User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1009 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    I personally didn't like cod cold war, it was buggy and boring, but Vanguard actually feels nice. Fun and long single player campaign, beautiful graphics, lots of stuff to do. I'm surprised.
  2. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Way better than last year's cod and obviously better shooter than battlefail2042. Would recommend to old and new cod fans!
  3. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    It's not perfect, but it's million times better than whatever battleflop2042 is trying to do, they don't even have campaign and multiplayer feels empty and boring. CoD is actually trying to do things right this time. Gun sounds are great, nice graphics, solid campaign.
  4. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Вполне хорошая игра, мне очень понравилась.
  5. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Well, so far COD: Vanguard is best shooter of 2021, that much i know, that much i can tell you. Will Halo be good? Who knows. But new COD is solid. Moving the wheels.
  6. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    And 2021's best shooter is finally here! Good job Sledgehammer Games! Better than last two cod's.
  7. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    One of the best Call of Duty's in very long time. Just ignore negative reviews, these are just BF fanboys who can't deal with the fact, that all BF has is buggy multiplayer and COD is actually delivering solid single player experience.
  8. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Battlefield is trying to do their regular woke trash, just like they did in Battlefield V.
    Vanguard is actually pretty cool, would recommend!
  9. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    I dont know how some thought changing Vasily Zaitsevs gender would be a good idea, but i hope this person never get a job again.
  10. Nov 28, 2021
    0
    It was the most boring and scripted fps game I ever played. The people who designed levels and scripts in the single campaign should be ashamed.
  11. Nov 30, 2021
    3
    Unfinished, boring mess of a game with 0 feeling, forgettable characters, worst spawn places in the history of cod..and the list goes on and on.
  12. Dec 1, 2021
    1
    This and battlefield were absolute rubbish, I can't believe that both Activision and ea both failed so spectacularly. I thought the campaign in this was the worst sort of pandering nonsense that had nothing to do with reality. I don't think I'll be buying anymore of these
  13. AnonymousMC
    Nov 9, 2021
    2
    The multiplayer is a bad version of MW2019. 2/10

    The zombies takes all the worst aspects of BOCW zombies and outbreak and somehow makes them even worse. 1/10

    The campaign is actually pretty decent, but because it’s single player and played the least out of all the modes it has very little effect on the final rating. 7/10
  14. Nov 27, 2021
    1
    Screw this one sided website for not allowing negative ratings. This game does not live up to what it should be. Nor will any call of duty in the future unless they focus on immersing you in the battlefield as an solder instead of forcing present day political agendas. They are scared of offending people, and that resulted in them making an inaccurate historical war game. Me personallyScrew this one sided website for not allowing negative ratings. This game does not live up to what it should be. Nor will any call of duty in the future unless they focus on immersing you in the battlefield as an solder instead of forcing present day political agendas. They are scared of offending people, and that resulted in them making an inaccurate historical war game. Me personally when I play a call of duty game, I use to expect to be immersed into the situation of a solder doing what they are told and fighting for their country and their allies. A realistic simulation of the horrors of war. Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2021
    2
    So many bugs,poor story written, poor development, lack of creativity, campaign is awful
  16. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    This review is here to let you know that metacritic rating system does not work :)

