User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 260
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    Excelente arte, gameplay exquisito, buen online con 4 jugadores, y el modo bowsers Fury una delicia
  2. Feb 14, 2021
    9
    If you haven't played it 3d world is like a big expansion for 3d land that takes everything good from the 3ds game and amplifies it.

    There is a ridiculous amount of content in 3d world, I'm pretty sure it has the most levels in a Mario game to date but what is more amazing is that no level feels the same, each one has a unique gimmick or theme and the game keeps this up until the end.
    If you haven't played it 3d world is like a big expansion for 3d land that takes everything good from the 3ds game and amplifies it.

    There is a ridiculous amount of content in 3d world, I'm pretty sure it has the most levels in a Mario game to date but what is more amazing is that no level feels the same, each one has a unique gimmick or theme and the game keeps this up until the end.

    There's also 4 player co op which can be played online or local, one fun thing about co op that the highest scoring player gets a crown and the other players can try and steal it by knocking it off, its just dumb fun.

    The music in general is fantastic. Nintendo always does a great job of remixing their classic tunes and 3d world is no exception, I particularly like the jazz rendition of the main theme and bowsers castle theme(go listen to them).

    3d world is simply joy to play, sure it might not have the highly technical move sets of 64 or sunshine but that isn't necessarily a bad thing considering how easy it is to pick up and enjoy. It doesn't have the highpoints of Nintendo's greatest but its solid, all good from start to finish.
    Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    I don't have the switch version but i had the wii u version, and i can say that Super Mario 3D World is incredible with the fun gameplay and nice art style, play with your friends is freaking awesome
  4. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Best port ever. 3D world is maybe better than ever. Ground pound jumps are instant, the characters are faster, which compensated for the nerfed cat dive glitch (which is still there). Bowsers fury is really good too, but keep in mind that it’s not worth buying for just bowsers fury
  5. Feb 17, 2021
    10
    Beautiful Game I love that the graphics look better in 3D Land. But in Bowser's Fury that's where the fun is! The fact that Bowser has turned into basically Godzilla. Beautiful Graphics, Good Gameplay, Cool Bowser Design, and bowser Jr's drawings are great
  6. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    This game is Fantastic. I recommend playing this game with someone else because the co-op experience alone makes this game one of the best Mario games if not the best. bowser's fury is really good but it is short. if you missed this masterpiece on the WII U. make sure to get it on the switch.
  7. Feb 18, 2021
    8
    This is a great collection of 2 similar yet vastly different experiences!
    Dont sleep on Bowser's Fury!
    I enjoyed it more than 3D worlds!
  8. Feb 14, 2021
    9
    Super Mario 3D World is a platforming classic, even better now on the Switch. Bowser's Fury is surprisingly fun, although a little short. Especially the boss fight are an awesome and epic twist to the Mario vs Bowser saga!
  9. jte
    Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Amazing game, one of my favorite Mario games , highly recommend :-). Please do yourself a favor and buy this gem! It’s multiplayer so you can play with your kids and significant other
  10. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Awesome game. I love many Super Mario games but this one is one of best Super Mario games and we got online option in Super Mario 3D World story mode!!! Great fun with friends and being solo too if look for challenge alone. :) I love Cat Toad in it. :) :) :) :) :)
  11. Feb 15, 2021
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. Hugely fun, great level design and plenty of stuff to collect.
    A must play for anyone.
  12. Feb 15, 2021
    9
    The ONLY thing that bothers me a little is that Bowsers Fury plays like a full 3D Mario game and I can’t do the side flip to make higher jumps. But amazing games. A great purchase if you liked the original or if you never played it and like Mario games.
  13. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    One of the best Mario games of this generation this should be a must play for every platform lover
  14. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Excellent game ! One of the best Mario ever ! Bowser's Fury is so good and it makes Super Mario 3D World even better
  15. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Mario 3D world demuestra aún a dia de hoy un excelente diseño de niveles muy dificil de superar, constantemente introduce nuevas mecánicas y desafios plataformeros, junto a una gran y creativa variedad de escenarios y una banda sonora que te hara sonreir al instante, es un juego redondo y magistral dentro de su género.
  16. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    A luxurious and high-caliber platform game that has no competition except for other Mario games. The game is already luxurious since the Wii U. However, there are impressive improvements such as team play, improving the walking shape of the characters (animation ), adding cooperative play in the missions of captain toad, and the most importantly wonderful addition, which is the two factsA luxurious and high-caliber platform game that has no competition except for other Mario games. The game is already luxurious since the Wii U. However, there are impressive improvements such as team play, improving the walking shape of the characters (animation ), adding cooperative play in the missions of captain toad, and the most importantly wonderful addition, which is the two facts of the game Mario is completely independent. It is the addition of the Bowser's Fury game to the very huge world of cats, all of which confirms that it is a good bargain

    Sorry for my language
    Expand
  17. Feb 14, 2021
    9
    I, like many others, didn't like 3d World when it first came out, but in retrospect, this game is great!

    It's rather linear and restrictive when compared to the more open ended nature of the previous games, but that's not really a bad thing, because the game is filled to the brim with creative ideas and it's linearity allows it to channel it in a focused manner. Maybe it isn't as
    I, like many others, didn't like 3d World when it first came out, but in retrospect, this game is great!

    It's rather linear and restrictive when compared to the more open ended nature of the previous games, but that's not really a bad thing, because the game is filled to the brim with creative ideas and it's linearity allows it to channel it in a focused manner.

    Maybe it isn't as great as some of its predecessors, but it's never bad either. It's a consistent flow of inspired and creative platforming through a series of linear obstacle courses, and is almost 100% perfect in this regard.

