Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 10, 2015
    91
    The Wii U has been home to quite a strong collection of sidescrollers: New Super Mario Bros. U, Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze and DuckTales: Remastered to name but a few. Gunman Clive HD Collection proudly joins that lineup, offering a fantastic experience at a fraction of the cost of those titles.
  2. Dec 27, 2015
    90
    It's one of the best 2D platformers currently on the market and a fantastic example of an indie hit.
  3. 90
    Whether you have played the originals on the 3DS or not, Gunman Clive HD Collection is worth experiencing again on your big screen.
  4. 90
    I think this HD Collection is worth the double dip—if for nothing else, then for Chieftain Bob’s ending in the first game.
  5. Sep 2, 2015
    90
    All in all, Gunman Clive HD Collection is an absolute no-brainer. For $4, you are getting HD versions of not one, but two of the most impeccably-crafted action platformers of the last decade.
  6. Sep 16, 2015
    85
    Solid platforming effort from Hörberg Productions, Gunman Clive HD Collection mixes the best of the Mega Man tradition with endearing visuals, a varied cast of heroes and a whimsical western setting. Its only defect is leaving us craving for more.
  7. Sep 9, 2015
    85
    Gunman Clive HD Collection has one of the best cost-benefit ratios on the eShop.
  8. Sep 30, 2015
    80
    Gunman Clive HD Collection is a good experience for 8-bit platform fans, even though it takes few hours to finish it.
  9. Sep 15, 2015
    80
    While they are just HD remakes, they are worth a double dip. Gunman Clive HD Collection is a solid fun little package which gets a solid recommendation from me.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36
  1. Nov 12, 2015
    10
    This game is one of the best deals for the wii u. For under 5 dollars you get 2 amazing indie platforming games. Gunman Clive has greatThis game is one of the best deals for the wii u. For under 5 dollars you get 2 amazing indie platforming games. Gunman Clive has great combat, exiting bosses, and fun level design, albeit having slightly boring visuals. The second game remedies this by adding lots of colors, along with upping the number and excitement of boss fights and levels. Altogether this is one game on the Wii U that you don't want to miss Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2015
    4
    I clearly just didn't "get it" with this game, despite really wanting to like it. Nifty graphic style, but I found the gameplay painful --I clearly just didn't "get it" with this game, despite really wanting to like it. Nifty graphic style, but I found the gameplay painful -- rare to find a game so slow and simple, yet so frustrating. Obviously this is firmly in the "cult classic" genre, where you either love it or wonder how anyone could love it. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2015
    9
    This collection offers you 2 of the best indie platformers from the 3DS, in HD and on the Wii U at only $3.99! It's a complete no-brainer! TheThis collection offers you 2 of the best indie platformers from the 3DS, in HD and on the Wii U at only $3.99! It's a complete no-brainer! The 1st game took me 33 minutes to complete, and I haven't quite finished the 2nd one yet. Pretty much the 2nd one is quite harder than the 1st, although the 1st one gets a bit tough, too. I think I like the 2nd one a little better because it has more color and really cool environments. Anyway, definitely give this collection a try, it's worth it! Full Review »