User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 243
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2019
    2
    The port suffers from an evident technical downgrade, longer loading times and especially on big screen the resolution looks milky. Some performance dips , but rare
    The added quests are quite short and the 2D mode is just a gimmick.

    Barebone combat system which is inferior the other recent jrpg counterparts and uneven difficulty. Most time way too easy.
  2. Oct 1, 2019
    10
    Amazing. MUST PLAY!!! Played the demo, very long by the way, and bought the game on day 1. One of my favourite RPGs, second to only Fire Emblem Awakening (a personal soft spot of mine). Just play the demo, M'KAY?
    V
  3. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    Best JRPG i have played! This and Xenoblade Chronicles both are 10/10 JRPGs. If you like this genre, this game is a must have!
  4. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    Buen juego me gusto mucho la jugabilidad, la experiancia de juego, me gusto mucho
  5. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    I played this game on the PS4 Pro and loved it. It’s a technical achievement on the Nintendo Switch hardware with some fantastic QoL upgrades from previous versions. I love the traditional RPG elements with modern updates and beautiful eye-candy art style. I hope more Dragon Quest games are re-made and ported to the Swith. Shout out to Tim Rogers for convincing me to play this game withI played this game on the PS4 Pro and loved it. It’s a technical achievement on the Nintendo Switch hardware with some fantastic QoL upgrades from previous versions. I love the traditional RPG elements with modern updates and beautiful eye-candy art style. I hope more Dragon Quest games are re-made and ported to the Swith. Shout out to Tim Rogers for convincing me to play this game with his Youtube reviews. MORE DQ GAMES FOR THE SWITCH PLEASE Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    More content, more polish, more options, simply the best version of one of the best JRPGs of the decade.
  7. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    I've played previous dragon-quest games but haven't in a while. I decided to pick this game up because they had the 7hr demo and your progress moved over to the real game. Let me tell you playing this game was the best time I've had playing my switch in a while. An awesome JRPG for the switch with 100+hrs of gameplay, turnbased fighting mechanics, awesome music, and beautiful graphics. II've played previous dragon-quest games but haven't in a while. I decided to pick this game up because they had the 7hr demo and your progress moved over to the real game. Let me tell you playing this game was the best time I've had playing my switch in a while. An awesome JRPG for the switch with 100+hrs of gameplay, turnbased fighting mechanics, awesome music, and beautiful graphics. I don't know how they did it but the graphics are so good compared to some bigger titles out there(looking at you fire emblem). All in all i think it's really fun, and worth the price. Expand
  8. Oct 8, 2019
    9
    I've already gone through the ps4 version, but the port of the switch version is absolutely great and probably the best version of the game. Technically, of course, a bit weaker, but mobile playable and with many extra features.
  9. Oct 2, 2019
    10
    Might possibly be the best classic JRPG experience on the Nintendo Switch currently. There is a slight downgrade in the graphics department, but if you can look past that minor hiccup, this is a great game through and through.
  10. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    A must-play for any Switch owner. The game contains many likable characters, a story containing both funny and dramatic elements to it. Combat is extremely satisfying as characters are in some ways blank slates that the player is prompted to build the way they want.
  11. Sep 30, 2019
    10
    This has quickly become one of my favorite games ever. It's presentation is phenomenal and the characters are phenomenal. It's very similar to Xenoblade 2, but with a lot more polish. It doesn't feel like walking to a cutscene like Xenoblade 2, it's gameplay is definitely the mainstay. The landscapes are great and exciting to explore. The combat is snappy and classic, and theThis has quickly become one of my favorite games ever. It's presentation is phenomenal and the characters are phenomenal. It's very similar to Xenoblade 2, but with a lot more polish. It doesn't feel like walking to a cutscene like Xenoblade 2, it's gameplay is definitely the mainstay. The landscapes are great and exciting to explore. The combat is snappy and classic, and the worldbuilding is phenomenal. It has a classic and lasting impression that resonates with you that you're playing something carefully crafted. It's jokes are funny, it's sentimental moments are sentimental, and the quality of life improvements make this the best version of the game. Expand
  12. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This is what ni no kuni 2 shouldve been. Yes you can tell there is alot of restraint to the plot and character development due the game being released on a Nintendo console but the developers still managed to make an interesting journey. There are huuuge call backs to old jrpg tropes and there is a clear studio ghibli influence which theyve managed to execute properly. This version of theThis is what ni no kuni 2 shouldve been. Yes you can tell there is alot of restraint to the plot and character development due the game being released on a Nintendo console but the developers still managed to make an interesting journey. There are huuuge call backs to old jrpg tropes and there is a clear studio ghibli influence which theyve managed to execute properly. This version of the game offers anything you might need in a 2019 jrpg. I think the biggest positive is the attention to detail and the homages given to the previous games in the dragon quest series. Overall it was a lovely experience and well worth the 60$ oh! And for those that say its too easy there is an option to make things harder for you. Actually there are multiple options to make things harder. Buy and support please!! Its not often we get games like this. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Una forma nueva se jugar a un rpg 2 versiones en 1 fantastico...version 2d es como jugar una version nueva del mismo juego Expand
  14. Sep 28, 2019
    7
    Pretty disappointed. Game isn't bad by any means, but overall it just feels 10 years older than it looks. Moving around and jumping feel super awkward. And outside of the minimap, the game does a poor job clarifying which terrain is traversable. This gives that feeling old games had where invisible walls are around you all the time. They also tried to modernize the turn based battlePretty disappointed. Game isn't bad by any means, but overall it just feels 10 years older than it looks. Moving around and jumping feel super awkward. And outside of the minimap, the game does a poor job clarifying which terrain is traversable. This gives that feeling old games had where invisible walls are around you all the time. They also tried to modernize the turn based battle system, but frankly the poor integration of movement just made it weird.

