Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum 'n' Fun! Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enjoy the cult classic arcade rhythm game from Japan in the comfort of your own home! Play to the beat using your own drum with wide variety of new songs and challenge your friends to prove who has the best taiko skills. Use motion controls to enjoy Taiko like never before! Unlock belovedEnjoy the cult classic arcade rhythm game from Japan in the comfort of your own home! Play to the beat using your own drum with wide variety of new songs and challenge your friends to prove who has the best taiko skills. Use motion controls to enjoy Taiko like never before! Unlock beloved characters to help you on your journey to become a legendary taiko drummer! Utilize the interactive features of the Nintendo Switch to connect, share, and play with family and friends. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum ‘n’ Fun! - Official Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 7, 2018
    90
    It’s not cheap, but then what’s the price of laughter and happiness?
  2. Nov 1, 2018
    90
    Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum ‘n’ Fun is, in all honestly, a near-perfect rhythm game. Every piece of the puzzle that makes up this game is meticulously chosen to create a wonderful experience for newbies and pros alike. Beginners will be instantly engaged by the simple two-button gameplay, while advanced players will be able to test their strength on the insane speed of higher difficulty tracks. No matter which side you fall on, there’s enough content here to keep you engaged for a long time.
  3. Nov 1, 2018
    85
    The best rhythm game on Nintendo Switch, and one with a surprisingly fun party mode.
  4. Nov 1, 2018
    80
    The beat is strong with this one.
  5. Nov 7, 2018
    78
    A fun rhythm game that is funnier when played with the drum, and with friends in its multiplayer mode. If that's not the case, Taiko No Tatsujin: Drum 'n' Fun is a bit less stellar.
  6. Nov 13, 2018
    75
    Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum'n'Fun! it's a fun and 100% Japanese experience, but its lack of game modes does not allow it to aspire to better goals.
  7. Nov 6, 2018
    68
    With added partygames Taiko no Tatsujin on Switch is significantly better than its PS4-sibling. Nonetheless the poor JoyCon controls stick out.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 29, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Picked up on eshop for 10 usd and it quickly became one of mine and my family’s favorite games.Party mode is better than Mario party games and song mode is also really fun. The online takes a minute to find an opponent but its fun even though they will kick your a$$. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2020
    10
    Great rhythm game with some very catchy songs. There are lots of difficulty options but you will need to buy the drums if you plan on playingGreat rhythm game with some very catchy songs. There are lots of difficulty options but you will need to buy the drums if you plan on playing above normal difficulties.

    Much better than the adventure pack versions.
    I wouldn't bother buying any dlc. Most decent songs are included in the main game.
    Expand
  3. May 23, 2020
    9
    I bought Taiko no Tatsujin for my Switch after I moved to Japan and tried the arcade machine and I was not disapointed! There is a niceI bought Taiko no Tatsujin for my Switch after I moved to Japan and tried the arcade machine and I was not disapointed! There is a nice variety of songs on 4 (sometimes 5) difficulties. While the songs with vocals are not the originals, this was likely due to licensing issues if I was to guess, so it can't be helped. I would not recomend playing this game with the motion controls as they are inacurate and aggrivating at times. I would use the touchscreen over the buttons, but if you purchase a drum controller, it is basically like playing a new game, it is so immersive! The online multiplayer mode works great with no lag in any session I have had. I would ABSOLUTELY recomend you pick up this game when it's on sale (which is fairly often). Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2020
    9
    One of, if not the best rhythm game on Nintendo Switch. Very fun and a very wide variety of songs.
  5. Jun 28, 2020
    9
    A really fun rhythm game, if you catch it on sale for 20 or less on the eshop it’s absolutely worth it and it has great dlc classical music,A really fun rhythm game, if you catch it on sale for 20 or less on the eshop it’s absolutely worth it and it has great dlc classical music, with some dragonball and undertale. If only the sushi rolls were bacon burgers this game would have vast american appeal. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2018
    9
    The best music game on switch? Good Taiko mode and fun party mode. But no online mode.
    DLCs can be a lot! Need to have a season pass.
  7. Jun 8, 2021
    6
    Pretty much a throw back to rhythm games such as Guitar Hero and Rock band. The whole game is simply hitting the right button prompt to thePretty much a throw back to rhythm games such as Guitar Hero and Rock band. The whole game is simply hitting the right button prompt to the right icon during the beat of the music. That is it! Since the Joy-Con motion controls are flawed, you might be restricted to using buttons which can turn the game-play stale fast. That is unless you love the music and presentation, which will very much depend on your taste.

    Overall, if the music does float your boat, it's a little bit of fun. But there really isn't that much depth here, especially when older games have done it better.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews