User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 419 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 419
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    A much better game than the reviews suggest. Loads of secrets and replay value, fantastic graphics and music. If you love sonic you'll love this. Hell, you may even learn to like the Werehog.
  2. May 16, 2012
    10
    This game is nearly perfect. It's only flaw is the medal hunting. You have to roam around the hub worlds and levels searching for more sun and moon medals to advance to the next level. The problem is that they're unnecessarily hard to find. Another (minor) flaw is that the difficulty of this game spikes dramatically about halfway thorough. At that point, it takes some real skill to be goodThis game is nearly perfect. It's only flaw is the medal hunting. You have to roam around the hub worlds and levels searching for more sun and moon medals to advance to the next level. The problem is that they're unnecessarily hard to find. Another (minor) flaw is that the difficulty of this game spikes dramatically about halfway thorough. At that point, it takes some real skill to be good at the game. Otherwise, everything else is perfectly executed. Good graphics, story, day and night gameplay, hub worlds, voice acting, cutscenes. character choice, level design, etc. Expand
  3. rbee
    Aug 9, 2009
    8
    First my take, then my 10 year old son's take. We bought an Xbox 360 very, very recently and loaded up on a few essential dad-kid games before leaving the store, unconcerned about reviews or seeing gameplay in action. For me, a few red flags were raised during the opening sequence and later in the game was a bit bored by the nighttime werehog elements but so far have not been First my take, then my 10 year old son's take. We bought an Xbox 360 very, very recently and loaded up on a few essential dad-kid games before leaving the store, unconcerned about reviews or seeing gameplay in action. For me, a few red flags were raised during the opening sequence and later in the game was a bit bored by the nighttime werehog elements but so far have not been troubled by them beyond fact they are different. It is certainly true that I would have passed on the game had I see those elements in action at the gamestore or online, and especially if they were not plastered with the Sonic brand. My son, on the other hand, is still thrilled. In fact, he preferred the slower and what he called "Kingdom Hearty" gameplay as werehog Sonic, and felt more like he was progressing in a game with a character he could build. Speeding through levels hje gets flustered and disinterested, gains and loses coins at random, and has no reason to feel nostalgic. His first exposure to Sonic in game form, beyond images of older Sega titles in magazines, was actually Super Smash Bros (Wii). (His first exposure to Mario was Galaxy, as well.) I feel that this Sonic game is a fantastic balance. The developers have gotten their slaps on the wrist in sales and are making up for things bit by bit to classic gamers by releasing DLC, but I don't think they've put a foot wrong here. Another thing to consider about my review: we live in Japan, and the Japanese release of the game is in both Japanese and English. Perhaps so are other versions. This makes the game particularly exotic to one or both of us, as having the ability to log in under two gamertags with save games in two languages and spice up the experience. It's rather like watching a classic Disney film get remade in a foreign language -- interesting and bizarre and much easier to accept. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Simply a fun game! This game goes back to alot of what makes Sonic who he is when you play through the Sonic day levels. They actually made a new Hedgehog Engine for this game to get the day levels down. The werehog levels are where some people might be thrown off alil. Yes, it can be a pain to keep having to switch between night and day, but playing as a werehog felt awesome especiallySimply a fun game! This game goes back to alot of what makes Sonic who he is when you play through the Sonic day levels. They actually made a new Hedgehog Engine for this game to get the day levels down. The werehog levels are where some people might be thrown off alil. Yes, it can be a pain to keep having to switch between night and day, but playing as a werehog felt awesome especially since it made this sonic game also into a kid friendly God of War game! :) This is a great Sonic game is definately worth picking up for any sonic fan! Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    This game is not really bad. The gamplay can be great in daytime levels and touchy in nightime levels, but the graphics and music is awesome. The length of the game is about 10+ hours, and are both for fun and pain. Sega is stupid about delisting this game, because they need to re-realase this game, but making the werehog levels like in Sonic & the Secret Rings, and do the framerate at aThis game is not really bad. The gamplay can be great in daytime levels and touchy in nightime levels, but the graphics and music is awesome. The length of the game is about 10+ hours, and are both for fun and pain. Sega is stupid about delisting this game, because they need to re-realase this game, but making the werehog levels like in Sonic & the Secret Rings, and do the framerate at a good speed, and also making the daytime levels longer and the nightime levels shorter. I'm giving this game an 8 for all these reasons. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Unleashed is a very good attempt to bring Sonic back and it succeeds to me find out why. The story is quite simple but kind of funny with chip/ light gaia what happens is Dr.Eggman has lured Sonic into a trap to suck the energy of the chaos emeralds and shoot at the earth to wake up Dark Gaia so he can rule the world and call Eggmanland after that the rest of the story is simple just restoring chaos emeralds finding out what happens and learning more about Chip.
    The graphics in this game are fantastic it looks like it is Disney the only problem which is one of the reasons why I lowered it to 9 is the frame-rate issues later on like abadat. The game-play is almost perfect in the day time the only problem is the unresponsive at times jump button and the werehog is good despite what people say the only problem i find is his balancing and the spike part in empire city but I can ease that now.
    Time for one of the best parts music nearly every single track is memorable the main ones are endless possibilities by Jaret Raddick , Rooftop Run and cool edge.
    The bosses are easy except for the quicktime event in perfect dark gaia mash the x button 60 times is too much i say but it does get easier.
    I liked the aeroplane sections not that bad it was fun to shoot at ships and watch the beautiful view The bad is frame-rate sometimes drop, quicktime events over done, the shooting part kind of , unresponsive at times
    Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    I don't know why it gets so many hate, this game is not bad at all, there is a lot of secrets, great soundtrack, graphics and replayability. Previous games like Generations and Colors are really fun, but their story is unappealing. Unleashed beats both of them into the ground in that category. The Werehog is a new concept of the game that you may or may not like, The Hedgehog has beenI don't know why it gets so many hate, this game is not bad at all, there is a lot of secrets, great soundtrack, graphics and replayability. Previous games like Generations and Colors are really fun, but their story is unappealing. Unleashed beats both of them into the ground in that category. The Werehog is a new concept of the game that you may or may not like, The Hedgehog has been improved and it has never gone so fast, maybe the segments in the city where you have to talk to everybody it's obnoxious, but I really enjoyed the rest. This game deserves a better score from the critics. Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2016
    8
    This version of the game has got to be the best. Not because of extra content or anything, but because it runs the best. All the others work, but for the smoothest and best way to play, this is it. The game itself isn't the best Sonic game, but it's still enjoyable. While not as good as the daytime stages, the Were-hog stages can be fun, they just drag out a bit longer than they need to.This version of the game has got to be the best. Not because of extra content or anything, but because it runs the best. All the others work, but for the smoothest and best way to play, this is it. The game itself isn't the best Sonic game, but it's still enjoyable. While not as good as the daytime stages, the Were-hog stages can be fun, they just drag out a bit longer than they need to. The only reason the Wii and PS2 versions would be any better is that they are more straight forward. Otherwise, the Xbox 360 version is the best version. PS3 version would be better if it stayed locked at 60fps. Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    This is amazingly fun! Well, this version is, anyway! I love both levels, even when it can get a bit frustrating, this game has combined extreme speed, with seamless 3D - 2D transitions and combat, with mostly smooth gameplay, well done SEGA!
  10. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    Half and half, altough the day half weighs way more than the night half, which honestly wouldn't be that bad if it werent for the retarded camera sometimes. Day stages are awesome. great colors, graphics, speed, platfoming, sounds; also very good for speedruns. Night stages could be better, and that theme for enemies really gets annoying after the third time.
    Even so, the game isn't bad,
    Half and half, altough the day half weighs way more than the night half, which honestly wouldn't be that bad if it werent for the retarded camera sometimes. Day stages are awesome. great colors, graphics, speed, platfoming, sounds; also very good for speedruns. Night stages could be better, and that theme for enemies really gets annoying after the third time.
    Even so, the game isn't bad, and it was a step in the right direction that eventually lead to successes like Colors and Generations.
    Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    When I am downloading a new game on my PC, I like to play this game. It's really fun and they did and excellent job on the fighting. Some people may not like the new fighting, but I don't really mind.
  12. Feb 14, 2015
    10
    This game is amazing! And JUST like Sonic Heroes, this game doesn't deserve all the hate it got! Hear me out, don't listen to the bad reviews. The werehog really isn't bad. It's an interesting form of gameplay, there are many various combos and moves, and its just fun! Sure, it's a bit repetitive at times, but rarely. The graphics are BEAUTIFUL! The daytime levels are even BETTER than theThis game is amazing! And JUST like Sonic Heroes, this game doesn't deserve all the hate it got! Hear me out, don't listen to the bad reviews. The werehog really isn't bad. It's an interesting form of gameplay, there are many various combos and moves, and its just fun! Sure, it's a bit repetitive at times, but rarely. The graphics are BEAUTIFUL! The daytime levels are even BETTER than the werehog, you can run at RIDICULOSLY HIGH SPEEDS, the way it should be in a Sonic game! Now sadly, I don't have my 360 anymore, so I never got a chance to beat it, but I plan on getting it again for my PS3! Long story short, buy this, you'll love it! Expand
  13. Jan 9, 2015
    8
    REALLY GOOD, the reason this is not a 10 is cause the long somewhat boring were hog stages, i mean there ok but not great and mainly focused on combat. really fast as is but than you upgrade your speed , best boost in the sonic series , best story in the sonic series , fun game play , great physics , good graphics , fun combos but the were hog kinda brings it down.
  14. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This game has amazing gameplay, graphics, music everything comes together nicely in it. It's fun and delivers slight variety but keeps everything you love about sonic in it 10/10 BESTEST GAME EVA
  15. Jul 12, 2015
    8
    this game is perfect for what he came to be...
    it's well divided between day and night stages
    day stages for the Sonic unique style fans
    and night stages for the new fans
    the game the awesome on both gameplays
    have a GREAT story making you wanting more
  16. Nov 27, 2015
    9
    One of Sonic's best.
    Great gameplay
    Amazing graphics
    Awesome mechanics
    Cool story