    Dragon Quest XI S has potential but they clearly should have spent more time polishing both the games and their ideas.
    Expand
  15. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Quick review. Dragon Quest deserves praise from the west. Especially this game, the story is full of surprises, wonderful and interesting characters, and beautiful landscapes and cities accompanied by a masterfully composed orchestral soundtrack. The gameplay is pure classic JRPG turn based combat, charming as ever with each character being able to branch of into different approaches withQuick review. Dragon Quest deserves praise from the west. Especially this game, the story is full of surprises, wonderful and interesting characters, and beautiful landscapes and cities accompanied by a masterfully composed orchestral soundtrack. The gameplay is pure classic JRPG turn based combat, charming as ever with each character being able to branch of into different approaches with different skills and weapons depending on your own personal preference. The additional content isn't a lazy afterthought. 2D Mode especially is a wonderful addition. Please consider trying out this game Expand
  16. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Un juego fenomenal,la máxima expresión de la serie.Una verdadera joya del genero,con el espíritu de la saga y toneladas de emociones y en formato portable simple y sencillamente imperdible.
  17. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S: Echos of an elusive age - Definitive Edition is one of the best turn based JRPG's on the market.
    Of course the graphics aren't up to par with the PS4 and Steam version, with lower polygon counts on some models, lower texture resolutions and visible pop ins.
    But in my opinion it's technical achievement to even get this version on the Nintendo Switch, especially if you
    Dragon Quest XI S: Echos of an elusive age - Definitive Edition is one of the best turn based JRPG's on the market.
    Of course the graphics aren't up to par with the PS4 and Steam version, with lower polygon counts on some models, lower texture resolutions and visible pop ins.
    But in my opinion it's technical achievement to even get this version on the Nintendo Switch, especially if you think about the Nintendo Switch's limited hardware specs.
    As for gameplay, you get the full experience that was on the PS4 and Steam versions but with more added content, life improving changes, a better orchestrated soundtrack and a 2D mode.
    Dragon Quest XI S is as traditional as a JRPG gets and it doesn't try to be something else.

