Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    100
    Thoroughbred RPG in which you fight by exercising and which forces you to train regularly. Great idea and realization. [Issue#301]
  2. Oct 24, 2019
    100
    Another innovative showcase of the Joy-Con working with the new Ring-Con accessory, the fun-packed RPG mechanics makes Ring Fit Adventure the perfect gateway to fitness for gamers.
  3. Oct 18, 2019
    100
    Ring Fit Adventure is not just an excellent fitness game, but the perfect companion to achieving a healthy lifestyle. Between making exercise fun and enjoyable with the battle system and innovative traversal options, and the regular tips and advice that it gives, Ring Fit Adventure is constantly working towards helping you better yourself physically, one day at a time. A must-have for gamers of every fitness level.
  4. May 8, 2020
    95
    As someone who spent their entire life being extremely athletic and active, I love being back in the swing of things again. I actually look forward to my Ring Fit workout everyday. I feel like people of all fitness levels can hop into this game and benefit from it. When I started this back in January I was as out of shape as it comes, and Ring Fit Adventure eased me back into things at a pace that felt comfortable. The combination of walking, Ring Fit, and elliptical has shredded pounds off of me, and I couldn’t be happier about that!
  5. Nov 7, 2019
    95
    Ring Fit Adventure, the latest fitness outing for Nintendo, packs a full-fledged workout for all ages in a colorful children's RPG package.
  6. Oct 18, 2020
    90
    Ring Fit Adventure builds on the legacy of Wii Fit in important ways, not only pushing the limits of what a workout game can be but also repositioning its message around fitness in a much healthier and constructive way. Fitness isn't a steady, consistent journey for most people; it's full of tiny improvements and setbacks and obstacles that get in your way, much like one's progress in an RPG. Because of this, Ring Fit Adventure works perfectly both as a concept and in practice. The sheer volume of content along with new abilities, items, and difficulty levels keeps progression interesting through the entire campaign and beyond. With consistently engaging gameplay, gorgeous landscapes, and a relentlessly positive attitude, Ring Fit Adventure has set a new standard for fitness games, and I look forward to another year of growing stronger with it--and eventually beating that absurdly buff dragon.
  7. Feb 28, 2020
    90
    One of the best examples of gamification in history. This exercise tool masquerading as a fantasy RPG is cleverly designed and actually works.
  8. Jan 27, 2020
    90
    After countless sweaty hours with Ring Fit Adventure, I’m left genuinely shocked. This game is a real workout that’s left me breathless, tired and often times aching the following day. At the same time though it also manages to expertly weave everything together with a lengthy and enjoyable RPG adventure that feels essential to the experience rather than merely bolted on. Perhaps best of all though it’s made me visibly excited to workout and that in itself is quite the achievement.
  9. 90
    Ring Fit Adventure never loses sight of its main goal: making moving your body accessible to players of all skill levels. In that sense, Ring Fit Adventure simply hits it out of the park and never looks back. I couldn't believe how well it scaled to my needs, which Nintendo deserves a lot of praise for. Spectacular stuff through and through.
  10. Oct 28, 2019
    90
    The game never felt like a chore. Instead, I wanted to come back to it day after day, even when the workouts were making me feel the burn.
  11. Oct 28, 2019
    90
    Fitness games are often judged on whether they make you forget you are exercising, but if you forget, you’re probably doing it wrong. What Ring Fit Adventure succeeds in, is making that exercise consistently enjoyable yet still effective.
  12. Oct 28, 2019
    90
    Ring Fit Adventure is the most fun players can have doing these exercises, and it's the rare game that is great as both a video game and an exercise tool.
  13. 90
    Ring Fit Adventure is a fun and wholly functional workout experience with Nintendo walking you through every step of the process to make sure you're doing things correctly, avoiding injury or over-exertion.
  14. Nov 15, 2019
    88
    I haven't lost any muscle, #fitgirl or tens of pounds, but Nintendo has been getting me to work out for two weeks and I like it too. That is a miracle in itself and proof that Ring Fit Adventure does what it promises to do: give you the motivation to work out and keep it up to date thanks to the incredibly fun story mode. The game may look crazy, but make no mistake: you will be put to work mercilessly.
