User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 569 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 569
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    This game is at the peak of what a turn-based RPG can offer. Its story is expansive and engaging, the characters are vibrant, the Orchestral soundtrack is outstanding and nothing feels unpolished in the definitive edtion. This truly is a masterpiece. The Dragon Quest games have been flying the flag for the genre for decades and I really hope the effort that has been put into this gameThis game is at the peak of what a turn-based RPG can offer. Its story is expansive and engaging, the characters are vibrant, the Orchestral soundtrack is outstanding and nothing feels unpolished in the definitive edtion. This truly is a masterpiece. The Dragon Quest games have been flying the flag for the genre for decades and I really hope the effort that has been put into this game translates to sales. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2019
    7
    Pretty disappointed. Game isn't bad by any means, but overall it just feels 10 years older than it looks. Moving around and jumping feel super awkward. And outside of the minimap, the game does a poor job clarifying which terrain is traversable. This gives that feeling old games had where invisible walls are around you all the time. They also tried to modernize the turn based battlePretty disappointed. Game isn't bad by any means, but overall it just feels 10 years older than it looks. Moving around and jumping feel super awkward. And outside of the minimap, the game does a poor job clarifying which terrain is traversable. This gives that feeling old games had where invisible walls are around you all the time. They also tried to modernize the turn based battle system, but frankly the poor integration of movement just made it weird.

    Dragon Quest XI S has potential but they clearly should have spent more time polishing both the games and their ideas.
    Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2019
    2
    The port suffers from an evident technical downgrade, longer loading times and especially on big screen the resolution looks milky. Some performance dips , but rare
    The added quests are quite short and the 2D mode is just a gimmick.

    Barebone combat system which is inferior the other recent jrpg counterparts and uneven difficulty. Most time way too easy.
  4. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Es una versión que no le hace mucho honor a la salida original, la resolución es muy baja en ciertas zonas sobrecargadas de elementos y el popping es atroz la mayoría del tiempo, las pantallas de carga son molestas, siento que los agregados extra son bastante intrascendentes y no mejoran realmente la experiencia de juego, una experiencia bastante inconsistente en mi opinión.
    Traslation:
    Es una versión que no le hace mucho honor a la salida original, la resolución es muy baja en ciertas zonas sobrecargadas de elementos y el popping es atroz la mayoría del tiempo, las pantallas de carga son molestas, siento que los agregados extra son bastante intrascendentes y no mejoran realmente la experiencia de juego, una experiencia bastante inconsistente en mi opinión.
    Traslation:
    It's a version that doesn't have much honor to the original release, the resolution is very low in certain areas overloaded with elements and the popping is atrocious most of the time, the loading screens are annoying, I feel that the extra aggregates are quite inconsequential and They don't really improve the game experience, a rather inconsistent experience in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    I played this game on the PS4 Pro and loved it. It’s a technical achievement on the Nintendo Switch hardware with some fantastic QoL upgrades from previous versions. I love the traditional RPG elements with modern updates and beautiful eye-candy art style. I hope more Dragon Quest games are re-made and ported to the Swith. Shout out to Tim Rogers for convincing me to play this game withI played this game on the PS4 Pro and loved it. It’s a technical achievement on the Nintendo Switch hardware with some fantastic QoL upgrades from previous versions. I love the traditional RPG elements with modern updates and beautiful eye-candy art style. I hope more Dragon Quest games are re-made and ported to the Swith. Shout out to Tim Rogers for convincing me to play this game with his Youtube reviews. MORE DQ GAMES FOR THE SWITCH PLEASE Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2019
    9
    I've already gone through the ps4 version, but the port of the switch version is absolutely great and probably the best version of the game. Technically, of course, a bit weaker, but mobile playable and with many extra features.
  7. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    This is the first time I play a Dragon Quest game from the series and I have to say that it is amazing.The story is full of twists and very interesting,easily it can keep you playing until th end.The gameplay is fun with a lot of different moves to use and a hard level up system that needs you to defeat enemies all the time,but don't worry because the combat system is great too.The game isThis is the first time I play a Dragon Quest game from the series and I have to say that it is amazing.The story is full of twists and very interesting,easily it can keep you playing until th end.The gameplay is fun with a lot of different moves to use and a hard level up system that needs you to defeat enemies all the time,but don't worry because the combat system is great too.The game is very long(imagine the post game can be 25 hours).Every character is unique and loved by the player,and there is a lot of good humor in the dialogue.I haven't got any problem at all in my 75 hours playthrough also.This game is 100% recommended. Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2019
    9
    One of the best things about this game is how vibrant and diverse most of the characters are. Different build options for each of them and interesting storyline that showcases their personality very well. I found it totally engaging. Gamewise, there is not a lot of difficulty during the gameplay, but besides this particular issue, each city and scenery are amazing and full of real lifeOne of the best things about this game is how vibrant and diverse most of the characters are. Different build options for each of them and interesting storyline that showcases their personality very well. I found it totally engaging. Gamewise, there is not a lot of difficulty during the gameplay, but besides this particular issue, each city and scenery are amazing and full of real life references. The comical touch it has sometimes is also on point. The improvements of this version in comparision to the PS4 edition are nice: 2D mode that brings you back to previous Dragon Quest worlds, several additions that make the game more fluid (when buying items to the forge, for instance), some new costumes and other small details that made a whole lot of difference. I totally recommend it to those who enjoy the JRPG genre. Expand
  9. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    La.mejor.version y mas completa de todas, ppr la pprtabilidad que ofrece, con una version de sobremesa notable y un juego que sencilñamwnte es una obra maestra.
  10. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Una forma nueva se jugar a un rpg 2 versiones en 1 fantastico...version 2d es como jugar una version nueva del mismo juego Expand
  11. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    Buen juego me gusto mucho la jugabilidad, la experiancia de juego, me gusto mucho
  12. Oct 1, 2019
    10
    Amazing. MUST PLAY!!! Played the demo, very long by the way, and bought the game on day 1. One of my favourite RPGs, second to only Fire Emblem Awakening (a personal soft spot of mine). Just play the demo, M'KAY?
    V
  13. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    I've played previous dragon-quest games but haven't in a while. I decided to pick this game up because they had the 7hr demo and your progress moved over to the real game. Let me tell you playing this game was the best time I've had playing my switch in a while. An awesome JRPG for the switch with 100+hrs of gameplay, turnbased fighting mechanics, awesome music, and beautiful graphics. II've played previous dragon-quest games but haven't in a while. I decided to pick this game up because they had the 7hr demo and your progress moved over to the real game. Let me tell you playing this game was the best time I've had playing my switch in a while. An awesome JRPG for the switch with 100+hrs of gameplay, turnbased fighting mechanics, awesome music, and beautiful graphics. I don't know how they did it but the graphics are so good compared to some bigger titles out there(looking at you fire emblem). All in all i think it's really fun, and worth the price. Expand
  14. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This is what ni no kuni 2 shouldve been. Yes you can tell there is alot of restraint to the plot and character development due the game being released on a Nintendo console but the developers still managed to make an interesting journey. There are huuuge call backs to old jrpg tropes and there is a clear studio ghibli influence which theyve managed to execute properly. This version of theThis is what ni no kuni 2 shouldve been. Yes you can tell there is alot of restraint to the plot and character development due the game being released on a Nintendo console but the developers still managed to make an interesting journey. There are huuuge call backs to old jrpg tropes and there is a clear studio ghibli influence which theyve managed to execute properly. This version of the game offers anything you might need in a 2019 jrpg. I think the biggest positive is the attention to detail and the homages given to the previous games in the dragon quest series. Overall it was a lovely experience and well worth the 60$ oh! And for those that say its too easy there is an option to make things harder for you. Actually there are multiple options to make things harder. Buy and support please!! Its not often we get games like this. Expand
  15. Oct 2, 2019
    10
    Might possibly be the best classic JRPG experience on the Nintendo Switch currently. There is a slight downgrade in the graphics department, but if you can look past that minor hiccup, this is a great game through and through.
  16. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    A must-play for any Switch owner. The game contains many likable characters, a story containing both funny and dramatic elements to it. Combat is extremely satisfying as characters are in some ways blank slates that the player is prompted to build the way they want.
  17. Oct 10, 2019
    9
    Absolutely stunning game! Haven’t finished the game yet but 100% worth a play through
  18. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    I don't even know exactly what you could say about this game, beside the fact that good basics is all you need really.
    This game doesn't try, to fancy the JRPG genre, it just gives you exactly what you want without restriction or "twist" on it.
    Great simple battle system, Main story that just never ends, long post game and challenges, great cast of character, a lot of small character arc
    I don't even know exactly what you could say about this game, beside the fact that good basics is all you need really.
    This game doesn't try, to fancy the JRPG genre, it just gives you exactly what you want without restriction or "twist" on it.
    Great simple battle system, Main story that just never ends, long post game and challenges, great cast of character, a lot of small character arc for a lot of NPC in the story that makes the world feel alive, a boat, something to fly on, a lot of bosses.