    So should you buy this?
    Already played the Steam/PS4 versions? Maybe, I played the Steam version for over 120 hours and was left hungry for more.
    Haven't played this and love JRPG? Definitely
    Never played a JRPG before? Try the generous 5-10 hour demo first (and then buy it, demo savegames carry over to the full game)
    Expand
  18. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Don't listen to the ones that are rating this game a 0, they obviously never played this version. They are most likely ps4 people that are butthurt that they don't have the definitive version. We get extra quest, music that doesn't sound like crap, 2d mode and some quality of life improvements
  19. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    Amazing JRPG and one of the best turn-based RPG on the market. Good port quality! Looking awesome.
  20. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    La versión más completa y en portátil ¿Qué más se puede pedir? Puntazo para Square-Enix.
  21. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Amazing Jrpg, loved it. the classic style and the music and, its a great needed modern take on a classic legend
  22. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Mejor que su versión de ps4, pc y n3ds. Sobre todo por el contenido extra en 2d de Dragon Quest anteriores.
  23. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    Es la mejor version de todas lo recomiendo mucho y un gran juego que no se deven perder
  24. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    Juego Increíble, personalmente mi favorito de la saga, encima portátil y con mas contenido que la versión clásica: musica encrestada, el modo 2D, etc.....
    Recomendado 100%, en esta versión para swich lo han optimizado muy bien, se nota el trabajo que hay detrás.
    Lo único negativo que he encontrado es el consumo de batería en modo portátil, que literalmente la absorbe. Espero que lo
    Juego Increíble, personalmente mi favorito de la saga, encima portátil y con mas contenido que la versión clásica: musica encrestada, el modo 2D, etc.....
    Recomendado 100%, en esta versión para swich lo han optimizado muy bien, se nota el trabajo que hay detrás.
    Lo único negativo que he encontrado es el consumo de batería en modo portátil, que literalmente la absorbe.
    Espero que lo disfrute la gente que no haya podido probarlo, por la razón que sea y a los indecisos, o la gente que no conozca DQ les digo sinceramente que es un juego que merece la pena cada minuto invertido en el, una historia épica y al magia del mejor JRPG.
    Expand
  25. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S Definitive Edition is this year's best RPG!

    The amount of options from challenges like fighting harder monsters and only using items found and crafted and more, to playing it like a classic retro RPG in 2D graphics to scraft that retro itch, you can tailor the game to however you like playing. No random battles (except in 2D mode) gives you the freedom to pick your
    Dragon Quest XI S Definitive Edition is this year's best RPG!

    The amount of options from challenges like fighting harder monsters and only using items found and crafted and more, to playing it like a classic retro RPG in 2D graphics to scraft that retro itch, you can tailor the game to however you like playing. No random battles (except in 2D mode) gives you the freedom to pick your battles. You even have your choice of music between the MIDI and the orchestrated! This is all injected into a game with an amazing plot that will make you feel a range of emotions. For those unsure, try the demo on the eShop. It is a lengthy demo that will inform you better than any review would on whether this game it worth your time.
    Expand
  26. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    This game is at the peak of what a turn-based RPG can offer. Its story is expansive and engaging, the characters are vibrant, the Orchestral soundtrack is outstanding and nothing feels unpolished in the definitive edtion. This truly is a masterpiece. The Dragon Quest games have been flying the flag for the genre for decades and I really hope the effort that has been put into this gameThis game is at the peak of what a turn-based RPG can offer. Its story is expansive and engaging, the characters are vibrant, the Orchestral soundtrack is outstanding and nothing feels unpolished in the definitive edtion. This truly is a masterpiece. The Dragon Quest games have been flying the flag for the genre for decades and I really hope the effort that has been put into this game translates to sales. Expand
  27. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Old school turn based combat. Love this game!! So happy it came to switch. If you like the old Final Fantasy games with great story and story progression with the ability to upgrade , find new items , level up etc. Make sure to try this game!
  28. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Excelente historia, me encantan los personajes y el jugarlo de forma portátil es un plus...excelente
  29. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    For me, a big fan of oldschool RPGs and a newer DQ fan, this is the best game on the switch. I cant gush about it enough.