    If you didn't like this game at first, I'd encourage you to play Mario Odyssey first, and play this one after that. It helped me appreciate the game much more, and maybe it'll help you do the same.
    Expand
  18. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Awesome game, the best Mario ever!!
    Juego asombroso, el mejor Mario jamás creado!!
  19. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Me parece demasiado divertido, de hecho es casi top 1 de switch. Me parece increíble!!!!!
  20. Feb 17, 2021
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great bundle from Nintendo. Not only do you get Super Mario 3D World re-released on the switch, which is a great new take on the old formula, but you get the new edition of Bowser's Fury. While Bowser's Fury is a short game (about 2-3 to beat and 4-6 to 100%) it is an instant classic. The edition of the "day and night cycle" that has Bowser being dormant during the day and him becoming a giant monster at night creates a wonderful dynamic that keeps you on your toes. The game plays completely different in each cycle, and the giant boss battles are quite fun. One of my favorite things about this bundle is the multiplayer. You can play with up to four people, which adds extra enjoyment in 100% the game, trying to beat each others scores, or just playing the base game. Bowser's Fury also has up to four players which is very nice, but the best part is the two player local play. The second player gets to play as Bowser Jr which is a great improvement upon Cappy. I found that Bowser Jr was vital to the game, and it made it that much better when someone was playing with me. There are only two flaws in this bundle. The first is how short Bowser's Fury is, and the second is one of the games is already released. But both of these are tiny issues. Bowser's Fury is re-playable and worth it just for the first playthrough, and the whole point was the re-release of Super Mario 3D World on the switch so I'm just glad they included a new title with it. 3D Mario World + Bowser's Fury is a great bundle that I will come back to time and time again. Thank you Nintendo for another classic installment. Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2021
    10
    This is an Amazing game! I absolutely love each level, they are filled with unique ideas and charm. I have never owned a Wii U so I am extremely happy to be able to experience this game. Bowser’s fury is quite great as a bonus game, but to me personally Super Mario 3D World is the best out of both. I preferred the stars from this one than odyssey’s moons because I actually felt as if theyThis is an Amazing game! I absolutely love each level, they are filled with unique ideas and charm. I have never owned a Wii U so I am extremely happy to be able to experience this game. Bowser’s fury is quite great as a bonus game, but to me personally Super Mario 3D World is the best out of both. I preferred the stars from this one than odyssey’s moons because I actually felt as if they were attainable as their isn’t as much than the insane amount of moons in Odyssey. ( But that is just me ) also find this game much more appealing because of all the amazing playable characters that you can be- instead of just Mario. The multiplayer experience is awesome but it can sometimes get quite chaotic especially in the cake level with the red and blue switch blocks;). I love this game, you should try it and see all the amazing content that this game has to offer, the multiplayer but single player experience are phenomenal and fleshed out to give you hours of entertainment. A must buy and my favourite video game, I love Super Mario! Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    This has stood the test of time. This game is a must buy for all Switch owners, ESPECIALLY anyone who missed it on the Wii U. The game is fantastic and I highly recommend it.
  23. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    One of the Best games of Wii u comes to switch and it's amazing, My favorite Mario game
  24. Feb 15, 2021
    9
    3D world is great, but Bowser's Fury comes along with a touch of creativity, of liberty if I say so myself.

    This new mode is certainly short, but packed in great ideas. The difficulty is well balanced, and overall a great experience.

    If you already played 3D World on the Wii.U, this is still a great game that you should replay !

    ...Great.
  25. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    What can I say about a Mario game, the creativity in each level is unique, a game that never becomes repetitive. The inclusion of Bowser's Fury gives a different feel to the game that everyone already knew, besides being an interesting proposal for future Mario games.
  26. Feb 15, 2021
    10
    bowser's fury is a lot of fun. reminds me of odyssey. worth buying even if you own 3D world on wii u
  27. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    Literally my favorite game of all time, not to mention one of the best Super Mario games of all time! This remake and Bowsers fury are true masterpieces.
  28. Feb 15, 2021
    8
    Super Mario 3D World et Bowser's Fury sont un excellent mélange. Avec d'un côté un portage excellent, améliorant un platformer déjà excellent sur de nombreux points. Et de l'autre une vraie aventure originale rafraîchissement et à la proposition d’un gameplay étonnant. Cette réédition d'un des meilleurs opus de la saga s'affirme comme un véritable indispensable sur Nintendo Switch. Si tousSuper Mario 3D World et Bowser's Fury sont un excellent mélange. Avec d'un côté un portage excellent, améliorant un platformer déjà excellent sur de nombreux points. Et de l'autre une vraie aventure originale rafraîchissement et à la proposition d’un gameplay étonnant. Cette réédition d'un des meilleurs opus de la saga s'affirme comme un véritable indispensable sur Nintendo Switch. Si tous les portages Wii U ne se valent pas et que beaucoup ne justifient pas forcément de nouvel investissement à prix fort, Super Mario 3D World avec Bowser's Fury est l’un des meilleurs jeux de la machine à ce jour. Et qui sait, en fonction de la réception de Bowser's Fury, Nintendo y verra peut-être l'occasion de proposer à l'avenir une expérience complète et 100% inédite.

