User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 117
  2. Negative: 19 out of 117
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    Fun, Silly, and overall addictive a solid remake of the original. combat system was greatly improved and the remake system adds some great new features. It is also fun to play a mini game of find the reference with the games many references and allusions to other games, developers, and consoles.
  2. Jan 1, 2016
    9
    This one really surprised me, i thought it was gonna be all fanservice (which there is), and stupid (which it is), but handles it in a way, i don't feel ashamed when playing it :P. The thing that makes it worth, is the battle system and the fact that is hard (if you just wanna do the main line missions), you just can't beat some bosses as they come.

    Oh, and FYI, i didn't play the
    This one really surprised me, i thought it was gonna be all fanservice (which there is), and stupid (which it is), but handles it in a way, i don't feel ashamed when playing it :P. The thing that makes it worth, is the battle system and the fact that is hard (if you just wanna do the main line missions), you just can't beat some bosses as they come.

    Oh, and FYI, i didn't play the original, so the series is new to me.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    Let's immediately stress that Hyperdimension Neptune ReBirth1 (Re1) has cut all ties with the original title (almost). Even though it borrows a lot from previous episodes (battle system, enemies, musics, 2D models), Re1 definitely feels brand new. All the technical aspects have been adapted to fit to Vita's power, but above all, the game has been re-written and re-designed. While keepingLet's immediately stress that Hyperdimension Neptune ReBirth1 (Re1) has cut all ties with the original title (almost). Even though it borrows a lot from previous episodes (battle system, enemies, musics, 2D models), Re1 definitely feels brand new. All the technical aspects have been adapted to fit to Vita's power, but above all, the game has been re-written and re-designed. While keeping the broad outline of the original, the story becomes more modern and richer : it has a better pace but maintains its terrific sense of humor, its hilarious parodies (the game starts with Luigi's double saying «at long last my time has come!»), and welcomes more characters more progressively. Those characters enrich Re1 which ends up more dense and fresher than any past episode.

    Remember the hassle to obtain Noire, Blanc and Vert at the end of the first game? That's no longer the case : Noire joins pretty quickly, Vert and Blanc 1 or 2 chapters after. The game also has the wonderful idea to make the transition with Mk2 by the «birth» of Nepgear, Uni, Ram & Rom. NPCs such as Financier and Cyan have now a character design of their own, which makes the narration a lot nicer, like a bunch of other design choices that it would be too long and useless to discuss here. But that's not all! Re1 includes every DLC character from Hyperdimension Neptune Victory, which makes a total of 16 playable characters in game (+ Histoire, Plutia and Peashy in DLC).

    Technically speaking, this remake transposes with some refinements the graphics of the latest PS3 Neptunia. True, Neptunia games have never represented technical prowess... but the referential has changed! We are now on the handheld market and Re1 is beyond doubt one of the most beautiful portable RPGs ever made! Far from the derelict 3D engines used on 3DS, here characters are incredibly detailed and the game goes as far as animating the mouth of the girls when they speak! Backgrounds are still rather simple but the 3D is neat. Movements suffer from drops time to time but remain on par with home console versions. Believe me it's quite a sight on the OLED screen.

    Gameplay-wise, it's still Mk2's system with tougher difficulty : you will bite the dust, at least in the first half. But the good people of Felistella have you covered. You will have the possibility to lower the enemies' level if you're stuck, or even reinforce them if you're yawning during battles. It's part of the «memory» system introduced in this remake. The Flag/Scouts system is gone : now, the game grants you a amount of «memory» that you are free to use for the following : discover new dungeons, modify enemies, modify drop items, item creation, gameplay tweaks (including difficulty).

    The fighting in itself knows little change. The tactical-like turn-based system with free moving around the field is still on the agenda. That said, the higher difficulty and the different styles of the various characters make combat more fun, strategic and varied than ever. You really have to weight your decision in managing heal, magic, relay or Ex-Drive. Note that you'll have again a your disposal the creation of CDs (accessories) to boost your characters in battle.

