Star Fox Zero Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 82 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 764 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fox, Falco, Peppy and Slippy (accompanied by their original voice actors) return in a new adventure. Gamers use the GamePad to control their Arwing spaceship and see the view from the cockpit, while the TV shows the overall context of the full battlefield. The title includes a new WalkerFox, Falco, Peppy and Slippy (accompanied by their original voice actors) return in a new adventure. Gamers use the GamePad to control their Arwing spaceship and see the view from the cockpit, while the TV shows the overall context of the full battlefield. The title includes a new Walker transformation for the Arwing, a new Gyrowing vehicle and the return of the Landmaster Tank. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Star Fox Zero - E3 2015 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 82
  2. Negative: 3 out of 82
  1. Apr 20, 2016
    96
    A great Wii U game. While the control scheme is unconventional, it's fitting for a game that goes out of its way to surprise you with additional modes, trophy rewards, hidden locations, and a spin-off with gameplay never before attempted within the series. Which, in a way makes sense.
  2. Games Master UK
    May 18, 2016
    82
    A willfully offbeat shooter with real depth. Awkward at first, but incredibly satisfying to master. [May 2016, p.76]
  3. Apr 20, 2016
    80
    The sort of expertly orchestrated action you’d expect from a team-up between Nintendo and Platinum, but the lack of innovation is a little disappointing.
  4. Apr 20, 2016
    70
    While I don't like the new control scheme, it's a small price to pay to hop into the seat of an Arwing. Though I feel like I've seen most of this adventure before, Zero is a good-looking homage with some new locations to find and challenges to overcome. It doesn't supplant Star Fox 64, but it does its legacy justice.
  5. Apr 29, 2016
    70
    There are plenty of nostalgic aspects present in this crisp and beautiful high-definition title, reminiscent of games gone by. At the same time it shakes things up with some drastic changes to the game play that can be too jarring for some to want to put up with, making it a bit of a black sheep to many. For those who take the time to master the play style, however, it is incredibly rewarding and satisfying.
  6. Apr 22, 2016
    60
    The learning curve makes it likely you’ll want to blast through again at least once with your flight skills finally under control. And this is when Star Fox Zero is at its best: a thrilling, fleeting and flawed joyride.
  7. Apr 26, 2016
    20
    Star Fox Zero is just plain rotten. An otherwise run-of-the-mill space shooter that couldn’t be content with its own mediocrity and subsequently mutilated itself in a desperate attempt to stand out.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 210
  1. Apr 22, 2016
    10
    The game is awesome. Don't care about what people are talking about it. If you like star fox 64, you will like this too. If you are a wii uThe game is awesome. Don't care about what people are talking about it. If you like star fox 64, you will like this too. If you are a wii u owner, you need to try this game. Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2016
    10
    Game plays perfectly well. As with anything new, there is a challenge and a curve to the input/targeting. Once they are learned, the gameGame plays perfectly well. As with anything new, there is a challenge and a curve to the input/targeting. Once they are learned, the game becomes a joy. Highly addictive, mentally rewarding, borderline-augmented reality vision from a legendary designer. There are those out there who are more naturally inclined to mastering certain and sometimes very specific input skills. Miyamoto happens to be one of those people.

    The control-mechanic style bears a strong similarity to that of flight and racing sims (maybe that's why Nintendo's sales aren't so good?). It took me about 15 minutes from "power-on" to understanding what was happening. Trust me, though: when it did finally click, it clicked hard. Suddenly I'm soaring and zooming at high speed and great precision in all-range mode, glancing between my top and bottom screens, lining up my next victims. And anytime the gyro starts to get a little wonky? Tap (Y). That's it. You're back on track, cutting and banking through space or atmosphere. Your eyes become quicker to acquire target and environmental data as they sweep between two screens of potentially high cases for over-stimulation. Heck, that has definitely happened to me. So many enemies or targets that you end up losing the mental wave that you were just riding and crashing hard on the surf. So much for chasing that final level-medal; restart.

    Folks. Miyamoto knows what he has. Why do you think he stuck to his guns over the controls, supporting Platinum the whole way through (as far as we know at this point). As an aside, after intentionally not playing on release day, the following morning I realized that I must play this game immediately. Miyamoto's professional stake on the line, the life of the franchise questionable, many negative reviews about the controls. Heh, Stephen Totilo with Kotaku.com literally wrote that this may be a "franchise killer." Way to own it, Stephen.

    As a long time Nintendo (and classic Star Fox) fan, I was understandably very concerned that Miyamoto had just released something highly visible and potentially devastating. I am very glad to say that he did not.

    Everything that can be said about the graphics and the hardware, has been said. I get it, the hardware is sometimes struggling to make two images play out in smooth, colorfully pleasing 60fps. Think about what this is, for the price that it is. If you want to go really deep, look at how this game's revolution parallels the original Star Fox for SNES, and at similar yet contrasting times in the two consoles' very different lives. This minimalist approach to graphic design is by necessity, which gifts us all with this game's revolution.

    Yes though, beyond those revolutionary controls (yes, revolutionary), this is a Star Fox 64 Re-Imagining. But don't let that thought end right there!

    The hardware is being -really pushed- to pump out something that shouldn't be possible on a console this under-powered and

    The controls ARE revolutionary. They show an effective way to draw the player into the game, hence the a'la-AugmentedReality comment above. I don't expect everyone to understand that. There are those in this world who are gifted with naturally expanded minds. Sometimes, certain people can do things that you cannot.

