Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 20, 2020
    92
    A narrative masterpiece.
  2. CD-Action
    Feb 18, 2020
    90
    I may be some nine years late to this party but I’ll reiterate the opinions of countless reviewers before me – To the Moon is a writing excellence and most of all – a truly unique experience. [03/2020, p.64]
  3. Feb 12, 2020
    90
    It could have easily punched below the belt with some of its themes but was able to stave off dreariness in favor of a heartfelt story that has you think about the moments in life that matter. The only question left is if they can find paradise? Oh, wait, that’s the sequel.
  4. Feb 2, 2020
    90
    To The Moon is a game that plays like an interactive novel with an enveloping, touching and moving story. Its plot may be short but it's unforgettable, as is its soundtrack and simple but lovely visual environment. Its arrival on the Nintendo Switch is nothing short of welcome and anyone looking for a personal experience will find an unmissable work in the form of To The Moon.
  5. Jan 17, 2020
    90
    To The Moon is a powerful interactive story. It deals with issues and situations we'll likely all experience in our lifetimes and does so honestly and within a brilliant narrative setup that allows us to watch a lifetime deconstructed, layer by layer, revealing the very human mistakes and unavoidable interruptions of fate that shape how our lives ultimately turn out.
  6. Jan 23, 2020
    86
    To The Moon absolutely lives up to the hype, but it's approachable as well. Despite its reputation, it has a surprisingly simple narrative, filled with amusing and relatable characters. Don't let that fool you, though: it's an incredible game that caused me to rethink different moments of my own life and (more than a few times) almost moved me to tears. The problems with the Switch port, even the glitchy controls, only dull an otherwise overwhelming emotional experience, rather than mar it.
  7. Jan 16, 2020
    85
    To The Moon is a game I can tell someone put a lot of passion and heart into.
  8. Jan 15, 2020
    83
    To the Moon may be light on gameplay, but it is a storytelling powerhouse that explores the themes of love and regret.
  9. Jan 28, 2020
    80
    While the puzzles are uninspired, To the Moon isn’t your typical videogame. It takes the format and visuals of an old-school JRPG and melds them in a unique way, delivering a narrative that is beautiful, impactful, and not easily forgotten.
  10. Jan 22, 2020
    80
    That most of the game takes place in a virtual world constructed from a dying man's fading memories, accessed via high-tech headsets and computer programs, is purely a background element in a fulfilling, affecting experience that will leave most players solemn and silent at its end, but happy, too. Because while To the Moon is definitely a sad game, warm and generous humour runs through it, especially in the interactions between the two doctors.
  11. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    Even today, a game like To the Moon will continue to be divisive in players eyes as it uses the medium only to tell an interactive and linear story, without a gameplay focus or branching narrative. For me, I did look at To the Moon from the developer's perspective and the interactive experience it tried to achieve, judging the game for what it is rather than what it is not, and from this perspective... To the Moon is a fantastic entertainment product, a touching story about love, dreams, and bonds.
  12. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    A moving story with charming charaters and the occasional mechanical flaw. But overall it didn’t lose anything of ist original fascination.
  13. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    To the Moon has its quirks, but is still remembered fondly as one of the standout indie titles from the early 2010s. The core experience still holds up and has visually been recreated well by X.D. Network, and I hope they end up giving other RPG Maker classics like Yume Nikki a similar treatment. The jump to Unity did cause some unfortunate niggles, like the more noticeable loading times and control issues, and some of the slight visual alterations made me uneasy at first, but I still enjoyed playing To the Moon on Nintendo Switch almost as much as I did on PC 8 years ago. If you’re a fan of narrative-focused games, walking simulators, or whatever you want to call them and still haven’t played To the Moon, it’s definitely worth checking out.
  14. 80
    To The Moon is a masterclass in storytelling and creating emotional impact. The beautiful soundtrack imbues Johnny’s memories with tension and melancholy, but there is some tonal dissonance, especially during the first half of the game, that’s hard to reconcile. The gameplay itself does little to justify its existence, but it doesn’t detract in a major way from how potent the narrative is and how overwhelming the conclusion is.
  15. Jan 20, 2020
    70
    To the Moon is well-worth experiencing, so long as the player knows what to expect going in.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Jan 17, 2020
    6
    To the Moon has a good story, but the game itself has a few major immersion-breaking and badly designed elements. it's a good story in a badlyTo the Moon has a good story, but the game itself has a few major immersion-breaking and badly designed elements. it's a good story in a badly made game. First off, I don't know if this game was translated into English or was written in it originally, but there are a fair amount of times when there are common phrases said wrong, or dialogue between characters doesn't fully make sense. One example (spoiler-free) was when the old man and his wife were talking about "her" and immediately after the playable characters reference "her" by her name and mention how the couple did, despite it not happening. I also personally wasn't a fan of how they handled a condition of one of the main characters. One of the player characters often references "people with that condition" and it comes off as a bit tone-deaf and against what the game is trying to say.