    Nice game btw...
  17. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ничем не отличается от прошлой части. Не тратьте время и деньги. Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2021
    2
    The multiplayer is horrible, maps are small and chaotic, spawning is garbage, there is no spawn protection so you will experience lots spawn campers, lots of time you will spawn just to die the ssame second, because the whole enemy team just spawned behind you. There is no map border, you can leave the map and die WTF ????? There are holes and **** which you can fall and die, and sometimesThe multiplayer is horrible, maps are small and chaotic, spawning is garbage, there is no spawn protection so you will experience lots spawn campers, lots of time you will spawn just to die the ssame second, because the whole enemy team just spawned behind you. There is no map border, you can leave the map and die WTF ????? There are holes and **** which you can fall and die, and sometimes you get spawned right in front of that hole and if you are a new player not familiar with map, you will fall and die lol. guns are garbage, everything that has low rpm is useless, its basically copy paste of cod ww2 just way way worse. If you are a kid you might have fun, but if you are any serious about gaming STAY AWAY. Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2021
    0
    This is not a triple A project. I bought it for the sake of a network company and a zombie mode. There is absolutely no content in zombies. 3 tasks and 3 zombies for the whole game. In a network game, they do not show on the map where the battle is going on. Taking a perk for this is nonsense. All weapons are like shooting sticks. The sound environment is disgusting
  20. Nov 12, 2021
    0
    Imbalanced guns, broken respawn, chaotic maps (like you playing in “unreal tournament” or “quake”, only “agenda”, and huge number of bugs.
  21. Nov 10, 2021
    1
    Do NOT waste your money on this piece of **** cash grab. Nothing new, with less then sledgehammer's previous WW2 title.
  22. Nov 10, 2021
    1
    One of the worst call of duty multiplayers to date. Maps have no flow. Connection is horrid as I'm getting packet loss on my wired 350Mbps broadband every game. Spawns are absolutely broken- you'll spawn in front of enemies who are already shooting. And their 'fair' skill based match making results in 90 percent of games being a total 1 sided blowout.
    Zombies mode is at the worst state it
    One of the worst call of duty multiplayers to date. Maps have no flow. Connection is horrid as I'm getting packet loss on my wired 350Mbps broadband every game. Spawns are absolutely broken- you'll spawn in front of enemies who are already shooting. And their 'fair' skill based match making results in 90 percent of games being a total 1 sided blowout.
    Zombies mode is at the worst state it has ever been, don't believe me look it up, almost everybody in zombies community hates it. They took a multiplayer map, threw a pack-a-punch, crafting table, upgrade station and couple of portals in the middle of it and called it a day.They even went away from the round based formula.
    So far the only thing I have enjoyed is the games campaign.which I'd give a solid 7/10, but no way this game is worth 80 Euros.
    Expand
  23. Nov 18, 2021
    4
    Clunky game!No audio for footsteps running like a deaf man and and get shoot in de back, respawn is just chaos!
  24. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    The online experience can, as in Cold War, be explained in a single word: SBMM. Whether you like it or not is up to you but I absolutely despise it. The story is something different. It is way worse. I talked a lot about WW2 with my grandpa who was lucky to survive. He stated several times that he is absolutely sad how this terrible conflict is being abused to not only profit and earn hugeThe online experience can, as in Cold War, be explained in a single word: SBMM. Whether you like it or not is up to you but I absolutely despise it. The story is something different. It is way worse. I talked a lot about WW2 with my grandpa who was lucky to survive. He stated several times that he is absolutely sad how this terrible conflict is being abused to not only profit and earn huge amounts of money but how it is also instrumentalized to somehow teach young players about morlas and social justice. Historical accuracy is totally ignored and is instead replaced by gay, black, disabled or other minorities playing major roles. These groups themselves are not at all a problem but the way they are prefered over accuracy only to satisfy the modern spitit is really sad. People, german as well as allied, gave their lives for their countries and their sacrifice isn't honoured but is instead ridicouled through female elite snipers "kicking some Nazi butt" as areview of this game once stated. A very sad trend indeed. Expand
  25. Nov 9, 2021
    3
    Konveer. Morazm krephyal. Grafika na urovne, ostalnoe mi uje videli.........
  26. Nov 11, 2021
    4
    I had high hopes as I really liked Cold War. Man was I disappointed. The MP experience is a total mess. You spawn right in front of enemies. Sometimes the same enemy two times in a row. Matchmaking is a joke. Matches are often lopsided and players quit mid game. Lot of mods for weapons but the system is actually a step down from Cold War. The shooting feel was my favorite part of Cold War.I had high hopes as I really liked Cold War. Man was I disappointed. The MP experience is a total mess. You spawn right in front of enemies. Sometimes the same enemy two times in a row. Matchmaking is a joke. Matches are often lopsided and players quit mid game. Lot of mods for weapons but the system is actually a step down from Cold War. The shooting feel was my favorite part of Cold War. Now it's just childish. The maps look nice with all the explosions and stuff but it's just too messy. One positive though.. I got a nice laugh from reading the bios of the mp characters. Devs have really felt the need to be woke. The women characters are like socialites and the guys are grunts. Expand
  27. Nov 21, 2021
    1
    for being "critics" their reviews are wrong AF. MP spawns are beyond terrible. spawning in front of someone who is shooting. the grind needed for the guns and the operators is absolutely insane.
    the barrel flash is overwhelming to the point it makes ADS useless.
    Zombies....good lord, the map is meh, the round system is garbage, the perks are lame and lack imagination. ammo mods in mp but
    for being "critics" their reviews are wrong AF. MP spawns are beyond terrible. spawning in front of someone who is shooting. the grind needed for the guns and the operators is absolutely insane.
    the barrel flash is overwhelming to the point it makes ADS useless.
