User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2704 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. S.Kumar
    May 24, 2010
    10
    I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of incredible beauty. I won't spoil the details, but this probably has the best graphics to date on the Wii and the gameplay brings me back to my childhood when simplicity was fun. In short: Graphics: 10- The best you'll see Sound: 10- Classic I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of incredible beauty. I won't spoil the details, but this probably has the best graphics to date on the Wii and the gameplay brings me back to my childhood when simplicity was fun. In short: Graphics: 10- The best you'll see Sound: 10- Classic Mario Music Gamplay: 10- Amazing Story: 9.75- It may be an original Mario story, but its just Bowser taking Peach Overall: 10 Final Verdict: If you're reading this and you own a Wii, you better buy this game. This is the second best game ever created by Nintendo EAD, just behind The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, and is the best game on the Wii to date. As stated by IGN, its "Masterful". Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    The first Mario Galaxy was really hard to improve, but with this second part you have the feeling that you are in the same magical place, and even that you are in a better adventure. More original, more creative, funnier, longer... 242 stars that will take you months to get in a perfect balance of difficulty. In my opinion, the best game for Wii.
  3. Jul 15, 2015
    10
    A good sequel that improves in almost every aspect from the first game. Of course visually the three years are obvious with better texture and light effects, definitely one of the best looking Wii game. But what really surprises me was all the innovations concerning the gameplay: first ,of course, it's the appearance of Yoshi that already brings some new game mechanics, but when I wasn'tA good sequel that improves in almost every aspect from the first game. Of course visually the three years are obvious with better texture and light effects, definitely one of the best looking Wii game. But what really surprises me was all the innovations concerning the gameplay: first ,of course, it's the appearance of Yoshi that already brings some new game mechanics, but when I wasn't expecting more, they also add more Power ups and mini games and simply new platforming mechanics.

    One of my biggest complaint about the first one was that the game was getting a bit repetitive at the end and they should have cut some levels, with Super Mario Galaxy 2 every level has its own identity, yet the game still last 15 hours more or less, good job Nintendo !

