User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 75
  2. Negative: 10 out of 75
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    this game is addicting. if u dont have a powerful pc to play sims 3 like me, then get it for the console. the game is awesome. u can use karma powers to make good/bad things happen (max happy for all need for 1 day/catch house on fire). create a household with either 1 up to 8 sims. juggling their needs, job, friends, the house, and other unpredictable events, you will be playing thisthis game is addicting. if u dont have a powerful pc to play sims 3 like me, then get it for the console. the game is awesome. u can use karma powers to make good/bad things happen (max happy for all need for 1 day/catch house on fire). create a household with either 1 up to 8 sims. juggling their needs, job, friends, the house, and other unpredictable events, you will be playing this nonstop. only things that not make it a 10, no vacant lots, have to destroy building that already exsists for that. cant have more than 1 sim family per save. and sometimes wish there was a go uber fast, because fast x3 and x4 is not fast enough. great game that can be addicting Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is fantastic! This is the best Sims has ever been on console... Karma Powers rock!!! I've played Sims 3 on the PC and I've played other versions of the game on handhelds. I've also played Sims 2 on console. By far this is the best translation of a Sims game from PC to console. They got it all right. There is a new feature in the game where you can use Karma powers. This changes the game dramatically. You can "get lucky" in a matter of minutes now. You can curse someone you don't like...and ...well...I'll save a few surprises. This adds a whole new level to the Sims unpredictability. This new Karma power stuff is new and available in only the console versions. Also for all trophy and achievement whores out there...you have plenty of awards. I would say about half are pretty easy to get...the other half will take some time. Good stuff EA! Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    The Sims 3 is good first of all but I wished you can play as you did in The Sims 2. I also wished you could also see and work at your job instead of fast-forwarding until their job is done. I wished it could of been a mini-game. Also doing simple things like eating and taking a shower take an hour to finish! It should of been 10 minutes just to eat and take shower. It wastes time andThe Sims 3 is good first of all but I wished you can play as you did in The Sims 2. I also wished you could also see and work at your job instead of fast-forwarding until their job is done. I wished it could of been a mini-game. Also doing simple things like eating and taking a shower take an hour to finish! It should of been 10 minutes just to eat and take shower. It wastes time and doesn't let you do other things you need to do. I would of like it more if you could have an option to set the game play as Regular Sims style or Mass Effect style(Controlling one person and walking around from the point of view of GTA IV, Saints Row, and of course Mass Effect). I would of used it and would of liked this game more. Still The Sims 3 is enjoyable even though it could of been better. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2011
    7
    This isnt the best sims game out there for sure. It gets pretty boring after a couple hours and its feels like a remake of any other sims game with slight improvements. Yes it is a very fun game but it wasnt enough to keep me occupied.
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, this is a fun, addicting game. Even though I wish there are a little bit more things to do, and places to go, this is still a really fun game to play.
  6. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    This is a million times better than the sims 2's released on consoles. It's more realistic and has endless opportunities, and YES, you can have babies! The town is great, customising you house is much better. Generations and ageing add a great touch, I would recommend putting you life span on long or normal because epic drags and short and brief are just too short. I reccomend exploringThis is a million times better than the sims 2's released on consoles. It's more realistic and has endless opportunities, and YES, you can have babies! The town is great, customising you house is much better. Generations and ageing add a great touch, I would recommend putting you life span on long or normal because epic drags and short and brief are just too short. I reccomend exploring all aspects of the game, lets just say that having keen gardeners, cooks and fishermen can be the key to immortality, providing you have a spare $10,000. A great game that I would recommend. The socialization is still poor and I was disappointed that you could only have 6 sims and only one family. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    If your computer can handle it you should get this game for computer. The console is very limiting and your roommates will be able to see what you're doing in your secret life on the console, but still a good game regardless.
  8. Apr 13, 2013
    1
    The only reason this game even got a 1 is because it's a "Sims" game. Overall, terrible game. The controls are awful, and these, karma points, are the only reason this game could be playable.
    Overall a awful game, I would NEVER recommend this game to anyone, not even my worst enemy.