    Zombies....good lord, the map is meh, the round system is garbage, the perks are lame and lack imagination. ammo mods in mp but not in Zombies, seriously. How is that even possible? are the devs afraid of making zombies to crazy and ridiculous? it's zombies, it should be.
    The only viable guns in zombies passed round 15 are shotguns, so I hope you love shotguns. I wish I never purchased this pos.
    Expand
  28. Nov 7, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One shot kill with a sniper rifle in the ankle is a kill.
    Can't hear anyone running about, sound is terrible.
    What a waste of £80, will not buy another COD game ever.
    Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2021
    0
    Yet another reskin call of duty game, instead of releasing one every year take a year or two off and change up the formula, just a horrible flop.
  30. Nov 12, 2021
    0
    Worst Call of duty game of all time, boring filler part of Call of duty series. Dont buy
  31. Nov 14, 2021
    0
    I don't know how they did it, but they took the old & already stale formula and made it even worse. It looks good, but it will not keep you coming back for more. You will regret your purchase.
  32. Nov 11, 2021
    0
    Trash game! Multiplayer Hardcore is ridiculous
    Very ridiculous
    Trash trash trash
  33. Nov 9, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Zombies are a straight disappointment. First night playing , and at 10:30pm EST we all get booted because they decided to update the servers mid game. On top of it this game looks and feels un-finished and should have been delayed !! Operator's are all junk compared to previous game. On top of it they added operator level up.. should have just left it with challenges !!! Where's OUTBREAK and BASE ROUND Map ???!!! 7500$ for first pack a punch ??!! No wall weapon's, can't update weapon rarety , no wonder weapon's, yet but I see no potential for the zombie mode. Get rid of the covenant junk. Only 3 missions in zombie's ?! Only 3 different kind of zombies.. ohh man I've never wanted a refund soo bad after purchasing a COD game. Biggest disappointment in history for me. I'll just keep playing Cold War zombies. Expand
  34. Nov 16, 2021
    1
    Not much to enjoy about this game, it's just thr same as the rest and the campaign doesn't save it
  35. Nov 13, 2021
    0
    Game won't launch and I can't get a refund. Don't waste your time and money.
  36. Nov 14, 2021
    1
    Activision trash strikes again. Spawns are broken, constant game crashes, characters are very cartoony, and the graphics are not PS5 quality. Basically, as usual, Craptivision smashed this ball of hot garbage together and then had the stones to raise the price! Horrible game, lazily developed, and full of provlems. Don't wastwr youtr time.Even causes my 4k TV to reboot in the middle of aActivision trash strikes again. Spawns are broken, constant game crashes, characters are very cartoony, and the graphics are not PS5 quality. Basically, as usual, Craptivision smashed this ball of hot garbage together and then had the stones to raise the price! Horrible game, lazily developed, and full of provlems. Don't wastwr youtr time.Even causes my 4k TV to reboot in the middle of a match (I have tested this out multiple times). Expand
  37. Nov 14, 2021
    0
    I'm not sure how, but it feels even worse than last year's call of duty cold war. To be honest I feel disgusted by the fact that I bought this, and I regret it 100%, and since this is Sony, I already know I'm not getting my money back regardless of how little I played. Last year's installment atleast had really fun zombies, this COD has nothing.
  38. Nov 14, 2021
    2
    What the hell is this money grab? This game can only be good for CoD fanatics. Nothing new, just basic poor CoD. Won't continue to play this garbage even if I got it for free.
  39. Nov 21, 2021
    2
    Avoid. Save your money and disk space. Campaign is fine. Other than that it's Terrible. Battlefield 2042 is even worse. Avoid both. Buy this for the campaign only
  40. Nov 27, 2021
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not good enough not good story but can be better in the future if they fix everything Expand
  41. Nov 7, 2021
    3
    Clunky game!No audio for footsteps running like a deaf man and and get shoot in de back, respawn is just chaos!
  42. Nov 7, 2021
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Серия игр Call of Duty все больше напоминает фильм крепкий орешек. 1. Очень много вопросов к локализации на русский язык. Вы что серьёзно настолько безрукие что не можете нормально наложить звуковую(голосовую) дорожку на персонажей? Я уж не говорю про интонации в кат.сценах и во время самой игры. 2.Что за бред со шрифтами на листвоках, вывесках зданий? На одном из зданий так вообще перевода нет. Что за бочки нефть? Где вы видели что бы горючин средства хранили так открыто и ещё подписано большими буквами на бочках НЕФТЬ? Что за бред про персонажа Полину? Вам не кажется что это Брюс Уилис в шапке ушанке? Вы когда нибудь занимались паркуром в военных сапогах 1942года и в юбке? Почему у неё отсутствуют черты характера которые присуще молодой наивной девочке. Да при первой упавшей бомбе она должна была рыдать и охуевать от происходящего, и только потом взять себя в руки и начать мстить немцам, а не так "о нихуя бомбы! Немцы! Ебану ка я до дома по крышам. А далее так просто забрать жизнь у человека, хоть и у фашиста, так просто без всяких эмоций. После того как её отца расстреляли так без эмоционально задвинуть речь из 4 слов и все... Вам не кажется что вы окончательно ебанулись со своим сексизмом Невозможно было видеть непонятное барабанное ружье и обвесы почти на каждом автомате немцев. Негр которому разрешили командовать в 44году? Аллооо здравый смысл приём!!! Приём!!!! Очевидно дроп после Сталинграда. Картинка красивая, выстрелы красивые, вода как была киселем 5 лет назад так и есть, ограничения на кровь все так же есть что бы охватить больше аудитории. Ах да чуть не забыл, я так и не понял как Полина так лихо бегает по вентиляции (это как то супер присед сгорбившись с автоматом в руках и в юбке). Как сказал бы Папич - разрабы дауны Expand
  43. Nov 7, 2021
    3
    I actually fell asleep in 1 of the missions, every mission feels similar and nothing feels new.. shouldve expected that by now.
  44. Nov 14, 2021
    0
    Don't interfere games with religion this is a disgrace your apologies is not acceptable for me personally this ia the end for call of duty i will not play any game for Activation
  45. Nov 14, 2021
    2
    Tired of these unfinished, buggy, soulless games every year. Don’t buy unless your a content creator who has to level up guns for warzone. Besides that your not missing out on anything I promise
  46. Nov 8, 2021
    4
    TLDR : Flashback simulator

