User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 648 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 648
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    This game is at the peak of what a turn-based RPG can offer. Its story is expansive and engaging, the characters are vibrant, the Orchestral soundtrack is outstanding and nothing feels unpolished in the definitive edtion. This truly is a masterpiece. The Dragon Quest games have been flying the flag for the genre for decades and I really hope the effort that has been put into this gameThis game is at the peak of what a turn-based RPG can offer. Its story is expansive and engaging, the characters are vibrant, the Orchestral soundtrack is outstanding and nothing feels unpolished in the definitive edtion. This truly is a masterpiece. The Dragon Quest games have been flying the flag for the genre for decades and I really hope the effort that has been put into this game translates to sales. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2019
    7
    Pretty disappointed. Game isn't bad by any means, but overall it just feels 10 years older than it looks. Moving around and jumping feel super awkward. And outside of the minimap, the game does a poor job clarifying which terrain is traversable. This gives that feeling old games had where invisible walls are around you all the time. They also tried to modernize the turn based battlePretty disappointed. Game isn't bad by any means, but overall it just feels 10 years older than it looks. Moving around and jumping feel super awkward. And outside of the minimap, the game does a poor job clarifying which terrain is traversable. This gives that feeling old games had where invisible walls are around you all the time. They also tried to modernize the turn based battle system, but frankly the poor integration of movement just made it weird.

    Dragon Quest XI S has potential but they clearly should have spent more time polishing both the games and their ideas.
    Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2019
    2
    The port suffers from an evident technical downgrade, longer loading times and especially on big screen the resolution looks milky. Some performance dips , but rare
    The added quests are quite short and the 2D mode is just a gimmick.

    Barebone combat system which is inferior the other recent jrpg counterparts and uneven difficulty. Most time way too easy.
  4. Oct 8, 2019
    9
    I've already gone through the ps4 version, but the port of the switch version is absolutely great and probably the best version of the game. Technically, of course, a bit weaker, but mobile playable and with many extra features.
  5. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    I've played previous dragon-quest games but haven't in a while. I decided to pick this game up because they had the 7hr demo and your progress moved over to the real game. Let me tell you playing this game was the best time I've had playing my switch in a while. An awesome JRPG for the switch with 100+hrs of gameplay, turnbased fighting mechanics, awesome music, and beautiful graphics. II've played previous dragon-quest games but haven't in a while. I decided to pick this game up because they had the 7hr demo and your progress moved over to the real game. Let me tell you playing this game was the best time I've had playing my switch in a while. An awesome JRPG for the switch with 100+hrs of gameplay, turnbased fighting mechanics, awesome music, and beautiful graphics. I don't know how they did it but the graphics are so good compared to some bigger titles out there(looking at you fire emblem). All in all i think it's really fun, and worth the price. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2019
    9
    Amazing port from the PS version. The orchestrated soundtrack is awesome, and graphics is beautifully suited on the Switch's screen. The demo is even better than some of the full-price games, and it helped me quench the thirst of longing for the real game. One disappointing point is that the 2D version requires you to start from a certain point in a chapter, but the cutting off of aAmazing port from the PS version. The orchestrated soundtrack is awesome, and graphics is beautifully suited on the Switch's screen. The demo is even better than some of the full-price games, and it helped me quench the thirst of longing for the real game. One disappointing point is that the 2D version requires you to start from a certain point in a chapter, but the cutting off of a chapter is not obvious.
    The pacing is great that I feel like I haven't done anything, but the story has progressed so much. I didn't need to grind too much, usually it's grinding for the materials I need for forging, not for level. It is worthy for my wait for the NS version.
    Expand
  7. Oct 1, 2019
    10
    Amazing. MUST PLAY!!! Played the demo, very long by the way, and bought the game on day 1. One of my favourite RPGs, second to only Fire Emblem Awakening (a personal soft spot of mine). Just play the demo, M'KAY?
    V
  8. Oct 20, 2019
    9
    Dragon Quest XI is an excellent game in its own right. The world is beautiful and full of places to explore even if it is "linear" for most of the game. The combat is deceptively simple at first glance, but as the game progresses you will see that there is a good deal of strategy involved in getting the most out of the characters. The story is pretty by the numbers but has a few twistsDragon Quest XI is an excellent game in its own right. The world is beautiful and full of places to explore even if it is "linear" for most of the game. The combat is deceptively simple at first glance, but as the game progresses you will see that there is a good deal of strategy involved in getting the most out of the characters. The story is pretty by the numbers but has a few twists here and there to remain interesting. The characters are also memorable. It runs just fine on the Switch and the portability is a big plus to this release. It just barely misses being a 10 because it overstays its welcome just a bit. I don't have a problem with longer games (this is a jrpg after all) but Dragon Quest XI could have ended sooner than it did and left me with a higher opinion of the story. Expand
  9. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    Buen juego me gusto mucho la jugabilidad, la experiancia de juego, me gusto mucho
  10. Oct 25, 2019
    9
    One of the best jrpgs I’ve played in a long time - great visuals and gameplay, fairly interesting story, decent music. Some of the quests felt like a chore (e.g. defeat this monster with this exact spell at this time of day etc) but most of the story and side content felt like it belonged and was engaging.
  11. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This is what ni no kuni 2 shouldve been. Yes you can tell there is alot of restraint to the plot and character development due the game being released on a Nintendo console but the developers still managed to make an interesting journey. There are huuuge call backs to old jrpg tropes and there is a clear studio ghibli influence which theyve managed to execute properly. This version of theThis is what ni no kuni 2 shouldve been. Yes you can tell there is alot of restraint to the plot and character development due the game being released on a Nintendo console but the developers still managed to make an interesting journey. There are huuuge call backs to old jrpg tropes and there is a clear studio ghibli influence which theyve managed to execute properly. This version of the game offers anything you might need in a 2019 jrpg. I think the biggest positive is the attention to detail and the homages given to the previous games in the dragon quest series. Overall it was a lovely experience and well worth the 60$ oh! And for those that say its too easy there is an option to make things harder for you. Actually there are multiple options to make things harder. Buy and support please!! Its not often we get games like this. Expand
  12. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Una forma nueva se jugar a un rpg 2 versiones en 1 fantastico...version 2d es como jugar una version nueva del mismo juego Expand
  13. Oct 10, 2019
    9
    Absolutely stunning game! Haven’t finished the game yet but 100% worth a play through
  14. Oct 17, 2019
    9
    One of the best things about this game is how vibrant and diverse most of the characters are. Different build options for each of them and interesting storyline that showcases their personality very well. I found it totally engaging. Gamewise, there is not a lot of difficulty during the gameplay, but besides this particular issue, each city and scenery are amazing and full of real lifeOne of the best things about this game is how vibrant and diverse most of the characters are. Different build options for each of them and interesting storyline that showcases their personality very well. I found it totally engaging. Gamewise, there is not a lot of difficulty during the gameplay, but besides this particular issue, each city and scenery are amazing and full of real life references. The comical touch it has sometimes is also on point. The improvements of this version in comparision to the PS4 edition are nice: 2D mode that brings you back to previous Dragon Quest worlds, several additions that make the game more fluid (when buying items to the forge, for instance), some new costumes and other small details that made a whole lot of difference. I totally recommend it to those who enjoy the JRPG genre. Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2019
    9
    Dragon Quest 11S has been one of the best JRPG experiences I've enjoyed so far. It's one of the most well-paced and well-written sagas with a wonderful cast of characters, beautiful locales and adorable monsters. I have yet to find a game that respects your time better than this: playing it one hour at a time gives an satisfying episodic vibe, yet binging it ten hours at a time is equallyDragon Quest 11S has been one of the best JRPG experiences I've enjoyed so far. It's one of the most well-paced and well-written sagas with a wonderful cast of characters, beautiful locales and adorable monsters. I have yet to find a game that respects your time better than this: playing it one hour at a time gives an satisfying episodic vibe, yet binging it ten hours at a time is equally enjoyable. The worldbuilding is stellar, with callouts and references to itself and it's own characters across its varied geography. DQ11S comes with three hours of extra campaign scenarios that add meat to an already hefty plot and these additions are very welcome. Dragon Quest has been a franchise that has accompanied me at many points of my life, but never have I fallen harder for a DQ entry, or even a JRPG game, than I have with DQ11. It's an excellent entry level JRPG, and an excellent JRPG for fans of the genre. Try it. Expand
  16. Oct 2, 2019
    8
    Great game, but it's missing the magic from the level-5 entries.
    Square enix removed a pepped up character change like they removed super high tension from dragon quest 8 3ds, it's like they don't understand cool stuff. So frustrating.
    The game itself is very good but a lot of their decisions just baffle me.
  17. Oct 2, 2019
    10
    Might possibly be the best classic JRPG experience on the Nintendo Switch currently. There is a slight downgrade in the graphics department, but if you can look past that minor hiccup, this is a great game through and through.
  18. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    I don't even know exactly what you could say about this game, beside the fact that good basics is all you need really.
    This game doesn't try, to fancy the JRPG genre, it just gives you exactly what you want without restriction or "twist" on it.
    Great simple battle system, Main story that just never ends, long post game and challenges, great cast of character, a lot of small character arc
    I don't even know exactly what you could say about this game, beside the fact that good basics is all you need really.
    This game doesn't try, to fancy the JRPG genre, it just gives you exactly what you want without restriction or "twist" on it.
    Great simple battle system, Main story that just never ends, long post game and challenges, great cast of character, a lot of small character arc for a lot of NPC in the story that makes the world feel alive, a boat, something to fly on, a lot of bosses.

