Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 110 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 110
  2. Negative: 1 out of 110
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jul 6, 2021
    74
    Good, not great. Fun yet frustrating. Scratching the itch while giving me athlete's foot. The new modes feel rushed and not completely thought out to be much more than a stunt. The game feels balanced when choosing which character to play, and the adventure mode will easily fill in the void of playing by yourself, just don't go looking for a gripping story. Mario Golf: Super Rush tees it off, but has the ball landing in the rough.
  2. Jun 24, 2021
    73
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is an interesting and fun take on golf, but the adventure mode is lazy and could have delivered way more.
  3. Jul 29, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf Super Rush feels rushed. There are no bones about it. I feel like they could make it a great game over time with more content, but I worry the tail of this particular game won’t be as long as some other Nintendo titles. You wonder how much the pandemic was involved in its lack of content, but for the first time in a long time this feels like a $40 Nintendo game, and that just never happens.
  4. Jul 20, 2021
    70
    There were times during my playthrough of Mario Golf: Super Rush where I really got into the fun of golf, analysing the details of a course and fist-bumping the air when a shot went exactly like I planned it. But these moments were bogged down by a lack of content and a truly disappointing single-player campaign. Super Rush might appeal to some, but for the majority of Switch owners, I’d recommend skipping Mario’s latest trip to the links.
  5. Jul 15, 2021
    70
    On balance, I’m still glad that Adventure Mode is there, giving something with at least a little bit of substance for solo players, but Mario Golf is a party game first and foremost, and Super Rush is no exception. But as a party game, it’s great: the sheer frivolity of Super Mario’s more playful spin on golf makes playing with friends a joy, with plenty of creative courses and neat modes like Speed Golf and Battle Golf to really dial up the fun.
  6. Jul 12, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush makes a desperate shot to score a newer, bigger audience by making the fundamentals easier, and the competition faster than ever. The adventure mode has its own unpredictable story, there’s a zany charm to becoming your own cart in Speed Golf, and Battle Golf adds a level of tactics previously unseen in the typically quiet sport. There just aren’t many ways to show these modes off, making it a tricky investment unless you’re a dedicated pro or always ready to hit the links with friends and family.
  7. Jul 10, 2021
    70
    Full of Nintendo charm but lacking in content, this is an easy to play but hard to recommend the title. Unless you have at least two more friends to play and share the price of the game with.
  8. Jul 7, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf Super Rush is competent, and it shows flashes of creativity in its Speed Golf and Battle Golf modes, but the package ultimately loses momentum a little too quickly. Still, with friends it's a blast, so if you've got a good group of friends that're ready to don some plaid plumber's overalls you're in luck.
  9. Jul 6, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is not some life-changing experience, but just like Mario Kart or Mario Party you can expect a fun party game for the whole family.
  10. Jul 6, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush may eventually be a great game, but for now it has to settle for being a good one. The new modes help liven up the gameplay in a way that some players are sure to enjoy, and the Golf Adventure gives you something to do beyond the usual stuff. I can take or leave the new swing meter, but I can easily imagine opinions being all over the board on that point. Ultimately, however, I can’t ignore the relative lack of courses and online options available in this launch version of the game. You’ll have a good time going on tour here, but you could have an even better time by picking up the Nintendo 3DS game.
  11. 70
    While it may not be the best entry in the series, Nintendo has at least managed to make par with Mario Golf: Super Rush by offering the core arcade style golfing experience players come to expect alongside some enjoyable new game types that will hopefully continue to get even better with future updates.
  12. Jul 5, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is a good game with lots of great things going for him, but it can fell too shallow at times, both in the Adventure mode and the the single and multiplayer modes.
  13. Jul 3, 2021
    70
    A lack of content holds Mario Golf Super Rush back, but purely mechanically and in terms of design, it stands as one of Mario's best sports game outings in a very long time.
  14. 70
    For anyone who came to Mario Golf to play golf, Super Rush is greatly lacking. I'll be willing to grit my teeth and buy the DLC if that's what it takes to get this game up to par, but Nintendo's going to need to at least double the number of courses to get it there, and at the time of writing there only seem to be four new courses on the roadmap (though they are, at least, going to be free). It's still not going to be enough to return Mario Golf to that pedestal that it once had on the N64 and Game Boy Color.