    This is the text book JRPG, play for comfort, adventure or just because you like it.
    RECOMMANDED: activate the draconian option when you start the game to activate stronger monster, the base game is too easy to really shine.
    Expand
  19. Oct 20, 2019
    9
    Dragon Quest XI is an excellent game in its own right. The world is beautiful and full of places to explore even if it is "linear" for most of the game. The combat is deceptively simple at first glance, but as the game progresses you will see that there is a good deal of strategy involved in getting the most out of the characters. The story is pretty by the numbers but has a few twistsDragon Quest XI is an excellent game in its own right. The world is beautiful and full of places to explore even if it is "linear" for most of the game. The combat is deceptively simple at first glance, but as the game progresses you will see that there is a good deal of strategy involved in getting the most out of the characters. The story is pretty by the numbers but has a few twists here and there to remain interesting. The characters are also memorable. It runs just fine on the Switch and the portability is a big plus to this release. It just barely misses being a 10 because it overstays its welcome just a bit. I don't have a problem with longer games (this is a jrpg after all) but Dragon Quest XI could have ended sooner than it did and left me with a higher opinion of the story. Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2019
    9
    One of the best jrpgs I’ve played in a long time - great visuals and gameplay, fairly interesting story, decent music. Some of the quests felt like a chore (e.g. defeat this monster with this exact spell at this time of day etc) but most of the story and side content felt like it belonged and was engaging.
  21. Oct 26, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S Es uno de esos juegos de verdad, cargado de historia, contenido y mecánicas sólidas que han trascendido desde el primer Dragon Quest. Es un juego perfecto para comenzar si no estás iniciado en la saga y se ha convertido rápidamente en uno de mis preferidos.

    Como amante de juegos RPG debo de decir que se siente fresco regresar al clásico, eficiente y encantador sistema
    Dragon Quest XI S Es uno de esos juegos de verdad, cargado de historia, contenido y mecánicas sólidas que han trascendido desde el primer Dragon Quest. Es un juego perfecto para comenzar si no estás iniciado en la saga y se ha convertido rápidamente en uno de mis preferidos.

    Como amante de juegos RPG debo de decir que se siente fresco regresar al clásico, eficiente y encantador sistema de combate por turnos. El mundo aunque se sienta algo restrictivo al principio es inmenso y lleno de puntos a explorar.

    Un aspecto que no he visto en ninguna review es que este juego se disfruta bastante en sonido 5.1, es inversivo y los efectos, las batallas, los diálogos, ¡todo! tiene otro nivel de inmersión. Es un genial detalle que muchos no llegan a apreciar, pero si eres afortunado de tener teatro en casa, es un requisito usar el modo sobremesa de la Nintendo Switch.

