Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 2, 2021
    100
    It is a devilish delight to navigate Dusk’s hellish environments and labyrinth-like levels, all whilst laying waste to its army of twisted enemies with its second to none gunplay. Not only is this title a fitting tribute to the games that inspired it, but it’s also something that manages to feel entirely relevant to the modern era due to its impeccable gameplay and emphasis on providing a simple but intriguing story. So if you are in any way nostalgic for retro FPS experiences, or for that matter, just a lover of FPS games in general, then do yourself a favor and check out Dusk on the Switch.
  2. Nov 15, 2021
    90
    DUSK is a bloody good time on Switch that perfectly evokes the spirit of the best 90’s shooters.
  3. Nov 15, 2021
    90
    Dusk is the kind of game I could not help but smile while I was playing it. Every level was a treat to play and the accessibility options really open it up to so many people. The attention to detail in this port is also super appreciated. It really takes advantage of the hardware while not compromising the original concept. This is a game that every fan of shooters needs to play, and I cannot recommend it enough.
  4. Nov 3, 2021
    90
    DUSK is an amazingly authentic ode to the old kings of the genre, and it’s as fiendishly fun as it is filled with carnage. This Switch port is virtually flawless, allowing you to enjoy this game in a pure, uncompromised form. I’m always skeptical of recommendations about this sort of game, as I often find they don’t quite measure up in one way or another. DUSK? It had me from hello and kept me all the way through to the bitter end. Then I started it up all over again just to have another ride on this ridiculous roller coaster.
  5. Oct 30, 2021
    90
    Dusk is one hell of an impressive piece of software and possibly the single best Unity port to Switch we've ever seen, sidestepping all the usual performance problems and delivering a brilliant experience of a brilliant game. We've tried to think of meaningful criticisms or negatives. Of course pad controls are never going to be as precise as mouse aim, but when the developers have tailored the analogue sticks to such a degree of precision, that would be churlish to ding them for. It's not as good a game as Quake, but almost nothing is. It's arguably a better port than Quake got, and that was itself excellent. There's a relatively limited arsenal of weapons — they're all great, but there's no iconic gun here, just your usual pistol, shotty, assault rifle, explosives, et al. Ultimately, Dusk is another absolute cracker in what's turned out to be a phenomenal month for Switch; a real horror show, and the highest of 9s.
  6. 90
    DUSK’s arrival on Switch has been a long time coming. But I'm honestly relieved that the creator took his time sanding down and sharpening every little corner of DUSK for its Switch debut. It feels like a game that was meant to be played on Nintendo’s console and uses its retro inspirations to pump new life into this particular genre of games. If you ask me, it's the beginning of a new dawn.
  7. 85
    Dusk is a fast-paced, fun retro FPS. Its weapons and enemies are well thought-out, and its gameplay shines above its muddy colors and occasional monotonous levels.
  8. Nov 3, 2021
    85
    When this game came out in 2018, I missed it entirely. Don't an ignorant fool like I was, and don't miss the opportunity to play Dusk. It a fantastic retro horror shooter that will delight you long after Halloween is over. The Switch port is amazing as well.
  9. 85
    DUSK has found a fantastic home on the Switch, where its top-tier throwback FPS can bloom in all its bloody, wretched glory.
  10. Oct 29, 2021
    85
    We promise: if you accept the "retro" graphic style which can inevitably divide, Dusk is probably the best FPS of the Nintendo Switch.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. ffp
    Nov 3, 2021
    9
    remember those old games that couldn't give u nice textures or graphics but were a blast to play ? i remember playing those kind of polygonalremember those old games that couldn't give u nice textures or graphics but were a blast to play ? i remember playing those kind of polygonal looking game for hours and never get bored.
    this was an instant flashback of me playing those kind of games, perfectly emulating the feel of early pc games but with fluid and comfy modernish gameplay that keeps you playing and playing.
    And now you're telling me i can bring this with me on the switch and play it in handheld like i always wanted my games to play when i was a kid ?
    Fellas you're in for a treat!
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2021
    10
    That's just a retro style game very efficient who kill all shooter games like doom or every games like this... Very speed, controle are veryThat's just a retro style game very efficient who kill all shooter games like doom or every games like this... Very speed, controle are very good with the motion controler... And the atmosphere of the game is realy crazy.... Juste to have fun... May be the only probleme is the size of the text that is realy too small for a portable use... That is not a probleme when you learn how to configure this (5mn)... Very happy of this game (lite on the SD and realy cool to have fun)...
    Just forget all the Doom and shooters on switch... This one is a killer !
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2021
    10
    Superb stuff, absolutely superb. I am just under half way through and every map is better than the last. It's full of surprises too. As a hugeSuperb stuff, absolutely superb. I am just under half way through and every map is better than the last. It's full of surprises too. As a huge fan of Doom 1&2,Quake and Duke Nukem 3D,I can't recommend Dusk enough. Full Review »