    Plus de détail >> https://www.geekexperience.fr/jeux-video/avis/avis-super-mario-3d-world--bowsers-fury
    Expand
  29. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    One of the best games of Wii U now on Switch, Super Mario 3D World + Bowser's Fury is one of the best Super Mario game in 3D in Switch, with online multiplayer and a great expansion: Bowser's Fury like Odyssey and 3D World
  30. Feb 18, 2021
    9
    A great port of Super Mario 3D World! The characters and visuals move more quicker, a lot of new features and new mechanics that haven't been seen in the Original Wii U release. Also, the fact that this is the 5th 3D Mario game (3 if you count 3D All Stars as one game) to be on the Switch is also incredible. Bowser's Fury is a great mode too! It even feels like that it could be it's ownA great port of Super Mario 3D World! The characters and visuals move more quicker, a lot of new features and new mechanics that haven't been seen in the Original Wii U release. Also, the fact that this is the 5th 3D Mario game (3 if you count 3D All Stars as one game) to be on the Switch is also incredible. Bowser's Fury is a great mode too! It even feels like that it could be it's own separate game. Expand
  31. Feb 15, 2021
    9
    I didn't had a wii U so I had never experienced Super Mario 3D World, but it's defenitly a must buy for Mario games fans. It's a hole new experience of the old 2D Mario formula with a new possibilities, worlds and mechanics. This game is even better in multiplayer, much funnier and gets really competitive since players can try to beat your highscore going all the way together. For me, isI didn't had a wii U so I had never experienced Super Mario 3D World, but it's defenitly a must buy for Mario games fans. It's a hole new experience of the old 2D Mario formula with a new possibilities, worlds and mechanics. This game is even better in multiplayer, much funnier and gets really competitive since players can try to beat your highscore going all the way together. For me, is a 9 out of 10. Maybe for someone that already played this on wii U it might be not all that fun but for newcomers like me, I recomend this 100%. Expand
  32. Feb 14, 2021
    10
    This is THE best Mario game I have played in a long time. I never got the opportunity to play it on the Wii U but always wanted to. Now, here it is 8 years later, with better resolution and a solid 60 fps. 3D World alone was worth the purchase, but the inclusion of Bowsers Fury made it even better. They could have just thrown the original game and I would have been happy! Bowsers Fury isThis is THE best Mario game I have played in a long time. I never got the opportunity to play it on the Wii U but always wanted to. Now, here it is 8 years later, with better resolution and a solid 60 fps. 3D World alone was worth the purchase, but the inclusion of Bowsers Fury made it even better. They could have just thrown the original game and I would have been happy! Bowsers Fury is massive and gorgeous, the music is amazing, and the feeling of being chased by Giga Bowser is exhilarating. They revamped movement speeds too! So the characters never feel sluggish. If you love Mario games and havent played this, go get it!! (PS, to the person who has only played the Wii U version and gave this a 6, you need to take yourself elsewhere unless you actually play THIS version. They are not the same and your review is invalid.) Expand
  33. Feb 15, 2021
    10
    Super Mario 3D World on its own is an amazing game. With great level design and a wealth of new ideas and fun gimmicks in every level. With so many levels you would think they would repeat ideas but they don’t. Then after you beat the main game their are challenge worlds that are even more fun to beat. On top of all of this, they added one of the coolest things to come from a Mario GameSuper Mario 3D World on its own is an amazing game. With great level design and a wealth of new ideas and fun gimmicks in every level. With so many levels you would think they would repeat ideas but they don’t. Then after you beat the main game their are challenge worlds that are even more fun to beat. On top of all of this, they added one of the coolest things to come from a Mario Game since the Dragon Kingdom in Odyssey. In Bowsers Fury it’s a fun and new open world Mario experience with great challenge and fun. It’s a long experience too, it will take you 5 to 6 hours to fully complete it. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good 3D platformer. Expand
  34. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    Amazing! Bowser's Fury is my new favourite Mario's game! Beautiful graphics and the music is terrific!
  35. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    Super fun and enjoyable game!

    .................................................................................................,,,
  36. Feb 13, 2021
    9
    Muy divertido solo o en compañía de amigos.
    Bowser's Fury es una estupenda experiencia, para nada tan fácil como dicen algunos medios especializados. Los enfrentamientos con Bowser llegan a ser bastante desafiantes,...y por desgracia, también bastante repetitivos... Se exceden con estos encuentros .
  37. Feb 16, 2021
    10
    The best 3D Game of Mario! The best 3D Game of Mario! The best 3D Game of Mario!
  38. Feb 13, 2021
    9
    I highly recommend buying this game, it's a blast! It has appealing visuals and designs, and has plenty of stars and stamps to collect!
  39. Rg-
    Feb 14, 2021
    10
    A very fun adventure with a lot of creative level design. Its fun to play it alone or multi players up to 4 players You can run through the stages -collect the stars -collect the stamps -defeat bosses and mini bosses! Its really a very great game
  40. Feb 23, 2021
    9
    This game is a must buy, not only do you get the masterpiece that is Mario 3D World, you also get an entire new game with it. The gameplay may be more simplified then the other 3D Mario games but the level design is what the game is all about.
  41. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    Nada más que decir el mejor juego de Mario en 3d que hay y mi hablar de la belleza del bowsers fury
  42. Feb 16, 2021
    8
    While the Wii U was certainly some dark times for Nintendo, there’s no denying that the first party offerings were just as stellar as ever. You know that with how much of the system’s library has released on the Switch over the past 4 years with the latest being Mario's main 3D adventure on the system.

    I remember covering the game back in 2013 and was generally impressed with what was
    While the Wii U was certainly some dark times for Nintendo, there’s no denying that the first party offerings were just as stellar as ever. You know that with how much of the system’s library has released on the Switch over the past 4 years with the latest being Mario's main 3D adventure on the system.

    I remember covering the game back in 2013 and was generally impressed with what was on offer but ultimately the game felt like a step back from the series previous offering with Galaxy, but at that point Wii U owners were so starved for new titles we were more than happy to play it. The game centred around Bowser being a general nuisance and kidnapping the sprixies from the Sprixie Kingdom and it is up to Mario and friends to save the day, the game was the follow up to 3D Land on the 3DS, with many of the same features including a large number of powerups from the Tanooki suit to the brand new Cat Suit

    Booting it up on Switch in 2021 does bring a sense of hindsight though, after playing through the HD ports of Sunshine, the original Galaxy and of course Odyssey these past few years, going back to 3D World feels almost archaic. Firstly, Mario's Moveset in this game is incredibly restrictive, as I was playing I was frequently wondering why Mario wasn't throwing his hat or even just twirling while he jumped, in fact Mario's jumps in this game feel incredibly floaty and inaccurate compared to other titles, it isn’t helped with the camera angles not giving me proper depth perception.

    In terms of performance, it’s identical to the original version in regards to framerate, presentation-wise, It's pretty much a straight port of the Wii U version with the only motion controls being used to replicate the Gamepad touch moments, holding the shoulder button brings up a pointer that you use to interact with the built-in gyros. This is one time I would rather undock the game and just use the touch controls on the Switch’s gamepad.

    While 3D World isn’t the most robust Mario title, it's far from being inferior introducing aspects like the Cat Suit, the adorable Captain Toad and of course 4 player multiplayer. The Switch version does expand on that with Online Co-op but we were unable to try that out at the time of this review

    But the reason why we are all here is for the brand new expansion in "Bowser's Fury". While 3D World's camera controls and levels were fairly restrictive, Bowser's Fury is a full open world level similar to Odyssey, essentially forming a bridge between the two titles with it having the features of the newer iteration like just losing coins at death. Which begs the question why they even decided to keep the lives in the main game, one turtle exploit and several minutes of your time and you’ll have more lives than you know what to do with.