    ¿Hay downgrade? Si
    ¿Importa? No

    Esta versión del Juego no le pide nada a sus versiones anteriores. Altamente recomendable.
    Expand
  22. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Un gran port, el Switch lo corre muy bien tanto en Dock como portátil, la historia es muy buena y el arte del juego es fantástico.
    Un gran acierto tenerlo en Switch
  23. Nov 15, 2019
    9
    Dragon Quest 11S has been one of the best JRPG experiences I've enjoyed so far. It's one of the most well-paced and well-written sagas with a wonderful cast of characters, beautiful locales and adorable monsters. I have yet to find a game that respects your time better than this: playing it one hour at a time gives an satisfying episodic vibe, yet binging it ten hours at a time is equallyDragon Quest 11S has been one of the best JRPG experiences I've enjoyed so far. It's one of the most well-paced and well-written sagas with a wonderful cast of characters, beautiful locales and adorable monsters. I have yet to find a game that respects your time better than this: playing it one hour at a time gives an satisfying episodic vibe, yet binging it ten hours at a time is equally enjoyable. The worldbuilding is stellar, with callouts and references to itself and it's own characters across its varied geography. DQ11S comes with three hours of extra campaign scenarios that add meat to an already hefty plot and these additions are very welcome. Dragon Quest has been a franchise that has accompanied me at many points of my life, but never have I fallen harder for a DQ entry, or even a JRPG game, than I have with DQ11. It's an excellent entry level JRPG, and an excellent JRPG for fans of the genre. Try it. Expand
  24. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    More content, more polish, more options, simply the best version of one of the best JRPGs of the decade.
  25. Oct 2, 2019
    8
    Great game, but it's missing the magic from the level-5 entries.
    Square enix removed a pepped up character change like they removed super high tension from dragon quest 8 3ds, it's like they don't understand cool stuff. So frustrating.
    The game itself is very good but a lot of their decisions just baffle me.
  26. Oct 4, 2019
    9
    This game is a perfect laid-back experience on your switch. Enjoyable story, characters, amazing world and really beautiful towns. It's also worth pointing out how well it plays in handheld mode. I never played it before, but it certainly stands out.
  27. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Make sure you buy this game.
    Go out find and buy this game.
    Infact you owe it to yourself to play this game.
    Sexy game.
    Expand
  28. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    This Jrpg is amazing.
    Easy the best in the series and all the extra content on the switch version makes it complete. One of the best Jrpg's I played in my life, Must buy!
  29. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    Es un juegazo. Lo tiene todo, buena historia, jugabilidad, personajes, ambientación y banda sonora. Lo recomiendo 100%
  30. Oct 11, 2019
    9
    Top notch game, old school rpg. Story and writing can get a little cheesy at times, but the characters grew on me. I initially owned the PC version, and played it for like 20h, but stopped when I heard a switch version was in the works. Now i’m 15 hours in, and I’m glad i held back from playing it. Imo, jrpgs work better on a portable system
  31. Oct 20, 2019
    9
    Since this was my first Dragon Quest game ever, I cannot say how this compares to previous entries in the series. That said, I loved this game so much. The world, the characters, the combat. All of it was just so much fun and engaging. Dragon Quest XI S has easily become one of my favorite games. I’m definitely gonna play future games of the series now.
  32. Oct 29, 2019
    9
    Me he esperado a esta versión para jugarlo (A pesar de que algunas otras versiones sean superiores gráficamente) y sinceramente, no me arrepiento para nada. Un diseño de personajes muy bueno, como siempre vamos… Una historia que sin ser la panacea es entretenida, sobre todo al final que es cuando más interesante se pone. Los añadidos de esta versión se agradecen muchísimo para hacer másMe he esperado a esta versión para jugarlo (A pesar de que algunas otras versiones sean superiores gráficamente) y sinceramente, no me arrepiento para nada. Un diseño de personajes muy bueno, como siempre vamos… Una historia que sin ser la panacea es entretenida, sobre todo al final que es cuando más interesante se pone. Los añadidos de esta versión se agradecen muchísimo para hacer más redondo el juego. Solo dos pegas, combates demasiado sencillos y misiones secundarias bastante repetitivas. Creo que este juego es lo que FFXV debería de haber sido y por donde Square Enix debería de tirar… Expand
  33. Oct 30, 2019
    9
    Amazing port from the PS version. The orchestrated soundtrack is awesome, and graphics is beautifully suited on the Switch's screen. The demo is even better than some of the full-price games, and it helped me quench the thirst of longing for the real game. One disappointing point is that the 2D version requires you to start from a certain point in a chapter, but the cutting off of aAmazing port from the PS version. The orchestrated soundtrack is awesome, and graphics is beautifully suited on the Switch's screen. The demo is even better than some of the full-price games, and it helped me quench the thirst of longing for the real game. One disappointing point is that the 2D version requires you to start from a certain point in a chapter, but the cutting off of a chapter is not obvious.
    The pacing is great that I feel like I haven't done anything, but the story has progressed so much. I didn't need to grind too much, usually it's grinding for the materials I need for forging, not for level. It is worthy for my wait for the NS version.
    Expand
  34. Nov 1, 2019
    10
    Esta version esta a la altura de las demas, manteniene la jugabilidad ademas tiene contenido exclusivo. my bueno para jugar en modo portatill. te permite farmear experiencia y objetos.
  35. Nov 7, 2019
    10
    DQ11 con su versión en Switch es la más completa, de hecho, mas que otro port, es un remake. Más contenido en la historia, banda sonora orquestal, modo 2d (como si tenemos 2 juegos en 1), gráficamente luce espectacular, mas monturas para andar y jugarlo en portátil es un gran añadido para este tipo de juegos JRPG. Con diferencia, el mejor DQ11.
  36. Nov 11, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI es el mejor trabajo de una de las sagas más longevas en la historia de los videojuegos. Es un rpg cautivante y que tiene personajes vivos. La historia tiene un ritmo muy ameno, los combates clásicos tienen la magia de DQ y la música orquestada es una maravilla. El único pero que podría darle es lla resolución, obviamente no está al mismo nivel que en PS4. Pero todo lo queDragon Quest XI es el mejor trabajo de una de las sagas más longevas en la historia de los videojuegos. Es un rpg cautivante y que tiene personajes vivos. La historia tiene un ritmo muy ameno, los combates clásicos tienen la magia de DQ y la música orquestada es una maravilla. El único pero que podría darle es lla resolución, obviamente no está al mismo nivel que en PS4. Pero todo lo que incluye merece la pena y más. Esta versión, sin duda alguna, es la mejor por lejos. Doblaje, modo 2d, historias adicionales. Es un juego que debería estar en cualquier estantería de amantes de rpg. Expand
  37. Nov 15, 2019
    10
    Increidble game ported to de nintendo, Squere Enix really do an imcredible port with this game!
  38. Nov 16, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest 11 S is now currently my favorite JRPG and RPG in general of all time as of recent. The combat itself is very standard but the characters are extremely lovable and memorable, the world is open and vibrant with many huge and interesting areas to explore, and the story on surface is very generic but behind that thin layer is an amazing story that made me have two majorDragon Quest 11 S is now currently my favorite JRPG and RPG in general of all time as of recent. The combat itself is very standard but the characters are extremely lovable and memorable, the world is open and vibrant with many huge and interesting areas to explore, and the story on surface is very generic but behind that thin layer is an amazing story that made me have two major epiphanies. Please PLEASE if you're looking for a good JRPG to play on Nintendo Switch pick this game up! Dragon Quest 11 S should arguably be up there with the likes of Super Mario Odyssey, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. Expand
  39. Nov 23, 2019
    10
    I just love this game, its graphics are just incredible and take everything the PS4/PC has to offer!
    The story is very engaging. You always have something to do in this big world of freaks, bandids and random encounters. Youll never reach your destination without someone asking you for help on the side on the road or some bandids stopping you to rob you. The game has some incredible and
    I just love this game, its graphics are just incredible and take everything the PS4/PC has to offer!
    The story is very engaging. You always have something to do in this big world of freaks, bandids and random encounters. Youll never reach your destination without someone asking you for help on the side on the road or some bandids stopping you to rob you. The game has some incredible and useless details that suprises you everytime on a new way! The NPCs ad the character design is very very very authentic, and every NPC has its own unique ways of behaviour its just an encredible new game and it was a very good opurtunity to show rockstars world,charakter,story design skills!

