for you, I think you'll have a great time with Wattam. It may not last you long but it's a time that will stay with you which is worth celebrating.
  8. Dec 31, 2019
    80
    Spend a few hours winding down with its carefree sandbox or just listen to the ever catchy folksy music, and it’s just the antidote you need after a bad day, a bad year, or hell, a bad decade.
  9. Dec 20, 2019
    80
    As a game, Wattam is a scatterbrained assembly of goofball logic and cumbersome mechanics. As an experience, it's an earnest expression of love, affinity, and forgiveness shared by all of its moving pieces. The product is a game that elicits joy without the videogame-y demand for precooked gratification. Wattam feels like a birthday party where all of your friends actually show up.
  10. Dec 20, 2019
    80
    When it's all said and done, all laughed and cried, Wattam really is a game apart from the pack - a clear continuation of the creative mindset of its maker, given what he's done before now, but also quite, quite different. It follows its own playful logic, offering clear instructions and never giving into surrealness for the sake of it, and is absolutely a more meaningful experience than meets the eye.
  11. 80
    Completely mental, colourful, funny and an entertaining multiplayer experience, Wattam constantly surprised me with its surreal characters and insane gameplay. It will not be everyone's cup of tea but I think a lot of people will appreciate it for what it is. A bright, cheery experience that will leave you confused, baffled but smiling and laughing at the same time.
  12. Dec 16, 2019
    80
    Wattam communicates a poignant, refreshing, and all-too-necessary joy in the face of adversity.
  13. Dec 16, 2019
    80
    Some significant technical issues manage to do little to hold back the charm and wit of Wattam. It's a game that's great fun for both kids and adults, with slapstick humor and a sweet message of understanding people, despite your differences, at its center. It's made with today's toxic climate in mind, boiling the world's issues into something that doesn't feel cloying, but instead feels positive and welcoming. That, to me, is an achievement.
  14. Dec 26, 2019
    75
    Wattam is the Katamari successor you may not have known you needed. Keita Takahashi and the folks at Funomena have created a new kind of alternative game experience. If you long for the days when you used to collect toy figures and play sets, Wattam is a wonder to behold. It's joy, colorful and fun, in your hands and right in front of your face.
  15. Dec 17, 2019
    74
    Wattam is unlike any other game when Keita Takahashi's unique sense of humor and world building come together, but don't expect everything to click all the time.
  16. Dec 17, 2019
    73
    Its charming visuals and messages of compassion and cooperation make Wattam a great game to play with younger members of the family.
  17. Jan 8, 2020
    70
    It isn't often that you play something that is so pure and unapologetically itself, but that's Wattam. I don't know if I'll ever play another game that makes me turn all of my friends into fruit so I can progress. It oozes passion, and it has an infectious enthusiasm that's present in each and every aspect of it. Wattam never takes itself too seriously, and that makes it easy to buy into its world and suspend your disbelief. While the gameplay is all over the place, Wattam is held together by themes of friendship and a cohesive soundtrack that actually leave you grinning long after you're done.
  18. Jan 6, 2020
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Edge Magazine
    Jan 3, 2020
    70
    It becomes, in the very best sense, an anarchic fetch quest played by Takahashi's whimsical rules. [Issue#341, p.114]
  20. Jan 3, 2020
    70
    Wattam combines an original concept with a simple but iconic design; software limitations, however, are some technical issue of the software and repetitiveness, also caused by the almost nonexistent challenge.
  21. Dec 30, 2019
    70
    Wattam is a game that simply wants to put a smile on your face. It doesn't last very long, it doesn't require much skill from the player, and it doesn't have a complex story to tell. That also means it doesn't overstay its welcome, and that almost anybody can pick it up and enjoy it.
  22. Dec 26, 2019
    70
    Wattam takes the concepts of action and puzzling, and makes them its own. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting all of the wacky and strange characters that Funomena has conjured up. Starting with the lonely mayor and ending with an entire community of over 100 playable characters is a very satisfying progression. However, Wattam doesn’t provide the extra layer of gameplay that I found myself yearning for.
  23. Dec 23, 2019
    70
    Wattam is a unique game that feels targeted to a younger audience. It’s fun with friends, but sometimes we wished it had a more "video-game-y" feeling to it.
  24. Dec 20, 2019
    70
    In an industry still obsessed with lifelike visuals, gratuitous violence, and tear-jerking stories, Wattam is a welcome remedy. Though short-lived and bizarre is its design, it has a joyous cleansing effect that will have you grinning ear to ear.
  25. Dec 20, 2019
    70
    Wattam is a pure, adorable joy. Keita Takahashi's signature idiosyncrasies shine through in this playful game about friendship and finding pleasure in the simple things. Interacting with the wacky cast of characters is great fun, and there's almost no pressure to march on with the story if you'd rather do your own thing. It's a shame the technical side of things lets the experience down somewhat, but when the game is at its ludicrous best, you probably won't care.