    This is the text book JRPG, play for comfort, adventure or just because you like it.
    RECOMMANDED: activate the draconian option when you start the game to activate stronger monster, the base game is too easy to really shine.
    Expand
  19. Oct 29, 2019
    9
    Me he esperado a esta versión para jugarlo (A pesar de que algunas otras versiones sean superiores gráficamente) y sinceramente, no me arrepiento para nada. Un diseño de personajes muy bueno, como siempre vamos… Una historia que sin ser la panacea es entretenida, sobre todo al final que es cuando más interesante se pone. Los añadidos de esta versión se agradecen muchísimo para hacer másMe he esperado a esta versión para jugarlo (A pesar de que algunas otras versiones sean superiores gráficamente) y sinceramente, no me arrepiento para nada. Un diseño de personajes muy bueno, como siempre vamos… Una historia que sin ser la panacea es entretenida, sobre todo al final que es cuando más interesante se pone. Los añadidos de esta versión se agradecen muchísimo para hacer más redondo el juego. Solo dos pegas, combates demasiado sencillos y misiones secundarias bastante repetitivas. Creo que este juego es lo que FFXV debería de haber sido y por donde Square Enix debería de tirar… Expand
  20. Oct 26, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI S Es uno de esos juegos de verdad, cargado de historia, contenido y mecánicas sólidas que han trascendido desde el primer Dragon Quest. Es un juego perfecto para comenzar si no estás iniciado en la saga y se ha convertido rápidamente en uno de mis preferidos.

    Como amante de juegos RPG debo de decir que se siente fresco regresar al clásico, eficiente y encantador sistema
    Dragon Quest XI S Es uno de esos juegos de verdad, cargado de historia, contenido y mecánicas sólidas que han trascendido desde el primer Dragon Quest. Es un juego perfecto para comenzar si no estás iniciado en la saga y se ha convertido rápidamente en uno de mis preferidos.

    Como amante de juegos RPG debo de decir que se siente fresco regresar al clásico, eficiente y encantador sistema de combate por turnos. El mundo aunque se sienta algo restrictivo al principio es inmenso y lleno de puntos a explorar.

    Un aspecto que no he visto en ninguna review es que este juego se disfruta bastante en sonido 5.1, es inversivo y los efectos, las batallas, los diálogos, ¡todo! tiene otro nivel de inmersión. Es un genial detalle que muchos no llegan a apreciar, pero si eres afortunado de tener teatro en casa, es un requisito usar el modo sobremesa de la Nintendo Switch.

    ¿Hay downgrade? Si
    ¿Importa? No

    Esta versión del Juego no le pide nada a sus versiones anteriores. Altamente recomendable.
    Expand
  21. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    A must-play for any Switch owner. The game contains many likable characters, a story containing both funny and dramatic elements to it. Combat is extremely satisfying as characters are in some ways blank slates that the player is prompted to build the way they want.
  22. Oct 20, 2019
    9
    Since this was my first Dragon Quest game ever, I cannot say how this compares to previous entries in the series. That said, I loved this game so much. The world, the characters, the combat. All of it was just so much fun and engaging. Dragon Quest XI S has easily become one of my favorite games. I’m definitely gonna play future games of the series now.
  23. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Un gran port, el Switch lo corre muy bien tanto en Dock como portátil, la historia es muy buena y el arte del juego es fantástico.
    Un gran acierto tenerlo en Switch
  24. OoT
    Nov 15, 2019
    9
    One of my favorite games on the Switch. The game looks and runs well. Obviously compromises had to be made from the PS4, but the gameplay is as fun as ever. This is a must own for RPG lovers
  25. Jan 31, 2020
    9
    I'm having a great time with this game! So many awesome locations and places to explore. If you're reading this, get it now!
  26. Oct 27, 2020
    10
    To put it simply, this is the greatest JRPG of the modern era. It knows what it is/wants to be and had the time, money, passion, and experienced team to pull it off. If you like JRPGs, you must play this game immediately.
  27. Jan 6, 2021
    9
    2019了还在做传统jprg的估计只有DQ了,玩试玩版玩了一会就喜欢上了(试玩版竟然有10小时内容,真的值),喜欢DQ的剧情,有阳光有黑暗,有那么一点中二热血,但又没有那么中二,时常会被感动到。里面还有一部分内容是致敬前作DQ的,直接做成了像素风,不影响主线,但非常好玩,整个DQ11最后打完差不多花了125小时,是我第一个破100小时的游戏。
    游戏的最终boss出来后目的性就有点太明确了:做支线,升级,打装备。会有那么一点无聊。
    2019了还在做传统jprg的估计只有DQ了,玩试玩版玩了一会就喜欢上了(试玩版竟然有10小时内容,真的值),喜欢DQ的剧情,有阳光有黑暗,有那么一点中二热血,但又没有那么中二,时常会被感动到。里面还有一部分内容是致敬前作DQ的,直接做成了像素风,不影响主线,但非常好玩,整个DQ11最后打完差不多花了125小时,是我第一个破100小时的游戏。
    游戏的最终boss出来后目的性就有点太明确了:做支线,升级,打装备。会有那么一点无聊。
  28. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    More content, more polish, more options, simply the best version of one of the best JRPGs of the decade.
  29. Oct 4, 2019
    9
    This game is a perfect laid-back experience on your switch. Enjoyable story, characters, amazing world and really beautiful towns. It's also worth pointing out how well it plays in handheld mode. I never played it before, but it certainly stands out.
  30. Oct 11, 2019
    9
    Top notch game, old school rpg. Story and writing can get a little cheesy at times, but the characters grew on me. I initially owned the PC version, and played it for like 20h, but stopped when I heard a switch version was in the works. Now i’m 15 hours in, and I’m glad i held back from playing it. Imo, jrpgs work better on a portable system
  31. Dec 30, 2020
    10
    I been trying to find a game that bring back old memories of playing video since playstation 2 .Dragon Quest 11 give me that amazing feeling that alot of game are missing . Not ever new video have to run each other . To be honest it's getting tired of seeing video games showing of graphics that doesn't look good on launch one world map . Dragon Quest 11 is the one game that doesn't need toI been trying to find a game that bring back old memories of playing video since playstation 2 .Dragon Quest 11 give me that amazing feeling that alot of game are missing . Not ever new video have to run each other . To be honest it's getting tired of seeing video games showing of graphics that doesn't look good on launch one world map . Dragon Quest 11 is the one game that doesn't need to follow the trend . While playing other RPG in this gem. Final Fantasy XV , Final Fantasy vii remake Persona 5 Shin Megami Tensei IV .while does some are them are good and one was a joke .. after this I'm a fan of dragon quest and I know when dragon quest 12 cones out it will be amazing Expand
  32. Dec 5, 2019
    9
    Excelente juego.
    - Mecánicas obsoletas para la fecha (todos acción RPG)
    - Música Orquestada, aunque se le notan en falta una mayor cantidad. - Ciertas opciones como cambiar de objetos, revisar inventario e info se hace demasiado lento. - Dificultades Fácil - Difícil. Con todo lo normalito y family friendly que son las historias de Dragon Quest le dedique mas de 200 hrs para
    Excelente juego.
    - Mecánicas obsoletas para la fecha (todos acción RPG)
    - Música Orquestada, aunque se le notan en falta una mayor cantidad.
    - Ciertas opciones como cambiar de objetos, revisar inventario e info se hace demasiado lento.
    - Dificultades Fácil - Difícil.