    Falling down a black portal Mario finds himself in a brand new world with an angry giant Bowser and a worried Junior who needs your help calming his father down with the help of Cat Shines. While you can play as Bowser Jr in co-op, there is no way to play as him in single-player mode, he instead offers help in combat as well as holding onto multiple power-ups.

    As Mario is completing numerous missions to collect cat shines like races or reuniting a poor crying cat with her kittens, Bowser will sometimes poke his head up, turn the sky all gloomy and rain destruction on you for like a minute. Honestly, this is more a hindrance than anything else before you unlock the new giant kitty bell and are just looking to collect the shinies.

    While Bowser's Fury is an impressive addition to 3D World, it will barely clock in any more than 6 hours of playthrough which in this reviewers opinion, really doesn't justify double-dipping. I wouldn't say 3D World is an inferior Mario title but it is absolutely standing in the shadows of its bigger bros. But if you were one of the many who never purchased the Wii U version, 3D World with Bowser’s Fury does offer that classic Mario platforming fun, but I wouldn’t blame you if you pop in Odyssey right afterwards....
    Expand
  43. Feb 15, 2021
    9
    3D World is a lot of fun if not slightly too easy. Although similar to a lot of recent releases the challenge comes from finding all the collectables and the post game of which is fairly meaty. Bowsers Fury seems great for an add-on to an existing game and would definitely hope to see a full length take on this formula some day.

    I would say if you're expecting a 64/Odyssey style game
    3D World is a lot of fun if not slightly too easy. Although similar to a lot of recent releases the challenge comes from finding all the collectables and the post game of which is fairly meaty. Bowsers Fury seems great for an add-on to an existing game and would definitely hope to see a full length take on this formula some day.

    I would say if you're expecting a 64/Odyssey style game you may be disappointed as for me 3D World is more of logical step from the 2D games rather than the other 3D titles.

    My one real criticism would be sometimes it's difficult to judge where you're going to land your jumps.
    Expand
  44. Feb 17, 2021
    9
    Super Mario 3D World + Bowser's Fury is a nice treat for gamers all around. Originally released back in the golden days of the Wii U, Super Mario 3D World was a nice addition to the 3D Mario games. Another fun 4 player Mario experience for friends and families. Now with Bowser's Fury, the game is even better that its now also re-vamped for the Switch. Bowser's Fury is just more fun forSuper Mario 3D World + Bowser's Fury is a nice treat for gamers all around. Originally released back in the golden days of the Wii U, Super Mario 3D World was a nice addition to the 3D Mario games. Another fun 4 player Mario experience for friends and families. Now with Bowser's Fury, the game is even better that its now also re-vamped for the Switch. Bowser's Fury is just more fun for every player and returning veteran of the Mario series like myself. Definitely recommend playing! Expand
  45. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ame el juego de principio a fin el online funciona super bien y el Bowser fury lo mejor lo recomiendo y mucho. Expand
  46. Feb 19, 2021
    10
    I hadn't gotten to play Super Mario 3D World when it was on the Wii U, so my first experience with it has been on the Switch. If you're playing it by yourself, I would give 3D world a 7/10. It's a very solid mainline Mario title and I don't have much more to say about it. I'd give it an extra half point for an 8/10 if you're playing it with a few friends. Me and my daughter had a blastI hadn't gotten to play Super Mario 3D World when it was on the Wii U, so my first experience with it has been on the Switch. If you're playing it by yourself, I would give 3D world a 7/10. It's a very solid mainline Mario title and I don't have much more to say about it. I'd give it an extra half point for an 8/10 if you're playing it with a few friends. Me and my daughter had a blast playing it together. It's truly the multi-player options that set it apart.

    Now, the 10/10 I've awarded to the game is purely due to Bowser's Fury, which, if it were expanded into a full fledged independent mainline Mario game, it would probably hands down become my favorite mainline Mario game in the entire series. This is exactly what I wanted Super Mario Odyssey to be. Its open level design is exquisite, it strikes a perfect balance between accessibility and challenge for younger players, and I desperately hope all of the ideas here are a mere pre-cursor to whatever Nintendo plans to do with Mario next. I can't begin to even describe what I wouldn't give to have an open level world exactly like Bowser's Fury to explore on the scale of Breath of the Wild. Bowser's Fury is literally everything I want out of mainline Mario titles going forward.
    Expand
  47. Feb 22, 2021
    9
    Uno de los mejores plataformas que he jugado, tanto en su concepto clásico (3D World) como en su innovador mundo abierto (Bowser's Fury). Es una doble experiencia que no te puedes perder si eres fan del fontanero de Nintendo
  48. Feb 14, 2021
    9
    Que juegazo, nunca me compre una Nintendo Wii U, pero esa consola tenia joyas que nunca se me paso en la cabeza, lo vuelvo a repetir cada Mario que lanza Nintendo supera al anterior, si nunca lo jugaron en Nitendo Wii U y tienen una Nintendo Switch le recomiendo comprar este videojuego porque no se van a arrepentir este videojuego merece cada centavo
  49. Feb 23, 2021
    9
    Todos los días juego una horita y la verdad que me lo paso que ni me doy cuenta. Es una juegazo, bueno 2 juegazos que entretienen lo que no está escrito. Muy recomendado.
  50. Feb 16, 2021
    9
    The low skill floor and high skill ceiling makes this the perfect party or family game. I've 100% completed the game in the past on wiiU and look forward to doing it again on switch.

    The amount of content you get is amazing, and (unlike a certain other Mario game) every star feels meaningful and special to get. There's some trickiness to the platforming caused by the 3D setting, but
    The low skill floor and high skill ceiling makes this the perfect party or family game. I've 100% completed the game in the past on wiiU and look forward to doing it again on switch.