    Its just everything we want from sonic
    Just two proplems though
    Day time sonic has a werid jump which makes platforming hard sometimes and the werehog can sometimes be a bit stiff but overall it a fantastic sonic game
  17. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    I love this game on XBOX 360 and PS2 . Version for XBOX 360 better than PS2 . In this game one of best graphics of 2008 . This is good 3D game . Very awesome boost and drift . Awesome storyline and very very good gameplay . One of best Sonic game . 10/10
  18. May 15, 2017
    10
    The fastest sonic game, turns out to be the most fun and enjoyable game of the franchise. Focus more on speed, and making a mix of plataform and racing was the best idea sega have made in years
  19. May 28, 2018
    8
    This Game blew me away! I never thought Sonic team could possibly get so close to perfection. Why is it so good? A couple things really, first the new graphics engine for the next gen consoles was used beautifully with great looking cutscenes, levels, and hub-worlds. Now to the music... Absolutely amazing with fantastic pieces by composer Tomoya Ohtani and Kenichi Tokoi's pieces shineThis Game blew me away! I never thought Sonic team could possibly get so close to perfection. Why is it so good? A couple things really, first the new graphics engine for the next gen consoles was used beautifully with great looking cutscenes, levels, and hub-worlds. Now to the music... Absolutely amazing with fantastic pieces by composer Tomoya Ohtani and Kenichi Tokoi's pieces shine throughout this game especially some of the hub-world music. Now to the Gameplay... Damn fun, the daytime missions are a great deal of fun they're fast fun and really well crafted, the sense of speed and controls are nearly perfect here. The only problem with the controls in my eyes were the air boost always got in the way of me trying to do a homing attack but other than that very smooth. Now the Night-time missions... They are a blast to play, YEAH these were the missions I sometimes found myself enjoying more than the daytime. The controls were once again smooth and they really emulate what it's like to be a beast being unleashed especially when you level up and learn new combos, writing about just makes me want to go play right now. Overall this game was just too underappreciated by both fan and critics and it really deserves better this is in my eyes the most polished and near perfect sonic game just give it a chance, and unlike Sonic Generations the day time isn't always "hold X to win the game" the game actually takes a lot more skill. What other sonic game do you ride across a humpback whale in a bobsled? None of them. Expand
  20. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    This game is quite undervalued by the metascore, and shows that the specialized press does not really know what rating to assign to the sonic games, since this is the basis to create sonic generations. It should have a higher note, simply because it is base. Also because it's not a bad game, we might even consider it pretty good.
  21. Mar 16, 2018
    10
    BEST SONIC GAME EVER need a PC port on STEAM the werehog is good everything is good I want the 4K 60FPS PC PORT SEGA PLSSSS ???!!!!?? DANG
  22. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    There is one thing you should know about Sonic Unleashed before spending your time and money on it. It's a great game. Really great game. Okay I have to admit the tutorial stages were unneeded but new players should learn how to play this awesome game. It has replayability. It has cool graphics, nice story and the new Chip character has lots of positive things. Encountering belovedThere is one thing you should know about Sonic Unleashed before spending your time and money on it. It's a great game. Really great game. Okay I have to admit the tutorial stages were unneeded but new players should learn how to play this awesome game. It has replayability. It has cool graphics, nice story and the new Chip character has lots of positive things. Encountering beloved characters such as Tails and Amy is pretty cool. If you like Werewolf stories you will definitely love this. Because in this game you get three different gameplay styles. The first one is the basic fast platforming, the other one is the night themed Werehog fighting gameplay and the last one is exploring around a place if you like that. So yeah Sonic Unleashed is probably one of the best Sonic titles to this day. Expand
  23. Apr 5, 2018
    10
    This is a very underrated game. I think the quick time events are a decent challenge, the graphics are amazing and the game play is superb, including the Werehog
  24. Jun 25, 2018
    10
    It's sad that such a wonderful game like this that had so much work put in to it got so much hate. Just because it was released after Sonic 06, when it was "trendy" to hate on the franchise. It even had CG mini films.
    One of Sonic's best.
    Great gameplay
    Amazing graphics
    Awesome mechanics
    Amazing story
  25. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Personally, this is to me the most disappointing sonic game I ever played due to the fact of the addition of the Werehog. The game features Sonic only with some pretty exciting stages that are great but sometimes have a strange pace because of its excessive amount of obstacles in it. However, the werehog experience is a more slower sonic focused on a mediocre combat. The combat gets betterPersonally, this is to me the most disappointing sonic game I ever played due to the fact of the addition of the Werehog. The game features Sonic only with some pretty exciting stages that are great but sometimes have a strange pace because of its excessive amount of obstacles in it. However, the werehog experience is a more slower sonic focused on a mediocre combat. The combat gets better when you achieve more combos, but it gets very tiring because the game puts too many combat moments and even less platforming in this stages. The werehog stages can sometimes be great, other times decent, mediocre or even at times awful. Yet, the overall concept of the werehog in general feels out of place and unnecessary for the franchise. I would have rather used a new character that was a wolf and would do those tricks, instead of thinking that somehow Sonic becomes this thing. Luckily, the xbox 360 version features a much more exciting gameplay than the wii version because of a better speed in sonic levels and better controls in the werehog battles that make me give it a higher score. Expand
  26. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    This game has an incredible mix of speed and fight. I liked the graphics that team sonic used for this game. The only thing that i dislike in this game, are the repetitive nocturne acts.
  27. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    I really like this game more than the first 360 game the visuals are great, the soundtrack is brill and the story is great but the only two flaws of the game is the upgrade system for the day levels and the game-play for the ware-hog levels (like when you balance on the planks or whatever they called them) so this game is way better the last game.
  28. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    I really do not see why no one likes the Werehog. I think that it's great the Sega has finally added something NEW to a Sonic game. The controls and camera are perfect, the story is great and, well, absolutely everything in it is awesome! You get an open world to explore, fun and fast daytime levels, and then the EXTREMELY cool night time levels. There's so much more to say about it... ButI really do not see why no one likes the Werehog. I think that it's great the Sega has finally added something NEW to a Sonic game. The controls and camera are perfect, the story is great and, well, absolutely everything in it is awesome! You get an open world to explore, fun and fast daytime levels, and then the EXTREMELY cool night time levels. There's so much more to say about it... But I think I've already made my point on how awesome it is! xD Expand
  29. JSnott!
    Dec 6, 2008
    8
    Don't let harsh reviewers such as as IGN fool you. This is a good game. The Sonic levels are top notch and the werehog levels are fun too. The only thing that really put me off about this game is that the platforming of the werehog levels gets to be pretty frustrating. This will probably go down as the most underrated sonic game ever.
  30. Dec 14, 2018
    9
    Sonic Unleashed is an average Sonic game, with strange things like Dark Gaia, Sonic the Werehog, but averall it's a good game, no regrets.
  31. AaronMayorga
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    The Daytime are very fast and awesome especially on the new Hedgehog Engine by Sega.The Nighttime stages are a very important asset to the game. They may have a slower tempo but the stages are very large and interesting.The music once again beautiful especially the final boss theme. It is a very great game at heart and you should by it.
  32. MikeG
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    Great game with some frustration in the mix. A lot of reviews are bashing the werehog like it's unplayable, while it is different and sometimes frustrating (instadeaths ruining your rank) it's not terrible. The daytime levels are the best gameplay Sonic has had since his 2D era keeping both speed and platforming in mind. I'm not sure why reviews are giving the game aGreat game with some frustration in the mix. A lot of reviews are bashing the werehog like it's unplayable, while it is different and sometimes frustrating (instadeaths ruining your rank) it's not terrible. The daytime levels are the best gameplay Sonic has had since his 2D era keeping both speed and platforming in mind. I'm not sure why reviews are giving the game a mediocre score when the game is very good, the werehog breaks up the pace a bit but that's not always bad. Expand
  33. LaurenAnderson
    May 1, 2009
    8
    A solid platformer that displays a master of the classic Sonic gameplay as well as the best gameplay alternative the 3D games have ever seen. The game is the most technically advanced and clean of the 3D Sonic games, but still suffers from a lack of polish later in the game in the form of slowdown, pop-up, and general bugs.
  34. Hbran456