    The only drawback I can think of is that the fan-service level has been reduced to a bare minimum : artworks, inherited from the original for most part, aren't risqué in any way and too few new ones were made for the occasion. Except this, ReBirth1 is exactly the concentrate of humor, beauty and variety the fans have been dreaming to hold in their hand.
    Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2015
    7
    Campy, grindy and full of fan service, Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 is a good time if you take the game as seriously as it takes itself.

    Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 (HDNR;B1) is the remake to the 2010 Playstation 3 game Hyperdimension Neptunia. The first thing you'll note upon starting a new game is that the game doesn't take itself too seriously: the plot revolves around
    Campy, grindy and full of fan service, Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 is a good time if you take the game as seriously as it takes itself.

    Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 (HDNR;B1) is the remake to the 2010 Playstation 3 game Hyperdimension Neptunia. The first thing you'll note upon starting a new game is that the game doesn't take itself too seriously: the plot revolves around four goddesses representing different game companies attempting to best one another in a never-ending conflict known as the Console War. Each of the four nations of the world, Gamindustri, are named after game consoles and most of their citizens are personified video game developers and publishers. The game's absurdity continues in this fashion, and is chock full of Internet memes, video game references and fourth-wall breaking. Further adding to the game's campiness are regular doses of fan service. While nothing too extreme, there are quite a few panty shots and most, if not every, playable character has a swimsuit costume to unlock.

    Getting into the game play of HDNR;B1: combat is solid but can get repetitive, especially with the mandatory grinding the game forces on you. While every character has special moves that draw from their respective SP pool, the main attraction is the combo system implemented for your "standard" attacks: after an initial strike, you choose from rush, power or break attacks up to three times per turn and in any combination. Rush attacks hit multiple times and fill you EXE. gage (or super meter) faster than the others, power attacks do the most damage as possible while break attacks deal heavy damage to an enemies guard. Breaking an enemy's guard will increase the damage they take until their guard partially refills on their next turn. This system keeps the player interested in combat, alleviating a common problem in most JRPGs where the player simply hammers X until they've won. In addition, your character can perform a combo finisher once certain segments of the EXE. gage are filled (this does not deplete the gage) and use EXE. Drives that are the game's super moves, dealing massive damage to enemies in its radius at the cost of some of the EXE. gage.

    Almost as frequent as the combat is the game's dialogue segments. It's tempting to call this game part visual novel due to its lengthy and frequent conversations, however this also brings up another major part of the game: voice acting. Around half of the conversations are voiced, and in this game that means hours of voiced dialogue. Character voices are a bit hit and miss; some characters' voices work well, while others are kind of iffy (get it? 'cause one of the characters is named...heh...). The main character's voice in particular always sounds sarcastic which is odd given that she's supposed to be the clueless, ditzy heroine. Another oddity is Noire, whose voice sounds like it was recorded with a different quality than the rest of the cast.

    As previously mentioned, the game forces some mandatory grinding. This is because the game's bosses are gigantic difficulty spikes, often throwing two bosses at you back to back with no time to heal or save in between. Because of this, you'd have to grind out around five levels per dungeon in order to stand a chance during the boss fight(s). During my playthrough, I found a dungeon with fairly easy enemies that gave outrageous amounts of experience (appropriately called Whales) and ground on them while watching television. This made it so I could breeze through most of the game's chapters, but still took hours of my time to do. However HDNR;B1 is not without mercy and you can unlock a way to make the game easier (or harder if you're a masochist) and gain more experience from fights fairly early in the game, easing up on both the brutal boss fights and chore of grinding somewhat.

    Aside from the major issues regarding the game, its graphics are standard for the Vita (that is to say they're above average among the rest of the handheld market), load times were short and, while I did experience slow down twice in my playthrough, the game runs smoothly. Something the game lacks is replay value: there are multiple endings, however the point where those endings branch is late enough in the game that one can simply make multiple saves and progress towards each ending on each slot rather than replay the whole game.