  26. Dec 16, 2019
    70
    Wattam is not a great video game by any definition. However, it is a great, zero-stress experience that wants to show how great friendship can be. If you’re looking for a game to test your skills or provide you with a mature narrative that makes you think, Wattam ain’t it. However, if you’re having a bad day and just want to unwind by kabooming golden poops all over your screen, Wattam is more than happy to take you under its bowler.
  27. Dec 30, 2019
    68
    Quotation forthcoming.
  28. Dec 30, 2019
    65
    For maximum enjoyment, Wattam expects you to meander, to mosey, to stride. A frantic pace will only lay bare the shaky controls and the counter-intuitive camera setup. Take your time, the game insists. Speak to every new citizen, wear all of their hats, propel them skyward with your hat bombs. This way, the good times can dwell while the pockets of misery remain distant and hazy. For me, the off-putting voices and the clumsy controls work with the sparse conceit to create a world that’s oddly ill-fitting. The idyllic madness and the slow, sparse mechanics butt heads to make a game best approached with caution and care. Choose the world of Wattam at your most studious discretion, my friends.
  29. Jan 17, 2020
    60
    Like Katamari Damacy, Wattam is a feast of visual gags and imagination. But Takahashi’s newest project ultimately doesn’t have the necessary depth of gameplay to transform itself into more than a silly yet loveable romp.
  30. Dec 20, 2019
    60
    I can’t say that Wattam makes for anything other than a clever diversion, best for parents and young children or those besotted with cuteness. The game teeters over the line between childlike and childish.
  31. Dec 16, 2019
    60
    Wattam’s fascination with connection could have been better served if had a stronger story to back it up. Perhaps it could have been a kid-friendly, significantly less convoluted version of Death Stranding if it fleshed out its narrative just a bit more in the right ways.
  32. Jan 6, 2020
    50
    Wattam should be played, if for no other reason than to see a designer expressing ambivalence about his own ideas.
  33. Dec 17, 2019
    50
    As charmingly idiosyncratic as you’d expect from the creator of Katamari Damacy, but although the harmonious message is clear the game itself is a frustrating chore.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 16, 2019
    Wattam would be a simple little delight, if it weren't for its technical issues.
  2. Dec 20, 2019
    Wattam is impossible to describe, yet it's imbued with an unmistakable and universal humanity.
  3. Dec 17, 2019
    I finished Wattam in a few hours — it’s not a long game — but I could only bring myself to play in chunks due to the many oddities and small indignities it foists on the player. I kept hoping for something to anchor the whole experience to some kind of message or resonant detail that would bring the rest of my pain into focus. But after finishing the game and writing this review, I’m still waiting.
  4. Dec 16, 2019
    It’s the rare game full of both laughter and sadness — and probably the only one that also features talking eyeballs and toilets.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Dec 18, 2019
    8
    I really enjoyed the game. I played it together with another person and we loved every second of it. It's really satisfying whenever youI really enjoyed the game. I played it together with another person and we loved every second of it. It's really satisfying whenever you unlock a new location or a new character, some with special abilities useful for puzzles and some with rather pointless abilities just for the sake of humor and/or fun. It's a joy just to mess around in the game, like trying to stack 20+ characters on top of each others without them falling, hold hands with as many characters as possible and watch them go insane, bomb a whole lot of characters and watch them fly everywhere or just mess around with the "hand holding" mechanic, pulling people into pits. Most of the characters are made up of objects you see every day, but with a cute face on it and a strange color. The art style will feel right at home if you've played Katamari or Noby Noby Boy.

    The creator promised this game was "heavily story driven" and it's true. The story is simple but very effective at getting its message across, especially towards the end. I can guarantee you'll shed some tears, partly due to the beautiful (and surprisingly deep!?) music accompanying the entire thing. Too bad there's just one vocal track in the entire game. On the positive side, each character adds a different twist to the background music and it's always interesting to check how the music will change when you try out a different character.

    Keep in mind that there is a lot of toilet humor, which may throw some people off. The game feels a bit more juvenile than Keita Takahashi's other games too and the story plays like a children's picture book, but I think it's a great match for his art style. I beat the game in 5 hours, which is fine considering the price. If you aim at completing the trophy list as well, you'll probably get an additional 3-5 hours. Great game and worth the price if you are a fan of weird and bizzare japanese games!
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2019
    10
    Completely magical, light and delightful. A playful journey with many surprises... the puzzles are simple, but enjoyable and the feeling ofCompletely magical, light and delightful. A playful journey with many surprises... the puzzles are simple, but enjoyable and the feeling of the game makes it kind of unnecessary to DO anything... a refreshing break from the norm. Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2019
    3
    Really boring game !
    Not worth for the modern consoles!!
    Not worth buying !