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Sonic Unleashed is SEGA's latest attempt at making a fun and interesting Sonic game, and the good thing is...they have succeeded. The game is split into two main parts, night and day, which most people already know. The day sections feature our favorite super sonic hedgehog, in one of his most enjoyable outings yet. The countdown starts at the beginning of the stage, Sonic yells Sonic Unleashed is SEGA's latest attempt at making a fun and interesting Sonic game, and the good thing is...they have succeeded. The game is split into two main parts, night and day, which most people already know. The day sections feature our favorite super sonic hedgehog, in one of his most enjoyable outings yet. The countdown starts at the beginning of the stage, Sonic yells "GO!" and you are sent screaming through the level. The controls are flawless, the framerate rarely dips, and for the first time in years the camera is amazing. The drift mechanic and the speed boost are welcomed additions. Drift lets you skid around corners at high speeds and speed boost (my personal favorite) makes you go crazy fast and is terrific fun. The second these stages started I got a huge smile on my face and I began to remember what a good Sonic game was all about. When the night stages started, however, my smile slowly faded. In night stages you play as a slow werehog, which isnt nearly as fun as Sonic, but...it's not that bad. Compared to the day stages, yes, they are slow, clunky, and sort of repetitive. But after a while, you get used to it and it is quite fun. Overall, Sonic Unleashed is a a must-buy for any Sonic fan, and I reccomend it to anyone who wants to play a fun and exhilarating game. Lets face it, there is just something amazing about running really, really freaking fast. Expand
  35. MarcusL.
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Sonic Unleashed is an awesome game. No, that's not going to be the ENTIRE review. But let me explain why. Firstly, the day stages. Every review I've seen praises these stages greatly, since they are reminicent of the good old 90's Sonic games. Addtionaly, Griffith's voice has improved. Massively. As does Amy Palant's Tails voice. Now, he sounds like a boy. Sonic Unleashed is an awesome game. No, that's not going to be the ENTIRE review. But let me explain why. Firstly, the day stages. Every review I've seen praises these stages greatly, since they are reminicent of the good old 90's Sonic games. Addtionaly, Griffith's voice has improved. Massively. As does Amy Palant's Tails voice. Now, he sounds like a boy. FINALLY. Now, the night stages, the biggest downside. According to most. The night stages are great. Yes, they are repetitve and yes, can be annoying. But there is a ton of ways you can complete the stage. Trying out new combos, finding stuff, and all that jazz. Also, Chip. Another downer. But, actually, on the 360 version, you rarely hear him. Not that it's a good thing. Chip is a great addition. All in all, Sonic Unleashed shows one thing. Sonic is back and better than ever, after a 7 year 'break'. Fingers crossed for Black Knight, eh? Expand
  36. Cole
    Feb 19, 2009
    8
    You know, this game really took way too much flak. I'll admit, when saw the first trailer of werehog gameplay, I thought it was by far the dumbest Sonic gimmick SEGA had come up with yet. But I checked the game out, and I was actually pleasantly surprised. I daresay the daytime stages of this game are Sonic at his absolute best, and even the werehog stages are decently fun. It's You know, this game really took way too much flak. I'll admit, when saw the first trailer of werehog gameplay, I thought it was by far the dumbest Sonic gimmick SEGA had come up with yet. But I checked the game out, and I was actually pleasantly surprised. I daresay the daytime stages of this game are Sonic at his absolute best, and even the werehog stages are decently fun. It's by no means perfect, but given Sonic's recent fiascos, this is definitely a return to his roots and a huge step in the right direction. Expand
  37. Nick
    Apr 14, 2009
    8
    One of the Best Sonic games ever!! I enjoyed the daytime levels!! They are fast and fun. Nighttime levels are okay. There were 2 Nighttime levels that I hated. The rest were good, though. The graphics are amazing, and it has a good soundtrack. Overall, I'd give it an 8 out of 10
  38. EXshad
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    Though there the loading times from hell are back from Sonic's last 360 outing, there are some control issues with the werehog, and the plot is kinda thin, this is the best console Sonic game since Sonic Adventure 2. By day, it's fast, insane, high-speed fun, made better thanks to perfect controls and a fluid frame-rate, and by night, it's a...decent to somewhat good Though there the loading times from hell are back from Sonic's last 360 outing, there are some control issues with the werehog, and the plot is kinda thin, this is the best console Sonic game since Sonic Adventure 2. By day, it's fast, insane, high-speed fun, made better thanks to perfect controls and a fluid frame-rate, and by night, it's a...decent to somewhat good brawler that is fun once you learn the ropes, but will leave you wanting to play as normal Sonic again since night stages are long. Still, both forms of Sonic are fun to play as in their own way. The hubs are back, but don't interfere with the gameplay, but rather, simply provide extra optional missions and shops to boost the replay value. They're linear this time and straight-forward, so Sonic won't get lost and it's easy to find your way out of there when you get sick of it. Oh, and for the first time in a 3D Sonic game, the camera is fantastic and dynamic. I seriously recommend this game to any Sonic fan with the system, and everyone else should check it out, maybe even buy it outright if you just want to play a new, GOOD 3D Sonic game. Expand
  39. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    This game is just amazing! Much better than reviews suggest. Just perfect, with the best of Sonic gameplay + God of War gameplay + Awesome music + Amazing Graphics + and a very good story. Sonic Unleashed is classic, and a great reason to love Sonic series.
  40. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    I really must give this gem praise. Sonic really should take another daring crack like this game did. The game was fun and those who deny it are kidding themselves. While it is true that the Where hog levels were not as good as the Day stages, they were still quite fun in its own right. Me and my brother played in cooperative craze trying to beat this. He played the Where hog and me theI really must give this gem praise. Sonic really should take another daring crack like this game did. The game was fun and those who deny it are kidding themselves. While it is true that the Where hog levels were not as good as the Day stages, they were still quite fun in its own right. Me and my brother played in cooperative craze trying to beat this. He played the Where hog and me the original Sonic since I wasn't as good as he was in the Night stages. The Day stages are fast paced and fun with platforming in the mix. This new concept in the 3D Sonic formula really drove you into playing for those stages again. The key in these stages was to go really fast, but not get carried away in it as well. Sonic games have always challenged your restraint in speed as the trick to playing cleanly through a stage and it sure doesn't stop in this game either. The only problem is that Sonic is a little slippery to control at times. The Night stages, contrary to popular opinion, were really not that bad. They weren't as fun as the Day stages, but they were fun in their own way and really helped hit home in the atmosphere this game was playing out towards. The only flaw in this plan was that there were too many Night stages to play through. This is really dissapointing because a balance would have really made this game much better than it already is and frankly, it would make me more inclined to play through it again. The story is decent, but its presentaion is the biggest victory over it. Its saving the world from Eggman again, but it really feels like that final battle that you have to keep persevering to finally prevail in the end. The scope of this game makes you really feel like your where you are. In the Arabian area, Italian town, Tropical Island, a bustling city, etc. The music is really where I must give props for. SEGA truly had outdone themselves in an original soundtrack in this game. Its diverse and high spirited, with different cultures added into the mix. The orchestration and jazz band are truly welcome in SEGA music as this is among their best soundtracks. It really brings the adventurous feeling of traveling from country to country, saving the world, meeting new people, etc. One of my biggest gripes about this game is the voice acting. Jason does his best performance as Sonic, but everyone can't be said the same way. Chip's character was also a bit annoying, but still memorable and he did grow on me after a while. Its not the best Sonic game ever, but its still definately an underrated game in the franchise, easily worth the buy, especially the 15 dollars its on sale for these days. If you want the best version of this game I highly suggest getting the Xbox version. Don't pass this game up if your interested. Expand
  41. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    This game is quite a pleasant surprise. With its smart level design, fluid controls, and breathtaking graphics, Unleashed may be the greatest Sonic game since Sonic 3 & Knuckles.
  42. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    Sonic Unleashed is one of the best games I have ever played( call me crazy). The day time stages were really fun and fast paced. The night time stages offered a lot of plat forming and combat. I think the gameplay really was balanced. The graphics were extremely amazing. The music, as always, was really fantastic. The hub worlds were small and quite interesting in my opinion. There areSonic Unleashed is one of the best games I have ever played( call me crazy). The day time stages were really fun and fast paced. The night time stages offered a lot of plat forming and combat. I think the gameplay really was balanced. The graphics were extremely amazing. The music, as always, was really fantastic. The hub worlds were small and quite interesting in my opinion. There are many side quests in the game and the story was great. The voice acting was the best Sonic voice acting I ever heard. This was Jason Griffith at his greatest folks. Sonic was super duper fast in this game and featured quick time events. The quick time events didn't bother me one bit but they were really easy. I think this game is worth a shot if you enjoy controlling Sonic at high speeds and love a plat forming. Don't let big time critics fool you, this was one OUTSTANDING game. You should give it a try. Expand
  43. Feb 22, 2016
    8
    I owned the Wii version before picking up this version for $20. I loved the daytime stages, and was mostly indifferent on the werehog ones. It's far from perfect, but not as bad as the general public considers the "God of War-hog" gameplay.