    In short, Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 is fun as long as you're not looking for a deep or engrossing title. While its repetitive grinding, arduous boss fights and lack of replay value may bog it down, if you can enjoy the campy story, engaging battle system and (mostly) well done voice acting this game is well worth your time and money.
    Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2015
    4
    The combat system is nothing new or impressive and the storyline is annoying SUPAH KAWAII animu crap. I am a nerd and enjoy me some Japanese culture, but the super cutesy stuff annoys the hell out of me and that is what the game is.
  6. Jan 7, 2015
    8
    I f your looking for a serious RPG then go bark up another tree. If your looking for an experience in laughs, head shaking and fanservice that is so shameless it even declares its intent as fanservice in the game dialogue then look no further.

    This game is essentialy designed with a very serious anti piracy message as its background but its anything but serious. As for the meat of
    I f your looking for a serious RPG then go bark up another tree. If your looking for an experience in laughs, head shaking and fanservice that is so shameless it even declares its intent as fanservice in the game dialogue then look no further.

    This game is essentialy designed with a very serious anti piracy message as its background but its anything but serious.

    As for the meat of the game, the battle system is great, the graphics are nice and the translation is near flawless.

    negatives include lack of enemy variation, recycled maps and no real item compendium system (you will understand why when you start trying to complete the bigger plans)

    overall recomended
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    This game is easily the best in the series (so far).

    They basically took the outline of the original game's story, combined it with the fantastic game engine from Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory, and vastly improved the framerate. They also added a new system that lets to modify aspects of the game and unlock new locations, enemies, and abilities! However, the game is much more
    This game is easily the best in the series (so far).

    They basically took the outline of the original game's story, combined it with the fantastic game engine from Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory, and vastly improved the framerate.

    They also added a new system that lets to modify aspects of the game and unlock new locations, enemies, and abilities!

    However, the game is much more difficult this time around, so you will definitely need to grind quite a bit. Also, the fanservice is kept to a minimum with this installment.

    With all that said, this is definitely my favorite Hyperdimension Neptunia game so far, and possibly one of the most beautiful PS Vita games on the market (and the improved framerate is definitely a plus)!
    Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2014
    7
    This is a really fun and challenging game. The battle system is different from your usual JRPG, though it is a bit too simplistic.
    The characters are cute and entertaining and I applaud the writing for not harping on the main character's amnesia.
    However; the presentation is horrible. Dungeons and music are continually re-used, thus dampening what could have been really fun. The monster
    This is a really fun and challenging game. The battle system is different from your usual JRPG, though it is a bit too simplistic.
    The characters are cute and entertaining and I applaud the writing for not harping on the main character's amnesia.
    However; the presentation is horrible. Dungeons and music are continually re-used, thus dampening what could have been really fun. The monster designs are quirky and interesting, but for some reason the dungeon environments are run-of-the-mill and just don't fit at all.
    Expand
  9. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    First the good stuff. Combat can be really strategic. Lot of things to do and dungeons to explore. The story is very interesting. the remake system (for me not as good) brings a lot more to a to dungeons and gives more re playability. Now the bad things. combat can feel a little underwhelming. not enough weapons and some accessories will make you weaker so you ether have to choose betweenFirst the good stuff. Combat can be really strategic. Lot of things to do and dungeons to explore. The story is very interesting. the remake system (for me not as good) brings a lot more to a to dungeons and gives more re playability. Now the bad things. combat can feel a little underwhelming. not enough weapons and some accessories will make you weaker so you ether have to choose between looks or better stats and you need good stats cause this game can be hard I'm talking shin megami tensei hard. My final conclusion is that it's a great game and if you have a play station vita and you like anime and manga then you should check it out. Expand
  10. Feb 9, 2015
    9
    Graphics: Honestly the 3D models in this game don't really look to impressive but that is to be expected since it is a remake of a 2010 game (though if we are being honest they were just kinda standard then) and the environments are kinda but the combat looks really cool and the special moves are a delight.The 2-D art is also very appealing to the eye especially the designs of ourGraphics: Honestly the 3D models in this game don't really look to impressive but that is to be expected since it is a remake of a 2010 game (though if we are being honest they were just kinda standard then) and the environments are kinda but the combat looks really cool and the special moves are a delight.The 2-D art is also very appealing to the eye especially the designs of our characters which on occasion yes can be very fanservicey

