User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 969 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 969
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    If you liked the first one, you´ll love this sequel. Better graphics, new modes and weapons, better single player experience, it´s just a nice fast and fun package that you just can´t get enough.
  2. Aug 7, 2017
    9
    I wanted to gfive a 10 to this game so bad, but nintendo's bad decisions always keep me from it. why can't I play wih my friends always on my team? Why can't I play salmon run whenever I want? Why chat system is always so bad in nintendo consoles that makes it unusable by most players? why, nintendo, why??
  3. Jul 26, 2017
    9
    The Wii U was not a popular system and it's good that this gets a second outing on a more popular console as it will now reach a broader audience. I played the 4 hour Splatfest free demo; that convinced me to buy it on release.

    It's smooth, fun, tactical. A gorgeous game. The originality of the concept makes it stand out in this ancient genre and it's stunning for a handheld game. I'm
    The Wii U was not a popular system and it's good that this gets a second outing on a more popular console as it will now reach a broader audience. I played the 4 hour Splatfest free demo; that convinced me to buy it on release.

    It's smooth, fun, tactical. A gorgeous game. The originality of the concept makes it stand out in this ancient genre and it's stunning for a handheld game. I'm satisfied with single-player, online Turf war alone: it justifies the price for me.

    But don't be fooled by the cartoony presentation, this is an intense game and if you don't play well as a team, you're likely to lose. The paint/squid gameplay adds dimensions to one's strategic approach not found in other shooters. I recommend standing up and using gyroscope play.

    it's a lot of fun and moreish. An easy 9 for me.
    As usual there's irrational, spoilt brat low-scorers. ignore them.

    :-)

    .
    Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2017
    9
    A true sequel. Splatoon 2 is an incredible shooter that improves on the original in almost every single way. The main mantra of Splatoon 2 seems to be ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’, and this is fine. This new Switch offering is robust, full of content and fun. With an great competitive multiplayer suite, a fun take on the wave-based survival formula, and an imaginative single-playerA true sequel. Splatoon 2 is an incredible shooter that improves on the original in almost every single way. The main mantra of Splatoon 2 seems to be ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’, and this is fine. This new Switch offering is robust, full of content and fun. With an great competitive multiplayer suite, a fun take on the wave-based survival formula, and an imaginative single-player mode, Splatoon 2 is an excellent evolution. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say!This takes everything from the first game and adds a new fresh coat of paint.The turf wars have that fun which was in the original and the Ranked Battles were a blast to play!I love how even the slightest details,like glitter paint in the Story Mode,make it feel unique.By the way,the Story Mode adds a lot more freedom and challenge compared to the one on the Wii U.I love how you can switch weapons and it makes that feel really cool.Also,Callie is captured and Marie is the protagonist,and you can use the Rainmaker in the final boss!

    Overall,this game needs only a few tweaks,like the Switch online app and Turf War with COMs,so because of that it gets a 9/10!I love this game and will be better with a good future for the Switch!
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2017
    9
    There is some life after Zelda! I never really got into this game on the Wii U because of the big clunky gamepad. Wow did I miss out. And this is better
  7. Jul 29, 2017
    9
    A must have for switch owners, hundreds of hours of fun shooting paint to floors, walls and peoples faces, loads and loads of unlockables, a very enjoyable campaign, and many other modes of play that will guarantee replay ability for a long time. Please enjoy all video games.
  8. Jul 27, 2017
    9
    While to some it might feel too similar to its predecessor, I feel that the approach Nintendo took with it is just what it needed. If you loved the original, this game will be right up your alley. Nearly everything is either just as good or better than it was on the Wii U, and the new Salmon Run mode and promises of content updates and events being planned for up to two years is very exciting.
  9. Aug 5, 2017
    8
    Very fun game in terms of gameplay and there's a decent amount of content with replay value for the single player and plenty of longevity in the multiplayer modes.

    I just wish that they'd sorted out all the stupid little things from the the first one. This game could be made so much better with easy fixes. There's unskippable, tedious map announcements that you're forced to watch when
    Very fun game in terms of gameplay and there's a decent amount of content with replay value for the single player and plenty of longevity in the multiplayer modes.

    I just wish that they'd sorted out all the stupid little things from the the first one. This game could be made so much better with easy fixes. There's unskippable, tedious map announcements that you're forced to watch when you load up the game, even if you're just there to play the single player. The chat app is terrible and playing on the same team as your friends requires you to be a higher level player, otherwise you are both put on random teams and the app won't let you communicate if you're against each other. I have been disconnected even when docked right in front of the wireless router. You can't leave once you're in the lobby, you get one chance to leave when a match ends and that's it, so people just disconnect and their team is guaranteed to lose because it's only 4v4.

    Despite all the complaints, Splatoon 2 is one of the best games on the Switch and It'll probably keep me playing for quite a while. If you played the first one and got bored of it, there's not much that's changed with the sequel, but if you want more, that Splatoon 2 improves on it's predecessor in just about every way.
    Expand
  10. Aug 6, 2017
    9
    This game would be a 10 if it had better chat support. Graphics are great. Framerate is solid at 60fps. Lots of customizations. Tons of weapons. Funs maps, although not a fan that you can only access some at certain times. With everything considered it's one of the most fun multiplayers out, also very competitive and I was in the top 10 in the country for bucket in overwatch. If you have aThis game would be a 10 if it had better chat support. Graphics are great. Framerate is solid at 60fps. Lots of customizations. Tons of weapons. Funs maps, although not a fan that you can only access some at certain times. With everything considered it's one of the most fun multiplayers out, also very competitive and I was in the top 10 in the country for bucket in overwatch. If you have a switch this is a must buy. Expand
  11. Aug 22, 2017
    9
    Many people have called this game Splatoon 1.5, and I agree in some ways. This game could be passed off as a 2.0 update for Splatoon, but can we all be thankful that Splatoon is on the Switch, plus IT LOOKS BETTER THAN EVER! I love that gleam on the ink that after revisiting the first game, the gleam seems like just a necessary upgrade. If you have not played the first, unless you'reMany people have called this game Splatoon 1.5, and I agree in some ways. This game could be passed off as a 2.0 update for Splatoon, but can we all be thankful that Splatoon is on the Switch, plus IT LOOKS BETTER THAN EVER! I love that gleam on the ink that after revisiting the first game, the gleam seems like just a necessary upgrade. If you have not played the first, unless you're playing the story, or you can't find a Switch, this game is a necessity if you have a Switch. (I'm a terrible reviewer, that was not the end) It is true trying to voice chat is **** (you can only use voice chat in PRIVATE battle with friends, and the matchmaking is better than the first game. Anyways, this is a fantastic game that is a must-play for anyone with a Switch ( yes this is the ending ) Expand
  12. Aug 1, 2017
    9
    In the age where consumers are bombarded with endless shooter games, Splatoon 2 comes with a "more than welcome" fresh air to the market. The game is very colorful and competitive. It offers an original gameplay that is actually fun to play. Though Splatoon 2 is not perfect, I am madly in love with it.

    Highlights:- + A fantastic SOLO mode with very a competitive boss fights. +
    In the age where consumers are bombarded with endless shooter games, Splatoon 2 comes with a "more than welcome" fresh air to the market. The game is very colorful and competitive. It offers an original gameplay that is actually fun to play. Though Splatoon 2 is not perfect, I am madly in love with it.

    Highlights:-
    + A fantastic SOLO mode with very a competitive boss fights.
    + Original gameplay.
    + So much splash and bright colors. It makes you feel like a child again.
    + Tons of weapons, items, and customizations.

    Negative points
    - Near useless communication app from Nintendo.
    - Coop mode, though it is fun, it requires each player to have his or her own Switch device. I don't see why Nintendo did not make an online mode or split-screen co-op.

