Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    95
    At any rate, if you have any interest in hockey games whatsoever, then you probably already own this, but if you don’t, go out and get a copy – you’ll have an absolute blast.
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    95
    One of the best hockey sims to date. A couple of minor adjustments are always needed, but this is as close as its going to get for you short of lacing up skates and donning pads yourself.
  3. But overall, NHL 14 captures the spirit of that revolutionary 94 game. The gameplay is fast, the moves are sweet and the hits are thundering. It feels fun, like the very best wide-open hockey games, but it doesn’t sacrifice realism either.
  4. 92
    EA Canada has smashed the puck right into the back of the net once again with NHL 14, providing masses of content, unparalleled gameplay and the usual superb presentation you expect from an EA Sports game. It's perhaps not as big a leap forward over NHL 13 as you'd hope, but regardless, NHL 14 is a winner once again.
  5. 92
    I appreciate how the development team really understands the particulars of the real life game as it helps to deliver another great effort. With the advancements made to many aspects of the gameplay and aesthetics this year, both big and small, virtual hockey fans should rejoice as NHL 14 is yet another winner.
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    91
    Delivers the most impressive hockey experience to date. [Nov 2013, p.75]
  7. Oct 23, 2013
    90
    Even though NHL 14 isn't a huge step forward for the franchise it builds upon the steps that its predecessor has taken and delivers a satisfying ice hockey-experience, that is definitely enhanced by the new collision physics, which make NHL 14 a rather more visceral game.
  8. Simplified controls. [Nov 2013, p.97]
  9. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    I can’t say NHL ’14 is a perfect game, but its beauty is well-polished and fans of the sport can lean on EA’s version with a gleam of puppy love.
  10. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    NHL 14 is, by far, the best hockey game on the market. At least on the actual ice.
  11. The latest outing from Electronic Arts is as good as hockey games get. The action keeps getting better and deeper, but the game also manages to avoid becoming impenetrable and inaccessible. Developers have eschewed new feature overload this year and have instead concentrated on a few fun extras.
  12. 90
    With four massive game modes to choose from that could all serve as standalone titles plus a strong core gameplay engine, NHL 14 is about as good as it gets.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 16 out of 35
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    4
    i basically think they did a sub par job with this one. i am a hard core fan o nthe series and i buy every game as it comes out, so iami basically think they did a sub par job with this one. i am a hard core fan o nthe series and i buy every game as it comes out, so iam knowledgeable and also extremely picky. the fighting engine is good and needed, but basically thats all. they concentrated on that only you can tell. they game is slow and block, feels like moving through water. they broke the rebound goal, but kept the same defensive systems that force you to use that. also it feel laggy and "loose" the puck kind of bounces around automatically, and i do not have much control of the players ofr the action. it feels not that exciting to score a goal cause ite feel like the computer did it. anyways i am disappointed, but will continue to play it all day every day lol, and buy every one. better luck next time EA. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    Quite possibly the worst NHL game yet. I mostly play Ultimate Team and the teammate AI is really, really horrible this year. Every time youQuite possibly the worst NHL game yet. I mostly play Ultimate Team and the teammate AI is really, really horrible this year. Every time you get a rush up ice you're going to be alone on the break since the computer feels the need to make line changes whenever someone steps foot into the neutral zone on the rush. Ultimate Team online basically amounts to who can score the most top-corner goals. Every goal is scored in pretty much exactly the same fashion. Person with the puck skates low then suddenly changes direction into the slot between the circles and wrists it past your netminder into a top-corner while your defense stands there and just lets them walk through. Don't even bother trying to get chances from the point. Just walk in on the other team, skate into the high slot and aim for a top-corner, you'll pretty much score every single time.

    I really, really, really wish that 2k would start putting out hockey games again. EA clearly hires people that know nothing about the sport and they don't give them the budget to pull things off correctly anyways. If the NHL franchise were a bit more like FIFA there wouldn't be half of the problems. I seriously doubt I'm going to buy another NHL game from EA after this one.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    0
    I have played every single EA NHL game religiously (except for the lockout year) since 1998, and have dabbled in it since 1994.

    This is the
    I have played every single EA NHL game religiously (except for the lockout year) since 1998, and have dabbled in it since 1994.

    This is the absolute worst EA Sports game I have ever played. Period. If this is the first NHL game you have ever played or you are just a new or casual fan of hockey you will probably love it. If you actually enjoy hockey this game will haunt your dreams. No longer is the game built on realism, playmaking, or skills.

    It is simply based on NFL Blitz style hits, horrible goaltending, the ability to score ONLY if you deke, Superman like immunity if you deke, and dozens of pointless fights, blown offsides calls, and the net getting knocked off.

    As a serious fan of hockey, this is the most infuriating thing ever! I will never purchase another EA title every again!

    They already added in Retro NHL 94. There is no need to have to arcade games with one release. The haydays of NHL 11 are far gone.
    Full Review »