Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 85
    Easily the best entry in the long-running series to date, though Farming Simulator 22 might not have a picture perfect PS5 debut, it does augment the series already robust strategic and micro-management fundamentals with a number of new additions and features that make it an erstwhile choice for series veterans. Though newcomers will likely struggle with the tutorial and learning curve, Farming Simulator 22 soon becomes an engaging time sink that not only taxes the brain duly, but helps to provide a modicum of insight into the sheer amount of hard graft that goes into one of the most challenging occupations in the world.
  2. Nov 22, 2021
    81
    At its core, Farming Simulator 22 remains mostly the same. But, if you want, production chains and seasons expand depth and complexity. But the main reason, why this game is the best part of the series so far, is the technical progression that makes it proverbially from an ugly duckling to pleasant swan.
  3. Nov 30, 2021
    80
    Farming Simulator 22 represents the most complete embodiment of the spirit of the series signed by Giants Software. An uncompromising simulation experience, which makes its relaxed rhythms and the vast range of contents its proud distinctive element.
  4. Nov 29, 2021
    76
    Players of earlier Farming Simulator games will notice and appreciate a lot changes and improvements in the new release. Everything looks a lot better, there are new crops, and the new production chain mechanic and changing seasons really mix things up. New players may be flummoxed by the tutorial, as well as the deep, open-ended gameplay. Farming Simulator 22 has some rough patches, but there’s a lot of fun to harvest as well.
  5. Nov 22, 2021
    76
    Farming Simulator 22 re-proposes the formula that made the Giants Software series famous, with all its strengths and weaknesses. The new features (new crops, cross-platform multiplayer, new build mode, seasonal cycles) are interesting, but the frequent graphical glitches should be addressed.
  6. Nov 30, 2021
    75
    Farming Simulator 22 is the best installment of the series, but it's not perfect. Some issues could have been easily avoided, while others are clearly the results of choices. But we can be sure that mods will fix many things soon. Then the veterans of the series will love it.
  7. Nov 28, 2021
    75
    While Farming Simulator 22 will undoubtedly appeal to fans of the series, newcomers may feel overwhelmed by the possibilities. However, it would be a shame to miss this episode since it corrects most of the faults of the previous part. Vehicle modeling is always more precise and the arrival of the seasons or even production lines is a real plus. Now it's up to you to see if you are ready to immerse yourself in this experience, which is as complete as it is difficult to master.
  8. Dec 3, 2021
    70
    Despite all its technical limitations, there is something undeniably satisfactory in Farming Simulator 22. The stress of managing crops, inconsistent workers and visual glitches is mitigated by the pleasant pauses to watch the sunset, as we gazer upon a 2 hectar terrain that we sowed and are ready to harvest.
  9. Nov 22, 2021
    70
    Farming Simulator 22 massively expands upon the management aspect of past games, giving greater importance to your crops once you’ve harvested them. Building supply chains is immensely rewarding, even if it can take what feels like an eternity to get your business up and running the way you want to. Interesting new crops, like grapes and olives, add gameplay variety to the tried and tested loop, while an abundance of licensed machinery gives you a wealth of vehicles and tools to work with. It’s the best entry in Giants Software’s series yet, but like a popular British yeast extract, you’ll either love it or hate it.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Dec 7, 2021
    10
    This game is the surprise of 2021 for me.

    After being seriously let down by Battlefield and several other AAA titles this year, I thought
    This game is the surprise of 2021 for me.

    After being seriously let down by Battlefield and several other AAA titles this year, I thought I'd finally give this series a try. And while the game isn't perfect, it deserves a perfect score in my opinion here's why:

    -Amazing graphical detail, considering this is a sim game. I would put the machinery models up there with games like Flight Simulator and Gran Turismo. You can see how much work the artists put into these. I don't know a lot about farming equipment but now I have a new appreciation for it.

    -Extremely flexible gameplay settings. This allows you to basically play anything from creative/easy mode, to a fully hardcore experience. One of those games where it seems there's no wrong way to play it.

    -This game has elements of Stardew Valley and Cities Skylines for me. Management is fun, gameplay is satisfying, and it seems like an avalanche of content (especially when you have in-game cash)

    -I've only played on one map so far, but I've checked out all 3 and they are all unique and worth starting a farm on.

    Here are some cons:

    -The game only holds your hand for about 20 minutes. After that you have to figure stuff out (Youtube videos helped me). Here's a tip though...do contracts (avoid harvest contracts, they're bugged) and borrow the equipment. This way, you learn what everything does. It's a trial by fire, but a lot of sim games are.

    -Draw distances for crops are kind weak, especially for PS5. Wish the game would prioritize rendering the crops on the field im working on, so I can see my progress better.

    Overall, this game is way more polished and fun than I was expecting. Highly recommend to anyone who likes Train Sim World, Cities Skylines, Stardew Valley, No Man's Sky, etc
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2021
    9
    Der Beste Landwirtschafts Simulator den es je gab und die Produktionen heben das Erlebnis deutlich
  3. Nov 25, 2021
    8
    I’ve played FS19 fair bit so I think I’m eligible to compare so here are my pros and cons, easier to read..

    Pros: - Improved graphics -
    I’ve played FS19 fair bit so I think I’m eligible to compare so here are my pros and cons, easier to read..

    Pros:
    - Improved graphics
    - Machines sound much better
    - Animal and human animations improved
    - Textures are better
    - Seasons and production chains are great.
    - Nice to be able to customise the character.

    Cons:
    - No terrain physics which is a big loss for me. It would make a big difference on how you play. Imagine muddy when rainy and you get stuck etc. ( other farming game managed to do that just fine.)
    - Still you can’t properly lift pallets with front loader forks, easier with a Forklift though.
    - Vehicle turn so quick when you are at a certain speed.
    - No third person view

    Overall I’m happy, if this is a sim, you should be able to get terrain physics. Maybe they’ll do that in Season Pass (in pack 2 description says ‘This will drive you crazy! ) I will sure get crazy if I stuck in the mud!
    Full Review »