    Con todo lo normalito y family friendly que son las historias de Dragon Quest le dedique mas de 200 hrs para completarlo al 100%.
    En su dificultad draconiana es cuando le sacas el máximo provecho al juego, aunque el port trae consigo un downgrade en gráficos, no se extrañan en ningún momento, ademas del plus del audio en japones que debió existir desde siempre, junto con las quest de los cronolimos en vez de las dianas, hacen esta versión la mejor experiencia para jugarla. Valio la pena la espera y hace que aunque no te guste la saga DQ este titulo debe estar en los imprescindibles.
    Expand
  33. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Make sure you buy this game.
    Go out find and buy this game.
    Infact you owe it to yourself to play this game.
    Sexy game.
    Expand
  34. Nov 26, 2019
    9
    After hearing about the Pokémon Sw/Sh debacle, I decided to pick up this game instead. That was one of the best decisions I've made in a while. To address the elephant in the room, yes the music is pretty low quality. The actual compositions sound fine, but the midi instruments sound awful and grating. I eventually turned off my sound every time I played. Other than that, this game isAfter hearing about the Pokémon Sw/Sh debacle, I decided to pick up this game instead. That was one of the best decisions I've made in a while. To address the elephant in the room, yes the music is pretty low quality. The actual compositions sound fine, but the midi instruments sound awful and grating. I eventually turned off my sound every time I played. Other than that, this game is pretty damn good. This game is gorgeous, and every design feels like a ton of love was poured into them. The animations on the enemies make them feel lively and I enjoyed simply discovering the new designs as I went through the game. Battles feel great, though I recommend you turn off the free camera and turn on classic camera, as it fits the flow of combat a little bit better, in my opinion. I will say that later on in the game it gets kinda grindy as you try to level up to beat the increasingly hard bosses. You will not want to just run past every enemy, instead try to fight as many as you can and get as much exp as possible. Overall I've enjoyed this gave very much and I hope everyone gets a chance to play this sometime in the future. Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2019
    9
    This is Dragon Quest 11 with more content and music that doesn’t sound bad without mods. The graphics are obviously worse, but still look better than competitors like sword and shield. The quests added were pleasant and 2d mode was cool. I recommend this game for people who have not played the ps4 or pc versions. And if you have played them I recommend this if it goes on sale or you areThis is Dragon Quest 11 with more content and music that doesn’t sound bad without mods. The graphics are obviously worse, but still look better than competitors like sword and shield. The quests added were pleasant and 2d mode was cool. I recommend this game for people who have not played the ps4 or pc versions. And if you have played them I recommend this if it goes on sale or you are just that into dragon quest. Expand
  36. Nov 28, 2019
    9
    I bought this game as a "let's just play a game that might or might not beat ff7 in rpg gameplay" but OOOOOOOF, This is without a doubt an amazing port of the PC and PS4 game, my friend had the PS4 version (but I own a xbox one instead, I know, I suck) but this version is good, I won' t talk about the gameplay, but it's good, also I love the retro style, it's really nice. Play it you RPGI bought this game as a "let's just play a game that might or might not beat ff7 in rpg gameplay" but OOOOOOOF, This is without a doubt an amazing port of the PC and PS4 game, my friend had the PS4 version (but I own a xbox one instead, I know, I suck) but this version is good, I won' t talk about the gameplay, but it's good, also I love the retro style, it's really nice. Play it you RPG geeks (yeah, I'm also a RPG geek) Expand
  37. Mar 6, 2021
    3
    Another jrpg with disappointing story. I fell asleep several times while playing this game
  38. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    This is my first JRPG and a first for Dragon Quest. I have been playing video games since the very first one was released many decades ago. The graphics are excellent & the story is good, but that's about it. The music is mind numbing and the ability to manipulate the characters is slim. During battle, you just basically stand there and do nothing. You can't use any items in your personalThis is my first JRPG and a first for Dragon Quest. I have been playing video games since the very first one was released many decades ago. The graphics are excellent & the story is good, but that's about it. The music is mind numbing and the ability to manipulate the characters is slim. During battle, you just basically stand there and do nothing. You can't use any items in your personal bag, you can't maneuver the characters other than moving, you just wait until you either win or lose, but what good is that? This is highly disappointing! Unless I am missing something, this is not a very Interactive game. Expand
  39. Jan 29, 2021
    4
    Not captivating in the least. Voice acting is comically bad, which isn't totally bad because at least it's funny. But the combat is dull and repetitive. And moving around in the world feels like a chore. Story is cliche and dull. Camera controls feel clumsy. It is charming I suppose which I why I didn't give it a zero but it truly is a game of such an easy difficulty, I felt moreNot captivating in the least. Voice acting is comically bad, which isn't totally bad because at least it's funny. But the combat is dull and repetitive. And moving around in the world feels like a chore. Story is cliche and dull. Camera controls feel clumsy. It is charming I suppose which I why I didn't give it a zero but it truly is a game of such an easy difficulty, I felt more accomplished for stomaching the god awful story and mechanics.

    Do yourself a favor and don't buy this game
    Expand
  40. Apr 10, 2021
    10
    Dragon Quest XI is a real celebration of the series as a whole. It's pure JRPG comfort food.
  41. Feb 1, 2020
    10
    Extraordinary game and fabulous switch port. In my opinion the pinnacle of JRPGs. My fave since Xenoblade and maybe clear back to chrono trigger.
  42. Jul 21, 2020
    9
    While it doesn't try to innovate quite as much as, say, the Persona series, this is a classically-styled JRPG that is highly polished and expertly refined in nearly every way. While Square's Final Fantasy efforts the past decade or so have been mostly overly designed, bloated efforts that attempt to reinvent the wheel, DQ stays true to its roots while honing the edges of a tried and trueWhile it doesn't try to innovate quite as much as, say, the Persona series, this is a classically-styled JRPG that is highly polished and expertly refined in nearly every way. While Square's Final Fantasy efforts the past decade or so have been mostly overly designed, bloated efforts that attempt to reinvent the wheel, DQ stays true to its roots while honing the edges of a tried and true formula. It won't convert anyone who cannot stand to play JRPGs, but will surely win the hearts of those who are accepting of the strengths and weaknesses of the genre.