    Dragon Quest has charmed me in a way games havent been able to since I was very young playing Pokemon on GBC. And for that, I cannot thank you guys enough. This game is perfection
  30. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    The game is phenomenal, especially with the symphonic soundtrack. Also, you can play it on the go now. By the way, those stupid people who scored this game a zero are just immature PS4 fanboys, who don't even have a Switch, especially ElaineB who gave most Switch games a zero, but she gave the DQ XI PS$ version a 10. ElaineB, just a poor jealous piece of garbage.
  31. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Fantastic game! It runs amazing on the switch! The story is well put together and characters are well written.
  32. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    One of the best Jrpgs on Switch (Xenoblade 2 is the best) the graphics are amazing, gameplay. Addictive, and story is awesome. Must play for anyone that has Switch
  33. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    The Best versión of the game. NEW contento, 2d playstyle. NEW orchestal music. Get this game right now.
  34. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Espere un año para poder comprar esta version y valio completamente la pena, Square Enix no decepciona con este juego. para cualquiera que no guste mucho de los RPG por turnos le recomiendo este para empezar. ¡y que puedo decir? ¡ES DRAGON QUEST! no los voy a hacer perder el tiempo leyendo mas, si tienen dudas bajen la demo Expand
  35. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    The best JRPG since Final Fantasy IX. Outstanding in nearly every respect and a definite improvement over the original version.
  36. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    An amazing game, an amazing Dragon Quest, one of the best JRPG of the generation. If you're a fan of RPG, you must play this game... The plot, the OST, the protagonists are very good.
  37. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    One of the best JRPGs of all time and one of the best RPGs of this generation. This version is the best one and has a tons of features and added content like 2D mode and add backstories for the characters. Check it out, its a fantastic game and a masterpiece at that.
  38. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    I love this game series, and I also love 11 this game too. dragon quest, I love you
  39. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    It simply put fixes all the issues with the original the gameplay is more refined, it fixes the ost giving alot of variety, it has speed up and various new things like new story content, audio dramas, it has a camera function thats fun, it has ingedsting abd likable cast of characters subtle details galore a great world and cast of npcs awesome twtwists and turns
  40. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S: Ecos de un pasado perdido - Edición Definitiva
    "El mejor y más completo JRPG de la generación", en su mejor versión exclusiva de Nintendo Switch

    Gráficos: 10/10
    Duración: 10/10
    Banda Sonora: 10/10 (Esta versión incluye banda sonora orquestrada)
    Jugabilidad: 9/10
    SinglePlayer: 10/10
    História: 10/10

    Nota Final: 9,8 (10) - Obra Maestra
  41. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    La versión más completa,más largo,banda sonora orquestal,jugarlo en 2d es como tener 2 juegos en 1 ,gráficamente luce espectacular y jugarlo en portátil es una gozada,la mejor versión de todas sin duda alguna, más q un Port es un remake, el mejor Port de switch scondiferencia,y el
  42. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    En mi opinión creo que la versión de este juego para switch es buena. Aunque, evidentemente, a nivel gráfico no está a la misma altura que las versiones de otros sistemas, Square ha hecho un excelente port, que exceptuando el tema gráfico, mejora algunos puntos no tan buenos de las versiones anteriores.

    Los añadidos a esta versión (banda sonora orquestada, historias de personajes, modo
    En mi opinión creo que la versión de este juego para switch es buena. Aunque, evidentemente, a nivel gráfico no está a la misma altura que las versiones de otros sistemas, Square ha hecho un excelente port, que exceptuando el tema gráfico, mejora algunos puntos no tan buenos de las versiones anteriores.

    Los añadidos a esta versión (banda sonora orquestada, historias de personajes, modo 2d, etc.) hacen, junto a la portabilidad de esta versión, un producto redondo muy recomendable.

    Por lo demás, es un Dragon Quest, un RPG por turnos que gustará a los fans de los RPG clásicos.
    Expand
  43. Sep 30, 2019
    10
    So first of all I'd like to get some things clear, since I'm late to the reviewing session and have been able to see what the others wrote. Whoever picked this up thinking they were going to get a modern JRPG FF or Persona-like experience or a BotW level open world was not well informed. Don't judge a game on what you want it to be, but review it based on how well it achieves what itSo first of all I'd like to get some things clear, since I'm late to the reviewing session and have been able to see what the others wrote. Whoever picked this up thinking they were going to get a modern JRPG FF or Persona-like experience or a BotW level open world was not well informed. Don't judge a game on what you want it to be, but review it based on how well it achieves what it CLAIMS to be.