    I'll still complain about the lack of a true worked story, but hey, it's not like all the Mario games have more or less the same one. Overall 9.5 rating, but to mark the improvement from the first one I'll give it a 10, great fun in a lovely and imaginative universe, must play for every platform lover.
    Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    Where do I even begin? This is an incredible game, which is even better than the original Super Mario Galaxy. And Super Mario Galaxy was absolutely amazing. The thing that makes galaxy 2 successful is that it takes all the creativity that made Galaxy a superb game and not only expands on it, but completely reinvents it. The basic goal of each level is the same- grab that power star. ButWhere do I even begin? This is an incredible game, which is even better than the original Super Mario Galaxy. And Super Mario Galaxy was absolutely amazing. The thing that makes galaxy 2 successful is that it takes all the creativity that made Galaxy a superb game and not only expands on it, but completely reinvents it. The basic goal of each level is the same- grab that power star. But Galaxy 2 throws in so many new elements as well as keeping the old ones.
    Each galaxy has a particular theme that is fully stretched to all its potential- such as the shiverburn galaxy, a mix of lava and ice, with bliss platforming so perfectly crafted. Then there's the Cosmic Cove galaxy, so damn pretty it's a shame the wii isn't HD. And then there's the chompworks galaxy, a sort of intergalactic chomp factory. Throughout the 49 galaxies, you'll meet interesting and eccentric characters, and run round planets, puzzles and enemies that are full of beauty and creativity. The storyline doesn't even matter- it's the characters in it that are important in Galaxy 2. They're funny, full of eccentricity and you always want more of them. Each galaxy has a unique concept that often could be made into an entirely new videogame! The gravity-defying mechanic of galaxy is used in a variety of interesting ways, and the camera rarely lets you down.
    The bosses are challenging and it's up to you to figure out how to defeat them.
    What makes galaxy 2 so incredible is a,so that galaxy's very few issues are addressed. There weren't many of them, but there were certainly fun. The first was getting to the levels: It was cumbersome and annoying trying to get round the observatory. Now, all the levels are in the same place, easily accessible.
    Another problem had been comet levels. These special twists appeared in galaxies and replaced all the levels until you completed it. In galaxy 2, it doesn't replace the levels, and the only way to unlock these extra levels is to collect the comet medals- one in each galaxy. They offer a superb challenge to completionists.
    Galaxy 2 also lets you know when you've passed a checkpoint, unlike galaxy, when you didn't know if you'd restart from the start of the level or halfway through. Galaxy 2 also doubles the amount of the stars to collect, thanks to a secret that will reveal 120 bonus stars.
    The graphics are also incredible and spectacular- it's a feast for the eyes- and the music is played by an orchestra, which really conveys both the loneliness and vadtness of space. The music and graphics both are simply beautiful.
    Gakaxy 2 is the sequel we all wanted.
    Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    I'll never know if "Super Mario Galaxy 2" or "Super Mario Galaxy" is better because they're both absolutely amazing. It adds so much stuff from the first one that it definitely feels new and fresh. The graphics and music are better, the gameplay is still amazing, and, even better, it could have been just a cheap cash-in, but it rivals its predecessor in almost every way. If you loved theI'll never know if "Super Mario Galaxy 2" or "Super Mario Galaxy" is better because they're both absolutely amazing. It adds so much stuff from the first one that it definitely feels new and fresh. The graphics and music are better, the gameplay is still amazing, and, even better, it could have been just a cheap cash-in, but it rivals its predecessor in almost every way. If you loved the first one, you'll love this one even more. Expand
  6. CodyD.
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is easily a contender for game of the year and may be the best game this generation. While the game may lack story (its your general Bowser captures Peach, Mario saves her deal), it more than makes up with it in graphics, gameplay, level design, sound, and difficulty. The graphics in SMG2 can only be described with one word: amazing. Not "amazing for a Wii game," just Super Mario Galaxy is easily a contender for game of the year and may be the best game this generation. While the game may lack story (its your general Bowser captures Peach, Mario saves her deal), it more than makes up with it in graphics, gameplay, level design, sound, and difficulty. The graphics in SMG2 can only be described with one word: amazing. Not "amazing for a Wii game," just amazing. Coming from someone who owns a PS3 and a Wii, I can say that this game could easily stand toe to toe with many HD games on the PS3, the graphics are just that good. The backgrounds have an amazing amount of detail and the characters are all animated extremely well. The gameplay in SMG2 is the true deciding factor, however. The game plays even better than SMG1 and the controls feel even tighter and very responsive. Yoshi controls with ease and the new suits are a very fun addition to a winning formula. The level design is not only some of the best work Nintendo has ever produced, but some of the best work ever made. The gravity feels as accurate as ever and the levels keep you on your toes. While some reviewers complained the game was "too hard," I couldn't disagree more. The difficulty in SMG2 feels perfectly balanced and very rewarding. Some areas will have you yelling with frustration, but the rewards at the end are always there. The music in SMG2 is also very well done, with many large orchestral tunes that set the mood extremely well. All in all, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the epitome of the platformer genre and easily an early front runner for 2010 GotY. This is a game that should be played by any self-respecting gamer who enjoys a great game with a decent challenge. Expand
  7. MartinS
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Nintendo once again surpasses my expectations. nice to see an amazing mario game before the next nintendo console comes out.
  8. MattG.
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is a Great game, has beautiful graphics, and a magnificent story line. this game is easily one of Nintendo's top ten.
  9. May 30, 2011
    10
    I have had dreams about this game. It's that good. Every level offers so much creativity and vision; this really was a game made with love. The soundtrack is stunning, the visuals are gorgeous and the controls so so tight. This is one of my favourite games :)
  10. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. It has all the features of Super Mario Galaxy 1 and still is so much better. It does not get repetitive compared to Super Mario Galaxy 1. I completed 1 and 2 100%. Both were awesome but Super Mario Galaxy 2 was a lot better. The levels are all different compared to 1 and power ups either return from 1 or are all new. Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 areOne of my favorite games of all time. It has all the features of Super Mario Galaxy 1 and still is so much better. It does not get repetitive compared to Super Mario Galaxy 1. I completed 1 and 2 100%. Both were awesome but Super Mario Galaxy 2 was a lot better. The levels are all different compared to 1 and power ups either return from 1 or are all new. Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are both awesome but 2 is so much better, Expand
  11. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Even though the first time I played this game was in a store and I was kicked off in the first three minutes, it was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. I'm also a very tough scorer, might I add. The reason this game deserves a ten is because it included hugely imaginative galaxies, like the Flash Back galaxy, where you are in a haunted mansion and it flashes a quick burst ofEven though the first time I played this game was in a store and I was kicked off in the first three minutes, it was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. I'm also a very tough scorer, might I add. The reason this game deserves a ten is because it included hugely imaginative galaxies, like the Flash Back galaxy, where you are in a haunted mansion and it flashes a quick burst of light in time with the music. The music is great. It even has its own orchestra called "The Super Mario Galaxy Orchestra". FACT. For a Wii game, the graphics are really good. This game is nowhere near easy. There's so many stars to collect and the later galaxies are as tough as cremated steak but they reward you very well. Good luck beating this 100% in your first year. I did not get bored once in this game, and that is saying something. Of course, it does have similar bosses to the original and some often reappear but that did not bug me one single bit. Although I did kind of want to give it a lower score because of that, it's just impossible. It's that kind of game that makes you glad that you're a gamer. Expand
  12. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    All my life, I've followed the Mario franchise as a loyal fan. Sure I may not be as big a fan of Mario as I am a Zelda fan, but Mario is still one of my favorite and most beloved video game characters ever. So naturally, I was definately looking forward to getting my hands on this monster of a Mario game. Wow, what a monster it was. Seriously, Mario Galaxy 2 has got to be the best MarioAll my life, I've followed the Mario franchise as a loyal fan. Sure I may not be as big a fan of Mario as I am a Zelda fan, but Mario is still one of my favorite and most beloved video game characters ever. So naturally, I was definately looking forward to getting my hands on this monster of a Mario game. Wow, what a monster it was. Seriously, Mario Galaxy 2 has got to be the best Mario game since Super Mario 64, which is my personal favorite Mario game, and also one of my most favorited games ever. I can't say for sure if Mario Galaxy 2 is better than Mario 64, it's actually a tough call, that's how amazing this game is. The little plummer dressed in red has shown with this game that he's still got it. Honestly, I can hardly find anything wrong with this game, it's nearly perfect. Some say it might actually be better than Ocarina of Time itself. Although I disagree with that, I still think that Mario Galaxy 2 is one of Nintendo's best titles. They really went all out with this game. I mean, Mario Galaxy 1 was a great game, it is still known as one of the Wii's best games. So the fact that Nintendo brought it out again and made it better? That is one heck of an accomplishment. Many elements go into play here, which include having to use gravity, just like you did in the first game. But this time, they added Yoshi. SON OF A......... FREAKIN YOSHI MAN!!!!! EPIC WIN!!!! I mean seriously, everybody loves Yoshi right? Also for you Luigi fans out there, yup, they added Luigi, AS A PLAYABLE CHARACTER! At certain levels, you can select to play as Luigi, which will give you bonuses in other levels. There are more levels, and more stars. Yup, Mario Galaxy 1 had 120 stars. Mario Galaxy 2 has 240 stars!! That might keep you busy for a while. :) Unlike the first game, the game is laid out more like the original Mario Bros games. You got world 1-1, 2-1, 3-1, ya know how it works. One cool thing is how your ship looks like Mario's head. Yet another epic win. :) As far as gameplay goes, it's pretty much flawless. The only issue I saw was how the pointer may sometimes have to be exactly on the star bits you collect to draw them in, making it a bit sensative, but most of the time, you won't even notice it. The other flaw I saw is the camera, which can be a little clunky at times, but hardly interferes with the game's overall greatness. Other than these flaws, the games completely great and alot of fun, and the 240 stars will take up alot of time. Some people may think that Mario's time has come, and that it's time for him to leave the building. I think that''s stupid. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is proof that as old as Mario is, he's still as great as he was 25 years ago. Mario's legacy has lived for a very long time, and I strongly believe that Mario is not even close to being done yet. Trust me, this game is considered one of the highest rated games of all time for a reason. If there is ever going to be a Super Mario Galaxy 3, count me in!! This game deserves no less than a perfect 10/10. I have also chosen Super Mario Galaxy 2 as my choice for 2010 Game of the Year. Mario my friend, you still got it. Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    3D platforming at its best. The controls are precise, the graphics are vivid and they manage to create orignal puzzles. They improved everything from its predecessor, it is easily one of the best games of this generation.
  14. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The story is pretty much the same for a Mario game, but that's fine. The graphics are outstanding, the galaxies are beautiful, the 3D gameplay is really, really awesome, and the characters are interesting, though not important. All the power-ups are really fun, as are the comet levels, though the comet levels are incredibly hard. There are seven worlds, each with about 12? levels. ThisThe story is pretty much the same for a Mario game, but that's fine. The graphics are outstanding, the galaxies are beautiful, the 3D gameplay is really, really awesome, and the characters are interesting, though not important. All the power-ups are really fun, as are the comet levels, though the comet levels are incredibly hard. There are seven worlds, each with about 12? levels. This game is really long, and has a ton of replayability, trying to get every star and every comet medal. This game is just an absolute joy, and possibly the best game in the WORLD! Expand
  15. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Im not a Mario fan, but this is a really good and I didn't find it repetitive at all. It has a good graphics, controls, plot, and alot more! The co-op could be better.
  16. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This game is easily one of the greatest video games ever made. It's just amazing! Let's start with the gameplay. The gameplay is top notch! It's so much fun and addicting that no one will ever want to put it down. It's a huge improvement over the first game (even though the gameplay for the first one was still great). This one includes Yoshi, and this is by far Yoshi's best game withThis game is easily one of the greatest video games ever made. It's just amazing! Let's start with the gameplay. The gameplay is top notch! It's so much fun and addicting that no one will ever want to put it down. It's a huge improvement over the first game (even though the gameplay for the first one was still great). This one includes Yoshi, and this is by far Yoshi's best game with Mario yet. The graphics are great too, especially by Wii standards. Every single detail of this game makes it look more like an X-Box 360. However, this game is nothing like anything on the 360, it's even better! While not my personal favorite game (Super Smash Bros. Brawl still beats it), it's still an incredible game. My description of this game, in the words of Sonic Colors, Good! Great! Awesome! Outstanding! Amazing!!!! Expand
  17. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    I have been playing Nintendo games since I was 8 years old, when I was bought an NES for christmas. Super mario bros came with it, and I was instantly captivated. Me and my friends would obsessively play it for hours together...taking it in turns to see who could get furthest, or who could find a secret that none of us already knew. SO began my love of Nintendo, and Mario. It has been aI have been playing Nintendo games since I was 8 years old, when I was bought an NES for christmas. Super mario bros came with it, and I was instantly captivated. Me and my friends would obsessively play it for hours together...taking it in turns to see who could get furthest, or who could find a secret that none of us already knew. SO began my love of Nintendo, and Mario. It has been a rewarding love afair, with each game in the series capturing the same magic as that Christmas in 1989 (Except for SUper Mario Sunshine...That one was a bit ropey).

    The first Super Mario Galaxy was amazing. I loved playing around with gravity, and some of the levels were expertly crafted; but...It was all a bit easy. I had come to associate Mario with a difficulty curve that catered for those of a tougher constitution. And this is where the sequal comes in. It may seem like simply a second chapter to the first game, but it is so much more. It improves upon what came before in every way. Most importantly it is a very tough cookie in places, with some of the most fiendinsh level design since the Super Mario 64.

    If you consider yourself a gamer, play this game. If you are a Nintendo fan...well you must have already played and played and played it, so you know what I am talking about.
    Expand
  18. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    I never played the 1st Super Mario Galaxy but the 2nd one is absolutely amazing. Smooth graphics, fun gameplay, and amazing design make this the best 3D Mario game yet!
  19. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    A simple extension of the Galaxy concept, Super Mario Galaxy 2 can't possibly have the same impact. But it does have the same spirit, throwing new ideas at you with gleeful and impulsive abandon, leaving you breathless, scrambling happily to keep up. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of incredible beauty. I won't spoil the details, but thisA simple extension of the Galaxy concept, Super Mario Galaxy 2 can't possibly have the same impact. But it does have the same spirit, throwing new ideas at you with gleeful and impulsive abandon, leaving you breathless, scrambling happily to keep up. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of incredible beauty. I won't spoil the details, but this probably has the best graphics to date on the Wii and the gameplay brings me back to my childhood when simplicity was fun. In short: Graphics: 10- The best you'll see Sound: 10- Classic Mario Music Gameplay: 10- Amazing Story: 9.75- It may be an original Mario story, but its just Bowser taking Peach Overall: 10 Final Verdict: If you're reading this and you own a Wii, you better buy this game. This is the second best game ever created by Nintendo EAD, just behind The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, and is the best game on the Wii to date. As stated by IGN, its "Masterful". This isn't a game that redefines the genre: this is one that rolls it up and locks it away. If you loved the first Super Mario Galaxy, you will adore the sequel. Expand
  20. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    This game feels like it should have been DLC. there is just a severe lack of new content here, if you played the first game then there's no reason to buy this game.
  21. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    It sucks to be a sequel to one of the greatest games ever made, but SMG2 almost tops its predecessor. The level design is still some of the best in any video game, much of it is owed to the new powerups and the addition of Yoshi. The graphics push the Wii to its limits both in detail and style, and it's hard to find a game that looks better on any platform. The orchestral themes are back,It sucks to be a sequel to one of the greatest games ever made, but SMG2 almost tops its predecessor. The level design is still some of the best in any video game, much of it is owed to the new powerups and the addition of Yoshi. The graphics push the Wii to its limits both in detail and style, and it's hard to find a game that looks better on any platform. The orchestral themes are back, but many are reused or sound extremely similar to the ones in the original. Also, instead of a cute side story and unique, fully realized hub world like Galaxy 1, you get to explore Mario's head and go through a boring world/level map. So all in all, Galaxy 2 is a must-have game and stands tall as one of the best on Wii but like I said earlier: doesn't quite top Galaxy. Expand
  22. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    A game you will never want to put down,Super Mario Galaxy 2 lives up to the original.Take brilliant gameplay throw in the best graphics on Wii and the best music in a game I have ever heard and you've got this game,the best game of 2010 and the best game on wii(other than super smash bros brawl).you'll be playing this long after the wii u comes out and many generations of consoles as well
  23. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is by far the greatest game I've ever played.

    It's not about amazing stories or graphics but simple gameplay. Of course SMG2 is absolutely beautiful and colorfull but that's not the point.

    Showing new habilities, a scheme control that is totally perfect and some level designs that I have never seen in my entire life.
  24. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect!!! A beautiful, clever, perfectly balanced 3D platformer. I did not play it with the "classic" style hand held controller so I don't know how it felt with the WII Mote.
  25. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Innovavite level design.Tight Controls.Basic but challenging gameplay makes Super Mario Galaxy 2 not only a superb sequel but a proof that games are art
  26. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Better than its predecessor is what everyone says, and boy are they right. Improving gameplay, visuals, power-ups, and getting the MARIO series most important characters, Mario, Luigi & Yoshi back together again to save not just their world, but the whole universe from Bowser Koopa, SUPER MARIO GALAXY 2 easily destroys its predecessor and all other games as the best videogame of all time.
  27. May 25, 2014
    9
    Nintendo hyped themselves by creating a whole new galaxy,the planets are great,the powers are great and it is one of the most re-playable and hard to complete puzzle games i have ever played
  28. Jan 19, 2015
    8
    This was a fun continuation to the super Mario galaxy franchise. But, it was nothing like the first