    The story, as usual, is similar to past titles (FF does this too), but the characters, dialogue, and voice acting are all top notch. The English dub is superb. The music leaves a bit to be desired, however. Though the tracks are well done (especially the Switch orchestral versions), they repeat constantly and often don't fit the tone of the the scripted scenes. There should have been more variety for a game of this caliber. Balancing is fair, in normal mode, and compared to many other JRPGs, you won't find yourself needing to grind endlessly throughout the quest.

    The Switch version looks nice, given its capacity, and suffers from very few technical hitches, in my experience. Audio sounds great and not compressed to hell. Overall, an impressive port.
    Expand
  43. Jan 13, 2020
    10
    Game is absolutely phenomenal. Great relaxing game to play with a good soundtrack, nice visual style (even an optional 2D version of the entire game), and really strong story. I am not usually a big fan of turn based RPGs, but the reviews were so good for this one that I couldn't pass it up. I am so glad I didn't. I have been totally obsessed with this game since I got it a couple weeksGame is absolutely phenomenal. Great relaxing game to play with a good soundtrack, nice visual style (even an optional 2D version of the entire game), and really strong story. I am not usually a big fan of turn based RPGs, but the reviews were so good for this one that I couldn't pass it up. I am so glad I didn't. I have been totally obsessed with this game since I got it a couple weeks ago. I think about it while I am at work, lying in bed, driving, etc. To me, that is the mark of a good game. It sticks with you, and that is exactly what DQ 11 does. You owe it to yourself to play this game. Expand
  44. Jan 5, 2020
    10
    Bought this game on ps4 and as soon as it came out on switch bought it again. Switch has options that the consoles don’t I love the 2d option as you can hack the game in the early stages by collection the skill and stat seeds from the first few areas and then switch to the other view style and retain them rinse repeat and build your characters up. The story line is flawless and the game isBought this game on ps4 and as soon as it came out on switch bought it again. Switch has options that the consoles don’t I love the 2d option as you can hack the game in the early stages by collection the skill and stat seeds from the first few areas and then switch to the other view style and retain them rinse repeat and build your characters up. The story line is flawless and the game is just a treat from all aspects. Expand
  45. Mar 16, 2020
    10
    Oh my F#*- this game is just steadily climbing into my top 5 favorite games of all time with each hour I play.
    Im about 25 hours in and hot damn this game is like the perfect blend of old school turn based RPG Nostalgia and modernish technology and graphics. I feel like Im playing a 3D version of Shining Force ! This game just makes you wanna take a bubble bath, put on some sweatpants,
    Oh my F#*- this game is just steadily climbing into my top 5 favorite games of all time with each hour I play.
    Im about 25 hours in and hot damn this game is like the perfect blend of old school turn based RPG Nostalgia and modernish technology and graphics. I feel like Im playing a 3D version of Shining Force ! This game just makes you wanna take a bubble bath, put on some sweatpants, eat a space cookie and just chillax and see which way the game takes you next! I guess in Japan this game is so popular that it has to be released on the weekend otherwise the entire country will take the day off to stay home and play it. I can honestly see why! I have also heard that its very popular in Japan to play after a bubble bath and although I have not taken a bubble bath and played it I can assure you its on my list of thing to do once I acquire some bubbles.
    I dont want to beat a dead horse on the bubble bath thing but dood, this game is so chill and enjoyable! Its not too hard and not too easy, its not too confusing and not too simple and its the perfect way to pass a tired night or sleepy Sunday. Its straight up RPG nostalgia bliss and I need some bubbles!
    Expand
  46. Apr 8, 2020
    10
    I've played this game for around 280hrs. The gameplay is so exciting and the story was amazing! I wasn't expecting the end game content. Absolutely 10/10 for me.
  47. Jan 15, 2020
    10
    I never anticipated buying DQ11, but Square Enix offered a demo with a generous 10 hours of gameplay. Very soon I realized this is the greatest JRPG ever made. This is not hyperbolic the game nails everything correctly between its engaging story, characters, combat system, world building, customization, and replayability. if you enjoy the JRPG genre then you owe it to yourself to play theI never anticipated buying DQ11, but Square Enix offered a demo with a generous 10 hours of gameplay. Very soon I realized this is the greatest JRPG ever made. This is not hyperbolic the game nails everything correctly between its engaging story, characters, combat system, world building, customization, and replayability. if you enjoy the JRPG genre then you owe it to yourself to play the damn game. Expand
  48. VTL
    Dec 11, 2019
    9
    Genial version la verdad y con mucho contenido añadido (bso orquestrada, modo 2d, historia de "los minis blancos"...) la verdad que es la mejor version sin duda. Por contenido claro está graficamente las de PS4 y XBOX son mejores (sobre todo esta ultima en la X) pero el modo portatil barre a todos. Genial RPG de lo mejor de los ultimos años sin ninguna duda...
  49. Nov 11, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest XI es el mejor trabajo de una de las sagas más longevas en la historia de los videojuegos. Es un rpg cautivante y que tiene personajes vivos. La historia tiene un ritmo muy ameno, los combates clásicos tienen la magia de DQ y la música orquestada es una maravilla. El único pero que podría darle es lla resolución, obviamente no está al mismo nivel que en PS4. Pero todo lo queDragon Quest XI es el mejor trabajo de una de las sagas más longevas en la historia de los videojuegos. Es un rpg cautivante y que tiene personajes vivos. La historia tiene un ritmo muy ameno, los combates clásicos tienen la magia de DQ y la música orquestada es una maravilla. El único pero que podría darle es lla resolución, obviamente no está al mismo nivel que en PS4. Pero todo lo que incluye merece la pena y más. Esta versión, sin duda alguna, es la mejor por lejos. Doblaje, modo 2d, historias adicionales. Es un juego que debería estar en cualquier estantería de amantes de rpg. Expand
  50. Dec 7, 2019
    10
    No puedo entender como es que me gusto tanto este juego, es mi primer acercamiento a la saga y puedo decir que es un juego obligado para los amantes del JRPG.
    Las voces en japones son geniales y difrtute el juego de inicio a fin.
    Ojala mas puedan tenerlo por que es un juego obligado en la switch.
  51. Apr 14, 2020
    10
    Easily the best JRPG of the decade. A "must have" for all the lovers of this style.
  52. Oct 25, 2020
    10
    La verdad no tengo nada malo que decir. Es obvio que es inferior gráficamente a otras versiones, pero si quieres algo superior compra otra consola y el juego y listo. Gráficamente se ve muy bien, la música es increíble. Es muy agradable no tener que dar instrucciones para cada una de las pequeñas batallas en las que participas para farmear, pero poder controlar todo con enemigos másLa verdad no tengo nada malo que decir. Es obvio que es inferior gráficamente a otras versiones, pero si quieres algo superior compra otra consola y el juego y listo. Gráficamente se ve muy bien, la música es increíble. Es muy agradable no tener que dar instrucciones para cada una de las pequeñas batallas en las que participas para farmear, pero poder controlar todo con enemigos más fuertes. Son interesantes todas sus opciones de juego retro, pero son más una curiosidad que otra cosa. La historia es bastante agradable y hasta cierto punto puede ser interesante, pero no es ningún triller. Expand
  53. May 8, 2020
    10
    Este es un juego de los que debe ser considerado una obra maestra, un 10 muy muy merecido. La única "pega" es que el juego no es innovador, sí no muy conservador. Básicamente es el epitomo de lo que es un jrpg clásico llevado a su máximo exponente, y actualizando algunas de las mecánicas clásicas sin eliminarlas para que su gameplay sea accesible y disfrutable a los tiempos actuales.
    Si
    Este es un juego de los que debe ser considerado una obra maestra, un 10 muy muy merecido. La única "pega" es que el juego no es innovador, sí no muy conservador. Básicamente es el epitomo de lo que es un jrpg clásico llevado a su máximo exponente, y actualizando algunas de las mecánicas clásicas sin eliminarlas para que su gameplay sea accesible y disfrutable a los tiempos actuales.
    Si te gustan los JRPGS y/o la saga dragon quest es una compra obligatoria con muchas horas de contenido.
