Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 10, 2021
    100
    Even with that gripe, Lost in Random just does so much right that it doesn't even really matter. I wouldn't trade my experience in the game for anything, and I'd be willing to get lost in the world of Random all-over gain. If you're on the fence, trust me, just roll the dice and jump on in, because you won't regret it.
  2. Sep 10, 2021
    90
    Lost in Random is clearly a Zoink! game, though you can't compare it to other games from the studio. The game has its own style and gameplay and both of them are truly wonderful. If you like card games, dice games, or are simply addicted to adventuring this is the game for you. The game feels like a Tim Burton movie. Funny, but creepy and stylish at the same time. Lost in Random is truly compelling with an original story and once you start, you can't stop playing.
  3. Oct 12, 2021
    86
    The story grabs you immediately and maintains a steady drip-feeding of excitement throughout its playtime and the game is just overall a refined, lovingly crafted adventure that will appeal to even those who are generally turned off by “card battle” games, as the content and gameplay here goes much deeper than that.
  4. Sep 20, 2021
    85
    It doesn’t seem random that Lost in Random is a great game. The developers put a lot of thought into crafting a fantastic gaming experience alongside a grim storybook adventure. It all works incredibly well with only a few dips of quality that will surely be fixed over time. I enjoyed this experience thoroughly as it delivers on its action-adventure and haphazard gameplay systems.
  5. 85
    Full of character and charm, Lost in Random is a witty and enjoyable tale that at times, mimics our own. It's eerily beautiful, well made and fans of board games will fall in love with it. The combat system is rewarding and has just enough nuance to keep it interesting until the end. So roll your dice and take a chance on Lost in Random. It is a unique game amongst its current peers.
  6. Sep 10, 2021
    85
    Gothic fairytale stylings and unique mish-mash of systems come together into yet another great example of Zoink's boundless creativity and game design chops. Fans of Burton-esque worlds and tabletop tropes would do well to get Lost in Random.
  7. Sep 10, 2021
    85
    From the artistic direction to the narration, passing through the combat system, Lost in Random stages a suggestive contrast between order and chaos. A modern dark fairy tale that owes much of its aesthetic to the imagery of Nightmare Before Christmas and Coraline, Lost in Random will undoubtedly conquer lovers of Tim Burton's works. Capable of entertaining, amusing, but also disturbing, the Indie by Zoink Games is absolutely recommended to all players looking for a good Action Adventure full of ideas and original solutions.
  8. Sep 10, 2021
    83
    This shadowy adventure will get you in the mood for Halloween all year around with its atmospheric design, creative combat system, and well-crafted story.
  9. PLAY
    Oct 17, 2021
    80
    Lost In Random’s unique and compelling qualities go deeper than the wonderful art design. Trust us, roll the dice on a purchase, and you will not be disappointed. [Issue#7, p.84]
  10. Oct 4, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random feels just like a hand full of wonderful cards – and then some of them don’t work the way you’d expect. The art style is a triumph, as are the characters and the story setting. This would be a proper jewel - if only it wasn’t for the combat system which is, to put it plainly, just too random.
  11. Sep 14, 2021
    80
    Lost In Random is a delightful, sprawling action adventure set in a dark but fun Tim Burton-esque universe. Its combat doesn't always hold up but exploring its worlds absolutely does.
  12. 80
    Lost in Random is a magical adventure, and though its dice and card-based combat system never achieves a significant depth at which it could, its still a worthwhile journey. Zoink’s strength lies in building wonderous, mysterious, and frankly just weird characters and worlds. Hand-in-hand with Even and Dicey, you won’t be disappointed at getting lost in Random.
  13. Sep 13, 2021
    80
    A dark and comical action adventure with excellent combat mechanics, sharp writing, and a memorable cast of characters.
  14. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Thanks to its absolutely sublime art style, excellent voice acting and its dark, fairytale-like narrative, Lost in Random is a wonderful adventure that will have you gripped. It’s a shame there’s no lip syncing to really finish off the visuals, and combat can be a little frustrating at times, but in the grand scheme of things these are miniscule issues. There’s so much originality and charm here that it’s hard not to fall in love with the world of Random.
  15. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random is easily one of the more unique games I’ve played recently. Offering an entertaining fusion of deck-builders and real-time combat, Zoink’s done well in realising their vision. Thanks to chance-based combat, lack of enemy variety and some long-winded dialogue with NPCs, it's not perfect, but ultimately, the positives outweigh these points. With some strong combat customisation, a captivating story and excellent art style, Lost in Random comes highly recommended.