    Pros
    -fun gameplay
    -nice bosses

    Cons
    -Too hard sometimes
    -to complex

    I will definitely buy super Mario galaxy 3 if it comes out.
  29. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    A delightful play that stays true to the spirit of Mario, this game is admirable in the sense that it focuses not on story or cinematography (although those are good things in their own right), it follows them to be Mario, not Zelda or Assassin's Creed. The game's only focus is being a good platformer and providing the player with a fun experience, even though it seems a little lackingA delightful play that stays true to the spirit of Mario, this game is admirable in the sense that it focuses not on story or cinematography (although those are good things in their own right), it follows them to be Mario, not Zelda or Assassin's Creed. The game's only focus is being a good platformer and providing the player with a fun experience, even though it seems a little lacking compared to the original galaxy. Expand
  30. Jun 24, 2015
    9
    This game is another must have for any Mario fan. Although I like the first one better, this game is still awesome. Nintendo should make a Super Mario Galaxy 3 for the Wii U in the future.
  31. Apr 8, 2015
    10
    So many sequels are awful. This one complements the first without demeaning it. I can't remember when I've ever liked a game so much, because this is the best. It's like Angry Birds Space in 3D and about infinity and a half times more impressive. Even the story line and how the levels are set up are clever.
  32. May 20, 2018
    10
    Ya si mario galaxy era el culmen de los juegos de plataformas 3d, llega su secuela y lo mejora en todo, el mejor plataformas en 3d de todos, compartiendo el trono junto a mario 64,galaxy, y odyssey
  33. Aug 30, 2016
    10
    I almost can't find the words to describe this game. It has spectacular level design, top-notch gameplay, and hours upon hours of fun to be had. Improving on the original in every conceivable way, from the graphics to the addition of Yoshi, this is the best Wii game out there, and my personal favourite Mario game. I would certainly recommend this for Wii owners and or for the VirtualI almost can't find the words to describe this game. It has spectacular level design, top-notch gameplay, and hours upon hours of fun to be had. Improving on the original in every conceivable way, from the graphics to the addition of Yoshi, this is the best Wii game out there, and my personal favourite Mario game. I would certainly recommend this for Wii owners and or for the Virtual Console on the Wii U. Expand
  34. JPK
    Aug 19, 2018
    10
    Just As Good As The First One
    Super Mario Galaxy Has ALL The Qualities That Made It’s 2007 Predecessor So Damn Amazing.
  35. Jun 17, 2017
    10
    This game takes every good about Super Mario Galaxy 1 and makes it better in pretty much every way it could. By far one of, if not the best game ever created.
  36. Nov 13, 2017
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best Mario games made. As soon as you start the game, you are greeted by a sense of exploration. Mario, along with his companion from Galaxy 1, Luma, explore over 45 gorgeous and unique galaxies each with their own set of stars. Luma adds to Mario's move-set, by providing what's almost a double jump, a new way to attack enemies, and being able to transformSuper Mario Galaxy is one of the best Mario games made. As soon as you start the game, you are greeted by a sense of exploration. Mario, along with his companion from Galaxy 1, Luma, explore over 45 gorgeous and unique galaxies each with their own set of stars. Luma adds to Mario's move-set, by providing what's almost a double jump, a new way to attack enemies, and being able to transform through shooting stars. The post-game content adds a brand new world, filled with brand new difficult stages, filled with class throwbacks. After you collect all 120 stars, you can go back and explore each galaxy again, to find hidden green stars. These require you to search everywhere, as some of them are really hidden. After you collect all of them, you unlock one final galaxy, The Grandmaster Galaxy. This is a very difficult stage, which requires all of your skills in order to complete it and collect the final 2 stars, which brings the total of stars in the game to 242. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is a must play for any Mario fan. The large amount of fun and difficult platforming really requires you to use your new moves and brand new power-ups. Although the stars are linear, some galaxies feel quite open world, even though you are heading a specific path. With all that been said, I recommend this game to both casual and competitive players, because this game really is a blast for all. Expand
  37. Jan 6, 2018
    10
    Not as good as the first game, but still super fun and one of the best games on the WII. Graphics and game play are still amazing but it didn't have the challenge and story the first game did.

    Score 10/10
    Masterful
  38. Mar 1, 2021
    10
    You negative people....you don't learn these days, do you? If you wanna hate on another game, go somewhere else.
  39. Apr 3, 2018
    10
    Ещё лучше, чем первая часть. Дизайн уровней - 10, графика - 8, сюжет - 8.
  40. Mar 4, 2018
    10
    This game is so amazing. For 2007 this game feels and controls like it was made today. This is an epic 3d game and has levels that are pretty easy (BUT FUN) and of course there are some levels that are really challenging (STILL FUN). If you have not played this game, you are missing out BIG time. This game is as good as the first and having yoshi is an interesting fun choice
  41. Apr 1, 2018
    10
    Uma sequencia fantastica do seu antecessor, Super Mario Galaxy 2, trouxe o que era bom no Super Mario Galaxy do forma inovadora, cheia de novidades, e suas fases cada uma é diferente da outra! Um dos melhores jogos do Wii!
  42. Apr 28, 2018
    10
    Fantastisches gameplay und mittlerweile ein Klassiker. Die Story ist natürlich nicht speziell das ist aber auch nicht nötig dank den vielen und abwechslungsreichen Level.
  43. May 6, 2018
    10
    I don't have words this is just perfection. Every aspect of it is polished and mindblowing. This game is unhuman how good it is
  44. Nov 4, 2018
    10
    I love this game with a burning passion... it's my childhood! However, it isn't my nostalgia that is forcing me give this game an outstanding score, but rather that Super Mario Galaxy 2 for the Nintendo Wii is an absolute masterpiece.

    I played this game before the original, and going back to the first game, I still had a great time, as it's still an excellent game, but it felt less
    I love this game with a burning passion... it's my childhood! However, it isn't my nostalgia that is forcing me give this game an outstanding score, but rather that Super Mario Galaxy 2 for the Nintendo Wii is an absolute masterpiece.

    I played this game before the original, and going back to the first game, I still had a great time, as it's still an excellent game, but it felt less addictive and generally good as the sequel. Anyone who says this is a watered - down sequel is not doing the game justice. It is superior in almost every way.

    The graphics are some of the best on the Wii, resembling it's predecessors' hugely, but with more variety in it's environments. It looks smooth, detailed and downright whimsical, from Yoshi's bright blue eyes, to the stellar space backgrounds, to a gleaming gold power star, Galaxy 2 looks brilliant. Likewise, the music is as heart - wringing and beautiful as the original. The tunes are even better, and fit with the general atmosphere well. Even old tunes are remixed or improved, with a chilling vocal chord or some extra instruments sound.

    Story? Minimal and never distracts from the action. Follows the same trope as all other Mario games, and the tale is told in a memorable and cute way, with quirky side characters prepared with helpful, funny and well - written dialogue. Captain Toad, Lubba and the adorable penguins were some of my favourites. The dialogue that is there is well - voiced, and it does build up tension in a way the you are bursting in anticipation by the final boss fight.

    But the gameplay is where it's at. I don't think I can do it justice, but I'll have a try - and it's brilliant. Constantly shaking it up with new mechanics that are always super enjoyable, and slowly building on them to test your skill by the end of the level. Power - ups that make Mario have new abilities ( a staple of the Mario series in general). 2D levels, challenges, and even YOSHI! With his own power - ups and enjoyments, he has fully featured levels as the duo try and nab more Power Stars!, Boss Fights with threats and mechanics that make them the some of best in the series, and an endless variety of enemies. Traditional levels, open levels... Damn. You can play through all of this with a great control scheme which makes great use of both the point an motion sensor, and another player can hop along in the form of an orange Luma! The Hub is smaller, sure, but is packed with stuff to do. And so is this game. Seriously. Among Prankster Comets, and the many Green Stars, this game has SO MUCH for you to do.

    And you know what? The best thing to do is just play it - this review is merely the tip of the iceberg. Your kids must play this, they will remember it fondly as they grow up, and besides, it's the perfect game to help your kids develop a taste for the colourful, child - friendly Nintendo, a company that makes games so fun I'd never play any dismal, grey shooter. Prepare to be amazed - you will (if you buy it) experience the best game ever made.
    Expand
  45. Jun 21, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Super Mario Galaxy 2 takes what was great about the original and added some new bells and whistles and innovated more without fixing what wasn't broken. The worlds are more fun to play, the new power-ups are super fun and are built around certain galaxies (especially the Cloud Flower), the music is even better, and to bring people to a road down memory lane, they remade Thwomp's Fortress from Super Mario 64 and renamed it Throwback Galaxy. My only real gripe is that the hub has been downgraded, but the rest of the game is a beautiful creation. Expand
  46. Aug 10, 2018
    9
    A phenomenal sequel to a very solid Mario game. Galaxy 2 added on to what was already a great game. this time, they added in Yoshi and he is always fun.
  47. Aug 4, 2018
    10
    This game well deserves its really high ratings. It's awesome! Better than the first, and way longer! This is around the time Mario games were made more for gamers and including much harder elements and stages. I still haven't beaten The Perfect Run.
  48. Aug 30, 2018
    10
    (this is a review of both games) although i wish you could dive in this game i think the controls and physics feel the best for a platformer game ever, even more than super mario odyssey. the graphics weren't upgraded from the first one but they didn't need to, because they are the best graphics seen on the wii to this day (especially on wii U's HD) but probably the best part about these(this is a review of both games) although i wish you could dive in this game i think the controls and physics feel the best for a platformer game ever, even more than super mario odyssey. the graphics weren't upgraded from the first one but they didn't need to, because they are the best graphics seen on the wii to this day (especially on wii U's HD) but probably the best part about these games is the music. orchestra music back in a 2007 video game?! and it ain't low quality compared to professional orchestra music. i like the second game a bit more because it feels like a big expansion pack, and the power ups are just as fun as ever of course. however i like the hub world a lot more in galaxy 1. but both of the games feel more limited than super mario sunshine and super mario 64 (and of course odyssey) 9.7 for galaxy 1 and 9.8 for galaxy 2. Expand
  49. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    This game was even better than the first one! It fixed all the problems the original had and made it better! For example, some galaxies in the original were just filler, here, every galaxy has at least two stars in it, and they don't feel out of place either!
  50. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Another Wii game that is Nintendo Selects, all the best part from the 1st game is back!
  51. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Whilst it might not have captured the wondrous scale of its predecessor, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is as close as a game can reach to perfection. Pushing the platform genre to its boundaries, it constantly innovates and excels. Adding on one of the best soundtracks in the industry, you NEED to play this!
  52. Jan 30, 2020
    7
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is one of Mario's best console ventures in 3D. The plumber is once again in space, but this time, with numerous differences. Not in gameplay though.

    In terms of how the game plays, well, it's more or less just more Mario Galaxy, just more polished and with more varying level design throughout. The game also introduces Yoshi, which is a fine addition to gameplay,
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is one of Mario's best console ventures in 3D. The plumber is once again in space, but this time, with numerous differences. Not in gameplay though.

    In terms of how the game plays, well, it's more or less just more Mario Galaxy, just more polished and with more varying level design throughout. The game also introduces Yoshi, which is a fine addition to gameplay, though it is worth pointing out the broken nature of Yoshi's infinite flutter jump. Glitches aside, it's fun enough to use the dinosaur.

    The hub world is notably smaller than the Comet Observatory from the last game. While there is much more going on in the tiny frame of the Starship Mario, the Observatory was just a much bigger and funner hub world to explore and run around in to Galaxy 2's.

    Another thing worth noting is the lack of very much continuity between Galaxy 1 and Galaxy 2. While 1 has a deep narrative and real storytelling, 2 drops this entire theme for a more typical/linear Mario game. Seeing what Galaxy 1 did and how well it did it, 2's exclusion of any deeper narrative or themes seems rather unnecessary and served to dampen the experience, as with an actual narrative to the game there's a reward for playing through. Some might say gameplay is the reward, but when said gameplay is basically entirely the same as the original game's, I want a little more to the game than just the gameplay when 1 had both that and a driving narrative.

    And as I said there, the gameplay between both games isn't very different at all. It's more or less just Mario Galaxy 1 but labeled 2.

    Overall, Galaxy 2 manages to be a fun game, but lacks the narrative of the original Galaxy while still just being more of the same gameplay. (Not bad gameplay, just nothing new besides Yoshi)
    Expand
  53. Jan 6, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario Galaxy 2 builds off the core mechanics of the original game to take the series to a new level. Increasing the challenge of levels, better designed levels, and adding Yoshi keeps this game as interesting as the first one. The quality of music is just as fantastic as the first game. Where this game stumbles is having a less engaging story than the first, a weaker hub world, and a boring level selection system. Other than that, this game does the job it needs to and lives of to the quality of the first. Expand
  54. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    This game is simply awesome, magnificent and by far the greatest implementation of Yoshi in a Mario game by far. One if not THE best game on the WII.
  55. Apr 24, 2021
    10
    This is the second greatest Mario game of all time, and it's basically a tie. Everything in this game is (still) perfect. The visuals, the music, YOSHI, it's just amazing.
  56. MattW.
    May 23, 2010
    10
    3D platforming at its perfected finest. If you don't understand what's so special about Super Mario Galaxy 2, then you need to have your brain checked for lack of the concept of "fun".
  57. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    This is one of the greatest games I've ever played. The graphics are so vivid, the game play is great with the controls, also it just brings back Mario in another awesome game! I think it's the best game that I own for the Wii besides the first one.
  58. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Absolutely spectacular! I love how they included some of the original music from the previous game, and even made more better music for the galaxies. I love how the graphics are perfect, rather than the original, and the puzzles are very original.
  59. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    Improves on the original in every way, and ways you wouldn't know possible. The addition of Yoshi, new power-ups and millions of stuff besides that makes this a huge leap forward from Galaxy 1. A must have.
  60. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is an excellent game in all kinds of aspects, the gameplay is all perfect and responsive, the variety is impressive not only on the different gameplay mechanics encountered, but also on the environments and ideas implemented. Graphics are the best on Wii, even more polished than its predecessor`s superb engine and the animation is fluid. Best of all when talking aboutSuper Mario Galaxy 2 is an excellent game in all kinds of aspects, the gameplay is all perfect and responsive, the variety is impressive not only on the different gameplay mechanics encountered, but also on the environments and ideas implemented. Graphics are the best on Wii, even more polished than its predecessor`s superb engine and the animation is fluid. Best of all when talking about presentation is the overall soundtrack of the game with full orchestrated tunes that sound beautiful and suit perfectly on the different levels. Those are the basics of what makes this game great, but going into more detail the real reason for it to be a true masterpiece comes thanks to the overall brilliance implemented by Nintendo with the level designs. This are all incredibly creative, varied and best of all, almost every one has new mechanics and ideas to show, the first hour of this game has more new things than almost all other entire games. A lot of the levels are also very challenging, if there was something wrong with the original Super Mario Galaxy was that it was pretty easy as a whole, but this sequel fixed that, and as a result it is a much more balance and satisfactory game. Galaxy 2 is also much more streamlined for the better, the new hub is just a spaceship shape like Mario`s face, its very little and to access a level all is needed is press a button on the ship and a map with all the unlocked levels will unveil, there, it is as easy as point and clicking the desired level, its all very organize, so there`s no worries about starting the game after a break and dont knowing where to go. This design also makes the game a much more fluid experience since its easy and fast to go to any level, making sure to always be in the action and not traveling long distances from hub to hub to access different levels like in the original, this also makes the game all the more addicting.Galaxy 2 is also more Mario like, theres lots of references to past Mario games coming from tunes enemies and even some of the levels unlike the original which concentrated soley on the space theme most of the time. The implementation of Yoshi also expands on the game since controlling him is much more different and he has different abilities than Mario, the levels design specifically for him are really fun and approach very well those new mechanics that he introduces. Closing down, it is also fair to mention how huge this game really is with a total of 242 stars, those include the classic and basic 120 stars that consist of showing all the levels and ideas, classic Mario, but the other 120 is a very rewarding challenge that Nintendo included, if theres something to know about it is that it is extremely hard. Completing that challenge will unlock the last level with the two remaining stars which are as hard as they can be, but ultimately makes up for the most satisfactory completion of a game on recent memory. That would be an approximate of 30 hours depending on the skill, which is just truly perfect. Consider this game the ultimate Mario experience and the most fun of this generation, a perfect and reliable contender for Game of the Year 2010. Expand
  61. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    To be honest, 10 out of 10 doesn't even come close to doing this game justice. Best Wii game and best platformer ever made, no question. Managed the impossible job of improving upon its predecessor.
  62. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    A content packed game, with a stunning soundtrack, stunning visuals and some of the most fun you will get on Wii. This is by far the best Wii game, few other titles, if any, come close to the imagination, playfullness or perfection that Galaxy 2 achieves.
  63. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    The level desing! Unlike anything we have ever seen before. This game sets a new standard for platformers. There is a very good reason critics give this game a 10. This game makes excellent use of the different ways to control the character(s). Resulting in a very engaging gameplay experience.
  64. Sep 13, 2011
    8
    I really don't know what all the fuss is about. It's a great game, yes, but not nearly the best for the console, as its score would suggest. The graphics and sound are excellent. Sometimes gameplay fails at the controls (Mainly while you walk on planets and round surfaces), but it's generally solid. The story is nonexistent, which is good since Mario should be all arcade.