  9. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    This game was not as good as its counter part that is on the PC, but its a good substitute for those who play Xbox. I really like The Sims, but the problem with this game is that it has its limits. The game also has control problems and there are no mods for the Xbox which is why most play it on PC. The graphics are the same as always, the music is also the same as it has been for years.This game was not as good as its counter part that is on the PC, but its a good substitute for those who play Xbox. I really like The Sims, but the problem with this game is that it has its limits. The game also has control problems and there are no mods for the Xbox which is why most play it on PC. The graphics are the same as always, the music is also the same as it has been for years. The thing that made this game some what cool was that there are a lot of jobs for you to have. The custom ability in this game is still the best part about this game. This games worst part however is the thing that everyone else likes, I hate the way they talk so much. I would rather read a text bubble than have to hear the other Sims just scream and yell at each other that no one can understand. For the most part, this game is ok not great but if your a fan of The Sims this is worth a look at. Expand
  10. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    What a prodigious game. It keeps with the normal Sims formula and doesn't even change much from the predecessors, apart from the awesome Karma Powers which adds a whole new level of unpredictability to the game. Not only are the graphics not that bad, it's a unintentionally addictive game that brings out the worst in me; I can play it for hours and it brings out an almost dominatrixWhat a prodigious game. It keeps with the normal Sims formula and doesn't even change much from the predecessors, apart from the awesome Karma Powers which adds a whole new level of unpredictability to the game. Not only are the graphics not that bad, it's a unintentionally addictive game that brings out the worst in me; I can play it for hours and it brings out an almost dominatrix quality in me. "SHELLEY HAS TO GO TO THE SHOP!" That type of creepy thing. Expand
  11. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    Another decent simulator from EA, and it's more in depth than ever before. The character customisation gives you lots of options in SOME areas, but in others it feels very empty. The world is big, and offers loads of opportunities, and you can do pretty much anything you want; from getting a job to fishing. The home customisation is BRILLIANT, and you feel like you can never run out ofAnother decent simulator from EA, and it's more in depth than ever before. The character customisation gives you lots of options in SOME areas, but in others it feels very empty. The world is big, and offers loads of opportunities, and you can do pretty much anything you want; from getting a job to fishing. The home customisation is BRILLIANT, and you feel like you can never run out of things to get. However, there's one problem. GLITCHES GALORE! So far, I've ran into around a dozen game breaking ones, which stop the game from reaching it full potential, which is a bit sad. Expand
  12. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    I was hyped about getting it for this platform as i had alot of fun playing it for pc and still think its the best version out there,most sims games that were released for consoles are considered inferior to the pc cause of its lack of content and gameplay being different than the pc,but this version of the sims 3 is actually the most faithful ones for the console as it almost plays theI was hyped about getting it for this platform as i had alot of fun playing it for pc and still think its the best version out there,most sims games that were released for consoles are considered inferior to the pc cause of its lack of content and gameplay being different than the pc,but this version of the sims 3 is actually the most faithful ones for the console as it almost plays the same as the pc version,it does add the Karma powers which can benefit the lives of the sims of your town by satisfying their needs or ruin their lives by dropping all their needs at once or cursing them.It does play almost the same but theres a problem,its lacking content,but i still have to keep playing to see if there are more things to do but i say that despite some lacking contents like the avaliable lots and the free world,i can say its a faithful port and for those who don't have a powerful pc well the console is a great substitute and erm you can also customized and create your own house.At last a fun sims game for consoles :) Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    60
    It's an absurdly addictive experience that maintains this draw on consoles. As a whole, the game's fairly solid.
  2. Jan 6, 2011
    70
    At last: a console version of The Sims without a crappy control scheme. The Sims 3 may be not as extensive and flawless as the PC version, but is still a nice translation of the original concept that made The Sims great in the first place.
  3. Jan 5, 2011
    60
    As expected, the virtual playground that is the Sims doesn't convert very well into the console world. Even with the added gameplay components like Karma, the experience is very much like Sims 3-lite compared to the larger world in Sims 3 for the PC.