    And Dragon Quest XI S delivers just right on that. It's all we love about the traditional JRPG genre that it created. Dragon Quest was never there to try to revolutionize the genre but rather to stay true to its roots as its creator, and it does just that. I am of course no professional reviewer, but having played at least 10 hours into all the previous games of the series (Except Dragon Quest X), I think I can give a pretty good overview of how it compares to the others.

    In terms of the gameplay, it sticks to the traditional but efficient turn-based system, but adds on some novelties with pep powers and skill trees that make you reflect more on the build of your character. This skill tree is a welcome addition in contrast to just waiting for the character to unlock the exact list of spells and abilities they were given from the start, tho more limited than a potential class changing system, which we understandably couldn't expect seeing how they put a lot of work into animating the character specific capacities. Overall, it's similar to before, but enjoyable and somewhat refreshing nonetheless, with those little additions. As for exploration, it's DQ-style treasure hunting at its best. The areas are not "open world" per say, but DQ games never were open worlds, yet it still manages to get you pumped to look for treasures in secret areas around the world, and loves teasing you by showing you more treasures you cannot access yet. There's enough of a hunt to keep you interested in each area, but not too much that it eats up the rest of your game time and becomes irritating. Only downside was the difficulty of the game overall, which can somewhat be surpassed by activating one of the many Draconian challenges, tho those may then make the game too difficult for some. These Draconian "Quests" along with the 2D mode, are still well worth mentioning as great means of diversifying gameplay and allow for multiple enjoyable playthroughs

    No questions need to be asked for the soundtrack, as long as you have the symphonic version on, you'll definitely be enjoying yourself a lot. A few themes reappear maybe too frequently, but they're well crafted and memorable. It gives off that Dragon Quest vibe now in HQ like we rarely got before in any DQ games (Thanks Sugiyama ^^')

    As for the length of the game, I haven't finished it to say, but I've reached 40hrs and walkthrough seem to be telling me I am barely not even halfway through the story. Even in a straight line, the game offers more than enough content as a JRPG, compared to a lot of modern games, and much more if you are a completionist, with lots of side content, like quests, special requests by the mysterious Tockles, some fun at the casino (I guess... I dunno, that was the one place I hated in all DQ games), completing the bestiary and achievements, and more! And there's some additional post-game content I of course haven't touched yet

    I cannot rate the story in its entirety as I have not finished the game, however I will say that as I have experienced for now, it's some DQ at it's finest, with tragic pasts, destinies to save the world, and darkness taking over. The 3D look really helps you dive into the story even more, the cutscenes are well animated and you truly feel like you're having a grand adventure full of ups and downs. Don't expect some sort of crazy depth to the story that makes you reflect on the meaning of life. But I'm sure some of the twists will surprise you, and some of the harsh moments will get to you (I mean, look at that silent protagonist, the poor thing always looks sad haha)

    As for the graphics, tho I never owned the PS4 version, I can definitely say that this is not the version to go for if you want the best visual quality. But if you only own a Switch or if you want a more complete game over graphics, this is the version to go. In fact, the game really make the most of what the console can achieve, even in portable mode, with fluid animations, a nearly constant fps, nice lighting effect, and more to keep the world truly feeling alive. The environments and panoramas are undeniably beautiful, and each city feels unique and truly alive. I'm just really disappointed in the water effects, which seeing what the Switch could do with other games, could've been better

    Overall, Dragon Quest XI S on Switch is the true culmination of 30 years of a beautiful franchise, with lively cities to discover, bizarre monsters as ever, and an epic quest to save the world. I would rate it a 9/10 but I'll give it 10/10 to combat the unnecessary hate
    Expand
  44. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    Que ganas tengo por este juego
    Las docenas de horas que ofrece
    Un estilo de combate clasico por turnos y mejorado
    Una banda Sonora muy cuidada y reorquestada
    Una historia muy interesante Y una experiencia Classica en 2D Gráficamente inferior pero no deja de lucir muy bien en una portátil
    Nota final
    9/10
  45. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Best version of this game, with additional content and a superb 2D mode added. 11/10.
  46. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    The Best version of the Best Dragon Quest game.

