User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2017
    10
    [Update] A BIG Patch 1.0.1 (more like 2.0.1) fixed most issues and drastically reduced times to collect weapons. Balance is also better. Some boss is easier bit still challenging enough. The game is much more fun now. It' good to know that the dev listened to all criticisms. (I give 9.5 score)

    Earth Atlantis Review - Visual is amazing !! Gameplay concept is interesting. If you love
    [Update] A BIG Patch 1.0.1 (more like 2.0.1) fixed most issues and drastically reduced times to collect weapons. Balance is also better. Some boss is easier bit still challenging enough. The game is much more fun now. It' good to know that the dev listened to all criticisms. (I give 9.5 score)

    Earth Atlantis Review - Visual is amazing !! Gameplay concept is interesting. If you love retro space shooters (R-type, Blood Money, In the hunt, Gradius, steel Empire), buy this game.

    Graphics - Obviously, the visual is very unique and also very beautiful. It use monochrome pencil-drawing style. When I saw only screenshots, I though it must be very eye-soaring to play this game, but NO, It looks great. I also like the parallax FX on the background. For some reason, It looks even better On handheld mode.

    Concept - I really love "Monster-Hunting" concept. Also, the game has only one large level "Metroidvania" style. I think it's s great combination. You have 38 monsters to hunt. In Quest mode, you have to kill some boss to open new locations/areas. Bosses are very different - some are swimming type/ some standing type.

    Gameplay - This one is tricky. This game is quite challenging . It's definitely just like old retro shooter game on NES/Genesis - people might consider them hard. Some boss are difficult but challenging. You need to carefully learn each boss attacking pattern. You can die easily even on easy setting if you are not careful enough, some boss has one hit-kill attack that might be difficult to some casual player and when you die, you need to upgrade your ship again from O, again just like old games. I will frustrate some casual gamers. It's not "Dark-Soul" difficult though.

    The game have a decent pace. Not as fast as, I thought. But it will get faster when you use new ships, they are faster than a default one. (I have unlocked 2 more ships so far.)

    Performance - the game run very well. I have never found any frame-rate drop problem. No glitch found.

    I've played this game for more than 6 hours (~50% completed) - I really enjoyed it.

    Conclusion: If you are a retro space-shooter fan (Genesis/NES) - buy this game. If you a casual gamer - probably not.
    Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2017
    9
    This game is just simply gorgeous. I love the environment the most. It feels like i am in an adventure ans exploring the abandoned towns , the place where it is at the most peak of itself and to what is left in the future. Just made me so hyped! It's insanely beautiful with those amount of detail. I can not believe it. I enjoy the game so far and still exploring. The game is not easy. IThis game is just simply gorgeous. I love the environment the most. It feels like i am in an adventure ans exploring the abandoned towns , the place where it is at the most peak of itself and to what is left in the future. Just made me so hyped! It's insanely beautiful with those amount of detail. I can not believe it. I enjoy the game so far and still exploring. The game is not easy. I died a countless of times but it fell very rewarding when I find the way to defeat a new boss. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2017
    8
    In the days of the arcade, you could always find a good shmup to waste your coins on. Dollar after dollar clinking away in the machine with those silver coins like the sound of slot machines at a casino, all in the pursuit of getting the high score. Whether it was Galaga, Defender, or a multitude of other choices, it was a destination genre for many that walked along the brightly coloredIn the days of the arcade, you could always find a good shmup to waste your coins on. Dollar after dollar clinking away in the machine with those silver coins like the sound of slot machines at a casino, all in the pursuit of getting the high score. Whether it was Galaga, Defender, or a multitude of other choices, it was a destination genre for many that walked along the brightly colored machines. With the genre now a mainstay on consoles, one of my favorites being the Pixeljunk Shooter series, it’s nice to see the Nintendo Switch sharing the love.

    While many people are discussing Sine Mora EX once again, as it just came out on the NS, it’s important to not overlook Earth Atlantis. While certainly not your typical shmup like Gradius or Raiden, it’s got a lot of character and some interesting game design decisions that people who enjoy the genre will appreciate.

    Beginning with the obvious, the game looks different from most things you’ll play in this day and age. Its focus is a sepia tone with intricate line work and values. In fact, I found myself dying because I’d get caught up looking at something and not realizing I was running right into an enemy. While the art direction is beautiful, it also means that enemies can camouflage like nobody’s business. Of course, this was more problematic near the beginning of the game than the latter portions when I knew what to look for. But when you win an award for “Excellence in Art” during BIC Festival 2016 in Busan, it’s hard to really feel it needs changing. It also won the “Vermilion Gate” Award (Best in Show) during the 5th BitSummit 2017 in Kyoto.​

    Once you’re able to get past the visual choice, you can start to appreciate how the game actually plays. While you may think that it’s a simple sidescrolling shooter, it goes more along the lines of Song of the Deep; you are able to freely explore the world you’re provided. The story goes that the threats of global warming were not heeded, so the majority of the world was covered in water. That being the case, giant sea creatures began to take over. That seems logical enough – have you seen what lives in the deep sea? I’m amazed they haven’t taken over already.