    Si no te gustan los JRPGS clásicos o las historias clásicas (estilo dragon quest), prueba primero la demo (que son unas buenas cuantas horas de juego).
    Expand
  54. Nov 1, 2019
    10
    Esta version esta a la altura de las demas, manteniene la jugabilidad ademas tiene contenido exclusivo. my bueno para jugar en modo portatill. te permite farmear experiencia y objetos.
  55. Feb 13, 2020
    10
    Best game to introduce you to the JRPG genre. It is a masterpiece and runs surprisingly good on the switch. Game is a must not only for jrpg fans but for everyone. Every scene is well delivered every character voice is on point (speaking of the English). Its a easy 9.5-10/10 the only thing that can be improved is to make the main character more alive by giving him Voice.
  56. Nov 16, 2019
    10
    Dragon Quest 11 S is now currently my favorite JRPG and RPG in general of all time as of recent. The combat itself is very standard but the characters are extremely lovable and memorable, the world is open and vibrant with many huge and interesting areas to explore, and the story on surface is very generic but behind that thin layer is an amazing story that made me have two majorDragon Quest 11 S is now currently my favorite JRPG and RPG in general of all time as of recent. The combat itself is very standard but the characters are extremely lovable and memorable, the world is open and vibrant with many huge and interesting areas to explore, and the story on surface is very generic but behind that thin layer is an amazing story that made me have two major epiphanies. Please PLEASE if you're looking for a good JRPG to play on Nintendo Switch pick this game up! Dragon Quest 11 S should arguably be up there with the likes of Super Mario Odyssey, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. Expand
  57. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    Es un juegazo. Lo tiene todo, buena historia, jugabilidad, personajes, ambientación y banda sonora. Lo recomiendo 100%
  58. Apr 5, 2020
    10
    This masterpiece has become the only turned based RPG I'll ever need. Great story, great characters, and easy to learn. My only complaint is the mechanics, when running through town or out in the field, are a little wonky
  59. Apr 28, 2021
    10
    Probably one of the best JRPGs of all time. Between the world building, characters, and gameplay, it's hard for me to say anything negative about it. The designs done by Akira Toriyama look amazing, and the graphical style is so charming. The plot is an absolute thrill to discover, and the music is always on point. I don't think there's a single song in this game that I even mildly disliked.
  60. Dec 7, 2019
    10
    la historia va mejorando con forme avanza, muy adictivo y una nueva cota de entretenimiento, la banda sonora en una delicia en sinfónica, los regresos a la era de 8 bits y las misiones del tiempo, le dan un gran valor a este juegaso
  61. Nov 7, 2019
    10
    DQ11 con su versión en Switch es la más completa, de hecho, mas que otro port, es un remake. Más contenido en la historia, banda sonora orquestal, modo 2d (como si tenemos 2 juegos en 1), gráficamente luce espectacular, mas monturas para andar y jugarlo en portátil es un gran añadido para este tipo de juegos JRPG. Con diferencia, el mejor DQ11.
  62. Oct 11, 2020
    10
    It was my first dragon quest contact ever. I started with the demo, and that's what took the hold of my soul and reminded me about my long forgotten love towards the turn based RPGs. Graphics are smooth and compact, I adore the art of Akira Toriyama. My favourite characters were Erik, Jade, Rab, Veronica and Hero, whom I named Jotaro. Enemies have a clever design here as well, IIt was my first dragon quest contact ever. I started with the demo, and that's what took the hold of my soul and reminded me about my long forgotten love towards the turn based RPGs. Graphics are smooth and compact, I adore the art of Akira Toriyama. My favourite characters were Erik, Jade, Rab, Veronica and Hero, whom I named Jotaro. Enemies have a clever design here as well, I appreciated the look of sabrecat and sabrecub, all dragons (especially Yggdragon), Jargon, Hornknight and Sham hatwitch (and their variants) and many more. The plot was a little longer than I expected and it had some twists I would never consider (if I count correctly, there were 5 for me). I was shocked by the diversity of the map, it was made thoughtfully, the pallet of colours ain't dull and that's nice. Music with time got repetitive and it sucked, so while I played in handheld I muted the game music xD However, while docked I used it. I appreciate that I had an option to choose between Japanese and English dubs (I used Japanese with English subs it seemed more natural, since it has the art from Akira Toriyama), voice actors did a great job here. Now moving farther from graphics, sound and plot. Game at 99% of time had a consistent framerate. However, I had some rare frame drops while starting my movement after the relocating from map to map. It was a really rare case, but it happened (it didn't ruin my gameplay, so I don't mind it). There was one time I had to grind levels and one time when I didn't know I should use my sword in the other way than slashing (huh, last boss), but in any other way it wasn't hard to progress. It brought back my love towards the turn based games and that's why I dismiss minuses I mentioned. Also, I had a marvellous 120 hours of my time with this gem of a game 10/10. I do recommend it wholeheartedly! Expand
  63. Mar 9, 2020
    10
    An absolute masterpiece of an RPG. A must-play for anyone who likes the genre!
  64. Dec 23, 2019
    10
    This is perfection, the switch version its the best one yet, good characters good story, amazing music score. The best RPG of 2019
  65. Nov 15, 2019
    10
    Increidble game ported to de nintendo, Squere Enix really do an imcredible port with this game!
  66. Oct 7, 2019
    10
    This Jrpg is amazing.
    Easy the best in the series and all the extra content on the switch version makes it complete. One of the best Jrpg's I played in my life, Must buy!
  67. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    What can I say? It's simply amazing. It has become my all time FAVORITE game. I 100% recommend it to any RPG fan without any doubt, it looks and runs great on the Switch, magnificent story, graphics, combat, characters, storytelling, the music, everything in this game is just amazing. Please do yourself a favor and buy this right now, you won't regret it a single bit. Do not listen to theWhat can I say? It's simply amazing. It has become my all time FAVORITE game. I 100% recommend it to any RPG fan without any doubt, it looks and runs great on the Switch, magnificent story, graphics, combat, characters, storytelling, the music, everything in this game is just amazing. Please do yourself a favor and buy this right now, you won't regret it a single bit. Do not listen to the people who give this game a 0 because they're haters. Expand
  68. Nov 24, 2019
    9
    First dive into the Dragon Quest series and absolutely love it. A very well put together JRPG.
  69. Oct 20, 2020
    9
    Gran juego. Es bonito, es entretenido y la historia está muy bien contada y tiene personajes muy carismáticos. Para mi gusto, el único fallo es la música, que, aunque en esta edición es cosa de la Orquesta Sinfónica Metropolitana de Tokio, no llega a darle un tono de verdadera emoción a ciertos combates. A pesar de esto, creo que es un JRPG sobresaliente y esta 'Definitive Edition' enGran juego. Es bonito, es entretenido y la historia está muy bien contada y tiene personajes muy carismáticos. Para mi gusto, el único fallo es la música, que, aunque en esta edición es cosa de la Orquesta Sinfónica Metropolitana de Tokio, no llega a darle un tono de verdadera emoción a ciertos combates. A pesar de esto, creo que es un JRPG sobresaliente y esta 'Definitive Edition' en Switch es un port espectacular que me ha **** jugar sin parar y en todas partes. Expand
  70. Nov 23, 2019
    10
    I just love this game, its graphics are just incredible and take everything the PS4/PC has to offer!
    The story is very engaging. You always have something to do in this big world of freaks, bandids and random encounters. Youll never reach your destination without someone asking you for help on the side on the road or some bandids stopping you to rob you. The game has some incredible and
    I just love this game, its graphics are just incredible and take everything the PS4/PC has to offer!
    The story is very engaging. You always have something to do in this big world of freaks, bandids and random encounters. Youll never reach your destination without someone asking you for help on the side on the road or some bandids stopping you to rob you. The game has some incredible and useless details that suprises you everytime on a new way! The NPCs ad the character design is very very very authentic, and every NPC has its own unique ways of behaviour its just an encredible new game and it was a very good opurtunity to show rockstars world,charakter,story design skills!