  15. Jun 30, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is a solid hit for the Mario Golf franchise. It’s probably as fluid as it has ever been. It plays very well and is really easy to pick up, even for people who have never touched a golfing video game. Unfortunately, it falls short in terms of content, which only really allows it to be enjoyed in bursts.
  16. Jun 30, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is a pretty good golf game packed with a good amount of content. The only problem is that most of that new content gets boring fast, and an uneven presentation doesn't help.
  17. Jun 29, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush strengthens the core gameplay with its faster pace and strong fundamentals, but the barebones package will likely leave players wanting more. Even with the additions of Speed and Battle Golf that offer fun alternatives to the traditional mode, the lack of a reliable online multiplayer experience and a mediocre story campaign leaves little for a solo player to get invested in without some local friends to play with. Super Rush has clearly put a focus on quality over quantity, with its stellar presentation and refined mechanics making it another excellent entry in the series that diehards are sure to enjoy. But until the technical issues get ironed out and more DLC characters and courses get added on down the line, Super Rush will have a hard time standing alongside some of the Switch’s other multiplayer juggernauts.
  18. Jun 29, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is a golf simulator, that doesn't take itself seriously. This makes the game very pleasant. What is more, the game introduces some innovations to the formula which makes it feel pretty complete. It's a pity that Mario Golf is a "party game" focused heavily on 4-person competitive play.
  19. Jun 28, 2021
    70
    Despite the mulligans I wish Mario Golf: Super Rush could take, it’s still a strongly delivered game any fan of party games and party sport simulators in particular can enjoy alone or with friends.
  20. Jun 28, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf Super Rush lives up to its title; everything feels a little uncooked and rushed. The Adventure Mode is meant to be the tentpole feature, but I just wanted it to be over and have everything unlocked. The new modes, Speed Golf and Battle Golf, are fun with real people, as is the rest of the game. Super Rush is fun with a group of friends, either in person or online, but lacking for everyone else. the game has some fun ideas but fails to sink the putt on so many others.
  21. Jun 28, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf Super Rush remains easy to pick up and play, but it’s lacking the final coat of polish we expect from Nintendo games, and is light on content for a full priced Switch game. It’s a Mario sport game that can be picked up and played by a wide audience, but has positioned itself to only really appeal to dedicated fans of Mario Golf.
  22. Jun 25, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is a good return, very fun and fulfilling for the game with friends and online competition. It's a shame that he remains somewhat bland alone, with a story mode that is no more than compliant.
  23. Gamer.nl
    Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Thanks to a combination of deep golf mechanics and chaotic gameplay, Mario Golf: Super Rush is especially good as a multiplayer game. It lacks creative solo content and jobs that exploit the possibilities of the Mushroom Kingdom.
  24. Power Unlimited
    Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Standard golf and the RPG mode make this new Mario Golf well worth the effort. The Rush aspects are a nice, if not superfluous, addition. Not being able to play with four players on one system is ridiculous and destroys all party potential.
  25. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    We were expecting more.
  26. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    With three radically different styles of play and some seriously inventive courses, Mario Golf: Super Rush is a compellingly original sports game. Speed Golf and Battle Golf actively make you adapt to wildly different conditions while balancing technique and speediness. The three-click swing system still feels great, though if you desire an accurate motion-controlled golf game, this isn’t it. Golf Adventure curiously lacks a conventional tournament structure or record keeping, which actively dissuaded me from ever wanting to revisit it. Super Rush isn’t the best entry in the series, but it’s a worthy addition.
  27. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is a game that in many respects hits its marks. Golf Adventure has plenty of charm and offers a fun way to learn various mechanics and unlock courses. Away from that solo endeavour there are decent options and customisation for multiplayer games, local or online, button controls or motion-based swinging. It's not a premium effort, however, with a nagging feeling of corners cut and at times an absence of creativity. However, many players should get a good amount of fun out of this one, both solo and with friends. This ain't the Masters, but for Mario Golf fans it is a solid par.
  28. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    It's great to see Mario Golf: Speed Rush reviving another Mario sports franchise for Nintendo Switch, but it's a game that feels that restrained in some places and muddled in others. The Adventure mode loses its focus half way through, and it lacks course variety, but underneath it all, this is still a fun, accessible and often frantic golf game that is easy to enjoy.
