Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
Buy On
  1. Edge Magazine
    Aug 16, 2018
    70
    For better and worse, Octopath Traveler manages to evoke the games its creators grew up with, without ever quite matching the profusion of new ideas that made them so beloved in the first place. There's still much to enjoy here, but if Acquire had shared the courage of its protagonists' convictions, this could have been a journey worth making eight times over. [Issue#323, p.104]
  2. games(TM)
    Aug 9, 2018
    70
    Beautiful, but hampered by lackluster storytelling. [Issue#203, p.76]
  3. Aug 1, 2018
    70
    Octopath Traveler delivers incredible music and engaging gameplay, but the play structure sometimes becomes a bit tiring, even though the stories themselves are interesting.
  4. Jul 12, 2018
    70
    Octopath Traveler is a gem of an RPG with genuinely brilliant battle mechanics and a world worthy of celebration, but it’s hamstrung by an ambitious structure that doesn’t suit its narrative ambition.
  5. Jul 12, 2018
    70
    I really want to love Ocopath Traveler, but the messy nature of its story presentation is ultimately an enormous weakness. That stands out, but this game is also truly one of the most intriguing evolutions of the 'golden age' RPG formula out of Japan, managing to both build on and pay homage to the classics.
  6. Jul 12, 2018
    70
    As gorgeous as it looks and sounds, Octopath Traveler is a disjointed mess of different features, mechanics and narratives that kind of work individually but not really together.
  7. Aug 8, 2018
    67
    If you’re just here for the combat and don’t mind a bad story, or if you’re looking to soak up the nostalgia of the golden age of the genre for hours on-end, there might be enough here to justify a purchase. It was perhaps too much to expect that Octopath Traveler would compete with the JRPG greats, as sadly it misses the mark in understanding the nuances of what made those titles so iconic.
  8. Aug 2, 2018
    60
    Octopath Traveler is a beautiful adventure that feels like the retro trip it desperately trying to be. But the design does very little to surprise us, the result being that the game starts to be very repetitive after ten hours or so.
  9. Jul 19, 2018
    60
    For a game whose title seems to promise a winding journey of deep and dangerous discoveries, Octopath Traveler goes out of its way to put you on the most predictable and comforting of paths.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 12, 2018
    Octopath Traveler is the kind of game that gets hand-waved aside as being for "the old school", but that's to overlook its charismatic innovations in battle and the curious, detached, even austere construction of its narrative. [Recommended]
  2. Jul 12, 2018
    Octopath Traveler is a beautiful game with one of the best soundtracks I’ve heard. The combat system rocks and will hopefully be used in more Square Enix games to come. There are plenty of good ideas in here. But the game is too grindy, too repetitive, too full of structural problems to be viewed as much more than another botched JRPG experiment.
  3. Jul 12, 2018
    Every element of Octopath Traveler comes together brilliantly to create a refreshing take on the genre. While it channels the spirit of old favorites, it never feels derivative. It genuinely does feel like a 16-bit RPG that has evolved into something new rather than being mere nostalgia-bait.
  4. Jul 20, 2018
    Octopath Traveler is exactly the kind of JRPG I’ve been needing. Yes please!
  5. Jul 12, 2018
    In almost every regard, Octopath Traveler has exactly what I want from a classic-style role-playing experience. It offers a huge world to explore, memorable characters to discover, challenging boss battles, and a complex series of systems that let you customize your explorers. And it’s a perfect fit for the Nintendo Switch, as you can absentmindedly grind for experience on the go and then soak in the beautiful visuals and soundtrack on your couch. It’s classic Final Fantasy reimagined for 2018. I just wish it felt more cohesive.
  6. Jul 12, 2018
    Octopath Traveler is a delightful JRPG that takes plentiful inspiration from the classics that inspired it while carving a new path with fun, inventive ideas I’ve never seen before. Its satisfying and methodical combat system is complimented by a world that’s brimming with life. Whether its through its sprawling cities of richly written characters, there’s plenty here for hardcore and casual fans of the genre to appreciate.
  7. Jul 12, 2018
    A beautiful, challenging and often utterly brilliant throwback to the golden age of Japanese RPGs that somehow scuppers its chances of being a true classic through an ambitious but ultimately flawed narrative structure.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jul 13, 2018
    10
    Played a fair amount of the game as of now. The character designs, stories, and graphics are what make Octopath Traveler the unique game thatPlayed a fair amount of the game as of now. The character designs, stories, and graphics are what make Octopath Traveler the unique game that it is. I have yet to complete the entire game but I am excited to dive further into the game and learn more about the different paths you take within the game. A must have for any JRPG fan and I highly recommend giving this game a try (Try the demo) even if you haven't played/like JRPGs. I'm sure it'll change your mind. A great quality game from a great quality company. Hope to see more gems like this in the future. Full Review »
  2. Jul 15, 2018
    6
    Unfortunately, the biggest flaw with this game is the fact that you're not playing 1 overaching story with 8 contributing paths, but 8Unfortunately, the biggest flaw with this game is the fact that you're not playing 1 overaching story with 8 contributing paths, but 8 parallel paths that really don't have much to do with each other and literally no interaction between the characters. You're not playing with a party of adventurers so much as a group of strangers silently hanging out together. In a game that gets half of its merit from story alone, this is a bit of a failure. The characters by themselves are fairly interesting with decent stories to them, but that just makes the lack of connection all the more frustrating.

    However, If you're looking for old school JRPG, that's what you're getting. But beware, there have been A LOT of "quality of life" upgrades RPGs have gained over the years that this game deliberately leaves out, to be more like the older games. Fights are very repetitive, menus are needlessly complex, the story is slow, and you're going to have to grind A LOT. If you're looking for all of that, which is what us older folks knew growing up, you'll be pleased. If you're a youngin' whipper snapper, this probably isn't the game for you. As an adult that grew up on these games with relatively little free time now, I'm torn. I want to like this, but I don't want to devote my life to it and the failing of the story to unite these individually interesting characters really ruins the momentum I had to play it. Buy at your own risk.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 13, 2018
    0
    Got this game yesterday, so one day early, and yeah I don’t like the game so much. As much as the graphics are supposed to be nostalgic, andGot this game yesterday, so one day early, and yeah I don’t like the game so much. As much as the graphics are supposed to be nostalgic, and it isn’t made for everyone, I just don’t like the graphics at all. The game really isn’t as fun as everyone else was hyping it up to be. The fault is mine, I should’ve tried the demo first. Wish I would’ve saved my money Full Review »