• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2009
Just Dance Image
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Requiring only one Wii Remote per player, up to four people can break it down at a time, as they follow on-screen choreographed moves set to classic dance tracks, covering a wide variety of musical genres and bringing everyone to the dance floor. Whether it's a group of 15 year-old girls whoRequiring only one Wii Remote per player, up to four people can break it down at a time, as they follow on-screen choreographed moves set to classic dance tracks, covering a wide variety of musical genres and bringing everyone to the dance floor. Whether it's a group of 15 year-old girls who just want to have fun, a high school reunion dance from the class of '92 needing to pump up the jam, or Generation X who truly believe the groove is in the heart, Just Dance is the ultimate dance game for everyone. The game features more than 30 licensed tracks, ranging from iconic dance hits such as "U Can't Touch This" by MC Hammer to modern day pop with "Hot N Cold (Rock Version)" by Katy Perry. With more songs to be revealed soon, this game will easily be one of the most diverse video game soundtracks ever assembled. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21
  1. Just Dance is a really fun party game. But you should have some sense of rhythm. Playing with up to four players makes the game an awesome party experience.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    72
    The first actual dancing game. The music selection is great, but the movement detection should be a little bit better. It's quite fun with friends, nonetheless. [June 2010]
  3. It's not up to the high standard set by other music games like SingStar and Guitar Hero, but it's good enough to please wannabe dancers.
  4. Poor motion controls and wafer-thin gameplay make Just Dance a mediocre entry into the rhythm game genre.
  5. As a whole, Just Dance doesn't work out too well. The graphics may be very spartan and the sound may be fine, but the controls and the gameplay just don't cut it.
  6. After a decade of jumping on arrows, shaking maracas, and pointing out grooves onscreen, I think I am finally burned out on dance games. I had hopes that Just Dance might help revive my interest in the genre, but sadly it only made things worse. Just Dance just isn’t that great of a game, period.
  7. I'd call it an accomplishment to play through the entire game without creatively strangling a bystander with a cable just for watching you go through the jumps of self-depreciation that Just Dance asks of you.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. LuzM
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I love Just Dance!! At first I thought the sensor was imprecise as well, but when you hold the wimote exactly as it tells you and accurately I love Just Dance!! At first I thought the sensor was imprecise as well, but when you hold the wimote exactly as it tells you and accurately hit the right moves, it detects JUST FINE. Sure I'd like more tracks but I'm sure they had to pay a pretty penny for the popular songs. The figures are hilarious and I don't mind the simple graphics, if I want cool graphics I switch over to my PS3. As a dancer, it was easy to get into the rhythm and I got a real workout! You start sweating within minutes of the game. I can't wait for the next version, or an update with additional tracks. Expand
  2. DelilahK
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Honestly, why didn
  3. MikeC
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Screw professional reviews. My wife and I have played DDR, Dancing with the Stars, We Cheer, that other Wii game with the microphone - all Screw professional reviews. My wife and I have played DDR, Dancing with the Stars, We Cheer, that other Wii game with the microphone - all terrible. This game is great because it is fun. End of story. All you pro reviewers are wrong. Great job Ubisort. Cut a sequel soon! Expand
  4. SendhilG
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    Thank goodness for games like this in a world full of shooters, action and puzzle games, all of which are great but it
  5. TheM
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    I am a hardcore action adventure type player, but get the right mix of family and friends and this game is great fun. Had a blast!!
  6. Sep 25, 2010
    8
    I play a LOT of games, and there is no denying that in technical terms (graphics, responsiveness, variety) this is pretty poor. On the otherI play a LOT of games, and there is no denying that in technical terms (graphics, responsiveness, variety) this is pretty poor. On the other hand, it achieves exactly what the Wii is supposed to achieve: getting people off the sofa and engaging with their friends and families through games. Today I had 3 neighbours and 4 kids all dancing and hooting with laughter for about an hour. Priceless. Expand
  7. Connor
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    I purchased this. I really did. I spent time "playing" it. I feel used. I dont understand how so many people are giving it such high reviews. I purchased this. I really did. I spent time "playing" it. I feel used. I dont understand how so many people are giving it such high reviews. Most of the reviews say that its because its a fun mulitplayer game. Really? When i think of mulitplayer games I think of my mates and I gathered around a T.V, watching as one of us pulls off a game-winning, last-minute, skillful combo in Street Fighter IV, a perfectly timed red shell in Mario Kart , or a lucky-yet-somehow-skilled rebound on Peggle. Not this. You could get the same playabilty from watching a music channel and waving a mobile phone about. Games dont have to be about skill, far from it. But they need to be playable. From a techical viewpoint, this game is complete guff. Just Dance? Just Dont. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

8
#8 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009