    Story : 3/10 , so short and the problem is 90 % of the game were flash back . my friend got killed nah let me told you the past of this guys. we cant trust him , nahh let me tell you the story why we can trust him and so on by the time all flash back finished we reach the ending of the game LMAO Graphic 7/10 , lookgood on outside but if you look closely
    TLDR : Flashback simulator

    Story : 3/10 , so short and the problem is 90 % of the game were flash back . my friend got killed nah let me told you the past of this guys. we cant trust him , nahh let me tell you the story why we can trust him and so on by the time all flash back finished we reach the ending of the game LMAO

    Graphic 7/10 , lookgood on outside but if you look closely there are too many blury object even the facemodel look undetail unlike the previous cod

    Gameplay 5/10 : Gunplay look very solid from miho but the AI are so stupid sometimes and very minor bug occurs many times.

    if you are like me who buy this game for campagin , Skip this one it;s so bad and have no meaningful story
    Expand
  47. Nov 7, 2021
    8
    I made an account with metcritic just so I can write a review for this game.

    Another year another call of duty which people review bomb just because they think it’s funny or trendy to do so. I played Cold War and I enjoyed it although it was one of the weaker entries in the series and the maps left much to be desired I still found hours of enjoyment. This brings me to Vanguard first I
    I made an account with metcritic just so I can write a review for this game.

    Another year another call of duty which people review bomb just because they think it’s funny or trendy to do so.

    I played Cold War and I enjoyed it although it was one of the weaker entries in the series and the maps left much to be desired I still found hours of enjoyment.

    This brings me to Vanguard first I wanna talk about the campaign which to me is one of the strongest campaigns out of all the cods Something that makes it really stand out is the cutscenes it really feels like you’re watching a movie and it’s animated so so nice and the characters for once aren’t just robots they actually feel like real humans or at least people that you can enjoy and that you get to know their different personalities what more is there to say it’s got a big set pieces with the crazy over the top stance is chest a lot of fun again.