  16. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random enjoys an exquisite universe, between an artistic direction reminiscent of the golden age of stop motion and a particularly rich narration. Add to that combat mechanics cleverly built and well executed despite some redundancies and some under-exploited ideas. But in the end, Zoink offers us a fascinating macabre tale that never runs out of steam over time and is worth browsing.
  17. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random is set in a masterfully crafted world which tells a gothic fairy tale-like story that has plenty of warmth despite its dark hue. With beautiful writing and a touching story, it does a great job at making you really care about what happens to Even, as well as everyone she meets. It also has a truly unique battle system that offers loads of fun in your quest to create a perfect deck. This is a delight to play from beginning to end.
  18. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Despite some clunky movement, Lost in Random features smart combat and a world filled with wonder, mystery, and excitement.
  19. Sep 23, 2021
    79
    Even with its faults, there's simply no denying just how special of a game Lost in Random is. From its awe-inspiring world to its ingenious gameplay, there's a lot to love in this incredible and memorable albeit often-frustrating adventure.
  20. Sep 15, 2021
    77
    The moody Tim Burton look, the innovative combat system and the exceptional characters can't fully compensate for the lack of variety.
  21. Oct 14, 2021
    75
    Lost in Random is a magical experience in several areas. The story, presentation, and world are a joy to experience from start to finish, with a few minor exceptions. On the other hand, the combat is initially refreshing but is hindered by the length of encounters and a lack of depth in its mechanics, so later encounters feel like a frustrating chore. It's a fun action-adventure in short bursts, and Lost in Random deserves much more attention than it has received.
  22. Sep 27, 2021
    75
    As our minds turn toward more haunted holidays, it’s a good time to get lost in Random. Even’s commitment to her quest is enough to carry you through an awkwardly told story, and despite some parts of combat that feel too dependent on luck, the card-dice fights are truly unique. The pace of the journey, from drawn-out conversations to endings that cut you off from the best parts, befoul what is otherwise a fun world to explore.
  23. Sep 10, 2021
    75
    Interesting and atmospheric, that’s Lost in Random in a nutshell. The unique combat system is also very much worth mentioning. The lack of variety and a number of technical issues do bring the experience down a bit.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 24, 2021
    When I finished Lost in Random, I wanted to talk about it. I wanted to not just praise it, but really dig into the world and its combat system. It’s that kind of game that makes you wish you had a few people around you who also played it and who want to spend a few hours just going on and on about it. Sure, I wish there were bigger decks in the game, but that’s less a complaint and more an admittance that I just wanted more of Lost in Random.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
  1. Sep 12, 2021
    10
    I love the vibe of this game, it feels like I'm playing a Tim Burton movie. Also, people complaining about localization ... this game is anI love the vibe of this game, it feels like I'm playing a Tim Burton movie. Also, people complaining about localization ... this game is an indie game made by a smaller studio from Sweden with 25 employees. Don't be such crybabies. You can't play every game in existence, so suck it up. There are so many japan-only games I haven't played and I don't go around review bombing them. Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2021
    8
    Outstanding game.
    + unique and interesting Tim Burton styled world
    + very unique and fun gameplay. I really enjoyed all board games. Battle
    Outstanding game.
    + unique and interesting Tim Burton styled world
    + very unique and fun gameplay. I really enjoyed all board games. Battle system is just fun and challenging at times, but definitely not for kids
    + awesome soundtrack
    + Story and characters are just great. I really felt involved into the story and wanted to save Odd, help to stop a war in 3rd world etc.

    - Only 2nd and 3rd world were nicely done. Others felt really bland
    - NPC design is reused too much. Same fish, bubaduba, long armslegs, rat guy everywhere
    - not enough colors here and there so exploring feels boring at times
    - how come Royam boss is harder than final boss? In fact he's the hardest challenge in the game. Like really?
    - sometimes it's really boring to listen to all optional dialogues, they don't give any interesting intel. Should've got rid of some
    - puzzles are too easy
    - no chapter selection. Guys I wanted to platinum your game, but after credits you don't have access to card shop, etc. At least give me check point before final bosses
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 12, 2021
    9
    The game is incredible and one of my most waited games this year, gameplay extremely fun,lore and characters big and small superThe game is incredible and one of my most waited games this year, gameplay extremely fun,lore and characters big and small super interesting,for me the only problems in it is the lack of replayability after you finish like been able to go back to visit any of the places we already went and the lack of costumesation for even, beyond that the game is perfect Full Review »