    The daytime stages are easily the delight. Beautiful graphics, fun reactionary gameplay, expansive levels with plentiful multiple paths, and the
    I owned the Wii version before picking up this version for $20. I loved the daytime stages, and was mostly indifferent on the werehog ones. It's far from perfect, but not as bad as the general public considers the "God of War-hog" gameplay.

    The daytime stages are easily the delight. Beautiful graphics, fun reactionary gameplay, expansive levels with plentiful multiple paths, and the music is incredible.

    The medal system, if the player is unaware of it, can cause problems mid game when they're required to play most stages, but an easy circumvention is to simply search everywhere for them in the slower nighttime stages and in the simplified, contained hub worlds.

    If the game was solely daytime stages, the critical reception for this game wouldn't be as polarizing as what we have.
    Expand
  44. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Even though some of the reviews say this game is bad it is far from that. the only bad thing about this game is collecting sun and moon medals to unlock levels and the final level. other than that the day stages are incredible. the night stages while some can be very long they can be very fun. imo this is the best looking sonic game ever. the music as always is amazing. I lovedEven though some of the reviews say this game is bad it is far from that. the only bad thing about this game is collecting sun and moon medals to unlock levels and the final level. other than that the day stages are incredible. the night stages while some can be very long they can be very fun. imo this is the best looking sonic game ever. the music as always is amazing. I loved leveling up sonic and the werehog either to go even faster as sonic or be stronger or be able to unleashed new moves as the werehog. this is a sonic game you will go back to play the day stages maybe even some of the night stages. this is one of the best sonic games of all time. Expand
  45. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Whoever said Werehog sucked should not said that. Unleashed is the game that saved Sonic after 06 and that is in my opinion second best modern Sonic. After Generations of course.
  46. Jan 11, 2016
    8
    Sonic Unleashed is a fine effort and slightly better than the critics gave it credit for. the day levels are fantastic and have some of the best sonic levels i've ever played and i love the use of real countries for inspiration. the night levels when the Warehog takes centre stage may be mess with the flow and not be as fun to play. but out of all the ridiculous gimmicks the franchise haveSonic Unleashed is a fine effort and slightly better than the critics gave it credit for. the day levels are fantastic and have some of the best sonic levels i've ever played and i love the use of real countries for inspiration. the night levels when the Warehog takes centre stage may be mess with the flow and not be as fun to play. but out of all the ridiculous gimmicks the franchise have given us i'd say it one of the better experiments. my biggest issue with the game is the level progression which relies on collecting emblems, which may increase replayability of levels but also makes the game rather tedious. the story is passable and serves it's purpose not much really to comment on that one though i am getting sick of the final boss in sonic games being a monster of the day rather than Dr Eggman. i recommend it to anyone curious though avoid the wii and PS2 versions which can't handle the speed and level design and make the Night levels even worse. Expand
  47. Apr 26, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game! The story begins with Eggman/Robotnik trying to split Earth into 7 pieces (and suceeding) releasing Dark Gaia, powering his blaster, and turning Sonic into the Werehog. He crashes to earth, causing Light Gaia to have amnesia and forget his name. After the cutscene that that happens, you get gameplay. There's 2 kinds of gameplay: daytime and nighttime. The first 2 levels are daytime, the next level is nighttime, then a daytime level, repeat the cycle. The Werehog levels are beat-em'-up levels, and they're pretty fun. Daytime levels are just normal Sonic levels with the Homing Attack and stuff. But my opinion is that you should play it, but Eggmanland is SO hard. Expand
  48. May 13, 2015
    10
    I'm surprised alot of of people gave this a good review. ive heard people hate this game. but i dont see why the do. the where hog. where should i start. He was actually my favorite part about this game. He controls great, the parkour and puzzle is great, (and i love puzzle games) but my love for puzzles makes me not enjoy the speed as much. But i can not say the speed sections wereI'm surprised alot of of people gave this a good review. ive heard people hate this game. but i dont see why the do. the where hog. where should i start. He was actually my favorite part about this game. He controls great, the parkour and puzzle is great, (and i love puzzle games) but my love for puzzles makes me not enjoy the speed as much. But i can not say the speed sections were terrible. They were Amazing. my love for puzzle does not get in the way very much for how much i love the sonic (gotta go fast) speed. i think it is a good balance between them and they are both really fun. this is one of the BEST SONIC GAMES EVER AND IT NEED MORE LOVE!!! PEOPLE THE WEREHOG IS NOT THAT BAD. IF your on the wii version you can complain. there is too much were hog and to little move variety. and the sonic ring boost meter really just upgrades it's self. there is no use for upgrading it at all. just get the xbox version. IT IS SO MUCH FUN!!! Expand
  49. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    Mandar um papo reto quem acha o jogo fácil tem que ser extra terreste namoral , mais vou te falar do jeito que eu curto , a sega fez uma enredo nota 10 , e uns graficos que se encaixa muito bem nota 10 "!
  50. Jun 28, 2016
    9
    An incredibly underrated adventure. The daytime stages are incredibly exhilarating, have tons of replay value, and really yells out "Sonic the Hedgehog". However, the night stages are slightly tedious, but I have grown accustomed to them over time. This is a fantastic adventure with tight controls, incredible soundtrack, awesome story, amazing graphics, this isn't an adventure to miss out on.
  51. Oct 17, 2015
    9