    The amount of content you get is amazing, and (unlike a certain other Mario game) every star feels meaningful and special to get. There's some trickiness to the platforming caused by the 3D setting, but it's still incredibly well done and excellent to control.
    Expand
  51. Feb 21, 2021
    9
    It's Mario, so I guess you can already tell it will be amazing. One of the best 3D Mario games with very colorful and visually amazing stages, great controls and very good platforming variety from easy to challenging stages. On the top of it though, here comes Browser's Fury which is the most fun I had with an open world 3D platforming except Mario Oddysey even though it's not far at allIt's Mario, so I guess you can already tell it will be amazing. One of the best 3D Mario games with very colorful and visually amazing stages, great controls and very good platforming variety from easy to challenging stages. On the top of it though, here comes Browser's Fury which is the most fun I had with an open world 3D platforming except Mario Oddysey even though it's not far at all from its level, but it feels like a testing project which is going to be a game some day (without having any problems or bugs of course). I really loved the idea and I hope they make something more complete in the feature like a game itself because this one felt like a DLC. I believe it's a must play even if you have, or not, played it before. Expand
  52. Feb 20, 2021
    10
    A really great game deserved to be visited or revisited by all generations.
  53. Feb 23, 2021
    10
    Super Mario 3D World was and still remains one of the best linear Mario games in history. Bowser's Fury is a short yet very fun mode filled to the brim with things to do and shows the future Mario games may look like.
  54. Feb 15, 2021
    9
    Bowser's Fury is a Mario Fans dream with a massive open Sandbox of a level to play in (Probably the size of five of the kingdoms from Odyssey rolled up into one.) And over 100 thought out Cat Shines to collect. It also puts the Platforming back in Sandbox Mario titles unlike Odyssey that was probably 90% Mindless Collectathon and 10% Platformer. Honestly one of the best Mario experiencesBowser's Fury is a Mario Fans dream with a massive open Sandbox of a level to play in (Probably the size of five of the kingdoms from Odyssey rolled up into one.) And over 100 thought out Cat Shines to collect. It also puts the Platforming back in Sandbox Mario titles unlike Odyssey that was probably 90% Mindless Collectathon and 10% Platformer. Honestly one of the best Mario experiences I've had in years. As for 3D world, they increased the running speed, added improvements to the game over all, and added a four player online mode for the entire game which is a big deal for Nintendo. There are also some new Captain Toad stages. Giving the Game a 9 because there is also a Death Counter that appears on the main menu of the game after you beat it as a way to say "Hey you beat the game but you died this many times!" To me that feels like a punishment over a reward, I don't want to be reminded of how many times I died in a game every time I boot up the start menu. Expand
  55. Feb 25, 2021
    9
    Bowser's Fury is great! Just wish it was longer. And the orginal 3D World is just as fun as it was years ago.
  56. Feb 18, 2021
    10
    this game is amazing , overall it's better than the wii u version and the bowser's furry is really fun open world game even though it's pretty short for a new content for the game itself, this game deserve higher score / better score than it should be (the wii u version is 93 on metacritic). so overall super mario 3d world + bowser's furry is an amazing game and this is one of the bestthis game is amazing , overall it's better than the wii u version and the bowser's furry is really fun open world game even though it's pretty short for a new content for the game itself, this game deserve higher score / better score than it should be (the wii u version is 93 on metacritic). so overall super mario 3d world + bowser's furry is an amazing game and this is one of the best mario game on nintendo switch. Expand
  57. Feb 21, 2021
    10
    One of the best Wii U ports ever. This game is amazing and it's so good seeing this game with some bonus content added. You can even play with friends online or locally! Even though I partially completed this game on the Wii U, it was a great time. Now for Bowser's Fury, it's pretty amazing to see a game like odyssey being added as bonus content for the port. I mainly played solo for bothOne of the best Wii U ports ever. This game is amazing and it's so good seeing this game with some bonus content added. You can even play with friends online or locally! Even though I partially completed this game on the Wii U, it was a great time. Now for Bowser's Fury, it's pretty amazing to see a game like odyssey being added as bonus content for the port. I mainly played solo for both games but I still had a great time. After beating Super Mario 3D World and 100% Bowser's Fury, I can say that this is worth the 60$ price tag. Expand
  58. Feb 22, 2021
    9
    Brilliant game, kept me engaged for many hours, and I haven't even started playing Bowser's fury yet!
  59. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    The best 3d platformer ever made!!!!!
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, bb,,,,, gggg
  60. UAL
    Feb 15, 2021
    10
    By far the best Wii U port to make this switch. Currently playing the Switch version and its a blast! Buy it, Super Mario 3D World alone is worth £60 and Bowser’s Fury is just another reason as to why you should want to buy it even if you owned the game before on Wii U. Bowser’s Fury is just a fantastic experience and it is a great add on as to what is already a great game (its like DLCBy far the best Wii U port to make this switch. Currently playing the Switch version and its a blast! Buy it, Super Mario 3D World alone is worth £60 and Bowser’s Fury is just another reason as to why you should want to buy it even if you owned the game before on Wii U. Bowser’s Fury is just a fantastic experience and it is a great add on as to what is already a great game (its like DLC but the best kind). This game is a better example of what Wii U ports should be and Nintendo practically nailed it. Just one thing that needs improvement and may come in a major update or patch. The little bit of work on textures and material on both games as well as a 1080p60 enhancement for Bowser’s Fury when docked. Aside that , best game so far of 2032 (at least of the time when writing this its the best game of the year so far). And what a way to end Super Mario's 35th Anniversary as well. Expand
  61. Feb 13, 2021
    8
    8 years later and 3D World still isn't the best 3D Mario game, but it does its job at providing a fun experience for almost everyone who likes Jump & Runs. The game now runs at 60FPS in 1080p, the speed of the characters got optimized and Nintendo added an online multiplayer. Other than that it's pretty much the same compared to the original. Bowser's Fury, on the other hand, is a brand8 years later and 3D World still isn't the best 3D Mario game, but it does its job at providing a fun experience for almost everyone who likes Jump & Runs. The game now runs at 60FPS in 1080p, the speed of the characters got optimized and Nintendo added an online multiplayer. Other than that it's pretty much the same compared to the original. Bowser's Fury, on the other hand, is a brand new open world mini adventure which can be played seperately. It's really nothing special, there are some repetitive missions and sometimes the framerate is all over the place but it's still solid for what it is. Bowser's Fury took me 5hrs to complete while I was done with 3D World after around 12hrs. I don't think 60 bucks is an appropriate price for an 8 year old, 17hr long game but that's not the game's fault, it's just Nintendo's price policy.
    All in all, it's a short, but fun experience. There are definitely better 3D Mario games out there but Super Mario 3D World + Bowser's Fury is still one of the better Switch games. I'd give 8.5 if I could.
    Expand
  62. Feb 21, 2021
    9
    Super Mario 3D World, originally released in 2013 for Wii U, is still excellent, though the motion controls that have replaced the original's touch controls when playing on TV can get a bit awkward.