    Now to the multiplayer I don’t I did enjoy Cold War this feels like an even better step in the right direction everyone really enjoyed modern warfare 2019 for me the problem was the maps were so boring and bland but in Vanguard there’s 16 maps to start with and for King of the Hill maps and each map feels individual fun with lots of different routes to take. Now the gun play is great again brilliant animations lots of variety it took me a while to found find a gun i can slay with but I did in the end and racking up kill streaks is great One big new addition is the new ways to play you can even play as the original 6-6 or 8-8 or 10-10 The last one is absolute chaos but also a lot of fun

    The one issue I have so far with the multiplayer is That I have run into quite a few bugs

    And then you have zombies and that’s it it’s the most barebones zombies they’ve done The best way to describe it it feels like a tech demo of what zombies are and that’s the reason it’s not getting a higher score
    Expand
  48. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Pretty good COD this time. I didn't like cold war at all, but this one is pretty nice. Would recommend.
  49. Nov 7, 2021
    10
    Absolutely amazing Call of Duty finally! I don't even care, if they make more these. I absolutely don't care about MW2, because that future stuff is just pointless. World War II theme is most interesting without any question. Anything futuristic is just waste of time.
  50. Nov 7, 2021
    9
    Good multiplayer
    Stunning visuals
    Campaign is short but understandable due to
    Pandemic work environments
  51. Nov 7, 2021
    10
    Finally solid and well made cod game. This game has so much content compared to cold war. More of this please and less of whatever cold war was supposed to be. Good job, whoever worked on this!
  52. Nov 7, 2021
    10
    Fun and chaotic multiplayer, short, but still solid campaign, actually good graphics, zombies are bad, but they can update it. Overall i'm glad i bought it, great game and possibly best shooter of 2021, unless Halo does something.
  53. Nov 7, 2021
    0
    same game from later years.. with new skins, new dialog and same guns.. doesn't worst the price
  54. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Most of these haters don't even know what they want. In fact i'm pretty sure, most of them don't even like cod games in general. They would hate even, if it was most perfect cod ever. Is Vanguard most perfect cod ever? Hell no. Is it awful tho? Far from it. Better than last two.
  55. Nov 7, 2021
    9
    This game is really fun and CoD does a really good job on multiplayer. Been having a lot of fun since launch. Love the art style and direction of the 1940s.
  56. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Best COD I’ve played in a long time.
    Great maps, great movement, great gunplay.

    COD giving you so much content in one game being a campaign , multiplayer and zombies, good bang for buck and its quality

    Some Folks who give bad ratings are doing it because they’re not having successful matches which is not the game fault

    I also love they everyone is running and gunning instead of camping
  57. Nov 8, 2021
    10
    One of the best CoD games in years, i can already tell this game is going to be legendary. Hell yea.
  58. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    What a fantastic game. I have completed it in about 7 hours. The campaign is one of the best I have played on ps4 in a very long time.
  59. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    I haven't been fan of cod games in years, because they have been simply awful, but this one seems to be actually solid. I'm glad things are finally turning around for cod.
  60. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    So far it's been fun game, haven't finished campaign yet, but it's cool. Also tried multiplayer, everything seems to work fine. No game breaking bugs yet. Nice.
  61. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    One of the best cod's in years, i'm not even joking. Single Player has lots of fun missions, multiplayer is very fun, would recommend.
  62. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    What a nice and fun game. I'm almost speechless. I would have never expected this from Call of Duty. I haven't liked any of them since 2013 or so, but i was bored, so i bought Vanguard and i'm honestly surprised. Gunplay feels great, multiplayer is fast and chaotic (in a good way), nice graphics and sound. Played first couple missions of single player as well, seems fun.
  63. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    Way better than expected, i'm not sure if they need to get new marketing team or something, but this game is actually good.
  64. Nov 7, 2021
    10
    One of the better COD games in a long time. Basically no bugs, runs well, good graphics, solid story, fun multiplayer, what else do you want? Obviously Battleflop2042 fanboys are extremely salty because Vanguard is popular, but that's just how it is now. They just have to deal with the fact that COD is overall better game. People are absolutely enjoying COD as of right now on youtube.
  65. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    Just ignore the haters, none of them even bought it, they just saw two clips on youtube and noticed that it has women and to them that means woke. Just ignore these losers and enjoy this amazing game, because good CoD games are rare enough already, this is the good one.
  66. Nov 7, 2021
    2
    It’s a 60 or 70 dollars game with F2P meta rules. Weapons grind are too long. Clearly it made only for slowdown your progression so you spend your free time only in one game and ofc to sell you weapon modules with skins in store
  67. Nov 8, 2021
    9
    Okay, by any means, it's not perfect Call of Duty! That out of the way, it's actually very decent, surprisingly decent even. I feel like marketing team didn't do very good job, because this is way better than all the promo.
  68. Nov 8, 2021
    10
    Seems like some people wanna act like Women didn't exist in 1940s, oh well. Anyway, great game, would highly recommend!
  69. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    This is most hilarious CoD launch of all time lmao. There's CoD hating Youtubers getting nervous breakdowns because people apparently like Vanguard and are having fun. This is just amazing.
  70. Nov 8, 2021
    9
    Vanguard is a great entry in the franchise. First off, the game looks absolutely stunning, no matter what console you play on. The campaign delivers well with varied missions, a standout mission early on was a D-Day mission, which surprisingly doesn't include the beach landings for once. Instead, your character is tasked with dealing with anti-aircraft cannons before dawn, initially takingVanguard is a great entry in the franchise. First off, the game looks absolutely stunning, no matter what console you play on. The campaign delivers well with varied missions, a standout mission early on was a D-Day mission, which surprisingly doesn't include the beach landings for once. Instead, your character is tasked with dealing with anti-aircraft cannons before dawn, initially taking a fall from your plane into enemy lines. The mission is excellently paced. As for the campaign as a whole, it expertly tackles the issues it presents.