    There are also those people who work to expand their minds as they go through life. These people are hard workers. Now, I have to admit that I no longer "possess the time" to play many RPG's like XCX for Wii U. Am I saying that these types of people are also part of the third and final group, which does nothing to develop themselves or overcome the challenge at hand??
    .
    .
    .
    ...No. How can I? I have no data. But if someone wanted to know my opinion, I would tell them that even though I am naturally lazy, I am enthusiastic about some things. This has led, at various times in my life, to drive me into learning.

    Due to a previous skillset, I am lucky enough to experience a game envisioned by an aging, eccentric, funky, funny, serious and humble man whom I have never met. Thanks to him, I am able to play something I would never have expected from the Wii U's tablet gyro. Now I -might- jump ahead and say that this an even better value and experience choice over current and upcoming Virtual Reality options.

    But I haven't played any VR besides virtual boy, so...

    I will never be one of the "best" gamers. I never have and I never will. But luckily, I do know how to play a few different types of games, sometimes fairly well. I'd like to give thanks to all various flight sims, racing sims, on-rails/off-rails shoot-em-ups such as previous Star Fox's and Space Harrier and oh-what the heck even Virtua Cop!

    Anyway, I'm done. Get this game, challenge yourself to "master" it and have a friggin' blast.

    Bravo, Mr. Miyamoto. You're keeping the bar raised high.
    Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2016
    9
    I know what people's concern with this game is, the controls. I get it and I understand it. The difference here is that if people give it aI know what people's concern with this game is, the controls. I get it and I understand it. The difference here is that if people give it a chance the game is really fun and one of the best entries in the series. I recommend people to give it a shot to sit down and learn the controls, they actually open up a lot more when you try them out. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2017
    8
    Criminally underrated.
    I'm not saying everyone should like/ enjoy it, because opinions and enjoyability are subjective, but this is not a bad
    Criminally underrated.
    I'm not saying everyone should like/ enjoy it, because opinions and enjoyability are subjective, but this is not a bad game - in the slightest.

    So the controls, yeah? Now, I'm not keen on anything motion related. Gaming is what I do in my down-time, so I like to chill out with a pad and, y'know, relax. However... I really enjoyed the controls for this. I'm sure they're a nightmare if you've no coordination, but those of us who are rhythm machines will have a blast. The only criticism I had was regarding the Walker, that there was no strafing, and it turned out the actually was, which made a huge (and enjoyable). It'd be nice if there was a pro controller patch for those who feel they need it, but I feel that would genuinely detract from the experience. Otherwise, if you're avoiding this purely because of the motion-controls, then whatever, it's your loss.

    Graphics? I'm not sure what the fuss is, but they look fine to me. Nothing to **** the bed over, but not so bad that I feel compelled to moan about them. They're crisp, with some solid texturing and the overall style is a something of a nod to Star Fox/ Starwing. Maybe that's just not your jam, though, and that's fine, too.

    It's a pretty short game, fo' sho', but the replayability is substantial. Just like every other Star Fox. Except Adventures. And Assault, but the latter had me coming back for more.

    Story? S'aight. It's no Ni No Kuni or Last of Us, but try to keep in mind you're a fox, in a spaceship, fighting a giant monkey head, so let's not try to take things too seriously.

    Zero is a solid game, and more, and I think the reactions it's received speak more about the modern gamer/ critic rather than th game itself. I'm not saying those opinions are wrong, or dismissing their validity - I'm just saying they're ****e.
    Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2016
    8
    Let me start by saying, it feels so good to play a game that loads quickly. Just a complete breath of fresh air after the 1+ minute load timesLet me start by saying, it feels so good to play a game that loads quickly. Just a complete breath of fresh air after the 1+ minute load times of DarkSouls3, Battlefront, and pretty much any other XBO/PS4 game I've come across (PC peeps dont have this problem :p).

    On to the meat and potatoes. This is a really great re-imagining of the StarFox story while keeping the arcade feel of the previous entries. I'm at a point where I've familiarized myself with motion controls enough to get the hang of this game by mission1, but it isnt crazy to think others wont like the kool-aid and that's fine....just dont decry motion controls while jumping on the VR bandwagon, it's confusing and nonsensical.

    This is a game for folks who like replaying missions to get better scores, finding hidden objects, and hidden pathways to new levels. It's a blast, and instead of writing some over-detailed review I'm going to barrel roll out of here and get back to the game. Peace!
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2017
    6
    The new game from star fox franchise, is an incredible game with the poor control I've ever seen in my life.

    The NO option for change the
    The new game from star fox franchise, is an incredible game with the poor control I've ever seen in my life.

    The NO option for change the control of the game or a NO upgrade with the solution are an EPIC FAIL
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2021
    0
    The Game is really Good, great Story, badass and funny dialouge, awesome graphics, actually it would be even better than the N64 Version butThe Game is really Good, great Story, badass and funny dialouge, awesome graphics, actually it would be even better than the N64 Version but there are two things which dont allow that. 1. It was released on the Wii U a console which sold poorly which affected the gamesales and 2. The controls of the game should have an option where u can play it with an Controller instead of the Wii U Gamepad. So i really hope Nintendo does make a Deluxe Version for the Nintendo Switch. Expand

See all 210 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations Image
    Published: January 19, 2016
    Preview 25 notable videogame franchises returning with new titles in 2016, including Uncharted, Mass Effect, Dark Souls, Legend of Zelda, and more.