  29. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Mario Golf: Super Rush manages to be a mostly enjoyable experience but feels undercooked compared to its predecessors.
  30. Jul 6, 2021
    69
    With everything above said, there’s an obvious draw here in it just being a Mario game, which alone will pull people to it. And there’s some fun to be had, and Nintendo gets a lot right with it, we just need the gimmicks and party favours turned down. Invincibility Star isn’t a number, so dialling the game up to that just isn’t something we can tune into on the reg. Especially given golf on its own merits is a game of strategy and patience, that can still be fast and fun without needing addressive rolling rocks impeding your path all the time.
  31. Jul 7, 2021
    67
    This is a quality effort by Nintendo and Camelot. The series’ whimsy is here in spades and whether played solo or with friends, Super Rush offers hours of fun. Plus, I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the killer golf uniforms that much (although sadly not all) of the cast is sporting. (Jakks Pacific should keep these new looks in mind for future toys.) There is something lacking when looking at the game as a whole, however, with the blame spread evenly across the small roster, limited course options, and underwhelming absence of online rankings and tourneys. Super Rush is no hole-in-one, but it hits for par at the very least and will only keep getting better as it’s expanded upon with DLC in the coming months.
  32. Jun 30, 2021
    67
    The moments where everything comes together and the game genuinely feels fun are far too rare. Obviously, given it’s from Nintendo, you know that Mario Golf: Super Rush will be competently made, and you could never describe it as a bad game. But there’s a difference between not bad, and genuinely good or enjoyable — and it’s a gulf that Mario Golf: Super Rush never quite manages to get out of.
  33. Jul 9, 2021
    65
    Mario Golf Super Rush has solid golf mechanics, but a lack of content and charisma transform it into an unforgettable experience.
  34. Jul 9, 2021
    65
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is still a fairly solid golf experience, but it will need some of that aforementioned post-launch support to match up with previous sports spinoffs for me. It satisfies a craving for some arcade-style golf multiplayer, and I can see myself having some fun playing an 18-hole trek with friends online a few more times. I’m just hoping for some more reasons to keep me coming back.
  35. Jul 2, 2021
    65
    In truth, I wish Mario Golf: Super Rush was a bit zanier. The dash mechanic and the Super Shots are fine, but I can’t help thinking that the courses could have been a bit more whimsical than, say, the arid landscape of Balmy Dunes.
  36. Jun 30, 2021
    65
    As the first Mario Golf series game on a home console in almost 20 years, my expectations were high. While I smile seeing my favorite plumber tee off, Mario Golf: Super Rush admittedly lacks some polish I’d expect from Nintendo-published software. It’s also heavily focused on gimmicks, though standard golf presents a fun simulation-lite alternative to PGA Tour. But, the overall package is mixed and not “content-packed” as advertised, at least for solo players. Like Mario Tennis before it, some tweaks, additional content, and a sale would make this a wiser purchase.
  37. 65
    Despite its short-comings, Golf Adventure is a wonderful iteration of past Mario sports RPG modes, and it stands as a definite highlight within a mediocre golf bag of lie-filled scorecards and broken tees. Mario Golf: Super Rush takes years of practice at the driving range and blasts a tee shot into the air, only to see it curve far to the right and into an unsuspecting water hazard. It should have been a culmination of the home and handheld versions of Mario Golf, and instead it largely squanders that potential. Only time will tell if content drops for the game will bring it up to par. For now, you’ll have to play it as it lies.
  38. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 17, 2022
    60
    Speed Golf is undoubtedly the main attraction of the game and it is a pity that other modes aren´t also so good.
  39. Sep 11, 2021
    60
    Mario Golf: Super Rush brings some genuinely fun and unique ideas to the franchise. Unfortunately they just don’t seem to have lived up to their potential just yet. The upcoming DLC could make this game a lot better, but it shouldn’t need to. It’s a shame because there is a really great game hidden somewhere in here, and there is no doubt it can make for a really fun game night. But, as is, Mario Golf: Super Rush doesn’t seem to have the longevity and replayability that you might come to expect from a Nintendo title, especially a game with Mario at the helm.