    You’ll have the option of going up and down, as well as side to side while choosing which way to face for maximum damage with whichever submarine you choose to take into battle. Each option has varying stats and different forms of weaponry. Whether you do a front and back shot or omni-shot is completely dependent on which vessel you choose. Like any shmup, your weaponry is limited at first, but soon grows with power-ups that you acquire. And since you’ll be taking damage, you can also grab some much needed health along the way. Outside of the exploration and normal bad guys, you’ll face more than 30 bosses that will make you reconsider how you play the game.

    Upgrading your ship is vital to surviving in the depths of the world. As you defeat bosses, new paths open up for further exploration. This is where the game may surprise you if you had no knowledge of it going in, as previously mentioned. It’s not often this genre takes cues from Metroidvanias, having you backtrack along a large, interwoven map. Typically they are level based, and handcrafted with enemies coming at designated points. Here, enemies spawn when they feel like – just because you clear an area doesn’t mean you should kick your feet up.

    You may argue that even on the lowest difficulty setting, the game’s bosses are a bit harder than you may expect from a setting called easy. Certainly, they aren’t what you’d expect after lackadaisically wandering around the rest of the map in preparation. It also doesn’t help that you lose your power-ups when you take damage, making matters much worse. It’s here that the bullet hell type gameplay comes in, and when you need those twitch-like reflexes to avoid one-hit kills. While enjoyable, it’ll be a turn off for many that find things games like Cuphead or Super Meat Boy to not be inclusive of all skill levels. And while I love the choice for the visuals, it can be a bit confusing as to what is traversable and what is actually a barrier. In many cases I found myself moving through the rebar scaffolding when I thought it would be a wall, and being stopped abruptly by the exact same thing thinking I’d be able to move through it. This obviously allows for secrets and the like, but it can be an annoyance similar to invisible walls.

    I’m not going to tell you that Earth Atlantis is the next generation of shmups, or it’s even the best one this past decade, but it’s a good one. If you love the genre, and a good challenge, the game offers a lot. Outside of the story, you’ll unlock what is essentially a boss rush mode for those of you that want a challenge outside of what is offered in the story mode. This doesn’t break new ground, but it sure as hell brings a lot to the table.
    Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2017
    10
    Pro
    - Amazing Graphic!! So unique and beautiful
    - Metroidvania style level - 25+ Bosses !! - Bring some great memories of some classic shooter on Genesis system Con - Take time to gather all weapons again if you die. - Some types of enemy's bullet are difficult to see if you are near water surface - A couple of boss is too difficult. You need to get the right combination of weapons
    Pro
    - Amazing Graphic!! So unique and beautiful
    - Metroidvania style level
    - 25+ Bosses !!
    - Bring some great memories of some classic shooter on Genesis system
    Con
    - Take time to gather all weapons again if you die.
    - Some types of enemy's bullet are difficult to see if you are near water surface
    - A couple of boss is too difficult. You need to get the right combination of weapons to kill them.
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2022
    9
    Great game! Unfairly judged by some. Best played in small periods of time. Yes, you’ll lose all the upgrades but the creatures in the water will give it back to you in no time. Every boss is interesting and has it’s pattern. The visuals are absolutely original and excellent. The music is ok but you’re in here for the fun not the music. I finished the game in 4 small sittings. TotallyGreat game! Unfairly judged by some. Best played in small periods of time. Yes, you’ll lose all the upgrades but the creatures in the water will give it back to you in no time. Every boss is interesting and has it’s pattern. The visuals are absolutely original and excellent. The music is ok but you’re in here for the fun not the music. I finished the game in 4 small sittings. Totally recommended!! Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 30, 2018
    60
    A game that could have been better, but doesn't manage to get higher quality peaks.
  2. Jan 16, 2018
    60
    Earth Atlantis is a fascinatingly experimental hybrid of a game. While not entirely perfect in its attempt to merge the two genres it takes inspiration from, a unique art style and interesting creature designs definitely make it worth checking out. Even more so if you’re hungry for some bullet hell action on the go!
  3. Jan 9, 2018
    70
    Earth Atlantis is a game that is best played if you pace yourself. The quick boss encounters and ease with which you can find enemy mobs makes for some frantic gaming, but that high frequency also means that the experience can get repetitive. The overall mechanics are good, and the look is certainly distinct. It differs enough from normal shooters that it's worth a look, especially if you want a more exploratory adventure to go with your shooting.