    Sorryy if I had some grammatical misstakes.
    (Im german) :)
    Expand
  71. Dec 7, 2019
    10
    This game was an amazing surprise!!! The story is spectacular, the characters are nice and strong, the battles are difficult, but not impossible and I just loved everything from the beggining untill the end! All the twists, all the outfits... Everything about it is amazing!!! JUST PLAY IT!!!
  72. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This was my first Dragon Quest experience and i had an absolute blast. I played it non-stop and sunk over 100 hours into it. Dragon Quest XI takes the classic JRPG formula and gives it a modern look and feel with awesome art from Akira Toriyama and music from Koichi Sugiyama.

    The story is the reason you play this game with plenty of charming characters and plot twists to keep you
    This was my first Dragon Quest experience and i had an absolute blast. I played it non-stop and sunk over 100 hours into it. Dragon Quest XI takes the classic JRPG formula and gives it a modern look and feel with awesome art from Akira Toriyama and music from Koichi Sugiyama.

    The story is the reason you play this game with plenty of charming characters and plot twists to keep you playing into the late hours of the night. The main story is about 50 hours long with about another 20 for the post game story and with still plenty of side stuff to do in between and afterwards.

    Definite pickup especially if you're new to the series like a i was, this is an absolute gem of a game.
    Expand
  73. Feb 16, 2020
    9
    DRAGON QUEST XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition is beyond a shadow of a doubt, one of the greatest and grandest achievements in the JRPG genre of the last decade, matched only by such impactful titles as Persona 5, Fire Emblem Awakening/Three Houses and Xenoblade Chronicles on the Nintendo Wii. It is a masterfully crafted turn-based JRPG from beginning to end with littleDRAGON QUEST XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition is beyond a shadow of a doubt, one of the greatest and grandest achievements in the JRPG genre of the last decade, matched only by such impactful titles as Persona 5, Fire Emblem Awakening/Three Houses and Xenoblade Chronicles on the Nintendo Wii. It is a masterfully crafted turn-based JRPG from beginning to end with little compromise in being jammed into the Switch's tiny form factor. It's charming in it's presentation, world and characters, at times side-achingly funny and at the times it needs to be deadly serious. Alas, even the definitive version of this game on the Nintendo Switch has some problems, but it is a diamond with a chip and nothing more.
    The characters are interesting and varied (although one's portrayal becomes a bit uncomfortable at a certain point in the story), the story is simple but engaging and the game-play, although very traditional and simple, achieves what it sets out to do to perfection. This version's sweeping orchestral score is amazing, but a complaint arises with how little variety there is. You'll be hearing a lot of the same tracks again and again, especially the over-world and battle tunes. This is a problem not just limited to this particular entry, but it is still annoying to see this repeated in what is otherwise an amazing experience.
    Another complaint is related to the story. Essentially, the game is split into 2 main acts with a hefty epilogue section. Although we won't spoil it for you, we found the conclusion of the second act when the credits roll to be completely satisfying, and we actually found that the epilogue sequence took a lot out of the gravity of the narrative thus far. This is a problem that appears in another Nintendo Switch Square Enix title's epilogue content, The World Ends with You -Final Remix-. Although it is by no means a deal-breaker, and you can easily not engage with the third act and call it quits at the end of the second act (the credits do roll and exit you out back to the main menu after all), it is still a shame that such a course of action was taken.
    Outside of that, DRAGON QUEST XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition is a testament to the franchise's lasting popularity and unique charm, and a defining title that proves why the series is still referred to as "the King of the JRPG's". A spectacular JRPG experience with some slight nitpicks.
    9/10
    Expand
  74. Mar 1, 2020
    10
    probably one of the best switch game, my favorite rpg games in the actual market
  75. Mar 2, 2020
    9
    For me this is one of my favourite switch games though it has a lot of problems. I put 110 hours of game play into this since i bought it on launch day and have fully finished the main game, post game, and most of the side quests. The story is about as generic as it gets for the main game though i personally really enjoyed the story of the post game, and the voice acting and writing isn'tFor me this is one of my favourite switch games though it has a lot of problems. I put 110 hours of game play into this since i bought it on launch day and have fully finished the main game, post game, and most of the side quests. The story is about as generic as it gets for the main game though i personally really enjoyed the story of the post game, and the voice acting and writing isn't that good but its not terrible either for the most part. The graphics are great and the basic turn-based combat and exploration and so much fun I didn't stop playing the game until i beat it and moved on to FE Three Houses. If you're not sure if you want the switch or ps4 version i would personally recommend this version due to the new 2d mode that is included and the ability to switch to the dq8 over-world music if you ever get tired of the dq11 over-world music(which is still great). I would only play this if you are in the mood for a long jrpg and don't mind a generic story, asides from that i loved it. Expand
  76. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    Incredible, simply incredible. It is a pity that this series is so infrequent, many are probably frightened by the genre to which the game belongs but I am sure that if they tried the game they would love it.

    So full of content, stories and beautiful quests, an incredible adventure with an exquisitely fantasy taste.One of the greatest exponents of the classic jrpg genre, a summary of
    Incredible, simply incredible. It is a pity that this series is so infrequent, many are probably frightened by the genre to which the game belongs but I am sure that if they tried the game they would love it.

    So full of content, stories and beautiful quests, an incredible adventure with an exquisitely fantasy taste.One of the greatest exponents of the classic jrpg genre, a summary of the best features that one of those games should have.

    There is no lack of innovative ideas for the saga even if the game always remains strongly anchored to its genre, bringing the most classic features of the saga to their maximum potential.