  40. Jul 27, 2021
    60
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is a well-made and entertaining sports game that shows that Nintendo and Camelot learned their lesson after the content-poor Mario Tennis: Ultra Smash. We especially appreciate the new "Speed golf" mode, which gives the sport a dynamic touch that is otherwise difficult to find. However, we do miss some elements from previous games, such as minigolf and gameplay changing items to use during the rounds.
  41. Jul 16, 2021
    60
    This new incarnation brings an updated audiovisual field and an adventure mode with RPG elements, as well as online multiplayer and two very welcome new game modes, known as Speed Golf and Battle Golf. Nevertheless, this latest effort feels more like an update than a new game - longtime fans of the series won't find too much to discover here, and the game's adventure mode feels too drab and empty. There are also online performance flaws that need to be corrected.
  42. Jul 13, 2021
    60
    Ideally, the game would have some sort of asynchronous multiplayer system that I could compete in so I could compare my performance to my friends whenever they get around to playing. The 3DS game had tournaments that worked that way, but this does not. I want to call that omission baffling, but it’s not. Nintendo did not make this game for me. And that is leaving me wondering if I’m ever going to pick it up again. I suspect that I will not even though I still liked it while I was playing it. Or, at least, I won’t pick it up again until my young kids are old enough to care about a golf video game so I have someone to play with.
  43. Jul 7, 2021
    60
    I’ve had a lot of fun with it, both chipping away at Adventure Golf on the train and playing a few rounds with the kids at home. But it is forgettable for a Nintendo game, meaning it isn’t long before you move onto other things. The recently released Clap Hanz Golf on iOS, for instance, which has the kind of oomph that an arcade golf game should have. And the kind Mario Golf: Super Rush is curiously lacking.
  44. Jul 6, 2021
    60
    The newest Mario Golf game is both competent and colourful, but a distinct lack of varied courses and sometimes stiff gameplay makes for an experience that's best enjoyed in small doses.
  45. Jul 6, 2021
    60
    While the core of Mario Golf is fantastic as always, there’s very little around it with Super Rush in either content or variety to keep players entertained. If you want to play a few holes with friends then this is everything you need, but anyone hoping to be blown away by new modes will find this latest release to be sadly just par for the course.
  46. 60
    Mario Golf: Super Rush is an underwhelming spin-off that lacks any sort of imagination but is still fun to play. Super Rush features accessible golfing mechanics that are easy to understand, with tutorials available at any time. There are some genuinely charming moments in the single-player Golf Adventure mode too, but they don't make up for the tedious progression system. The other modes such as Speed Golf are fun to play with a group of friends, but online performance is abysmal. If you are after another fun "party" game, then you may be interested in giving Mario Golf: Super Rush a spin, but this game could have been much more than what it is.
  47. Jun 30, 2021
    60
    As it stands, Mario Golf: Super Rush is an overall disappointment, especially for those already fond of the series and prefer solo play. Nintendo has stated that free updates will come to the game post-launch, though I don't suspect anything less than substantial new game modes will suffice in making this worth full retail cost. With some lacking graphical polish, an underwhelming single-player mode, and not much else to do, only those truly obsessed with the sport of golf will find immediate gratification. It's more like Mario Golf: Super Rushed.
  48. Jun 30, 2021
    60
    Mario Golf Super Rush is a fun way to spend a few hours with friends on the course, but it struggles to maintain any momentum after that. Adventure mode is short and a little dull, and while Speed Golf (and to a lesser extent, its Battle-based sibling) are fun, I found myself wishing there was more to see and do here.
  49. Jun 29, 2021
    60
    The focus on speed and chaos is what ultimately undoes Mario Golf: Super Rush. I would say that when it comes to Mario Golf, slow and steady wins the race, except this game has shown me that racing and golf don't really mix.
  50. Jun 29, 2021
    60
    Super Rush is a great party game but lacks replayability. If you can get past the XC golf portion of adventure mode, you’re bound to have a solid few hours of solo fun as well.
  51. Jun 28, 2021
    60
    On paper, Mario Golf: Super Rush should be a hole-in-one. The core golf experience has never been better and multiplayer modes like Speed Golf offer a clever twist on the formula for casual players. There’s just not much to do outside of its short, disappointing adventure mode. Free DLC should help pad it out in the long run, but an overall lack of content leaves the package in the semi-rough for now.