    I suggest this game to every Switch owners. And if you have been hesitant to buy a Switch due to a lack of games, then this is a perfect time to own the console. The library is growing *slowly, but surely* with a great selection of original games.
    Expand
  13. Jul 26, 2017
    9
    The game itself is a good game. 9/10. There is a coll progression system and the combat is great. Too bad it is hampered by the horrible lack of matchmaking and voice chat.
  14. Aug 6, 2017
    9
    FPS games have never been my thing, but there is something with splatoon 2 that just clicks for me. A huge part of that is problablty that the gameplay is unlike any other FPS ever (Exept of course the first splatoon) The combat is not just based around kills, though it does still help the team,but painting the ground is your main mission in this game. The game is a bit short on contentFPS games have never been my thing, but there is something with splatoon 2 that just clicks for me. A huge part of that is problablty that the gameplay is unlike any other FPS ever (Exept of course the first splatoon) The combat is not just based around kills, though it does still help the team,but painting the ground is your main mission in this game. The game is a bit short on content but that doesn't matter since you can easily put 100 hours in the onlie gamemodes that currently exists. The thing that drives this up to a 9 for me is that this game is just plain adictiv and fun, the combat is super fast and easy to learn but still hard to master and there is always alot of room for improvement in skill. Truely a great game Expand
  15. Feb 11, 2018
    9
    Esta nueva entrega de Splatoon se siente tan fresca como la primera, las partidas siguen siendo rápidas, adictivas, desenfrenadas y esta vez puedes cambiar de armas durante enfrentamientos y, sobretodo, los controles con movimientos son opcionales.
    El contenido es distinto como para que se sienta correcto el título "Splatoon 2", hay muchas armas, ropas y niveles nuevos y a la vez mantiene
    Esta nueva entrega de Splatoon se siente tan fresca como la primera, las partidas siguen siendo rápidas, adictivas, desenfrenadas y esta vez puedes cambiar de armas durante enfrentamientos y, sobretodo, los controles con movimientos son opcionales.
    El contenido es distinto como para que se sienta correcto el título "Splatoon 2", hay muchas armas, ropas y niveles nuevos y a la vez mantiene los mejores objetos para quienes recién descubran la franquicia reciban una entrega de gran calidad.
    Si quieres un juego que justifique la futura cuota online "Splatoon 2" es una gran elección, se juega suave, es innovador y siempre te deja con ganas de más. Un exclusivo que merece formar parte de la colección de cada dueño de una Switch
    Expand
  16. Aug 5, 2017
    8
    Es la primera vez que juego a Splatoon y simplemente me está pareciendo fantástico. Es un juego que no me esperaba que fuese tan divertido y adictivo. El modo héroe (individual) resulta ser bastante decente y divertido. El online me está gustando mucho, no soy fan de los juegos de shooter, pero Splatoon tiene un toque diferente que lo hace especial. Gran juego sin duda.
  17. Sep 19, 2017
    10
    This game is just an expansion of the first one. And why is that bad? The first one is amazing, and has much more variety, and actual voice chat. Even if you played the original, the sequel will be a treat.
  18. Jul 29, 2017
    9
    There are some things that could be improved, but they are more of an inconvenience rather than a real issue. The game itself is great - addicting gameplay, fast and short matches, different weapons, modes and items add the depth and make Splatton 2 one of my favourite games ever. I believe that if someone who wasn't splatoon player likes it this much, then it's must have for splatoon veterans.
  19. Aug 10, 2017
    10
    I had no prior experience with Splatoon. But i kinda had a feeling this game was going to be great. IMO there are two small problems with this game.
    1) It lacks local multiplayer, which is a bit of a shame, cause that would have made this one of the best games of all-time imo.
    2) The second problem is that i can't stop playing it. Its so addictive haha. For me this is the most addicted
    I had no prior experience with Splatoon. But i kinda had a feeling this game was going to be great. IMO there are two small problems with this game.
    1) It lacks local multiplayer, which is a bit of a shame, cause that would have made this one of the best games of all-time imo.
    2) The second problem is that i can't stop playing it. Its so addictive haha. For me this is the most addicted I've been to any Switch game so far, even beating Zelda.

    Easily 10/10, would be 11/10 if it had local multiplayer.
    Expand
  20. May 27, 2018
    8
    the single mode is awesome, game play is sick. Doubting at first but addicts right now. Refreshing game aside from traditional hard core FPS game. Highly recommend
  21. Sep 17, 2017
    9
    Splatoon 2 is the sequel to one of the most beloved games of wii u splatoon, the game is beyond a typical game of shooting and death, it is nothing more than a squid boys inking the world

    now said this way splatoon is one of the best shooting games I've played, a wonderful and addictive gameplay beautiful arstistic section and outstanding character design What is splatoon for
    Splatoon 2 is the sequel to one of the most beloved games of wii u splatoon, the game is beyond a typical game of shooting and death, it is nothing more than a squid boys inking the world

    now said this way splatoon is one of the best shooting games I've played, a wonderful and addictive gameplay

    beautiful arstistic section and outstanding character design

    What is splatoon for nintendo is not explained, it is something new and incredible

    the music is perfect not only in the campaign but also in the multiplayer

    in terms of graphics is a delightful 1080p adaptive and 30-60p for second

    the only problems I had is perhaps the one of the disconnection and schedule of salmon run

    but the rest of the game is fluid and perfectly calculated

    Graphic: 9.5 / 10

    Gameplay: 10/10

    Music: 9/10

    Multiplayer: 9/10

    History: 8.5 / 10

    Final verdict: 9.2

    Splatoon 2 makes it big and is a good option, it only needs to see if people let the inklings fill their lives with color

    LONG LIVE TO THE INKLINGS
    Expand
  22. Aug 19, 2017
    8
    Splatoon 2 is good but not perfect. The game has a great replay value and Salmon Run is super fun! Its rewarding to level up and unlock new weapons. The single player mode is also good. But the game has it's bad things. Salmon Run isnt always playable and that's a shame because it's really fun, And I wish there was a single player Salmon Run added to the game because it would improve theSplatoon 2 is good but not perfect. The game has a great replay value and Salmon Run is super fun! Its rewarding to level up and unlock new weapons. The single player mode is also good. But the game has it's bad things. Salmon Run isnt always playable and that's a shame because it's really fun, And I wish there was a single player Salmon Run added to the game because it would improve the game by alot. You can only play one mode offline. And when you finished an online match you have to leave if you want to change your gear and weapons. Overal Splatoon 2 is a really fun game with some issueses that may be patched in the future. Expand
  23. BMO
    Sep 4, 2017
    8
    I'm not sure I can call this game Splatoon 2, as it feels a lot more like Splatoon 1.5 . The gameplay is as solid as the original, with balance tweaks created for the special abilities to make them more fair. Design-wise you get new stages although personally, all the stages look the same to me, it's usually a shipyard or a skating park and what ever name they may give new stages theyI'm not sure I can call this game Splatoon 2, as it feels a lot more like Splatoon 1.5 . The gameplay is as solid as the original, with balance tweaks created for the special abilities to make them more fair. Design-wise you get new stages although personally, all the stages look the same to me, it's usually a shipyard or a skating park and what ever name they may give new stages they always seem like the same old shipyard or skating park with a different layout. Other than that, the music is great, singleplayer is fun, lack of wide customization for hairstyles is a small gripe to be had, and certain multiplayer features common in other shooters are missing which can take away some enjoyment. It's a solid game that I got digitally, as it's definitely a game to be had on your console at all times. Expand
  24. Sep 14, 2017
    10
    Amazing game modes, amazing style, amazing ideas, amazing awesomeness.
    the coolest part is that with all the free updates is like there are no excuses to not come back to play it.
  25. Sep 14, 2017
    9
    A very quirky and unique cartoon shooter with great design. The map and game-mode rotation keeps the game from getting stale, and with all the different weapons and clothes to customize your Inkling with, it will lead to countless hours of fun,
  26. Sep 24, 2017
    9
    Splatoon 2 is one example of a good shooters out there.The shooter genre doesn't mean realistic and bloody game.Nintendo has walked to the right way,it's colorful,addictive and full of fun.I will take one point out despite the lack of proper voice chat and the online service that Nintendo needs to fix.
    Ilove the single player it adds splatoon 2 more playtime.
  27. Oct 29, 2017
    9
    Honestly a very solid game. Fans from the original part on the Wii U will love this game and not just them more to come. This game did a good job of polishing the promblems that the first Splatoon had and the creators of Spaltoon is still releasing new content for the game. I know people say it can get boring at times and that's true. What I recommend is pacing your time and enjoy yourHonestly a very solid game. Fans from the original part on the Wii U will love this game and not just them more to come. This game did a good job of polishing the promblems that the first Splatoon had and the creators of Spaltoon is still releasing new content for the game. I know people say it can get boring at times and that's true. What I recommend is pacing your time and enjoy your expirence. Overall I had a lot of fun with this and I could see a lot to other people doing as well. Expand
  28. Nov 24, 2017
    8
    Being one of Nintendo newest IPs still, they have manage to make a successor worthy of the previous. Still offering free updates in the form of gear, maps, modes, and other player customization. They manage to keep the game fresh. From the previous they have updated a voice chat option, mind you its not the best out there. In terms they took in the feed back and has offered an option forBeing one of Nintendo newest IPs still, they have manage to make a successor worthy of the previous. Still offering free updates in the form of gear, maps, modes, and other player customization. They manage to keep the game fresh. From the previous they have updated a voice chat option, mind you its not the best out there. In terms they took in the feed back and has offered an option for it. One of the modes I like the most is a team base mode called Salmon Run. Working together to gather golden eggs to meet a quota for each round for a total of three rounds. The better a team does the higher it goes in difficulty and offering prizes to use in other online modes. This is a great way to work towards better gear and money to use for customizing your gear. This game has so much to offer and is totally worth the price. I would recommend especially if you have friends who play as well. Expand
  29. Dec 11, 2017
    9
    Si te gusto la primera entrega sin duda te recomiendo adquirirlo, tiene bastantes mejoras, es mas equilibrado y esta en constante actualización de contenido. Si no jugaste a la pre-cuela y te llama la atención el juego también te lo recomiendo.
    Sus puntos fuertes se basan en su originalidad en la jugabilidad, su característico diseño de personajes y su modo multijugador, el cual te puede
    Si te gusto la primera entrega sin duda te recomiendo adquirirlo, tiene bastantes mejoras, es mas equilibrado y esta en constante actualización de contenido. Si no jugaste a la pre-cuela y te llama la atención el juego también te lo recomiendo.
    Sus puntos fuertes se basan en su originalidad en la jugabilidad, su característico diseño de personajes y su modo multijugador, el cual te puede ofrecer incontables horas de juego y Nintendo sigue actualizando su contenido con nuevas armas, ropa y escenarios.
    Tiene una historia bastante mediocre en mi opinion, pero esta se centra mas en aprender las mecanicas basicas del juego, es un tipo de tutorial. Pero a diferencia del primer titulo, en este modo campaña aprenderas a usar todas las armas basicas, asi que es bastante mas util.
    Así que si dispones de una conexión a internet y te atrae el juego te recomiendo adquirirlo, al principio te puede costar jugarlo así que es mejor que empieces por la campaña y cuando la termines te puedes ir directo al online, allí aprenderás por tu cuenta.
    Expand
  30. Oct 18, 2017
    9
    In 2015, Nintendo struck gold when it decided to put its quirky spin on the online shooter genre. The result was Splatoon, which is bound to go down in history as one of the company's main victories in the underappreciated Wii U console. A couple years later, we get a sequel on Switch that manages to one-up the original by pretty much every metric (one which, thankfully, isn't calledIn 2015, Nintendo struck gold when it decided to put its quirky spin on the online shooter genre. The result was Splatoon, which is bound to go down in history as one of the company's main victories in the underappreciated Wii U console. A couple years later, we get a sequel on Switch that manages to one-up the original by pretty much every metric (one which, thankfully, isn't called Spla2n, no matter what kids these days think they want).

