User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 466 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2020
    6
    Its just okay, smidgen above mediocre, looked way cooler in the trailer. Game had a lot of potential, but it didn't reach it.
  2. Jan 11, 2021
    7
    Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare is the first intergalactic entry in the series. Developed by the "new" Infinity Ward team, it is a slight improvement over their previous COD game, "Ghosts". However, this is a step down from Treyarch's "Black Ops" trilogy and is somehow less impressive than Sledgehammer's "Advanced Warfare". Featuring a campaign that allows players to branch away from theCall of Duty: Infinite Warfare is the first intergalactic entry in the series. Developed by the "new" Infinity Ward team, it is a slight improvement over their previous COD game, "Ghosts". However, this is a step down from Treyarch's "Black Ops" trilogy and is somehow less impressive than Sledgehammer's "Advanced Warfare". Featuring a campaign that allows players to branch away from the story, "Infinite" is ambitious. But the familiar gameplay keeps the installment from reaching greatness despite its new setting and options.

    While the single player mode features optional side-missions and air combat, it lacks major innovation. The story is good and the CGI cutscenes that propel it are great. But at this point, the game feels like just another "Call of Duty". Unfortunately, the multiplayer aspect doesn't fare any better. Actually, it's worse since Infinity Ward seems to have put most of its efforts into the campaign. The competitive portion is like a scaled back version of Black Ops III's. It feels like a "cut and paste" job since it takes the "Specialists" from that game and renames them "Rigs". The online modes are basically a repeat of its predecessor with less impressive maps.

    Thankfully, "Zombies in Spaceland" proves to be a lot more fun. Featuring an 80's Saturday morning cartoon theme, it is a more accessible take on Treyarch's formula. Set in a carnival, it is packed with features such as leveling up, crafting and traps. Overall, "Infinite Warfare" is an enjoyable installment, but it's also one of the weaker COD games. The genre has evolved ("Titanfall 2" and "Overwatch" are examples), so the series needs to take heed and re-create itself. I'd rate this with a 7.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2016
    7
    Although the multiplayer of this game is absolute **** the campaign reminds those who enjoyed Modern Warfare how great infinity ward is at crafting single player campaign

    I must admit, I did dislike the trailer on YouTube and every other video that was related to it, but I gave the game a chance nonetheless. There's a lot of stigma behind this game because of its progression to space
    Although the multiplayer of this game is absolute **** the campaign reminds those who enjoyed Modern Warfare how great infinity ward is at crafting single player campaign

    I must admit, I did dislike the trailer on YouTube and every other video that was related to it, but I gave the game a chance nonetheless. There's a lot of stigma behind this game because of its progression to space and how there is an overabundance of space-futuristic shooters. During the Sony E3 2016 press conference, they demoed this game without showing the title at the beginning. I don't know why at first I thought it was Star Citizen but the demo blew me away. And then it really surprised me when it said Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare at the end of the demo. It did get me hooked and I was intrigued.

    So when I indeed played the campaign, it really did surprise me with how different it plays out. The Star map and build up to each mission reminds me of Mass Effect and how you have to choose missions and you can talk to NPCs. Although the campaign is short, it still is a well rounded great experience.

    Multiplayer is **** though.
    Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2016
    7
    What can I say, another year another disappointing, all too familiar Call of Duty release.

    I'll begin with the positives as there are a few I'd like to go over for this years Call of Duty release. First up is the campaign, it's quite an improvement over the typical CoD campaign, while it does lack variety it makes up for that in making your actions feel like they have some weight to
    What can I say, another year another disappointing, all too familiar Call of Duty release.

    I'll begin with the positives as there are a few I'd like to go over for this years Call of Duty release. First up is the campaign, it's quite an improvement over the typical CoD campaign, while it does lack variety it makes up for that in making your actions feel like they have some weight to them for a change. Taking out enemy ships and choosing which target to strike next is fun and rewarding.

    the story line is very typical of these games, nothing special with its big bad villain and oorah marines of old but it serves its purpose.

    The ship you control during the dogfight is painfully simple but still manages to be a lot of fun, rarely did the game ever feel dull during the moments when I was allowed to fly a ship and take on the enemy. This is probably the biggest surprise of the entire game, it's a genuinely nice addition to the tired CoD franchise at this point.

    Zombies mode is the most fun it has been in a long time, I always felt that it was getting too complex and convoluted following the story of the 4 characters the mode became heavily focused around. This years version somewhat simplifies it but keeps it fun. It feels as though it isn't as difficult to make it to the higher rounds now but still has a fair challenge to it. The hit detection has largely been improved too which is always a plus.

    The multiplayer is pretty poor, while the gameplay feels fast and smooth it just feels as though there is too much going on once people start earning their kill streaks. On top of that the spawn system is awful, it was not uncommon for me to spawn in front of an enemy soldier or around the corner from the enemy team, this could be fixed but I highly doubt it will be. The maps feel mostly uninspired with the typical corners and corridors design being used once again that we've seen in pretty much every Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare.

    Overall this game just doesn't do enough to justify yet another yearly release, Activision need to take a break and revitalize this franchise or it will continue to see its sales drop off from the previous years installments. The height of Call of Duty's success is over, it's no longer selling on name alone and it's time to earn gamers desire for this series back once again.
    Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2016
    5
    graphic 8/10
    game play 6/10
    Story 1/10
    sound 5/10
    without good story this game is only rubbish game !! only call of duty MWF.
    only story mode offline game forever :)
  6. Nov 7, 2016
    5
    Seems like most of the reviews are really polarizing and I personally find all 10's and all 0's little helpful. The truth is somewhere in the middle - for me that's between 4 and 5.

    The future-space warfare theme is tired which becomes especially apparent when compared to the remastered Modern Warfare. Infinite Warfare is missing some of the grit and the tension of previous COD
    Seems like most of the reviews are really polarizing and I personally find all 10's and all 0's little helpful. The truth is somewhere in the middle - for me that's between 4 and 5.

    The future-space warfare theme is tired which becomes especially apparent when compared to the remastered Modern Warfare. Infinite Warfare is missing some of the grit and the tension of previous COD generations. Sprinting around with a bunch of mechs in a completely unrelateable experience. Walking around the "Downpour" map in MW on the other hand is a whole other level of gameplay. I hope that Activision is tracking stats of MW closely so that they see what a significant portion of the player population prefers boots on the ground over floating robots.

    IW is extremely polished and I find it highly playable. The maps don't flow that well and they are mostly forgettable. Some maps have choke points that end up representing 80% of all gameplay on that map, and in my mind that is poor design.

