Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Dec 1, 2022
    85
    Flying Wild Hog absolutely nailed it with a damn fun old-fashioned shooter beat’em up that embraces its linear-level design and fluid combat. Sure it doesn’t have that AAA polish and budget, nor is it reinventing the wheel, but it does a fantastic job showing the world that even nostalgic games can be appreciated through a modern lens.
  2. 85
    Evil West is a relic of a bygone era, one that any fan of high-octane action games should experience. An all-round excellently paced main campaign, ridiculously fun combat, and flexible character progression make for one of 2022's best games, and one of the best third-person shooters in recent years.
  3. Nov 21, 2022
    85
    Evil West is one of the most surprising and enjoyable action games of the year, and Flying Wild Hog have an absolute banger on their hands.
  4. Nov 21, 2022
    82
    With a flow of combat that rivals that of the Doom Slayer, Evil West hits its mark when taking on vampires, werewolves, and everything in between, despite finding the rest of the experience a bit lacking.
  5. Nov 25, 2022
    80
    Evil West’s outstanding combat and flashy graphics make it a worthwhile experience that burns fast but bright.
  6. Nov 23, 2022
    80
    Despite a few rough edges in terms of stage design and enemy variety, Evil West is a must-own experience for fans of the character action game genre. With a deep and engaging combat system, a meaty campaign, and a killer sense of style, it’ll leave you glued to your controller until the credits roll. If you’re a fan of Flying Wild Hogs’ brand of gory, in-your-face action, Evil West is a non-stop thrill ride through the freaky frontier that you won’t want to miss.
  7. 80
    Sometimes you want to start a game and have fun right from the get-go. Evil West doesn't try to do anything fancy or tell a big cinematic story. Instead, it gives you various tools to go in, and slaughter vampires like humanity's existence depend on it. With plenty of weapons and fun combat, Evil West provides plenty of non-stop action, although it's let down by a paper-thin story and some issues with visuals and lighting.
  8. Nov 21, 2022
    80
    With the combat being the heart and soul of Evil West, it’s a relief that it’s so engaging and enjoyable throughout. It’s just a shame that a better balance hasn’t been struck between performance and visuals, as neither mode is particularly ideal. It’s still very much worth digging into Evil West, however: if you can look past the blurry visuals at 1080p, there’s a lot of fun to be had in this old-fashioned action-adventure – and you can even bring a friend along for the ride.
  9. Nov 21, 2022
    80
    Evil West doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it doesn't have to. It's fun and a great time, which is all it needs to be. It reminds me of a wonderful B-movie; I watch it because I like to turn my brain off and just enjoy myself. Evil West is just a blast, and worth sinking your teeth into.
  10. Nov 29, 2022
    75
    While I don’t think Evil West will be anyone’s game of the year, it’s rare to get such a pure action game these days. For those looking for pure vampire punching, this is your game.
  11. 75
    Evil West is a fun, frenetic, blood-soaked, testosterone-fueled action game with a lot to like. There’s some old-school charm to it, but at the same time some old-school frustrations. When co-op works, it’s fun, though it is by no means required to enjoy the game on its own merits. When you’re through the holiday’s festivities, and you want something to play that’s a bit mindless while also being entertaining, then Evil West should be on your list of games to play.
  12. Nov 25, 2022
    75
    Evil West’s gameplay focuses around progression. It loves to introduce new elements like weapons, combat and enemies and then proceed to absolutely smash the player with an assortment of everything they have learnt by the end of each chapter. The constant change in how you play the game is overall satisfying, but its rinse and repeat formula of enemies and mini bosses became annoying the more time I spent with it. The location art and narrative is exciting, but I longed to be given more opportunities to explore and be rewarded for my endeavours based on the enticing nature of each area. Evil West is an exciting ride that will test your reflexes and ability to take on swarms of monsters which will either leave you feeling exhilarated, frustrated or like me, somewhere in between.
  13. Nov 21, 2022
    75
    Old school but enjoyable, Evil West offers us a scenario of cowboys and vampires, a very naughty gameplay, and a general design inherited from the games of 2010. A formula that quickly finds its limits in certain aspects of the game, but its combos devastating will satisfy you.
  14. Nov 28, 2022
    70
    Evil West in fun in the moment, but largely forgettable due to the poor writing and level design. While the combat is stellar and intuitive when in the heat of battle, the glue holding those battles together could use some love. With a boring protagonist and stilted dialogue, Evil West feels more low budget than it likely really is. Luckily, there is a solid core here to build upon for the inevitable sequel, and punching dudes with electricity never gets old.
  15. Nov 22, 2022
    70
    The writing is dreadful and much of the game feels like it could have been released 17 years ago. But if you look past some of its shortcomings, there is a decent action game hidden underneath. We just wished the game would have made a little more out of its premise (which is still pretty rad).
  16. Nov 21, 2022
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Nov 21, 2022
    70
    Despite these issues, Evil West will most certainly become a better experience with some fine-tuning and a patch or two. As far as I am concerned, its core formula is an entertaining one, bringing players on a linear ride into the wild west and unleashing the darkness of vampires for good measure. For those seeking a pleasant time of vanquishing evil for 10-15 hours using your fists and guns without the stress of needing to do too much, Evil West should firmly be in your sights as your next call of adventure.
  18. Nov 21, 2022
    70
    Evil West is one of those really enjoyable 7/10s. It's never going to win any awards and it's probably not going to stick long in the memory, but give it a few years and someone, somewhere, will swear to you that it's actually an underappreciated classic. It's a chunky action game that knows how to have fun, both in and out of combat.
  19. Nov 21, 2022
    67
    Even the nice setting with vampires in the Wild West can hardly save anything: The hectic gameplay with annoying opponent spam, which no combat system can cope with, is unimaginative and lacks a real spark of charm.
  20. Nov 27, 2022
    60
    Evil West has a lot of things going for it—the designs are fascinating, the lore excellent, and the gameplay can be massively fun on hard. But it also has some downfalls—the levels feel just a bit too linear, and the main narrative takes a while to really jump into, and even then, it struggles with fluid cut scenes and complexity. While other games have been able to get away with a basic narrative because of their fantastic action, Evil West isn’t quite there.
  21. Nov 23, 2022
    60
    Evil West isn't a hugely complex game but it's fun enough to recapture both the nostalgia and fun of the early '00s. Though its story and performance can dip, its gameplay doesn't.
  22. Nov 24, 2022
    50
    An enjoyable combat system is left to flounder in an otherwise unambitious ode to Xbox 360 era shooters, that quickly gets too repetitive to enjoy.
  23. Nov 22, 2022
    40
    There's fun to be had in Evil West but there are far too many chinks in this armor to make it worthy of wearing into the field. 
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 21, 2022
    For me, Evil West is the kind of game I miss these days. I’ll fully admit, I love games like Destiny and Fortnite, games that never end and are filled with battle passes, crafting, loot, etc. Those games can provide hours of fun and are great to play while chilling with friends or listening to a podcast. But I don’t want everything to be a complex, all-encompassing, time-monopolizing social experience that continues to grow and evolve as time goes on. And Evil West is a wonderful example of the kind of games I want more of moving forward. Not everything needs an endgame or a crafting table. Sometimes, I just want to move forward, hear some bad banter and punch some monsters in the face for a few hours. And Evil West gave me exactly that. No more. No less.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 78
  2. Negative: 15 out of 78
  1. Nov 24, 2022
    0
    wtf are these graphics. If someone told me the gameplay I saw was from a ps2 I would have actually believed them. THIS IS NOT A PS5 GAME. alsowtf are these graphics. If someone told me the gameplay I saw was from a ps2 I would have actually believed them. THIS IS NOT A PS5 GAME. also whats going on with the camera. where they blindfolded when making that lazy ass camera Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2022
    10
    Frenetismo, combos, recortadas, revólveres, vísceras, hordas, jefes.. Un juego que se centra en ofrecer acción salvaje al más puro estiloFrenetismo, combos, recortadas, revólveres, vísceras, hordas, jefes.. Un juego que se centra en ofrecer acción salvaje al más puro estilo arcade, si te va ese rollo..te va a encantar Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2022
    0
    it couldve been better it should be a 6/10 game tbh thats what it is gameplay and graphics are not that great and the story is lacking but iit couldve been better it should be a 6/10 game tbh thats what it is gameplay and graphics are not that great and the story is lacking but i like what they were going for Full Review »