    The Bowser's Fury side-story is generally great too, though Fury Bowser's interrupting of the gameplay tires fairly quickly.
  63. Feb 16, 2021
    9
    I thoroughly played the Wii U version so I'm coming at this as someone that double dipped. The 3D World port is pretty underwhelming but Bowser's Fury was far better and meatier than I expected, so I rate this collection pretty highly. Especially if you haven't played 3D World, this is a 10/10 must-play for Mario fans.

    ---3D World--- If you're unfamiliar, Mario 3D Land and 3D World are
    I thoroughly played the Wii U version so I'm coming at this as someone that double dipped. The 3D World port is pretty underwhelming but Bowser's Fury was far better and meatier than I expected, so I rate this collection pretty highly. Especially if you haven't played 3D World, this is a 10/10 must-play for Mario fans.

    ---3D World---
    If you're unfamiliar, Mario 3D Land and 3D World are a mashup of 2D Mario's more linear levels and challenging platforming with 3D Mario's mechanics. Basically, Crash Bandicoot but Mario. 3D World is the sequel to 3D Land and was entirely built around 4-player co-op. It works great solo but is also a blast in multiplayer. I recommend 2 player if you have a friend that's dedicated to go through it with you. Personally, the game is a ton of fun but not a must-play. 3D Land was a great experiment and perfect for a portable but I and many other Mario fans view these games as a step backward from 64, Sunshine, Galaxy, and Odyssey. The coop is its saving grace.

    With regard to the Switch port, they basically just upped the run speed. Many were hoping they'd add some new characters like Yoshi, Daisy, or Wario but that's not here. Similarly, this would have been a great opportunity to port the 3D Land levels into this engine but that didn't happen either, probably relegating 3D Land to the 3DS forever... So I'd say this port is pretty bare-bones.

    ---Bowser's Fury---
    The other half is a brand-new campaign, seemingly targeting people like me that prefer Odyssey/64 over the "3D" games. It uses 3D World's mechanics and powerups verbatim but it's a massive open world you explore and collect Cat-Shines (basically stars/moons from the other games). The map has a dozen large islands that serve as levels, with several shines each, but there's also shines scattered in between for a total of 100. This is the most open-ended Mario ever made and that absolutely elevates the game. It all works fantastically and is a great proof of concept for an open world Mario that will hopefully come in the future. My biggest gripe is that I just wanted more, though I understand it's just a side-campgain. I'd gladly pay full price for this game if it just had 3 more similar maps. It also feels like so many of the mechanics and enemies get almost no use. Often, a new mechanic from 3D World is introduced for a 60 second shine and is never seen from again.

    While the structure is great, there are many good small touches too. Bowser Jr is your sidekick now and he can help you fight and platform. A 2nd player can take control of him, and while it's still pretty mindless, it is much much better than the coop in Galaxy and Odyssey, kind of like Tails in Sonic. Like Odyssey, lives are gone and Fury actually handles this much better. When you get 100 coins, the game gives you a powerup, which is a great incentive to collect coins. You can find all the powerups from 3D World (fire flower, cat suit, tanooki, etc.) and you can horde up to 5 of each. While I miss Cappy, this was a great way to incorporate the old-school powerups, while getting rid of lives. Each death is 1 less powerup, which kept me on my toes, even if the game wasn't that hard.

    Lastly, is Fury Bowser. Every few minutes, a giant bowser will show up to harass you for a while as you explore the world. He'll go away if you find a shine (which are everywhere), if you fight him, or if you wait long enough. I've seen some people criticize this but I thought it did a great job of mixing things up. I wouldn't want this mechanic to be prevalent for an entire full Mario game but I like the idea of levels organically changing condition as you play. The only downside is that there are several shines you can only get when Bowser shows up. These are all lame, as you just have Bowser roast some bricks, and you'll have to wait around for Bowser to show up if these are the only shines you have left. I thought for sure the game would let you summon Bowser after you beat the story at 50/100 shines but this wasn't present. Similarly, I think a hard mode where Bowser is always present could have been awesome but that's also not present.