    For what it's worth, I am spending my time in Modern Warfare in hopes that next year's release will give us what we finally want.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2016
    7
    Call of Duty Infinite Warfare
    A generic version of itself and everything else…
    The start of Infinite Warfare had me impressed... it had me glued to the screen... It was completely gorgeous, and then I run into freakin Jon Snow, and Im punched out by Connor Mcgreggor And I thought, wow.. It doesn’t get better than this... And I was Right… Because the rest of the campaign is awful… I
    Call of Duty Infinite Warfare
    A generic version of itself and everything else…
    The start of Infinite Warfare had me impressed... it had me glued to the screen...
    It was completely gorgeous, and then I run into freakin Jon Snow, and Im punched out by Connor Mcgreggor
    And I thought, wow.. It doesn’t get better than this...
    And I was Right…
    Because the rest of the campaign is awful…
    I haven’t been around a call of duty game since ghosts… So maybe Advanced Warfare and Blackops 3 were worse... but as far as Im concerned... this is hands down the most boring first person shooter campaign ive played through ever as it completely lacks any variety…And the sad thing is that it doesn’t start that way... It creeps there…
    As stated again, the beginning is great, and this game is gorgeous… You also take part in ship combat just as much as on foot… And this campaign is a record breaking 7 hours long…
    But its padded out with the same boring side quests where you’re either going on foot into the same enemy ship over and over or getting into space battles that after you’ve experienced the first 3 are just no fun at all…
    At first it’s thrilling and you can feel the smirks activision is giving at no man’s sky as you’re locking onto enemies and taking them out… and then you do it again.. And again…. And again…
    The only redeeming quality of these side missions which really take up about 3 of the 7 hours is that they all feature collectibles in the form of actual characters... there are these wanted collectibles that attach a name and a face to random soldiers throughout different missions…
    This is probably the coolest way to do collectibles and Id love to see it return in future games..
    This campaign isn’t all bad...
    The beginning moments of the campaign also smacked me with so many epic moments... the story missions had character… But as soon as I became captain the game went downhill…
    But who buys call of duty for single player besides me and like 3 other people…
    I’m just saying once you get bored, and believe me.. You will...
    Don’t drag yourself forward in hopes it gets better... because it doesn’t…
    The gameplay... the shooting… the wall running…
    All of it here feels bad... which is surprising...
    Call of Duty’s running and guns have been the standard I judge other first person shooters with…
    And they don’t even live up to their own standards here... variety is lacking, the robot enemies you fight throughout the campaign are bullet sponges which takes away the slicing through cheese satisfaction I expect from a call of duty campaign, and the jetpack and wall running ripped from titanfall feels garbage… They better rehire those guys to fix it for them and then fire them again after they have their secrets…. There’s no stickiness that makes it feel great in that game… it feels awkward every time you do it…
    So you played single player for the 10/10 first 2 hour experience.. Rightfully got bored, let’s hop into some multiplayer…
    You can either play zombies which this time is set in a 80s theme park, complete with the lingo and 80s music playing in the background…
    And of course competitive multiplayer…
    And thankfully the multiplayer redeems as these maps are all greatly designed…
    and fun to play in... At least in standard modes...
    I’m not really sure what call of duty is going for with its spawn trapper mode front line
    and I’m not a fan of the added gimmicks either...
    If snipers weren’t annoying enough, now we have sliders and jumpers..
    The jetpacks and sliding I feel add more variables of luck and cheap tactics that you don’t deal with in simple run and gun style…
    The wall running can stay as it keeps the gameplay even more fast paced than usual…
    But my targets getting away from me by sliding or flying around is more of a nuisance than a cool added element to strategy…
    If it’s not broke don’t fix it..
    There’s a reason were craving competitive shooters set in the past rather than the future…
    In the case of this genre... the simpler the better…
    Overall Infinite Warfare is a let down…
    New maps are all it has going for it…
    I give Call of Duty Infinite Warfare
    a 7/10
    Expand
  8. Nov 4, 2016
    5
    A whole lot of "bleh" is what Infinite Warfare is for me. I hated the launch trailer and couldn't be more underwhelmed by the final product. Ghosts was bad, and so is this. There's a crap narrative to follow and a handicapped multiplayer compared to last year's Black Ops 3, which was not perfect but at least had some measure of creativity in its gameplay and campaign. Call of Duty hasA whole lot of "bleh" is what Infinite Warfare is for me. I hated the launch trailer and couldn't be more underwhelmed by the final product. Ghosts was bad, and so is this. There's a crap narrative to follow and a handicapped multiplayer compared to last year's Black Ops 3, which was not perfect but at least had some measure of creativity in its gameplay and campaign. Call of Duty has become more about refining the ideas that have already been cast in years past and nothing about forging ahead with new ideas that would freshen up the series. When you've got Titanfall 2 and Battlefield 1 to play this year, why would anyone waste their money on another Call of Duty game that has done what each of its previous ones have done: rip off each other. The last great CoD games were Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2. Since then, this series has done the absolute least to push itself forward. If apathetic attention to detail and a horribly-mediocre effort to be either creative or militaristic-ly precise are what drives you to games, then Infinite Warfare is your jam. But let's be honest, few people actually want to play these games anymore and Activision is steering its ship right into every iceberg at sea. It's only a matter of time before the entire ship sinks, and it will absolutely sink. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2016
    7
    Even the multiplayer is trash, the game is carried by an awesome story and zombies. The game is way better than what people are rating it. Really doesn't deserve this much hate. At least it has Modern Warfare Remastered.
  10. Nov 18, 2016
    6
    Great graphics and colorful gameplay make the campaign seem like a sizzle real of the power of current gen hardware. Sure Salter is bae but her character along with all the others are the least cool out of any to date. If you showed me this years ago, I would not think it was made by Infinity Ward. The hallmark of call of duty single player is the worlds best cinematic moments. ButGreat graphics and colorful gameplay make the campaign seem like a sizzle real of the power of current gen hardware. Sure Salter is bae but her character along with all the others are the least cool out of any to date. If you showed me this years ago, I would not think it was made by Infinity Ward. The hallmark of call of duty single player is the worlds best cinematic moments. But Infinite Warfare doesn't really have any, at least not even close to the memorable ones in the past. It's all predictable and poorly written. With huge explosions going off almost constantly I couldn't be wowed at any particular moment. The only real break in the worn out formula is going to the ship between missions. Eavesdropping on conversations and listening to audio logs feel like a poor imitation of better games in that respect like Bioshock Infinite. The multiplayer is passable in it's clear copying of TitanFall which actually took the whole movement mechanics besides wall running from the Crysis series.(Give Crytek a billion dollars). And after playing a huge load of Black Ops Zombies(good times) the z mode is not worth playing at all. While doubtful, it would be a great thing if the call of duty franchise took a long hiatus(is a decade enough?). That way, better games could get the recognition they will soon deserve. Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2016
    7
    I'm bad at writing reviews, so I'll keep this short.

