Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 1, 2016
    95
    Downwell is pretty much the best mobile game on the go for the Vita. If the iOS controls were better, I wouldn't have felt the need to make the platform jump. But it plays so well on the Vita, it's practically perfect.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jul 16, 2016
    90
    One of the best high-score chasing concepts ever hosted on Playstation. [Aug 2016, p.88]
  3. May 30, 2016
    90
    Downwell proves that a simple and effective gameplay hook is all that is needed to craft an unforgettably brilliant title. You will lose hours and hours in these dank caverns as you chase high scores and try to do the next run just a little bit better than the last.
  4. 90
    Downwell is a brilliant and downright addictive addition to the PlayStation Vita's library. It's one of the best fits for the handheld, and is a pure joy to play in short bursts.
  5. May 27, 2016
    70
    A weird hybrid of downward-scrolling shoot 'em up and platformer, Downwell is a challenging, but highly addictive arcade game that's a great test of your concentration and reflexes. Its gameplay does lack variety, but when played in short bursts, it's a lot of fun.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    This is probably the best game I have played since i discovered Spelunky, a couple of years ago. Just WOW!
    I just unlocked RGB mode. I wonder
    This is probably the best game I have played since i discovered Spelunky, a couple of years ago. Just WOW!
    I just unlocked RGB mode. I wonder how much we can unlock? :D

    Downwell is for the PRO gamer :D
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 23, 2017
    9
    I got this as a free monthly game on PSN. I've seen shots from it before, and thought it looked like an ugly dull game. How wrong was I! II got this as a free monthly game on PSN. I've seen shots from it before, and thought it looked like an ugly dull game. How wrong was I! I think it's the single game on PS Vita that I've sunk the most hours into. It's so simple, you're just a little chap falling down a well, shooting bullets out of your feet, trying to get as far as you can. But it's so well balanced, so addictive! Just one more go, just one more go. The makers of this game really understand the joy of exploration, and upgrading, all within a unique permadeath situation. Brilliant! Full Review »
  3. Jul 13, 2016
    10
    One of the best games i EVER played. So addicting!! Seriously, why bother with making overhyped AAA games like Watch Dogs or other over 100One of the best games i EVER played. So addicting!! Seriously, why bother with making overhyped AAA games like Watch Dogs or other over 100 milion $ budget BORING TO DEATH games with superb graphics when pack of guys can manage to make game that You just cant put down because of that ok, one more go (40th or so). Get it its so cheap, besides Devolver always deliver - best developer out there :D Full Review »