    One of the Best Sonic games I have ever played. The Day stages are fun to play since you're running everywhere at the speed of sound. I don't see why people have problem with the night stages. I actually like smashing stuff and fighting. It may appeal to fighting game fans. The cutscenes are somewhat goofy and funny. I see this as one of the best sonic games. Keep in mind this is my own opinion.
  52. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    This game deserves a score of 10 was the best game and downtrodden franchise, I'm sick of this fandom, I want all of you die. Sincerely I wish there Sonic Team did more games like this.
  53. Jul 4, 2016
    9
    This game is fun okay maybe the werehog stages get repetitive at a lot of points but I like the fighting mechanics. The sonic stages or day stages are fun and fast pace you feel like you are the fastest thing alive! The bosses are very great as well as the graphics! This game I recommend!
  54. Jun 27, 2016
    9
    One of Sonic's finest titles. While the only playable character, Sonic is split into 3 different styles of gameplay. Sonic's day stages which are fast paced and adrenaline fuelled platforming and racing stages that rely on skill, Sonic's nightstages where you transform into the Werehog to take part in satisfying combo based combat and puzzles, and the hubworlds where Sonic is slowed downOne of Sonic's finest titles. While the only playable character, Sonic is split into 3 different styles of gameplay. Sonic's day stages which are fast paced and adrenaline fuelled platforming and racing stages that rely on skill, Sonic's nightstages where you transform into the Werehog to take part in satisfying combo based combat and puzzles, and the hubworlds where Sonic is slowed down to talk to different members of the new supporting cast who each have fairly decent stories to tell of their own. Sonic's new sidekick, Chip, is a welcome addition to the cast and the scope of the story is more cinematic than ever before, while taking on a lighter tone. Sonic Unleashed is an adventure to remember. Expand
  55. Jul 9, 2016
    8
    This game honestly craps on the game that came out before, Sonic 06 and while many do criticize the werehogs combat, I think it works and there are many combos that you can kill enemies with. And the day time stages just blow your mind away with the speed that sonic goes.
  56. Aug 31, 2016
    9
    Jogo inovador com uma historia epica, hedghog engine foi um grande feito, deixaram os gráficos lindos, o werehog veio para tentar um novo jeito de se jogar, porem foi criticado pela sega nao ter console, assim os fanboy nao poderiam usar ele para falar qual console é melhor
  57. Nov 28, 2016
    8
    This is my favorite 3D Sonic games. Honestly better than SA2. Yes I just said that. But there were barely any times that I had to rage quit Sonic Unleashed. I have turned off and almost thrown the controller in a fit of rage several times during adventure 2 and not because of Sonic and Shadow. The boost mechanic was an amazing addition to Sonic's 3D gameplay. The sense of speed in thisThis is my favorite 3D Sonic games. Honestly better than SA2. Yes I just said that. But there were barely any times that I had to rage quit Sonic Unleashed. I have turned off and almost thrown the controller in a fit of rage several times during adventure 2 and not because of Sonic and Shadow. The boost mechanic was an amazing addition to Sonic's 3D gameplay. The sense of speed in this game is absolutely stunning and I have an absolute blast during the daytime stages. The werehog is not a terrible thing. Honestly I actually enjoy some of the werehog stages. Except for chun nan at night. Those wizards and pole sections can shove a telephone pole up their butts. But the combat is truly enjoyable with more combos to unlock and many different methods of defeating enemies and there is something extremely satisfying about picking up an enemy and using said enemy to smack another enemy with and kill them that way. Also its funny when sonic slams them on the ground repeatedly. One major critique that I need to address is the need to hunt for sun and moon medals in order to progress throughout the story. In the nighttime stages this is no problem. During the day, however, Sonic is blazing past these things at extremely high speeds. But other than these problems This game is a truly underrated Sonic game that deserves more good rep than bad. Any of the bad reviews are essentially people who just don't like the werehog stages and can't look past that at the rest of the game. Expand
  58. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    jogo espetacular,jogabilidade otima e belos graficos,e o level desing otimo,esse e o melhor jogo do sonic que ja joguei,eu recomendo que voçes joguem,jogo espetacular
  59. Mar 22, 2020
    9
    When i first played this game i was scare for the reviews and specially for the werehog, but at the end of my playtrough, i really enjoyed the game and the werehog wasn't that bad, actually it was very fun in my opinion. I think what fails in this game is that it becomes very repetitive at the end
  60. JPK
    Aug 19, 2018
    8
    Very Underrated
    Sonic a Unleashed Isn’t Perfect, But It Signified A Comeback For The Blue Blur.
  61. Feb 6, 2018
    8
    This game is seriously underated. Sonic Unleashed may not be a masterpiece but it's damn good. The music and graphics of the game is top-notch, everything feels like a Pixar movie with cartoonish proportions for people. The story isn't bad as well by any means, it's a step up from the edgy and weird like it's predecessors and it's quite light hearted not taking things too seriously. IThis game is seriously underated. Sonic Unleashed may not be a masterpiece but it's damn good. The music and graphics of the game is top-notch, everything feels like a Pixar movie with cartoonish proportions for people. The story isn't bad as well by any means, it's a step up from the edgy and weird like it's predecessors and it's quite light hearted not taking things too seriously. I won't spoil any gameplay or story so you can experience them yourself. Daytime is a lot of fun, high speed thrills and the nighttime levels, while tedious, is fun with his combat skills. The hub worlds or colourful and have interactable people and this is easily one of the best in the series, as it is small and they are beautiful. The battle music is way too repetitive though. But the medal collecting is one bad factor along with some of the werehog levels being a bit too long and doesn't seem to have a drop shadow. Eggmanland can go to hell. Expand
  62. Nov 8, 2017
    10
    Sonic Unleashed on the Xbox 360 is a great game. After Sonic Next-Gen, Sonic Team needed a game that would give people a reason to care about Sonic. And boy, did they deliver.