    ---Conclusion---
    Lastly, I will say I wish Nintendo had allowed people to buy Bowser's Fury separately for 20 dollars or so. I routinely feel screwed over for being one of the few people that bought a Wii U. That said, and regardless of some easy additions Nintendo could have made to 3D World and Bowser's Fury, this is still a very strong package for Switch. Most Switch ports have added 1 character and charged 60 dollars but Nintendo gave us an awesome new campaign that will last you 3-8 hours, and I'm already replaying it because it's so good. I know I'll play 3D World coop in the long run but I really bought this for Bowser's Fury and somehow wasn't disappointed. I've been aching for Odyssey 2 or DLC and this definitely scratched the itch.
    Expand
  64. Feb 19, 2021
    8
    It's a better version of 3D World, and Bowser's Fury is a blast, but it's another port without enough content to justify full price.
    Graphics: 10/10 Music: 9/10 Sound Effects: 8/10 Fun: 8/10 Content: 7/10
    Level Design: 8/10 Controls: 8/10 With Friends: 8/10 Bosses: 8/10 Bowser's Fury: 9/10
    TOTAL: 83/100 (Recommended)
  65. Feb 26, 2021
    9
    Nintendo knocked it out of the park, yet again, with Bowsers Fury. 3d World is a different story. I will review each game based on their individual merits because of their staunch differences.
    3D World
    A good game. Not great. Not bad . Good. Graphics? Good. Level design? Good. Controls? Good. Music? I think you can guess. Playing by yourself is a good time but you'll want to play
    Nintendo knocked it out of the park, yet again, with Bowsers Fury. 3d World is a different story. I will review each game based on their individual merits because of their staunch differences.
    3D World
    A good game. Not great. Not bad . Good. Graphics? Good. Level design? Good. Controls? Good. Music? I think you can guess. Playing by yourself is a good time but you'll want to play multi-player to get the full experience. I haven't tried the online multi-player so I don't know how much lag there is. A game worthy of your time for sure, but it pales in comparison to the legendary 3d marios such as Mario Galaxy or Mario Odyssey. 7/10
    Bowsers Fury
    This is what the future of mario should look like. The graphics are stunning at times (unless you're playing on handheld), the level design is fresh and intuitive, the controls feel like butter, and its more of an platforming collectathon. It feels like a mix of super Mario 64 and Mario 3d world itself, with a more open world feel. The only complaints I have would be the length(game is too short) and the fact that bowser can be a bit repetive showing up all the time. We NEED a full length version of this. 9/10
    I rated the game collectively as a 9/10 because of the experience Bowsers Fury provides and the fun time 3d world is when you've beaten Bowsers Fury and want more content. A definite must have for the switch that I was not expecting it to be.
    Expand
  66. Feb 28, 2021
    10
    One of the most well polished games I've ever played, Super Mario 3D World + Bowser's Fury is tuned to near perfection. The main game has aged incredibly, and the new movement options and overall increase in running speed makes the gameplay feel better than ever before. The music is supremely catchy and memorable, and the visuals are immaculately refined. The level designs are variedOne of the most well polished games I've ever played, Super Mario 3D World + Bowser's Fury is tuned to near perfection. The main game has aged incredibly, and the new movement options and overall increase in running speed makes the gameplay feel better than ever before. The music is supremely catchy and memorable, and the visuals are immaculately refined. The level designs are varied and feature interesting and fun mechanics which are introduced and reused expertly. The multiplayer, while slightly frustrating at times, can be a joy with the right crowd; but the game works just as well, if not better, as a singleplayer experience. Bowser's Fury is really quite a substantial addition, which stands on it's own as a phenomenal game. It's the first 3D Mario game to take place entirely in a single interconnected main world, and provides an exciting look into what future games in the series might be like. I have no real complaints of any kind with either of the campaigns, both left me utterly delighted. Expand
  67. Feb 28, 2021
    10
    So I never played the original on the Wii U so when this came out I figured I’ll give it a chance. The game is simply amazing. Bowser’s Fury is literally GTA but in the Marino Universe. It’s super challenging while engaging you to use your different powers. This is a must!
  68. Feb 22, 2021
    10
    Juego divertidísimo y recomendable.
  69. Feb 28, 2021
    9
    Jumping in a “3d” world is definitely more difficult than the classic 2d game, but still a very interesting title to play
  70. Feb 26, 2021
    10
    Loved this game so much and the extra content maybe short but is definitely one of the highlights of this game
  71. Feb 19, 2021
    10
    Pues ser el mejor Súper Mario, las mejoras de velocidad frente a U, y la fluidez es espectacular. Cada mundo una mecánica, sin repetir, sin aburrir nunca.
  72. Feb 16, 2021
    9
    The best 3D Mario ever? It could very well have been, had it not been for the very odd decision of including a white Tanooki suit on every level (after looding 5 lives), making it literally impossible to die - except from falls. What a shame that this has not been removed from the Switch version.
  73. Feb 16, 2021
    10
    Sérieusement, le contenu est de qualité de A à Z. En jeux de plateforme Nintendo n'a plus rien à prouver. Le jeu de base est déjà génial et bien rempli (et la fonction online est top), mais a lui tout seul Bowser Fury mérite le détour. Assez incroyable pour un jeu qui a 7ans.
  74. Feb 21, 2021
    8
    First off, if you played 3D world on the WiiU, I'm not sure this game has enough value to justify $60. I didn't have a WiiU, so this is a first time experience for me.

    3D land is, in a word, nice. The levels are short and don't overstay their welcome. Before you can get bored with a gimmick, they move you along to something else to keep the game fresh. The Toad treasure levels also
    First off, if you played 3D world on the WiiU, I'm not sure this game has enough value to justify $60. I didn't have a WiiU, so this is a first time experience for me.

    3D land is, in a word, nice. The levels are short and don't overstay their welcome. Before you can get bored with a gimmick, they move you along to something else to keep the game fresh. The Toad treasure levels also serve to break up the platforming levels and honestly I liked them. Simple, but fun.
    3D world is pretty short, don't expect a huge game. You can probably finish both 3D world and Bowser's Fury in about 10-15 hours if you aren't going for 100%. Maybe 20-25 if you 100% 3D world, Bowser's Fury is very short.

    Similar to 3D world, Bowser's Fury uses the same mechanics in an "open world" setting. It's fun, and the short challenges are well integrated into the world - You can just keep going, as opposed to the level/challenge based structure of 3D world. I enjoyed Bowser's Fury. Nothing surprising, but quality and consistent gameplay are there.

    It should go without saying, it's a Nintendo game and as such is highly polished. You won't run it crashes or game breaking bugs. Bowser's Fury does suffer a bit in the framerate and performance categories - especially later - But not enough to take away, and it's over by then anyways. Solid content, great fun in multiplayer as well. Stock Mario game, which means solid, well-designed, creative levels and a known quantity. Worth it if you missed it the first time around. Skip it if you played it on the WiiU.
    Expand
  75. Mar 2, 2021
    8
    This is probably a bit unfair but because I already played it to death on the WiiU, it lowers the score a bit. Don’t get me wrong it’s a amazing game still and I highly recommended it but because I’ve already experienced the game it’s just not the same for me, I have a rough idea where most of the stamps and green stars are which makes it feel a lot less world like. However bowsers fury isThis is probably a bit unfair but because I already played it to death on the WiiU, it lowers the score a bit. Don’t get me wrong it’s a amazing game still and I highly recommended it but because I’ve already experienced the game it’s just not the same for me, I have a rough idea where most of the stamps and green stars are which makes it feel a lot less world like. However bowsers fury is a great and new experience, admittedly it’s a bit on the short side but I found enjoyment out of it. Expand
  76. Feb 22, 2021
    10
    It‘s Super Mario 3D World! With friends or alone it makes pretty much fun. Bowsers Fury is also good Mode. It‘s very funny, that all enemys have catelements. A must buy.
  77. Feb 15, 2021
    8
    Nintendo flexes its creative muscles (even for a re-release) on this fantastic entry with everyone's favorite mustachioed plumber. Though the base game doesn't match the grandeur of Odyssey, it makes up for it in spades when it comes to level variety and gameplay.

