User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimmyA.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    I am absolutely puzzled why this game got such low scores from critics. Yes there were graphical some hiccups and the game could have used some more polish but this is by no means a bad game. It has an interesting story, some memorable characters, enjoyable combat and a clever twist on both the dialogue and experience system that most rpgs use. If you enjoyed games like mass effect or I am absolutely puzzled why this game got such low scores from critics. Yes there were graphical some hiccups and the game could have used some more polish but this is by no means a bad game. It has an interesting story, some memorable characters, enjoyable combat and a clever twist on both the dialogue and experience system that most rpgs use. If you enjoyed games like mass effect or jade empire I highly recommend that you give this one a try. Expand
  2. AriS
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    This game comes highly recommended from a fan of Greek mythology, video games, and action RPGs. Yes, there are bugs, two of which caused me to reset my XBox, but it didn't detract from the overall enjoyment of this game. Yes, there was a lot of dialog, but it was cleverly used for plot exposition and to further detail the characters; it wasn't used in lieu of gameplay; and it This game comes highly recommended from a fan of Greek mythology, video games, and action RPGs. Yes, there are bugs, two of which caused me to reset my XBox, but it didn't detract from the overall enjoyment of this game. Yes, there was a lot of dialog, but it was cleverly used for plot exposition and to further detail the characters; it wasn't used in lieu of gameplay; and it was done well. Very good and clever writing. Not since Jade Empire have I had that much fun with NPC dialog, and not since Mass Effect has a dialog system been that intuitive and easy to use. The idea of performing deeds and dedicating them to your gods for power-ups was done surprisingly well, and had me trying new way to gain more. The powers themselves were creative and useful. It saddens me that this game was so underappreciated: either the reviewers were expecting another combat-heavy gorefest like God of War, or they couldn't really get immersed into the game. I think that the designers' refusal to talk down to their audience may have had something to do with it. At any rate, this game will most definitely appeal to older games (30+ year olds, like me) than it would to a younger crowd, but then again, not all games can or should be MMOs. I was (and still am, in the form of DLC) hoping for more to this game: it seemed a bit too short for me. If there's ever a sequel, which I would buy, I hope they fix the bugs and extend the content. Expand
  3. MikailY.
    Dec 16, 2008
    9
    If you are in the mood for an RPG that changes the rules of Action RPG's then this is your game. I've played the game for about 10 hours now, and I must say it has thrilled me and lured me in as much as Mass Effect did from last year. This RPG comes highly recommended if you like great dialog, character relationships, story, simple yet elegant fighting systems, and logical game If you are in the mood for an RPG that changes the rules of Action RPG's then this is your game. I've played the game for about 10 hours now, and I must say it has thrilled me and lured me in as much as Mass Effect did from last year. This RPG comes highly recommended if you like great dialog, character relationships, story, simple yet elegant fighting systems, and logical game direction! You will see some reviews giving this game a low score based on the fact that they think conservations are boring and that they think the pacing is too slow. You'll also see reviewers note that this game has too many technical flaws. Both those claims are rubbish, there are frame rate issues, but what game doesn't have them, reviewers are spoiled and it shows when they dog on a terrifically neat title with no hype, such as this one. Please give this one a try, I promise it is a hidden gem amongst the holiday crowd of guns and blood. Expand
  4. As3adMechalany
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    The Reviews really ruins the expectations for the game it is a really well made game , both a great story line and great action battles. Even though at the beginning the game gets little complicated for us to fully master it, like god powers and how to use the weapons , but when u do, u will find your self indulged in a raw action game
  5. MelG
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    Rise is a truly epic quest with an all star cast (Most of all Metal Gear Solid series voice actors lend voices to these characters) though it may have slight drawbacks with framerate issues, Rise is a stunning epic story of love and betrayal. truly an awesome experience!
