User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 165
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jh
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best rpg's i have ever played. I really like RPG's but they tend to drag out and i lose interest in them. But IF kept me hooked with the amazing story and maybe the best combat mechanics i have ever seen and not just in the RPG catagory. I can not recommend this game enough it is simply amazing on ever level. Look the game has a low score (even though i This is one of the best rpg's i have ever played. I really like RPG's but they tend to drag out and i lose interest in them. But IF kept me hooked with the amazing story and maybe the best combat mechanics i have ever seen and not just in the RPG catagory. I can not recommend this game enough it is simply amazing on ever level. Look the game has a low score (even though i don't care for revews) If you are still iffy about getting this give it a rent. The game is worth a try and in my opinion deffinitly worth a buy. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    The reason why everybody don't like this game is because they don't play it fully and immersely the frame rate slowdowns are occasional and wont ruin your experience, and the voice acting is very forgivable considering it is first released and developed in Japan. The gameplay is top notched especially if you're looking for a great action RPG skills and attacks are flashy your party's AIThe reason why everybody don't like this game is because they don't play it fully and immersely the frame rate slowdowns are occasional and wont ruin your experience, and the voice acting is very forgivable considering it is first released and developed in Japan. The gameplay is top notched especially if you're looking for a great action RPG skills and attacks are flashy your party's AI is very intelligent and seriously I don't find any boring part of this game Ive been playing Final Fantasy Series, Kingdom Hearts Series The Breathe of Fire series The Star Ocean series etc.. This game is undoubtedly one of those series that will stick with you.. certainly a must play. Expand
  3. Michelle
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed playing the game, although the graphics kinda sucked...some of the words were difficult to read. That aside, there was an actual storyline ot the game, as opposed to Orcs and Elves, and the characters were people that you could relate to. I also enjoyed the fact that I could go back and redo parts if I so chose, and I did. My son became obsessed with the game, and itI thoroughly enjoyed playing the game, although the graphics kinda sucked...some of the words were difficult to read. That aside, there was an actual storyline ot the game, as opposed to Orcs and Elves, and the characters were people that you could relate to. I also enjoyed the fact that I could go back and redo parts if I so chose, and I did. My son became obsessed with the game, and it was something that the two of us could do together, since it was accessable at most levels of play. I would love to see the promise of a part two fulfilled just to see where the characters end up in the long run. How does Capell rebuilt his kingdom and how do the other leaders accept him? As for the question that my son asked...how DID he get down from the moon? hmmmm I think I want to know too! Expand
  4. TroyP.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic! I do not understand the bad reviews. I will admit that the voice acting is pretty bad at times, but at other times it is good. And the mouths are not in sync with the words, which is annoying. Also, the dialofue is pretty poorly written at times. And it is also true that the plot is generic, but it has kept my attention. Lastly the graphics are not as good as Lost This game is fantastic! I do not understand the bad reviews. I will admit that the voice acting is pretty bad at times, but at other times it is good. And the mouths are not in sync with the words, which is annoying. Also, the dialofue is pretty poorly written at times. And it is also true that the plot is generic, but it has kept my attention. Lastly the graphics are not as good as Lost Odyssey. But the gameplay is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And there is SOOOO much depth to this game. And it is so fun! It is very rewarding to advance the plot and accomplish the many, many sidequest available along the way. But I recommend that you buy the strategy guide! It is a MUST if you do not want to miss LOTS and LOTS of items, situation bonuses, achievements, events, and other secrets. This game is freaking awesome! Expand
  5. SimonW.
    Nov 5, 2008
    8
    I haven't seen many RPGs with such a divided opinion, usually a good or a bad RPG is clear cut. I'm on the side of the fence that believes Infinite Undiscovery is a great addition to the 360's growing library of JRPGs, and another feather in Tri-Ace's cap. I play more RPGs than anything else and have been doing so since the SNES, yet still I've found myself I haven't seen many RPGs with such a divided opinion, usually a good or a bad RPG is clear cut. I'm on the side of the fence that believes Infinite Undiscovery is a great addition to the 360's growing library of JRPGs, and another feather in Tri-Ace's cap. I play more RPGs than anything else and have been doing so since the SNES, yet still I've found myself enjoying this one a whole lot more than many other contemporary RPGs that have had much better reviews. The premise of a maniacal order chaining the moon to the Earth is inspired, the characters (while varying in screen time) are, by and large, great, with Capell and Aya standing out as two of the most likeable RPG leads I've seen in a long time. The graphics are pleasant, the soundtrack is fantastic and the combat system is hugely satisfying, especially on the few occasions you have three groups fighting. Great fun from start to finish, and definitely replayable. If you've liked previous Tri-Ace RPGs, I'd thoroughly recommend you try this game out Expand
  6. jh
    Jun 6, 2009
    8
    I gotta say, I was genuinely surprised by how DECENT (emphasis added) IU was. I was expecting something completely awful, like Star Ocean Till the End of Time. I really liked the characterizations, and while the plot was kinda typical, the former made up for it. The battle system is extremely satisfying as well: seeing multiple parties out on the field is really neat. Graphics are aboveI gotta say, I was genuinely surprised by how DECENT (emphasis added) IU was. I was expecting something completely awful, like Star Ocean Till the End of Time. I really liked the characterizations, and while the plot was kinda typical, the former made up for it. The battle system is extremely satisfying as well: seeing multiple parties out on the field is really neat. Graphics are above average in some areas and merely average in others. Infinite Undiscovery definitely has the Tri-Ace charm. It's not really worth more than $30 though, so I can see why the critics might have been a bit..critical of it. A solid 8 at <=$30, but a 7 if you're paying the full $60 price tag. 7.5 average, rounded to an 8. Expand
  7. Chriss
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    Great game, good graphics good battle system but i think they could have put more effort in the quest..they are really boring,the game is also quite short..it was in the making for quite sometime so i was expecting more,but overall its a good game to buy if your a rpg fan like me.