    Splatoon 2's real meat is in its online play. In a nutshell, players gather in teams of four to duke it out by shooting ink at each other, with the objective of covering most of the stage's ground in their gooey substance (well, mostly; there are additional modes geared at the more competitive players). Aside from shooting, characters are able to transform into squids and swim through ink of their color, aiding with quick movement and refilling the ink tank in one fell swoop. This is, for me, one of two genius ideas at the heart of the franchise, as it helps tie the whole gameplay together while offering opportunity for players to move up walls and through grates.

    The weapon selection is vast, and it's gradually unlocked as you gain levels. It includes traditional weapons like quick revolvers and gatling guns, but also stuff like rollers, brushes, and umbrellas, offering a wide array of playing styles. The fact that the main objective is covering the ground in ink is the second genius idea, as it means even players who aren't good at (or dislike) the precision of aiming at opponents can help by devising smart ways to cover large swaths of ground.

    New to Splatoon 2 is a horde mode, called Salmon Run. It can be an absolutely exhillarating experience, as you team up with three others to kill invaders and collect salmon eggs for a hungry bear. The one caveat is that you don't get to choose which weapons you wield, relying instead on a randomized selection. This can be pretty annoying, as sometimes you'll just dislike how a specific weapon plays (hey there, splat charger!).

    Like the first game, there is sadly no option for split-screen play, but this is where the Switch's portability is a godsend. I never went to the trouble of taking my entire Wii U (with a television to boot!) with me to play online modes together with a local friend, but I have already in many occasions taken my Switch with me for that purpose.

    The single-player mode was also extended and improved, thanks to the addition of weapon selection instead of the small gun-only approach of the original. Stages are insanely well-designed linear platforming-and-shooting romps, with the exception of one open-ended but self-contained stage in each of the game's five worlds.

    The one glaring omission from the first game is a minigame to distract yourself while waiting for enough players to join a match. The one available in the original Splatoon was just the kind of arcade fun I need to make the waiting, which is one of my biggest qualms with online multiplayer, more tolerable.

    TL;DR:
    Splatoon is the most important new Nintendo IP in many years, and this sequel improves over almost every aspect of the excellent original. Shooting your ink around is as fun as before, and the new horde mode makes things even more varied for online players. Offline has also got a big improvement, as the level design remains incredible while weapon selection was significantly increased. As such, Splatoon 2 is a more than worthy sequel, and one that thoroughly deserves to continue the series' success.

    Rating: 9.0
    Expand
  31. Apr 9, 2018
    8
    If you liked the first one, get this. It's everything the first game had (Salmon Run) but more. This game is fun as crap and if you choose to get it, prepare to get addicted.
  32. Nov 7, 2017
    9
    I own the game from the same week it was released, and it is one of the best online shooters I played. The game is really fun and gets updates every month but there are still some cons:
    You can't skip Marina & Pearl when you start the game
    A lot of communication errors (pretty common)
    Salmon run is closed most of the time
    2 maps which change every 2 hours
  33. May 8, 2018
    10
    Totally unexpected... thought this as just simple shooter with quite cool design... end up enjoys it with totally unique experience and addicted to it's deep game universe. This is really underrated Nintendo games.
  34. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    Me, truly, I am a HUGE Nintendo fan. And this is my favorite game of all time.

    Positive: The single player is great. The online experience is a good one. The online is better than the Wii U's. The new Salmon Run mode is most likely the best. The new dualie weapons are a nice addition. Negatives: Salmon Run is only available at certain times. The single-player campaign is
    Me, truly, I am a HUGE Nintendo fan. And this is my favorite game of all time.

    Positive:
    The single player is great.
    The online experience is a good one.
    The online is better than the Wii U's.
    The new Salmon Run mode is most likely the best.
    The new dualie weapons are a nice addition.
    Negatives:

    Salmon Run is only available at certain times.
    The single-player campaign is short.
    The final boss is a step down from the first game, and it is easier.

    Overall, though, I still think this is a 10/10 game and deserves the best Switch game spot.
    Expand
  35. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Splatoon 2 is a fun, creative 3rd Person Shooter which adds on and improves from the original game. With a fun campaign that has an epic end boss battle, to a new impressive mode - Salmon Run, to classic Turf War online, this game has content everywhere and is just plain fun. This game is a brilliant game and a necessity if you own a Nintendo Switch.
  36. Jul 23, 2017
    10
    Please upvote this just so people who choose not to research can see.
    MOTION CONTROLS ARE OPTIONAL. Jeezus. And even then, if you don't use them, you're gonna get owned by people who do. Either way, it's just an OPTION. Stop using motion controls as a con when reviewing this game, when it's an option.
  37. Jul 23, 2017
    9
    Another great hit for Nintendo! I have played the first one before.. Though I didn't spent as much time as other people I still enjoyed both the single player and multiplayer of the game
    I believe there weren't as much variety back in the first splatoon but this sequel definitely adds everything we need! There's new weapons, items, and new maps/game modes!
    I think the singleplayer
    Another great hit for Nintendo! I have played the first one before.. Though I didn't spent as much time as other people I still enjoyed both the single player and multiplayer of the game
    I believe there weren't as much variety back in the first splatoon but this sequel definitely adds everything we need! There's new weapons, items, and new maps/game modes!

    I think the singleplayer here improved since the first game with some awesome level designs and music.. It's more of a place to try out different weapons but it definitely succeeds on that and the bosses are more unique/fun this time around :D

    The multiplayer feels great to play again, with the new maps and modes to play, most of your time will be spent on playing here and this part of the game definitely delivers. Just like the first game; It's awesome and new weapons/abilities are soo fun to use! My favs are the dual pistols and Aerospray MG xD

    Lastly we have the salmon run which is definitely my favorite mode!! There's quite a bit of teamwork needed for this one and I feel like this one really nails that aspect; telling your teammates where the boss is and also "booyah" for finishing a hard round! This mode is no joke, it's really hard and sometimes it depends on luck!! I wish they add like 2 more rounds though but maybe thats too hard xD

    The hub city like the last game is a good miiverse like place to hang out and check out other player's artwork/gear! You get to order your gear from the app or from other players so make sure to do that daily if you want to look cool or cute and have better gear!!!!

