Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 94
  2. Negative: 0 out of 94
Buy On
  1. Oct 28, 2019
    73
    The control, however, has more B-movie quality. The key mapping made sure that I would have hurled my controller against some of the boss fights against the wall. Although I got used to it over time, it would have been even better if the keys had been assigned differently from the start.
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    Luigi's latest adventure is an adorable and well-made game that is far more diverse than we first thought. Exploring the hotel sometimes feels as extensive as the usual Super Mario adventure, instead of the brief experiences that preceded it. In addition, Luigi's arsenal has grown and with the help of Gooigi we also get a whole new way to deal with the many puzzles the hotel offers. But above all, it's the variety of ghosts and their surroundings that makes Luigi's Mansion 3 one of the most entertaining adventures this fall, despite some tricky controlling methods.
  3. Edge Magazine
    Nov 10, 2019
    70
    Then it interrupts the action for a bit of brazen padding, inviting you to trudge back through earlier floors to track the spectral pawprints of an elusive cat, and you wonder if you were right first time. [Issue#339, p.96]
  4. Nov 8, 2019
    70
    Luigi's Mansion 3 is charming and gets more challenging by the level, but its boring ghost-fighting and money-collection-focused gameplay gets old fairly soon.
  5. Oct 28, 2019
    70
    Luigi’s Mansion’s 3 is my kind of haunted house — a place that’s more funny than scary. For anyone who likes Nintendo games of the Mushroom Kingdom variety there are many reasons to book a stay.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 28, 2019
    The most “Nintendo” game from Nintendo in years.
  2. Nov 1, 2019
    These fights are where the game’s most obvious issue – its controls – also rears its head every now and then. Those controls are much, much better than they were on 3DS, but still remain a bit tricky when playing portably. However, despite a few niggling frustrations when fighting key bosses, they never really tarnish what is a wonderful slapstick delight housed in Nintendo’s most exquisitely detailed location in years.
  3. Oct 28, 2019
    A new spin on the series sees Next Level Games serve up character and charm in abundance. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  4. Oct 28, 2019
    It’s the sheer variety of experiences in Luigi’s Mansion 3 that keeps it entertaining throughout. While you might at first think you’re in for a repetitive time as you go through the first few floors and find nothing but standard hotel rooms, things get quite unexpected as you continue higher and higher. While it doesn’t reinvent the wheel, it’s a solid take on a series that hasn’t had many entries over the last nearly 20 years. Mostly, it’s just nice to see that Luigi is indeed alive, and not dead.
  5. Oct 28, 2019
    Boss fights are a small sliver of the Luigi’s Mansion 3 experience. Each level is a complex onion of ideas to peel back, layer by layer. Next Level Games continues its strong tradition of granting Luigi far more depth than his superstar older brother, even if he is always doomed to keep getting scared for our enjoyment.
  6. Oct 31, 2019
    Luigi’s Mansion 3 is part of a rare breed of slapstick comedy games, joining the likes of the ridiculous Octodad. Its humor doesn’t come from witty writing or great jokes; it’s enjoyable exclusively because it’s fun watching Luigi suffer.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 502 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 502
  1. Oct 31, 2019
    10
    This game has everything from the previous games and adds some new elements that make this game unique. The level of detail in the graphics isThis game has everything from the previous games and adds some new elements that make this game unique. The level of detail in the graphics is perfect.
    A must hace for nintendo fans
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 31, 2019
    10
    Wow, this game is brillant : great graphic, gameplay is fun. story is funny. soundtrack is great
  3. Oct 31, 2019
    10
    Spoiler free review: What a fantastic title. To preface this review, I have not finished this title. I will update this review with finalSpoiler free review: What a fantastic title. To preface this review, I have not finished this title. I will update this review with final thoughts when I have completed the game.

    Luigi’s mansion 3 expands on every aspect of its predecessors, highlighting how fun campaign driven games still are in modern gaming.

    I first remember playing Luigi’s mansion on GameCube around release. Sat with my Dad and my twin brother, we played one of the most charming and fun Nintendo titles late into the evenings. It was a fantastic albeit short playthrough, and since then I have replayed the campaign multiple times. Luigi’s mansion 3 truly rekindles these memories and reminds me why as a series it is just plain fun.

    The graphics are a great step up from when they were first showed off a year ago, and are quite impressive on the switch hardware. Having said that I have noticed a few frame dips when the game is saving, and in areas where there are a lot of assets on screen. This happens very rarely however and did not takeaway from the experience. One thing that really impressed me was the physics engine. I had so much fun just vacuuming jack o lanterns to see how shadows were cast, or seeing polterpup leaving a ghostly mark as he flies through walls. Very clever.

    The lighting and texture effects are very impressive too, and there appears to be a lot of game for your money here. Introducing Co-op using Gooigi also works really well, and feels like a natural progression for the series. Sucking up ghosts, picking up a hundred floating dollar bills, and Luigi’s comedic dialogue is just as fun as it all used to be. This is Nintendo at its best.
    Full Review »