Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Sep 18, 2017
    74
    Sonic Mania is like a greatest hits album that your favourite artist may release, with a few new tracks as a bonus. It has a high level of nostalgia, gloss and polish and will really challenge your skill, reflexes and patience. There's quite a bit to get stuck into, but you may find yourself being frustrated. If you love the little blue chap and relish a challenge, speed along to the e-shop and pick this up.
  2. Sep 1, 2017
    74
    It’s nice to see Sonic back on track: Mania manages to capture the franchise core better than Segas last tries like Sonic Boom. There are some shortcomings here but if you can look past them, you will get a decent comeback from the speedy hedgehog.
  3. Edge Magazine
    Sep 14, 2017
    70
    This convincing comeback has been designed for the die-hards - and they haven't been this well served by a Sonic game for ages. [Issue#311, p.118]
  4. Aug 18, 2017
    60
    Sonic Mania is a love letter to fans of the franchise, who will no doubt lap it up. But it also feels like a missed opportunity to be what Sega has never achieved before: a truly great Sonic game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 18, 2017
    Sonic fans, That feeling you wanted is finally here. I felt it and I’m promising you, finally, with no hint of hyperbole or PR hype, that that you can feel it too.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 642 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 642
  1. Aug 15, 2017
    10
    Sonic Mania should be praised not only for how awesome this game is but the context this project came out to existence. Sonic Mania is aSonic Mania should be praised not only for how awesome this game is but the context this project came out to existence. Sonic Mania is a product of love, a collaboration of long time sonic fans and SEGA. From Tyson Hesse animation to Tee Lopes soundtrack passing by Hyper Potion music for the trailers we can feel the passion this game tries to convey. Pagodawest, Headcanon and Christian whitehead did an amazing job of balancing the gameplay and gathering the memorable stages, bosses, gimmicks that we all loved in the 16 bit sonic era and put their own signature names on it.

    Sonic Mania is not only a celebration for Sonic fans but also to SEGA fans. This game is filled with Easter eggs and homages to what made SEGA beloved. Sonic Mania should be celebrated by all gamers not only because it's a very good game but also because it opens a new chapter in the gaming industry that companies like Valve used to practice and companies like Nintendo should be more lenient about (AM2R).

    Sonic Mania seems a portable friendly games which seems to be a perfect fit for the Nintendo switch. The small size of the game and its high replay value makes it a potential game that will never leave your switch drive.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2017
    7
    Sonic Mania checks off all the boxes you'd expect from a 2D platformer these days: great controls, good level design, gorgeous environments,Sonic Mania checks off all the boxes you'd expect from a 2D platformer these days: great controls, good level design, gorgeous environments, awesome music, solid framerate etc. It's really a great game.

    HOWEVER. Sonic newbies beware.

    As someone who has never played a 2D Sonic game in his life, my first playthrough can only be described as a miserable experience. The game only gives you 3 lives after every game over, and expects you to make it through an entire zone - existing of 2 levels and 2 boss battles - with those. I've had a game over in almost every zone, and essentially had to play every level twice (one zone in particular even three times). It's not that this game is ridiculously difficult or unfair, but that can still get pretty frustrating.

    I'm honestly not sure why they thought giving you only 3 lives was a good idea; if I get a game over I'm clearly struggling already, so why give players this extra handicap?

    Fortunately it does get better after that rough first playthrough. As I said, the levels are really great, and there's a lot of fun to be had in all of them, with every character. Just make sure to grab every life monitor you come across.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2017
    10
    I absolutely love this game. Wow wow wow

    This is the real Sonic 4. The games feels fresh yet nostalgic, something that other revived
    I absolutely love this game. Wow wow wow

    This is the real Sonic 4.

    The games feels fresh yet nostalgic, something that other revived titles like Crash Bandicoot couldnt do.
    Full Review »