    Also Marina and Pearl are great hosts! Looking forward to more Splatfests!!

    To sum it up, this is definitely a good Nintendo Sequel! This game is a lot of fun and packed with a lot of good content from the get go where the first one didn't really have much to start with!
    I'm positive this game is going to get more new content along the way and this will even surpass my current 9 rating as of now!

    Going to play more now... HF everyone!!!
    Expand
  38. Jul 21, 2017
    9
    I didn't play the first one, so this is my first experience with the series. So far, I love it! I'm hooked to it! The gameplay feel very good once you get used to it, and It's original and got a personality of It's own. Salmon run ( which is kinda a coop survival of 3 wave) is very fun, and the campaign, although short, is enjoyable. But the multiplayer is what you want here, and is veryI didn't play the first one, so this is my first experience with the series. So far, I love it! I'm hooked to it! The gameplay feel very good once you get used to it, and It's original and got a personality of It's own. Salmon run ( which is kinda a coop survival of 3 wave) is very fun, and the campaign, although short, is enjoyable. But the multiplayer is what you want here, and is very fun. I recommend it to everyone! Expand
  39. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    I usually hate shooters but this one has a lot of cutey charm and is very strategical. I really adore this game and would recommend it to my friends. :)
  40. Jul 23, 2017
    9
    A big fan of Splatoon 1 because I loved how refreshing, wacky, vibrant and incredibly fun multiplayer is with a nice progression system of buying new equipment and customising them. Splatoon 2 has all of this and more. Salmon Run is a brilliant new co-op gamemode which is frantic, challenging and every game feels different because of random events and unlocking nice rewards and equipmentA big fan of Splatoon 1 because I loved how refreshing, wacky, vibrant and incredibly fun multiplayer is with a nice progression system of buying new equipment and customising them. Splatoon 2 has all of this and more. Salmon Run is a brilliant new co-op gamemode which is frantic, challenging and every game feels different because of random events and unlocking nice rewards and equipment makes this mode even more delicious. The improved models, textures and 1080p makes this game look much better than Splatoon 1 too. A worthy sequel which also adds some brilliant new weapon types and abilities. Expand
  41. Jul 23, 2017
    10
    Absolutely amazing game!!! I've never played Splatoon before and I've gotta say, this game has got me hooked. As an avid FPS player, this beats anything else I've played in my life. Who cares that the new COD is not coming to switch???

    Pros: + Vibrant and fluid graphics + Excellent multiplayer support, minimal latency issues, none of that netcode laggy bs + Multiple playstyles for
    Absolutely amazing game!!! I've never played Splatoon before and I've gotta say, this game has got me hooked. As an avid FPS player, this beats anything else I've played in my life. Who cares that the new COD is not coming to switch???

    Pros:
    + Vibrant and fluid graphics
    + Excellent multiplayer support, minimal latency issues, none of that netcode laggy bs
    + Multiple playstyles for everyone
    + Customizable clothing, so you can kill with style :0

    Cons:
    - No convenient grouping system with friends yet, though you can still play with friends
    - Salmon run is too hard at times...
    - Voice chat is hard to use (though maybe a pro because all the 12 year olds screaming?)

    Definitely one of the must get games for switch, I've been playing it non stop since the release and am yet to slow down! Almost 20 hours so far in 3 days! It's a blast
    Expand
  42. Jul 21, 2017
    9
    Splatoon 2 has become one of my favorite games of all time. Salmon Run is the best wave defence I've ever played, it's easy in the beginning but it becomes really hard later on. Rounds in this game is really short and intense, and you can always turn the game around so it's always fun even if you lose. The campaign is also good, the levels are varied and you unlock some weapons , the bossSplatoon 2 has become one of my favorite games of all time. Salmon Run is the best wave defence I've ever played, it's easy in the beginning but it becomes really hard later on. Rounds in this game is really short and intense, and you can always turn the game around so it's always fun even if you lose. The campaign is also good, the levels are varied and you unlock some weapons , the boss fights were the best part of the campaign. The music is also much better than the original game. Expand
  43. Jul 24, 2017
    10
    Master piece! It's so brilliant and entertaining that you can't stop cover everything in paint lol......I loved the first Splatoon and it's clear that Nintendo has improved Splatoon 2......thank you! ATM I'm addicted to the new Salmon Run, OMG it's sooooo fun and it's possible to play with my friends in local-mode, epic! Well a turf war is always fun......It's nice with all the differentMaster piece! It's so brilliant and entertaining that you can't stop cover everything in paint lol......I loved the first Splatoon and it's clear that Nintendo has improved Splatoon 2......thank you! ATM I'm addicted to the new Salmon Run, OMG it's sooooo fun and it's possible to play with my friends in local-mode, epic! Well a turf war is always fun......It's nice with all the different modes and levels/ranks of the gamers skill - cause than all can have fun :) I defently recommend Splatoon 2 - so what are you waiting? If you haven't bought a Nintendo Switch - well it's time fellow gamers! Enjoy!!!! Expand
  44. Jul 22, 2017
    8
    Fun, beautiful, addictive and friendly, a great game for the Nintendo Switch, but there are few news compared to the first, it would be nice to have more game modes and different styles of gameplay
  45. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    Un juego entretenido, fluido y competitivo. Duración de las partidas es corta pero muy dinámica y te aburres después de invertirse mínimo 3 horas al día. El modo campaña, nivel de personalización y modos de juego bastante bien para un shooter en tercera persona. Cumple con más de la media de las caraterísticas generales de un juego de disparos tradicional. Sin embargo los servidores enUn juego entretenido, fluido y competitivo. Duración de las partidas es corta pero muy dinámica y te aburres después de invertirse mínimo 3 horas al día. El modo campaña, nivel de personalización y modos de juego bastante bien para un shooter en tercera persona. Cumple con más de la media de las caraterísticas generales de un juego de disparos tradicional. Sin embargo los servidores en ocasiones presenta problemas al momento de conseguir partida. Pero una vez dentro no ocurre ni lag ni desconexión espontanea. Un juego muy recomendado. Expand
  46. Jul 21, 2017
    9
    Splatoon 2 is a very good sequel to the first Game.
    The Grafic looks amazing and the gameplay is still innovative.