  52. Jun 24, 2021
    60
    The innovation of players running around after their shots is fun but you may find yourself longing for a leisurely stroll over the course.
  53. Jun 24, 2021
    60
    It’s the sort of arcadey sports experience that doesn’t really happen any more. Most sports games now are simulations – so I’m so glad to get another game that carries the spirit of older, arcadey, more silly sports games. The adventure mode’s shortcomings don’t dent that significantly enough to stop me from recommending Mario Golf: Super Rush – but just don’t go in expecting an all-time-great sports story mode.
  54. Jun 24, 2021
    60
    Speed Golf is a fun addition, but a poor adventure mode, a slight selection of courses and low replayability results in Mario Golf: Super Rush being an underwhelming entry into the series.
  55. Jun 24, 2021
    60
    Like Mario Tennis Aces before it, Super Rush gently caresses its traditional take on the sport it's simulating to a new, better-than-ever standard. But just like that older game, too, its exaggerated extra modes don't stand above the 'basic' experience of simply playing 18 holes as a superpowered plumber.
  56. Jun 24, 2021
    60
    Overall, Mario Golf: Super Rush has a few interesting ideas, but it fails to give any meaningful purpose to most of its content.
  57. Jun 24, 2021
    60
    Super Rush plays a great game of golf but is somewhat more restrained than other Mario Golf titles. Future DLC could potentially change this, but at launch it's merely entertaining, not essential.
  58. Jun 24, 2021
    60
    For the first home console game in the series in nearly two decades, Mario Golf: Super Rush is a bit underwhelming, at least in terms of what it has to offer. Speed Golf and Battle Golf are both great ideas, but they aren’t fleshed out enough to feel like main modes. Golf Adventure is a great way to add depth to what basically amounts to an extended tutorial, but it too suffers from pacing problems. Thankfully, the bulk of the game—the actual golfing—feels better than ever by being both technically challenging and more accessible.
  59. Jun 28, 2021
    58
    Mario Golf: Super Rush offers enjoyable mechanics for multiplayer matches but does nothing but disappoint those who want to go it alone.
  60. Jul 23, 2021
    50
    Mario Golf: Super Rush provides some of the gaming experience expected from Nintendo, with a sleek presentation and tight gameplay. There is no disputing this is an enjoyable, albeit brief, single-player golf game that provides the framework for a compelling gameplay experience. The lack of content — number of courses, weak online play, blink-and-you’ll-miss-it Adventure mode — is the real problem here. Mario sports and golf fans alike will find something to like, however briefly. RPGamers looking for a proper golf-RPG hybrid are still stuck on their old courses.
  61. Jul 22, 2021
    50
    Past Mario's sports games in many cases managed to get me interested in the real disciplines, but Mario Golf: Super Rush lacks inspiration and ability to inspire. Standard mode is an experience that can be satisfying, but everything else is forgettable.
  62. Jul 17, 2021
    50
    With too many shortcomings and technically out of it, Mario Golf Super Rush doesn't even shine through it's main feature. Big disappointment, it's a double bogey.
  63. Jun 30, 2021
    50
    Mario Golf: Super Rush isn’t an unplayable game. The core golf is actually quite good, despite some changes, which will have a mixed reception from players. Almost everything around it, however, is either poorly thought out, lacking any personality, or lacking in content. Perhaps down the line, more content will fill it out enough that you can have fun playing only the parts which work, but Camelot has a lot of work to do to get this one to par.
  64. Jun 28, 2021
    50
    If you’re a Nintendo apologist, like so many of us are, Super Rush is a game you’ll likely pick up to add to that ever-growing catalogue even if it is a swing and a miss. Please Nintendo, let the next game be a Strikers sequel and let it be good.
  65. Jun 24, 2021
    50
    Swings in multiple different directions without ever making a convincing impact. While Mario Golf: Super Rush isn't too rough in most places, it's just not on par compared to other recent golf games.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 24, 2021
    Nintendo and Camelot has created a new Mario Golf for Nintendo Switch. It is fun, it has an adventure mode and it also innovates with the quick golf matches. However, it also lacks contents to justify weeks and months of playing.
