Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    70
    Odds are you've already experienced it for yourself in the past eight years, but just in case you haven't, it might be worth a shot. [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 21]
  2. Jul 30, 2018
    70
    LIMBO presents itself with a unique art style which has a beauty of its own. Thanks to its style, high quality puzzles and challenging difficulty, LIMBO is a marvel of a game, which could be even better if its experience lasted longer and did not really as much on trial and error as it does.
  3. Jul 23, 2018
    70
    Limbo runs perfectly fine on the Switch and still looks great, even in handheld. It is even already very reasonably priced. If you’ve somehow missed this notable indie title now is a great time to see what you’ve been missing. At the very least it would hopefully encourage you to buy Inside afterward.
  4. Jul 18, 2018
    70
    While it might not seem as amazing now as it did 8 years ago, Playdead’s iconic platformer is more than worth playing through once. If you haven’t yet had that chance – like I did – I don’t see any reason why your introduction to the game shouldn’t be on Nintendo Switch, too.
  5. 70
    Its striking monochrome art style and juxtaposition of atmospheric peacefulness with wince-inducing violence lends to a dreamlike quality that is utterly entrancing. The first few hours of this game had me terrified, wondering how the environment was going to turn against me in ever more creative and depraved ways. I loved the graphics and music which still manage to feel unique despite the game’s age. For the puzzles and atmosphere alone, Limbo is worth a try. Once the ordeal is over however, I found myself wishing for a larger narrative to delve into, or a deeper exploration of themes that the game teased but never fully committed to.
  6. 70
    Whether you end up enjoying your brief journey through the world of Limbo will be subjective. It’s a akin to an expressionist painting, for some it will come across as beautiful experience greater than what you can see, while for the rest it may just seem boring and relying too heavily on artistic impression. I fall somewhere in the middle, I enjoyed the experience but as a video game, it was just a bit too simple for me.
  7. Aug 10, 2018
    50
    Limbo’s idea of a challenge is to lure you into false solutions until you happen upon the one that works, that is to say, if it works within the parameters of your limited movement. But the harsh truth is that trial and error is actually quite easy once you accept its inevitability. In fact, at that point it even manages to be minimally frustrating. The real issue is that it’s just so overwhelmingly dull, so mentally unstimulating, akin to floating in some kind of... limbo. Hm.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 84
  2. Negative: 3 out of 84
  1. Jul 1, 2018
    10
    This has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch.This has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch. I have played this game on IOS, XBOX 360, and WINDOWS 10 but this is the best one yet! The controls are great, the way they display it is something to be framed, and the ending leaves you questioning and theorizing. This is a must have for Switch owners!

    Controls: 10
    Style: 10
    Music: (None (But none needed))
    Ending: 10
    Overall : 10
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2018
    9
    If you like solving puzzle in a 2d game, then Limbo is the game for you. the environment is this game is something special. I played it onIf you like solving puzzle in a 2d game, then Limbo is the game for you. the environment is this game is something special. I played it on Xbox one and loved it . with switch you can bring this game anywhere you want to. when you done with this 6-8 hours game, try to complete it without dying ! Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2022
    8
    Really good puzzles .................................................................................................