    Highly recommended, especially in the switch version which adds various contents also to the trama which are important for the characterization of the characters.
    Expand
  77. Mar 29, 2020
    9
    Dragon Quest XIS is simply one of the best games I've ever played. The visuals are still amazing even on switch, and the quality of life features added really do make this the best version. The only fault is that the game is a little too easy besides some post game battles, but other than that this is an experience every JRPG fan should have!
  78. Aug 12, 2020
    10
    A Strong game with complete plot. Unlike that FF7 Remake. Solid bosses that offer snappy challenge.
  79. Sep 20, 2020
    9
    I've always known that Dragon Quest is a popular franchise in Japan, but I've never played any title of it before. The game is actually better than I thought: great BGM, memorable characters, epic story. However, I have many problems with MC's expression in the game, it feels unnatural and fake. Just hope SE will improve it in their next DQ game.
  80. Oct 19, 2020
    10
    I grew up playing pokémon emerald, and this game is literally EVERYTHING I wanted a modern JRPG to be like, everything I ever wanted in a game is in this one, it has a great yet clichè story, with a evil villain that just wants to destroy the world, and you experience the tragedy and pain people are feeling while you travel the world.
    this review will contain heavy spoilers after the arc
    I grew up playing pokémon emerald, and this game is literally EVERYTHING I wanted a modern JRPG to be like, everything I ever wanted in a game is in this one, it has a great yet clichè story, with a evil villain that just wants to destroy the world, and you experience the tragedy and pain people are feeling while you travel the world.
    this review will contain heavy spoilers after the arc 1 review, if you haven't played the game yet, I recommend you do so before reading my reviews for arc 2 and 3 (post game)

    Arc 1 : First half of the game is less about the story, and more just about the adventure. You go out to the vast world of Erdrea, and your objective is to get to the world tree, also called Yggdrasil. On your way to the world tree, you find 6 people that will join your party, and became loyal companions of the luminary, and will help you on your journey. You get to explore the world and learn much about it in the first arc, and help many people to fulfill their wishes, and the chapter ends with a big event that sets the path to the second arc.

    REVIEW WILL GET SPOILER HEAVY AFTER THIS POINT

    Arc 2: After Mordegon reveals himself, steals the sword of light and destroys the world tree, you play as a few of the main characters separately, as they've all been separated after what happened at the world tree. Once they're all reunited (now with Hendrik, who realized the luminary fought fir the right cause), you go out on another journey, now to reclaim the sword of light, defeat Mordegon and bring peace back to the world. The second arc is more challenging than the first one, although it's still not very difficult if you are used to turn based JRPGs, but it's quite fun. At the end of arc 2, after you defeat Mordegon, the game teases there's something else that could still be a threat, because you know you haven't defeated the so called Calasmos, which was mentioned earlier in the game. Peace has been restored, and if you boot up the game again, you mission will be to travel and look at the peaceful world you created.

    Arc 3 (post-game) : In the middle of the second arc, you find out Veronica, one of the main characters, died, to save everyone at the world changing event in the end of the first arc, but, later on the post-game, you also find out there's a way to travel back in time, not only to save her, but to prevent the world tree to fall as well, and you do so, however, only the luminary can travel back in time, he takes with him the dark sword, since the sword of light was broken to travel back in time. He then, predicts all of mordegon's moves, and defeats him, however, his last words were: "So be it... but do not think... you are the only one who has... defied the flow of time...". You then, find out, calasmos also traveled back in time, alongside the luminary, and then tries to destroy the world again. Although you managed to stop Mordegon's triumph and save Veronica, now there's a much bigger threat, calasmos is far more powerful than mordegon, but that's pretty much where the game ends. After you gain access to Cetacea, you can challenge calsamos at any time, but you should definitely do some side quests first, since this is the end of the game.
    The game calls back to DQIII A LOT, giving the past game a great closure to the story, but it's still very enjoyable even if you haven't played DQXIII.
    The music is much better in this orchestrated version, and gameplay might be the best a turn based JRPG has ever been, exploration feels great and the story and characters are really fleshed out.

    This is a masterpiece among masterpieces, and one of the best modern JRPGs I've ever played, definitely well worth it and is constantly on sale, although it's easily worth the 60 bucks it costs.
    Expand
  81. Jul 23, 2020
    10
    Now that the game is on every console and also PC, please play this game it is most worth your time. The graphics are barely even a noticeable downgrade from the original on PS4, with much much more new content added. This is by far my favorite JRPG/RPG on the switch, not BOTW (if that counts), both Xenoblades, Octopath, and everything you can think of, this is my favorite. The worldNow that the game is on every console and also PC, please play this game it is most worth your time. The graphics are barely even a noticeable downgrade from the original on PS4, with much much more new content added. This is by far my favorite JRPG/RPG on the switch, not BOTW (if that counts), both Xenoblades, Octopath, and everything you can think of, this is my favorite. The world feels very connected and the characters get amazing moments, the story tries something I haven’t seen before in an RPG which makes me like it more. I would definitely recommend this to any JRPG fan or anyone looking to get into the genre. Expand
  82. Feb 13, 2021
    9
    This game has top quality among JRPGs. The graphic is amazing, the gameplay is great and the story is classic.
  83. Oct 12, 2020
    10
    Easily the best Jrpg of the generation. I wasn’t expecting to put 155h into this game. Even though I managed to finish it with 110h, I kept playing just because I didn’t want to leave the world of Erdrea. I even created an account here to post this! One of the best swicth games with Zelda Breath of the Wild.
  84. Jun 19, 2020
    9
    A great dragon quest game, loved the ps4 version, but love this version even more for the added music, scenes and optional costumes. You're going to laugh a lot from the story, but also cry quite a few times as well your first time through. 80+ hours for your first run (if you go for true ending) My only complaint is never getting to undo Veronica's curse/play as her adult self.
  85. Aug 23, 2020
    10
    Just amazing, the story the old school battle system you name it this game is everything right with a jrpg.
  86. Jul 10, 2020
    10
    It has been a long time since I played a Dragon quest, and I wanted it since they launched it in 3Ds, but unfortunately that version never came to us and I gave it up for lost.

    And here I am, happy to be able to talk about it after completing almost everything thanks to this complete version of the game. The first thing I fell in love with were its graphics and its semi-open world,
    It has been a long time since I played a Dragon quest, and I wanted it since they launched it in 3Ds, but unfortunately that version never came to us and I gave it up for lost.

    And here I am, happy to be able to talk about it after completing almost everything thanks to this complete version of the game.

    The first thing I fell in love with were its graphics and its semi-open world, the freedom you have to do what you want is vast, its world is full of life (and monsters), the mounts are great and with a purpose, and their characters, each which more charismatic.

    The story, on the other hand, kept me hooked to the end, and that means going over to the most secret parts of the game. I did not feel bored and tired of repeating certain parts, on the contrary. And the added pieces of history, while short, are interesting.

    2D mode is a delicacy, and its extra to achieve the books of old games in the saga is something very beautiful and nostalgic, as well as a challenge to complete.

    The music is still the same as in the saga, and I love that.
    Expand
  87. Jul 8, 2020
    9
    It was the most fun of the Dragon Quest series I have ever played. It's optimized for switches and has a lot of added elements, so I really recommend it if you like JRPG.
  88. Nov 22, 2021
    10
    Um dos melhores rpg que joguei na vida, roteiro e história impecáveis, aliado com visual lindíssimo. Um clássico J-RPG.
  89. Aug 8, 2020
    9
    Fantastic story and graphics. This game is mostly about the cut scenes. Not a game you can play passively whiling watching the news or something. You will want to treat it is as a good book. The difficulty is hard enough to not be boring, but easy enough to not stress you out. The cut scenes and difficulty make for a very relaxing and engaging experience.

    My only wish would be that the
    Fantastic story and graphics. This game is mostly about the cut scenes. Not a game you can play passively whiling watching the news or something. You will want to treat it is as a good book. The difficulty is hard enough to not be boring, but easy enough to not stress you out. The cut scenes and difficulty make for a very relaxing and engaging experience.