    Onto the gameplay itself. First off, I noticed often (I didn't notice this on pc, but it was an issue on switch), the player character would randomly move on its own. I thought this was my joycon drifting, but I tried 2 different joycons as well as a pro controller and it happened with all of them, but when I closed to the Nintendo Switch home menu it didn't happen proving that it was an in-game issue. There was also a lot of times where a character would stand still and could not be moved. Usually, this happened after an event, but it took a good second or so before the character could move again. These pauses were a fair bit longer than any other rpg maker game I've played and it messed with the pacing of the game. Also if you loaded a chapter, sometimes a character would slide across the screen to their where they're supposed to be. Another thing is if you walk all the way up to an object you can't change direction, you have to walk away and walk up to it again in the correct direction. i've never seen this happen in an rpg maker game before and made selecting objects a bit weird.

    Another issue with the game design itself is where you colled some sort of orbs? They light up at the bottom of the screen and then they fill up a bar in sections at the bottom. The issue is that the orbs are different colours and have a set order, so if you collect the green one and it's third in the order it will light up, but the first section of the bar underneath the first orb will light up. it can make it confusing as when you look the last orb will be lit up, but the bar won't be full and it just makes it confusing.

    The worst issue of all though is that for me at least, the game crashes after the credits and before the scene at the end. It's happened three times (I restarted my switch and redownloaded the game) and it still happens. I had to look up a youtube video to see the ending of the game.

    Overall I'd give the story a 7.5/10, but the terrible controls (which I believe are a switch only issue as I don't remember this happening on pc) and the fact I am unable to see the end of the game make me give the game a 6/10.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2020
    10
    a heartfelt pixelated tale. this is a great top down pixel story adventure. Kan Gao really did wonders with this one! this game definitelya heartfelt pixelated tale. this is a great top down pixel story adventure. Kan Gao really did wonders with this one! this game definitely gives you "the feels"! Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2020
    1
    + Nice pixel-art

    + Beautiful music (though only MIDI) - Terrible, clunky controls. You constantly get stuck on objects, you can't move
    + Nice pixel-art

    + Beautiful music (though only MIDI)

    - Terrible, clunky controls. You constantly get stuck on objects, you can't move diagonally, your character doesn't go up stairs normally, you can't exit screens if you're not in exactly the right spot etc. etc. Seeing as walking around and looking at stuff is basically the whole game, this is pretty terrible.

    - Absolutely unacceptable load times for very small and simple 2D environments! I'm talking several seconds just for entering another room in the house!! Are you f**king kidding me??

    - As other people mentioned, this seems to have been poorly translated into English. I first thought the problem was with the German version and switched to English, but that wasn't any better unfortunately. Sadly, I can't speak Japanese or whatever language this game was written in...

    - Cringe-worthy writing in general. All the dialogue and story just comes across like a teenager wrote it, working with a 15-year-old's idea of how people talk and behave, emotional "depth", tragedy, mental illness, sarcasm and humorous banter, just everything. The two protagonists are deeply unlikeable tw*ts. The male character especially was probably the writer's idea of a quickwitted smartass, but just comes across like a total a**hole.

    Seeing as this is a very story-driven game, the last point is basically the nail in the coffin. Save your money, everybody.
    Full Review »