    What really,
    I really don't know what all the fuss is about. It's a great game, yes, but not nearly the best for the console, as its score would suggest. The graphics and sound are excellent. Sometimes gameplay fails at the controls (Mainly while you walk on planets and round surfaces), but it's generally solid. The story is nonexistent, which is good since Mario should be all arcade.

    What really, REALLY makes this game's score go down is tha awful amount of hand holding. I mean, halfway through the game they're still telling you how to spin with the wiimote, some of the bosses are awfully easy to beat, and you'll find yourself just blasting through the game.

    To sum up, great graphics and sound, generally solid controls, nonexistent story and a terrible lack of difficulty (huge flaw). Good game overall, worth buying.
    Expand
  65. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Mario Galaxy 2 truly is the Jewel in the Wii's Crown. I was surprised to find that I enjoyed this game even more than the first one, I loved that game, even saying it was the best game on the Wii. This one is more streamlined, the levels are possibly more fun and the graphics are even better. The only thing the first one has over this is the story, but Mario games aren't amazing for thatMario Galaxy 2 truly is the Jewel in the Wii's Crown. I was surprised to find that I enjoyed this game even more than the first one, I loved that game, even saying it was the best game on the Wii. This one is more streamlined, the levels are possibly more fun and the graphics are even better. The only thing the first one has over this is the story, but Mario games aren't amazing for that anyway. This seriously is the best game on the Wii. Plus, it has Yoshi, which is always good. And the boss battles with Bowser this time are incredibly epic. Everything just works so smoothly and well, Nintendo obviously put a lot of work into this masterpiece. Best game of the generation easily. Expand
  66. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing. It would be hard to find a better game than this one. One of the hardest things a game developer can do is take a game, and make a sequel directly after the first one, and make it so much better. This game is the best platformer ever, and all other platformers will be compared to it from now on. This game is a must have for any gamer, hardcore or casual.
  67. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    This has to be one of the best games of all time. It is a totally awesome game! The level designs are awesome. The graphics are great for Wii. The power ups are fun to use. They even included Yoshi and I love him. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is even better than the first and you should definitely 100% buy it!
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I've briefly played "Super Mario Galaxy 2" and although it was brief, I still remember the epicness from the game. Not only does the game look clean and good, but the mechanism was simple and familiar. Mario couldn't look better in any other Mario games than this one. The brilliant, pure creativity of the product was also a blast. BUY IT!!!
  69. May 12, 2015
    7
    So many people have argued Super Mario Galaxy 2 as a perfect game or the best game ever. It changes the Galaxy formula a bit, but it definitely doesn't perfect it.

    I gave it away as a gift and both of us felt like it was a slog to start. I loved Galaxy 1 and while it's story and hub were woefully underdeveloped I kind of liked that they were there. Galaxy 2 is mostly more of the same,
    So many people have argued Super Mario Galaxy 2 as a perfect game or the best game ever. It changes the Galaxy formula a bit, but it definitely doesn't perfect it.

    I gave it away as a gift and both of us felt like it was a slog to start. I loved Galaxy 1 and while it's story and hub were woefully underdeveloped I kind of liked that they were there. Galaxy 2 is mostly more of the same, but while people say it removes those elements and streamlines the experience more it doesn't. The hub is still there as an extra step to the level selection only now it's completely uninteresting.

    The story, while more straight forward, does take up quite a long time in the beginning before you get to the first level of gameplay. It's far to text-heavy and segmented for a story that only amounts to "Bowser took Peach". What ever happened to SM64's three sentence introductory letter and jump straight into gameplay? The addition of Yoshi just complicates things more and doesn't fit well with these small, planetoid worlds.

    While these aren't in any way crippling all of these misses make Galaxy 2 a game that seems like it went for streamlining things, but only went half-way there and has less personality than the original game.
    Expand
  70. Moe
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Mario at its best. Great controls, great graphics, great replay value and AMAZING gameplay. I love this game so much. It's very creative and has something new in every level. Anyone who owns a Wii should buy this game.
  71. DaveO
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Absolutely magical, outstanding, mesmerizing, a triumpth. Galaxy 2 ups everything the original was and shows us why it remains the best 3D platformer in existence with level design that needs to be seen to believed.
  72. Aug 16, 2010
    8
    Mario is back again in this new Galaxy game because peach has been kidnapped again, YAAY. I liked super Mario Galaxy 2 a lot, but I found the first one to be a lot better for a few reasons. In this game at times I had to change the camera angle which I never had to do in the first one, also in this game some motion control levels don't work as well as in galaxy 1, there are way too many 2dMario is back again in this new Galaxy game because peach has been kidnapped again, YAAY. I liked super Mario Galaxy 2 a lot, but I found the first one to be a lot better for a few reasons. In this game at times I had to change the camera angle which I never had to do in the first one, also in this game some motion control levels don't work as well as in galaxy 1, there are way too many 2d levels, and on top of all this long jumps are much harder to pull off then in the first. All these problems are here and are annoying but that is not to say the game is not good, the game is a blast to play both alone and with a friend in the upgraded co star multiplayer mode. Galaxy 2's levels are also still very varied and with great design, but they still are noticeably worse than the first Galaxy. If Galaxy 2 came out before Galaxy one I would have given it a better review, but the fact is Nintendo took a step back with this game. I don't dislike this game, I do still love it, but its worse than the first. Expand
  73. RJV
    Sep 25, 2011
    10
    I cannot come close to explaining how good this game is, but i can say that it is one of the few games that actually deserves the constant 10s from user scores. The only other game that comes close to it's level is the original Super Mario Galaxy. If you own a Wii it is a crime not to have this game, if you do not have a Wii you need to get one just so you can play this game. This game isI cannot come close to explaining how good this game is, but i can say that it is one of the few games that actually deserves the constant 10s from user scores. The only other game that comes close to it's level is the original Super Mario Galaxy. If you own a Wii it is a crime not to have this game, if you do not have a Wii you need to get one just so you can play this game. This game is the best there is, ( and probably the best there ever will be) for the Wii, as close to perfect as you can get. Expand
  74. May 16, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii game. No really, it is! If you own a Wii, your first priority should be this game. Sure, it may be a lot like the first one, but look at how many people buy CoD rehashes. I'm glad we still have games like this.
  75. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply a master piece. Building on Super Mario Galaxy, this game ties up loose ends such as Yoshi, harder levels, more creative worlds, and a longer replay value.