    My only wish would be that the equipment changes your characters as they wear it. The outfits are cool and all, but I want each item to change each character. Give me some customizationsn.
    Expand
  90. Aug 22, 2020
    9
    The Switch Version runs perfectly and look beautiful. Was my First Dragon Quest game and it got me heavily into the series. one of the best games on the Switch a masterful turn based JRPG
  91. Dec 1, 2020
    10
    Si a algún juego le queda bien la etiqueta "definitive edition" es a este.
    Como fan de la saga desde hace tiempo, he de decir que este juego me ha parecido una absoluta maravilla. El fandom occidental de DQ solía elegir el V o el VIII como las mejores entregas (aunque todas están a un nivel similar), pero el XI, y sobre todo el XI S, ha entrado al podio; de hecho, para mí esta versión es
    Si a algún juego le queda bien la etiqueta "definitive edition" es a este.
    Como fan de la saga desde hace tiempo, he de decir que este juego me ha parecido una absoluta maravilla. El fandom occidental de DQ solía elegir el V o el VIII como las mejores entregas (aunque todas están a un nivel similar), pero el XI, y sobre todo el XI S, ha entrado al podio; de hecho, para mí esta versión es el mejor juego de la saga.

    La historia y los capítulos extra son geniales, tanto en la parte principal como en el post-game (unas 120 horas de historia ininterrumpda), las animaciones de los personajes, el doblaje japonés e inglés, la banda sonora sinfónica; todo está a un nivel altísimo.
    No obstante, para mí, el cambio más notorio respecto a la saga es el sistema de combate, me parece el mejor, y si lo combinas con los modos difíciles de la Misión Draconiana, el juego se convierte en el más desafiante de la saga. Los turnos son mucho más dinámicos, se van asignando a cada personaje durante el combate, pues tras seleccionar el movimiento de tu personaje, atacas al instante, no seleccionas todos los movimientos de la party y se ejecutan por orden en función de la velocidad como en entregas anteriores. Si bien se repiten algunas habilidades del árbol, las combinaciones y posibilidades con ataques especiales son abrumadoras.

    En el modo 2D los mapas son significativamente más pequeños y el sistema de combate mucho más tosco, como en los juegos de la era de 16 bits; toda la música se ha adaptado a los 8 bits y gráficamente se ve increíble, una pasada que hayan metido todo esto. Además de las misiones con guiños y escenarios recreados de los juegos anteriores de DQ.

    La música de la versión de PS4 y PC fue polémica debido a varios vídeos que circulan por YouTube que la critican y critican al autor, pero yo la veo muy bien, aunque esto va a gustos. Es verdad que tiene menos temas originales (aunque son muy buenos en mi opinión) y se utilizan muchas pistas de juegos pasados, pero si eres nuevo en la saga no lo vas a notar y si conoces la saga ya te gustan porque Sugiyama es un genio.

    Lo que yo considero "más flojo" del juego:
    -Mazmorras más lineales y con menos puzles que en anteriores entregas.
    -Repetición de algunas habilidades en el árbol de habilidades, sobre todo en espadas.

    En definitiva, es un juego muy muy recomendable para cualquier amante del RPG, tanto si ha jugado antes DQ como si no; mi juego favorito de Switch (y lo digo habiendo jugado Breath of the Wild y Odyssey). Le pongo un 10, que sería un 9,5 o más debido a los mínimos inconvenientes que le he encontrado.

    Esta saga merece más fans, si dudáis de comprarlo, compradlo, buena compra seguro.
    Expand
  92. Dec 13, 2020
    10
    Loved it. Big fan of the Dragon Quest series and this one had nearly everything. Fun story, good fights, lovely world. It is a dragonquest game through and through.
    Only thing that i missed (it was only in dqix) was that armor changes my characters looks. I really liked that.
  93. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    The BEST RPG ever! A must play for every RPG fan! And if you don't know if you like it, download the demo. It is the first 10 HOURS of the game. There is no excuse not to play it. The story is brilliant, voice acting is great (in English at least). Characters are likable or hatable (it depends). And characters evolve in the story, characters change. Motivations change. It is a world withThe BEST RPG ever! A must play for every RPG fan! And if you don't know if you like it, download the demo. It is the first 10 HOURS of the game. There is no excuse not to play it. The story is brilliant, voice acting is great (in English at least). Characters are likable or hatable (it depends). And characters evolve in the story, characters change. Motivations change. It is a world with people, not blank slates that help you. A masterpiece. (It is sometimes a little bit grindy, but the game is so good that it doesn't even matter). A must have for any RPG fan. Expand
  94. Jun 12, 2021
    10
    God game!!
    One of my best games in my life.
    Because if this game I become to look after other JRPGs.
  95. Sep 10, 2021
    10
    What a wonderful game this is. Its one of the best looking games on the Switch Period. Runs smooth and plays even smoother. I loved the story and combat. Be awhere, its a huge long game that will takes alot of hours to complete but well worth it. Good job Nintendo!
  96. Aug 25, 2021
    10
    Cool, beatiful, immersive world and story. Turn based is not my genre but with beautiful soundtrack i can enjoy this games.
  97. Sep 27, 2019
    10
    Un juego fenomenal,la máxima expresión de la serie.Una verdadera joya del genero,con el espíritu de la saga y toneladas de emociones y en formato portable simple y sencillamente imperdible.
  98. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    I played this game on the PS4 Pro and loved it. It’s a technical achievement on the Nintendo Switch hardware with some fantastic QoL upgrades from previous versions. I love the traditional RPG elements with modern updates and beautiful eye-candy art style. I hope more Dragon Quest games are re-made and ported to the Swith. Shout out to Tim Rogers for convincing me to play this game withI played this game on the PS4 Pro and loved it. It’s a technical achievement on the Nintendo Switch hardware with some fantastic QoL upgrades from previous versions. I love the traditional RPG elements with modern updates and beautiful eye-candy art style. I hope more Dragon Quest games are re-made and ported to the Swith. Shout out to Tim Rogers for convincing me to play this game with his Youtube reviews. MORE DQ GAMES FOR THE SWITCH PLEASE Expand
  99. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    La.mejor.version y mas completa de todas, ppr la pprtabilidad que ofrece, con una version de sobremesa notable y un juego que sencilñamwnte es una obra maestra.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. May 11, 2020
    96
    Overall, there are not many negative things I can say about Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition. This version took the foundation of an already truly excellent RPG experience and built upon it further, offering new features and quality of life improvements along the way. I poured over a hundred and twelve hours into Dragon Quest XI S, which is more than I've spent on any other RPG recently, and I never once looked back with regret as I wholeheartedly fell in love with the gameplay and story. Having only played Dragon Quest XI S, I can't say for certain if there is enough new content here to warrant an additional playthrough, but if you've yet to play Dragon Quest XI and have access to a Nintendo Switch, this version is truly the "Definitive Edition" that the title claims it is.
  2. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Apr 29, 2020
    95
    This game has become my favorite Dragon Quest ever, one of my favorite JRPGs ever and certainly one of the best games you can buy and play on the Switch. [Issue #43 – November/December 2019, p. 8SH]
  3. Dec 5, 2019
    100
    Dragon Quest XI S is a game for both long-time fans and newcomers alike. There are many Easter eggs and references to past Dragon Quest games that will subtly reward fans, but at the same time, the charming world of Erdrea and its characters are appealing to newcomers of all ages. Even those who have played the previous versions of Dragon Quest XI may find the vast improvements of the Switch version compelling enough for another round, especially with the Tickington quests, new character content, and marriage options. This game is a masterpiece, and it sets a new high standard for not only the series, but console RPGs in general. Hopefully the series will continue outdoing itself with further instalments.