    Only the missing, seperate Sensivity-Controll for the Y-Axis by deacivating move controll is a little bad.
    But still a very very nice game, i love it ^^
  47. Jul 24, 2017
    9
    Grandisimo juego el online es una pasada!! Tiene un buen modo historia, el modo salmon run y graficamente esta tambien muy bien para un juego portatil. Lo recomiendo en absoluto
  48. Jul 23, 2017
    9
    Splatoon 2 is an enjoyable game. One of the things I never got to enjoy about the Wii U era was Splatoon 1 because honestly I never got the console. Now that I have a Switch, I am so happy I can include this game in my growing library of Switch games. I have very little negative things to say about this game. People said that this game is Splatoon 1 with some extra stuff on top, and sinceSplatoon 2 is an enjoyable game. One of the things I never got to enjoy about the Wii U era was Splatoon 1 because honestly I never got the console. Now that I have a Switch, I am so happy I can include this game in my growing library of Switch games. I have very little negative things to say about this game. People said that this game is Splatoon 1 with some extra stuff on top, and since I never played Splatoon 1, I have no issue with this. Splatoon 2's multiplayer is so addictive and I find myself replaying single player missions because I need to get all the key items I missed. This game is amazing and is easily a 9/10 in my opinion. Expand
  49. Jul 22, 2017
    9
    this game is amazing the only issues are the ranked at the time of this writing have everyone from
    d- to s+ fighting from the original to get to b- but that is a unsolvable issue on Nintendo's part so the salmon run is awesome and the story is god like in comparison to the last ones average story the multi player is better than ever and is all around almost perfect especially with free
    this game is amazing the only issues are the ranked at the time of this writing have everyone from
    d- to s+ fighting from the original to get to b- but that is a unsolvable issue on Nintendo's part so the salmon run is awesome and the story is god like in comparison to the last ones average story the multi player is better than ever and is all around almost perfect especially with free updates coming
    Expand
  50. Jul 21, 2017
    9
    Splatoon 2 is one of the most awaited game for the Nintendo Switch. The game is back better than ever with new customization, new weapons, new multiplayer modes, and a new single player campaign. People who are new to the game can enjoy online battles and the new single player campaign. Though it would reference characters and events from the previous game, the campaign is still enjoyableSplatoon 2 is one of the most awaited game for the Nintendo Switch. The game is back better than ever with new customization, new weapons, new multiplayer modes, and a new single player campaign. People who are new to the game can enjoy online battles and the new single player campaign. Though it would reference characters and events from the previous game, the campaign is still enjoyable for everyone to play. Splatoon 2 is totally a must buy for all Switch owners. Expand
  51. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    I really like this game! One of my favorite games! Really good. I had lots of fun playing it. I really like the graphics too. I recommend this game to all Nintendo switch owners.
  52. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    Splatoon 2 is such a great game! I never got to truly play the first Splatoon. But I can definitely see changes between both of the games! Splatoon 2 holds every element that is needed to make a good shooting game! It holds beautiful graphics, great soundtracks, competitive matches, diverse selections of weapons and characters, and multiple ways of customizing your character to your looksSplatoon 2 is such a great game! I never got to truly play the first Splatoon. But I can definitely see changes between both of the games! Splatoon 2 holds every element that is needed to make a good shooting game! It holds beautiful graphics, great soundtracks, competitive matches, diverse selections of weapons and characters, and multiple ways of customizing your character to your looks and needs! Salmon run is a fun new mode for Splatoon 2! It is such a cooperative mode, and every round I've played in of Salmon Run has had so much communication between players, even when we aren't speaking through voice chat! I definitely recommend this game to anyone who likes a nice, balanced, fun, competitive, innovative game! Expand
  53. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    This game is outstanding, improves upon the original in every possible way. From the story to the mode selection, to the weapons, to the features, and also the little changes as well. Not to mention the previously single player only mechanics are now present in multiplayer maps in Splatoon 2. This is a very well crafted sequel to an already amazing game! I cannot recommend it enough.
  54. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    5 NEW weapons and a bunch of modified past weapons, 6 new stages and improved past stages, single player only mechanics found in multiplayer (sponges and ink rails) new sub weapons, all new specials, improved all the modes, Salmon run, play with friends in Splatfest, Splatnet 2, completely new single player campaign, new mini game, new gear upgrade system, new classes and new gear, new5 NEW weapons and a bunch of modified past weapons, 6 new stages and improved past stages, single player only mechanics found in multiplayer (sponges and ink rails) new sub weapons, all new specials, improved all the modes, Salmon run, play with friends in Splatfest, Splatnet 2, completely new single player campaign, new mini game, new gear upgrade system, new classes and new gear, new weapon class (defensive weapons) new plaza, all this culminates into an incredible sequel to an already amazing game! Expand
  55. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    Simply an amazing gaming, a huge improvement graphic and gameplay wise compared to the first one. I was a little skeptical at first, but i have no regrets buying it! A must get for the switch!
  56. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    Splatoon 2 is super fun! The online battles are intense and pretty short! I haven't gotten up to the higher levels yet but I'm having a complete blast so far! Awesome game!
  57. Jul 29, 2017
    10
    At the beginning it seems is too simple, but when you learn to play it and start trying all ranked and salmon modes it becomes a 10 game. Simple but deep
  58. Jul 24, 2017
    10
    The all new SALMON RUN mode makes SPLATOON 2 a strong GAME OF THE YEAR candidate!

    One of the great new gaming franchises of the decade, Splatoon 1 was a masterpiece in addictive, ridiculous fun gaming. Splatoon 2 is everything great about Splatoon 1, however, the addition on of the greatest modes ever created, SALMON RUN, makes this title an A+++. It's worth buying the game for
    The all new SALMON RUN mode makes SPLATOON 2 a strong GAME OF THE YEAR candidate!

    One of the great new gaming franchises of the decade, Splatoon 1 was a masterpiece in addictive, ridiculous fun gaming.

    Splatoon 2 is everything great about Splatoon 1, however, the addition on of the greatest modes ever created, SALMON RUN, makes this title an A+++. It's worth buying the game for SALMON RUN alone (though all new single player mode, new maps, tons of new clothing, voice chat makes the game worth $99.99)

    BTW Metascore, enough with allowing pathetic score givers below angrily scoring the game a zero for NO SPLIT SCREEN (it's about tech people) or not even playing the game. You should either read the reviews and see if the reviews are legit or drop the top 5 and bottom 5 scores.
    Expand
  59. Jul 24, 2017
    10
    I was on the fence about if im going to like this or not, or if im buying it just because it exists or something, but damn i cant make up for how fun this game is, definitely a purchase that im not going to regret.
  60. Jul 30, 2017
    8
    I usually hate shooters but this one has a lot of cutey charm and is very strategical. I really adore this game and would recommend it to my friends. :3
  61. Jul 24, 2017
    9
    The family friendly shooter is back for the nintendo Switch this time.
    do not let the ''kid friendly'' look of this game keep you from getting this Nintendo shooter. It is amazing.
    it's a fast paced paintball shooter game where you try to cover as much ground with your team's ink within the time limit and it always manages to feel intense. The different game modes are fun and the
    The family friendly shooter is back for the nintendo Switch this time.
    do not let the ''kid friendly'' look of this game keep you from getting this Nintendo shooter. It is amazing.
    it's a fast paced paintball shooter game where you try to cover as much ground with your team's ink within the time limit and it always manages to feel intense.
    The different game modes are fun and the addition of the salmon run ''horde mode'' just makes this game a bit better.
    the only gripe at the moment is the weird smartphone chat system but that is a nintendo move, and not in anyway the game's fault.
    (do get the app though, it has some neat little splatoon features)

    Well worth your time and money. :)

    P.S.
    and don't let the gyro controls scare you, play with it for a bit and you will end up wishing every console shooter had this system in place.
    Expand
  62. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    Splatoon 2 is the second part of Splatoon, one of the best games for the Wii U. Some people says that it Splatoon 2 is a port or a deluxe form of the game or Splatoon 1.5, but all that isn´t true. For me (that I am not a user of the Wii U, that mean that I DON´T play the ORIGINAL game), it is a very good game that has a very good online mode, the history mode is good and has the huge andSplatoon 2 is the second part of Splatoon, one of the best games for the Wii U. Some people says that it Splatoon 2 is a port or a deluxe form of the game or Splatoon 1.5, but all that isn´t true. For me (that I am not a user of the Wii U, that mean that I DON´T play the ORIGINAL game), it is a very good game that has a very good online mode, the history mode is good and has the huge and incredible mode of Salmon Run. I will make a quick review of each mode:
    ONLINE MODE: it is a mode that is a 4 vs 4 persons that have to paint more than the other team in 3 minutes (like Clash Royale).
    SALMON RUN: this mode is that are 4 people on a stage where you and your team have to get gold eggs in 90 seconds. This mode have 3 parts: in the first one you have to get 3 gold eggs, in the second you have to get 4 and in the 3rd and last one you have to get 6 gold eggs.
    History Mode: I will don´t say much for these mode because I could spoil your experience but the only thing that I am going to tell is that this mode is grate that have something like 5 or 6 hours of duration.
    Expand
  63. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    Uno de los mejores shotters que he jugado en mi vida, con una mejora respetable respecto al 1, la campaña es mucho mas entretenida ( la verdad es que faltan modos campaña en los shotters) y es super diverido su forma de juego
  64. Sep 17, 2017
    10
    Splatoon had some minor problems but the sequel fixes those problems. It's kinda the same thing but better and controls perfectly. I totally recommend Splatoon 2.
  65. Jul 23, 2017
    10
    A huge improvement from the first, which I loved. They added new weapons and maps, but still include great ones from the first game. All the multiplayer modes are fun, and better. The online community is great too. Salmon Run, a new game mode, is fun and fresh. The story mode is way better than the originals, it is fun, funny, and actually has some required strategy. The graphics are alsoA huge improvement from the first, which I loved. They added new weapons and maps, but still include great ones from the first game. All the multiplayer modes are fun, and better. The online community is great too. Salmon Run, a new game mode, is fun and fresh. The story mode is way better than the originals, it is fun, funny, and actually has some required strategy. The graphics are also better, and is great on a hybrid console. A fun, must have Switch game. Expand
  66. Jul 21, 2017
    9
    Very similar to the first Splatoon , but Nintendo added enough things in the game to make it fresh. My one problem is the voice chat. Except for that it is an excellent game and a must buy for the Nintendo Switch
  67. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    excelente juego super original y divertido, diversion pura y dura de verdad que vale la pena tenerlo..................................................
  68. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    Very fun game, better than the first in everyway, Splatoon was my favorite game on the Wii U and Splatoon 2 does a good job improving on the good parts of Splatoon 1 while removing what didn't work too well, the online works good, the gameplay is very fun, and I love the artstyle, though that voice chat...wtf.
  69. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    I was honestly contemplating on skipping out on Splatoon 2. Dont get me wrong, I love my switch, but I felt Splatoon 2 would be to similar to the first game, but maybe thats not a bad thing. What got me hooked in was the Splatfest. I decided, I was bored and would give it a shot, and I was inked. I absolutely loved it, It is smooth, the game feels wonderful, it is a beautiful 1080p at 60I was honestly contemplating on skipping out on Splatoon 2. Dont get me wrong, I love my switch, but I felt Splatoon 2 would be to similar to the first game, but maybe thats not a bad thing. What got me hooked in was the Splatfest. I decided, I was bored and would give it a shot, and I was inked. I absolutely loved it, It is smooth, the game feels wonderful, it is a beautiful 1080p at 60 fps, I didnt have any frame drops, and lets face it Pearl/Marina> Callie/Marie.