    Just like the first game, this game is just bounding with rich and visual colors. This is definitely the best looking Wii game so far. Again accompanied by an orchestra, comes another amazing soundtrack packed with very
    Simply a master piece. Building on Super Mario Galaxy, this game ties up loose ends such as Yoshi, harder levels, more creative worlds, and a longer replay value.

    Just like the first game, this game is just bounding with rich and visual colors. This is definitely the best looking Wii game so far.

    Again accompanied by an orchestra, comes another amazing soundtrack packed with very memorable tunes.

    Of course, gameplay is done ever better with more challenging stages and the inclusion of Yoshi is just too hard to pass up.

    A definite buy for all Wii owners, this game is a master piece for all to play.
    Expand
  76. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Mario Galaxy 2 is one of those sequels that overcome the majesty of the first game. In a single word, is an evolution of a revolution. No doubt we are facing the final platform, the best of the generation and one of the best ever. All this magnificent game makes it a Must Heave the Wii without any question. Recommended for everyone, EVERYONE, especially those who hate Mario or those whoMario Galaxy 2 is one of those sequels that overcome the majesty of the first game. In a single word, is an evolution of a revolution. No doubt we are facing the final platform, the best of the generation and one of the best ever. All this magnificent game makes it a Must Heave the Wii without any question. Recommended for everyone, EVERYONE, especially those who hate Mario or those who doubt that deserves a ten out of ten.______________________________________ Mario Galaxy 2 es una de esas secuelas que superan la majestuosidad de su antesesor. En una sola palabra, es la evolucion de una revolucion. Sin duda estamos ante el mejor plataforma de la generacion y uno de los mejores de todos los tiempos, Toda esta magnificencia de juego lo convierte en un Must Heave de la Wii sin cuestión alguna. Recomendado para todo el mundo, PARA TODOS, en especial para aquellos que dudan que merezca un 10 de 10 Expand
  77. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had an issue with the difficulty level of the original Super Mario Galaxy. It seemed like you could play through the entire game in one sitting (albeit, a very LONG sitting). With Super Mario Galaxy 2, Nintendo have actually improved on the gameplay, adding more powerups, interesting surroundings, new music and 2D inspired levels. The idea that this game was going to be released as SMG 1.5 beggars belief.

    Any and all complaints regarding the original are all solved seamlessly in this (virtually new) game.

    I am stuck trying for the grand-master star (1 of 2) for my final two stars. Luckily, there are TWO people who have recorded this, and posted the video on YouTube, so if you need some pointers, check them out. This may very well be the hardest platformer level ever created. After seeing the movie, you can gauge your progress through the level, because without the benefit of seeing the entire level, you have no idea how close you are to completing it (I am dangerously close).

    The simple fact of the matter is: If you loved Super Mario Galaxy, you will love Super Mario Galaxy 2 MORE!