    The multiplayer is innovative upon the base of Modern Warfare. The destructive environments, although seeming somewhat gimmicky at first, add new variety to each map in the game, demonstrated best on Decoy featuring with plenty of large destructible walls to move, shoot and throw equipment through. The weapons are as visceral as they were in MW, with the return of the amazing animations and sounds featured previously. The game is well balanced; this is lent to the new and improved gunsmith system now letting the player include 10 attachments on their weapon at once at all times. Any gun can be what you want it to be, but they all have their different strengths and weaknesses. For example I turned the Automaton, which is a rather weak gun compared to the initially unlocked StG 44, into a long range beast without even using the gun for long. Plenty of the weapons are also not common to be seen in the WW2 games, which is great that new and unique weapons that we haven't had our hands on that often are being included now. Operators now have their own individual levels, with skins and items to unlock along the way with additional bonuses for using their favourite weapons: this is a brilliant addition to the regular levelling of COD. The return of skill based matchmaking certainly does make the game less fun for moments, but it doesn't impede too heavily.

    The zombies mode is a brand new fun experience, although it avoids its round-based roots and instead going for a more beginner friendly Outbreak style experience, although on a smaller scale. As well as including many features from Cold War such as field upgrades, now taking the form of your own dark aether entity, upgradable perks make a return, now being upgraded within the game and not permanently which adjusts progression as not a feat of your perks, but your own personal growth as a player slowly improving at the game. A new feature are covenants, which are additional skills your player obtains by getting hearts from objectives, with different effects. You can have 3 at once and they can be upgraded, these are very welcome to the game in addition to perks. Although missing round based maps entirely and the charm of older Zombies modes due to the operator system again, the mode is very enjoyable on its own. There is no main quest on launch until Season 1, or maybe even Season 1 Reloaded. This is very disappointing, as they are a main part of zombies and have been for years, it's baffling that it isn't featured. This should've been a side mode in S1R, really instead of the main mode.