  2. Jun 25, 2021
    Running between shots can be chaotic fun, but Mario Golf truly lives in its ever-soothing standard mode. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  3. Jun 24, 2021
    But what I really like—what I love, even—is grabbing a character and a set of clubs and taking on a course on my own terms. Mario Golf: Super Rush might make many players feel the need for speed, but its chill, regular old golf game is pretty super in its own right. [Impressions]
  4. Jun 24, 2021
    I can’t imagine spending much time playing traditional golf in Super Rush. I have plenty of alternatives I could turn to for that. Mario Golf: Super Rush is the only game that lets me body-check Luigi on the way to notching a birdie on the 18th hole.
  5. Jun 29, 2021
    I couldn’t help but wish that more of the game had the same zany, Nintendo-like feel of battle golf. I wanted more oddball courses and modes, more chances to get into weird situations. Instead, the solid mechanics and colorful world are dragged down by a story mode with a bland story, and a sped-up version of golf that’s actually pretty slow. There’s still fun to be had, particularly with two people hitting balls on the same Switch. But while Super Rush gets the golf part right, it’s lacking what makes Super Mario games special.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 236
  2. Negative: 89 out of 236
  1. Jun 27, 2021
    4
    THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTE TRASH.

    THE BALL TRAJECTORY DOESN'T CHANGE WHEN SWITCHING CLUBS. YOU HAVE NO IDEA IF YOU ARE GOING TO CLEAR OBSTACLES
    THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTE TRASH.

    THE BALL TRAJECTORY DOESN'T CHANGE WHEN SWITCHING CLUBS. YOU HAVE NO IDEA IF YOU ARE GOING TO CLEAR OBSTACLES OR NOT.

    THEY USED TO HAVE THE C-STICK TO ZOOM ACROSS THE TRAJECTORY LINE WHICH IS GONE.

    TAUNTING... WHICH WAS IN THE N64 AND GC GOLF GAMES IS GONE.

    RUSH GOLF IS ABSOLUTELY BROKEN. IF YOU'RE A SLOWER CHARACTER IT'S AN AUTOMATIC LOSS.

    THEY TOOK MARIO GOLF TOADSTOOL TOUR AND GIMPED AND NERFED THE HELL OUT OF IT.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2021
    4
    What a downgrade... Take everything you know and love about other mario golf titles and remove the creativity and fun. What you're left withWhat a downgrade... Take everything you know and love about other mario golf titles and remove the creativity and fun. What you're left with is the generic, sterile, and boring golf game I've ever played. It feels more like wii sports golf with added mario characters. Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2021
    3
    I want to preface this with saying I’m a big Toadstool Tour fan. I love how much personality the characters have with their animations and theI want to preface this with saying I’m a big Toadstool Tour fan. I love how much personality the characters have with their animations and the silly things you can make them say. I love the level of control and accuracy you have that’s easy to understand and figure out. You’re able to control where on the ball you hit and able to put a topspin or backspin or even stronger variants. Super shots felt important and needed to be managed carefully. The aim of your shots are easy to figure out because you can follow the path of the shot and change it depending on the whole arc, giving fantastic control to the player.

    Super Rush falls short of every single one of these. Character animations are practically dead and there’s no way to make snarky comments when others are shooting. The time I spent with the game I tried to parse how to simply put a backspin on my shot, and the game just doesn’t tell you anything. The game pretends to give you control over putting a spin on the ball, but then rng kicks in and it’ll change what your spin is regardless of your input. Different clubs don’t seem to change shot arcs but instead just change distance, something you can already do with any club. Aiming is an absolute mess, your only tools are a birds eye view that doesn’t show depth at all and a “first person” aiming mode that barely controls at all.

    I would comment on the extra modes, but with how the game controls on the basest levels it just isn’t worth even getting into them. There’s a few neat multiplayer ideas but the single player possibilities are so sparse compared to the tournaments and challenges of older games. It’s to such an extent I don’t think the game could get course corrected even with patches, something that shouldn’t even be a requirement to ask for. As much as I want a good new Mario Golf game, this isn’t it. I’d recommend finding a copy of Toadstool Tour instead.
    Full Review »