  15. Nov 6, 2019
    86
    The developers of Ring Fit Adventure have really thought outside the square and have delivered an enjoyable yet interesting fitness game that actually works. It’s not clichéd or forced like some other console fitness games but one that uses the Ring to truly immerse you into the game that tracks your movement and in essence, turns it into real-world exercises… but more enjoyable! It’s gaming meets exercising!
  16. Dec 8, 2020
    85
    This is, by far, one of the most important games Nintendo has ever created. A game that manages to blend seamlessly between the workout and fitness world and the RPG gaming genre. It's an amazing game, and as one who finished it - it's worth every drop of sweat.
  17. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Apr 30, 2020
    85
    Where else can you level up in real life alongside your in-game avatar? [Issue #44 – January/February 2020, p. 68]
  18. Oct 17, 2019
    85
    Ring Fit Adventure is one of the best attempts yet to blend fitness with gaming, even if gaming sometimes grabs the reins.
  19. Oct 28, 2019
    84
    Ring Fit Adventure is a nice fitness package, delivering a lot of fun while exploring the various modes with the Ring-Con. The adventure mode would benefit from more variety, though.
  20. Apr 17, 2020
    80
    For those who have bounced off of other at-home workout products, Ring Fit Adventure makes working out as entertaining as it is satisfying, avoiding the deadly monotony most other exercise programs eventually run into.
  21. CD-Action
    Jan 15, 2020
    80
    It’s more a fitness suite than game but it’s the ‘game’ part that draws the players in – and does it quite well. Right now it might be the best invitation for the players to get up from the couch and just move. [02/2020, p.60]
  22. Jan 15, 2020
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure is an excellent cross between fitness and action/adventure. Nintendo manages to create their best exercise game yet while weaving in classic adventure tropes to gamify the experience. Ring Fit Adventure is a great way to usher newcomers into gaming while helping longtime gamers stay in shape.
  23. Dec 15, 2019
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure is the perfect gamification of exercise, but above all, it offers a fun experience.
  24. Nov 25, 2019
    80
    Overall Ring Fit Adventure is an enjoyable game. If you enjoy games that encourage fitness then this is one to grab. At no point is this a proper replacement for getting out and walking, or more vigorous exercise. Although it is good for helping maintain a routine and get in some extra exercise, or even to help make you more mindful of some good techniques.
  25. Nov 12, 2019
    80
    The RPG element has been overblown, but it provides just enough incentive for you to get up and move. More importantly, it’s engaging enough to keep you on top of it well after you’d’ve lost interest in other exercise apps. The Ring-Con itself is a quality accessory that’s easy to use, and the whole package provides mostly accurate readings and feedback.
  26. Nov 4, 2019
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure isn’t for everybody, but for Gym-a-phobes looking to add a bit of activity to their lives, it’s a far better attempt at the gamification of fitness than Wii Fit ever was.
  27. Nov 4, 2019
    80
    Two weeks of a workout regiment is not nearly long enough to give a full assessment of how effective it is, but it is enough time to see that Ring Fit Adventure is one well-crafted exercise game. Will it be good enough to help me overcome this lifelong struggle? Ask me again in a month and then five months after that.
  28. Nov 1, 2019
    80
    I also really appreciated the fact that there’s a mini-games menu outside of the main quest which offers a more Wii Fit-like experience, allowing you to hand the Ring Con to friends test your skills against them.
  29. Oct 30, 2019
    80
    While players won’t get jacked muscles playing Ring Fit Adventure, it’s a fantastic way to do exercise indoors when other ways to work out are expensive or inconvenient. There’s a ton of variety here to allow players to exercise how they like even without touching the adventure mode. Nintendo has really outdone themselves by combining an encouraging RPG adventure with exercise to push players to their limit in Ring Fit Adventure.
  30. Oct 29, 2019
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure gently straddles the fine line of trying to be an intense fitness workout routine that wants to get serious about breaking a sweat, while also gamifying movement through its RPG mechanics and on-screen actions. It can't be recommended to drop a whole gym routine for this, but it definitely compliments one - furthermore it could easily help people get into fitness from their own bedroom, or help those who are too busy to head to the gym after a long day at work. The graphical style might detract the target market that Wii Fit aimed for, but Ring Fit Adventure is strong enough to stand on its own two feet as one of the most engaging fitness games of all time.