    Sorryy if I had some grammatical misstakes.
    (Im german) :)
    Expand
  40. Dec 7, 2019
    10
    la historia va mejorando con forme avanza, muy adictivo y una nueva cota de entretenimiento, la banda sonora en una delicia en sinfónica, los regresos a la era de 8 bits y las misiones del tiempo, le dan un gran valor a este juegaso
  41. Jan 31, 2020
    9
    I'm having a great time with this game! So many awesome locations and places to explore. If you're reading this, get it now!
  42. Feb 1, 2020
    10
    Extraordinary game and fabulous switch port. In my opinion the pinnacle of JRPGs. My fave since Xenoblade and maybe clear back to chrono trigger.
  43. May 8, 2020
    10
    Este es un juego de los que debe ser considerado una obra maestra, un 10 muy muy merecido. La única "pega" es que el juego no es innovador, sí no muy conservador. Básicamente es el epitomo de lo que es un jrpg clásico llevado a su máximo exponente, y actualizando algunas de las mecánicas clásicas sin eliminarlas para que su gameplay sea accesible y disfrutable a los tiempos actuales.
    Si
    Este es un juego de los que debe ser considerado una obra maestra, un 10 muy muy merecido. La única "pega" es que el juego no es innovador, sí no muy conservador. Básicamente es el epitomo de lo que es un jrpg clásico llevado a su máximo exponente, y actualizando algunas de las mecánicas clásicas sin eliminarlas para que su gameplay sea accesible y disfrutable a los tiempos actuales.
    Si te gustan los JRPGS y/o la saga dragon quest es una compra obligatoria con muchas horas de contenido.
    Si no te gustan los JRPGS clásicos o las historias clásicas (estilo dragon quest), prueba primero la demo (que son unas buenas cuantas horas de juego).
    Expand
  44. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Un juego fenomenal,la máxima expresión de la serie.Una verdadera joya del genero,con el espíritu de la saga y toneladas de emociones y en formato portable simple y sencillamente imperdible.
  45. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    Es la mejor version de todas lo recomiendo mucho y un gran juego que no se deven perder
  46. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    Best JRPG i have played! This and Xenoblade Chronicles both are 10/10 JRPGs. If you like this genre, this game is a must have!
  47. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Don't listen to the ones that are rating this game a 0, they obviously never played this version. They are most likely ps4 people that are butthurt that they don't have the definitive version. We get extra quest, music that doesn't sound like crap, 2d mode and some quality of life improvements
  48. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    Juego Increíble, personalmente mi favorito de la saga, encima portátil y con mas contenido que la versión clásica: musica encrestada, el modo 2D, etc.....
    Recomendado 100%, en esta versión para swich lo han optimizado muy bien, se nota el trabajo que hay detrás.
    Lo único negativo que he encontrado es el consumo de batería en modo portátil, que literalmente la absorbe. Espero que lo
    Juego Increíble, personalmente mi favorito de la saga, encima portátil y con mas contenido que la versión clásica: musica encrestada, el modo 2D, etc.....
    Recomendado 100%, en esta versión para swich lo han optimizado muy bien, se nota el trabajo que hay detrás.
    Lo único negativo que he encontrado es el consumo de batería en modo portátil, que literalmente la absorbe.
    Espero que lo disfrute la gente que no haya podido probarlo, por la razón que sea y a los indecisos, o la gente que no conozca DQ les digo sinceramente que es un juego que merece la pena cada minuto invertido en el, una historia épica y al magia del mejor JRPG.
    Expand
  49. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Amazing Jrpg, loved it. the classic style and the music and, its a great needed modern take on a classic legend
  50. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    La versión más completa y en portátil ¿Qué más se puede pedir? Puntazo para Square-Enix.
  51. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Mejor que su versión de ps4, pc y n3ds. Sobre todo por el contenido extra en 2d de Dragon Quest anteriores.
  52. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    Amazing JRPG and one of the best turn-based RPG on the market. Good port quality! Looking awesome.
  53. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S Definitive Edition is this year's best RPG!