    Story/Characters: The story and characters in this game are both hilarious and charming. Neptune, her friends, her enemies, and yes even the world they live in all reference something in the real world gaming industry (hints the name of the world gamindustri) and the game is packed full of references that range from easy to get to things that only seasoned gamers will even get. That aside though the story while being mostly nonsense is still engaging enough to make you want to see it through to the end. The characters with the exception of maybe some of the side characters are all really entertaining to watch interact with eachother wether there breaking the fourth wall, getting on each others nerves in funny ways, or having a legitimately heartwarming moment these characters are just a joy. That being said much like there designs some of their personalities and interaction do have a lot of fanservice but if that doesn't bother you it won't be a big deal.

    Game Play: This game plays a lot more like Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory instead of the original game its based on (at least that's what I have heard I have never played the first game) and that is a great thing because the Victory was a great game. The combat is a sort of weird combination of turn based games like Final Fantasy and more action based games like Tales of Xillia, you can move freely around the arena during your turn and everyone including your enemies has a limited attack range. There is also a lot of exploring different maps which is honestly kind of mediocre but its functional, in these worlds you can find items which can range from just simple ingredients for blueprints for weapons and such to health items.The enemies are actually visible 3-d models on the meaning that except for boss fights or other scripted battles you can avoid combat entirely on these maps. That is not recommended though otherwise you will be destroyed by some of these very challenging bosses especially towards the end which unfortunately require a ton of mandatory grinding which can be a bit annoying but didn't bother me all that much since aside from that level progression was mostly fair through out most of the game.

    Verdict: This game while not perfect is definitely a fantastic JRPG and possibly one of my personal favorites. If you don't mind a lot of fan service, some what dated graphics, and a bit of mandatory grinding towards the end of the game then I highly recommend adding this game to your Vita library especially if your a big fan of JRPGs like I am. The world and characters are a ton of fun and the game play is even more fun.
    Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2016
    1
    terrible game only good characters are iris heart, vert, and megurine luka. still a terrible anime game only people who play it are 15 year old edgelords and 50 year old neckbeard basement dwellers
  12. May 3, 2017
    7
    As someone who played the original version of hyperdimension neptunia - yes, the ps3 version which is considered one of the worst rpgs on the ps3 - this is definitely a welcome remake of the original with basically everything being improved: combat is the same from second onward (minus the AP bar), controls are better, story is linear but more steady...and the game is harder too.As someone who played the original version of hyperdimension neptunia - yes, the ps3 version which is considered one of the worst rpgs on the ps3 - this is definitely a welcome remake of the original with basically everything being improved: combat is the same from second onward (minus the AP bar), controls are better, story is linear but more steady...and the game is harder too.

    However, despite loving this game a lot, I have some big gripes with it that really turns me off. The main gimmick of this remake is the...remake system, which is basically the crafting system that allows you to craft dungeons, weapons, items and etc. The system isn't too bad but what really ruins it, is a total lack of item list that could help you track it, resolving in using internet most of the time: do you need a magical stone? I'll have to look the enemy list. No enemy currently drops it? Then you need to explore each dungeon twice because of the harvest shift plan that basically changes the layout of the items. It would've been so easy, if they added an item list but alas it's all about rng and "net surfing" in order to find your items.

    Another small issue is how the game is unstable (my version is the VITA oen). Surely better than the ps3 version but I constantly have lagging issues even when there's not much happening, without mentioning when exe skill or super skills are used. Also the game is way harder: even when I'm levelled properly and I got the best armor or weapon available, some enemies can still do quite a lot of damage and unfortunately spells cost a lot of sp to use. Get ready to stock items!

