User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 53
  2. Negative: 4 out of 53
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Picked this up as it looked interesting but was not expecting it to be quite as good as it actually turned out to be! This is a modern take on the 16 bit racing games of old (Think Outrun, Lotus Turbo Challenge and Jaguar XJ220 etc). It is presented wonderfully and there are various modes that unlock as you play. The game plays brilliantly and feels like the old games that it sets out toPicked this up as it looked interesting but was not expecting it to be quite as good as it actually turned out to be! This is a modern take on the 16 bit racing games of old (Think Outrun, Lotus Turbo Challenge and Jaguar XJ220 etc). It is presented wonderfully and there are various modes that unlock as you play. The game plays brilliantly and feels like the old games that it sets out to emulate while still feeling modern and tight. The graphics are clean and nostalgic while still being sharp. The music is pure genius and is as catchy as the tunes in the 16 bit games of the 90s (So many new games have forgettable music). There is a huge number of locations and tracks and cars unlock as you play. All in all this is a great game for anyone that loves racing games, especially those that love 16 bit racing games. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2018
    10
    Melhor jogo de corrida dos últimos tempos, trilha sonora pra lá de fantástica que ataca forte a nostalgia, gráficos belíssimos tanto no modo portátil quanto no Dock, jogabilidade impecável! Uma bela homenagem aos clássicos arcades de corrida da velha guarda. Este jogo é espetacular, literalmente uma obra prima, orgulho-me de ser brasileiro e me ver tão bem representado.
  3. Nov 28, 2018
    10
    People who are looking for a great arcade racer from the 90s, this is a great experience. A huge number of gorgeous and treacherous tracks, a lot of unlockable cars and a eletronic soundtrack beautifully composed, the game has his best version on the Switch.
  4. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Horizon Chase Turbo to typowy arcade racer, w którym pędzimy do przodu na wykręconych trasach i omijamy przeciwników. Tytuł bazuje na takich klasykach gatunku z lat 80-tych i 90-tych jak jak Out Run, Lotus Turbo Challenge i Top Gear (SNES). Gdy wjedziemy z dużą prędkością w lampę lub znak na zakręcie to zostajemy wybici w powietrze. Samochód robi szybką przewrotkę i wskakuje na jezdnięHorizon Chase Turbo to typowy arcade racer, w którym pędzimy do przodu na wykręconych trasach i omijamy przeciwników. Tytuł bazuje na takich klasykach gatunku z lat 80-tych i 90-tych jak jak Out Run, Lotus Turbo Challenge i Top Gear (SNES). Gdy wjedziemy z dużą prędkością w lampę lub znak na zakręcie to zostajemy wybici w powietrze. Samochód robi szybką przewrotkę i wskakuje na jezdnię tracąc na prędkości... ale zabawa trwa dalej i ciśniemy pedał (przycisk) gazu na maxa.

    Tytuł Aquiris Game Studio oferuje stosunkowo dużo zawartości, która odblokowuje się wraz z postępem w podstawowym trybie World Tour (kariera). Za dobre wyniki dostajemy nowe samochody, dostęp do kolejnych tras, do nowych trybów gry i możliwość rozbudowywania pojazdów przez tuning wybranych części. Tym samym zwiększamy przyspieszenie, prędkość, zużycie paliwa itp...

    W World Tour należy przejechać przez kilkanaście regionów świata, takich jak: Kalifornia, Brazylia, Południowa Afryka, Zjednoczone Emiraty Arabskie, Japonia... i jeszcze kilku - co daje w sumie dwanaście lokalizacji. Podróżując po świecie, każdy z opisanych rejonów podzielony jest na około 8-10 zmagań (ponad 100 wyścigów) w różnych tematycznie sceneriach.

    Za zajęcie dobrego miejsca na mecie zdobywamy puchary, ale jest jeszcze możliwość wygrania super pucharu za zebranie tokenów na trasie. Gra zlicza nam wtedy pozycję w wyścigu i zdobyte niebieskie krążki sumując je na walutę odblokowującą kolejne regiony do przejechania. Dodatkowe bonusowe punkty można zdobyć jeszcze za pozostałe paliwo w baku. Na trasie rozmieszczone są więc kanistry, po zebraniu których zwiększamy zawartość zbiornika. Czasami kanistry dodają tylko punkty, ale na dłuższych trasach ich zbieranie jest już obowiązkowe bo może zabraknąć nam paliwa.
    Wspomnieć należy jeszcze, że każdy wyścig zaczynami z określoną ilością nitro. Turbo doładowanie znajduje się też na trasie jako dodatkowe butle do zebrania, które mogą uratować nas przed przegraną. Warto więc się za nimi rozglądać i zapamiętać ich lokalizację na kolejnych okrążeniach.