    The amount of options from challenges like fighting harder monsters and only using items found and crafted and more, to playing it like a classic retro RPG in 2D graphics to scraft that retro itch, you can tailor the game to however you like playing. No random battles (except in 2D mode) gives you the freedom to pick your
    Dragon Quest XI S Definitive Edition is this year's best RPG!

    The amount of options from challenges like fighting harder monsters and only using items found and crafted and more, to playing it like a classic retro RPG in 2D graphics to scraft that retro itch, you can tailor the game to however you like playing. No random battles (except in 2D mode) gives you the freedom to pick your battles. You even have your choice of music between the MIDI and the orchestrated! This is all injected into a game with an amazing plot that will make you feel a range of emotions. For those unsure, try the demo on the eShop. It is a lengthy demo that will inform you better than any review would on whether this game it worth your time.
    Expand
  54. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Quick review. Dragon Quest deserves praise from the west. Especially this game, the story is full of surprises, wonderful and interesting characters, and beautiful landscapes and cities accompanied by a masterfully composed orchestral soundtrack. The gameplay is pure classic JRPG turn based combat, charming as ever with each character being able to branch of into different approaches withQuick review. Dragon Quest deserves praise from the west. Especially this game, the story is full of surprises, wonderful and interesting characters, and beautiful landscapes and cities accompanied by a masterfully composed orchestral soundtrack. The gameplay is pure classic JRPG turn based combat, charming as ever with each character being able to branch of into different approaches with different skills and weapons depending on your own personal preference. The additional content isn't a lazy afterthought. 2D Mode especially is a wonderful addition. Please consider trying out this game Expand
  55. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S: Echos of an elusive age - Definitive Edition is one of the best turn based JRPG's on the market.
    Of course the graphics aren't up to par with the PS4 and Steam version, with lower polygon counts on some models, lower texture resolutions and visible pop ins.
    But in my opinion it's technical achievement to even get this version on the Nintendo Switch, especially if you
    Dragon Quest XI S: Echos of an elusive age - Definitive Edition is one of the best turn based JRPG's on the market.
    Of course the graphics aren't up to par with the PS4 and Steam version, with lower polygon counts on some models, lower texture resolutions and visible pop ins.
    But in my opinion it's technical achievement to even get this version on the Nintendo Switch, especially if you think about the Nintendo Switch's limited hardware specs.
    As for gameplay, you get the full experience that was on the PS4 and Steam versions but with more added content, life improving changes, a better orchestrated soundtrack and a 2D mode.
    Dragon Quest XI S is as traditional as a JRPG gets and it doesn't try to be something else.

    So should you buy this?
    Already played the Steam/PS4 versions? Maybe, I played the Steam version for over 120 hours and was left hungry for more.
    Haven't played this and love JRPG? Definitely
    Never played a JRPG before? Try the generous 5-10 hour demo first (and then buy it, demo savegames carry over to the full game)
    Expand
  56. Sep 30, 2019
    10
    So first of all I'd like to get some things clear, since I'm late to the reviewing session and have been able to see what the others wrote. Whoever picked this up thinking they were going to get a modern JRPG FF or Persona-like experience or a BotW level open world was not well informed. Don't judge a game on what you want it to be, but review it based on how well it achieves what itSo first of all I'd like to get some things clear, since I'm late to the reviewing session and have been able to see what the others wrote. Whoever picked this up thinking they were going to get a modern JRPG FF or Persona-like experience or a BotW level open world was not well informed. Don't judge a game on what you want it to be, but review it based on how well it achieves what it CLAIMS to be.

    And Dragon Quest XI S delivers just right on that. It's all we love about the traditional JRPG genre that it created. Dragon Quest was never there to try to revolutionize the genre but rather to stay true to its roots as its creator, and it does just that. I am of course no professional reviewer, but having played at least 10 hours into all the previous games of the series (Except Dragon Quest X), I think I can give a pretty good overview of how it compares to the others.

    In terms of the gameplay, it sticks to the traditional but efficient turn-based system, but adds on some novelties with pep powers and skill trees that make you reflect more on the build of your character. This skill tree is a welcome addition in contrast to just waiting for the character to unlock the exact list of spells and abilities they were given from the start, tho more limited than a potential class changing system, which we understandably couldn't expect seeing how they put a lot of work into animating the character specific capacities. Overall, it's similar to before, but enjoyable and somewhat refreshing nonetheless, with those little additions. As for exploration, it's DQ-style treasure hunting at its best. The areas are not "open world" per say, but DQ games never were open worlds, yet it still manages to get you pumped to look for treasures in secret areas around the world, and loves teasing you by showing you more treasures you cannot access yet. There's enough of a hunt to keep you interested in each area, but not too much that it eats up the rest of your game time and becomes irritating. Only downside was the difficulty of the game overall, which can somewhat be surpassed by activating one of the many Draconian challenges, tho those may then make the game too difficult for some. These Draconian "Quests" along with the 2D mode, are still well worth mentioning as great means of diversifying gameplay and allow for multiple enjoyable playthroughs

    No questions need to be asked for the soundtrack, as long as you have the symphonic version on, you'll definitely be enjoying yourself a lot. A few themes reappear maybe too frequently, but they're well crafted and memorable. It gives off that Dragon Quest vibe now in HQ like we rarely got before in any DQ games (Thanks Sugiyama ^^')