    The Campaign is fantastic, the way it switches between infantry based missions to flying a space ship is rad. Most of the characters are boring and forgettable except for your cool robot friend named Ethan. Multiplayer is garbage, you'll get shot in the back by some guy who spawned behind you more times than you can count. Worth
    I'm bad at writing reviews, so I'll keep this short.

    The Campaign is fantastic, the way it switches between infantry based missions to flying a space ship is rad. Most of the characters are boring and forgettable except for your cool robot friend named Ethan.

    Multiplayer is garbage, you'll get shot in the back by some guy who spawned behind you more times than you can count.

    Worth renting solely to play through the campaign, otherwise don't bother.
    Expand
  12. Nov 23, 2016
    5
    i have to say that the call of duty franchise has been rolling down hill for 4 years now but with infinite warfare i have to say it has reached and all time low the campaign has been compelatly remodel and play different also it it fresh and new it boring it has spikes of enjoyment but for the most part is is lame. the multiplayer is bad no way to say it the jumping around is bad andi have to say that the call of duty franchise has been rolling down hill for 4 years now but with infinite warfare i have to say it has reached and all time low the campaign has been compelatly remodel and play different also it it fresh and new it boring it has spikes of enjoyment but for the most part is is lame. the multiplayer is bad no way to say it the jumping around is bad and despite fans saying they dont like it they continue with it also the time to kill is unreal as its to quick and leaves no time to react. the zombies it the only positive if you played the bo3 zombies it will take some time to adjust and learn the new perks but overall game play is strong and fun. Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2016
    7
    First of all, ignore the plethora of 1's from butthurt trolls that hate on every Call of Duty that releases. The game isn't that bad. People just love to hate on whatever is the most popular thing.

    That being said, this game like the other CoD's before it is split into three different segments. Campaign, Multiplayer, and Zombies. Campaign 9/10: Seriously one of the best Call of Duty
    First of all, ignore the plethora of 1's from butthurt trolls that hate on every Call of Duty that releases. The game isn't that bad. People just love to hate on whatever is the most popular thing.

    That being said, this game like the other CoD's before it is split into three different segments. Campaign, Multiplayer, and Zombies.

    Campaign 9/10: Seriously one of the best Call of Duty campaigns since Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops. This story follows one main character and is chock full of epic space battles and crazy anti gravity shootouts. It is freaking amazing.