    Tytuł oferuje zmienne warunki jazdy, takie jak dzień, noc i anomalie pogodowe (deszcz, burza z błyskawicami, śnieg, mgła, burza piaskowa a nawet i pylący wulkan Eyjafjallajökull). Trasy są proste i kręte, różnią się też ukształtowaniem, np. wzniesienia. Technicznie pierwszy plan pracuje przewijając się na boki i w pionie zakrywając tło w oddali. Ścigamy się na szerokich pięcio-sześcio pasmowych asfaltowych jezdniach jak i na wąskich polanach lub pustynnych, pokrytych piachem szutrach. Fajnie wygląda też wydobywający się spod tylnych kół kanciasty dym na off-road'ach.

    Horizon Chase Turbo to wyścigi w starym stylu, ale jednak w jakości HD w unikatowym design'ie. Tytuł nie stara się naśladować pixel art'u, tylko wprowadza swoją geometryczną wizję świata, szczególnie uwydatnioną na obiektach przy drodze: krzewy, roślinność, kamienie. Ma to swój urok i podoba się.

    Zwykłe wyścigi byłyby niczym, gdyby nie zachowanie przeciwników na drodze, a to jest świetnie wykonane. Walka o pozycje na trasie to jeden z kluczowych mechanizmów gry. Przeciwnicy spychają nas z drogi, czasami wjeżdżają nam przed maskę blokując przejazd lub stukają w tylny zderzak chcąc nas wyprzedzić. Czuć więc rywalizację o pozycję na trasie.

    Poza głównym trybem kariery mamy jeszcze do ogrania tryb Tournament, który zawiera zawody złożone z czterech tras jak Grand Prix w Mario Kart. Na każdej trasie zdobywamy punkty za dobrą pozycję na mecie, a na końcu suma z czterech wyścigów klasyfikuje nas w rankingu. Zawodów do rozegrania w tym trybie gry jest ponad dwadzieścia na różnych poziomach trudności. Jak się pewnie domyślacie – daje to sporo grania, aby zaliczyć je na złoto. W Tournament nie musimy już zbierać tokenów i skupić możemy się jedynie na zajęciu dobrej pozycji w każdym z wyścigów......

    Podsumowanie
    Horizon Chase Turbo to kawał solidnego kodu, który na Nintendo Switch prezentuje się świetnie. Tytuł polecam wszystkim lubiącym dobre wyścigi arcade – bo jest to naprawdę fajna gra z dużą ilością zawartości na kilkadziesiąt godzin. Tytuł zawiera ogrom wyścigów, o różnym i zmiennym ukształtowaniu terenu, w różnych regionach świata ze zmiennymi warunkami dnia/nocy i pogodowymi. Jest to też szybka i dynamiczna gra z fajnymi mechanizmami walki o pozycję na trasie, dzięki którym czuć rywalizację i satysfakcję zarazem. Aquiris Game Studio stworzyło naprawdę świetną grę w unikatowym stylu w oprawie godnej nowoczesnych konsol zachowując jednocześnie ducha gier wyścigowych z lat 80-stych i 90-tych.
    ----------------------------
    Grywalność - 9/10
    Grafika - 9/10
    Dźwięk - 8/10
    ----------------------------
    Ogółem - 8.7/10
    pełna recenzja na goomba.pl
    Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2018
    8
    Horizon Chase Turbo for the Nintendo Switch
    Low Poly, High Speed
    Horizon Chase Turbo is an arcady racer, a throwback to all of those retro racers from when I was a youngster. Immediately dropping into the action the controls are simple enough with an accelerator, brake, and nitrous boost. Realizing very quickly that you can basically hold the gas down the entire race with needed
    Horizon Chase Turbo for the Nintendo Switch
    Low Poly, High Speed

    Horizon Chase Turbo is an arcady racer, a throwback to all of those retro racers from when I was a youngster.