    Sonic Unleashed is a gorgeous game. It looks spectacular, with magnificent scenery, character designs, lighting, shading, animations, all that. The sound is clear and crisp. It looks like a game that would be made
    Sonic Unleashed on the Xbox 360 is a great game. After Sonic Next-Gen, Sonic Team needed a game that would give people a reason to care about Sonic. And boy, did they deliver.

    Sonic Unleashed is a gorgeous game. It looks spectacular, with magnificent scenery, character designs, lighting, shading, animations, all that. The sound is clear and crisp. It looks like a game that would be made for PS4 and Switch. This is still the best-looking Sonic game, even after almost 10 years.

    The level design in this game is great. In both Sonic and Werehog levels, every level is well-designed and fun. Everything is placed in an absolute perfect spot. Sonic's gameplay is based on boosting, and the Werehog's gameplay is based on combat and puzzle solving; despite this, both characters have a good amount of platforming to do. All levels are well-designed and are really fun to speedrun. I must have played Windmill Isle Act 2 at least 100 times and I'm still not sick of it.

    Sonic's standard controls are really good. I think it was actually a good idea to make X the homing attack instead of A, but I know why they changed it back. The Werehog also has great control. Making the trigger the run button was pretty smart because then I can run at any time and still press nearly any button I need. I'm not sure why the Werehog can't go faster up poles when the triggers are held, but eh.

    Both forms of Sonic have a wide range of abilities. Sonic can jump, boost, homing attack, slide, or breakdance. (I'm not kidding. Stop in place and double-tap B.) The Werehog can jump, double jump, climb or shimmy along walls, punch, kick, block, run, unleash, and more. All of these abilities, along with upgrades, which I will mention later, make the game fun and refreshing.

    Aside from the abilities the character had at the beginning, there are 2 types of upgrades for both Hedgehog and Werehog.
    The first is new abilities. Sonic the Hedgehog can gain new abilities by finding various pairs of shoes in hub worlds. These shoes can allow Sonic to stomp, wall-jump, or do the light-speed dash. Stomp is performed by pressing B in the air; Wall jumping is done by repeatedly pressing A while on a wall. The light-speed dash is done by pressing Y in front of a trail of rings. All of these are great additions and work exceptionally well. The Werehog can gain new abilities by upgrading his combat abilities at the end of a level. There are tons of them to learn and unlock.
    The second type of upgrade is an upgrade to pre-existing abilities. At the end of each level, Sonic can take the EXP he's gained and apply it to either his normal or werehog self. Sonic has 2 abilities to upgrade and the Werehog has 6, I think. You can upgrade one ability a ton and leave the other behind, or you can upgrade them all equally. It's up to you. They all add to the game to make it faster and more fun. It's also easier to get S-ranks when your characters are fully upgraded.

    You can tell this game is incredibly polished. All of the abilities, all of the levels, all of the characters, all of the enemies, all of the animations, all of the features, all of the items, everything. They all show a very high level of polish. I've played this game for 15 hours or more and I've never encountered a bug. If a game can implement all of these features in a smart, simple way with no issues, you can tell Sonic Team really cared about this game. And that's why this game gets a 10.

