Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 11, 2015
    70
    Roving Rogue is an ingenious and ingenuous platform game, with milimetric jumps and the time breathing behind us. However, the truly fun and challenge depends on the story, funny, but peculiar. It's chaotic multiplayer is fun for a while, but only for a while.
  2. Aug 10, 2015
    65
    Roving Rogue is okay, but I got bored after awhile. Once you learn how teleportation works, there’s not a lot of challenge, as any enemies introduced as the game progresses are easy to either defeat or avoid entirely. If it ever goes on sale in the eShop I’d say give it a shot, but if you’re looking for a challenge, you'll want to look elsewhere.
  3. Jul 20, 2015
    65
    Roving Rogue has its issues but in the end it is a game we had a lot of time with playing it with friends. If that's your case, it might by a good choice.
  4. Aug 11, 2015
    60
    A simple and short platform game, with good ideas and some problems in the control system.
  5. Jul 24, 2015
    60
    2D platforming fans may still want to check it out, but unlike Shovel Knight, Roving Rogue isn’t so good that it becomes a must-play for everyone.
  6. Jul 3, 2015
    60
    Roving Rogue failed to really capture my interest throughout the entire adventure, but from a raw gameplay perspective I had some fun with the platforming bits. You'll enjoy it even more with friends.
  7. Oct 25, 2015
    50
    Some issues, such as the frame rate and the environmental hazard glitch, could, perhaps, be resolved with a patch. However, the reliance on trial-and-error design and the harsh spikes in difficulty found in the last third of the game are likely to be too trying for most gamers.
  8. Jul 31, 2015
    50
    Roving Rogue departs from a unique and refreshing concept – what in the world happens when videogame heroes end their quests? It doesn’t go much further than this, though, and quickly becomes a repetitive and unappealing generic platformer, which is a pity as there was a great potential to explore with such an original premise.
  9. Jul 12, 2015
    50
    For the first couple of worlds it's a simple, addictive little platformer with tight level design. Unfortunately, the game loses its way by not introducing enough new ideas to keep things fresh, and by relying too heavily on trial-and-error in the back half of the quest.
  10. 50
    With a glut of superior platformers out there, this is a Wii U eShop game worth passing over.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Jul 13, 2015
    8
    The game starts with an interesting plot twist, which is always a cool thing, but far from what I enjoyed most of the game. Just a couple ofThe game starts with an interesting plot twist, which is always a cool thing, but far from what I enjoyed most of the game. Just a couple of actions (teletransport and jump) and lots of challenging platforming action coming straight out from thorough level design, delivered just like in the good old gaming days.

    If you are into roguelikes like Rogue Legacy, old-school platformers like NES Marios, and also dig pixel-art indie games, I strongly recommend Roving Rogue.
    Full Review »