    All in all, if you liked the first Splatoon, I would for sure pick this up
    Expand
  70. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    It's an amazing game with stunning graphics and super stable 60fps. It is unique and with lots of different modes, but most importantly it's super fun, competitive, adrenaline and addictive (I played Splatoon on wii u for about 450 hours). If you have a switch and you loved the original or if you've never played it, you absolutely have to buy this sequel!
  71. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    Из минусов второй части для меня:
    1. По привычке постоянно смотрю на несуществующий экран геймпада.
    Придется отучиваться. 2. Нет мини игр во время ожидания, иногда можно с тоски сдохнуть. 3. Сразу играть с комплектом из коробки не удобно, придется покупать про контроллер. 4. Не показывается количество респаунов, а только фраги. 5. Рисовать в мииверсе без стилуса — тот ещё челендж.
    Из минусов второй части для меня:
    1. По привычке постоянно смотрю на несуществующий экран геймпада.
    Придется отучиваться.
    2. Нет мини игр во время ожидания, иногда можно с тоски сдохнуть.
    3. Сразу играть с комплектом из коробки не удобно, придется покупать про контроллер.
    4. Не показывается количество респаунов, а только фраги.
    5. Рисовать в мииверсе без стилуса — тот ещё челендж.
    6. Из спец оружия исчез мой любимый сонар. В доп. оружие
    нет магнитных бомб.

    Из плюсов:
    1. про контроллер очень удобен.
    2. появились новые механики и, как следствие, тактика боя.
    новый сингл и новые карты сюда же.
    3. Завезли ещё больше графона.
    4. Портативность и отсутствие региональных ограничений как специфика самой консоли добавили больше экспириенса и выбора.
    Expand
  72. Jul 23, 2017
    10
    Insanely addictive, immensely satisfying, and can even create feelings of pure joy.

    Salmon Run takes this game to a whole new level - such an amazing take on the 'horde battle' shooter sub-genre. The disturbing clown/rave music changes and the surround sound is almost overwhelmingly scary once a swarm of bosses kill you. And the hopeless feeling of not being able to re-spawn after you
    Insanely addictive, immensely satisfying, and can even create feelings of pure joy.

    Salmon Run takes this game to a whole new level - such an amazing take on the 'horde battle' shooter sub-genre. The disturbing clown/rave music changes and the surround sound is almost overwhelmingly scary once a swarm of bosses kill you. And the hopeless feeling of not being able to re-spawn after you get splatted by them heightens the tension even further.

    The app also has a lot of fun ways to integrate the game into the mobile realm. I couldn't help but find myself checking the stats of my recent battles, ordering 'new exclusive gear' from SplatNet (which delivers INSTANTLY, pretty rad), and even planning when ahead to schedule when I will get my next Rainmaker fix. The app actually has a surprisingly detailed amount of stats for the past 50 battles, including the full battle results and gear loadouts for all of your opponents. The only thing I miss is being able to compare with my friends cumulative stats which you could do with the 'splatnet 1.0' web app on the original Splatoon. Obviously the room-invite / voice-chat thing has yet to catch on, and I don't really care if it does. I've never been a big fan of voice chat, although I can see why people are upset about it.

    But as for the game, I cannot recommend it enough. In fact, if you have a Switch and you DON'T get this game, please promptly take your Switch outside and curb-stomp it immediately.
    Expand
  73. Jul 26, 2017
    10
    Splatoon (スプラトゥーン Spratún?) es un videojuego de disparos en tercera persona desarrollado y publicado por Nintendo para Wii U. Salió a la venta el 28 de mayo de 2015 en Japón y el 29 de mayo en Europa y América. En Splatoon, el jugador dispara tinta de colores a los enemigos, así como a las superficies del escenario, además, el personaje del jugador puede nadar en forma de calamar a travésSplatoon (スプラトゥーン Spratún?) es un videojuego de disparos en tercera persona desarrollado y publicado por Nintendo para Wii U. Salió a la venta el 28 de mayo de 2015 en Japón y el 29 de mayo en Europa y América. En Splatoon, el jugador dispara tinta de colores a los enemigos, así como a las superficies del escenario, además, el personaje del jugador puede nadar en forma de calamar a través de la tinta de su color para esconderse de los enemigos, aumentar la velocidad de movimiento, o subir por las paredes. En el modo multijugador en línea, dos equipos de cuatro jugadores compiten para cubrir la mayor cantidad de territorio con la tinta de su color, mientras que en el modo campaña para un solo jugador, el jugador debe luchar contra un ejército de pulpos enemigos que utiliza su propio arsenal de armas de tinta. El título es una composición de las palabras en inglés "splatter" (salpicar o salpicadura) y "platoon" (pelotón) (splatter platoon) o también puede significar "splatter" (salpicon o salpicadura) y "cartoon" (caricatura o animado) Expand
  74. Aug 8, 2017
    10
    Great experience and a nice sequel. Weapons feels really good and Coop Mode and Single Player mode are good. We have never Problem with online connections and Gameplay is one of the best i ever play. 10/10
  75. Aug 1, 2017
    10
    Splatoon 2 is one of the must-haves of the switch. Nearly every shortcoming of the original is fixed in this sequel. The gameplay is smooth, running at a solid 60fps. The visuals are stunning and the soundtrack is also great. The new Salmon Run mode is a nice addition for hardcore fans, but it's a shame that it's only open on certain days. The single player campaign is a nice diversion,Splatoon 2 is one of the must-haves of the switch. Nearly every shortcoming of the original is fixed in this sequel. The gameplay is smooth, running at a solid 60fps. The visuals are stunning and the soundtrack is also great. The new Salmon Run mode is a nice addition for hardcore fans, but it's a shame that it's only open on certain days. The single player campaign is a nice diversion, showing how each weapon type can be used. Overall, I say that you should get this game if you have a Nintendo Switch. Expand
  76. Aug 6, 2017
    8
    From a technical perspective, this game is a 10. If you played the first Splatoon this is a worthy upgrade. It's a lot of fun. My only gripes are the horrible lobby system for multiplayer coupled with a pretty poor attempt at voice communication. I wish Nintendo would figure out how to just give us in game chat options. It's been a norm with consoles for years and it's time Nintendo get onFrom a technical perspective, this game is a 10. If you played the first Splatoon this is a worthy upgrade. It's a lot of fun. My only gripes are the horrible lobby system for multiplayer coupled with a pretty poor attempt at voice communication. I wish Nintendo would figure out how to just give us in game chat options. It's been a norm with consoles for years and it's time Nintendo get on board. I like the rotating maps within the game modes but am not a fan of Salmon Run being available sporadically. The customization and clothing options are fun and give you an opportunity to build your SquidKid how you want. Will be playing this game for a long time. Expand
  77. Sep 17, 2017
    10
    This game is absolutely perfect. The amazing graphics next to the fun gameplay and perfect soundtrack. This is the BEST game sequel I’ve ever played! The salmon run mode is insanely fun and the online mode is definitely improved. The single player mode is pretty similar to the first game but that's a good thing because the single player is great fun. There are so much more customizationThis game is absolutely perfect. The amazing graphics next to the fun gameplay and perfect soundtrack. This is the BEST game sequel I’ve ever played! The salmon run mode is insanely fun and the online mode is definitely improved. The single player mode is pretty similar to the first game but that's a good thing because the single player is great fun. There are so much more customization options and levels right out of the release. The only issue is that there is no local 2 player mode but that's such a tiny problem cause nobody ever played it in the first place. Probably my favorite game of 2017. Expand
  78. Jul 28, 2017
    10
    One of the best switch games yet and also a game u can play for hours. Im not so much for playing online alone but whenever my friends arn't online its still fun playing online. If online gets to boring u can always play the campaign which is so fun and challenging. Definitely recommend this game to all switch owners.
  79. May 7, 2018
    9
    Splatoon on Wii U was just the beginning. This is more of the same, but times 100. Better designed maps, new and more balanced weapons, more gear and customization options, killer soundtrack and a more thought out single player experience adds up to one of the best shooters in the past 5-10 years. Consistent weekly updates proves just how much lover and care was put into this brilliantSplatoon on Wii U was just the beginning. This is more of the same, but times 100. Better designed maps, new and more balanced weapons, more gear and customization options, killer soundtrack and a more thought out single player experience adds up to one of the best shooters in the past 5-10 years. Consistent weekly updates proves just how much lover and care was put into this brilliant game. The single player is a clever Mario galaxy inspired tutorial that prepares the player for the epic and awesome online. That may sound like a bad thing, but the levels and bosses are all extremely fun and well designed, and will supply you with hours of enjoyment. Those willing to stick around and complete every level with a certain weapon will be rewarded with a unique hero weapon to take into the world online and show off. Speaking of online, this is a masterpiece when it comes to online play. The basic turf war never fails to entertain, and is always fun to play and also allows for quick pick up and go play. More experienced players can then play ranked modes, which consist of amazingly tactical gameplay, from escorting a weapon to the enemies base, riding a moving tower, controlling a certain area with your ink and playing american football with clams. Not your thing, try the addictive Salmon run, the horde mode of Splatoon. Take on the zombie like beings in epic survival maps and earn unique rewards. The only downgrade is the lack of two player due to the Wii U pad being absent. Putting this aside, this is a brilliant game and is one of the best games of 2017. This is a must own for any Switch player, and is a perfectly good reason to buy a Switch. 9/10 Expand
  80. Jul 23, 2017
    8
    A really good game bogged down by problems it shouldn't even have. Like it's mind boggling how these issues slipped through.
    -You can join your friends easily enough in salmon run, but in normal matches it won't put you together. It will often put one person into a game and make the other wait, or put you on different teams, or just mess it up entirely.
    -You can't skip the squid sisters
    A really good game bogged down by problems it shouldn't even have. Like it's mind boggling how these issues slipped through.
    -You can join your friends easily enough in salmon run, but in normal matches it won't put you together. It will often put one person into a game and make the other wait, or put you on different teams, or just mess it up entirely.
    -You can't skip the squid sisters dialogue and are forced to sit through it all again EVERY time you start the game up.
    -The weapons are extremely unbalanced.
    -You can't change any gear in lobby resulting in bad team comps, and all the menus outside of a game have long load times and are all separate in entirely different shops to force said load time