    Oh, and Eggman has a Dreamcast. Gotta love the Dreamcast.
    Expand
  63. Feb 11, 2018
    10
    This is, possibly, one of my favourite sonic games. The daytime stages were fun and exhilarating and the nighttime stages were fine, they didn't bother me that much and I liked them. The exploration aspect and the rather fun brawler type of gameplay was enjoyable. They were quite challenging but were much easier once you level up your strength and combat. The RPG elements also added aThis is, possibly, one of my favourite sonic games. The daytime stages were fun and exhilarating and the nighttime stages were fine, they didn't bother me that much and I liked them. The exploration aspect and the rather fun brawler type of gameplay was enjoyable. They were quite challenging but were much easier once you level up your strength and combat. The RPG elements also added a sense of progress in the game. This game also has a wonderful plot, possibly the best graphics, and, in my opinion, the fastest sonic. The music is also one of the best in the sonic franchise. The critic reviews were, in my opinion, quite biased about the game - while I accept the fact that the reviewers didn't like Werehog sections, the graphics, music (sound), and the presentation (story) were all excellent and definitely deserve a good rating. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone for a true taste of the sonic franchise. Expand
  64. Feb 25, 2018
    9
    Underrated gem Sonic unleashed is well executed in almost every single aspect. the only things that make it a 10/10 for me is the medal hunting and the choppy frame rate at times.
  65. Feb 21, 2018
    10
    Underrated Sonic Game of All time. It doesn't deserve terrible reviews just because it isn't what they wanted. Onto the review, The graphics are the best in the series, but bad framerates in the most beautiful levels. Modern Sonic is on point, with speed and level design. And the werehog, even if it wasn't needed was executed well. Other than that the game is amazing.
  66. May 7, 2018
    9
    Un muy buen juego.
    Se basa en una doble jugabilidad, en que de día eres el Sonic que todos conocemos, y de noche te transformas en el Sonic Werehog, en que la jugabilidad cambia completamente a una mas lenta en que predomina el hack and slash. Esta jugabilidad nocturna es muy buena, puedes realizar diversos combos, bloquear ataques, y, siendo francos, es bastante difícil si no prevés los
    Un muy buen juego.
    Se basa en una doble jugabilidad, en que de día eres el Sonic que todos conocemos, y de noche te transformas en el Sonic Werehog, en que la jugabilidad cambia completamente a una mas lenta en que predomina el hack and slash. Esta jugabilidad nocturna es muy buena, puedes realizar diversos combos, bloquear ataques, y, siendo francos, es bastante difícil si no prevés los ataques enemigos, los cuales son esbirros de Dark Gaia, que, junto al Dr. Eggman, deberas derrotar en esta aventura. La jugabilidad con Sonic de día es muy frenética y veloz (como es de esperar), con nuevas habilidades como el pisotón y un sistema de XP en que mejorar las habilidades de Sonic diurno y nocturno. Los niveles tanto de día como de noche son muy bonitos y amplios, con muchos caminos por los que correr, plear y explorar, ya que en esta ocasión, si quieres completar el juego al 100% y entrar en fases secretas, deberás recoger todas las medallas solares y lunares repartidas por los escenarios a lo largo de todos los niveles y pueblos o ciudades; ya que en este titulo, al igual que en Sonic Adventure, podras hablar con los aldeanos y lugareños de los pueblos y ciudades que visitaras con el avión Tornado de Tails gracias a un mapamundi por el que viajar a todo tipo de lugares extravagantes. Nuevos personajes, como Chip o el profesor Pickle haran aparición en este título, y mientras viajas por el mundo puedes comprar recuerdos para llevárselos a Pickle y recibir consejos, pistas o simplemente guardarlos en su laboratorios para verlos en el expositor. Chip es un pequeño ser volador con alas que no recuerda nada debido a cierto erizo azul que cayo encima suyo, por lo que deberas conseguir que recuerdo quien es, todo esto mientras restauras el mundo, debido a que al principio del juego verás que Dark Gaia a separado los continentes y esta recuperando fuerzas. Gráficamente es un juego impresionante y de una banda sonora muy buena, aunque no a la altura de anteriores titulos.
    Un buen juego mas que recommdable si te gusta Sonic.
    Expand
  67. May 13, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Omg Just OMG is this game just not good just not great just not Awesome its Perfect and heres my reasons
    1 The Graphics
    This game looks like a 2015 game than a 2008 game beacuse omg this is the best Looking Sonic game of all time and yes better than Forces And Free Riders Graphics but they also have great Graphichs
    2 The Music
    The Music uses Settings from the world and when i kean by that they have so many Generas in music like Jazz Rock Orchestra and many more
    3 The Story
    The Story is Great like it has the best opening in any sonic game ever and how it leads up to is good with Sonic and Chip going to all these Places
    4 The Gameplay
    The Gameplay has 2 Different Styles it has Sonic with the boost and The Werehog with its Brawl Sections o Think there poth Perfect (Especially The Boost) and its fun ahd Levals are from 3-6 mins long with the boost when with the werehog it wpuld take 8-20mins but its still fun
    5 Conclusion
    So Sonic unleashed is my Favourite Sonic Game of all time beacuse of all those things i said before bye
    Expand
  68. Oct 20, 2019
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The story is engaging and the gameplay is fun and innovative. Definitely try this one out.
  69. Jun 27, 2018
    8
    The day time stages in this game are done EXTREMELY WELL not as good as Generations or colours but this was the first game to introduce the boost to win formula. The night time stages are actually not that bad they can be fun if you like hack and slash stages and aren't a hardcore fan who HAS to have the game be about speed 100% of the time.
  70. Aug 23, 2018
    9
    My favorite sonic game in the whole series it was very good I liked daytime and nighttime stages
  71. Jan 21, 2019
    9
    I played on X360. I'm truly think it's better than crappiest PS2/WII version. many people like this XBOX360/PS3 more than PS2/WII. I
  72. Aug 31, 2018
    9
    It is very underrated! next to sonic colors,sonic mania and sonic generations it is the best sonic ever
  73. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    Excelente jogo que muita gente não deu atenção e hoje voltam a jogá-lo por conta dos últimos lançamentos da SEGA. Tem um enredo maravilhoso digno de um Sonic Adventure, ótima jogabilidade, excelente dificuldade, ótima trilha sonora e ótimos gráficos. Infelizmente a SEGA não sabe mais fazer jogos do Sonic Moderno.
  74. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    The best game ever! Werehog? Medals? Go away, if you don't like it! I am one of those people who love to run around the location, look for any useful or even useless stuff. Who puts less than 75 points, those fat sows! Sorry. But it really pisses me off when people underestimate such a masterpiece. You do not like Werehog? You do not like to collect medals? Well, the only thing is that inThe best game ever! Werehog? Medals? Go away, if you don't like it! I am one of those people who love to run around the location, look for any useful or even useless stuff. Who puts less than 75 points, those fat sows! Sorry. But it really pisses me off when people underestimate such a masterpiece. You do not like Werehog? You do not like to collect medals? Well, the only thing is that in order to see how much you have left to collect a medal for moving to this or that location, you have to go to the village / city, find the transition to the level, come to this thing and stand on it. Difficult, is not it? Expand
  75. Dec 31, 2018
    9
    Really really really really really really really really really really really really good game.
  76. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    10 GRAPHICS
    10 MUSIC
    10 SONIC GAMEPLAY
    9 WEREHOG GAMEPLAY
    9.5 MAPS, HUD, LOBBY´S