  31. Oct 29, 2019
    80
    An entertaining game different from everything we've played so far. With its levels and mini-games, Ring Fit Adventure will make us exercise without our noticing. Sweat was never so much fun.
  32. Oct 27, 2019
    80
    This is the sort of game that only Nintendo could make, and it’s a follow-up to Wii Fit that feels worthy of that game’s exercise chops while also far more firmly and confidently a video game. Minor hardware issues and a story that’s frivolous to the point of bordering dangerously close to annoying, are small issues in the grand scheme of things. This has quietly arrived as one of the most original games of the year – and better yet, is one of my favorites.
  33. Oct 24, 2019
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure is a fun way to regain the shape. It’s colourful, it has a lot of exercises and the Joy-Cons work flawlessly. It’s perfect for the novice, but it can't be bringed it on the upper level, without a trainer that shapes our fitness program and an integration with the main fitness apps.
  34. Oct 23, 2019
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure offers an excellent fitness fantasy that actually makes you forget that you are doing intense exercises. Although the gameplay and story do not contain much depth, the game offers excellent motivation for gamers who are looking for a little more movement in their lives.
  35. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    If you're a gym addict you probably shouldn't throw out your membership card just yet, but for everyone else looking to get fitter, this is a fantastic way to do it that won't bore you senseless. Play it properly and you'll definitely feel it the next morning – a sure sign that it's at least doing you some good – while the compelling adventure mode with its RPG elements will ensure that you'll keep coming back for more.
  36. Oct 21, 2019
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure could have simply been a plain fitness app but Nintendo would never let that happen. Ring Fit Adventure is an RPG where instead of a directional joystick and tapping of buttons, the player uses physical exercise to advance and it works like a charm where everything fits and flows just right and the addictive, well-designed and masterfully crafted experience that it is.
  37. Oct 18, 2019
    80
    Ring Fit Adventure delivers a simple but funny fitness experience, with a traditional RPG feel and many exercises you can do by using a surprisingly accurate ring device.
  38. Oct 18, 2019
    80
    It's also good that Ring Fit Adventure can scale according to your fitness level. You can easily adjust the difficulty (which seems to be based on the number of reps needed to beat enemies rather than adding in more complex fitness routines) whenever you feel like it, and the game will regularly remind you to have some water, or take a break if you feel like you need it.
  39. Oct 18, 2019
    80
    A solid sport challenge with a shiny and colourful environment, full of soft-RPG mechanics. Plus, Ring Fit allows you to custom your training fitness sessions, with 40 unique exercices, sometimes repetitive but always pleasant to go through.
  40. Oct 17, 2019
    80
    With its very efficient Ring-Con and a funny RPG game, Ring fit Adventure is a brilliant way to workout without even noticing it. If there is motivation, and a lot of space, you'll be able to do what you want to, at your own pace, with a few smiles. A very pleasant successor to Wii Fit, indeed.
  41. Oct 17, 2019
    78
    Ring Fit Adventure offers an inventive fitness RPG that doesn’t quite have all the moves.
  42. Oct 21, 2019
    75
    Ring Fit Adventure is a fun RPG that incorporates exercise and tactics to make you feel good whilst playing.
  43. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 6, 2019
    73
    Played regularly, Ring Fit Adventure may become a cheap alternative to gym membership, or at least make morning workout less boring. [Issue#241, p.69]
  44. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    Nintendo Ring Fit Adventure is a cozy way for the otherwise sedentary gamer to be entertained while at the same time getting some exercise. It is a surprisingly well-made game that offers new features even after a long time playing. In this way, at least Ring Fit lives up to what it promises. However, we cannot say that we would boast to anyone that this was our exercise routine.
  45. Oct 17, 2019
    60
    The core mission of Ring Fit Adventure is to make you forget that you’re exercising, and I think it’s only partially successful at that.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 17, 2019
    Those looking for a hint of conventional game will be disappointed, but if what you are looking for is, like me, a real sport, Ring Fit Adventure is ideal.