    And last but not least, the game heavily recycles itself ad nauseam it's unbelievable: a lot of the dungeons are literally the same, maybe slightly bigger or with different enemies, and EVEN the enemies are often recycled! I think they went with quantity over quality because a lot of dungeons are literally the same, not even mirrored, and they don't look so great. Unfortunately because of a lack of item list, you'll be forced to check all of them anyway and unlock every dungeon for managing to obtain the items required for most of your content (including recruiting the candidates). This is quite a big issue and while the game is "cheap" than most jrpgs, I expected anything but this.

    In all honesty, though this game is just pretty good despite the flaws, as it fixes everything that the original did (translation: EVERYTHING) and makes it a more enjoyable game to play. Neptunia games aren't masterpieces but they're generally fun games, and this one isn't any less fun that that.

    However if you dislike fanservice, all-girl cast, anime tropes and all that stuff, you might just avoid it entirely.
    Expand
  13. Aug 5, 2015
    8
    When I played this game I felt a freshness that I did not get from any other game. Let's start with the gameplay, It's different from a ton of other games. in this game you move up to an enemy and chose which attack you will do from break, strong, and rush. you can attack more than one enemy and some weapons have a bigger radius. This is very different from other jrpg's where you justWhen I played this game I felt a freshness that I did not get from any other game. Let's start with the gameplay, It's different from a ton of other games. in this game you move up to an enemy and chose which attack you will do from break, strong, and rush. you can attack more than one enemy and some weapons have a bigger radius. This is very different from other jrpg's where you just stand and attack your enemy. Another thing that is different is the plans. Plan are something where it can change the monsters and items in a dungeon if you collect enough items to make the plan. Also you get new weapons, armor, dungeons, and different looks if you make the plans. But let me tell you, you will definitely need a wiki and luck to get what you need. Story is just generic with get four magical items and stop the evil that is happening but the world is different from any scifi or fantasy place. you are in this world called game industry and all four main lands are are just the name of gaming consoles like leanbox or laststation. So story might be bland but the world is interesting. The characters if you watch any anime and know all the dere then I don't need to say much but they do have some sort of personality to them but not all of them grow in the end. So in conclusion the game is definitely worth buying and you will want to beat it so go buy it if you like jrpg's or you need something for your ps vita. Expand
  14. Apr 26, 2016
    9
    It's as though a bunch of gamers found a way to program games using gameplay alone...

    The brilliance of all three HN RPGs, beyond the unbelievable good localization and charming character design, is the way their comic/critical approach to gaming carries over into the actual game. Sounds simple, but if that were true, Neptunia wouldn't be as remarkable as it is. As just one small
    It's as though a bunch of gamers found a way to program games using gameplay alone...

    The brilliance of all three HN RPGs, beyond the unbelievable good localization and charming character design, is the way their comic/critical approach to gaming carries over into the actual game. Sounds simple, but if that were true, Neptunia wouldn't be as remarkable as it is.

    As just one small example:
    Lots of games poke fun at the numerous gaming traditions that exist more for nostalgia or familiarity's sake than for the game's sake, and many break through the 4th wall to do it. Neptunia is so bloody cool because it doesn't just complain or joke about it, it addresses the problems in the gameplay itself, and fixes them in style.

    This game fills SO many JRPG potholes, like the uselessness of characters who aren't in your frontline (not useless anymore), the empty time traveling with nothing in particular to do except walk (find that secret chest with yer chest...finder), difficulty spikes and valleys (adjustable through gameplay, NOT the options menu, in real time), slogging through places with weak enemies and having to kill tons of weakling-enemies and getting nothing in return (use symbol attacks to hear them without a fight, or make them stronger, or replace them with powerful enemies, &c. Up to you), grinding to adjust the difficulty (grinding is not for experience in this game. it's for fun and profit, and almost completely optional. :), &c, &c, &c. I could go on, but it would become spoilery...

    Neptunia fixes all these problems (and many more) effortlessly, as well as letting u customize not only your appearance and skills and the immediate experience, but the entire game world. And i don't mean colors or textures, i mean specific, practical, gameplay details. (For example, if halfway through the game you decide you aren't really gamer, but rather a casual game-adjacent type. No problemo. Go pick up a few Mysterious Glow Whatevers, and lower the difficulty of the enemies. If it's too easy, make make them stronger. You can also apply this just to a dungeon, add powerful enemies, change the items available, and so on. And once these options are open, you they stay open.)