    I have so far enjoyed my time with Vanguard and this may be SHG's best COD title yet, improving upon their previous failures by taking into account what made people enjoy games like Modern Warfare 2019 so much. The lack of round based zombies is disappointing, although where it innovates in its brand new features, and entirely new take on zombies is good, but where the game lacks right now could be improved as the game goes on.
    Expand
  71. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    I have a feeling lots of people will miss out on this game, but it's their loss i guess. Good stuff. But who knows maybe it will gain more popularity when people actually care to try this game.
  72. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Well made Call of Duty over many, many years. Zombies are disappointing, maybe they can make them better with some updates, but everything else is amazing.
  73. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    So typical, bunch of pathetic incels giving 0/10 scores, because there's a woman in a war themed game. Well, just to give quick reality check, from now on, women will be included in every war themed video game ever. This is the future of video games. So either deal with it or find a new hobby. This is one of the best CoD's of all time btw.
  74. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    What a great cod! Amazing, well done single player and even better multiplayer, highly recommending.
  75. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    So typical. Woke Battlefield fans trying to hate cod, but this time they have no ammo left. All they got is buggy multiplayer, while cod delivers solid campaign. It's over for bf.
  76. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Solid cod game over a long time, finally something different. Trailers made it look like trash, but i can already tell this one is going to be popular.
  77. Nov 6, 2021
    8
    Очень увлекательный многопользовательский и сюжетный режим. Хорошая графика, работает плавно.
  78. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    Single player was little low on quality but multiplayer is good. Enjoing every bit of gameplay and did not had any game bugs or problems yet. Multiplayer maps are fun, enemy can span behind you sometimes but I have notice this problem happing way less than coldwar. For me enjoyable experince so far.
  79. Nov 8, 2021
    10
    What else can i say? Finally solid cod game. About time! Multiplayer is fast and chaotic, that's the way i like it, story is nice too.
  80. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    One of the best graphics of 2021, idk what battlefield is doing, because they should learn from Vanguard. This is complete product. 16 very good maps, over 30 guns, single player (battlefield doesn't even have that, what a joke), fun multiplayer, very, very, very few bugs.
  81. Nov 9, 2021
    8
    Battlefield2042 has 22 guns and people are hyping it up like it would be some next coming of shooters lmao. Vanguard - best shooter of 2021.
  82. Nov 9, 2021
    9
    Pretty sure it wins some game of the year awards for cutscenes, maybe even music. Very well done campaign. Fun multiplayer, zombies are trash tho.
  83. Nov 7, 2021
    4
    Ну как же задолбала повестка в играх Вы делаете игру для всего мира и вновь запихиваете туда ценности БЛМ. Сюжет максимально бредовый, абсолютный художественный бред, подвязанный к реальным событиям. В принципе большего от колды и не ждал, лучше бы выпустили игру без сюжета, чем так позориться. Ну и 7 часов на максимальной сложности - это оч коротко как по мнеНу как же задолбала повестка в играх Вы делаете игру для всего мира и вновь запихиваете туда ценности БЛМ. Сюжет максимально бредовый, абсолютный художественный бред, подвязанный к реальным событиям. В принципе большего от колды и не ждал, лучше бы выпустили игру без сюжета, чем так позориться. Ну и 7 часов на максимальной сложности - это оч коротко как по мне
  84. Nov 7, 2021
    1
    Vanguard campaign is the worst amongst COD campaigns. It lacks any variety and does not get player invented in any way. Storyline sucks. Characters are trash. There is so many problems with this game that I had to push myself to complete even 1 or 2 campaign levels.

    Multiplayer feels alright, kinda... Spawns are broken. Guns are imbalanced as always. Players are camping everywhere. Most
    Vanguard campaign is the worst amongst COD campaigns. It lacks any variety and does not get player invented in any way. Storyline sucks. Characters are trash. There is so many problems with this game that I had to push myself to complete even 1 or 2 campaign levels.

    Multiplayer feels alright, kinda... Spawns are broken. Guns are imbalanced as always. Players are camping everywhere. Most of the maps were taken directly from campaign and they make no sense at all. The only maps that will make your game interesting are the one's that does not make you feel like a smallest ant amongst 17 other ants on a colossal sized map taken directly from battlefield.

    Zombies are gone. Cold War at least tried to make something new and unique, but Vanguard ruined everything. It stops being fun around 6-7 rounds. Oh, I must correct myself: 6-7 repeated tasks that absolutely suck. No more round-based gameplay. It seems as developers tried really hard to make players not hooked up to the game at all! Not worth even 20$.
    Expand
  85. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    Call of Duty never disappoints, this is an integrated game that fills with excitement every time I play it. Without a doubt, their graphics and strategies improve day by day.
  86. Nov 9, 2021
    8
    Call of Duty Vanguard is my favorite Call of Duty in a long time. It has great storytelling, and great characters. I wish it was a little longer, but I did play on the easiest setting. I probably had 5-6 hours of gameplay. I only played the single player campaign.

    I played the PC version with everything maxed out at 4K, and my frame rate remained well above 60fps. I played on a
    Call of Duty Vanguard is my favorite Call of Duty in a long time. It has great storytelling, and great characters. I wish it was a little longer, but I did play on the easiest setting. I probably had 5-6 hours of gameplay. I only played the single player campaign.

    I played the PC version with everything maxed out at 4K, and my frame rate remained well above 60fps. I played on a 10700k and RTX 3090. This is a beautiful game with a lot of heart. If you liked the original COD games, you’ll most likely love playing this one.

    Sound is awesome, some of the guns don’t have as much punch as others, but I felt like the sound was well done.