    Though Bowser's Fury clocks in at about a six hours, this should serve as framework for Nintendo's inevitable next entry in
    Nintendo flexes its creative muscles (even for a re-release) on this fantastic entry with everyone's favorite mustachioed plumber. Though the base game doesn't match the grandeur of Odyssey, it makes up for it in spades when it comes to level variety and gameplay.

    Though Bowser's Fury clocks in at about a six hours, this should serve as framework for Nintendo's inevitable next entry in the Mario franchise as it works well within the context of this universe. While the game definitely respects it's players time, it's shorter length and smaller scope may disappoint those who played 2017's Odyssey; especially as a majority of Switch owners never played it. Those who do pick it up, regardless of predisposition, will undoubtedly approve of their investment even after the credits roll.
    Expand
  78. Feb 23, 2021
    9
    This collection is a joy to play through. It blew away my expectations from the start.

    For 3d world: Just a port from the Wii U but a fantastic Mario experience to replay on the switch! Also 3d world is the best 4 player Mario game. For bowsers fury: Mario teams up with bowser jr to collect cat shines to defeat a very angry bowser. There are 100 of these shines to collect. The only
    This collection is a joy to play through. It blew away my expectations from the start.

    For 3d world: Just a port from the Wii U but a fantastic Mario experience to replay on the switch! Also 3d world is the best 4 player Mario game.

    For bowsers fury:
    Mario teams up with bowser jr to collect cat shines to defeat a very angry bowser. There are 100 of these shines to collect. The only reason I’m not giving this game a 10 is because some of the shines are very repetitive and tedious to do (blast the fury blocks, lost kittens etc). This doesn’t weigh the game down that much though because the gameplay is superb. Controls are the same as 3d world but still work well with bowsers fury open world levels. Graphics are awesome especially when switching from day to night.
    This two game collection has magnificent adventures to go on as Mario and is a must have for the Nintendo switch (experience is amplified if you haven’t played 3d world before).
    9.5/10
    Expand
  79. Feb 19, 2021
    8
    The base game is really fun and creative, Bowser's Fury is one of the best platform experiences in last years and it is exciting to see what Nintendo could do going forward. I feel the levels a bit short, they introduce a good and fun mechanic but then doesn't expand on that. The specials worlds definetly are the best part of the game when it becomes quite tricky and you have to try a few times.
  80. Feb 19, 2021
    10
    I didn't play the original release on WiiU because...it was on WiiU...And I was so excited when Nintendo announced they will port also this WiiU game on Switch with a new "Game":Bowser's Fury.I LOVED 3D WORLD,it's funny is colorful it has amazing power ups,enemy,level design,it has a new online mode and it's surprisingly good,the game is playable and enjoyable(surely better than Mario MakeI didn't play the original release on WiiU because...it was on WiiU...And I was so excited when Nintendo announced they will port also this WiiU game on Switch with a new "Game":Bowser's Fury.I LOVED 3D WORLD,it's funny is colorful it has amazing power ups,enemy,level design,it has a new online mode and it's surprisingly good,the game is playable and enjoyable(surely better than Mario Make 2).Then the selling point of this port:Bowser's Fury,I think the first thing Nintendo said it's "It's a short packed adventure"so it was their selling point but they didn't lie about it's length(It can be completed in less than 12 hours).So I was prepared for a short adventure and...it was...but I loved every second of this short game,roaming around with the power ups in an open world,fighting Fury Bowser,collecting cat Shines.And even completing 100% of this game was funnier than completing every level with every character in 3D World.So it's the perfect introduction to a new type of Mario Games.I think Mario 3D World is already a 9/9,5 score game so this port that even adds Bowser's Fury and both with the cost of one I'm sure about my 10 for this game. Expand
  81. Feb 20, 2021
    9
    Genialne super mario 3d world które jest niestety krótki oraz Bowsers Fury z otwartym świate i kotkami jak na rozsrzeżenie jest ogromne i długie
  82. Feb 24, 2021
    9
    Gran Banda sonora. gráficamente es hermoso. Tiene un diseño de niveles magistral basado en el ki sho ten ketsu dando catedra al diseño de niveles lineales.
    El apartado de Bowser fury se agradece aunque no esta del todo bien logrado, se entiende la experimentación por parte de nintendo y la innovación en un Pseudo mundo abierto dentro de un juego principal de Mario.
  83. Feb 26, 2021
    10
    Great open world mario game. Enough content, great gameplay, cool enemies specially bowser and game is not too hard. Only con is that bowser fury is too short. 3d world is also cool mario game with lot of content
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 107
  1. Mar 2, 2021
    98
    Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury is one of the best values on the Switch. It goes above and beyond the usual port jobs to create a whole new experience – one that fits the platform perfectly. You can easily lose hours playing stages to completion or kick back for five minutes and play a single stage in portable mode and have a blast. This is a very versatile adventure and one that all past and present fans of Mario should pick up.
  2. Mar 1, 2021
    85
    Whilst this isn’t a game that represents great value, it’s still excellent fun. Bowser’s Fury is a nice, if a little short, addition to a game which didn’t get the attention it deserved due to the failure of the Wii U.
  3. Feb 26, 2021
    80
    There are only a few titles that can give four players in the same room the same rush that Super Mario 3D World does. The improvements in the Switch version are few, but appreciated. In addition, these change the game so much that even veterans should take a look at it. The extra game Bowser's Fury is the icing on the cake and gives you a playful open world sandbox where proven elements meet new features. The result is simply a complete package of sheer platform entertainment.