    Immediately dropping into the action the controls are simple enough with an accelerator, brake, and nitrous boost. Realizing very quickly that you can basically hold the gas down the entire race with needed taps to the brake button being few and far between. The nitrous boost is incredibly important however, as saving for that perfect moment to maneuver between vehicles has proved vital on more than one occasion. For those who haven’t played arcade racers this is by no means a racing sim.
    The real challenge in Horizon Chase Turbo is to keep your collisions to a minimum. As you bounce back quite a bit every time that you bump into an opposing vehicle, giving them a little boost forward. This can mean the difference between bronze and gold, giving your opponent a huge advantage. Which leaves you in the dust, as your unlocks of levels and cars are tied to the amount of points earned in each race. Leaving you with significantly less if you don’t lock down first place.
    As you get gold in more races you’ll earn more points unlocking new locations on the map and new cars. Each country has one upgrade race and if you achieve the rank of 3rd place or higher your be able to choose one upgrade which will apply to all of cars you have unlocked thus far.
    As far as content goes, Horizon Chase Turbo has loads of countries each with enough races to keep you replaying time and time again looking for the gold, in order to unlock even more countries and more cars. Along the traditional World Tour mode is the tournament mode and new to the game with the Switch release, Playground mode, a selection of friend and online ranked races with different twists and difficulty levels that will have bi-weekly seasons, for ongoing trash talking.
    As the game is a throwback to earlier generations of gaming, the well designed low poly models feel incredibly arcadey with a modern touch. As beautiful as many of the levels look contextually, they fall a little short as the environmental effects do very little to affect the way that you drive. Driving the same on a snow covered road, feels the same as a dirt covered road, feels the same as driving on pavement. Throwback or not, It would really add the the replayability if each environment truly made a difference in the way that you race.
    Horizon Chase Turbo plays great on the Nintendo Switch and does support couch co-op with up to four players including single joycon support.
    Horizon Chase Turbo is a very good retro racer with tons of content, creative new modes for replayability, and a nostalgically modern artstyle. If you are a racing game fan, then you should waste no time getting into this low poly world.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2018
    10
    Awesome portability! Nostalgic sound track, Beautiful graphics and outstanding game play! There is only one world to describe Horizon on Switch, INCREDIBLE! If you love top gear, this game is a "must have" one!
  7. Apr 9, 2019
    9
    It’s a gem of a game; a glorious, deliberate throwback to the halcyon days of arcade racers that didn’t need to take themselves too seriously to be fun. Dare I say it? Yeah, I dare: Horizon Chase Turbo is top gear.
  8. May 19, 2019
    9
    Horizon Chase Turbo is finally a retro style driving game that doesn't rely on pixel art. I was shocked at just how many courses they have that all look different. Vibrant colors, it looks great and the fact that there's steer helping makes the game easier and more accessible. I was hesitant about the price, but it's probably the only retro style indie driving game worth the money for itsHorizon Chase Turbo is finally a retro style driving game that doesn't rely on pixel art. I was shocked at just how many courses they have that all look different. Vibrant colors, it looks great and the fact that there's steer helping makes the game easier and more accessible. I was hesitant about the price, but it's probably the only retro style indie driving game worth the money for its content and style.

    All courses seem to be closed circuit. Hitting things won't take you out of the action for more than a brief second. After playing other retro arcade driving games, this was a joy to play, because the others manage to mess it up in some way, with a complex driving mechanic, ads everywhere, grinding, or an endless course that gets dull once you've played it once.
    Expand
  9. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    Simplesmente sensacional.
    Muito gostoso de jogar. Gráficos simples mas bem feitos. Músicas ótimas.
  10. Jan 15, 2019
    9
    Muy buen juego, recupera la gloria de los juegos de carreras árcade, muy buena jugabilidad, el soundtrack es perfecto. es un juego extenso, con buenos diseños de pistas, desbloqueo de mejoras y autos, diferentes sistemas de juego y con mucha rejugabilidad. No lo jugué en otras consolas pero poder jugar en cualquier lugar una carrera a gran velocidad gracias a la potabilidad del Switch meMuy buen juego, recupera la gloria de los juegos de carreras árcade, muy buena jugabilidad, el soundtrack es perfecto. es un juego extenso, con buenos diseños de pistas, desbloqueo de mejoras y autos, diferentes sistemas de juego y con mucha rejugabilidad. No lo jugué en otras consolas pero poder jugar en cualquier lugar una carrera a gran velocidad gracias a la potabilidad del Switch me hacen creer que es la mejor versión. Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2019
    8
    Arcade-style racing game, which is inspired by the classic OutRun, including the soundtrack director of that game. Recommended to fans of the genre, the only thing to note is the difficulty that gets high and can cause you to give up the game even before reaching 50% of the total.
  12. Apr 26, 2020
    9
    O jogo é nostálgico, divertido e bonito. Excelente releitura de um clássico. Só faltou um modo online pra levar 10.
  13. Jun 11, 2020
    8
    It's a fun and well polished racing game, with great controls, nice visuals, fairly challenging AI and a good amount of content considering it's range of price. With many hours into it, I haven't encountered any FPS drops. I'm a bit dissapointed when it comes to the music chosen for this game. The pool feels fairly small and repetitive. And I would love to see more (more epic, moreIt's a fun and well polished racing game, with great controls, nice visuals, fairly challenging AI and a good amount of content considering it's range of price. With many hours into it, I haven't encountered any FPS drops. I'm a bit dissapointed when it comes to the music chosen for this game. The pool feels fairly small and repetitive. And I would love to see more (more epic, more energizing) music implemted via update or DLC Expand
  14. Jun 22, 2020
    9
    It's Perfect but... Switch version, sometimes its performance goes down, it seems to freeze or the FPS drop.
    Old school style racing game, better graphics. A little frustrating at higher levels, like the old games. Its a very good game. With DLC is better.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 17, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Jan 29, 2019
    90
    Horizon Chase Turbo is chocked full of cars and tracks, and numerous variations on all of the above. Not only does the Brazilian developer Aquiris bring quantity, but it also brings impeccable quality. This high-level slew of content, finesse and masterful, fast-paced racing, perfectly captures the true essence of any racing title. Anyone looking for a racer on the Nintendo Switch, should automatically consider this without any hesitation.
  3. Jan 14, 2019
    80
    Horizon Chase Turbo’s modern take on the arcade Outrun racer is a fast and fun colour-drenched experience barely diminished by a few crashes along the way.