    Multiplayer 7/10: The multiplayer in this title is weak. The "Rigs" are basically Black Ops 3 specialists except not as unique looking. Some of the new modes don't really make sense, like Frontline where you always spawn at your base. Its basically TDM with set spawn points. Customization is there, but not as much as Black Ops 3. I'm not bad at Call of Duty, but I found that I die extremely quickly. Maybe it has something to do with the supply crates that you can buy that has random guns that come with perks. Basically pay to win. The ONE good thing is has is the missions. These are little side objectives that you can do for certain groups. You level up within that group and unlock unique emblems and tags.

    Zombies 8/10: I was never a big fan of Zombies. I'm more of a lone wolf player and zombies is something for people that like to party up all the time. That being said, this iteration called Zombies in SpaceLand is amazing. It's set to this 80's movie amusement park, and the characters you play as reflect that 80's vibe. Its full of secrets and boss fights, celebrities pop up. It's just crazy, one of the better zombies modes I played.

    I would recommend this game just for the campaign alone which is amazing. But I'll be going back to Black Ops 3 for multiplayer.
    Expand
  14. Dec 24, 2016
    6
    The only way you'll know if you're gonna like this game is by playing it yourself. I primarily purchased the legacy edition solely for Modern Warfare Remastered. For the most part, it's a Black Ops 3.5. The campaign isn't bad, as the person who wrote the narrative previously worked on Uncharted 2. I wouldn't say this campaign deserves all the praise that reviews are giving it, but I stillThe only way you'll know if you're gonna like this game is by playing it yourself. I primarily purchased the legacy edition solely for Modern Warfare Remastered. For the most part, it's a Black Ops 3.5. The campaign isn't bad, as the person who wrote the narrative previously worked on Uncharted 2. I wouldn't say this campaign deserves all the praise that reviews are giving it, but I still recommend giving it a playthrough. The multiplayer is a more refined version of what Black Ops 3 offered, however I feel it is far less aggravating. I hated Black Ops 3 because of the specialist abilities and everyone flying around in the air with their stupid jet packs left and right. While the same movement system remains in Infinite Warfare, it isn't as prevalent or relied-upon as it was with the predecessor. Overall, I'd say this game isn't perfect, as it's definitely a work-in-progress on the multiplayer side. However, I don't think it's as bad as everyone thought Expand
  15. Oct 22, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of all the Call of Duty games I've played over the years, Infinite Warfare for me was the most underwhelming and largely forgettable installment I've ever played. Okay visually the game is pretty good like a lot of the AAA releases this generation. But after seeing the gameplay at most I was only willing to rent the game just to see if it was really as bad as people say it was. Though for me like the Fantastic 4 reboot, IW didn't turn out to be as bad as many of the user reviews say but it definitely wasn't an experience I'd find memorable.

    For starters, when I played the campaign, the game's opening level was surprisingly disappointing compared to the more action packed and epic openings of previous installments (even Black Ops III's opening was more memorable for me) and ended with a introduction to game's main villain that felt like "Hello I'm the guy that you pretty much know nothing about and also I'll be your main villain for this game." Then the game's story turns into the generally clichéd action story about a small handful of people trying to take down a military that outmatches them 10 fold. Now the characters were also pretty forgettable to where I can't even remember the names of the characters unlike other Infinity Ward developed titles. And for me the campaign felt the shortest of the entire franchise to date. Unlike Ghosts however, the storyline doesn't set itself up for a sequel (which in Ghosts' case coming off from the success of the MW trilogy, it isn't surprising how IW would want to start another trilogy) which considering sales will most likely not going to happen. But the side missions (which make up the bulk of the campaign) primarily involving flight combat and the level in which you're on an asteroid attempting to save workers from robots hacked by the game's main antagonist faction (which is somewat like a remake to a similar level in BO3) were the points of the game where I had some genuine fun in it. Especially with the ability to hunt down SDF leaders which can be considered the game's form of "intel". Overall the campaign is a mixed bag with some good ideas weighed down by a largely forgettable story and cast, and poor execution.