    Seeing the same world in both 2D and 3D is incredible, the music are finally good with this version, and the additional contents are neat.
  47. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    O port desse jogo para o switch esta fenomenal, mesmo com pouco poder de hardware conseguiram fazer este jogo rodar de uma forma bem satisfatória. O jogo em si é muito bom e te rende diversas horas de gameplay. Um prato cheio para amantes de jrpg, que agora poderão jogar em qualquer lugar.
  48. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Muy buen juego y con las mejoras en esta versión lo hacen aún mejor. De lo mejor en switch.
  49. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Awesome port of an amazing game, the addition of the 2D mode is amazing and even if there is a slight graphical downgrade, the game is still gorgeous on the switch
  50. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    DQ11S is almost new game. It is far far better, than PS4 and PC versions. Symphonic orchestration is stunning. Presentation is still gorgeous. Plus new content and awesome japanese voiceover! If you want dive in the world dragon quest 11, switch version is your choice.
  51. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest 11 S Echoes of an elusive age is is without a doubt the best turn based jrpg of this Generation.
  52. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 這一版有更多的故事與互動,更便於攜帶遊玩加上專業的配音與音樂更讓人沈浸於這個世界之中。 Expand
  53. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Es una versión que no le hace mucho honor a la salida original, la resolución es muy baja en ciertas zonas sobrecargadas de elementos y el popping es atroz la mayoría del tiempo, las pantallas de carga son molestas, siento que los agregados extra son bastante intrascendentes y no mejoran realmente la experiencia de juego, una experiencia bastante inconsistente en mi opinión.
    Traslation:
    Es una versión que no le hace mucho honor a la salida original, la resolución es muy baja en ciertas zonas sobrecargadas de elementos y el popping es atroz la mayoría del tiempo, las pantallas de carga son molestas, siento que los agregados extra son bastante intrascendentes y no mejoran realmente la experiencia de juego, una experiencia bastante inconsistente en mi opinión.
    Traslation:
    It's a version that doesn't have much honor to the original release, the resolution is very low in certain areas overloaded with elements and the popping is atrocious most of the time, the loading screens are annoying, I feel that the extra aggregates are quite inconsequential and They don't really improve the game experience, a rather inconsistent experience in my opinion.
    Expand
  54. Oct 1, 2019
    6
    My first time playing a dragon quest game and I’m not impressed. The game looks ugly. The characters lack variety. The combat is quite boring. The story? Yikes....
  55. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    It's definitely one of the most disappointing Dragon Quest and its "definitive" version doesn't do much to improve the original experience that remains deficient, the story is promising but it becomes very generic and the plot twists are devoid of originality and depth, the music It is too repetitive and the amount of grinding that must be dedicated to defeat certain bosses is quiteIt's definitely one of the most disappointing Dragon Quest and its "definitive" version doesn't do much to improve the original experience that remains deficient, the story is promising but it becomes very generic and the plot twists are devoid of originality and depth, the music It is too repetitive and the amount of grinding that must be dedicated to defeat certain bosses is quite annoying, the game unnecessarily lengthens its duration and is boring. Expand
  56. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    Square Enix has done a bad job porting this game to the Switch, the performance is fatal, the resolution in portable mode is very low and the FPS are constantly falling, besides the music is considerably worse than in the original version of PS4/3DS/PC, Square Enix sold us this as a definitive version but in reality it's a fairly mediocre port.
  57. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Game is slow.
    You don't get to attribute points to unlock skill every level because each cap requires several points, which make the gameplay feels linear. The combat gets boring, music repetitive, no character creation like old DQ, no monster capturing like old DQ either from first 20 hours so I guess it's not in the game as well.
    Just a banal game.
  58. Oct 1, 2019
    1
    Dragon quest is not good and will never be accepted by a world wide audience. Stop pushing this crap down our throats.

    Ugly graphics, unoriginal uninspired tepid story, boring gameplay and combat.