    10/10 - perfection as only Shigeru Miyamoto can deliver!
    Expand
  78. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Those who say this game is bad deserve to be slapped. It's a great platformer with awesome gameplay and challenges for advanced players. A true epic.
  79. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Definitely a great game but i just cant seem to really get into it since im playing other games like mario kart 7 and the legend of zelda skyward sword.
  80. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I liked this game from the start.The story is really good I mean I like it a lot.I like how they made the different types of the flowers and mushrooms.The one that I think is the best is bee Mario.The graphics are good but sometimes it's not so good as normally.They made the stars look a little fat but I still like it.When you are flying or going to a galaxy the galaxy around you looks soI liked this game from the start.The story is really good I mean I like it a lot.I like how they made the different types of the flowers and mushrooms.The one that I think is the best is bee Mario.The graphics are good but sometimes it's not so good as normally.They made the stars look a little fat but I still like it.When you are flying or going to a galaxy the galaxy around you looks so so so beautiful.The characters are good and with my opinion I would give it a 9/10. Expand
  81. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing game...nothing much,the best Wii game to date,better than the first one,it fixes more things and it's funner as ever,the graphics are really really high,for Wii standards of course,and it just blew my mind when I saw them,the sound is really detailed,good music and so much more,I,for example,love the Super Mario Bros 3 remake,but that was in the first one.The game play?SoSimply amazing game...nothing much,the best Wii game to date,better than the first one,it fixes more things and it's funner as ever,the graphics are really really high,for Wii standards of course,and it just blew my mind when I saw them,the sound is really detailed,good music and so much more,I,for example,love the Super Mario Bros 3 remake,but that was in the first one.The game play?So fun,and so much of a challenge.If you lose too many lives on a level,Rosalina comes out and "helps" you,(I put it in quotes because it more like makes the level for you)by getting you all the way to the star,but it will also make the normal star,a bronze one,so you need to redo the level so you can get a normal star.Pretty hard I guess.
    Graphics 10/10 Best graphics ever on the Wii,really really detailed,it more looks like a normal,old PC couldn't handle it,but this isn't on the PC
    Sound 10/10 Classic Mario music,the sound is really great,also the music matches everything
    Storyline 9.9/10 It's the same story,Peach gets kind-napped by Bowser,good ol' Mario story!
    Gameplay 10/10 The game,is really fun,as I said,it's better than the first...just that awesome...
    Overall 10/10 No other company like Nintendo can make such a perfect game,like IGN,it's a masterpiece and worth the buy
    Expand
  82. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 was a fun game and all, but didn't get to me the way the first did. I didn't like how the Comet Observatory was replaced with Starship Mario, and how Rosalina was replaced with Lubba. I did like the final Green Power Star montage. Overall I give this game an 8/10 stars.
  83. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    OMFG This game man, I mean the first one was amazing, but hot hippity yoshi balls this one takes the mushroom. Better levels, better music, and even better Mario abilities and more creative level design makes this game so freaking good it deserves to be noted as the best mario game ever made, I played all of them ok, and this one has a special place on my fireflower. This should be enoughOMFG This game man, I mean the first one was amazing, but hot hippity yoshi balls this one takes the mushroom. Better levels, better music, and even better Mario abilities and more creative level design makes this game so freaking good it deserves to be noted as the best mario game ever made, I played all of them ok, and this one has a special place on my fireflower. This should be enough to convince you to try it out, and if not rent it. Expand
  84. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario was so great in level architectures, Sound and Gameplay in the Last Years. But The both galaxy Games are not so good as Mario Sunshine or Mario 64. The Levels are very boring, nothing to discover, like in the N64 and Gamecube Games. And the Levels are too short and many of them too difficult. Graphics are good for Wii and the Sound ist good to, but the Gameplay istn´t as good as in the Games before, I prefer New Super Mario bros. Wii. Expand
  85. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Mario is back once again in space for a brand new adventure, or is it? This second installment brings back the great gameplay of the first game but with new stages, storyline and a few new power ups and extras like the addition of Yoshi. The whole adventure is a fantastic fun experience that shows once again why Mario is again king of platforming, but the problem is that the game is not asMario is back once again in space for a brand new adventure, or is it? This second installment brings back the great gameplay of the first game but with new stages, storyline and a few new power ups and extras like the addition of Yoshi. The whole adventure is a fantastic fun experience that shows once again why Mario is again king of platforming, but the problem is that the game is not as exciting as it could be due to the fact that it still remains very similar to the first game, and in some aspects it does things a little worse and too simple, which are the storyline and the ship that takes you to the galaxies. And for those that say this is actually a harder sequel, I honestly felt it was in the same difficulty of the first game and even with certain bosses, easier. Still, if you loved the first Mario Galaxy and want some more, then you should definitely check this game out. Expand
  86. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    Buy a Wii Just for this game, It's Worth With it, trust me, I Reapet Untill you Buy it! BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME ... IBuy a Wii Just for this game, It's Worth With it, trust me, I Reapet Untill you Buy it! BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME BUY THE GAME ... I Hoped you have Buyed it... If not... Expand
  87. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    this game is not what I was expecting. I thought there wold be more yoshi stages. but is was still kind of fun. so that is why I think it should be 7/10
  88. May 31, 2012
    10
    Everything a game should be. Getting all the stars means 30 hours of constantly new, fun experience. From start to end you will never be bored. The difficulty is perfect, challenging but not in a broken way. The hardcore player will be immensely challenged before getting all the starts, but rarely frustrated because it's so fun. Anyone can enjoy this game. Why? Because it's near perfect,Everything a game should be. Getting all the stars means 30 hours of constantly new, fun experience. From start to end you will never be bored. The difficulty is perfect, challenging but not in a broken way. The hardcore player will be immensely challenged before getting all the starts, but rarely frustrated because it's so fun. Anyone can enjoy this game. Why? Because it's near perfect, it's a master piece, the level designs and ideas are incredible. Expand
  89. Feld0
    May 24, 2010
    10
    Simply put, the best Mario game ever made. The original Super Mario Galaxy, Sunshine, and SM64 don't hold a candle to this. Let's not even get into New SMB Wii.
  90. WolfE
    May 24, 2010
    10
    This game, is just perfect. A beautiful piece of work. An excellent sequel to SMG1, and just as confusing! I have really enjoyed the game, and I am about halfway through it.
  91. ConnorK
    May 24, 2010
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is, in my opinion, the best Super Mario game out there, and it's hard to beat my beloved Super Mario 64. With all of the creative levels, great controls, and some of the best platforming I've ever played in a game, this game is everything a Mario fan can dream of and more. Here's hoping that Mario will never return to the Mushroom Kingdom.
  92. TylerK.
    May 23, 2010
    10
    I loved the original one but im still thinking on which one so far is better....Super Mario Galaxy or Super Mario Galaxy 2. They both have the same sort of gameplay but SMG2 has Yoshi and other things. On the other hand, I can firmly say that SMG2 is one of the best games on the Wii and that every owner shall at least get a taste of this game of it prequel. It definitely isnt as good as I loved the original one but im still thinking on which one so far is better....Super Mario Galaxy or Super Mario Galaxy 2. They both have the same sort of gameplay but SMG2 has Yoshi and other things. On the other hand, I can firmly say that SMG2 is one of the best games on the Wii and that every owner shall at least get a taste of this game of it prequel. It definitely isnt as good as Super Smash Bros. Brawl or Twilight Princess (in my opinion), but it's still extremely fun. Expand
  93. NicB
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is an experience that brings me back to my childhood. Rarely does a game come along and glue me to my TV leaving me with no regard for hunger, soreness, or exhaustion. Despite having little to no story, the emotions evoked while playing this game will endure that of the most well written plot. This is what a video game is to me in its purest, most unadulterated form: Super Mario Galaxy 2 is an experience that brings me back to my childhood. Rarely does a game come along and glue me to my TV leaving me with no regard for hunger, soreness, or exhaustion. Despite having little to no story, the emotions evoked while playing this game will endure that of the most well written plot. This is what a video game is to me in its purest, most unadulterated form: unrelenting fun. Good work Nintendo for crafting a follow up to the original Galaxy that has more content than any Mario game before, and arguably recycles its own inventions less than ever before despite its status as direct sequel. You could have taken the easy route and no doubt we would have just as easily purchased it, but you've instead created something truly magnificent. Thank you. Expand
  94. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Yeah, It's more of the same, but who cares.
    They are giving us more of what we love.
    Everything that can be said has already been said.
    the game is as perfect as possible. If you haven't bought this already, what the heck is wring with you.
    BUY THIS GAME!!!
  95. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    i like this game. Mostly because of the moustache to be honest.
    I also like the bits where you jump from one bit to another and that. Those bits are pretty good too.
  96. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    Better than its predecessor in every way, shape and form. This game is a master peace; filled with pure, unadulterated joy. Make no mistake, this is Mario's greatest 3D adventure to date.
  97. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome. That's a generic comment, but it's literally the best way to sum up this game. I would often say to myself: "Wow, that's a brilliant idea," or "This level design is amazing," and eventually I realized that I was saying these things for every single area of every single level in the game. It stays fresh ALL THE TIME and the ideas are brilliant and executed well. ThisThis game is awesome. That's a generic comment, but it's literally the best way to sum up this game. I would often say to myself: "Wow, that's a brilliant idea," or "This level design is amazing," and eventually I realized that I was saying these things for every single area of every single level in the game. It stays fresh ALL THE TIME and the ideas are brilliant and executed well. This is a game that doesn't try to be art, doesn't try to be different, but it doesn't need to be. It's pure fun. Expand
  98. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    After I saw this on E3, the first thing that came on my mind is that how the hell could they top Galaxy, one of the very best games on the Wii system? Consider my question irrelevant as Galaxy 2 is a complete and total superiority over Galaxy. Gameplay is completely improved with more variety, the level design is more creative, the orchestral music is more grandiose and epic and it is aAfter I saw this on E3, the first thing that came on my mind is that how the hell could they top Galaxy, one of the very best games on the Wii system? Consider my question irrelevant as Galaxy 2 is a complete and total superiority over Galaxy. Gameplay is completely improved with more variety, the level design is more creative, the orchestral music is more grandiose and epic and it is a more challenging, difficult game on its own. BUY IT NOW! Expand
  99. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Nintendo has topped themselves again. Redefined what a true 3D platformer should play like. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is simply the best game of 2010. Play it, enjoy it, love it. It is the masterpiece you've heard it to be. A modern classic. 10/10.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    If you loved the first Super Mario Galaxy, you will adore the sequel.
  2. While Super Mario Galaxy 2 could easily have been a cheap cash-in with a few lackluster additional levels, it manages to be something more. It expands on the gameplay of Super Mario Galaxy and adds enough new twists and turns to feel like a full-fledged sequel.
  3. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is largely more of the same, and that helps make it a phenomenal experience. Nintendo didn't reinvent the formula. Instead, it took what fans loved about the prequel and then jazzed everything up with never before seen galaxies, planets and a more streamlined user interface.