    Now the multiplayer, were I reviewing this component ALONE, I would give this a lower score but the campaign saved it though not by much. The multiplayer while at first appears to be your standard CoD multiplayer frag fest with a rough version of Titanfall's parkour elements mixed in, eventually shows itself as a blatant Pay-2-Win grind similar to Black Ops 3's multiplayer. Like in BO3, you pick a class which is based on the your general playstyle with an ultimate ability which charges either by time or gaining enough kills. Now the multiplayer this time around seems to have pretty much copied 2012's Halo 4 by giving a story to the multiplayer. Basically you're a new mercenary part of a well known mercenary group where the side you're own in a match is meant to the side that offered you the most money. But like previous CoD's, matckmaking balance is completely thrown out the window which generally means is that one match you could end up on a lobby where everyone is on an equal playing field or end up in a lobby where your team or the enemy team can completely bulldoze the other which is made worse if players have higher tier versions of the game's various weapons with one map so similar to Halo that were it not for some major differences could of caused Microsoft to sue Activision for copyright infringement. Overall the multiplayer is one of the worst experiences for the entire franchise to date.

    If you want to check this out, I would recommend at most renting the game for a week because it's not really worth chucking out money for a copy.
    Expand
  16. Jul 28, 2017
    6
    COD: IW is not a bad game, it's average. The campaign in this game is the most interesting part of this installment, it provides an alright story with plenty of missions and side-missions. The multiplayer is a carbon copy of Black Ops 3 with minor differences but no improvements (still no dedicated servers). Zombies mode feels just like it was tacked on for a cheap selling point.
  17. Mar 7, 2018
    6
    I'll admit, the campaign was great and emotional. Infinity Ward stories are always great in the Call of Duty series. However, I don't like the fact it takes place in space and being too futuristic. Call of Duty was always about boots-to-the-ground and our love for the Futuristic Era has gone pass beyond. The multiplayers isn't my strong suit.
  18. May 21, 2021
    5
    I'm honestly not sure why this, of all the call of duty games, gets the most hate. It's not BAD, but by no means is it great. While I didn't want another jetpacking call of duty game, this one hands down had the best movement system compared to AW and BO3. However, the multiplayer maps were quite terrible and I personally wasn't a fan of what they were going for with the zombies mode.
  19. Jan 5, 2019
    7
    Infinity Ward nos presenta una vez más una entrega de la saga de call of duty, siendo el sucesor de BO3 además en la saga futurista, he de decir que este juego decepcionó a la gran parte de la audiencia por no ser lo suficientemente bueno en comparación con su predecesor, sin embargo a mi me ha parecido un juego notable.
    Nos presenta una gran campaña, la cual, si nos dirigimos únicamente
    Infinity Ward nos presenta una vez más una entrega de la saga de call of duty, siendo el sucesor de BO3 además en la saga futurista, he de decir que este juego decepcionó a la gran parte de la audiencia por no ser lo suficientemente bueno en comparación con su predecesor, sin embargo a mi me ha parecido un juego notable.
    Nos presenta una gran campaña, la cual, si nos dirigimos únicamente a jugar las misiones lineales es bastante corta, pero, si nos molestamos en hacer la trama secundaria (casi que debería llamarla subtrama), el juego ofrece una duración superior, con convates de naves en el espacio, ataqcando naves enemigas en gravedad cero, esto para derrotar a los principales militantes de la facción rival. Es una campaña bastante buena dentro de la saga de COD.
    Los zombies siguen en la línea de infinity Ward, son buenos pero no llega a la excelencia de treyarch.
    Y el multijugador es bastante completo, aunque ofrece alguna arma un poco desbalanceada es muy entretenido y se le pueden echar muchas horas de vicio, lo recomiendo si lo encontrais a buen precio.
    Expand
  20. Sep 13, 2018
    6
    The game isn't bad, but it's certainly not that great. Everything you see in this game is everything you've seen before. I like the sliding, zero gravity and jetback features, but that's really all I find memorable.
  21. May 30, 2021
    7
    I actually found Infinite Warfare to be a decent shooter

