User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2019
    9
    DISGUSTING... IS... BEAUTIFUL? I would love to say it's an 8.5, but that's not an option and it's NOT AN 8. As far as rougelikes go, this is absolutely different & so GORGEOUS. This game reminds me of what a game of the movie FREAKED (1993) meets Stanger Things would be. I'm sorry guys, I wish I could say this is one to save money on, BUT THIS ISN'T ONE TO SKIP, this is one to play andDISGUSTING... IS... BEAUTIFUL? I would love to say it's an 8.5, but that's not an option and it's NOT AN 8. As far as rougelikes go, this is absolutely different & so GORGEOUS. This game reminds me of what a game of the movie FREAKED (1993) meets Stanger Things would be. I'm sorry guys, I wish I could say this is one to save money on, BUT THIS ISN'T ONE TO SKIP, this is one to play and tell your friends about! That's because somehow this gem has managed to stay under the radar. Get your freak on, Get'cha, get'cha, get'cha freak on! Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2019
    10
    Don't listen to the bad reviews for Switch! The game is very fun, completely unique, and it is perfect for on the go! I really enjoy playing it and seeing what different mutation my character will get next. It may not look as good graphically as the other consoles, but the portability factor made me buy it on Switch. Turn off the CRT in display option and it looks better. It is definatelyDon't listen to the bad reviews for Switch! The game is very fun, completely unique, and it is perfect for on the go! I really enjoy playing it and seeing what different mutation my character will get next. It may not look as good graphically as the other consoles, but the portability factor made me buy it on Switch. Turn off the CRT in display option and it looks better. It is definately worth checking out for $20. I'm not a big rogue like person, but I can't stop playing it! Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2019
    8
    One of the more intriguing rogue-likes I’ve played recently. Good amount of challenge and a wide variety of playstyles once you’ve become comfortable with the early mutations. RNG is a factor but not prominent for a successful run. Story is pretty standard and nothing to write home about but sets the tone for the game ahead and who doesn’t like the 80s. Some kids playing this game willOne of the more intriguing rogue-likes I’ve played recently. Good amount of challenge and a wide variety of playstyles once you’ve become comfortable with the early mutations. RNG is a factor but not prominent for a successful run. Story is pretty standard and nothing to write home about but sets the tone for the game ahead and who doesn’t like the 80s. Some kids playing this game will have no idea what a floppy disk is haha. Enemies are fair and I’ve found once you have learned attack tells and patterns, it gets easier. Still proves tricky in large groups of mobs though. Bosses I’ve encountered so far are basically just large version of enemies with one or two attack patterns with large AOE attacks. Enemy design is ok, pretty much what you’d expect from a post-post-apocalyptic setting. Each run does feel different from the last
    I’ve read complaints of graphics being bad compared to other console editions. To be honest the graphics haven’t put a dent in the gameplay for me and it still looks pretty. There are however a few minor frame-rate drops when things get hectic on screen but this doesn’t happen often – Usually drops when you activate respirators.
    I’ve currently played about 20 hrs and have only made it to level 6. Overall a good solid game and I want to see it through. 8/10
    Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2019
    8
    Without a doubt, this game is RAD...and, like, actually rad. While some people have complained that the graphics are a bit blurry, they're honestly not that bad especially when one considers the hardware it's running one. The slight fuzziness isn't at all amiss in this 80's-esque bizarro apocalypse. The gameplay is engrossing once you get the rhythm down. There is quite a lot of fun to beWithout a doubt, this game is RAD...and, like, actually rad. While some people have complained that the graphics are a bit blurry, they're honestly not that bad especially when one considers the hardware it's running one. The slight fuzziness isn't at all amiss in this 80's-esque bizarro apocalypse. The gameplay is engrossing once you get the rhythm down. There is quite a lot of fun to be had here and at fair price no less! Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. NF Magazine
    Apr 28, 2020
    65
    A hit-and-miss mix painted up in '80s neon. It's not bad – just not as rad as it could've been. [Issue #42 – October 2019, p. 25]
  2. Oct 28, 2019
    40
    Had the development team put together a point-and-click adventure or platformer set in this world, it would have been much more enjoyable. Because we could focus on a story, we could investigate, see the causes of mutations and inspect why life has been reduced to this ramshackle society. Instead, we’re used to dying in the wastes before being recycled ad infinitum. And what grates the most, is that I wanted to love this game. It has ideas, it has scope, but everything is hidden beneath a smudged ‘CRT’ veneer.
  3. Sep 25, 2019
    80
    RAD is an excellent roguelike, that oozes the signature Double Fine charm from its terrifyingly mutated pores. Beautiful art direction from Lee Petty’s team and solid replay value from the extensive combination of powers each run make it extremely worthwhile.