• Publisher: Chibig
  • Release Date: Jun 16, 2020
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. Jun 14, 2020
    82
    Summer in Mara is a super-fun and colourful adventure with a ton of content that you can enjoy for many hours. Anyone who's a fan of these kinds of games will feel right at home with Koa and her chums so here's hoping this gem gets the attention that it deserves.
  2. Jun 19, 2020
    80
    Overall, Summer in Mara has an incredibly strong narrative with character art and light music that only strengthens it. It’s youthful and vibrant, but it also has more somber notes that aren’t always found in farming sims. The only downside is that music and a character driven plot aren't enough to get through all the tedious parts.
  3. Jun 22, 2020
    75
    Summer in Mara has some great ideas, and mixes up successfully some genres like farming, crafting and adventure games, but it also has some issues, both from a design and technical perspective. It is however a good game, and we think younger players can have a great time with it.
  4. Jun 16, 2020
    75
    Summer in Mara is a relaxing adventure sim which focuses on quests and characters over farming or true exploration; if you’re looking for a challenging farming or adventure game, you may want to avoid these waters. At its worst, Mara’s quests can be poorly communicated, bottleneck and cause frustration, but at its best, it’s easy to get lost in this bright, breezy world filled with aliens, pirates, and wholesome adventures.
  5. Jun 15, 2020
    75
    Summer in Mara is a beautiful indie game, based in crafting, harvesting and exploration. But after a couple hours it gets repetitive. It is very enjoyable at a slow pace.
  6. 70
    Summer in Mara has a heart of gold and does a lot with its big picture concepts. However, its purpose conflicts with the tried and true genre gameplay hooks, and there isn't quite enough here to make up for it. Great experience, but could have used a shorter runtime or more quest variety.
  7. Jun 16, 2020
    70
    Summer in Mara gets a lot right in a game that can be enjoyed by narrative adventure players and farming sim players alike. It might be a bit overly ambitious in that regard, not perfecting or catering to one single genre more than the other. However, for those willing to be patient in the early game and look past its lack of directions and slight technical issues, Summer in Mara is a game that will provide plenty of charm and easy-going fun this summer.
  8. Jun 15, 2020
    68
    Chibig Studio have managed to create a magnificent story with incredible, charismatic and endearing characters. All this added to an artistic direction and an impeccable soundtrack. However, Summer in Mara fails in the gameplay, which is repetitive and unsatisfactory.
  9. Sep 3, 2020
    65
    On its own, Mara in Summer is the perfect game if you have plenty of time and are not looking for a challenge. The main protagonist, Koa, is a very charming protagonist and the idea of sailing from Island to Island while meeting new residents and saving your own Island is a pretty neat concept. However, with stagnant characters, quality of life issues, and strange platforming issues, Summer in Mara feels like it's in desperate need for a quick tune up much like Koa’s boat!
  10. Jun 23, 2020
    65
    Summer in Mara was a game I wanted to love, but its core designs around crafting and questing left me wanting. It’s a shame, as I think it could’ve been something truly magical with more time to cook and less reliance on fetch quests.
  11. Jun 17, 2020
    65
    Even with simple agriculture and without offering complex navigation, Summer in Mara is a refreshing title that, if it improves the experience of its hours and a few more worked mechanics, would be an excellent adventure for this summer.
  12. Aug 6, 2020
    60
    So I’m a little disappointed, but there’s definitely something that perhaps could evolve into an adventure that’s tighter and faster. Summer in Mara feels loose and slow. There’s rightly no urgency in the world of Mara nor they should be, the zen of it all is what appeals but, could there have been just a little more tempo? Koa and the charming world of Mara is enough to keep an eye on this one, but it’s too big with not enough depth and that makes Summer in Mara far from essential.
  13. Aug 3, 2020
    60
    Summer in Mara certainly looks great and tells a heartwarming story, but players will soon realize that the game consists of nothing but chores, chores, and more chores. It’s enough to make you take up gardening.
  14. Jul 9, 2020
    60
    Summer in Mara is as charming as it is frustrating. The game has a lot of potential but it feels rushed and unpolished. Hopefully, future updates will fix many of its issues. It has an instantly likable visual and a well-crafted world but the overall experience is blemished by awkward game design choices.
  15. Jun 20, 2020
    60
    With a giant storyline and a huge map, Summer in Mara is a perfect game for a quiet vacation, enjoying the inhabitants of Mara as long as we don't take some issues into account and don't look for something intense and active.
  16. Jun 19, 2020
    60
    Summer in Mara is farming and crafting sim with a lovely message around sustainability. It features some beautiful Ghibli-esque visuals and strong character writing, but ultimately descends into endless, over-lapping fetch quests with a lack of direction that make it more of a chore than the relaxing experience it promises.
  17. Jun 18, 2020
    60
    It’s a real shame that Summer in Mara subjects you to such monotony, because it’s a beautiful game. Its characters are delightful and its world is a joy to explore. The music, too, is wonderful, if slightly repetitive; some of those tuns will get well and truly stuck in your head. But there’s no looking past the fact that its core gameplay makes Summer in Mara a chore to play. It’s enjoyable in short bursts, at least to begin with, but being little more than everyone’s lackey doesn’t stay fun for long.
  18. Jun 18, 2020
    60
    Summer in Mara can be endearing and sometimes evokes the spirit of better games like Harvest Moon, Stardew Valley, and Wind Waker, but poor UI, confusing mechanics, and repetitive quest design harshes the game’s mellow vibe. Perhaps Summer in Mara can be improved with updates, but for now, I’d only book myself on this island cruise at a discount.
  19. Jun 16, 2020
    60
    Summer in Mara may not stand as high as its life sim peers but it's not without its charms, thanks to a lovely visual environment, quality dialogues and an enjoyable plot. Where Summer in Mara does less well, however, is when it comes to the way it works - several technical flaws that end up making the experience less involving and some of the tasks are mostly redundant, for example.
  20. 60
    Summer in Mara has the workings of a breathtaking and chill farming adventure that feels like it should be perfect for the summer, especially now. Instead thanks to everything from fetch quest repetition to a muddled interface, it’s more of a wistful addition to the Switch library. The pleasant vibe of Koa’s undiscovered world can’t carry the whole game despite the best of intentions. If tweaks and improvements can clean up some of the menus, Summer in Mara could be better, but I worry even that won’t make the repetition more enjoyable.
  21. Jun 22, 2020
    50
    Summer In Mara does a well enough job in helping you fall in love with the Koa and the plethora of colorful characters. The underlying mystery of Mara and its inhabitants as well as the depth of lore leaves the player yearning for more. Unfortunately, in order to get the momentary tasty bits of story, the player must go through grueling and nearly infinite fetch questing. On top of that, several mechanics don't intermingle well with each other and often times make no sense whatsoever. Constant backtracking and waiting around plague an otherwise vibrant and compelling game.
  22. Jun 19, 2020
    50
    Summer in Mara is a beautiful game for the eyes and the ears, but spends too much time on fetch quests and not enough on story.
  23. Aug 11, 2020
    45
    When it works and the quests follow a natural flow, Summer in Mara can be wonderful. At its best moments, I found it to be relaxing and effortlessly charming. Sadly, the horrendous backtracking, time-wasting filler content and frustrating resource management make it less of a vacation and more of a job.
  24. Aug 5, 2020
    42
    Because the game is such a chore from beginning to end and all points in between, it feels more like you’re trapped in a world that should be a whole lot more fun than it is. Summer in Mara will try to suck you in with promises of being all charming and delightful, but all it takes is a few minutes (and a few hours after that) to reveal just how empty those promises are.
  25. Jun 22, 2020
    40
    Summer in Mara has a lot going for it, however, this doesn't save the lacklustre gaming mechanics that lead to the game becoming more tedious than it is relaxing.
  26. Jun 18, 2020
    40
    Summer In Mara is a beautiful yet frustrating effort that fails to live up to its massive potential. Despite its masterful storytelling, Chibig fills the game’s remaining hours with repetitive fetch quests and an empty world not worth exploring. It makes me sad but for the wrong reasons.
  27. Jul 19, 2020
    30
    Summer in Mara is actually boring to play and do need more polish. Overall, this game is designed in a way that lacks the fun factor, and to be more specific... It's a painful experience overall.
  28. Jun 16, 2020
    30
    We won’t mince words here, Summer in Mara has absolutely nothing to offer that hasn’t been done much better in other games that are easily available right now. If you want a cozy farm sim with a pleasant atmosphere, get Stardew Valley or Rune Factory 4. If you want a thrilling adventure you can take at your own pace, get Minecraft or The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Even if you’ve played those and are looking for something new, please don’t waste your time or money here. This is not a 'hidden gem'; the alluring presentation of Summer in Mara only acts as a pretty mask for a much uglier game beneath the surface – one that’s keen on wasting your time with no meaningful payoff.
  29. Jun 15, 2020
    30
    Summer in Mara looks lovely right away, but the shine wears off quickly amid a long list of issues, both fixable and sadly, not fixable.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. Jun 23, 2020
    8
    Summer in Mara surprised me in the best way possible. The tutorial in the beginning was incredibly boring, I could not bring myself playingSummer in Mara surprised me in the best way possible. The tutorial in the beginning was incredibly boring, I could not bring myself playing more after it. Long dialogues, stupid island, annoying gameplay. I mean, who kicks trees or bushes so that one orange or berry falls out of it? And the fishing? Very odd way of catching a fish I would say. A few days later I decided to try playing the game again and I now I am hooked! I accepted the gameplay, got to travel with the boat to different islands and I decorated my island with whatever I wanted to craft or plant. So for every new player out there: the journey begins when you get to travel with the boat! Full Review »
  2. Sep 16, 2020
    10
    I almost didn't buy this game because the critic reviews in particular were pretty bad. I'm glad I didn't listen to their inane complaints. II almost didn't buy this game because the critic reviews in particular were pretty bad. I'm glad I didn't listen to their inane complaints. I got it for $20 on switch and it's worth every penny. This game is such a relaxing distraction in these difficult times. It's totally charming and beautiful and funny and the story is sad and uplifting at the same time. I can't speak for the mechanics on other platforms but I've had no issues. Complaints I've heard that made me wtf: you're sending a little girl on tasks, oh but y'all were fine with the countless games with boys of a similar age fighting ancient evil where you repeatedly die. Like god forbid a female protagonist not be a super sexualized adult for once. Or they loved the game but their computer crashed at cut scene so hate it? Can the game be a bit tedious? Sure it you're looking for action packed shoot-em-ups this is not the game for you. If you're looking for a heartwarming tale with Studio Ghibli type graphics and light humor and heart, this is an excellent way to distract yourself from existence, ha. Full Review »
  3. Jun 28, 2020
    4
    Story is too heavily scripted with unintuitive controls and quests. Only complete actions when the quests come up or you could end up doing aStory is too heavily scripted with unintuitive controls and quests. Only complete actions when the quests come up or you could end up doing a future quest by accident and get stuck in the game. I did this twice and had to restart both times to fix the issues. It’s not really a farming sim, you only farm to feed yourself really. It’s mainly a fetch quest with a heavy script along the way. It’s supposed to be relaxing but I found myself getting frustrated with tedious tasks and excessive button clicking. I don’t think the game is worth the price really. Full Review »