    The campaign was fantastic, it had a gripping and emotional story with an absolute tearjerker of an ending, and some of the combat arenas in the campaign allowed for you to approach combat situations in multiple ways I also love how the game allows you to select any weapon you want, allowing for endless replay value, and the
    I actually found Infinite Warfare to be a decent shooter

    The campaign was fantastic, it had a gripping and emotional story with an absolute tearjerker of an ending, and some of the combat arenas in the campaign allowed for you to approach combat situations in multiple ways

    I also love how the game allows you to select any weapon you want, allowing for endless replay value, and the space battles were pretty cool too

    The gunplay felt tight and satisfying, which is arguably the best part of a COD game

    The game also has side missions, though only a handful, and the problem with these side missions is that they’re very repetitive, it’s either invade this ship and kill everyone, or go to this cluster and kill everyone

    The major problem with the campaign, is that it’s too short, as in the usual length of a military FPS campaign, specifically around 5-6 hours(depending on whether or not you want to do the side missions) also, the game plays it too safe sometimes, instead of giving the player open arenas, sandbox levels, or even better a massive open world, it’s very linear for the most part, with only a couple of open levels

    That’s the issue with COD, the campaigns play it too safe, it strives for a more restrictive, hand-holding experience, instead of a more sandbox experience like Halo(the earlier Halos at least)

    And then there’s zombies, yes, Infinite Warfare has a zombies mode, and it’s actually quite fun and enjoyable, it takes elements from Black Ops 3 Zombies, such as the RPG-like leveling system, loadout customization, etc, I also like the 80s style, it gives the mode some personality, and it makes it more tongue and cheek

    But even though the mode is pretty fun, it gets old after a while, there’s only one Zombies map, and you have to buy the others if you want more, so unless you’re willing to fork out the extra $50 for the season pass, you better get used to playing the same map

    Now we get to the big elephant in the room, and that’s multiplayer, I really didn’t like the online multiplayer here, the guns were unbalanced due to the stupid rarity system that was implemented, making every match feel unfair and unsatisfying due to this BS system that IW decided to include

    Also included in online multiplayer are rigs, which is literally specializations from Black Ops 3, now I will give IW this, each rig has a different ability that gives them their own distinct flavor, one has the infamous riot shield from MW2, and another has the ability to arm both hands, but all of them just scream cheap and unfair, since just like the specializations from BO3, they’re unbalanced and overpowered, it’s like every new feature that’s added to MP, is never tested or balanced before the game’s release, so what was the point of a beta if that was the case

    Also, the maps do feel big, but also restrictive, it doesn’t allow for any freedom, and mobility is very limited

    And yet Titanfall 2(a game that was released a week before Infinite Warfare) gave you better mobility, and more freedom in how to approach battles in online multiplayer

    So all in all, Infinite Warfare’s multiplayer is very lackluster in all honesty

    In conclusion, I don’t think Infinite Warfare is a bad game, in fact I think it’s a good game, the campaign is amazing(though like I said it plays it a little too safe), Zombies is pretty fun, but the multiplayer is lackluster and unbalanced

    So if you want a great campaign, and a fun Zombies mode, then get the game when it’s on sale, or find a used copy for $5-$10 on eBay, Amazon, or Walmart

    I got the game for $20 off of the Xbox Store, which is pretty worth it for the campaign and zombies

    Infinite Warfare is a good game, but it could’ve been amazing had Infinity Ward was given more time, and the ability the follow the vision they wanted for the game
    Expand
  22. Jun 20, 2019
    6
    In this review, only the negative aspects of the game are considered. The purpose of this work is to help you to get a better decision on the purchase of the game