    This dragon ball z wanna be doo doo is not worth anyone’s time.
  59. Oct 4, 2019
    9
    This game is a perfect laid-back experience on your switch. Enjoyable story, characters, amazing world and really beautiful towns. It's also worth pointing out how well it plays in handheld mode. I never played it before, but it certainly stands out.
  60. Oct 2, 2019
    8
    Great game, but it's missing the magic from the level-5 entries.
    Square enix removed a pepped up character change like they removed super high tension from dragon quest 8 3ds, it's like they don't understand cool stuff. So frustrating.
    The game itself is very good but a lot of their decisions just baffle me.
  61. Oct 11, 2019
    9
    Top notch game, old school rpg. Story and writing can get a little cheesy at times, but the characters grew on me. I initially owned the PC version, and played it for like 20h, but stopped when I heard a switch version was in the works. Now i’m 15 hours in, and I’m glad i held back from playing it. Imo, jrpgs work better on a portable system
  62. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    I don't even know exactly what you could say about this game, beside the fact that good basics is all you need really.
    This game doesn't try, to fancy the JRPG genre, it just gives you exactly what you want without restriction or "twist" on it.
    Great simple battle system, Main story that just never ends, long post game and challenges, great cast of character, a lot of small character arc
    I don't even know exactly what you could say about this game, beside the fact that good basics is all you need really.
    This game doesn't try, to fancy the JRPG genre, it just gives you exactly what you want without restriction or "twist" on it.
    Great simple battle system, Main story that just never ends, long post game and challenges, great cast of character, a lot of small character arc for a lot of NPC in the story that makes the world feel alive, a boat, something to fly on, a lot of bosses.

    This is the text book JRPG, play for comfort, adventure or just because you like it.
    RECOMMANDED: activate the draconian option when you start the game to activate stronger monster, the base game is too easy to really shine.
    Expand
  63. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Make sure you buy this game.
    Go out find and buy this game.
    Infact you owe it to yourself to play this game.
    Sexy game.
    Expand
  64. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    Es un juegazo. Lo tiene todo, buena historia, jugabilidad, personajes, ambientación y banda sonora. Lo recomiendo 100%
  65. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    This is the first time I play a Dragon Quest game from the series and I have to say that it is amazing.The story is full of twists and very interesting,easily it can keep you playing until th end.The gameplay is fun with a lot of different moves to use and a hard level up system that needs you to defeat enemies all the time,but don't worry because the combat system is great too.The game isThis is the first time I play a Dragon Quest game from the series and I have to say that it is amazing.The story is full of twists and very interesting,easily it can keep you playing until th end.The gameplay is fun with a lot of different moves to use and a hard level up system that needs you to defeat enemies all the time,but don't worry because the combat system is great too.The game is very long(imagine the post game can be 25 hours).Every character is unique and loved by the player,and there is a lot of good humor in the dialogue.I haven't got any problem at all in my 75 hours playthrough also.This game is 100% recommended. Expand
  66. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    This Jrpg is amazing.
    Easy the best in the series and all the extra content on the switch version makes it complete. One of the best Jrpg's I played in my life, Must buy!
  67. Oct 10, 2019
    9
    Absolutely stunning game! Haven’t finished the game yet but 100% worth a play through
  68. Oct 10, 2019
    10
    Now is as good a time as any to get into dragon quest. Perfect way to begin. Loved more than I could name couldn't find anything to dislike.
  69. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    The amount of content in this game is absolutely insane. Not only is it charming, but exceptionally well crafted and polished in every way. One of the best games in recent years no question. If you like JRPGs, then you’ll LOVE Dragon Quest XI S.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    While a straight port of Dragon Quest XI with the perk of playing portably on Switch would have been enticing enough, Square Enix went not just the extra mile, but many extra miles with the content rich Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition.
  2. Oct 12, 2019
    92
    Dragon Quest XI on Switch is a richer and more convenient experience than the original Japanese PS4 version. That being said, the additional scenarios have a slightly negative effect on the story as a whole, and it can not be denied that the Switch version is visually less impressive. While that makes it hard to call this the definitive version of Dragon Quest XI, it's still an amazing experience.
  3. Oct 11, 2019
    90
    Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age is a masterpiece of design that balances tradition and subtle innovation and is very bit as entertaining on the Switch as it was on PC or PS4. It’s a generous game with relaxed yet engaging storytelling and despite some minor graphical compromises and hiccups, it’s a near-perfect fit on the Switch, absolutely worth revisiting for those who played another version, and required playing for anyone with an interest in the genre or series.