    Through a hunt & gather type crafting system, where you acquire plans then use them to make stuff from dungeons and physics modifications (jumping higher, for example) you can basically adjust, change, flip, remove, add, make and improve basically everything of relevance. If you like to grind, you can, if you don't, you can check you Nepedia for the location of the item or enemy yer hunting, and have it done in a couple minutes.

    And if you don't want to grind at all, you basically don't have to. For example, if you want a spiffy new sword, you can get a slightly more spiffy one by checking your plans, and making a spiffy new sword, which will then be added to the store (you also do this for healing items, accessories, armor, outfits, &c.). But you can also sell all the ingredients needed to make that sword and but a manufactured sword in the store.

    Basically, if Bioware and Telltale are the inevitable future of Choose Your Own Adventure books, Nep is more like "Make your own adventure". If it wasn't all girls and vaguely sci-fi, the amount of goofing and laughter and metaphysical awareness would remind me of playing p&p rpgs in my room as an 8yr old.

    Combat it strealined and colorful, (and neptune sings the FF victory song when she wins a battle sometimes). If you've ever played BoF: Dragon Quarter (a truly wonderful little ps2 rpg), and xenosaga 1-3 (arguably the best sci-fi story in gaming history), HN's fighting is like a perfect mix of these two. It's streamlined and strategic, and works perfectly well, all the time.

    I can't wait to see what's new in HNRb2...

    There's so much in these games that i'm leaving critical features out, but...take that as more praise from someone who's just spent 80 hrs with Nep and Compa and Iffy.

    (And it's totally, subtly yuri, which i personally appreciate as a fan of the genre. I mean, c'mon, Who doesn't love chaste teenage lesbians falling into melodramatic secret romances in elaborate convent schools? Maria-sama is watching you panic, strawberry. :)

    I'm just finishing pt1 and i'm downloading pt2 to my vita right now. It's been a while since i spent 80 hrs on a game and immediately started the sequel when i finished it. And to be honest, i usually don't much like funny games (or music). I think comedy is almost always dated, whereas tragedy and suspense are passion are usually timeless. Somehow, NepNep puts them all in one place, and keeps it compelling. i.e.: I really hope gay marriage is legal in Leanbox, cuz Iffy and Lady Vert would be the BEST moms.
    (That kind of thing.)

    Work that lily rank, Otome-chant
    Expand
  15. Feb 2, 2017
    8
    HD Neptunia ReBirth 1 is very unique JRPG. Graphic of the game is quite good and the game excels in very good gameplay - especially combat system is what I like the most. The game has quite good story which is made like comedy so don't expect something very serious. Game overall is really good JRPG and is very enjoyable. It is not the best in the genre but still definitely worthy to play.HD Neptunia ReBirth 1 is very unique JRPG. Graphic of the game is quite good and the game excels in very good gameplay - especially combat system is what I like the most. The game has quite good story which is made like comedy so don't expect something very serious. Game overall is really good JRPG and is very enjoyable. It is not the best in the genre but still definitely worthy to play.

    GRAPHIC - 8
    GAMEPLAY - 8
    LASTING APPEAL - 7
    EXECUTION - 7

    OVERALL - 7,5
    Expand
  16. Aug 28, 2016
    8
    Nice reboot with a fun story which is fun even after one playthrough nice battle system and fanservice every now and then. However reused maps, character models, illustrations, music etc and expensive game with a lot of DLCs holds it from being a top game
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 22, 2015
    60
    A great remake of a terrible sequel that fails to take the series anywhere remotely interesting.
  2. Jan 26, 2015
    60
    Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 is a much better game than Hyperdimension Neptunia, but it’s still let down by several failings and issues that probably throw up enough barriers for anyone outside of its niche to feel comfortable enough in staying away from it.
  3. Sep 30, 2014
    86
    The changes implemented are breath of fresh air, the story is very funny at times and is interesting enough to keep playing for dozens of hours.