  6. MikeP
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    I don't know what game the pro reviewers reviewed because Rise of the argonouts is an unbelievable game.It has a great story,great visuals ,smooth fighting system and is told in a super cool way.Your choices matter and it is more than simply running around killing people and powering up.I am nowhere near done the game but i cannot stop playing.This game is just as good as Fable 2 in I don't know what game the pro reviewers reviewed because Rise of the argonouts is an unbelievable game.It has a great story,great visuals ,smooth fighting system and is told in a super cool way.Your choices matter and it is more than simply running around killing people and powering up.I am nowhere near done the game but i cannot stop playing.This game is just as good as Fable 2 in my mind .The last 5 games i have played are Fable2,Gears of war 2, spiderman[web of shadows],dead space and rise of argonouts.Out of those 5 argos is in the same category as fable 2 and gears 2 and miles above dead space[which got an 89.REALLY?] and spidy in my books.I totally recommend this game if you like a great story,great visuals and Greek mythology. Expand
  7. DavidH
    Dec 28, 2008
    9
    I read a bunch of the reviews and having played this game through to completion I have to say I am really confused, because the game I played is either not the same or the reviewers were busy smoking crack... This game is a solid and fun title that I was pulled into all the way. I loved the story it was well written and moving in quite a few places. As a side note this is still an rpg if I read a bunch of the reviews and having played this game through to completion I have to say I am really confused, because the game I played is either not the same or the reviewers were busy smoking crack... This game is a solid and fun title that I was pulled into all the way. I loved the story it was well written and moving in quite a few places. As a side note this is still an rpg if you don't like conversation you shouldn't be playing his game. I liked the character models, the reviewers didn't seem to catch, that the models of almost every character are realistic - even the women's faces looked human (unlike Gears of War 2...were they taking steroids two?). I loved the music and sound, and the voice acting was first rate. Overall I don't know if the reviewers took their time with this game: There is a lot of customization in the game and contrary to what many reviewers stated upgrading strictly through Ares is not the right course of action...I juggled through all the god's and in the end had Jason AND his Argonauts doing more damage with more health etc.. the Ares powers are in fact the most limiting and boring so maybe that was their problem. This game is as the person stated above me a gem among the games released this year and something that everyone who loves a well written story. Expand
  8. RexL.
    Jan 10, 2009
    8
    If you're a smart gamer you won't listen exclusively to critics these days. If you want a game that is bloody, action-packed and has graphics to put God of War or Gears of War to shame then this game is not for you. But if you are looking for a game with a good story, unique gameplay and different than all the rest this is the game for you. Personally, I love Greek mythology so If you're a smart gamer you won't listen exclusively to critics these days. If you want a game that is bloody, action-packed and has graphics to put God of War or Gears of War to shame then this game is not for you. But if you are looking for a game with a good story, unique gameplay and different than all the rest this is the game for you. Personally, I love Greek mythology so it was easy for me to get sucked in. The system of character development through accomplishing deeds and gaining favor from the gods is unique and refreshing. Plain and simple this is an RPG with all the dialogue more action and less micromanagement. But still it is very enjoyable. Dialogue can be a bit excessive and some graphical glitches do occur but not enough to give it the low scores the critics did. Side note: The game was made using the Unreal 3 Engine and it is my experience that all games made with this even Gears of War have a texture lag so this is weak complaint. Expand
  9. chipw.
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    It has always been my premise that the japanese ruined computer games when nintendo came out with mario. All notion that a computer game could challenge your intellect was thrown out the window in favor of fast reflexes. The best part about playing a computer game before mario was that you felt like you were going against a true artificial intelligence, however primitive, aka atari, It has always been my premise that the japanese ruined computer games when nintendo came out with mario. All notion that a computer game could challenge your intellect was thrown out the window in favor of fast reflexes. The best part about playing a computer game before mario was that you felt like you were going against a true artificial intelligence, however primitive, aka atari, commodore, etc. It seems as if all the critics that metacritic has assembled all follow each other's lead, like lemmings. The critiques are mainly shallow, usually focusing on design, seemingly written by an amateurish cadre of junior engineer wannabes. Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2016
    10
    This game is an absolute gem! There is endless fun and great story here. The voice acting is wonderful and there is even some comedy added. I have played through 4 times and still want to play it again on legend for the last achievement. I don't think there is anything that could make this game any better and that is something you can't say about many games new or old. I picked thisThis game is an absolute gem! There is endless fun and great story here. The voice acting is wonderful and there is even some comedy added. I have played through 4 times and still want to play it again on legend for the last achievement. I don't think there is anything that could make this game any better and that is something you can't say about many games new or old. I picked this game up in the used bin and wish I had discovered it years ago. I would have loved to have payed full price to support these developers who did an awesome job. Buy this game and play it and enjoy! Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. Rise of the Argonauts is not a terrible game, and in some respects is quite enjoyable, especially in regards to its story. However, the low production values in the gameplay and graphics department, does mean that you’ll possibly find enjoyment is severely hindered and your patience somewhat tested.
  2. 60
    Rise of the Argonauts had mythic origins-it's based on Jason's legendary quest for the fabled Golden Fleece-but the only thing epic about it is the amount of failure it produces. Solid action and a cool skill system isn't enough to save a game marred by a poor presentation and dull design.
  3. Sadly, those at the helm allowed it to be completely ruined by poor design and utterly inconceivable schoolboy errors that should not still be occurring in the year 2008.