  8. JohnH
    Jan 5, 2009
    8
    This is a game that is flawed by poor lip syncing as well as shoddy acting, but that is about all I have found wrong with the game. I was playing about 2 hours in and really started getting a feel for the main character. This is a must have for any die hard RPG gamer and I am honored to say it will remain a part of my collection.
  9. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (8.0)Not the best RPG ever, but worth trying it. The story is at the top of the game, the difficulty is at the bottom as the battle system, you can win the game by pushing one button all the way. Besides that, I repeat that the story is great and the game is worth playing. Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    I, too, saw an incredible amount of mixed reviews for this game, and there seemed to be no middle ground between "awful" and "decent" between them. I decided to break from tradition and take the reviews with a grain of salt for this one, and I'm glad I did, because I found this to be a great game, even with its faults. I recommend any fellow Star Ocean fan to at least give this a try.I, too, saw an incredible amount of mixed reviews for this game, and there seemed to be no middle ground between "awful" and "decent" between them. I decided to break from tradition and take the reviews with a grain of salt for this one, and I'm glad I did, because I found this to be a great game, even with its faults. I recommend any fellow Star Ocean fan to at least give this a try.
    I'm going to admit straight-up that the combat system is what contributes most to the fun factor of an RPG for me, and if you enjoy flashy real-time combat with flips, spins, dives and explosions, this is the cream of the crop. The combos and special attacks are great, and the added parry feature adds some strategy and skill to the mix.
    Another big plus for this game (with a hint of minus) is the long list of actually playable characters. I am horrified by current trend of only 5-6 characters in your party in modern RPG's -- this game put a smile on my face when I saw it had some 18 recruitable characters. Granted, you never play as anyone else but Cappell, but the variety is greatly appreciated, and the characters are very unique.
    The game definitely has its faults. It's quite short by RPG standards (20 hours or so), the voice acting is all over the board, the story is only passable, and the first couple hours of the game feel wonky, making it easy to dismiss based on first impressions. Plus, everyone is really mean to the main character until nearly halfway through the game.... Made me feel bad for the guy.
    However! If you are a fan of flashy real-time combat and are willing to persevere through the first couple hours and meet up with the other characters, I think you'll find yourself having a blast despite the game's blemishes.
    Expand
  11. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Underrated rpg with not very original , but still interesting story to follow, great character design and development, good graphics and nice voice acting. It has some minor inconveniences in battle system, but if you like jrpgs, definitely give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    This was a very solid rpg for the Xbox 360 which i found both enjoyable and interesting. The combat system was fun and kept me playing all the way through. Story wise, it was unique with some pretty cool characters but was let down a bit by bad lip syncing. The game could have been longer but at the price this game is at the moment, it is well worth the money for any jrpg fan.
  13. May 10, 2018
    8
    + The story is very good.
    + Great graphics.
    + Great characters and voice acting with well animated cut-scenes.
    + The action RPG style combat is great.
    - The game is a little short.
  14. May 22, 2017
    8
    Do yourself a big favor and unlike a lot of others, play through Infinite Undiscovery to the end and make sure you get to the second half first. This game starts off a bit slow to a wide range of people, because the first disc just doesn't grab you with the plot. Most of the time, you are kept wondering about this guy Capel and why he does nothing but complain. However after you get pastDo yourself a big favor and unlike a lot of others, play through Infinite Undiscovery to the end and make sure you get to the second half first. This game starts off a bit slow to a wide range of people, because the first disc just doesn't grab you with the plot. Most of the time, you are kept wondering about this guy Capel and why he does nothing but complain. However after you get past that rather rushed part of the story, it gets whole hell of a lot better. Disc 2 in particular starts out very strong, you figure out what the main protagonist's motivations are and definitely it's at this point that the game really pulls you in. The second half is like a nine point five in comparison to the first half, and just a very unforgettable journey seeing Sigmund again and understanding why things happened. Overall, this is a very enjoyable journey which deserves a play through. It lasts a good twenty hours and I'd say it is well done. Give it a whirl and whatever you do, don't try to think about the beginning too much. Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60
  1. 71
    This isn't a game marred with horrendous bugs or unplayable combat. And it's not boring. It's just misguided.
  2. 75
    Despite the badly botched opening segments and frustrating menu and navigational issues, it really won me over with its rewarding combat, kooky charm, and goofy humor.
  3. 60
    Then there's the slowdown: yes, in this age of high-powered processors and graphics hardware, Infinite Undiscovery suffers from slowdown. The game itself is gorgeous, with detailed character models to neat-o combat animations, but the action tends to slow to a crawl when too many enemies clutter the screen.