    The game has problems sure, but they could turn this into a 9/10 game with a future update easily if they wanted to actually address these problems. Other than these issues it's a very stand up game.
    Expand
  81. Jul 23, 2017
    10
    No tuve la oportunidad de jugar el primero, compre este titulo con las espectativas muy altas pero la verdad es que no me decepcionó, muy por el contrario, las superó. Este titulo es altamente adictivo y una vez dominas el estilo de juego no oaras de jugarlo.
  82. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    Le doy un 9.3 (Ya que no deja decimales, why not, le doy el 10) porque me parece que es el Splatoon 1 llevado a la perfección. Ya que "casi todo" son puntos positivos, voy a decir las pocas cosas que no me convencen. Primero, que no te deje salir de la lobby cuando aun está buscando partida. Tampoco me gusta que en la propia lobby no se te permita cambiar el arma y que tengas que salirLe doy un 9.3 (Ya que no deja decimales, why not, le doy el 10) porque me parece que es el Splatoon 1 llevado a la perfección. Ya que "casi todo" son puntos positivos, voy a decir las pocas cosas que no me convencen. Primero, que no te deje salir de la lobby cuando aun está buscando partida. Tampoco me gusta que en la propia lobby no se te permita cambiar el arma y que tengas que salir cada vez que quieres usarla. Por el momento, si quieres jugar con amigos el juego no te asegura que estará en tu equipo (o al menos es lo que me ocurrió en las partidas públicas). Eso es todo, por lo demás se merece todas las buenas notas que le den. Un aplauso, Nintendo, otro imprescindible para la consola. Expand
  83. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    I haven´t played Splatoon, but I love this game. I was sceptical at first, but this game is so much fun. If you have a Switch, you should definitely buy this game.
  84. Jul 21, 2017
    8
    If you loved the first game, then the chances are you're definitely going to love its sequel. Nintendo managed to make the fun found in its predecessor a lot more fun than what you could completely expect for a game that relies within a world filled with lovable characters.
  85. Jul 21, 2017
    9
    Splatoon 2 may not do too much to differ itself from Splatoon 1 but the new things are addicting and fun. Yes Turf War is alright as always and ranked is good old frustrating fun but the real fun is in Salmon Run. It's an event based game which is kind of maddening but it happens pretty much for nearly a whole day every 2 days as of now. The specials are back and their fairer. The storySplatoon 2 may not do too much to differ itself from Splatoon 1 but the new things are addicting and fun. Yes Turf War is alright as always and ranked is good old frustrating fun but the real fun is in Salmon Run. It's an event based game which is kind of maddening but it happens pretty much for nearly a whole day every 2 days as of now. The specials are back and their fairer. The story mode is like the first one with minor improvements. I wouldn't call the story amazing but it's pleasant. Yes they may not have added much BUT everything they added was great! Expand
  86. Jul 22, 2017
    9
    As a huge fan of the original Splatoon, I was sceptical about this game everytime Nintendo showed it off. I was nitpicking every little detail and constantly complaining about the new specials etc. But I can safely say Splatoon 2 improves on the original in almost every way.

    Multiplayer is as solid as ever, and the new single player campaign and Salmon Run are a blast. My only real
    As a huge fan of the original Splatoon, I was sceptical about this game everytime Nintendo showed it off. I was nitpicking every little detail and constantly complaining about the new specials etc. But I can safely say Splatoon 2 improves on the original in almost every way.

    Multiplayer is as solid as ever, and the new single player campaign and Salmon Run are a blast.

    My only real complaints are the voice chat and the barebones lobby; otherwise this would be a 10/10 hands down.

    For this fan, it's GOTY material, and in 2017 that's saying a hell of a lot. Don't miss out on this one.
    Expand
  87. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    Siempre he creído que el secreto de una buena secuela es cambiar suficientes cosas de la entrega anterior para ser algo nuevo, pero dejar suficientes para que no parezca una cosa totalmente diferente y en ese punto creo que Splatoon 2 logró el objetivo. Cambiar los ataques especiales, tener un modo Campaña mucho más pulido y la inclusión del modo Salmon Run le añaden horas de diversión aSiempre he creído que el secreto de una buena secuela es cambiar suficientes cosas de la entrega anterior para ser algo nuevo, pero dejar suficientes para que no parezca una cosa totalmente diferente y en ese punto creo que Splatoon 2 logró el objetivo. Cambiar los ataques especiales, tener un modo Campaña mucho más pulido y la inclusión del modo Salmon Run le añaden horas de diversión a una fórmula que creó toda una comunidad desde cero en Wii U, (eso además de la inclusión de Splatnet 2 que amplía mucho la experiencia). Este es un juego para disfrutar online con amigos o en solitario y creo que es la mejor forma de que jugadores nuevos y con poca experiencia en jugar por internet incursionen en el online sin sentirse frustrados. ¿Recomiendo Splatoon 2? ¡¡Sin duda!! Expand
  88. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    Juego genial. Divertidísimo y bien hecho, con un montón de contenido y cientos de horas de juego. Buenos gráficos, buena música y excelente jugabilidad. Modo historia, modo online, modo red local, etc, etc. 60 FPS Estables tanto en individual como online y el online funciona de lujo.
    Un gran juego.
  89. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    Splatoon 2 is phenomenal. Everything Splatoon 1 had plus improvements and tweaks everywhere PLUS a whole new mode - Salmon Run. My daughter played over 1000 Splatoon 1 games, and is already rank B- and level 18 I think in just a few days binge playing this. The only drawbacks I've seen are not actually harming anything - split-screen (never wanted it or cared), and the voice app (just useSplatoon 2 is phenomenal. Everything Splatoon 1 had plus improvements and tweaks everywhere PLUS a whole new mode - Salmon Run. My daughter played over 1000 Splatoon 1 games, and is already rank B- and level 18 I think in just a few days binge playing this. The only drawbacks I've seen are not actually harming anything - split-screen (never wanted it or cared), and the voice app (just use Discord for all games, program on PC or app on phone). Expand
  90. Aug 1, 2017
    10
    The initial Splatoon, despite being the first of the series, made so little missteps that I thought it was impossible for a sequel to keep up the quality. So when Splatoon 2 was first announced, I was skeptical. However, Splatoon 2 didn't just manage to maintain the quality of the first game, it surpassed it even.