    As for the length of the game, I haven't finished it to say, but I've reached 40hrs and walkthrough seem to be telling me I am barely not even halfway through the story. Even in a straight line, the game offers more than enough content as a JRPG, compared to a lot of modern games, and much more if you are a completionist, with lots of side content, like quests, special requests by the mysterious Tockles, some fun at the casino (I guess... I dunno, that was the one place I hated in all DQ games), completing the bestiary and achievements, and more! And there's some additional post-game content I of course haven't touched yet

    I cannot rate the story in its entirety as I have not finished the game, however I will say that as I have experienced for now, it's some DQ at it's finest, with tragic pasts, destinies to save the world, and darkness taking over. The 3D look really helps you dive into the story even more, the cutscenes are well animated and you truly feel like you're having a grand adventure full of ups and downs. Don't expect some sort of crazy depth to the story that makes you reflect on the meaning of life. But I'm sure some of the twists will surprise you, and some of the harsh moments will get to you (I mean, look at that silent protagonist, the poor thing always looks sad haha)

    As for the graphics, tho I never owned the PS4 version, I can definitely say that this is not the version to go for if you want the best visual quality. But if you only own a Switch or if you want a more complete game over graphics, this is the version to go. In fact, the game really make the most of what the console can achieve, even in portable mode, with fluid animations, a nearly constant fps, nice lighting effect, and more to keep the world truly feeling alive. The environments and panoramas are undeniably beautiful, and each city feels unique and truly alive. I'm just really disappointed in the water effects, which seeing what the Switch could do with other games, could've been better

    Overall, Dragon Quest XI S on Switch is the true culmination of 30 years of a beautiful franchise, with lively cities to discover, bizarre monsters as ever, and an epic quest to save the world. I would rate it a 9/10 but I'll give it 10/10 to combat the unnecessary hate
    Expand
  57. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    La versión más completa,más largo,banda sonora orquestal,jugarlo en 2d es como tener 2 juegos en 1 ,gráficamente luce espectacular y jugarlo en portátil es una gozada,la mejor versión de todas sin duda alguna, más q un Port es un remake, el mejor Port de switch scondiferencia,y el
  58. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S: Ecos de un pasado perdido - Edición Definitiva
    "El mejor y más completo JRPG de la generación", en su mejor versión exclusiva de Nintendo Switch

    Gráficos: 10/10
    Duración: 10/10
    Banda Sonora: 10/10 (Esta versión incluye banda sonora orquestrada)
    Jugabilidad: 9/10
    SinglePlayer: 10/10
    História: 10/10

    Nota Final: 9,8 (10) - Obra Maestra
  59. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    It simply put fixes all the issues with the original the gameplay is more refined, it fixes the ost giving alot of variety, it has speed up and various new things like new story content, audio dramas, it has a camera function thats fun, it has ingedsting abd likable cast of characters subtle details galore a great world and cast of npcs awesome twtwists and turns
  60. Oct 10, 2019
    10
    Now is as good a time as any to get into dragon quest. Perfect way to begin. Loved more than I could name couldn't find anything to dislike.
  61. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    The amount of content in this game is absolutely insane. Not only is it charming, but exceptionally well crafted and polished in every way. One of the best games in recent years no question. If you like JRPGs, then you’ll LOVE Dragon Quest XI S.
  62. Nov 4, 2019
    10
    Giving a zero because DQ battles are repetitive.....Congratulations, a new level of stupidity has been achieved ! Like being surprised and complaining about being black and blue after exiting an mma cage after being battered by a professional fighter.....YOU KIND OF SHOULD HAVE SEEN IT COMING.
    Don't listen to this garbage, DQXI is a legend !
  63. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Old school turn based combat. Love this game!! So happy it came to switch. If you like the old Final Fantasy games with great story and story progression with the ability to upgrade , find new items , level up etc. Make sure to try this game!
  64. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Excelente historia, me encantan los personajes y el jugarlo de forma portátil es un plus...excelente
  65. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    For me, a big fan of oldschool RPGs and a newer DQ fan, this is the best game on the switch. I cant gush about it enough.

    Dragon Quest has charmed me in a way games havent been able to since I was very young playing Pokemon on GBC. And for that, I cannot thank you guys enough. This game is perfection
  66. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    One of the best JRPGs of all time and one of the best RPGs of this generation. This version is the best one and has a tons of features and added content like 2D mode and add backstories for the characters. Check it out, its a fantastic game and a masterpiece at that.
  67. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Fantastic game! It runs amazing on the switch! The story is well put together and characters are well written.
  68. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    One of the best Jrpgs on Switch (Xenoblade 2 is the best) the graphics are amazing, gameplay. Addictive, and story is awesome. Must play for anyone that has Switch
  69. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    The Best versión of the game. NEW contento, 2d playstyle. NEW orchestal music. Get this game right now.
  70. Nov 2, 2019
    6
    This game is just...decent. There's no real investment on any of the characters, or areas you go to. The story is decent at times but really blah for long stretches. It's overall extremely easy, even doing the Draconian quests.

    My biggest gripe is probably the plot, which just seems like a game of telephone. The game is safe. It's never terrible, but never great either. 20-25 years
    This game is just...decent. There's no real investment on any of the characters, or areas you go to. The story is decent at times but really blah for long stretches. It's overall extremely easy, even doing the Draconian quests.

    My biggest gripe is probably the plot, which just seems like a game of telephone.

    The game is safe. It's never terrible, but never great either. 20-25 years ago there were a half dozen games like this per year.
    Expand
  71. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    The Best version of the Best Dragon Quest game.