    Overall great game that I plan to run through a few more times.
    Expand
  87. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    Awesome plot, graphic and action. But the actors are in an all new level! Laura Bailey is incredible once again
  88. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    Not perfect, yet very fun and enjoyable cod experience. Would for sure recommend.
  89. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    I mean, sure, zombie mode is meh, but if you are actually OG player, you would know that COD was never meant to be zombie game. Zombies are just fun bonus mode. If you want to play actual zombie games, play Days Gone or Resident Evil 2 Remake. Anyway, other than that, game is solid.
  90. Nov 7, 2021
    8
    Pretty alright. Regular cod but ww2 style. I'm happy with it so far.,........................ ......lots of dots to post this. Just for you.
  91. Nov 8, 2021
    10
    Much better than Cold War, that game got boring VERY fast. It's more like Modern Warfare of a couple years ago which I liked much more. They got rid of mount kills for gun camos which is a nice change, that was always a grind to get. I haven't noticed a lot of run and gun sniping which is real nice, I always rage quit when I get killed by a jumping quickscope sniper. The pace of playMuch better than Cold War, that game got boring VERY fast. It's more like Modern Warfare of a couple years ago which I liked much more. They got rid of mount kills for gun camos which is a nice change, that was always a grind to get. I haven't noticed a lot of run and gun sniping which is real nice, I always rage quit when I get killed by a jumping quickscope sniper. The pace of play varies which is a cool change, one match you're 12 on 12 on an insane pace and the next it's 6 on 6 for more tactical play. The variety keeps it fun in my opinion. Definitely worth picking up this year. Expand
  92. Nov 8, 2021
    10
    Solid single player/amazing multiplayer. CoD Vanguard is possible GOTY 2021, not even joking. So much more content than BF2024, better graphics than BF2024.
  93. Nov 8, 2021
    8
    Better than Cold War? Yes, in pretty much every way possible. This is something else, would recommend!
  94. Nov 8, 2021
    10
    Haven't had so much fun with cod in years, almost gave up on this series. Easily best shooter of 2021.
  95. Tzs
    Nov 8, 2021
    10
    Best shooter of November 2021 is here, what's with the negativity? Halo comes too of course, but that's for December. There's no other shooters (that would be worth playing).
  96. Nov 9, 2021
    9
    Haven't seen so well done cutscenes in a long time, specially in call of duty, what the hell. Good work.
  97. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    If you are zombie player, avoid this. If you like good single player or chaotic multiplayer, this a must buy, if you don't believe me, check some youtube videos.
  98. Nov 9, 2021
    10
    When man is badass in any of these missions then that's completely fine and normal, but when woman (this character is based on real life person btw) happens to be badass in ONE mission, then it's woke? By the way in last mission you play as white Australian guy, but apparently that's not enough, you guys still whine. Woman has one mission, so the whole thing is just trash automatically?When man is badass in any of these missions then that's completely fine and normal, but when woman (this character is based on real life person btw) happens to be badass in ONE mission, then it's woke? By the way in last mission you play as white Australian guy, but apparently that's not enough, you guys still whine. Woman has one mission, so the whole thing is just trash automatically? You guys make absolutely no sense. Expand
  99. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    I personally didn't like cod cold war, it was buggy and boring, but Vanguard actually feels nice. Fun and long single player campaign, beautiful graphics, lots of stuff to do. I'm surprised!!
  100. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Just ignore the haters, they write same bs every year, even if it's not justified. This one is actually good shooter, idk what else to say.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Edge Magazine
    Dec 2, 2021
    60
    This is a treacly origin story for a crew we wouldn't be on seeing again. [Issue#366, p.104]
  2. Nov 24, 2021
    80
    Once reinforcements do come for Zombies, it will be hard to argue against Vanguard as one of the best and most complete Call of Duty titles in the last decade, potentially of the franchise's entire history. This is one of the rare times Call of Duty has seriously dug into its past, learned from it, and delivered a new and improved experience. Vanguard sets a high bar for Call of Duty as the franchise moves into the next generation.
  3. Nov 24, 2021
    73
    The campaign of Call of Duty: Vanguard tries to be heroic, but falls short and becomes predictable due to one-dimensional characters with poor development. Even when the multiplayer has interesting gameplay options, they are nothing to write home about. Finally, the zombie mode adds a lot of entertainment to the experience, but it's not enough for this installment to be a must-buy.