    The single player campaign now lets you use all weapon classes in the
    The initial Splatoon, despite being the first of the series, made so little missteps that I thought it was impossible for a sequel to keep up the quality. So when Splatoon 2 was first announced, I was skeptical. However, Splatoon 2 didn't just manage to maintain the quality of the first game, it surpassed it even.

    The single player campaign now lets you use all weapon classes in the game, including new ones like the dualies and the brellas. All of them will be required to use at some point, which accommodated with great level design, makes you learn and appreciate all of the weapon classes. The single player doesn't just serve as a tutorial though, as it can become quite challenging as well. No level ever repeats itself, and it's full of charm and cool ideas. If more elaborate, it could even stand as its own game, so you definitely shouldn't go thinking it's just a tacked on mode. If you go for all the collectibles, it can even take quite some time to complete.

    The real meat of the game is the multiplayer, though. All of the modes from the first game return, with some changes made to the ranked modes to help them feel fresh. The maps these times are much more thought out than the ones from the initial release of Splatoon. They are created with all weapon classes and modes kept in mind, so no longer are there any map-specific bans for certain modes, like Rainmaker on Blackbelly Skatepark. Even the returning maps have been adjusted to be more playable competitively, with Moray Towers no longer being a charger heaven and Port Mackerel's general layout having been changed to no longer have Splash Walls dominate Tower Control on that map. Single-player mechanics like the inkrails and sponges have also been added to the multiplayer maps, making them even more dynamic and fun than in the first game.

    An entirely new mode called Salmon Run has been added as well, which has you team up with three people to take on a hoard of invading salmonids. What might seem easy initially can easily become very hard and require clever and coordinated team play. Weapons are randomly assigned here, so you have to know which role you should fulfill with the currently assigned weapon. This keeps things fresh, and also helps you to get good with weapons you normally would never use. Salmon Run feels very different from the regular multiplayer gameplay, and provides a different experience every time you play thanks to all the different events that can occur, like special salmonids appearing, fog limiting your view distance, or low and high tides changing the size of the battle field (just to name a few).

    Finally, there have been made some other smaller changes that are still very welcome, like you no longer having to watch the news when the maps rotate or having different ranks for the different modes of ranked battle. You can also play league battles (which are essentially ranked battles) with friends now without putting your rank on the line once you hit B- in any mode, which is a very welcome change from the first game, where you had to hit S rank to be able to play anything but Turf War a bit more casually.

    Splatoon 2 has greatly improved upon Splatoon 1, which was already a fantastic game to begin with, so I can safely say this game is nothing short of a 10/10, and if you own a Switch and are still thinking about getting this game, just do it. The price tag of $60 is a steal compared to the endless hours of fun you'll have with this game.
    Expand
  91. Sep 14, 2017
    10
    Never played splatoon before, but i love this game , it's like love at first sight. the control is easy, the game play is fun, great graphic and so far it just keep expanding with new weapon and maps. I do not usually play multiplayer shooter, but this game really could keep me playing and playing. it is one of the game that i feel worth it every dollar of it.
  92. Jul 29, 2017
    10
    The Perfect Shooter! You don't need to play the first game in this magnificent series to enjoy the beauty which is Splatoon 2! Amazing graphics, several different game modes such as tower control and splat zones and more, and even an outstanding single player experience! and if that doesn't make a great game i don't know what does!
  93. Aug 1, 2017
    10
    I love this game. The single player is amazing, a better story as well. Salmon Run I'd really fun, I love that you switch around weapons every wave. The online multiplayer is still as good as it has always been. I'm addicted to this game, Nintendo, great job. Also I personally think it should be counted as a sequel.
  94. Aug 5, 2017
    8
    Fun with some obvious flaws, menus are confusing and the game doesn't do a great job of explaining the basic mechanics of the game. Ranked is a joke, there should be ranked turf war only as well as the other modes unranked, the game goes too far to limit your choices, limit your fun. and having salmon run on a schedule is a joke.... I don't mind the stages or modes being swapped but IFun with some obvious flaws, menus are confusing and the game doesn't do a great job of explaining the basic mechanics of the game. Ranked is a joke, there should be ranked turf war only as well as the other modes unranked, the game goes too far to limit your choices, limit your fun. and having salmon run on a schedule is a joke.... I don't mind the stages or modes being swapped but I still wished there was turf war ranked that ran along side of the regular turf war. one other complaint is the weapons, some are just trash imo (i.e the snipers, roller blasters) vs weapons like the areospray or the sloshers., and it's curious as to why they are even in the game, or at least not buffed. still, spla2n is a fun game, not as deep as I'd like to be paying 60 dollars but to be fair it deserves the price much more than ARMS did. If I could I would give this game 75/100 because despite all the issues I have with it, I still cannot put it down Nintendo has some serious potential moving forward I hope the developers can continue to work out some of it's flaws for the 3rd game.. Expand
  95. Aug 8, 2017
    10
    I love Splatoon 2. As a new user of Nintendo Switch, I got Splatoon in the package. I usually don't like playing Online and neither do I like platform games, but this.. Is now one of my fav games. It's colorful, it's easy to get into it and the online mode is so cool. There's nothing I'd change. The Controlls have been a bit of a difficult thing for me, when starting the console, but II love Splatoon 2. As a new user of Nintendo Switch, I got Splatoon in the package. I usually don't like playing Online and neither do I like platform games, but this.. Is now one of my fav games. It's colorful, it's easy to get into it and the online mode is so cool. There's nothing I'd change. The Controlls have been a bit of a difficult thing for me, when starting the console, but I really got used to it. I wouldn't want to give away and recommend it to everyone. Sadly you can't play it with a friend sitting next to you having no console, (but you can play with your friends if they have a console and Splatoon). Expand
  96. Jul 17, 2018
    10
    Un juego espectacular a todo color y como no a 60fps. Recomendado 100% si tienes una switch, no puede faltar en tu catalogo. Las partidas online te harán vibrar de emoción y no pararas de jugar. Con la salida de la expansión se ha añadido un juego single player que gana valor el juego
  97. Mar 14, 2018
    10
    Un gran juego, los modos competitivos dan para sacar mucho jugo, es adictivo progresar, tanto para desbloquear armas como atuendo, tiene un gran sistema de emparejamiento es sumamente divertido, y la campaña es una muy agradable sorpresa que pocos usuarios suelen explotar un clásico de nintendo
  98. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    This is the definitive Splatoon experience. Did you like the first game? Then this is all you could ask for. New story, weapons and supers, maps, features, game modes, on a hybrid console with upgraded graphics (1080p60fps docked).
    It's an all around upgrade compared to Splatoon 1, they improved upon it in every aspect.
  99. Mar 4, 2018
    10
    This game is amazing. It is an epic mix of single and multiplayer. The maps and modes are well made and the game play is soo smooth. This game deserves more credit. When you log in, there is always something fun to do.
  100. May 15, 2018
    10
    I really enjoyed this game, especially the multiplayer. It’s really creative to make a game based on paint, regardless of how dumb it sounds. At least Nintendo makes some games I like
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. Oct 12, 2017
    85
    Though never fun in real life, spilling ink all around is even more fun in Splatoon 2 than it was in the first game. Teaming up with your squid friends has never been better. But even though some weird Nintendo elements can drag the fun to a stall, everywhere that Splatoon 2 shines makes it a deserving heir to the original.
  2. Oct 8, 2017
    80
    Splatoon 2 builds on what its successor did so well, with a much larger base of assets that has allowed Nintendo to provide more to consumers right off the bat.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 29, 2017
    80
    Splatoon extended its content and has brought a funny storyline in the second episode. Both newcomers to the Switch and fans of the first game, this is a must-have for you. [Issue#277]