    = 9.7 (approximately 10)
  77. Nov 16, 2019
    10
    Most underrated Sonic game ever. Best graphics in 2008 and perfect levels that allows to going fast
  78. Jun 13, 2019
    8
    Sonic Unleashed is one of the best 3d sonic experiences we got by far. The visuals are terrific with settings based on real world locations, a great lighting engine, and aesthetically pleasing scenarios that add much more to the experience. The hub worlds are very vivid and add to the world traveling theme of the game, where you can explore the beautiful valleys and cities, talk withSonic Unleashed is one of the best 3d sonic experiences we got by far. The visuals are terrific with settings based on real world locations, a great lighting engine, and aesthetically pleasing scenarios that add much more to the experience. The hub worlds are very vivid and add to the world traveling theme of the game, where you can explore the beautiful valleys and cities, talk with cartoony humans from all over the world that have interesting side stories and missions, and a lot more. The stages are divided between day time and night time stages. In the day stages you take control over sonic and speed trough levels that are mostly based on reaction skills. In the night stages, sonic transforms into a "werehog", which leads to a slower paced gameplay focused on combat, platforming and minor puzzles. I understand this isn't what people would expect for a sonic game, but from a techinical point of view, it's pulled off very well and gives a good balance to the gameplay. The werehog has an interesting combat system, with a huge arsenal of combos and other skills, that can be upgraded or unlocked, and the later levels do get pretty challenging with the platforming and fighting, even trought i thing it has too much of those segments where you have to balance on "tigh ropes" and his levels can get way too long at times. But overall it's your above-average beat'em up platformer. The story is also interesting, with a more serious tone but also more light hearted moments and amazing cgi's. The fighting music from the night stages get too repetitive but other than that, the soundtrack is great. I found the boss fights to be very creative and use the game's mechanics very well, except maybe for the fight with gaia colossus vs. dark gaia, which requires some weird timing...guess you have to play to understand. As far as my english skills go, I don't think I can elaborate on more than this(I also don't want this review to be too long), but sonic unleashed altrhough far from perfect does a lot of things right, and feels like a well-polished sonic game that you should give a try. Expand
  79. Jun 22, 2019
    10
    Just The Best 3D Sonic Game Ever Made. The Graphics, the Music, the Gameplay (Werehog plays normally, all who hates him yells "AAWW MY GOD HE'S SLOW" but most of them like Adventure games wich had REALLY long and tedious treasure hunting levels. Here we at least play as Sonic), the Story, the Atmosphere, the Characters and their voice acting. All this is absolutely amazing. Fact.
    No ****
    Just The Best 3D Sonic Game Ever Made. The Graphics, the Music, the Gameplay (Werehog plays normally, all who hates him yells "AAWW MY GOD HE'S SLOW" but most of them like Adventure games wich had REALLY long and tedious treasure hunting levels. Here we at least play as Sonic), the Story, the Atmosphere, the Characters and their voice acting. All this is absolutely amazing. Fact.
    No **** gaymer reviewers are gonna change that.
    Too bad it didn't get the praise it deserved at the time, only now people started to understand what a masterpiece Unleashed is. At least this is better that nothing.
    And for all the people gave it a negative review, well, if you can't play a Sonic game then don't. It's only your problem. Go play some stupid interactive movies instead. Just sayin.
    In conclusion - do not listen to the braindead people when making an opinion about Sonic Unleashed, go and try it for yourself, and if you didn't like it doesn't mean the game's bad, it means only that you don't like this type of games.
    Expand
  80. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    AMAZING GAME
    10/10 graphics (best looking Sonic games)
    9/10 story and writing (best story in sonic series)
    9/10 daytime stages
    8/10 Night time stages one of thw best 3D Sonic games and my favorite if you disagree call the cops)
  81. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    Bastante infravalorado, increíble jugabilidad y gráficos para su tiempo. Es necesario darle una oportunidad
  82. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This is what I call a good sonic, the day-time levels are one of the best levels of the sonic franchise, it’s smooth and super fast even if a lot of people (mostly the critics) didn’y like the werehog I personally enjoy it
  83. Nov 15, 2019
    10
    Best game of the Sonic franchise. I don't need to say anything else.

    Forget the media and the haters because it's completely trash....
  84. Jan 12, 2020
    10
    Much better than Sonic Forces. Best level design , best boost in the series , best story , best final boss , best gameplay. And please guys , don't compare werehog with God Of War , it is stupid
  85. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite game of all time awesome graphics great story fun daytime stages and also nice nighttime stages challenging final level and nostalgic soundtrack Expand
  86. Apr 3, 2020
    8
    I will say, this game, is one game, which I will never forget. This was my second Sonic game I have plated ever. I love this game!

    Good things about this game! 1) Amazing and breathtaking graphics. This game gave us one of the best starting cut scenes out of any sonic game. It feels so real. It's so vivid. 2) Best soundtrack. This game is good with music. Such as Endless
    I will say, this game, is one game, which I will never forget. This was my second Sonic game I have plated ever. I love this game!

    Good things about this game!

    1) Amazing and breathtaking graphics. This game gave us one of the best starting cut scenes out of any sonic game. It feels so real. It's so vivid.

    2) Best soundtrack. This game is good with music. Such as Endless possibility, and many other! Soundtrack in levels is good and amazing.

    3) New characters. Yes, yes, I know that other sonic games introduced other characters. But these characters in Sonic unleashed, are special, Sonic team even still talk about these characters, sometimes.

    4) ONE OF THE BEST BOSSES IN SONIC HISTORY! Omg, this game had a boss called Perfect dark Gaia, and I will say, it is scary as hell, but it was so epic to fight this boss. The Level music was amazing and it was just great.

    Bad things.

    1) Night time levels. These night time levels were kinda painful, it took very long. It was hard. And U will die easily, if u were careful.

    2) Moon and sun medals. These medals made us annoyed, we had to replay missions to get these medals to unlock certain locations.

    3) Eggman land... This level was meant to make Gamers swear and rage. It was long! About like, idk 50 Minutes long! U will easily die, and then there impossible enemies to beat.

    But overall, I love this game and it will always be in my heart
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50
  1. As much as I disliked lumbering through levels as Sonic’s hulky Werehog, I disliked hunting through the hub worlds looking for coins even more. Sega, if you really want to fix Sonic, the first thing you should do is stop trying to fix him.
  2. 50
    Ultimately, this simply isn't the fresh start Sonic fans were so desperately hoping for...but at least it's not as execrable as the last two efforts.
  3. Sonic Unleashed is a glorious return to true console form for Sonic.