  2. Oct 17, 2019
    The best compliment that I can give Ring Fit Adventure is that it’s a video game that features exercise, instead of an exercise program disguised as a video game. In the two weeks that I’ve been playing my copy, I’ve legitimately regretted any day that I couldn’t play, and have always looked forward to not only exploring deeper into its adventure mode, but actually doing the workout associated with it
  3. Oct 17, 2019
    There's an end-of-pier charm to it all, the showmanship of the arcade matched with Nintendo's time-proven ability to take something - here the humble pilates ring - and imbue it with a sense of play and wonder. Ring Fit Adventure is that and then some, boasting all the inventiveness of last year's curio Labo and matching it with a video game that compels you to come back for more. This might not have the show-stopping pull of a Mario or Zelda, but I can guarantee that it's the purest Nintendo experience you'll play this year. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  4. Oct 17, 2019
    Maybe this isn’t the game you were hoping Nintendo would make next, but it’s the kind of experiment I’m glad the company sometimes tries. And it’s fun, even, miraculously, when it’s asking me to exercise my abs.
  5. Oct 17, 2019
    With Nintendo’s unique charm, Ring Fit Adventure is a great fitness RPG for those who enjoy exercising at their own pace. Its sensitivity to movement, ability to estimate your heart rate, and wide range of things to do within the game keeps your daily workout routine feeling invigorated and fresh. And since the Ring-Con is so versatile, it’s easy to get carried away with different pushes and pulls. [Recommended]
  6. Oct 18, 2019
    While Ring Fit Adventure is a good way to squeeze in short bursts of physical fitness, it makes no claims about being a substitute for a fully fledged regular workout routine. But for fit-curious Switch owners, or those of us who might skip the gym a little too often, it’s a wonderful way to feel a bit better about your health, even for just 15 minutes at a time.
  7. Oct 17, 2019
    It's an entirely different experience than going to the gym, which helps it carve out its own niche and thrive.
  8. Oct 17, 2019
    I can’t tell you that Ring Fit Adventure is a proper substitute for going to the gym or a way to really get in shape. What I can say is this: it’s a polished, fun game that feels like a real workout, and, for me, it became a way I could almost seamlessly fit physical activity into my life. Even as I sit here typing this, I’m feeling a bit off about only having put in 20 minutes today. The good thing is that squeezing in another 20 is pretty simple. I just need to slay some yoga mats.
  9. Oct 17, 2019
    Whether or not it sticks, I’ll have to let you know, but it’s done a good (if initially repetitive) job of feeding a range of exercises into my daily life this past week. It’s not just for beginners though, and could easily appeal to those looking to gameify their workouts.
  10. Oct 23, 2019
    It’s an exciting, engaging concept from Nintendo, one that puts its competition to shame when it comes to advancing what gaming is, and what it could be. As for the whole working out part, there’s no harm in adding a few reps and squats to your morning routine, especially if you know you’ll trounce your last high score.
  11. Oct 17, 2019
    It is a complete experience that fulfills its objectives in a remarkable way, a video game with all the usual elements in a role story and that gives a fun purpose to the fact of sweating, and is one of the best exergaming games we have seen.
  12. Oct 17, 2019
    Ring Fit Adventure is a unique and entertaining adventure that could offer laxed gym-goers a compelling route back into exercise.
  13. Oct 17, 2019
    A fitness game that actually works, Ring Fit Adventure is colourful, fun, and offers a comprehensive workout.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 265
  1. Oct 18, 2019
    10
    Ok - I'm super impressed with this as an exercise regime assistant - not only that - it is super fun! You forget you're exercising and itOk - I'm super impressed with this as an exercise regime assistant - not only that - it is super fun! You forget you're exercising and it pushes and motivates you to finish the Level which you ultimately do .
    I trained very very hard a few years ago - Diet, exercise , the lot! This is an absolute must to give you general fitness! Fantastic job Nintendo!
    Btw - the Ring Controller is a proper piece of kit - very high quality! :)
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2019
    10
    This is a very impressive step for Nintendo and they did it again with a genius concept. I worked out for only 30 minutes and I had a goodThis is a very impressive step for Nintendo and they did it again with a genius concept. I worked out for only 30 minutes and I had a good sweat going. Great and fun concept and it keeps you going without any effort. The heart rate checker is a brilliant idea. To blend an RPG game with exercise is innovation at its best!!! The Ring Wheel is the perfect piece to have for this fit adventure and the controllers sync perfectly with very accurate movements. Looking forward to see what the future holds but going back for more tomorrow and the next day and the next day....... Fantastic and bring it!!! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2019
    10
    This is probably the best concept anyone will ever have for a fitness game. It works.