    My Rating: 6 of 10 Weak points (Single player only): - It is very hard for me to talk negative about the Call of duty series, but I must be honest with this one. Infinity warfare is far from the soul of COD. I think this
    In this review, only the negative aspects of the game are considered. The purpose of this work is to help you to get a better decision on the purchase of the game

    My Rating: 6 of 10

    Weak points (Single player only):
    - It is very hard for me to talk negative about the Call of duty series, but I must be honest with this one.
    Infinity warfare is far from the soul of COD. I think this is a different game with a different title.
    forget about how the call of duty was and rethinking about this one from another angle.
    - lack of complex single-player story
    - lack of graphical details
    Expand
  23. Jun 26, 2021
    5
    The campaign is the true star of this game. Aside from that tho the multiplayer is broken and the zombies mode blows.
  24. Dec 24, 2019
    5
    i'm sorry to say this, but it is now confirmed that COD is know more like Halo instead of COD.
  25. Feb 22, 2021
    6
    Некогда в стародавние незапамятные ещё на пк даже уже и не вспомню какой сборки проходил я пару частей колды и тогда она вполне себе доставляла. Затем попробовал Far Cry, Bioshock, Serious Sam и как-то со сменившимися приоритетами в геймплее интерес к самому популярному шутану от первого лица всех времён и народов сошёл на нет. Много годиков минуло с тех пор, и как-то захотелось освежитьНекогда в стародавние незапамятные ещё на пк даже уже и не вспомню какой сборки проходил я пару частей колды и тогда она вполне себе доставляла. Затем попробовал Far Cry, Bioshock, Serious Sam и как-то со сменившимися приоритетами в геймплее интерес к самому популярному шутану от первого лица всех времён и народов сошёл на нет. Много годиков минуло с тех пор, и как-то захотелось освежить ощущения от врага номер один всех тру геймеров. На повестке дня дела недалекого будущего а именно Infinite Warfare... доооо, картинка в Call of Duty конечно закачаешься, пожалуй, одна из лучших в жанре, тут уж не придерёшься. Космические просторы, планеты, стихии и всё прочее сопутствующее игровому процессу выполнено просто великолепно! Полетать на звездолете и пощёлкать шустряков и прочие флагманские космолёты очень даже увлекательно. Относительно неплохой сюжет, более-менее толковые персонажи, хорошая отечественная озвучка - тут тоже галочки. Иииииии, вот собственно и всё что можно сказать хорошего о Call of Duty. Сам же основной игровой процесс где мы пробиваемся пешим ходом с боями как правило с толпой дружеских неписей до безобразия сумбурен, скучен и сильно неудобен. Неудобен прежде всего тем что в одну кучу лезут все чужие и свои. В суматохе лупишь всех подряд, а тут как бы дружбанов-ботов не приветствуется отстреливать. Эффект размытия экрана при попадании в тебя ну просто «великолепная находка». Итак ни черта не понятно что происходит ещё и экран в мыло - каеф!!! В те короткие мгновения, когда всё же проходишь локации сам удаётся получать хоть какое-то удовольствие. Прокачка и кастомизация арсенала или вообще чего-нибудь... Не, не слышали такого. 10 часов экшена и красивой картинки с в основном скучнейшим геймплеем. Как-то так. Expand
  26. Jun 19, 2021
    6
    Single player review:

    Call of Duty Space would have been a better name. The game looks and runs good but is too short and no memorable characters. There are also annoying parts where you have to do exactly some action or else the mission will fail...
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 1, 2017
    70
    A mechanically sound shooter that's hampered by a lack of scale and inventiveness. [Jan 2017, p.88]
  2. Nov 22, 2016
    65
    If the zombie mode in your game is the part that feels best, you know you have some patching to do. It just feels very unbalanced and rushed here at release.
  3. Nov 22, 2016
    70
    Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare is a mess. There is fun to be had but there it really feels like Infinity Ward really had no idea what direction they wanted to take the series in. Space battles are fun, the campaign missions are fun and the new Zombies mode is a blast, but everything else is just so mediocre that it really brings down the experience.