Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 20, 2020
    92
    A narrative masterpiece.
  2. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    After 9 years, To the Moon still brings tears to our eyes.
  3. CD-Action
    Feb 18, 2020
    90
    I may be some nine years late to this party but I’ll reiterate the opinions of countless reviewers before me – To the Moon is a writing excellence and most of all – a truly unique experience. [03/2020, p.64]
  4. Feb 12, 2020
    90
    It could have easily punched below the belt with some of its themes but was able to stave off dreariness in favor of a heartfelt story that has you think about the moments in life that matter. The only question left is if they can find paradise? Oh, wait, that’s the sequel.
  5. Feb 2, 2020
    90
    To The Moon is a game that plays like an interactive novel with an enveloping, touching and moving story. Its plot may be short but it's unforgettable, as is its soundtrack and simple but lovely visual environment. Its arrival on the Nintendo Switch is nothing short of welcome and anyone looking for a personal experience will find an unmissable work in the form of To The Moon.
  6. Jan 17, 2020
    90
    To The Moon is a powerful interactive story. It deals with issues and situations we'll likely all experience in our lifetimes and does so honestly and within a brilliant narrative setup that allows us to watch a lifetime deconstructed, layer by layer, revealing the very human mistakes and unavoidable interruptions of fate that shape how our lives ultimately turn out.
  7. Jan 23, 2020
    86
    To The Moon absolutely lives up to the hype, but it's approachable as well. Despite its reputation, it has a surprisingly simple narrative, filled with amusing and relatable characters. Don't let that fool you, though: it's an incredible game that caused me to rethink different moments of my own life and (more than a few times) almost moved me to tears. The problems with the Switch port, even the glitchy controls, only dull an otherwise overwhelming emotional experience, rather than mar it.
  8. Jan 16, 2020
    85
    To The Moon is a game I can tell someone put a lot of passion and heart into.
  9. Jan 15, 2020
    83
    To the Moon may be light on gameplay, but it is a storytelling powerhouse that explores the themes of love and regret.
  10. Jan 28, 2020
    80
    While the puzzles are uninspired, To the Moon isn’t your typical videogame. It takes the format and visuals of an old-school JRPG and melds them in a unique way, delivering a narrative that is beautiful, impactful, and not easily forgotten.
  11. Jan 22, 2020
    80
    That most of the game takes place in a virtual world constructed from a dying man's fading memories, accessed via high-tech headsets and computer programs, is purely a background element in a fulfilling, affecting experience that will leave most players solemn and silent at its end, but happy, too. Because while To the Moon is definitely a sad game, warm and generous humour runs through it, especially in the interactions between the two doctors.
  12. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    Even today, a game like To the Moon will continue to be divisive in players eyes as it uses the medium only to tell an interactive and linear story, without a gameplay focus or branching narrative. For me, I did look at To the Moon from the developer's perspective and the interactive experience it tried to achieve, judging the game for what it is rather than what it is not, and from this perspective... To the Moon is a fantastic entertainment product, a touching story about love, dreams, and bonds.
  13. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    A moving story with charming charaters and the occasional mechanical flaw. But overall it didn’t lose anything of ist original fascination.
  14. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    To the Moon has its quirks, but is still remembered fondly as one of the standout indie titles from the early 2010s. The core experience still holds up and has visually been recreated well by X.D. Network, and I hope they end up giving other RPG Maker classics like Yume Nikki a similar treatment. The jump to Unity did cause some unfortunate niggles, like the more noticeable loading times and control issues, and some of the slight visual alterations made me uneasy at first, but I still enjoyed playing To the Moon on Nintendo Switch almost as much as I did on PC 8 years ago. If you’re a fan of narrative-focused games, walking simulators, or whatever you want to call them and still haven’t played To the Moon, it’s definitely worth checking out.
  15. 80
    To The Moon is a masterclass in storytelling and creating emotional impact. The beautiful soundtrack imbues Johnny’s memories with tension and melancholy, but there is some tonal dissonance, especially during the first half of the game, that’s hard to reconcile. The gameplay itself does little to justify its existence, but it doesn’t detract in a major way from how potent the narrative is and how overwhelming the conclusion is.
  16. Jan 20, 2020
    70
    To the Moon is well-worth experiencing, so long as the player knows what to expect going in.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 68
  2. Negative: 10 out of 68
  1. Apr 4, 2021
    10
    No sé cuantas veces he llorado con este juego. Es una historia emotiva acompañada de música que te hará caer las lágrimas aunque intentesNo sé cuantas veces he llorado con este juego. Es una historia emotiva acompañada de música que te hará caer las lágrimas aunque intentes contenerte. De los mejores juegos que he jugado y también de los más cortos. Son 5 horas pero menudas 5 horas, hasta terminarlo no vas a poder dejarlo. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Nice pixel-art

    + Beautiful music (though only MIDI) - Terrible, clunky controls. You constantly get stuck on objects, you can't move
    Nice pixel-art

    + Beautiful music (though only MIDI)

    - Terrible, clunky controls. You constantly get stuck on objects, you can't move diagonally, your character doesn't go up stairs normally, you can't exit screens if you're not in exactly the right spot etc. etc. Seeing as walking around and looking at stuff is basically the whole game, this is pretty terrible.

    - Absolutely unacceptable load times for very small and simple 2D environments! I'm talking several seconds just for entering another room in the house!! Are you f**king kidding me??

    - As other people mentioned, this seems to have been poorly translated into English. I first thought the problem was with the German version and switched to English, but that wasn't any better unfortunately. Sadly, I can't speak Japanese or whatever language this game was written in...

    - Cringe-worthy writing in general. All the dialogue and story just comes across like a teenager wrote it, working with a 15-year-old's idea of how people talk and behave, emotional "depth", tragedy, mental illness, sarcasm and humorous banter, just everything. The two protagonists are deeply unlikeable tw*ts. The male character especially was probably the writer's idea of a quickwitted smartass, but just comes across like a total a**hole.

    Seeing as this is a very story-driven game, the last point is basically the nail in the coffin. Save your money, everybody. Collapse
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 10, 2020
    9
    OMG this is amazing! Obviously the usual comments like I cried. Maybe I am a sucker for narrative driven 'games' (visual novels) but the wayOMG this is amazing! Obviously the usual comments like I cried. Maybe I am a sucker for narrative driven 'games' (visual novels) but the way this game deals with time and ageing is clever. We are just memento-carriers and precipitates of our past; equally, our past dreams burden us with their weight. This has such pureness and is surely the least cynical game in the world. In the abundant days of offhand sarcasm and stilted nonchalance, this game is just pouring with passion and sentiment. Love it but the gameplay is a bit crappy. Full Review »