    Seeing the same world in both 2D and 3D is incredible, the music are finally good with this version, and the additional contents are neat.
  72. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Espere un año para poder comprar esta version y valio completamente la pena, Square Enix no decepciona con este juego. para cualquiera que no guste mucho de los RPG por turnos le recomiendo este para empezar. ¡y que puedo decir? ¡ES DRAGON QUEST! no los voy a hacer perder el tiempo leyendo mas, si tienen dudas bajen la demo Expand
  73. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    Que ganas tengo por este juego
    Las docenas de horas que ofrece
    Un estilo de combate clasico por turnos y mejorado
    Una banda Sonora muy cuidada y reorquestada
    Una historia muy interesante Y una experiencia Classica en 2D Gráficamente inferior pero no deja de lucir muy bien en una portátil
    Nota final
    9/10
  74. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    The best JRPG since Final Fantasy IX. Outstanding in nearly every respect and a definite improvement over the original version.
  75. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    O port desse jogo para o switch esta fenomenal, mesmo com pouco poder de hardware conseguiram fazer este jogo rodar de uma forma bem satisfatória. O jogo em si é muito bom e te rende diversas horas de gameplay. Um prato cheio para amantes de jrpg, que agora poderão jogar em qualquer lugar.
  76. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    An amazing game, an amazing Dragon Quest, one of the best JRPG of the generation. If you're a fan of RPG, you must play this game... The plot, the OST, the protagonists are very good.
  77. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Awesome port of an amazing game, the addition of the 2D mode is amazing and even if there is a slight graphical downgrade, the game is still gorgeous on the switch
  78. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    En mi opinión creo que la versión de este juego para switch es buena. Aunque, evidentemente, a nivel gráfico no está a la misma altura que las versiones de otros sistemas, Square ha hecho un excelente port, que exceptuando el tema gráfico, mejora algunos puntos no tan buenos de las versiones anteriores.

    Los añadidos a esta versión (banda sonora orquestada, historias de personajes, modo
    En mi opinión creo que la versión de este juego para switch es buena. Aunque, evidentemente, a nivel gráfico no está a la misma altura que las versiones de otros sistemas, Square ha hecho un excelente port, que exceptuando el tema gráfico, mejora algunos puntos no tan buenos de las versiones anteriores.

    Los añadidos a esta versión (banda sonora orquestada, historias de personajes, modo 2d, etc.) hacen, junto a la portabilidad de esta versión, un producto redondo muy recomendable.

    Por lo demás, es un Dragon Quest, un RPG por turnos que gustará a los fans de los RPG clásicos.
    Expand
  79. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    I love this game series, and I also love 11 this game too. dragon quest, I love you
  80. Nov 1, 2019
    10
    If you're looking for a fun traditional RPG experience on the Switch, look no further. It surpassed my expectations and filled the RPG-shaped hole in my heart that Pokémon and its current mediocrity left behind. The gameplay is fun, the characters and story are surprisingly good... There's also some fan service for DQVIII fans.
  81. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Best version of this game, with additional content and a superb 2D mode added. 11/10.
  82. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Muy buen juego y con las mejoras en esta versión lo hacen aún mejor. De lo mejor en switch.
  83. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest 11 S Echoes of an elusive age is is without a doubt the best turn based jrpg of this Generation.
  84. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    DQ11S is almost new game. It is far far better, than PS4 and PC versions. Symphonic orchestration is stunning. Presentation is still gorgeous. Plus new content and awesome japanese voiceover! If you want dive in the world dragon quest 11, switch version is your choice.
  85. Oct 29, 2019
    4
    Better play DQ8. I dropped it after ~25 hours. I'm a JRPG fan boy and I'm quite familiar with games with 5-10 hours of introduction, but my God DQ11 has almost no story up to that point. Main plot is all about small side quest tier stories around the world that are completely separated from each other. You don't get a feeling that you are on a huge adventure, it's more like bunch of bigBetter play DQ8. I dropped it after ~25 hours. I'm a JRPG fan boy and I'm quite familiar with games with 5-10 hours of introduction, but my God DQ11 has almost no story up to that point. Main plot is all about small side quest tier stories around the world that are completely separated from each other. You don't get a feeling that you are on a huge adventure, it's more like bunch of big side quests replacing the story.
    Boss fights are almost easier than those in Chrono Trigger. Heck regular encounters in MegaTen games or some FF games are harder than bosses in DQ11. The game gives you a lot of options to be creative in those fights, but really all you have to do is buff your party and finish the boss in 3-4 turns.
    Characters are generic but ok. Except for Serena she literally doesn't do anything. I get that she suppose to be quiet and calm but Enix give her SOME personality traits.
    The world is actually pretty good I like the art style and level design for the most part
    Overall the game is below average
    Expand
  86. Oct 25, 2019
    6
    Though I'm not a fan of the DB art style, this game is really beautiful on the Switch. I didn't notice any significant frame rate drops, even when running in enemy-heavy environments. The story is really interesting, which is to be expected from a Dragon Quest title. However, I think this game isn't forgiving enough for those new to the genre and battle style. It certainly doesn't helpThough I'm not a fan of the DB art style, this game is really beautiful on the Switch. I didn't notice any significant frame rate drops, even when running in enemy-heavy environments. The story is really interesting, which is to be expected from a Dragon Quest title. However, I think this game isn't forgiving enough for those new to the genre and battle style. It certainly doesn't help that there really isn't much of a tutorial to understand its battle features.

    DQXIS also suffers from an abysmal save feature. Essentially, if you're at a boss, and your party is wiped out, then you're back to the last autosave or worse. It's not fun trekking through the same dungeons and environments so many times during the most difficult battles when you just want to have another go at a boss. Even after 15 hours, though I only fell to a boss once or twice before figuring out a better strategy, having to trek back was once or twice too many times.

    I applaud the game's other special features, such as a 2D mode style, but its other problems do not warrant such high scores. I wanted to love it, but I just could not.
    Expand
  87. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    It's definitely one of the most disappointing Dragon Quest and its "definitive" version doesn't do much to improve the original experience that remains deficient, the story is promising but it becomes very generic and the plot twists are devoid of originality and depth, the music It is too repetitive and the amount of grinding that must be dedicated to defeat certain bosses is quiteIt's definitely one of the most disappointing Dragon Quest and its "definitive" version doesn't do much to improve the original experience that remains deficient, the story is promising but it becomes very generic and the plot twists are devoid of originality and depth, the music It is too repetitive and the amount of grinding that must be dedicated to defeat certain bosses is quite annoying, the game unnecessarily lengthens its duration and is boring. Expand
  88. Jan 8, 2020
    4
    Nice and calm, but very boring. The core of the game is like 20 years old, but it is 2020 and there are many better and/or innovative games out there. The graphics on switch is mediocre, but the art is very nice and the symphonic music is exceptional. I do not want bedtime story (books are so much better for this purpose), but I want to play actual (and at least little bit challenging orNice and calm, but very boring. The core of the game is like 20 years old, but it is 2020 and there are many better and/or innovative games out there. The graphics on switch is mediocre, but the art is very nice and the symphonic music is exceptional. I do not want bedtime story (books are so much better for this purpose), but I want to play actual (and at least little bit challenging or otherwise interesting) game. To be honest I quit after several hours, but I do no have time to try it more, when there are games like Sekiro, RE2, Death Stranding etc. to be played... :-) Expand
  89. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Game is slow.
    You don't get to attribute points to unlock skill every level because each cap requires several points, which make the gameplay feels linear. The combat gets boring, music repetitive, no character creation like old DQ, no monster capturing like old DQ either from first 20 hours so I guess it's not in the game as well.
    Just a banal game.
  90. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    Square Enix has done a bad job porting this game to the Switch, the performance is fatal, the resolution in portable mode is very low and the FPS are constantly falling, besides the music is considerably worse than in the original version of PS4/3DS/PC, Square Enix sold us this as a definitive version but in reality it's a fairly mediocre port.
  91. Oct 1, 2019
    6
    My first time playing a dragon quest game and I’m not impressed. The game looks ugly. The characters lack variety. The combat is quite boring. The story? Yikes....
  92. Oct 15, 2019
    0
    Annoying characters, bad story, repetitive combat. Not really any fun at all.
  93. Oct 1, 2019
    1
    Dragon quest is not good and will never be accepted by a world wide audience. Stop pushing this crap down our throats.

    Ugly graphics, unoriginal uninspired tepid story, boring gameplay and combat.

    This dragon ball z wanna be doo doo is not worth anyone’s time.
  94. Nov 16, 2019
    9
    story is very very very very very very very very very very very interesting
  95. Nov 30, 2019
    5
    Generally it's a good game, and the exclusive dlc type content is nice. But the visual quality is abysmal. I could live with pop ups that are right in front of you, but the general blurriness is seriously upsetting. You can't even make out faces sometimes.

    I didn't finish it on PS4 but I wish I would've because this version is not good
  96. Dec 15, 2019
    9
    This to me is what a near perfect RPG looks and plays like no random encounters, Lots of things to do, and good characters. my only complaints is the need to grind for certain bosses and how near the end of the game all character development is erased to get one character back that i wasn't a big fan of.
  97. Jul 7, 2020
    0
    Honestly one of the best games on Switch, and probably the best JRPG I've ever played in general. The characters, the story, the music, and the gameplay, though a little bit repetitive at times, the payoff is great. If you haven't bought or played this game yet, I think that tis is something that you truly can't miss out on.
  98. Sep 4, 2020
    4
    Not good, not bad, nothing special... and horse design is totally non-anatomical (looks like a horse from a preschooler's drawing)
  99. Dec 4, 2019
    10
    This has quickly become one of my favorite games ever. It's presentation is phenomenal and the characters are phenomenal. The characters are both deep and likable and make the entire experience feel just like that - an experience. The world is so enchanting, and the towns give the player a nice break from the combat and exploration. Coming into a town feels like you'r entering a vacation,This has quickly become one of my favorite games ever. It's presentation is phenomenal and the characters are phenomenal. The characters are both deep and likable and make the entire experience feel just like that - an experience. The world is so enchanting, and the towns give the player a nice break from the combat and exploration. Coming into a town feels like you'r entering a vacation, especially after finishing the quests surrounding the town. The landscapes are great and exciting to explore. The combat is snappy and classic, and the worldbuilding is phenomenal. It has a classic and lasting impression that resonates with you that you're playing something carefully crafted. It's jokes are funny, it's sentimental moments are sentimental, and the quality of life improvements make this the best version of the game. This game is relaxing, with the right doses of sentimental moments, serious moments, and action moments. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. May 11, 2020
    96
    Overall, there are not many negative things I can say about Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition. This version took the foundation of an already truly excellent RPG experience and built upon it further, offering new features and quality of life improvements along the way. I poured over a hundred and twelve hours into Dragon Quest XI S, which is more than I've spent on any other RPG recently, and I never once looked back with regret as I wholeheartedly fell in love with the gameplay and story. Having only played Dragon Quest XI S, I can't say for certain if there is enough new content here to warrant an additional playthrough, but if you've yet to play Dragon Quest XI and have access to a Nintendo Switch, this version is truly the "Definitive Edition" that the title claims it is.
  2. NF Magazine
    Apr 29, 2020
    95
    This game has become my favorite Dragon Quest ever, one of my favorite JRPGs ever and certainly one of the best games you can buy and play on the Switch. [Issue #43 – November/December 2019, p. 8SH]
  3. Dec 5, 2019
    100
    Dragon Quest XI S is a game for both long-time fans and newcomers alike. There are many Easter eggs and references to past Dragon Quest games that will subtly reward fans, but at the same time, the charming world of Erdrea and its characters are appealing to newcomers of all ages. Even those who have played the previous versions of Dragon Quest XI may find the vast improvements of the Switch version compelling enough for another round, especially with the Tickington quests, new character content, and marriage options. This game is a masterpiece, and it sets a new high standard for not only the series, but console RPGs in general. Hopefully the series will continue outdoing itself with further instalments.